Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Lynwood Guest House

London Road, Redhill, RH1 1LN, United Kingdom

#5 of 5 hotels in Redhill

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 65 hotel reviews

5.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.4

  • Comfort

    4.8

  • Location

    6.4

  • Facilities

    4.5

  • Staff

    5.5

  • Value for money

    4.4

  • Free WiFi

    5.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    3.8
    Fawlty Towers - but not funny
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a room with an en-suite but the toilet was a shared one on the landing. So will be asking for the extra £20 I paid for a room with an en-suite back. The room was cluttered with 4 beds, a fridge situated in the middle of the room. There was a shower cubicle in the room and a sink. The sink cold water tap was broken. The shared toilet was filthy with just one very dirty hand towel in there. The toliet roll holder came off the wall as soon as you touched it. In essence if I had paid £20 for the room I could accpet the state of the place but for £75 I feel i was ripped off.

    The location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    4.6
    Late booking so limited choice in Redhill on New Year’s Eve
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of tobacco. Very poor mattress with springs sticking up. Poor electrics in bathroom with razor point not working. Decor in need of renovation.

    Location. Bed linen was clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    2.5
    Awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcome The stale tobacco smell of room 1 Curtain missing so no privacy and had to change with bit of light from bathroom Noise from people above throughout night Breakfast advertised but not available Would never stay there again.

    There was nothing we liked about th hotel room or our stay there

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    3.8
    Stay clear of this B&B.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a B&B without breakfast! The shower only gives off a trickle of cold water and the bathroom is tiny. The house seems to be mostly rented out to somewhat dubious people (though no-one was aggressive or rude to be fair). And the telly didn't work.

    Parking space on property.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    3.3
    should be removed from listings
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no breakfast even though it was purchased and paid for. only one towel in a room for two light did not work no one available to deal with issues. Would not recommend this to anyone. Should be removed immediately from booking.com how can we trust booking.com again?

    good location near station

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    3.5
    Won't be going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to share bathroom and toilet with everyone else out on the landing. Place very shabby and smelled old Beds very hard and pillows even worse, very uncomfortable night, hardly any sleep. Having to go down the road for breakfast after being told we hadn't ordered it at the time of booking when we thought we had.

    Beds were clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    2.5
    It was a disaster
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    I got an attic room where there was no air, dampness and stench of mold. In the room there was a shower cubicle without additional ventilation (on the wall there was only a grille through which the moisture gets into the room) In the corner was a fridge and a cupboard with a kettle, a TV, and a toaster (all on one small cabinet and connected to one slightly burnt cable extension). Bed seemed clean at first, but in the morning when I woke up with a rash all over my body - I suspect I could have been bitten by bedbugs. A tragedy. This place deserves one star at best.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    5.4
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of the room and particularly the fittings. See pictures of the cupboard under the wash hand basin and the top of the fridge door where you would put your hand to open it.

    Not much.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    3.3
    Don't go there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! Shabby exterior, poorly maintained. Greeted abruptly by someone who gave us the key and pointed in direction of room. When we asked about breakfast we were rudely informed 'there is no breakfast' despite the booking.com details and the sign out front advertising Bed & Breakfast. Shared toilet / bathroom was dirty and floor wet, and no toilet paper... we did find one roll in the room later but would've been helpful to know this was there before going to the toilet. Shower was in the corner of the room and so not exactly private. The sink in the room had a loose tap. The room was very hot even with windows open and wasn't a particularly hot night on the night we stayed. The beds were very uncomfortable with mattress springs poking in our back while we lay there. Would not recommend staying at Lynwood even at half the price.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    3.8
    Very disappointing stay .No staff,No breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    No staff to book us in.Room key was on a side table we had to find room ourselves.No breakfast .no staff to cook it.We left feeling tired and hungry .

    The room was clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    3.8
    My unfortunate stay at Lynwood Guest House. Very Very poor accommodation. Very poor health and safety.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared toilet. No staff. Absolutely no fire precautions or notifications. No welcome information. No directions to finish g room. The list is endlessly.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    2.9
    awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we originally booked for 1 night bed and breakfast but found that it would be a bit tight for time so we decided to book an extra night but the owner told us we could stay in what he called his flat at that time we thought that included breakfast but were told later that it didn't the flat was devoid of cooking implements plus the oven did not work no saucepans the fridge smelt the beds had springs poking up so we had sleepless nights plus we booked our pet in but were told later that we didn't and would have to pay extra, overall not a good place to stay, not a nice place to stay.

    we enjoyed the wedding we went to

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    2.9
    DISASTER
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    NO PARKING.NO BREAKFAST NO TOILET

    There was NO Parking...No breakfast and No ensuite .. all booked and paid for beforehand but not avaiable on the day!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    Very pleasant and comfortable. Would stay there again if I had too.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Family above had a toddler which was a bit annoying at 10 pm and then again at 7am. Stomping around like there were six kids not just one three year old.

    The lady who greeted us was very pleasant. Made us feel very comfortable. The room was very quaint and comfortable. We found a lovely pub down the road for our meal, so the situation of this B&B is excellent. Lots of shops within walking distance. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    2.5
    Stay here only if all other options are unavailable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower didn't work. They didn't give a proper receipt for the purchase after charging the credit card without permission immediately upon arrival.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    3.8
    Not Again!
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor needs to be decorated and freshened up Toilet & shower out of use toilet was fixed during my stay found a bath upstairs No real reception area as such to wait

    Clean room cleaned daliy Did give a later check out 12 o clock

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    4.2
    Unhappy Customer!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very dated,Bedding had mold on it, TV last pat tested in 2015,bed side lamp had a broken switch so my child could off got a shock,plug sockets not working! Smoke alarm covered in dust. Breakfast was poor no tomotoes portions very small 1small mushroom, toaster broken. Dining table dusty probably because night before they were ironing in same room whilst tables were set up for breakfast. Hygiene certificate last updated 2011. Looks like people are living there washing hanging out the window and on the banister. Pram on the stairs. Really not impressed with it and the amount of money I paid to stay there!!!!

    Lady friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    4.2
    Mattresses are torture!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A man, not the manager, was passed out drunk in the front room and we had to bang on the door to wake him up to get keys. The building is old and worn, mattresses are a form of torture!!!! Big metal coils digging into you all night, no padding.... Tap on bathroom sink shoots water out from its base. Chair in bedroom was filthy.

    Breakfast was fine, arrived quickly. Pleasant ladies work there. Location good for the train station. Parking available.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    5.0
    Budget accommodation but not budget cost
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Twin En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not clean, threadbare sheets, windows do not fit properly so noisy (traffic) and draughty. basic budget accommodation but not budget cost

    Good location for Redhill Town Centre, good car parking, good wifi and good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    6.7
    Very good in places
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fire alarm going off at 2.30am then battery pipping all night and great banging of feet as someone ran around the building. Feeling every spring in the mattress and eventually swopping the linen to sleep in the other bed which was better at 4am. Didn't do anything to help me prepare for my meeting that day! Hot egg, lukewarm rest of breakfast.

    Though well worn the room was just so amazingly clean which is a real bonus. Kitchen and breakfast room absolutely spot on cleanliness and smiling service. Staff were smiling, polite and delightful but English was a second language.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    5.8
    Meh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Oh, well, it was very cold. For £75 for a night, really... And then, the person who get us was awkward, dunno why. He was looking like me and my boyfriend are coming from another world, lol.

    The room was really spacious and it was nice decorated.Oh, and not far from Redhill station.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    7.1
    Lovely, friendly staff. Comfortable beds, clean sheets, nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Taps on sink in bedroom were loose. Squeaky bedroom door. (My sisters both got up during the night wakening me with the noise of the door)

    Very close to relative we were visiting. Easy walking distance to shops and park.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    6.7
    Breakfast was very good, room was clean and bending was...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very uncomfortable , could do with mattress toppers or new mattress . It is value for money.

    Breakfast was very good, room was clean and bending was freshly laundered

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    3.8
    big room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Greeted by a person who did not speak English. Said not possible to pay by card - was not true, but had to withdraw cash!

    big room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    4.6
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Twin En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    3.3
    A dive
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Twin En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    every thing

    nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    2.5
    very very poor. damp in shower ceilings curtains hanging off a dump!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    everything

    nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    2.5
    Terrible 2.5 is too high a score for this!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was rotten...pics weren't anywhere near what it was like! Very very disappointed

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.4
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    2.9
    Grotty
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything a complete grothole

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    7.5
    We cannot give a real feed back as we were rehomed to a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    We cannot give a real feed back as we were rehomed to a hotel after arrival due to their refurbishing the house.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    4.6
    Location the only plus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place needed an overhaul very outdated and shabby. Breakfast was awful

    Nothing in particular

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.8
    Don't have the full English.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Twin En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The full English breakfast was all microwaved.

    Bed was comfy staff were good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    7.5
    i can is good for stay but to very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    in my room internet was not quit good

    it was good stay but some problems is everywhere so finely is good

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    9.2
    Excellent full english breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Twin En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs a refurb

    Excellent full english breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    5.0
    Won't stay there again , and may never use booking.com again as the accommodation was poor
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Twin En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a double bed en suite and got 2 single beds ? And the breakfast was awful ,, came out of the microwave !!

    Not much !

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    3.8
    Never stay in this filthy guest house
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything inside the place. Very dirty. 2 hairs in the breakfast and food not cooked.

    Location and parking

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    7.1
    Breakfast, free parking, friendly staff
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No heating, No shower gel, strange smell

    Breakfast, free parking, friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    6.3
    Turned out my windows couldn't lock, and I was on the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Turned out my windows couldn't lock, and I was on the ground floor. So I was concerned about the security issues.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    7.1
    Good stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room l was in door to toilet and shower did not close at all

    I was only there for the stay not breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    3.8
    The coffee was good in the morning breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room minute..4ft across by about 20ft low ceiling. Shabby. Food cheap quality. Worst place I have stayed in , in 40 years.

    The coffee was good in the morning breakfast

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    5.0
    The staff were friendly and they had scrubbed the place as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Once the smell of bleach subsided there was a damp smell. The showers, windows, taps and door locks were rickety, the latch of one door came off in my hand. The beds were uncomfortable, the rooms were very cold.

    The staff were friendly and they had scrubbed the place as best they could. The guest house was close to the centre of Redhill

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    3.8
    the only good thing was a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Only go there if you don't have any alternative! - Pricey - 5 or 6 rooms of which at least 2 for 4 people (and occupied); no toilets in the rooms - Only 2 toilets in the hallway of which one as part of the bathroom, so essentially in the morning only one available, because showering was not advanced in the room - It was not really clear that it is actually a bed and breakfast - No light in the toilet. Small lights in the room and above the sink without bulb - No separation of shower and sink from the beds - I couldn't use shower and sink in the room during 24 hours, cause canalization didn't work properly and they fixed it next day only. Noisy (along a busy road) - Limited breakfast time (only 1 hour between 7:30 and 8:30) - Uncomfortable beds and pillows - Owners influent in English (Moldavian?) - Outdated and badly maintained room, approx 6 sq. meters - Poor door lock - No cooling; ventilation by windows Therefore, high price and so many irritating things; don't go there!

    the only good thing was a good location. very close to town center.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    3.3
    Walking distance from the station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was poor - a 6ft 2" roof, dirty chair, heating didn't work so needed a separate heater, en suite was disgusting, the electric shower went from boiling hot to freezing cold so was not usable, dirty and rotten fittings, and only heated by a wall mounted fan heater that kept cutting out. The breakfast comprised a small number of cheap food products, and this all cost £75!!

    Walking distance from the station

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    3.3
    Going two flights stairs down to share toilet with 6 other...
    • Couple

    Going two flights stairs down to share toilet with 6 other rooms. Dangerous electric plugs. Ripped wallpaper and net curtain. Ceiling paper hanging off. No water part of the time. Shower blocked so no flow of water just trickle.

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2015

    5.8
    Staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The guest house is quite run down and in need of a refurbish and paint. TV didn't work, no convenient plug for the hairdryer, light switch over sink didn't work, towels clean but tatty.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Nice and close to the town of Redhill.

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    6.7
    Roon was fine, location ideal and a short walk to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Roon was fine, location ideal and a short walk to the railway station. Didn't get to try the breakfast as I didn't fancy one so early in the morning. But overall a decent stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    7.5
    Good location, friendly staff,warm and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rather noisy during the night,traffic and police syrons, I had earplugs but my partner didn't Co m

    Good location, friendly staff,warm and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    2.9
    Leaving.
    • Solo traveller

    The manager was drunk when I arrived. They didn't have my booking. They charged my card twice for the room. The place was basically a dump.

    Leaving.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    2.9
    It was in Redhill
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The owner is a slum lord. The place is run by low wage eastern europeans that barely speak english. The ONLY purpose of this dump is to make money for the owner. The mattress was so bad I got eaten alive and I had the imprint of the springs in my skin. While sleeping someone came into my room to get something! and while very apologetic, I could not sleep. Its on a busy corner and noisy. and the wifi was not working. I have stayed all over the UK in places that were twice as good at half the price.

    It was in Redhill

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    2.9
    Nothing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room, didn't sleep at all, window broken, traffic noise, room cold, the shower antiquated didn't want to risk using it as room felt dirty, went home and freshened up!

    Nothing!

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    7.5
    the fact they didn't chuck us out in the morning at 10am...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the fact they didn't chuck us out in the morning at 10am and let us stay there until we felt well enough to leave having the biggest hangover in history :) and also do a cracking brekkie ;)

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    4.6
    The location was really good and train station and airport...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were pretty impolite on arrival and the lady had already taken my money for the nights stay in the morning (without telling me), even though we didn't arrive till 4 in the afternoon and were going to use cash. I thought that with booking.com it was payment on arrival and the card was just for security so we thought that was a bit cheeky. We requested a double ensuite room and were under the impression this was available. On arrival we had to push two twin beds together ourselves to turn it into a make shift double. Decoration in the room and throughout the guest house is very tried and is desperately in need of upgrading.

    The location was really good and train station and airport were very accessible. Shower worked well with good hot water.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    2.9
    Free wifi, breakfast is nothing special but eatable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We read the bad reviews on booking.com before the reservation, but we didn't think that it can be so terrible. Unfortunetly there weren't any other sollution in center of Redhill..:/ In our room we had 5 air freshener, but the room was still smelly. The shower is in the room's corner so there is no separet bathroom.. If you want to have a shower the others have to leave the room and wait in the corridor. So all together, the room is musty, smelly and unconfortable I don't recommend at all!!

    Free wifi, breakfast is nothing special but eatable

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    5.4
    The breakfast was OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hoteliers were a Polish couple (I think) and they didn't really know how to cook an English Breakfast...... Orange juice wasn't the stuff 'from concentrate' and as it were, but the large teapot only had one tea bag in..... So it was very weak. The only choice of cereal was either cornflakes or Weetabix and they had no tomato sauce to dunk your sausage segments in. The noise from other rooms wasn't muffled and every car that drove by, you could hear quite loudly from outside. Not one for those of us who are light sleepers. The shower wasn't exactly pouring out with water: something wrong with the plumbing, I think.....

    The breakfast was OK.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    3.3
    Nothing, the greeting was poor, more concerned getting her...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    he states in your ad that the room was en suite, a shower in the corner of the room with a sink and the toilet outside on the landing is not en suite.

    Nothing, the greeting was poor, more concerned getting her key out the door. Didnt take us to the room just a quick breatfast at 8.30 and left alone.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    10
    The staff were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No toilet in the room although the description was en suite.

    The staff were very friendly. The manager also organised an early breakfast for us at 7.45 instead of 8.30. Delicious full English breakfast (although there was no tomato :(.) Friendly cook. Free parking.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    5.0
    cleanliness passable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    dark and unwelcoming, wear/tear inside and out, outdated furniture and tv (not working)

    cleanliness passable staff polite , breakfast ok price

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    4.2
    Central location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    small room damp on walls very small shower cubicle toilet up 2 flights of stairs. Rips in carpet no batteries in remote old mattress. Poor lighting 1 bulb in a 3 bar spot.

    Central location

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    4.2
    The house manager did her best to please, but with poor...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    En suite - grouting was daubed on as by a child; shower filling loose; woodwork and sealand round shower plinth disgusting; water leaked through shower plinth from shower; nowhere in shower to put shower gel or soap; no shelf to put anything - all my toiletries had to be kept in bedroom and I had to go backwards and forwards for every single item - toothbrush, dental floos, shaving cream, shaving stick, razor - every item had to be returned to the bedroom and the next one collected. No room to keep anything at all in the en suite. No heating in en suite; inadequate lighting in en suite. In the bedroom - curtain fell down the first morning I tried to open them; the bedroom was cold, and the heating was only put on at 9.00 p.m.; the bedheads were not fixed properly; the power sockets were in a dangerous condition and were loose from the wall; there was loose live wiring passing through the warbrobe - not only a dangerous health and safety hazard but probably also illegal. I intend sending photographs I have taken to the relevant authorities. How this can possibly be an AA recommended B&B I have difficulty in understanding. I intend writing to the AA and telling them about what is being done in one of their recommended places. I am disgusted by this place. For me to have to pay £75 per night is an outrage and I will seek to get some money back. I hope you will remove this appalling place from your list of recommended places.

    The house manager did her best to please, but with poor facilities she struggled. I have nothing but admiration for her.

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    7.9
    Confy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Small bathroom. But I knew what I was taking.

    Confy. Super friendly staff. Everything I needed. Great English Breakfast. Good internet (wifi). Close to town centre

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    5.4
    bed comfortable
    • Couple

    no brown bread for breakfast v small cooked breakfast no shower gel/shampoo, hand soap only

    bed comfortable

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Everything

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    7.5
    Staff were very helpful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A little cold

    Staff were very helpful

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    3.8
    Not a lot
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Far too basic, noisy, inadequate facilities

    Not a lot

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Turned up at 11pm and no one answered the door or phone

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    5.4
    Angela was short an rude in her tone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff

    Angela was short an rude in her tone. Wouldn't stay again

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    7.1
    Friendliness
    • Solo traveller

    Friendliness

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    10
    The welcome and car parking facilities were all we expected
    • Business trip
    • Group

    The welcome and car parking facilities were all we expected

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    4.2
    Not a lot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No en suite. Toilet in hall. Beds very hard. Tried to charge me before i got there.

    Not a lot.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    7.9
    Excellent breakfast included in price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent breakfast included in price. Also, handy for onward travel on M25. My late arrival no problem.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    4.2
    Close to town center
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Double glazing poorly fitted & uniffective.

    Close to town center

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    7.9
    Thoughtful and helpful staff who did their best to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Thoughtful and helpful staff who did their best to accommodate my husband's mobility issues.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    7.5
    good value for money, a little shabby but clean and good...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not much

    good value for money, a little shabby but clean and good breakfast

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: