Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Lynford Hall Hotel 3 stars

Mundford, Near Thetford, Mundford, IP26 5HW, United Kingdom

#4 of 4 hotels in Mundford

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 240 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    5.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    9.0
    Staff very helpful and friendly.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being told on check-in there was a charge of £20.00 pet fee dispute nothing mentioned on booking.com or hotels own site.

    Staff very helpful and friendly. Lovely grounds to walk around.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    7.1
    Nice breakfast, lovely staff and good walks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant

    The building is pretty amazing and the rooms comfortable just not anything that special or not the one we stayed in. We both really feel it's a wedding venue hotel rather than for the individual guests staying there. There were no speciais on the menu because there was a wedding and that felt disappointing because I had rung up previously to ask specifically if there would be gluten free options and I had been assured there would be however the bar manager (only food available in the bar) was shoed out of the kitchen as they were too busy. We needless to say went somewhere else for food. Breakfast was good and I had a delicious cappucion. Land around the hotel lovely so easy to go for a walk and and enjoy the scenery.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    5.0
    The only positive thing I can say is that the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First all all the room we were given was nothing like the ones in the photos. It looked like a converted utility/storage room. The biggest shock, however, came when we opened the bathroom door - a tiny toilet room (4" x 5") with a shower outlet attached to the wall 2 feet away from the toilet seat with dead insects lying on the floor. I hadn't seen anything like it before - you get higher standards at a £30 per night Travelodge. After complaining to the staff we were re-allocated to a twin room (despite booking a double) - apparently that was the only one available as there was a wedding party going on. The bathroom in the new room had a big brown stain in the bath, the radiator was lukewarm at best and there was no internet through the hotel poor WiFi. Overall, a very disappointing stay - we won't be coming back any time soon.

    The only positive thing I can say is that the staff were very helpful and friendly. Also, the breakfast was tasty with everything freshly cooked.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    5.8
    Lovely grounds old building one off never again
    • Couple
    • Double Room - East Wing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating water comes out funny colour having bottles of water half filled in your room re using the toilet roll surely fresh should be put for next guest and breakfast was cold and not cooking properly

    Beautiful grounds and friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    7.9
    Lovely place for a wedding
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - East Wing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast. They didn’t keep the food and drink topped up regularly, so lots was either cold or not there at all. Pubic hairs in the bacon. Not pleasant.

    Lovely reception staff, nice big room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    6.3
    A beatiful hotel in the middle of nowhere, but wouldn't stay here again on business!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very poor phone signal (almost non existent) and the same went for the Wi-fi. We were there for a conference and have never experience such poor internet. The hotel staff blame this on the number of people using the wi-fi at once, however if you are offering your services aas a conference hotel, this should be one of the first things to exceed on.

    A lovely Victorian Mansion surrounded by natural beautiful grounds with friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    3.8
    Very average
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tired (across the court yard), room was full of little flies and dead spiders. Toilet seat was broken, bed was lumpy ... bobbles on the mattress, light over the dresser didn’t work and the room was exceptionally noisy. I could hear next door going to the toilet and the phone conversation. Bar menu limited... we ordered main course, couldn’t order a dessert as the chef had gone home! Bar staff were good though.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    perfect way to relax not for work
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    don't use this for a business meeting as the wifi is awful as is the mobile phone signal,

    great location and the staff are wonderfully helpful, food is good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    We really enjoyed our stay there and would come again and have already recommended it to others
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very happy with everything excepting an annoying customer , but the bar staff were very good about it , not the fault of the hotel

    The bathroom was good but I was unable to get over the bath to shower , the reason we ask for courtyard is my walking ability

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.8
    Lovely quite hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tap water was supplied by the hotel and took a while to get it to run clear . Breakfast was a bit poor and a lot of flies in the dining room

    Beautiful hotel , beautiful room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.5
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast had been hanging around a long time and was not good and we ate within time frame given! And not much choice for supper but I like fish and chips so was OK!

    Staff were good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    We felt welcomed and looked after from start to finish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a cooked breakfast, pastries, cereal and some fruit and yogurt. A little bit more choice within these items would have been better.

    We ordered a family room. When we got there we were told that it was the 'Allo Allo' room (where the TV series was filmed). It was a lovely room. There was a separate twin room for the children within it, lots of towels and tea/coffee/milk in the room. The beds were really comfortable and we all had a great night's sleep. All of the staff that we met were friendly and helpful (from check-in, bar, breakfast and check-out). We would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    5.0
    In the forest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed 5 nights. The first 2 in a small room in the stables. The bed was old and worn out and the room was stuffy. We were then able to move into the main house. Much nicer and very roomy. The overall feeling was that it would be good for weddings etc but not the best option for a holiday base.

    Staff tried hard to please.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.6
    The whole stay was fantastic, the staff were very helpful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Negative

    The whole stay was fantastic, the staff were very helpful, the food was amazing and surroundings were awesome and really good walking areas. I really recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.3
    Weekend stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls to thin you could hear next room conversation in the courtyard rooms All a bit tired looking Gardens looked in need of a good gardener

    Food was great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    4.6
    A necessity
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was freezing cold and the turn knob broke as I tried to turn it. Wasn’t told what time breakfast was, so missed it. Room was dark and not too nice

    The bed was comfy and check out staff were very friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    5.4
    Needs updating and thorough cleaning
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Where to start?? The WiFi was terrible. Could not get any kind of signal in the room even with a WiFi extender. My husband booked this room for business so no WiFi in the room was extremely frustrating for him. He should have been told at booking that the only WiFi was in the main building (lobby,bar,restaurant). The bathroom was disgusting. Mold in the shower, bugs on the windowsill, cobwebs with spiders. It looked like it had not been thoroughly cleaned in a very long time. We ran out of toilet paper 2 times because they never left enough. You can not drink the water from the faucet. At one point, I took a shower in brown water. I wasn't concerned because we were told on check-in that the water was treated however when I toweled off after the shower the towel turned brown! The food in the restaurant was average. There are better places to eat in the nearby town of Thetford. As other reviewers mentioned, the view from our room was ruined by rubbish bins, there was no A/C, and no fridge.

    The helpful staff members were definitely the highlight of our stay. They were able to provide suggestions for day trips to the beach and the best way to get to London (via train about 1.5 hrs from nearest train station which was a 30 minute drive away from hotel). Breakfast was a full English breakfast. The hotel grounds were surrounded with walking paths, ponds, wildlife, ect.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.0
    Nice location shame hotel VERY TIRED
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - East Wing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Oh where do we start, stayed before and were disappointed wanted to give it a 2 chance, big mistake. 1st stay beding threadbare, towel stained, and breakfast poor, scrambled egg or go without no butter had to ask, youghut no choice. On this stay had upgrade room expected better no chance bathroom celing had water leak stain not addressed, room very tired, chair ripped and pen marked, table on which tv stood not been cleaned in ages, dust and dirt, room doors would have benefited from a wipe, totally unacceptable. It did not get better at breakfast got seated at the wobbliest table by the window that needed a good wipe with a damp cloth honest it's not that hard to make a difference yet again scrambled egg or nothing. If I ran my business in the same way I'd be out of business. Inexcusable for such poor value for money You have a great location do more with it make it a destination you want to go to

    pleasant staff and nice location, bar food good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    4.6
    Nice location shame did not live up to expectation
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness needs addressing. Breakfast very poor with little choice e.g. scramble egg only. Rooms VERY TIRED, in poor state in urgent need of repair.

    Staff were pleasant. The location was nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.5
    Not bad but lacking a Aircon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - East Wing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con, had to leave the window open and get the noise of the non stop gravel car park all night

    Great historic property, original features and lovely garden

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    The Hall & grounds were beautiful and great to clear...
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tired - carpet was slightly dirty however large - we are use to this when we’re away in France so we weren’t to worried

    The Hall & grounds were beautiful and great to clear your head from a busy life - we were up graded to a suite, you have to have a bit of luck - the staff were friendly - it’s very much like staying in an Auberge in France The ball we attended was catered well and food was hot and lovely - staff efficient @ friendly eager to please.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant loved my stay a week wasn't long enough felt I'd found my special place away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small no where to place our suitcases and no wardrobe . the cleaning of the room was poor bathroom needed a good going over as a lot of visible mould had to keep asking for tea milk even no spare toilet paper staff here let the whole team down I spoke to the manager about this and honestly he hadn't a clue looked to me he was thinking what was I on about .

    Loved it loved it loved it felt like King and queen in our castle staff were excellent friendly smiling pleasant nothing to much trouble meals were very good loved having a white tablecloth and glorious dining room as many places have done away with tablecloths these days but it makes such a difference to the dining experience will definitely go back again. Good location for exploring Norfolk and /or just chilling

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were situated in the courtyard area of the hotel and, although there was a little black mould around the shower and odd stains on the carpets, the room was generally fine -just a little dated. The walls however, were so thin that you could literally hear the conversation next door as well as a loud gushing noise when our neighbours (who luckily happened to be friends of ours) ran water- it sounded as if the water pipes were running between the adjoining walls. On the first night we were woken at 4am by water running. I would advise packing ear plugs. There were only 3 hangers in our room but despite asking reception for more they never arrived. I would advise packing some. On the first morning we put out the 'please service room' sign provided but we arrived home later that day to find the room had not been cleaned and the sign had been turned around to 'do not disturb'. We had to go to reception for clean towels, toiletries and water. We were compensated for this by a deduction from our bill at the end of our stay. We had a taxi booked on our second evening but when the taxi company rang to confirm our booking for four passengers the hotel incorrectly informed them that the taxi was only for two people (without checking with us). This resulted in two other guests being allocated places in our taxi and a lot of stress and phone calls by us to try to sort out the mess. This was made more difficult by the fact that the mobile phone signal is very poor. Staff were pleasant but not efficient or well organised with the exception of Lily . Apart from when we checked in there only ever seemed to be one member of staff on reception. On the first morning the receptionist had to leave her desk, seat us for breakfast and take our orders as there was no member of staff in the restaurant. Breakfast wasn't great on the first day but better on the second when it was set up as self service buffet. The gardens are extensive and could be beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.1
    The overall stay was okay but it’s a hotel we won’t be returning to
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping wasn’t up to standard during our stay. Our bed was not properly made. The bathroom was not tidied up. Bottled water was not replenished. These should be standard at any hotels, more so at Lynford Hall. We shouldn’t be required to request for them. I also had to request for a shower cap which should’ve been ready supplied in the room. The food at the restaurant was excellent but choices were very limited. We had a better meal at the crown hotel.

    The staff at the desk and restaurant were very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are very thin in the courtyard bedrooms. Not a problem unless you are directly next to someone.

    Wonderful location Friendly and attentive staff Excellent food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Wedding venue was great, and the stay was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needed a blind / curtain. Net curtains work in the day, but at night when the light turns on there is no privacy. The bar staff were sometimes a bit slow. The bottled water was a slight annoyance as we didn’t have enough in the room, and had to get some more. Maybe bigger bottles?

    The staff were very professional, the food was spectacular, and the setting was sublime.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.7
    The lady on reception who assisted us in moving rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our expectations were of the premises being an older building that may need updating in places but we were put into an area that wasn't fit for anyone to stay in, room 203 I think the number was. As we walked through the small opening of doors we were hit by lots of cob webs and dead flys hanging from the ceiling, the carpets hadn't been hovered. The room was very pokey and small bed, wasn't a good image for the hotel, i wouldn't of let a guest stay in one. We asked ot be moved but at the time there was only a family room available which would of been a further £120 for the upgrade so we just decided to go with what we had after a long drive from York and we were leaving early in the morning. The sign of relief came when the lady ( sorry I don't know your name, but the lady drives a blue Matiz) from reception came running outside to find us in the gardens to advise she had found a room we could stay in, in the east wing. This was much better it was exactly what we expected from the hotel. We dined in the restaurant for dinner. Complements to the chef, we ordered the chicken and the burger, both were absolutely delicious, full of flavour! The only note I would mention is the hoover the dead flies on the window sills, I appreciate it was a warm day so the doors to the garden had been opened, but it seems the flies had been there a lot longer than that day. Overall we have come away happy due to the receptionist turning it around for us and of course the food

    The lady on reception who assisted us in moving rooms!! Excellent customer service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    Absolutely stunning grounds and perfect location. Brilliant staff. Room Not very clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hall itself was beautiful and very well kept. However, the room wasn't clean. Almost like it had been cleaned but not used for a while and was not fresh. Needed a good hoover and bathroom tiles felt sticky.

    The breakfast was kept warm on hot plates and all help yourself. Plus a large selection of fruit, cereals, croissant etc. The evening meal was beautiful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.8
    Brilliant. The hotel and the grounds are amazing. So much character and the staff were brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was brilliant. The only critism was the WiFi - both the range and speed we're terrible. I could only connect in the reception and bar area, and even when connected, it was very slow. Not a major issue, but both of us had no reception whatsoever so we really struggled organising our next day and meeting our families at our final destination.

    Staff were top draw! Absolutely brilliant. So helpful and ensured we were looked after. The grounds and surrounding nature walks were fantastic. So peaceful and quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    A beautiful building in a Fabulous Location with Friendly staff. Loved it and will definitely be bac
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, seeing as you asked, the quality of the cooked breakfast was poor but the rest of the breakfast offerings was lovely - fruit juice, cereals, fruit, pastries etc.

    The staff were lovely, our evening meal was really delicious, the grounds are really nice and the location is exceptional, being right in Lunford Arboretum. A lot of reviews have critics the cleanliness, but I'm really fastidious and I found it really clean. Also, plenty of hot water and fluffy towels. A great break.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.0
    Would not stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    Were put in the court yard area. Walls paper thin. Woken by child at 2.15am and never got any more sleep. 100 yards from main reception across a yard area - good job it wasn't raining. Service was very poor, waited 50 minutes from ordering evening meal, only 3 tables being used.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    We had booked the cheapest courtyard double room so we thought it was good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small piece of plastic found in my prawn salad, (the waitress apologised) and a 50 minute wait for our dessert.

    The breakfast was good. Fresh fruit, yogurts, croissants and staff serving the hot buffet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful grounds and friendly, happy, helpful (if a little...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menu wasn’t great in terms of choose so we ate elsewhere. The cooked breakfast was functional and a little lukewarm and we had to ask three times to get some coffee. But the fresh fruit choice was great. While very clean, the room was a little tatty with age.

    Beautiful grounds and friendly, happy, helpful (if a little over stretched) staff. Rooms were clean and comfy and drinks were very reasonable for a hotel. Stayed in a courtyard room which was excellent value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.0
    Such a beautiful venue, let down by a few disappointments
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were 2 singles pushed together with only a sheet over them, so I kept rolling into the middle. There were too many bugs in my room No restaurant on a Sunday so had to eat in bar where there were lads swearing

    The grounds

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.3
    There were a few cobwebs in evidence in the room, and dead...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a few cobwebs in evidence in the room, and dead flies on the windowsill in the dining room. Parts of the wall in the garden were crumbling, but the location and surroundings were delightful. Staff were extremely pleasant. Breakfast was slow, and the porridge did not live up to expectations even though our evening meal was excellent. A little more attention to detail and this hotel would be a must-visit if you're staying in the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.9
    It was a very pleasant base for our trips around the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although we were warned the plumbing needs some tlc to make it more acceptable.

    The hotel has a lot of character and history. The grounds were good to walk around,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful location, building, breakfast but not luxurious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was absolutely magical for my partner and I but if you expect a hotel experience above a a three star you will not get it. But for us it was an amazing place to visit.

    Stunning location. Breakfast amazing. Building wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.8
    Lovely location and beautiful house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were a bit disappointed that the family suite didnt have a floor to ceiling wall between the lounge/bedroom and the extra bedroom which defeats the idea of a separate bedroom. We needed this for the 3year old. We were a bit disappointed that this wasnt explained on the phone as we made it quite plain why we needed it.

    Lovely location and beautiful house. The staff were very helpful ( we had a 3 year old and the breakfast staff were extra helpful with requests for him)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi in the rooms could have been better, but worked perfectly in the reception/ bar area. Staff advised us of this issue beforehand so I was aware of the issue which helped.

    A fantastic hotel. Service and staff were excellent and the food (evening meal and breakfast) was first class. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.6
    fantastic place to stay very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    in the area we stayed in the bathrooms have no windows so there was extractor fans in the bathrooms which is a tad noisy and the light outside in courtyard lit up the bedroom

    nice comfy bed very helpful staff fantastic building and location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed two mattresses pushed together kept moving very uncomfortable. Staff not very polite. Bed sheets were stained. Bath had hair in it

    Breckfast was nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.2
    Overall enjoyable would definitely revisit lovely gardens to explore
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast a little hap hazard. Tables not cleared soon enough for waiting guests. Cooked breakfast sometimes waiting for items.

    Friendly professional staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing, room was cold and needed refreshing. Food was good if a little pricey.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival I was informed that I has been 'upgraded' due to having a party of noisy guests. What they failed to tell me was that I'd been 'upgraded' to a disabled room. No double bed as reserved, no bath just a cold wet room. Very disappointed and won't be staying again. Wi-Fi was so poor it just didn't work and as 4g signal was non existent there, was off grid during my entire stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.2
    It was quiet time of year and hotel wasn't busy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked a room in the court yard and were upgraded, which was kind, but we were looking forward to the booked room. We didn't say anything and it turned out to be quite handy to be closer in the main house. So we didn't really mind in the end.

    It was quiet time of year and hotel wasn't busy. Staff were very attentive and kind, without being annoying. Walkers were stopping in for a drink and lunch and dogs were very welcome. Will certainly go again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    8.3
    Very happy to come back anytime
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sight of the owners builders bum when he bent down is something that will haunt me the rest of my life. Try some Simon Cowell trousers!

    excellent settings

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.9
    Had a lovely stay staff helpful and friendly nothing was to much trouble will definitely be back
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only complaint was that the room was cold but an extra heater was given

    Stayed here 2 nights we were complimentary up graded after requesting a ground floor room due to a foot injury I have, nothing was to much trouble all staff were lovely and helpful at all times food was hot and value for money

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable, convenient overnight stay at venue after attending a wedding reception there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough milk supplied in room for family of 5. Some fruit teas would've been nice - just ordinary tea, coffee and water provided. Separate additional en-suite toilet would have been nice to have. Draughty corridors.

    Fantastic breakfast. Gorgeous property and setting. Lovely big, comfortable double bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    8.3
    Nice location, friendly staff, but poor communications connectivity
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited mobile phone coverage and hotel wifi was very poor, impacting the ability of business travellers to work efficiently. Bedroom was spacious, but a little basic.

    Lovely setting and impressive grounds and house. Staff were friendly and room comfortable. Evening meal was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    2.5
    Room a lot smaller than the photos.
    • Group
    • Double Room - East Wing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a lot smaller than the photos. Water came out yellow and had to be run to be clear. Mould in the bathroom and hair in the bath. Not what I was expecting for the price at all.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    5.4
    Won't be going back due to the hidden charges
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The extra surcharge for paying with MasterCard making everything more expensive than expected, already over priced for food and drinks!

    Location and parking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely place to stay if you want total quietness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the Wi-Fi was free, we was never able to connect to it, the television signal was poor and kept breaking up, which was quite annoying. throughout our stay we was unable to maintain a phone signal, which we was warned about, hence the free Wi-Fi.

    Lovely location for our requirements

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    4.6
    Won't stay again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights

    An extra hidden surcharge for paying on credit card of 3.5% which isn't mentioned in the listing which puts the already expensive price of a pint up! Never had surcharges when traveling before with my MasterCard so won't stay here again. The courtyard rooms can be really noisy in the morning as guests leave due to an echo as car doors shut sounding like thunder! I guess the main building would be quieter. Rooms are also a bit dated Could be a great place as the building is impressive and the location is great

    Food ok, staff on the whole seemed ok and it was clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.1
    A nice enough hotel, but the price charged / paid doesn't reflect the standard of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel itself is nice enough, but the fittings and decor in our room were a little tired. The restaurant seemed to have 'run out' of a number of menu items.

    The hotel grounds are amazing, the hotel building is amazing. The staff at breakfast were brilliant and really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    4.6
    Spoilt by poor standards of housekeeping and furnishings
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly this hotel is in need of TLC. Beds uncomfortable as mattresses need replacing, bedding required updating, towels unexpectedly stained in one of our rooms, bath tap required repairing, tea and coffee meagre, noise problems from both outside and within the courtyard rooms, unfortunately kept awake by loud TVs and snoring from neighbouring room. We had the impression that staff were familiar with our complaints and efficiently arranged a small reduction, which was somehow depressing.

    The gardens

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    3.8
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfriendly reception. No dinner being served on arrival night and no warning given. Lumpy bed, brown bathwater even when run for a length of time as suggested. Basic rooms.

    The friendly staff and enjoyable breakfast the next morning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    6.7
    A great location if you want a quiet hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - East Wing
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the hotel could offer so much more given where it is located. It would have been nice to be able to hire bikes from the hotel or have more information of where to walk.

    Lovely location with beautiful grounds. The bed was really comfy!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    3.8
    Dilapidated, unclean and not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to wait over an hour after the advertised check in time, which was not convenient as we have two small children who were tired. The room we were given was not the room advertised on my booking. It has 4 single beds instead of 1 double and two singles. The window overlooked the bins. The room was dirty, raisins left on the floor and hair and empty bottles left in the bathroom. The maids cleaning equipment was left outside our room all night, including a vacuum cleaner, trolley of cleaning products and instant coffee and sacks of dirty laundry. The garden had was quite unkempt and had many broken walls, which we felt was unsafe. There was very few staff to raise our concerns to and we felt like we had wasted our money. I would like my money back!

    The location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    4.5
    A grand estate but very tired and in need of much investment - service and property!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was immediately informed by reception that they had an event on and that they were not taking bookings at the restaurant however that they could provide snack menu as an alternative.... Breakfast was late and unorganised also not everything was available on the menu.

    Room was freshly decorated, parking was within estate grounds

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    3.3
    Disappointing. Poor quality/poor value for money.Staff appeared unhappy and disaffected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived, and having checked in, were told the dining room was closed that evening as it had been booked out by wedding guests. We were promised bottled water in our room - but there was none in there - and only one cup to use in the bathroom. Our room in the Courtyard was very small. The curtains were creased and hanging off the curtain rings. The sash window would not stay open. The lights over the bed did not work. No wardrobe - just a rail with 3 coat hangers. The bathroom was very dated; the shower cubicle was very small with grubby tiles. A broken towel rail with rough sharp edges was still on the wall. We were given one bath towel each but had to share a hand towel. At breakfast the staff said they had been busy - the hot breakfast was served by a member of staff who kept leaving her station. Despite being in the dining room 45 minutes before closure - not much hot food left - had to ask for what we wanted and then it was fetched from the kitchen - requested a poached egg as only scrambled available - waited 15 minutes - then asked where the eggs were - so they were delivered to our table - just like hard boiled eggs! We had to keep asking for more milk, butter etc as we were only given a sparse amount on the table. We voiced our concerns to the Manager who told us that he had made the decision to close the dining room because of staffing issues - that was not what we were told. He listened to all of our grievances (as above) - and we felt he had heard them all before. However, he did offer to reduce the cost of our overnight stay and promise us better service in the future.

    The hotel was set in some beautiful grounds

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    Wedding planning and execution by hotel was very good and generally pleasant experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - East Wing
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff need to greet guests with a "good afternoon" and a smile and make you feel welcome rather than that you were an inconvenience and that what you were asking was an imposition!

    Gorgeous grounds to walk about in. Lovely setting. Tasty breakfast. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.1
    Glad I stayed-would stay again to soak up the elegance of the Hall and grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - East Wing
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Shower head could not be fastened resulting in water spraying all over the bathroom. No shower mat in the bath-dangerous. The standard of food was modest to poor in selection and presentation and overpriced. The surroundings and cost of stay deserved better.

    The location and the historic hall. The atmosphere was great and raised expectations that were not always matched.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    5.8
    We would be happy if we could choose breakfast from buffet meal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - East Wing
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could not access to Wifi from our room even though it is mentioned in a booklet that it is available without any passwords.

    Beautiful gardens and surroundings enclosed with woods.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.9
    Lovely location, but rooms need updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful main building, but unfortunately we were in the building in the opposite courtyard which could have been the stable block converted. The rooms were very sparse, but just adequate.

    The hotel restaurant was good and the staff were quite helpful with accommodating my vegan diet. The main building was truly magnificent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.5
    Excellent place to stay apart from the d
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The boiler broke and there was no hot water for the whole of our stay room was smaller than expected. Breakfast had to wait a long time for sausages to arrive for the buffet. Baked beans were stone cold no juice glasses or sugar on the table. Ther had been a wedding in the riom the day before and there was left over decorations and rubbish around the room.

    Grounds and house amazing arrived and staff were very attentive a lovely beautifull place to stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    5.0
    first room was dirty and no internet so I was moved to the main house
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was very slow!!had to wait for 30 minutes for breakfast that was cold the bacon 2 off the egg1 off and a under cooked sausage I wouldn't put down for my dog !! I asked for tea that never came ?bottles of water in the room with a plastic cup to drink them out off

    The bed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    5.0
    Mutton dressed up as lamb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terribly slow service. Poorly served food ... had to return food as improperly cooked. Problems with plumbing/ water pump which kept us awake all night. Letter of complaint sent to manager but the reply we received was patronising and insincere with no offer of compensation or concession of any kind. Other customers we spoke to had similar feelings re poor service.

    Setting of property and views were lovely. Beautiful grounds and surrounded by forest

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.9
    Lovely setting, quiet relaxed break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our Tv didn't have a remote and the Wifi wasn't strong enough for our iPad to connect to watch movies. When ordering dinner there wasn't many options for gluten and dairy free. However the Chef did make me something that was suitable.

    Grounds and the hotel were very lovely. Perfect location. The Chef went out of his way to amend a meal so it was gluten and dairy free for me.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful plac to atay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long wait for breakfast then bacon was so over cooked it was like cardboard

    The receptionist and general do-everything lady was superb, rest of the staff were a little lack-lustre and failed to smile. The hotel was clean, spacious and the grounds amazing. The setting is superb and I would happily recommend it to friends and colleagues.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    3.8
    Stay at home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything with the exception of the location, horrible experience!

    Nothing, it's the worst hotel I have stayed at whilst using booking.com, very disappointed!!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.5
    we would stay again because we enjoyed the location and the dislikes were minor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    due to location the wi-fi connection was poor, though this was not the hotel's fault and breakfast was a bit haphazard.

    slightly quirky accommodation in old stable block

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.1
    Excellent, but poor?
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - East Wing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Catering was poor, first night over 2 hrs wait(we were told it would be an hour), second night , half the food was unavailable, changed my mains 3 times until I found something they had, food arrives, no cutelry, Asked for chicken on both nights but didn't have any. It was a very mixed bag, The staff on reception could not have been more helpful, bar,catering was poor. The location was excellent, front of house staff very good in both days. I would stay again, it is worth a second chance...it could just be an off weekend

    Receptionists were excellent....the location was superb

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.1
    Lovely location but needs a makeover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - East Wing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place generally looked a bit tired, could benefit with an update the room was basic when we paid for a premier room and no glasses in the bathroom

    The bar staff were very friendly and polite as were most of the staff. Breakfast was very good with local bacon and sausages which we enjoyed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    6.7
    Could do easily have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Courtyard room smelled damp. There was an conditioner / dehumidifier plugged in the so staff are obviously aware. Shower not securely fixed to wall and TV remote missing. Staff at breakfast unhelpful. A few little tweaks and touches could turn this wonderful building into a wonderful hotel. They are all issues that are so easily put right. Pity.

    Location excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Lyndon hall "lovely"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could have been larger as the bathroom was massive which is pointless really but that was just the one we had . No complaints though at all as bed was unbelievably comfortable

    The history and just the building itself and the grounds . Peaceful location beautiful English backdrop can understand why it's popular with weddings

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.6
    Secluded delight with wonderful woodland walks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing we did not like, but we could see why it didn't have 5 star rating. The hall is old (1862), and yes, it has areas that have fallen a little into disrepair externally, but this did not affect our stay at all.

    Its location is so good if your looking for quiet and some wonderful woodland walks. Our room was spacious and comfortably furnished. All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful, and breakfast was very good. We had booked the hotel for use after a music event in Thetford Forest, it being only 8 miles away, and it was an excellent choice. We will visit again just for a relax in lovely surroundings.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: