Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Luton Hoo Hotel, Golf and Spa 5 stars

The Mansion House, Luton, LU1 3TQ, United Kingdom

#1 of 18 hotels in Luton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 234 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Parkland Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night

    a shame that the regular air traffic from luton airport provided regular distraction from the peace and tranquillity of this beautiful space - all quiet indoors though ! breakfast spread was marvellous except that the kippers were 'bagged fillets' not a fresh pair ?!!

    beautiful countryside estate with great walks to the lake and around the gardens - a little offset by air traffic from nearby luton airport - and a golfers haven to boot the spa was well arranged and provides an opportunity to really chill out staff were most helpful and attentive

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Country Club Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very limited opening times re food (even on room service), reception staff off-putting/arrogant. Also, very little information is provided to help navigating the property.

    Great breakfast, good room service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Club Deluxe
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely big room with views over the extensive grounds Excellent bathroom with double basin ,separate shower & large bath with gorgeous molten brown toiletries

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Parkland Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff on the telephone were not always as helpful and polite and didn't suggest any offers so i booked with booking.com

    My daughter and her partner enjoyed Luton Hoo immensley and would love to return. The room was huge with a beautiful view. They had an amazing lunch at The Brasserie and made full use of the spa. The staff at the hotel were excellent and made them feel like VIPs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Parkland Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above Beautiful hotel shame about the food

    Food was not what I expected for a fine dining restaurant Breakfast on both days vey poor not cooked fresh eggs were cold not even warm

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Club Executive
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor service at both dinner and breakfast. We had to wait an inordinate amount of time to get served. Unable to book a spa treatment as fully booked.

    The comfort and the surroundings

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Parkland Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night

    Once we had checked in we decided to visit the spa, but had not been warned about the family swim between 3-5pm, gradually more and more families joined the pool and our spa trip was no longer the relaxing experience we were hoping for! Service in the brasserie is a bit slow, I like that it is laid back and you do not feel rushed to leave, but for example we were offered drinks when we first arrived but were not asked if we would like refills, we asked for another drink when our food arrived, but by the time the drinks came we had finished our meal. Again we were kept waiting along time in the lounge before our drinks order was taken, but it was quite busy and there was only one lady serving, I feel there should have been more support.

    The grounds and properties are absolutely beautiful, I love the smell of the log fire as you as you walk into the mansion house, very welcoming. We had dinner in the brasserie, cocktails in the lounge and breakfast all of which tasted amazing! The customer service is fantastic, all the staff are very welcoming, polite and super helpful!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Country Club Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night

    very large room with a super large bed, very comfortable. Bathroom was stunning. A beautiful hotel, lovely service.... private peaceful and tranquil with super comfort. Everything you need is in the hotel grounds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I am fortunate to stay in a number of 4 and 5 star hotels around the UK often through work, but get extremely frustrated when these venues cannot get the basic simple things like breakfast right. On both days, in both restaurants, somehow, between the staff and chefs they failed to provide the food we had ordered. Sadly, we were not alone as numerous other guests had to complain as well. It might seem a trivial issue to complain about, but you are paying for an overall experience which includes the food. It was a shame both mornings left us feeling less than satisfied as overall the hotel is very good and a great place to relax and take a break.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Club Executive
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food. Not even average. I had better meals in b&bs all over the country.Honestly, everything I had was over cooked and dry. Expensive food but nowhere near to the standard it should be . Very disappointed

    Location and size of the property is amazing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Parkland Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave the next day.

    It was my partners 60th our room was up graded. All the staff wished him a happy Bday. The food was fantastic. Loved the place will come again when the weather is warmer to see the grounds.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Parkland Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was ok, the cooked food was underwhelming. Our room was freezing and we couldn't get hot water in the bathroom and the shower at the spa was luke warm. Staff were quite slow but responding to requests but in fairness, there was a lot going on at the hotel

    The spa was beautiful and very nicely run and managed with great facilities. The rooms were very spacious and of a high standard. The staff were all polite and friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Parkland Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a number of issues during the stay (e.g. Very noisy air conditioning); each time the staff worked above and beyond to put things right.

    Great room, super helpful staff and just splendid food

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Parkland Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some complications with cancellation process at spa. Also kids wanted to swim after breakfast but kids time was until 11 so maybe one extra hour for kids would be good at holidays. Also food at brasserie could be better.

    Great for walking around grounds and exploring countryside with kids.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Club Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and impressive .nice walks and grounds. Didn't get to golf because of snow .But looks nice.

    Lovely surroundings and gardens with plenty to do. Facilities and Spa area well worth a visit. The Manor house is very impressive with intrest about history and movies filmed there.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It rained, but that's life. If you are easily disturbed then the aircraft from Luton Airport might be an issue but you only hear them if you listen.

    Got upgraded to a suite.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Country Club Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night

    Level of reception services was generally not great, and not at all befitting a 5star (pick-up from gate was not arranged despite on-site taxis being available, taxi arrangements for departure confused, doormen not informed). Also, food in bar restaurant mediocre.

    Absolutely beautiful building and grounds, great afternoon tea.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Parkland Deluxe
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was too soft and uncomfortable, so didn't sleep well. Room was very cold and heating was not adequate for the size, the room was adjacent to the house and needed more warmth. We stayed in cold December.

    Beautiful hotel and lovely grounds for walking. Tasty breakfast, large room with patio.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Club Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The controls for the jaquzi did not work so electricity was being used non-stop.

    We saw wild life within a few steps from our room in the Clubhouse. The staff were extremely helpful and efficient.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't realise how far apart the rooms were between parkland and those by the Spa when booking more than one room

    The cost roaring fire in the fireplace in the reception

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Country Club Executive
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were first time guests and had no prior knowledge of Luton Hoo Hotel Golf & Spa. We arrived by car and parked temporarily outside The Mansion House main entrance; as I began to take out our luggage The Door Porter asked for my name as he took our cases, he entered the lobby and came back almost immediately to say we were booked at The Flower Garden, which he was "half a mile distant and well-signposted". This was initially very disappointing as your Booking Confirmation makes no mention that we would not be staying in the main hotel building. We set off for the Flower Garden, which is most definitely NOT well signposted and ended up 10 minutes later at another 'out-post' called The Warren Weir . We retraced our route back and found the Flower Garden was very well signposted on our RETURN journey and we eventually found the car park adjacent to the accommodation block. We found an entrance door and asked one of the room staff if there was a reception station at The Flower Garden, she didn't really understand what we were saying but directed us to a telephone adjacent to another entrance, where by a stroke of luck our luggage arrived at the same time. The porter opened the door to Room 304 and said one of The Mansion House reception staff was on their way over with our keys and Registration Form. A few minutes later Carol arrived and after hearing of our dissatisfaction with our 'welcome', she was very accommodating and efficient in completing our registration, describing the facilities available at The Spa, Adams Bar and Brasserie and she ordered a taxi to take us to our function in Harpenden later that evening. She also re-organised our double bed to made 'twin' as I'd confirmed in a phone call, to the hotel on Saturday morning that we required twin beds and where the message had obviously not made it to the housekeeping team.

    The setting and location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Country Club Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room at £230 a night was good but I was sent to the club house with staff giving me very bad direction to drive there myself and other guests kept following each other around till we found it at the end baring in mind that was about 3pm , glad it was not dark. Then the walk with my bag looking for a poor signage to direct you to your room (211) was mine even some of the staff did not know where the room was. Then to go for a breakfast you have to drive across again then drive back to pack your bags is a hassle I do not get for a £50 a night room in a 3* hotel. I regularly use your lounge for Branch and meetings . And my experience with your rooms was very poor . I was so looking forward to enjoy my evening at your hotel , what a shame

    Beautiful and quite,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Club Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food and service very poor. Not very good value at all. Cooked Breakfast was nearly uneatable

    Fascinating structure with interesting history. Very nice and comfortable room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Country Club Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of Dining facilities making it necessary to order dinner in bedroom, warm first course served cold, main course almost cold, wine poor quality at £10+ per glass. Cold bedroom, asked for guidance on heat setting, informed someone would visit room, then told on phone to use item in room but this proved ineffective, Heating system outside bedroom in corridor appeared to heat up noisily then switch off after 30 minutes then repeated this process again and again.

    The venue

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Parkland Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was not very happy as when I phoned to book the restaurant I was told I would have to dress elegantly, which is not a problem. The problem was that when we arrived at the restaurant other guests had clearly not adhered to elegant dress and a couple of ladies were in dark jeans!! One rule for one and one for another?

    Very large room, great food. Wonderful dining room (marble)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Club Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in the 19th hole bar opposite the spa was extremely poor. We walked out after 30 mins when our sandwiches hadn't arrived! At breakfast we ordered one coffee and one tea both were lukewarm. For a 5*hotel why weren't we given a pot of tea and a small cafetière of coffee? Or even offered a second cup. Very disappointing.

    Lovely room and bathroom. Fabulous pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Parkland Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar service is poor, as are Bloody Marys. Table advance booked at dinner 'unavailable'. Lukewarm toast and poached eggs at breakfast.

    Friendly, efficient and professional check-in and welcome.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Country Club Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was late starting, which meant my guest had to rush his breakfast as he needed to be on the road by a certain time.

    Free upgrade to Junior Executive Suite was fabulous, with stunning garden views. Wernher restaurant meal was good but wines were very expensive, in my view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Country Club Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night

    Direction of how to get to the Hotel within the estate were not clear. Had to park at the main car and walk to the hotel reception only to be told that the rooms were in another part of the estate. There was parking near the rooms but the instructions should have been provided in the first place. The estate was beautiful with a lovely golf course. however, the Room was quite normal / ordinary. A/C in the room not working. Reported it but not attended. On a hot night, had a very bad nights sleep. Not what you would associate with the price tag. Not good value for money.

    The Swimming pool was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Parkland Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom, old and dirty toiletlid, dirty ! lavatory brush in a hotel like this! Unacceptable! There was a noise out of the bathroom, the whole night. We live anno 2017, I expect more than a couple of English Tv Channels in a Hotel like this.

    Fantastic Location, quite, fresh air, big rooms. Nice room for breakfast, but I would expect a moore healthy-breakfast, not the stuff you`ll find everwhere! Personal was very friendly, the coffee, ( importend for me ) was hot and not one from these "moder coffeemakers"!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Club Executive
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The picture of the room that was shown was nothing like the room I got given. Price for the room given was not worth it.

    The spa facilities made it perfect for a weekend getaway, and the breakfast was lovely!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Parkland Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rude staff, Dated rooms, cold breakfast, no effort made knowing it was our wedding night. Extra fees for breakfast in bed despite already spending over 350 pounds for the night. Overall very disappointing and didn't even bother looking at the facilities as were ushered out on check out.

    Beautiful Manor house and gardens.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Club Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They interuppted us twice in the evening to ask whether we would like a turn down service which included closing out curtains and making our bed. It says that bikes are available on the site but they only had 1 adult and 1 children bike.

    Large bed which had a comfy mattress and pillow. The grounds and leisure facilities are good. Tennis courts and golf course were available and they provided tennis racquets and balls. Swimming pool was peaceful and a sauna, steam room and jacuzzi were available.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Parkland Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The jacuzzi wasn't functioning correctly. This is what l saved up for and what l was really looking forward to. Staying anywhere like this is a once in a blue moon experience for some of us. Otherwise l couldn't fault the place.

    Very polite, attentive staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Club Deluxe
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The doors to ALL the rooms are heavy fire doors and when they close they bang quite loudly, very annoying. The music in the restaurant and bars was Jazz, ragtime and a bit of swing time but mainly jazz. Everybody has different tastes but it's not really restauraunt or bar music. Have no music or just music you would expect in a bar or restaurant, piano music or classical. It would have been better with no music. I definitely would think twice before rebooking.

    Room was very nice and the grounds were excellent and vast. Had some lovely walks. Some lovely 5 * touches. Spa facilities were great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Club Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was oerfect

    The staff were amazing and helpful. Nothing seemed too much and made you feel very welcome. We were just looking around the gardens and was approached with a smile from one of the staff drivers and he took us around the lake in the taxi and gave us a lot of history regarding the house which is now the hotel. Although we only stayed one night we wished it could have been more and will go back another time.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Parkland Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night

    1) On arrival, there was no record of our booking which was infuriating. It took a whole for reception to find our booking which was definitely confirmed. I was furious as we had made a firm booking several weeks ago and it should have been easy to find this. 2) Room service breakfast took longer than we would have liked - about 40 mins before our breakfast was brought up to our room on the Sunday morning. 3) On leaving (check out), when we checked the bill, we had been wrongly charged for someone else's drink which was sloppy and didn't do much to instill trust in your billing process! Luckily, we checked the bill before paying and the wrong charge was removed.

    Loved the location, our room, staff were friendly and very helpful, breakfast was great. Overall, a lovely stay.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Parkland Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was very nice and the bed was so comfy, the bathroom was very clean and nice, the building is amazing and the garden is lovely with a very nice walk to go with it. The staff at the hotel were excellent and very helpful. Will definitely be coming back!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Club Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is very tired inside. Certain areas of the hotel do not smell very fresh. Lounge food was poor and overpriced.

    The building and the grounds are beautiful

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Parkland Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool was overcrowded by small children. I think my son of 14 y.o can't be counted with 3-6 y.o. The temperature in the rooms bathroom could be more warmer. We were very upset about dress code to the restaurant in main building and had to go to the very simple Brassery .

    We were pleased by good coffee machine in the room. We had extra milk to the room after call to reception. The bed was absolutely comfortable. Pillows are white fluffy. Good temperature inside room. The breakfast was unforgettable and with spectacular view.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Parkland Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Going from the main building to the parkland building as the covered walkway was open sided and the weather was windy and cold even though it was only about twenty paces.

    Large bedroom and en suite . The elegant building. The very attentive staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Country Club Deluxe
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were there celebrating our first wedding anniversary which was held at the Hoo. Staff were aware of the occasion, some even remembered us, which was very special but not even a complimentary drink was offered.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful as always.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Parkland Deluxe
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls between rooms in Parklands meant neighbours' conversations were clearly audible. Heating in room could be better.

    All staff very friendly and helpful (with one exception only). Availability of golf course and hire clubs. Decent gym. Good choice at breakfast and good quality food in restaurants. Large room in Parklands.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Country Club Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upon my arrival -- after having driven cross Continent -- I arrived tired and casually dressed . When I inquired about dining options I was in no uncertain terms steered away from the Fine Dining restaurant with the comment that it required 'Fine Clothing' . This was way out of line !! I went back to my room and proceeded to don my 2500e Parisian shearling coat and accompanying attire to attend dinner . The staff's comment was despicable .

    This is my 4th - 5th time back to the property ; there has been great improvement in staff efficiency , though there is still room for more and better training ! . Great attitude re pet friendly policy : the hotel provided doggie beds and toys and even a bag of food -- unnecessary , but still appreciated nonetheless . Nice move .

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Parkland Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was amazing! Staff were ever so helpful as we arrived very early in the morning after our wedding and they assisted us with our large amount of bags to our room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Club Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only things were the shower was quite cold, no matter how we turned it, the water never seemed to warm up.

    The bed was the most comfy bed I have ever slept in. The views were lovely. The whole room was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Parkland Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa was disappointing, non functioning equipment, missing tiles in jacuzzi definitely not five star! The food was not as good as on previous visits, chewy duck and cold coffee! Not what I would expect or have experienced before

    The comfort, location and surroundings

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Parkland Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't realise we needed a £1 coin for the locker in the spa. Otherwise a faultless visit.

    Food was amazing. The bed was extremely comfortable. Service was impeccable throughout.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Club Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt a little excluded by not staying in the Mansion. Felt the main staff were welcoming there but no-one at the section we were in.

    Liked the Brasserie, Spa and grounds.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Country Club Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food took over an hour I had ordered a bowel of soup.also the following morning I ordered poached eggs on toast another 40min wait,when it did arrive I could not eat it. Considering this is meant to be a 5star hotel very disappointing

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Country Club Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were looked after beautifully and made to feel special. Especially as we were celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary with our family. We hope to come again and would recommend it to our friends and family.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Parkland Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in lounge and brasserie was abysmal. Ordered drinks took 35 minutes to be bought to the table. We're seated in the. Brasserie and after 40 minutes had not even been asked for a drinks order. (Got up and left) No details given on check in of facilities and locations. When dining in the lounge after not being served in the brasserie we were given a creased stained table cloth (far from 5 star) Concierge on the morning of check out incredibly rude and abrupt. Would not stay again. Had better service in a travel lodge.

    Night concierge team, male receptionist on check out and breakfast team were all poite and professional.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Country Club Deluxe
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service for a 5 star hotel was poor. Waited an hour for breakfast and a snack in the brasserie. The staff were not really up to the standard that I would expect for such a hotel. They did not seem to be able to cope with the high volume of guests during the weekend when I was there for a family wedding.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Country Club Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurants were so slow and when the food arrived it was cold. I ordered an egg sandwich from room service it took an hour and was not very nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Parkland Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little pompos on arrival by the male person who checked us in, but politely showed us to our room.

    Very spacious room and super comfortable bed. Very large and well equipped bathroom. Also enjoyed the coffee pod machine, so much better than the instant so often in bedrooms.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Club Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our intention was to go for a short but luxurious anniversary break in an old country house and the Luton Hoo looked like the place. Unfortunately the room we booked was not in the mansion itself but in an estate outbuilding 5 minutes walk away from the main hotel building. Although this is written in the description of the room, in practice it means that a stay in this part of the hotel is confined to the modern spa/golf club facilities and a breakfast in an adjacent restaurant. The restaurant looked like a small converted barn and the breakfast served there was very poor for choice and layout. A stay in this part of the hotel is probably ok if someone is looking for a standard spa/golf break. Unfortunately it did not give us the feeling of a luxurious break in an old country house, which we hoped and also paid for.

    There were a lot of helpful staff. The room was clean and quite specious. The spa facilities were well equipped.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Club Deluxe
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Timing of hot food could have been a little better at breakfast time, we felt rushed

    The room was near to the spa and I enjoyed swimming in the pool. The grounds and all the rooms were beautifully maintained.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mansion Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unable to get the phone answered trying to ring the hotel the night before our stay

    Everything, the Mountbatten Suite was amazing, the food was stunning, staff were brilliant and a nice toucg leaving the complimentary champagne in our room, as for the building itself the historic stately home has been recreated magnificently - add this place to your bucket list - you won't be dissapointed

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Parkland Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It waz a very comfortable and lovely room. Nice showers and staff. What waz disappointing was the service. We ordered two club sandwiches which were ment to be served with chips. We said no club sandwich meals if there is fish n chips available and if there isn't then two club sandwiches. We recieved three club sandwiches n two chips. When we went in the lobby we asked for two coffee lates with some cakes or biscuits. After waiting for over half hour we were given just simple coffees no servings with it. Upon complaints they replaced one coffee also over half hour and again no servings with it. Then further 15-20 minutes some biscuits while me n my partner were done with drinks. Disappointing when the environment was so good and staff was friendly then the service should have been 5 Star aswell.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Parkland Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a fire alarm that went off at 4am - an unexpected wake up call lol.

    The staff couldn't have been more helpful, the grounds were kept beautiful and everything seemed to run efficiently - well done Luton hoo staff, you made our wedding night extra special :-)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Country Club Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    £14 for a delicious cocktail!

    A true country house retreat, complete with on site cars and taxis to get you around the estate. Formal and informal dining areas, lovely leisure complex and spa. Well maintained gardens. Large bedrooms

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Parkland Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taos were stiff & shower temperature control stayed on too hot. I booked a king bed. We were given 2 tiny single beds, which were uncomfottaably narrow ( I nearly rolled out of bed in the night & spent most of the night in the space between the 2 beds). When I met the duty manger at 11next day he was unhelpful & rude. He said it was Booking.com's fault as they did not inform them I wanted a king bed. Then he said I had to chase up with Booking.com, & when I said that was unacceptable he said it was my fault for booking with a 3rd party. When I skied if he cared about an unhappy customer he shrugged his shoulders. I will never go back there again.

    Breakfast. Building beautiful

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mansion Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water in shower very cool

    Fabulous hotel. Service second to none. Wonderful suite with beautiful views. Really lovely celebration of our wedding anniversary. Will be back!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Club Executive
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tired and at £300 +! very poor value for money. Great disappointment

    Staying in the main house would have been wonderful. However we were given a room in the annex, The Flower Garden' where the rooms were very tired.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Country Club Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was wonderful, wonderful welcome so pleasent and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Club Deluxe
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room service was poor. staff were occasionally inattentive and the pool at the spa was filled with children.

    Comfy bed, wonderful and spacious rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Country Club Deluxe
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very poor signposting. Sat nav took me to the ESTATE not the hotel. Some staff couldn't speak or understand English. Others were fine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Club Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food quality and service very poor

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Club Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities are dated, restaurant menu is limited, breakfast very average

    Location is wonderful, country setting is beautiful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Club Deluxe
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about the hotel was fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Parkland Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great service nothing any trouble

    Best Hotel I have stayed in for 25 years

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Parkland Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    beautiful location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Parkland Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful hotel, and the breakfast was great! Staff were friendly, and very accomodating.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Country Club Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mini bar empty

    Comfortable room and bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Parkland Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't get through to Room Service but that's the only thing for the whole weekend.

    Very well looked after. Amazing grounds.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: