Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Langtry Hotel

2-4 Colne Road , Clacton-on-Sea, CO15 1PX, United Kingdom

#12 of 15 hotels in Clacton-on-Sea

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 567 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    5.4
    Central location . Near to shops and beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning. The temperatures was so hot had to have the windows open so got kept awake with groups leaving the clubs and pubs.

    The staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    the location so near the seaside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the floors in the stairs n rooms . i didnt sleep . every time a person moved in the stairs or in other room like going to the bathroom the floor boards made a strong noise n it kept me awake i had driven from london n stay awake all night was all day awake in the seaside front n had to drive back to london all without a sleep . it upset me but the hotel is nice clean n good staff.

    the location so near the seaside. staff very very polite friendly .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable and highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only limited parking spaces at the hotel so get there early, however there is some on road parking which is free over night and a car park right opposite the hotel but it is expensive to park for a 24 hour period or over night as it is in operation 24/7.

    The Langtry hotel is a lovely modern hotel with very friendly, helpful staff. The room was clean and comfortable with all the facilities I needed. I paid extra for a full English breakfast and it was excellent and served very quickly by a lovely helpful lady. I checked in very late at night after the front door was closed but this was no problem to the gentleman on reception who was very kind. The hotel Is very close to the pier and right near the seafront so I took advantage and enjoyed a lovely walk along the front after breakfast just before I left. Clackton on sea is a beautiful resort but sadly I was only there for a short time. I would highly recommend this hotel, it's great value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    4.6
    too expensive for what we got
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelt,wallpaper peeling, holes in the wall ,door half painted shower and bathroom tiny and shower broken, breakfast not included in price

    Close to beach and town centre and enjoyed breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    Location was brilliant !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was very very small

    Location was brilliant ! Quiet even though near bars. Very relaxed ! Restaurant was the best we had downstairs ! The crab was amazing. Staff were very nice and let us keep our luggage there for the day as we had a late train !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    2.9
    Awful hotel for £161 a night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive crap! Paid £161 for 1 night. More like a 1 star motel. Not even worth £50 a night. Room very small with horrible tacky decor. Bathroom was tiny, shower dribbled out. Pillows lumpy and hard couldn’t sleep on them. Noisy until 3am, room backed on to pubs and clubs. Floor boards creaked, walls paper thin. I could go on and on.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    5.4
    Bathrooms were not clean, shower heads were broken, loud...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms were not clean, shower heads were broken, loud music, room smelled funny, no parking. Staff were friendly, The only good thing about it is the location close to clacton pier.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed our visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast & the lady who served us. The breakfast was good. The lady was very helpful, & friendly. The room was comfortable, & to park the car so near your room was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.4
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Creaky floor boards all over the room Noise from other guests was horrendous at 2am. Argued about where his mobile phone was. Shower doors didn't close correctly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.9
    Liked this seaside hotel despite it being an older property.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked this seaside hotel despite it being an older property. It’s fairly well maintained and everything is kept clean. It is a stones throw from the beach and nearby seaside nightlife.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.7
    View is good and so is the breakfast, the restaurants are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV not working, leaking toilet and shelf under TV very wonky

    View is good and so is the breakfast, the restaurants are amazing and good value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.7
    Enjoyable stay at the Langtry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom cramped so a smaller sized hand basin would greatly assist manouverability. The TV in the room was very small and throughout our stay was constantly losing signal strength to the point it became unwatchable. I recommend a major signal booster

    The Langtry is centrally situated just a minute from the sea-front and attractions. The hotel and room were clean, although the room was on the small size and the on-suite facilities were clearly inserted to bring the hotel up to modern standards as the bathroom was cramped. Toiletries were provided but no hair dryer although I am told some were available in reception on request. An iron and ironing board were present in the room although not tested. The hotel has a bar of sorts although it did appear that only canned ales were available. The bar closes at 22:00, however this would seem appropriate because the person on reception seems to be on duty all day including running the bar. Floors creaked throughout but it was not excessive. The breakfast was excellent - fresh, plentiful and hot with a reasonable selection of cereals, yoghurts and the dining area was spacious and clean. All staff were friendly and welcoming. The hotel had free Wi-Fi which as a welcome bonus. Would I stay here again? - Yes and feel some of the comments left by other guests appear harsh.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.3
    My stay was comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was too small and there was a wait for breakfast because it had to be ordered and cooked

    It was comfortable the location was good . The staff were friendly and the hotel was clean. It was very close to restaurants and other shops. I felt safe and the room tempreture was good. It was good value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.3
    The stay was comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small and breakfast had to be ordered and cooked while you wait.

    It was quiet the staff were ŕiendly and the breakfast was good. It was valued for money. It was easily accessable. I liked the 2.30 check in time which allowed me to look around in the area. Location was also very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location right next to the sea .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertised as free parking but in fact there is only room for 6 cars, I was lucky enough to get there early and there was one space left. There is parking across the road at £10 for 24hrs

    Great location right next to the sea . The rooms are a little small but If your looking for somewhere to sleep rather that spend time in this is great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    5.0
    If it was not for the weather, surounding bars and restuarants, it would have been worse..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toilet was to close to the hand basin, when you bent down to go to the toilet you hit your head. The floorboards creaked every time someone in the other rooms walked around. The bar closed at 10 doors locked, barman did not even know what a lager and lime was, he disappeared for at least 6-8 min and come back with a saucer with cut up wedges of lime NO LIME CORDIAL. We had televisions and load talking till gone 12 o'c at night and I really think you should be looking into this hotel as there were strange coming and goings from young men through the night till early morning !!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    had a lovely stay pleasant staff and would stay again (will look at room first tho) A++++++
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed and room floorboards creaked like hell constantly (made us paranoid), asked for change of room but they said none available, sloped ceiling bay with chunk missing (both hit our heads on it and i had a cut and lump) small room for a double, water pressure low on shower, bar shuts way too early 10pm, no parking spaces so had to pay £10 for carpark opposite and refused refund, toilet seat broken in ladies loos.

    excellent staff manners and helpfulness, room very clean, great bar, breakfast superb value for money and waitress was very friendly and held good pleasant conversation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    Good location, good value for money but needs updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The creaky floors! The couple above our room were walking around at 4 in the morning which woke us up and kept us awake!

    The bed was comfortable and the room was very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    5.0
    Wouldn’t stay there for a holiday.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More staff. Breakfast and evening meal - especially after a hard days work!

    There was no breakfast or evening meal as the kitchen was closed for refurbishment! Thank goodness for Weatherspoons!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed our one night stay and would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom too small, no fan working in bathroom. Extremely creaky floorboards all over hotel.

    The location, cleanliness, the crisp clean white linen and towels. Staff very friendly .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    3.3
    chronically disappointing, scandalous waist of money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can not quite believe, actually feel incredulous, that a basic accommodation can and did charge as much as we were charged to stay for one night. To then charged us additional £10 for breakfast was a smack in the face! I looked on booking.com the following morning for the same accommodation to see the normal cost for the double room we stayed in was £52-£69 per night. Captive market or not, being a Bank Holiday weekend or not, a price tag of £180 was despicable. I had not been to Clacton on Sea before. I thought the booking. com information, discription was misleading, Even the pictorial reference implied a closer prosymmetry to sand/beach, beside the hotel with a parking area in front of the accommodation. Not realising geographically that the sea is beyond a hill front!! The continual reminder throughout the accommodation on A4 laminated paper taped to doors and walls of the the time the doors are locked, the time to be considerate to your fellow residents 9pm, breakfast served until, oh and not forgetting the 11am Check Out time!! I am sure there is a more respectful way to inform persons staying in that establishment. A more curtious way. The curtains did not close properally, a lovely blue polyester. We kept the window open because of the glorious warm weather. Just a little tip for comfort perhaps supply a fan. This would have allowed us to close the window aiding a quieter sleep as not to hear other residents outside talking into the mid hours of the next morning after their night out. The bed was really uncomfortable. The carpet was grotty. The bathroom space was ridiculously small, particularly the shower cubical, tube! The lounge bar furniture has seen better days and the paint work should be 'made good' All in all an outrageously expensive p*** take out of our ignorance. The Trade Discription Act might be interested in the blatant exploitation. I would not recommend that accommodation to anyone. I do not know how Booking.

    The lady who cooked the breakfast was a delight.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.7
    cheap, kind of value for money but not going here again really.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom was so small, in order to use the toilet (i am a male) to pee i had to stand in the doorway, diagonally aiming and if I needed to #2 if you leant over in a comfortable position your'e blocked by the sink. The floors were EXTREMELY creaky, you could hear EVERYTHING, such as walking around and other couples having their "fun"...

    Pillows were comfy, and bed was good enough for me to fall asleep in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.5
    It was comfortable and friendly stay breakfast was lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The key to the door. Only one key and had to lock the door as door swung open

    The breakfast was lovely and very personal. Room was clean bed comfortable .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.5
    Clean room and bathroom overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only one slight issue was the room I had being above the reception desk so some noise below if people are talking/coming in late. Not much of an issue out of season but if you are an extremely light sleeper like me this might be a problem and you may wish to avoid room 11. Again, it's a minor issue.

    Clean room and bathroom overall. Hairdryer and iron/ironing board in the room, rather than having to ask to borrow this at most places. Pleasant staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    4.6
    Not value for money very basic for what I paid would expect breakfast in the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room to small could not fit in the shower not enough room very claustrophobic.

    Dump keys in a basket and just said bye not even a did you enjoy your stay or safe journey home.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    very enjoyable,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Rooms could have done with a toaster and microwave, also the TV could not tune to all available TV channels, satellite instead of freeview would have been a better choice

    Excellent facilities the shower, kettle, tea, coffee, sugar and milk all provided, also the TV in each room and free wifi to boot,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    6.7
    Disapointed with room and attention paid to complaint about leek,we had to put towel on floor so we
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not satisfied with service,we reported a leak in toilet coming from under the wash basin 9am on the 17th. We went out for the day came back 7.30 pm spoke to the person in reception about it he said had not heard anything about the leak, he came up to room with us and was shown the leek which he said he would report it to the manager as he would see him in half an hour. We waited up till 11.00pm and nothing happened so we went to bed. We spoke to Kim at breakfast on wednesday morning telling her that the leek we had told her about on Tuesday was not attended to so we left feeling unhappy as we could not use the wash basin during our stay which is not very hygenic.

    Kitchen Staff Kim a very helpful and pleasant person who would do all she could to make us comfortable.10 out of 10.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    4.6
    Perfect area but due to cleanliness and lack of sleep does not reflect on the price paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness!! Room size to the rate charged was not reflective. Sink was blocked, the blind was broken so had to sleep with it open meaning a 5 am wake up. LOTS of noise from other bedrooms which was not pleasant, the walls are so thin you can hear your neighbors conversations perfectly! So sadly no sense of privacy and also meant that me and my partner had very little sleep. So many hairs in the shower, sink and also the toilet seat! Was very disappointed as have stayed before in a different room and it was gorgeous, however this time was a very big disappointment and we will sadly not be returning!

    The fact that the hotel was right on the sea front and that the town Centre was less than a five minute walk away. Staff were very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant stay, nice staff but hotel needs a lot of money spending on it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms rather tired and in need of refurbishment but typical of this type of English sea side resort unfortunately. Shower was very poor - a dribble rather than a shower. Breakfast was OK, the lady serving was very friendly and helpful.

    Friendly staff, great location 2 minute walk from the seafront, pier and beach. Free parking but limited spaces. Close to all local shops and restaurants

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    5.0
    Will not stay again due to parking issues and noisy arisers each morning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking: 7 spaces for 28 rooms. Tradesmen staying at the Hotel arising noisily at 06:00 every morning.

    Clean room, towels and bedding provided, tea and coffee facilities provided, central location to Clacton.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.3
    Good for what it was.. an overnight stay at the seaside. :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could hear everyone in their rooms, sides, above and below so potentially some soundboards could be invested into. Our showeroom was a walk in closet.. I could rest my head on the sink whilst using the toilet.. the tap was leaking brown fluid. The morning English breakfast was lovely but my yogurt was out of date by a month.. check in was okay but made complicated due to an error on the hotels system. I felt like I was kept waiting in the reception longer than needed, not ideal after the long journey.

    The location is exactly where you would want it to be for a by the seaside kind of break.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.4
    It was like sleeping in a paper bag. It was so noisey you could hear everything inside n outside
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kept up most of the night by noise. Bathroom was so small ot was hard to move aroubd and smelt very damp. Shower still had someone else's half used barr of soap coverd in hair with hair in the shower and the shower head was filthy

    The bed was clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    5.4
    We enjoyed the breakfast the lady that served us was really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms was to close to each other could hear couple in the other room arguing all night got no sleep the floor boards are really creaky and the shower had no power.

    We enjoyed the breakfast the lady that served us was really friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.9
    It was a nice night away; room wasn’t too small and the area was nice enough to walk around
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst I understand it isn’t the hotel’s fault, it was a bit noisy throughout the night (thin walls perhaps?). Could just hear our neighbours until gone 2AM.. TV was a bit small as well and in an awkward position that you couldn’t really see it whilst laying in bed.. parking was very limited, but it does clearly state that whilst booking..(just didn’t think it would be that limited!) other than that, all swell

    Was a cosy room with all required facilities. Was clean and private. Nice surrounding area

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Curtains at the window rather than a roller blind and the heating a bit higher.

    The bed was comfortable, the decor nice particularly compared to a room on a previous stay. Good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Nice surprise
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property was romantic, it was quite and nice equipped, with everything what is need it for one night romantic stay, next to the sea beach . it was pleasant stay . We did not try restaurant or breakfast , but the restaurant looked like very good choice to spend some time with your loved one

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.9
    Above average room excellent .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing . Skeleton staff superb.

    I lived in Claxton up to the late seventies. The hotel is all most on the seafront. So much winter potential for Clacton Sadly as with many seaside towns they have big problems. I'd definitely 're book and will. I would expect a keener price on off peak season .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.3
    Perfect for a one night stay after attending local wedding
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed and pillows were past their best. The bathroom was fine for us, anyone bigger would not have fitted in.

    Our request for early check- in, was facilitated. The breakfast was fresh, tasty and beautifully served. We could leave car on premises after check out.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    2.5
    Nasty
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was the worse place people shouting coulf hear people moving around all night with the sqeeky floor boards the shower didnt work properly, the list could go on

    Nothing was the worse place people shouting coulf hear people moving around all night with the sqeeky floor boards

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    8.8
    Simple, friendly, safe, comfortable. I'll definitely stay here if I'm in the area again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower in my room was a bit rubbish

    The staff make this place a success. Every single member of staff I dealt with was polite, friendly, welcoming and helpful. Thanks :-)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    2.5
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing... the place was filthy... the staff were rude. The rooms were horrible and could hear everything. The cleaners came round at 8am and woke everyone up and were chatting really loud and banging and knocking and woke us up. It was all arwful and I would actually like my money back as it was literally a waste of money and would not advise this to anyone. The room had fag burns on the bed. The towels were dirty and rough and the staff were awful. I Would NOT advise anyone to stay here! Absolutely bloody awful on every aspect!!

    Nothing... the place was filthy... the staff were rude. The rooms were horrible and could hear everything. The cleaners came round at 8am and woke everyone up and were chatting really loud and banging and knocking and woke us up. It was all arwful and I would actually like my money back as it was literally a waste of money and would not advise this to anyone. The room had fag burns on the bed. The towels were dirty and rough and the staff were awful. I Would NOT advise anyone to stay here! Absolutely bloody awful on every aspect!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    9.2
    Top Notch Breakfast from a Top Notch Cook!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Honestly apart from the noise outside in the middle of the night by a few merry locals from the pub...which can't be policed by the hotel can it. I have no faults whatsoever with the hotel - Just pack some Ear Plugs :)

    Easy to find as the hotel is just off the promenade opposite the Pier, plus it's bright green painted and stands out from the crowd! Our room was small but perfect for a 2 night stay. The ensuite was compact but clean and convenient. I did have trouble with the shower temp but as I only used it once and managed to wash hair etc it was fine. What was really outstanding was the Full English Breakfast served by a lovely lady both mornings - absolutely top notch, piping hot and plentiful and served with a smile which is always nice! We discovered we had a nearly flat tyre on our first morning and had left our inflater at home unfortunately. We asked the young chap at reception and he found us a inflater which was fantastic! The only downside is the noise from the street from the locals from the conveniently placed Weatherspoons just around the corner in the early hours. Top Tip just take some good earplugs and you'll be fine. I would definitely stay here again - everyone was so lovely who worked at The Langtry and do the Hotel justice with their friendliness and wonderful food and cleaning skills.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.6
    Nice, simple, clean, perfect location, great staff and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast food could have been a bit hotter. TV reception was sometimes not 100 %. Bathroom could have been a bit bigger.

    Staff was nice and friendly. Location was perfect. Hotel was nice and clean. Heater kept room nice and warm. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    5.0
    OK, but wouldn't stay again!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs some TLC and is very basic. Tea /coffee facilities poor one cup for two people. Ceiling in the very tiny shower room (or cupboard) was falling in. Headboard on the bed was filthy. Shower room smelt of smoke. Would not stay again!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.5
    Overall experience wonderful apart from the noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom/shower room was tiny the noise from neighbouring club went on to all hours kept awake and also early hours of morning being woken up by how would I put it adults having fun which went on for hours wouldn’t of been very nice for families who have children

    The breakfast in the morning was amazing great value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Overnight stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing worth writing about.

    Overnight work stay, handy to have a Wetherspoon just round the corner within walking distance, staff all friendly and good location being in between and even the beach which was a bonus, lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    was very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    nothing

    it was clean and the staff were friendly but not over the top, definitely recommend to single travellers and families alike , very nice place .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    3.8
    Great location, but would NOT stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was so small that you couldn’t brush your teeth without having to open the bathroom door. Honestly the smallest room I’ve ever stayed in. Only 2 of us stayed in the room and even then we had no space to move around or get dressed.

    The location was absolutely perfect, just a stones throw from the pier.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable but could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A lot of ambient noise. Also, a couple were shouting abusive language, and there was a lot of banging.

    Very nice breakfast, close to beach. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    2.9
    Wouldn't stay here again there was no mention of a nightclub right next door .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the room was very dated , not the cleanest,the bathroom left a lot to be desired the toilet cistern was cracked so had to be careful how you flushed the toilet , the cold water in the sink ran very slow and the shower curtain wasn't nice either .

    Absolutely nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.7
    Friendly hotel staff makes up for the tired hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room quite small no telephone in room. Room looking tired.

    Hot water, tea coffee in room, location.best of all not pestered by staff, who were very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyable stay near coast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower room tiny, barely enough room to turn around. Came away with bite marks which i assume were from bed bugs. Very noisy at night.

    Good location near beach and shops. Super restaurant on site and lots of other choices nearby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.2
    The staff were helpful and friendly.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some noise from neighbouring properties til late at night - to be expected with such a central location.

    The staff were helpful and friendly. The bed was comfy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.3
    Overall good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    En suite v small but ok for a single night. Shower was a trickle but clean. Floorboards creaking a lot from people in next room. The blind was broken 😟

    Room was good value for £50. bed was comfy. Breakfast was v good. Excellent service and options inc cereal, toast, full English juices etc. Good location by the beach. Staff were excellent especially the lady serving breakfast. Restaurant downstairs is nice with v good menu. Waitress was excellent. Overall v satisfied.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    4.6
    Did what if needed to do but would look elsewhere next time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very hard, had no spring in it, extraction didn't work in the bathroom and you could hear noisey guests returning back late!

    Location near the beach

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Friendly staff with good customer service, needed something...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff with good customer service, needed something printed and they did it for me right away, location was good and easy parking, clean and comfortable and made good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    Good location, clean. Plenty of hot water. Parking ( if you are early ). Reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fried breakfast was below par. Poor quality items and the toast was very dry . You can get much better and cheaper at the Wetherspoons pub round the corner. Shower room was very small with shower coming away from the wall.

    The most comfortable bed that I've ever slept in.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    3.5
    Never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Over-priced, room too basic, worst nights sleep ever. The ceiling had strip lighting and tiles, felt like sleeping in an office on a very uncomfortable bed. The "bathroom" was a foot away from the bed and hardly had room to move, I've seen bigger cupboards than that.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    3.3
    rubbish worst night sleep would not stay here again only saw staff at check in that was all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the beds were hard the floorboards males noise when you walk over them the draws in the room was dirty and in the bathroom the toilet stunk be for we Evan useds it and their was no parking as the car park was full

    I did not like any think about this hotel was the list Hose on

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    3.3
    Poor
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff attitude disgusting all he wanted was my card in the machine. Did trust me thought I was going to run off over a breakfast. Noisy outside pubs bouncing and cars flying up and down street. Parking was grab it as you can with putting cones out. Very basic rooms. If you go and stay at a decent hotel pay on arrival and clear any extras at the end NOT this hotel. Overall very poor and won't be re visiting

    Kitchen lady was lovely, friendly and food nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyed it would return my partner and family used to live in the area it was a trip down memorylane
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Net curtain had some sort of red dirty mark on it.. pillows were like cardboard striped the bed on leaving as I always do in any hotel I've stayed mattress protector and quilt was all marked.

    Didn't eat at the hotel was an onsite Italian restaurant which look lovely and a bar. Location of the hotel was fantastic everything in walking distance

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wi-fi was a bit slow. The noise from outside was a bit of a nuisance, but not enough to spoil my visit.

    The staff were extremely polite, helpful, respectful and friendly. It is the staff who made the hotel great. I would especially like to mention Pedro (I think that was his name?) at reception, who was excellent. I witnessed another guest being particularly rude to him on Saturday morning and he dealt with it with tact and politeness. He was also great at answering my questions.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    5.8
    Clacton-on-Sea is dirty with rowdy people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very noisy. You get the noise from the pier and pubs and continues till 4am. Walls of the hotel very are very thin. The doors should of been locked to hotel at 10pm we got back from a evening out at 11.30pm and it wasn't Locked. I was very frightened as there was fighting outside. Never again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.1
    Very pleasant budget friendly hotel near all the action
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was very warm, the bed was very creaky and wobbled a lot Shower was very low pressure and the shower door was broken

    Very good location near beach. Free wifi, helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.8
    A pleasurable place to stay and would return again in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast only served till 9:30 and pillows were quite firm.

    The staff were very helpful,parking available,room was clean,washing facilities were good and location was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    3.3
    Poor in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above, nothing to like

    Nothing about the b&b, severely over priced. Net curtains had holes shower leaked all the time so puddles of water, windows covered in.birds poo, wallpaper shabby, wd never stay again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    4.6
    Would not stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were tiny, ensuite bathroom was the size of a cupboard and the one member of staff we encountered lacked any level of customer service! At £275 for two nights (not even including breakfast), this was an absolute rip off!!

    Location was great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.9
    We enjoyed our stay and the central location meant all the bars and restaurants were close by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A previous guest must have been smoking in our bathroom and the smell lingered.

    The breakfasts were excellent - all freshly cooked to order. The staff were all very friendly and very helpful. It was great being able to park for free at the hotel all week - although some juggling of cars was inevitable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    2.9
    I have no words
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything pillows were like rock the TV was tiny just shabby and unkempt bathroom stupid size

    For the price of the room it was very very poor £133 one night no breakfast included the iron I asked to use was a tiny travel iron fay burns in the curtains small bathroom and corridor stank of smoke ....I will not be coming back even if it was for nothing :(

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    4.2
    Would not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive for what was offered. Room small, Toilet exceptionally small barely got in there, no window nor extraction fan, so smelt strange. Tv was tiny, bed was very uncomfortable. It was very noisy although I accept this was because it was at seafront and nightclubs/pubs shutting.

    Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    3.8
    Light fitting hit my wife on head Not very happy, rude staff and management
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In room 8 the ceiling light fitting fell down and cut my wife's head, all the staff could say is that window shouldn't be open, didn't have any time for my wife, will defiantly NOT be staying there again, we have complained but Antonio has not replied back to any emails, in the process of health and safety about this

    Good location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    5.0
    wouldnt again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    first night had trouble broken bed, then shower was hardly working. no pressre got changed room, second room was nicer, but shower very poor again could hardly get the soup off...

    the area was close to beach and pubs

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    5.4
    No way am I going back there after that experience. It wasn't exactly cheap either!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room stank of something, the toilet/shower area especially. It was also very strong in the corridor outside. The smell was there all my stay and even an open window only gave temporary relief. My clothes etc., smelled after I left the hotel too, even when I unpacked at home! I think they have bad rot in the building, perhaps dry rot, perhaps wet rot from leaky pipes. The room was refurbished so I couldn't get any clue what it was. Shame there was nowhere to put the towel in the bathroom apart from the floor! Karaoke very loud from next building, very loud until after 0100. Seagulls equally noisy night and morning, but as it's the seaside, nothing can be done about that so perhaps I shouldn't complain but less than 4 hours sleep each night is nowhere near enough! Perhaps other parts of the Hotel were OK, I don't know as I didn't go around the whole place, but they certainly need to sort that stink problem out pronto!

    If I'd been interested in the beach, it was very close, but wasn't relevant to me as I went for a different reason. I had no problem walking to the hotel from the Railway Station. The hotel was near the centre of town too so everything needed was near.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    4.2
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was damp and smelly the shower and toilet was so cramp the noise outside was all nite i wont book through you again or ever stay there ever again what a waste of money and no value what so ever

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    2.5
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing from getting there to Finnish I would be ashamed to advertise ylthis hotel on my website the shower didn't work the rooms smell really fusty

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: