Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Lydford Country House 4 stars

Lydford, Lydford, EX20 4AU, United Kingdom

#1 of 5 hotels in Lydford

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 483 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Quiet small countryside hotel with lovely rooms and friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very modern facilities but shower not easy to control !

    Quiet small countryside hotel with lovely rooms and friendly staff. Very close to some of the best of Dartmoor.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Peaceful location with lovely staff for a great weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our door was stiff which made it a bit of a pain to close on the way out.

    Excellent location on the edge of Lydford. Nice, quite hotel in peaceful surroundings Great for access to Dartmoor and - of course - Lydford Gorge Staff friendliness excellent as was attentiveness

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Gorgeous location, lovely property, amazing staff......thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    We've stayed several times over the years and this hotel has always had extremely high standards in food quality, cleanliness & staff attitude. This year they surpassed themselves. Will be back next year hopefully.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    Definitely would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The staff were so helpful and welcoming. The young lady who check us in even booked us a table for dinner down the road. She was great. The hotel is beautiful and the location is amazing. Love it

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Will definitely return, it was very a relaxing place to stay and a area of great beauty
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Wonderful pretty village, excellent hotel and beautiful gardens gorgeous views all around. Very friendly staff who would do anything they could for us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice property, spotlessly clean, delicious breakfast, great location. Please fix the bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our bed was extremely squeaky. No naughtiness in mind; we both literally woke ourselves and each other up several times each night just by turning over. It was a nice metallic bed frame, perhaps tightening the screws would solve this issue...? Other than the noise, no complaints from us; the bed was actually comfy.

    Lydford House is a beautiful property with well maintained grounds. There's ample parking available just a few steps from the entrance door. The entire place is spotlessly clean; our room was no exception. The bathroom was very nice too, with good quality (and not travel size) toiletries provided. Breakfast was generous and very tasty, with great selection. Lydford House offers free Wi-Fi, which worked perfectly in our room. The hospitality tray had a few teas, coffee, hot chocolate, etc. and fresh milk was provided at the reception desk on request. There is a flat screen tv available in the room, with good reception of freeview channels. Staff were friendly and polite. There were a couple of decorators working during our stay, but it's not a complaint; it's obvious that maintaining and improving the property is of great importance to the people who run it and it's money well spent: the place is great and still getting better. The location is excellent; we visited Lydford Gorge which was a short drive away, and there are good pubs available in both directions (one of them even in walking distance).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    A Quality Escape to the Country
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When the pond and waterfall are finally finished, it will be perfect.

    Beautiful semi isolated, rural location yet walking distance to a small village,pub and Lydford gorge. The gardens around the house are very appealing. Nice drawing room in which to nurse a glass of wine. Lovely breakfast. The landlord's representative,Spencer was particularly attentive to our needs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.1
    Location and grounds were great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One side of bed too broken in; other side was fine. Food was a bit too imaginative for my taste, but well prepared.

    Surrounding countryside and grounds beautifully maintained.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    Nice quiet hotel at the countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice quiet hotel at the countryside. Just renovated with a bunch of loving details. Quiet pichnick garden with nice pont available. Friendly and helpfull staff. The breakfast menue ist great with lots of choices - and very good. Will definitely come back

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.6
    The location was great, it's lovely and quiet with the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was great, it's lovely and quiet with the sound of birds chirping. The decor of the place is really well done and the breakfast was scrummy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.5
    A very enjoyable stay and niceley located for our needs. We would be happy to go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom pull light switch required a significant tug on the cord to operate and needs fixing. The last few steps up to where our bedroom was located could do with a handrail to help steady the journey for those who need support.

    Breakfast and the cooked breakfast. Location was good for what we wanted to do. A quiet spot in nice surroundings, Deer in the field at breakfast time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely country hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very helpful and called ahead to the restaurant to book us a table for dinner. It was a small (we had a standard double room) but very comfortable room with a lovely country view. The bathroom was of an excellent standard and everything looked newly tiled and painted. The hotel is situated in a great tourist area - close to Lydford gorge and numerous historical castles/churches/forts.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower to low so both of us struggled. Bath towels were more like large hand towels !

    Bed super comfy. Cream tea lovely. Village pub was recommended and the food was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Peaceful, comfortable, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very quiet, staff only came to reception if you rang the bell. Really needs an extractor in the en-suite- it was full of steam and condensation for a long time after a shower. Really not sure about the dried pig's leg on a stand at breakfast- as a vegetarian I accept seeing ham etc but I found the bone and trotter on display quite disgusting!

    Lovely big lounge area and garden. Bedroom small, but tasteful and pleasant. Rural location but not isolated, with an easy walk down to a great pub for dinner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    Good location to visit Lydford Gorge. Excellent food in nearby pub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Most of the room was clean but there were things that hadn't been cleaned, eg toothpaste mugs still had previous occupants toothpaste smears, furniture was dusty on ledges by floor, bottom of wardrobe was full of grit from shoes.

    Room was nicely decorated with comfy bed. Breakfast was very good and service friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Thoroughly enjoyable stay at this hotel. Nothing was too much trouble.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked that we could toast our own bread at breakfast but the quality of the non-White bread, in particular, was a little disappointing.

    Friendly, welcoming staff. The hotel was everything we hoped for.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.5
    Lovely.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the fact that I couldn’t get anything to eat at the hotel. I booked in at 8.20 pm after a long day travelling and at work so was hungry. Staff point me in direction of pub just down the road which thankfully was still serving food though only til 8.45 pm. I didn’t really want to go back out but had to. Even light bites being available would have been enough.

    I liked the location very much as it was on route for my journey the next day. Lovely place. Very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Lovely place for a quiet getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The admission of pets as I am alergic to dogs I hadnt realised that the hotel accomodated them. Luckily only felt a problem in the hallway and on the stairs, suggesting the hotel is kept very clean.

    Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast was freshly cooked and always hot. Lovely venue.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful! We will defiantly return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely loved our room! The staff were amazing! It was everything and more. Location was beautiful. Certainly was the perfect way to celebrate my partners birhtday! He was thrilled with everything.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent comfort over a snowy weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was excellent.

    Large, quiet, warm (it was below zero outside) bedroom. Dog free bedroom on request. Comfortable lounge available to guests for a pre-dinner drink or cream tea. Good breakfast. Parking - we were able to leave our car whilst we went walking. Excellent location for walking on Dartmoor and walking to pub for dinner.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.8
    REALLY worth the 3 hour drive ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small matters ... three STEEP steps down from the bedroom to the en-suite bathroom (not to be tried at night in the dark when trying not to wake the wife !! Having the fire / heating in the Lounge would be a benefit

    GREAT PEOPLE ... Service was top-drawer Having soya milk both in the lounge and bedroom .... really pleased the wife

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.6
    Great relaxing hotel with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Careful of parking under the trees, my car was covered with bird poo in the morning!

    Friendly staff, fabulous room, very clean and tidy hotel all in. Cooked breakfast kept us going all day (great sausages). 15 minute walk to local pub, Castle Inn where you can get excellent food, take a torch if walking at night. Right next door to cycle routes and National Trust. Very quiet and relaxing hotel and area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    Great find!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic place on the age of Dartmoor, lovely decor, comfy bed and very friendly staff. Breakfast was really tasty. We'd definitely recommend this place and would happily visit again. Great find!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Fantastic service in a beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The staff were very helpful and provided everything we asked for: wine glasses for some birthday champagne, a pet free room, and even torches to walk down to the pub (The Castle Inn) for dinner. It was warm and comfortable even though it was below freezing outside. The rooms and breakfast were excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    A very relaxing short break to the countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. This place was a great find.

    Absolute peace and quiet. The staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Room was bigger than we expected and the bathroom was fitted out to a very high standard.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    We had a perfect family room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a perfect family room. A room with a double bed and an adjacent room (no door) with two beds for my kids. Enough separation to get a good night's sleep.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.6
    Brilliant stay with two dogs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lovely clean room, firm bed, plenty of pillows, warm, great bathroom. Brilliant breakfast, huge selection on offer including cooked. Very friendly staff. Great parking. Dog walking straight from the garden

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The property was furnished to a high standard and the bed was very comfortable. The staff were helpful and friendly. The property was in an ideal location for visiting the area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    The cutest time away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice if the restaurant was open as we had to travel for more choice of food

    The bed was super comfy and the bath was amazing! There was so much choice at breakfast and they’d make anything you want!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    8.8
    Relaxed and friendly, very enjoyable, would definitely go back.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Didn't see any water bowls for dogs, which would be an idea. There may have been some.

    Rooms were clean and nicely decorated. None of the floors were level which we liked, gave a character which we would retain. Breakfast was excellent, freshly made and good quality.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    The perfect retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apart from the weather! Nothing!

    The old world charm and a long overdue opportunity to escape from a busy life. This hotel creates a calm serein ambiance aided by the beautiful countryside surrounding it. Regardless of ones physical ability or interests in the great outdoors, Dartmoor and the immediate area offer something for everyone and the hotel is the ideal location to satisfy your dreams.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.2
    Good base for sightseeing, yet nice and quiet. Close to a few good places for evening meals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom and room quite small.

    Staff were all very helpful and friendly. Nothing too much trouble. Fresh Milk readily available for in-room drinks. Bathroom rail lovely and hot for towels. Heater in room very adjustable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    Quiet and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The thatched seats in the dining room were very uncomfortable and seemed to be too high for the table itself. I only ever saw a single staff member, so don't know how many people are actually there behind the scenes. Had to ring the bell for assistance, but help was quick.

    It was clean, comfortable and the people were welcoming and courteous. Breakfast was delicious. Location was a very small quaint and quiet village. The room I stayed in was quite sizeable and facilities were modern.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Half term break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We knew that the lounge was closed for decoration, so not a problem as another room was used as lounge.

    The property had plenty of parking. We had a friendly welcome with an offer to help with our bags. Big selection for breakfast. As restaurant was closed on arrival day they offered to book another establishment.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful location for exploring Dartmoor and nearby Lydford Gorge in a lovely, traditional hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We really enjoyed our stay at the Lydford Country House. It is in a lovely location, perfect for walks from the door and very convenient for walking to the great pub nearby for dinner. The family room was very comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. We hope to be back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.6
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom on the small side.

    Friendly staff. Food very good. and good portions, we couldn't manage 3 course at dinner. Plenty of choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Great place excellent value for money would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was okay but on both occasions of my 2 day stay poached eggs were over cooked and so were the kippers my husband had but all other breakfast items were good

    Lovely furnishings and room well equipped, great location and staff really friendly and accommodating

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.2
    Really very good what more!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    have to wait for B'fast and meal was fairly slow but no reflection on staff.

    The bathroom best we came across in Cornwall and Devon during a seven day stay, exceptional grounds and so near the Lynford Gorge and Waterfall which are magnificent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Great hotel lovely and welcoming.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely hotel great location, very clean and made to feel very welcome. the staff were brilliant the food was lovely, eat in both nights we were there. Breakfast very good and plenty of choice. Very quiet of an evening so slept well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    The staff were so lovely, we have 2 children under 3 and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so lovely, we have 2 children under 3 and they were very good with them, making us feel relaxed and comfortable. And the food was brilliant.. especially breakfast. I had eggs benedict. Yum! Would definitely return to this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    excellent local sausages for breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    excellent local sausages for breakfast! happy to cater for gluten free diet. no evening meals served on the day we visited, but we very much enjoyed eating at the historic Castle Inn, nearby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.5
    Staff very nice,pity there is not a bar in the hotel......we wont be visiting again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For a superior room ,the bedroom was very small..... the plumbing needs sorting out as the toilet does not flush properly. Sadly the food leaves a lot to be desired....breakfast first morning was good....next morning the kippers were inedible seemed like they had been microwaved to hard and dried out.....same with the bacon ordered by my partner.......dinner is better left not discussed......

    Pretty house in pretty location....

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.5
    Very Nice but noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy. Guest and staff banging and clattering at all times. When it was quiet it was beautiful but you could hear every step of the stairs and other guests in neighbouring rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Another lovely stay at Lydford House
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We really liked the feel of the hotel and the location is excellent. The dinner was great value and the breakfast was really good. We did run out of hot water in our room, but the hotel did apologise and explained what had gone wrong.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.2
    Value for money and very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the hotel's fault but I could not get a mobile 'phone signal within 2 miles of the hotel.

    Very warm welcome and they protected my car with a bin bag when I left the window open. All the staff I spoke to were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.2
    Clean quiet and fab value. Look no further.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A few minor room maintenance niggles but completely immaterial to enjoyment of stay. No fridge in room but staff happy to store cold things or provide chilled water.

    Staff very friendly and helpful, room and bathroom spotless, bed so comfy that we didn't want to get up so missed breakfast - and unlike most places you can't hear the dining room! And cheaper than airbnb places nearby. A gem - book it now!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Loved it, will definitely be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We've stayed here now 3 times and we love it. The breakfasts are great & if you book an evening meal in the reastaurant you're in for a treat. All local produce used, just lovely. The staff are very attentive & helpful. The location within walking distance of Lydford village & gorge, on the edge of Dartmoor has everything which is why we'll be back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.2
    lydford house is a loverly place to stay,very good value for money and the grounds are beautiful
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it is a shame lydford house dose not have a bar as felt a bit of a pain ringing buzzer every time we wanted a drink,and only having beer in tins or out off bottles.

    the rooms are very nice,the bed was very comfortable,the rooms were also very clean.the evening meal was also very nice and good value.Breakfast was also very good with plenty of choice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.5
    Very pleasant stay
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have preferred a shower to a bath. Not ideal for elderly people to get in and out of a bath as nothing to hold onto.

    Lovely grounds. Everything was well cared for

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    I liked the peace and quiet, the bathroom with bath, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don't like this questionnaire and being asked if I was travelling with my partner. No. I was travelling with my husband.

    I liked the peace and quiet, the bathroom with bath, the milk bottles at breakfast (and the breakfast itself). I liked the village of Lydford with its nice pub and the disused railway line to walk behind the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.5
    Good break in lovely area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked to pay upfront as said my card (American Express) that I had used to hold the room had been declined ,which it hadn't .seems to be an issue with some booking.com reservations , quite embarrassing........

    Good standard of breakfast excellent choice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    Was a wonderful hotel and would happily go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to have a frosted window to the bathroom as it was visible from the parking area.

    The breakfast was fantastic!! Sadly the kitchen was out of commission for dinner but the hotel booked us a wonderful table at the Dartmoor Inn 0.2 miles away.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    10
    One of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in. Could not fault anything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    Lovely hotel, excellent food and very friendly and helpful staff. We booked in June and booking.com said that there was no restaurant at this hotel when in fact there is from Tuesday to Saturday with breakfast every day. There restaurant was just as good as the rest of the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    An excellent stay - located close to great walks & cycle routes - we'll be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had not been aware that the restaurant is closed on Sundays & Mondays - even on bank holidays when we stayed. However, there is an excellent pub a 10 minute walk away in Lydford village. Also - although the bathroom has been beautifully refurbished, the shower pressure was erratic & the extremely hot water was not easy to adjust.

    Accommodation including room, restaurant, residents lounge & gardens all lovely. A very good choice of breakfast was available both cold buffet & hot cooked to order. Dinner was well cooked although the menu was rather limited for a longer stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    Nice outlook and no traffic noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of the shower room very cramped. Way too much furniture for the size of bedroom which made it seem quite tight. Could have done with a couple of hooks on door for coats.

    Nice outlook and no traffic noise. Overall a nice stay. Handy for the gorge and cycle track. Pleasant walk into the village in the evening.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.6
    Secluded and quiet, lovely service and superb meals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed frame was really bouncy, so every movement through the night was a like being on a dinghy in the surf.

    Very clean and nicely decorated room, excellent service by friendly staff. Diverse dinner menu, not a chunky chip to be seen.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Great location and a lovely comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a lovely cosy room, there was a nice big lounge and pretty gardens. There was a good choice for breakfast and the service was very friendly and professional.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There wasn't anything I didn't like about the place. Can't wait to go back!

    Staff was super friendly, super helpful, and always willing to go above and beyond to make it's guests happy and comfortable. Breakfast every morning was wonderful, tasty, and fresh, made to order.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.1
    Lovely staff and hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Understaffed. Breakfast was a bit of a shambles but very nice once we got it. We had to ask for coffee, bowls and plates etc. We couldn't fault the lovely staff though. Everyone was very polite, friendly and helpful.

    Friendly staff and lovely setting

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Enjoy our holiday. We will go back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Comfortable. You had a long day out and don't want to go out for dinner. You can eat dinner at the hotel. The food was excellent. Staff was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    Perfect for a short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Deliveries made outside our bedroom window early in morning Being told by Booking.com that there was no restaurant, having to find out from hotel that there was a restaurant but arrived to find that restaurant was not open on Monday, the day or our arrival. Fortunately there was a pub 15 mins walk away.

    Friendly and helpful staff Good choice of breakfast Good size room and bathroom Cleanliness Bottle of Prosceco given as compensation for long wait for starter. Gesture was appreciated. Hotel situated in a lovely village, friendly locals and local pub serving good food in a great atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.3
    The Hotel is easily accessible from the road to Lydford and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mattresses are a bit soft. Breakfast not very varied, with preference for English style breakfast and very little choice for a continental breakfast, no croissants or cakes. Had to ask for hot milk to prepare some latte for me and my husband, the milk was barely warm and not enough, could really improve the service if they could prepare some latte with some nice coffee and capuccino.

    The Hotel is easily accessible from the road to Lydford and close to local amenities such as the Lydford Gorge. Room is clean and overall service very good. The hotel is sorrounded by a lovely garden and there are ponies nearby. Parking is right in front of the hotel. Quiet location, just at the beginning of the village.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Short welcome break
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that we didn't like

    The location was ideal for us and that we were able to take our dog, the staff were both genuinely friendly, helpful and made us feel very welcome.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay will definitely return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Staff were very welcoming, rooms light and airy. Children had separate beds/room area in Sheep Tor. Food was absolutely excellent! Games inside and out for children to play with and the setting/ grounds are beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A beautiful house,and very clean rooms. The staff was very helpful. Situated in a mice area. We walked to Lydford Gorge. On our walk back to the house we had a lovely meal at the Castle Inn.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Perfect quite place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect quite place to stay. Lovely staff, very supportive. Room was greater than expected. Tea was available in the room. Breakfast and dinner were delicious. Lydford Gorge near the hotel was spectacular - great place for a hike!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Lovely guest house, stunning surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely room, great bathroom, plenty of wardrobe space. Lovely garden, fabulous breakfast (esp eggs benedict!). Great area, stunning scenery, wonderful pub food nearby (Dartmoor Inn)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel with friendly atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar. No evening meal on a Sunday.

    Lovely clean and modern room. Great location for Lydford Gorge Friendly welcome Good choice hot and cold for breakfast, service with a smile.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.8
    Lovely, Lydford
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were in the family room (despite not taking our children in the end) and it was nice but a bit dated and bathroom definitely needs updating. As family rooms go, spacious and above average.

    Staff were amazing and brilliant breakfast! Clean, comfortable bed, proper hangers in the wardrobe and good floor length mirror. Beautiful setting and lovely lounge. A real, home for home hotel with delicious food and lovely staff who made us feel so welcome.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No evening meals or bar. Not a real problem but would've been nice. Some breakfast items a bit sparse if you came down later.

    Pretty room with a comfy bed, lovely bathroom. Lovely large garden with plenty of seating.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    10
    Fabulous family friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a little too warm at night.

    The staff were excellent - so friendly, happy and willing to go above and beyond to help us. Nothing was a bother to them! The lounge with a toy box was also a wonderful touch and kept my 14month old very entertained when he may have got a bit bored in other hotels.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    9.2
    Lovely comfy hotel but slightly disappointing food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the food wasn't as good as it could be. I had a Thai fish broth and really couldn't detect much flavour. The breakfast was good but not as good as the cheaper B&B the night before.

    Very nice decor, comfy and not too large.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    9.2
    Best not as the weather ensured a miserable experience.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The weather, so bad we cut our stay short by two days, 50% - a reduction in the charge would have been in order.

    Low key and friendly, nice rooms handy for walking e.g. Granite way, Lydford Gorge.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    10
    Beautiful Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like...

    Friendly helpful staff. Immaculate surroundings very clean everywhere. Comfortable bed and furniture. Brilliant choices for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    A hidden gem of Serenity and relaxation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely nothing. I returned late one of the evenings and had to drive over The Moors in pouring rain and a heavy mist. I was delighted to get into the warmth and comfort of Lydford House after that trip

    Where do I start. The Lydford House Hotel sign is easily seen from the Road. On entering the Hotel you feel at home with the lighting and warmth of the hall and reception areas. The girl on reception was friendly and informative and showed me to my room. Although eating on my own which can be difficult everyone in the dining room was enjoying their meal and ambiance. The bed was so comfortable and the bed linen as were the towels in the Bathroom of exceptional quality. All the time I was there I never heard a voice or door bang. It was absolute serenity. I would highly recommend a stay at the Lydford House Hotel to get away from the speed and stress of everyday life. Even though I had to leave before breakfast I was given a sausage sandwich for my travels. Those are the little items that make the difference.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: