Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Lydiard House Conference Centre 3 stars

Lydiard Tregoze, Swindon, SN5 3PA, United Kingdom

#18 of 18 hotels in Swindon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1347 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.7

  • Comfort

    6.3

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    5.8
    Enjoyable nights sleep but the rooms needed a good clean and refurbishment.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The grounds were beautiful yet the hotel didn't match the surroundings. The rooms were tired and old. I picked up the information sheets which had coffee stains on them and a load of dust flew up into the air which wasn't nice as I had to sleep next to a dusty bedside table. The remote control was filthy and had crumbs and dust embedded inside the buttons. I wouldn't class this as a 3 star due to the dirtiness. It needed a good refurb which would make it a 3 possibly 4 star.

    The grounds of the hotel were very nice. The bed was also very comfy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Friendly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen closed other than for breakfast on Sunday. Car parking is in a public car park (free with a permit) close by.

    Brilliant staff and very nice breakfast & food. It is really important to understand that you are booking rooms in a conference centre with basically single roons for delegates and not in the historic building. There has been a large investment in a brand new kitchen and more changes are planned. But for my visit to RIAT with my adult son the location was good and great value.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Will definitely return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower..low pressure..

    The grounds are beautiful and fun to explore, the hotel itself was ok, refurbs will make it even better, but everything u need is supplied..breakfast was fantastic with lots of choice and great staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.0
    Beautiful grounds, nice staff but awful room. Would not come back or recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor room. Filthy window you couldn't see out of. Bed very old and uncomfortable. Carpet old and dirty with hair balls. Shower didn't work. Bathroom tiles mouldy. Bath drain didn't emty and appeared blocked. Awful picnic breakfast.

    The grounds of Lydiard House are stunning and lovely to walk around.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent! Amazing staff, beautiful location and great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a notice in the rooms asking guests for their understanding as Swindon Borough Council undertake some renovation work at the hotel. We didn’t see any workmen, so there was no disruption to our stay, but the rooms and ensuite bathrooms did look like they needed a little love and attention. No major issues, just a tired decor in need of some refreshment. It certainly didn’t affect our experience or comfort though, and I would, without hesitation, stay here again.

    Upon the approach to this hotel, you’d never know it was there. Hidden away in a quiet residential area, the tree-lined driveway leads you to this hidden gem. The shining star of this hotel was the staff. Incredibly friendly, extremely professional and nothing was too much trouble; always working hard to go that extra mile to accommodate their guests and ensure their needs were fully met. The food came a very close second. There was superb choice on the menu, everything was homemade and excellent quality. Yet, the cost surprisingly did not reflect this. A hotel so close to a city centre, with excellent homemade food would usually charge a princely sum for it, however, main meals were in the region of £8-12, with lighter bites costing around £4.50-£6 (note: these were the prices of the meals we had. I can’t say all meals didn’t go over the £12 mark, but they weren’t far in excess). We happily chose to eat in the hotel every night of our stay. Taxis from Swindon Bus Station cost us between £9 and £13. Given the close promximity of the train station, I would expect prices to be in the same ball park if looking to come from there instead. Booking with a local company brought the cost down to around £8.90 but the taxis in the rank outside the station will always charge you that bit extra. We found SN1 cars to be very helpful and would happily use them again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Marvellous, friendly and very accommodating - will definately book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff at the hotel were fabulous from checking in to checking out, nothing was too much trouble. It was my mums birthday and they arranged a cake and due to the glorious weather moved us outside onto the terrace where we had drinks and celebrated her birthday.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    dispite ongoing problems i would reccomend a stay here good value loverly setting
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the accommodation needs updating including t v system

    the staff bent over backwards to assist at what is a difficult time at the property and the setting I. e. the park area its in is quite amazing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.3
    Misleading advertising from start to finish.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As others have stated, advertising suggests accommodation is in main house, as does photo of house, and only realise this is not the case when you read the small print that is hidden away. Room advertised with iron and hairdryer, but neither in room. Room door very difficult to open. Had to go to reception to ask for towels on second day. Booked room with a garden or landscape view and got a room with a view of the backyard, complete with rubble and Swindon BC van parked 10 feet from window all weekend....what a view!

    Location of premises was ideal for me

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some areas of the accommodation could do with a redecorating or deep clean. The bedroom was very very hot. The noise of the refrigeration equipment at the back of the property kept me awake for hours. The staff member checking out never asked if we'd enjoyed our stay in fact she never said anything other than goodbye. There were no hair dryers or fans and when I asked at reception none could be found. The tv needed tuning each time i switched on, not that I spent too much time in the room as it was terribly hot during our stay.

    The main bar and lounge were clean and comfortable. Evening meals served in the bar were good and reasonably priced. The breakfast was good and plenty of it. The staff at breakfast were very helpful and obliging. The park and house are lovely and the conference centre is ideally placed if you're planning to visit this area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.1
    The people made up for any shortfalls on the venue
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was sad, no privacy in ground floor room as no nets.

    The staff were amazing, very helpful, friendly and approachable, the best asset to the venue.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    4.6
    The location, the park, the forest and the lake were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist didn't tell us about parking. She provided a very poor service. We got a penalty ticket of 50GBP the next day just because she forgot to tell us if we stay longer than the check out time, we need to buy a ticket. I talked to the manager but he wasn't helpful at all. They didn't make any effort to help us out and they didn't admit that they should have warned us. Very poor service. I will never stay there again. Also the room was quite old fashioned and not cosy at all.

    The location, the park, the forest and the lake were lovely. The breakfast was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.7
    room facility outdated but church/manor house/garden was beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    yes it is true that furniture or decoration of room is very out dated. Very weak water pressure of shower. As for TV there was no signal hotel picture on booking com is misleading - actual picture is attached.

    hotel is right next to beautiful church and back of manor house with massive garden hotel staff - reception, backroom staff, restaurant , they were all great. happy to go extra miles. Breakfast was fantastic - good value for money

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    Lydiard conference hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a little dated, but hotel is being refurbished.

    Staff extremely friendly, room was clean, breakfast was a lovely fried breakfast, with cereals or fruit, plus toast and Danish. Surroundings are amazing, lovely country park to stroll around.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.0
    Beautiful setting, nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, small bed, very tired decor, poor facilities, had to ask for hairdryer and milk, coffee and tea. Tiny tv and our room looked out on a full skip.

    Beautiful setting, nice breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    The park is fantastic.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property I was told is undergoing a change of management and is in the middle of turning things around for the better. I would definitely stay here again.

    The park is fantastic. The room was clean and the breakfast was as good as any I have had in Scotland and England. The staff were VERY nice. Especially the lady from New Zealand at the front desk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Very relaxing, close to lots of cultural places. I visited Bath and Cirencester. Also good study fac
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Television had to be retuned every time it was switched on.

    Reception staff very cheerful and helpful. Breakfast very good and in pleasant room. Room cleaned to high standard every day. Wifi brilliant. Situated inside a park and stately home next door. Wish I had had more time to explore these better. Good excuse to return which I certainly will.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.3
    good value , room okay .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was very small , and looked like a building site outside the room through the window .they couldn't find my booking when I arrived . breakfast was fine .

    good value , room okay .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.9
    Relaxing stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception area, corridors and some rooms needs renovation, to be fare a note says they are doing it...looking forward to seeing it in a bit!

    Beautiful location in the meddle of a park, relaxing atmosphere

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    4.2
    For whee we were going and people we were seeing it was ideal
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelt damp, mound in the bathroom and on the net curtains. Television did not work so were moved rooms. They say they are upgrading it, it can’t come too soon if they are calling it 3 star. Currently I’d give it no stars.

    For whee we were going and people we were seeing it was ideal

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.8
    Only stay if you have to
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was just a bit grubby - everything was a bit dated and tacky. The room was really hot, and as my room overlooked the rear of the kitchen, meant that opening the window for ventilation subjected me to the noise of the staff as well as the generators/fans outside the building. The breakfast was pretty naff too, it didn't taste brilliant and one day I arrived downstairs to find they hadn't even bothered to put any hot food out.

    The location was decent, being surrounded by fields and nice views. Staff were friendly too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.9
    Perfectly adequate for a short stay but the place is tired in some areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some aspects of my room's facilities needed attention. There was no bulb in the bedside lamp and the TV kept displaying 'No Signal'. The staff would re-tune it but having switched it off and back on again it would lose its signal. Apart from breakfast there's no other restaurant dining facility for dinners. A rather silly (read weird) point was that you had to turn the hot tap anticlockwise to start the water.

    The staff were most welcoming, friendly and accommodating. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    5.4
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 adult and 1child given room no1 which was right next to reception so a lot of noise which didn't help that the male receptionist was drunk and loud(in uniform) shouting at his drink buddies to come see his room....at 1.45 am!!!!! Room also had carpet covered with dog hairs

    The location was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.9
    All in all a nice enough hotel but with a couple of pointers for improvement.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A nice enough hotel for the price, the hotel is under going improvement work so is a little noisy from 7am outside, the room was clean the bathroom was ok but the shower was poor it took 20 mins to wash my hair! The room its self was boiling even though all the heating was turned off in there but having the window open meant you get the early wake up call. The plumbing needs looking at as the heating pipes that run through the rooms cause quite a bit of noise from around 5am! Also the room didn't have a hairdryer as stated or the iron maybe these needed to be requested :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Freindly helpful ,and and a very nice place to stay,
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have had aother pillow,but that was my fault,as I should have asked??

    The room was cosy,tv and wifi,and comfy bed,staff very friendly and helpful,it's was just a shame as they were referb pool etc,but yes did injoy the stay,and the breakfast was grilled and I stuck to the diet plan,all good,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    6.3
    for a one night stay it was fine. any longer and i would have sought accomodation elsdwhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The chair in room 13 looked as if it had been drawn on in pen. Having returned to the property just before 11.00pm. the last thing we required was a member of the staff trying to persuade us, more than once, to go on a ghost hunt. I am a tolerant man had this not been the case he would have been told in quite sternly in broad white anglo saxon english where to go.

    breakfast was fine but having to wait for eggs was a little tiresome

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    5.4
    disappointing and although I would visit the Park i would not stay again at this location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the rooms were basic, the shower didn't work properly the tv didn't work in my room, the breakfast was poor - the hot food had been sitting too long and was unappetizing. There was no atmosphere.

    staff were friendly, the location was lovely

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.3
    Cheap and basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a lot smaller than photo and not as nice looking. Carpet very dirty. TV not working and remote celotaped together. WiFi didn’t work properly. Hairs on the bed. Shower not working so had to have a bath instead and no hairdryer.

    Really cheap and friendly staff. Lovely location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    Good as a base to sleep and refresh
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many facilities weren't available. TV in room couldn't pick up any channels pool was not available no evening meal option on site. Generally the rooms and decor were very tired. However, the place is undergoing improvements gradually so will be interesting to see a change

    The staff are very friendly and doing the best they can whilst in transition. The location and grounds are very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    fantastic value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV recetion was poor, but got over it using internet on my i pad.

    Room was basic, but clean. Frienly helpful staff. Delicius cooked breakfast, all from local produces, I believe. Beutiful grounds of the stately home to wander around and rewind. All and all really good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.7
    Price and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had not been told that the pool and sauna were closed during the period that we stayed. A little disappointed.

    Price and breakfast. Staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    4.6
    Unpleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All of it

    Arrived at the hotel about 6. Booked in and given my room key room 36. No1 the carpets throughout were worn and threadbare. No2 the room was in need of decoration and the bed uncomfortable. The bed was obviously in the wrong place as you had to get out of bed to switch the bedside light off. Overall not a happy experience. The hotel is owned by Swindon council and I can imagine that they are strapped for money. They need to sell it and get a private company running it before it gets any worse.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    Lovely staff and very friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    However, the pool was out of use. Rooms very basic not overly clean. The bar is open for a few hours in the evening, but not able to buy food at all except breakfast.

    Lovely staff and very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    3.8
    The setting was lovely, beautiful grounds
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not comfy very soft to point that if partner moved you moved no headboard on the bed either. Although going underrenevation no TV signal, no spa facilities.

    The setting was lovely, beautiful grounds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Ideal 1 night stop over, cheap & cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Accommodation cramped, shower poor, not ideal for couple

    Staff very friendly & helpful. Breakfast good. Located in middle of country estate great views & walks. But well out of town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Good night's sleep in pleasant surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sadly looks like previous management wrecked the pool and sauna (as well as kitchen) so that might never come back but steadily new management are getting this lovely building on its feet again.

    Stayed here whilst meeting up with family in Swindon. The hotel/conference centre is under new management now and they are in the process of improving things. The room was nice enough, nothing special but I'd say Travelodge quality at Travelodge price so not much wrong with that bearing in mind you're also staying in a stately home with hundreds of acres of gardens rather than a motorway service station!! We didn't have breakfast there, meet up with family instead, but they're set to open the evening restaurant in three weeks' time. Oh and parking definitely is free to guests - I have the parking permit to prove it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mould On blinds and windowsills Rentokill tub under dressing table No conditioner No cup in bathroom One towel One biscuit booking for 2 Breakfast Luke warm Asked for someone to contact me about issues but no one did! Not worth £53 a night

    Parking included. Reception staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn’t very clear where the hotel was when we entered Lydiard Park. The fact there was a pool was the main reason we booked this hotel. The pool wasn’t open at all while we were there. While we weren’t charged for early check in we felt a big fuss was made about it. We had a wedding to go to hence the need to check in early. We felt this wouldn’t be an extraordinary request for them. Our room wasn’t overly clean, needed some restoration work and didn’t feel very private being on the ground floor and having people walk past the window.

    The location was beautiful. The lady serving breakfast was lovely and couldn’t do enough for you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Useful and economical stopping point en route from Suffolk to the West Country.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Now under the management of Swindon Borough Council. Restaurant and swimming pool closed.

    Convenient location. Very attractive surroundings. Bonus bell ringing in the evening - wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    The hotel is set in wonderful grounds, well worth the visit for a relaxing break
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was undergoing a renovation so there was only a temporary kitchen. The rooms need updating, a hole in the wall and the pool/spa area was closed.

    The breakfast was lovely. Very plentiful and staff attentive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Will stay here again and would like to stay longer to take in the beautiful grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfier beds and bathroom needed updating.

    The staff there went above and beyond for us. The breakfast waitress was extremely attentive and a great asset to the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    3.8
    Nightmare
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation was false advertising. It show a beautiful stately home and when you get there it's a building that is dirty and wrongly planed out . The breakfast was disgusting cold and stale. I could go on . I stayed in a hotel in Swindon town centre for less money and it was 5 star compared to where I stay the night before . I could go on .

    The grounds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very welcoming friendly, helpful staff, rooms and facilities spotless and very good breakfast spread. The location is convenient and set in beautiful grounds Definitely worth a return visit

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    4.6
    Broken TV, Broken shower, Broken Extractor.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Broken TV, Broken shower, Broken Extractor. Mildew on blind and window fitments due to no air conditioning. Pool was closed as was the sauna. Kettle had no lead and sockets on one wall were loose. The breakfast was luke warm if even that. I complained about the faults and the staff member seemed uninterested as she scribbled down the details on the bottom of a half used piece of paper which meant my concerns were falling on deaf ears. Disappointed in the extreme for what should have been a lovely setting. The manor house was also closed the day we stayed "Tuesday".

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.3
    Staff could not do enough for us, the gentlemen and lady on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated and could have done with a lick of paint, only down side was the double wasn't big enough when we had the cot bed in it we couldn't move around the room we could just get to the bed

    Staff could not do enough for us, the gentlemen and lady on reception were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    A great place to unwind after a long days work
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the choices on the breakfast menu were not available on the first day, but this was rectified on the second day :) I was disappointed that the pool was unavailable on this occasion.

    I love staying here when working in the Swindon area. It's great to have the opportunity to walk around the lovely gardens and grounds of the Estate after a long days work. Lovely, comfortable ensuite room with tea/coffee making facilities including decent sized mugs and a teapot. Reasonable breakfast. Very friendly, welcoming staff. Plenty of parking - ask for a free parking permit from reception. Free WIFI. Quiet at night. Great value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.7
    Beautiful setting in the country park
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was mega hot inside with 1 small window for ventilation, there was no net in the window which over looked the seating area for the cafe and only a full black out blind. The water pressure in the shower was woefully low. The lights flashing on the smoke detector was very bright and pretty much lit the room!

    Beautiful setting in the country park

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    good, for what I needed it for.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool was out of order, and the signal for the tv's was poor. The drinks on the breakfast didn't have too much choice.

    The staff where full of smiles, professional and treated everyone the same. The bed was comfy and very nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    4.2
    Do not stay here
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked to stay at Lydiard House for business for myself and my partner. Deceptive advertising as it presents itself as a beautiful manor house, there are not pictures of the actual accommodation building online. We turned up to find a dirty, faded hostel type building attached to the grand house. The room was tiny and the bed not big enough for the two of us. I had to pay for a separate room which I was told was the "executive suite". I commented to a member of staff that booking sites made it look like you were staying in the house and that I felt mislead. They said, "Yes it does, doesn't it, we keep telling the owners because we get lots of complaints but they don't want to do anything about it." I found out the owners are Swindon Borough Council. My room was horrible, badly decorated with disgusting dirty old couches. How they can call it "executive" is beyond me. Power sockets were not easily accessible. I could not get either of the bedside lights to work. When I moved one of the bedside tables to examine the lights, I found an inhaler, a pill box, chocolate wrapper and empty can of coke. The room was not very clean at all. I reported this to the staff as there was also a rubber glove covering the smoke detector, which I do believe is illegal. The maintenance guy took one of the lights because he felt it was not safe. He also asked me to remove the glove as I am tall. I also heard him tell the receptionist that they were not supposed to let the room I was in. She said, "you can override it." The pool and sauna were out of order. The whole place needs a good scrub. I do not think cleaning happens often. The restaurant is closed in the evening which is madness as you are in the middle of a large park. I considered bringing all of this to the attention of the staff in the morning but seeing as he did not even ask me how my stay was I could not summon the energy to do so.

    The house is set in beautiful grounds that is the only nice thing about it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    4.2
    We would not have stayed had it been for longer than one night. We won’t return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was shabby window blinds moldy.The bed was uncomfortable and seemed to be broken in middle. Bathroom shower area was covered in mold and the shower curtain was filthy.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    6.3
    good place if you just need a bed for the night without any fuss
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would not bring the family here. No facilities, breakfast was not being served at 6.30am and pool was closed. Needs a complete re-fit. Need to travel toget an evening meal.

    Grounds are lovely, Wi-fi good and bed was comfirtable. Worth £50 a night

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    4.6
    Fabulous setting needs a lot of TLC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable. There was a gap at the top for the pillow to fall down. The bathroom was in need of TLC. The pool was out of service. At 4am we were so deprived of sleep we considered leaving. There was not any soundproofing either and the slamming of doors by other guests was a bit of a problem.

    The setting was fabulous

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    It was very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The arrangement of the bed in the room meant that it was away from the bedside light and it's switch and adjacent to rather than facing the TV - which was just odd!

    The location is a delight and it was so economically priced. The staff were helpful and friendly and with someone always on duty an arrangement not usually found in accommodation in this price range

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Although i viewed the details online, i was still pleased when i arrived
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing i could think of

    The helpfulness of the staff i met. Room cleanliness. Breakfast was more than you could ask for. The convenience of the M4 to resume my journey. Top of the list was value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.9
    Hotel in transition with new owners just taking over. It shows! Could be excellent in the right hand
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool not operational. First room given was not made up after previous occupant. Second room small, actually rearranged bed position in order to see tv, but there was no signal anyway! No signage to hotel you have to follow conference centre signs.

    Wonderful location if difficult to find, great breakfast. All very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    5.0
    Wish i had slept in the car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Where do you start, arrived to find the pool and sauna were not in use due to the hotel being took over by the local council, I presume this was because of low staff levels. I booked 2 days before and they were listed as a facility on offer but turned up to find they weren't. Room was very small and dirty with hair all over the bed. The mattress was well past its replacement date as was all of the furniture in the room. Surprisingly the weather was warm when we stayed which meant the room was boiling hot during the night, no fan in the room and felt uncomfortable having the blind at the window open to get some cool air in the room.

    The reception staff are really polite friendly and really helpful. The setting of the hotel is in a beautiful park.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not a double bed. The bathroom fan did not work. The phone didn't work. The bathroom door sticks. Only one bedside table. Carpet scruffy, bits missing. Room needed re-decorating. Poor signing to reception, difficult to find at night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.9
    Meh
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mould on the window seal that had gone onto the blinds so let a damp smell in the room. Builders were in for renovation so theyre was dirt in the bathroom. Shower took about 30 mins to get hot.

    Bed was comfy . Staff were amazing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    6.7
    Below average, will not return
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities were mostly out of order, the showers were quite poor, the rooms were not cleaned properly and there were still pieces left from the builders

    The bed was comfy and the staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    5.8
    Won’t be staying again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool and sauna were out of use which was the reason for me booking the hotel. Miss-sold on my he website. The room was ok I’m terms of cleanliness however the floor hadn’t been hovered for some time, plus the room smelt of damp. Also my room was located on the ground floor near the bar. Needless to say I could here those who were making the most of the alcoholic beverages. Thankfully I took ear plugs.

    Nice grounds for a walk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    2.5
    Why are you still taking bookings if you’re closed?!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked here because it was convenient and local to where my mum and partner live. Only to find out after booking (the day we were supposed to check in) that it’s in fact closed!! Why are you still taking bookings if you’re closed?! Take the listing off of the website!

    Why are you still taking bookings if you’re closed?!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.0
    under par this time....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    pool and sauna closed due to refurbishment also blocked loo and no hot water

    Although the below affected this stay it would not deter me from returning as having stayed a number of times before i know the high level of the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    5.8
    We had a very late check in and ask for an hour extra to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a very late check in and ask for an hour extra to check out. Their normal check out time is at 10:00 which is very unusual. We wanted to check out at 11:00 hrs and we told we have to pay extra.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    5.0
    Free WiFi is great but bring a pillow.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Phone signal is poor but free WiFi so I didn’t mind. Signage is awful. You come to a dark unlit car park and there is no indication a hotel even exists. There is no suggestion when booking that the hotel is in the conference building or that you park up and then walk up what is a no entry road to the entrance. Signage is really needed as there were two different bookings aimlessly searching when I arrived. The pool was broken but I didn’t actually realise it had one when I booked. The pillows are flat, lumpy and not comfortable. Bring your own. The duvet again super thin but there was a nice throw in the wardrobe.

    The staff were ok, it was clean and the free WiFi was good - you could stream tv in your room so what more do you want. Cheap room - basic standard a bit dated but everything you need and the teapot was a nice touch. Got chocolate was nice (Shame about the cheap coffee!)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    5.4
    No heating or hot water Monday
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No heating or hot water Monday Swimming pool/sauna closed all week 90 mins of bell ringing on Tues night 100m from room You need to get a parking permit from reception each day

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.9
    Happy with the communications received from the hotel, they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the room at a discounted rate which I felt was a fair price, though at full price I think I would have been disappointed.

    Happy with the communications received from the hotel, they were very helpful in arranging our stay. Room was comfortable and located next to good transport links.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    3.8
    Last resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilets didn't look very clean, with marks all over. There was a spider web on top the wall in the bedroom and it had a funny smell. The check out was early compared to most hotels. But my partner didn't mind leaving early.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.2
    A real pleasure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit outdated but understandable

    I loved the breakfast that was included it was cooked for me to exactly how I like it and was very nice, also the ground on which it is based was amazing to walk around I loved it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.3
    Room was Disapp, we made the best of it,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was set up for one person, one towel, one glass and small bed against the wall. Very worn and dated

    The staff were lovely and breakfast was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.8
    Good value...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor is a bit tired. Shower was very sensitive, ran very hot on occasion during use! No food available so brought a takeaway with me.

    Comfy room with a double bed, good shower, all I needed for the night. A good room rate topped it off.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    3.8
    Would not recommend this hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff were slow checking in the male member of staff was rude in the morning, the hotel and room is in desperate need of a refurbishment, the swimming pool was closed with no reason as to why, the breakfast was not cooked properly and there were silver fish insects in the bathroom, also the room furniture had seen better days.

    The location was scenic

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    4.6
    Will not be staying here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lady on reception was extremely unhelpful & rude. Waited nearly 20 minutes to check in - No one to be seen on front desk. When she finally arrived a phone call came in which she answered before helping me with check in & spent a further 10 minutes on the phone. When she put the phone down she rudely asked me to close a door which someone else had left open & she accused it being me! Once checked in i was not informed where my room was or any information. Also you have to pay £4 for car park which was not aware of & would not offer any change so had to leave the property to locate a shop even though was not familiar of the area. Swimming pool was not heated & room was at the front of the building in which there was a party so was very noisy. Will not be staying here again!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    3.8
    The attitude of the staff is extremely poor, uninterested and lazy ..... YOU CAN TELL ITS a COUNCIL
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The attitude of the staff is extremely poor, uninterested and lazy ..... YOU CAN TELL ITS a COUNCIL RAN Property .... I had to be moved rooms (Room 22) due to noise from banging pipes at 3am in the morning - the reason the night staff gave was "its raining and this causes the noise" - Breakfast was very poor also, when i entered the dining room, every table had used plates on it and when i looked around the woman who should have been clearing up was busy talking to other kitchen staff about her last evening antics. I had to ask her to clear up a table for me and get more orange juice etc, its was only 8:15am, THEN SHE CARRIED Chatting to the kitchen staff again. When i spoke to the receptionist about having to move rooms no apology was give, the attitude of the staff is extremely poor, uninterested and lazy.

    The attitude of the staff is extremely poor, uninterested and lazy ..... YOU CAN TELL ITS a COUNCIL RAN Property .... I had to be moved rooms (Room 22) due to noise from banging pipes at 3am in the morning - the reason the night staff gave was "its raining and this causes the noise" - Breakfast was very poor also, when i entered the dining room, every table had used plates on it and when i looked around the woman who should have been clearing up was busy talking to other kitchen staff about her last evening antics. I had to ask her to clear up a table for me and get more orange juice etc, its was only 8:15am, THEN SHE CARRIED Chatting to the kitchen staff again. When i spoke to the receptionist about having to move rooms no apology was give, the attitude of the staff is extremely poor, uninterested and lazy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    4.6
    The staff were exceptionally helpful and dealt with our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were exceptionally helpful and dealt with our problems as best they could. But the rooms are very poor and the whole building is probably beyond its useful life. There was no hot water when we arrived and none in the morning either. The price at £45 is obviously very low but I assumed this was because it was a conference centre filling its rooms at the weekend and I did not expect such a poor experience. I cannot fault the staff who are doing their best in an outdated facility. PS We did not stay for breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.8
    Short but sweet!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our rooms were fine for attending a conference, large desk etc although the bathroom needs a refurb. The shower curtain was so far in from the edge of the bath it was impossible to shower without becoming wrapped in the curtain. I think larger rooms woukd have been available had we bot been single occupants!

    Beautiful location, woukd love to visit with my husband. Breakfast, though not a massive choice was excellent, thick tasty bacon and sausages that surely came direct from a farm! Shame we didnt manage to use the pool as it looked lovely and the grounds are beautiful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    5.8
    Dissopointing given the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was overall, very tired and dated. The room smelt damp and the colour scheme was a little Moulin Rouge! The bed was a Queen, just and the mattress not the best. The hotel is going back to council ownership.

    The staff were very friendly and the breakfast not too bad at all.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: