Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Lyonesse Guest House 4 stars

17 Western Terrace, Falmouth, TR11 4QN, United Kingdom

#12 of 45 hotels in Falmouth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 62 B&B reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    10

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 69

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a mirror in an suite but probably not possible as room was only just being finished decorated.

    Owners attentive .breakfast very good .liked that all guests sat round a breakfast table so that you could chat .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double En-Suite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The guest house is really nice, the location is perfect. The room is really comfortable and very clean. The hosts made me feel very welcome and I had everything I needed for a relaxing stay. Thanks a lot for the hospitality!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super King/Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was cold ,but when asked the heating was put on, just a large room that took a while to warm up

    Excellent breakfast with homemade bread & I'm a ceoliac so I had gluten free made just for me, really appreciated that

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Super King/Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better parking facilities

    The room decor was great and well designed, making excellent use of the space. Very comfortable large bed! Owners were very friendly but not intrusive. Lovely touch of having breakfast brought to your room if preferred.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double En-Suite Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast is served at one large table, encouraging guests to talk about local restaurants or where to visit during the day etc. created a really friendly atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Super King/Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I missed a certain variation when it comes to what was available to be put on the breakfast bread in the morning.

    Very personal and inviting, yet also private. Cosy. Easy to find and get to and from.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Super King/Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family room had a captain bed for the children which wasn't mentioned on the booking. Although my son loved it, I was worried as he never used one.. Our room was lovely decorated but the general guesthouse needs to be modernised a bit.

    The host was very nice, breakfast really good and the location was also good (within 1km from high street, beach and swanlake reserve)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was just perfect

    We were greeted very kindly and warmly. The room was very nicely decorated and you could feel the passion with which this house is run. We especially want to highlight the excellent breakfast. We have no hesitation in recommending this excellent place to stay. Conny & Dieter

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More shower gel.

    Fantastic hosts, really friendly and helpful. We stayed in the only room which hasn't been refurbished and upgraded. It was still large enough to stop in during rainy times, had a good shower and en suite facilities. The wi-fi was excellent. We were met in the morning with a friendly greeting and a superb freshly cooked breakfast. We don't usually do B & B stays so this was a really pleasant surprise. The Lyonesse is a very pleasurable 15 minutes walk from the harbourside and about 20 minutes from swanpool beach. There is a bus stop nearly directly outside and the hosts will gladly order you a taxi (which is not expensive). I would love to stay here again when this room has been brought up to the standard of the other rooms. I think they maybe pushing a regular 9 plus score.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Super King/Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    smallish room had a bunk bed in it as well as two singles - got in the way a bit for two tall people, and heads were bumped a couple of times!

    Pleasant 10 min walk to town centre. Owner made bread specially for a gluten free breakfast - much appreciated.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Super King/Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family room was very small and the main road is so noisy. We couldn't have the window open at night as couldn't sleep with the car noise and then the room was too hot.

    The owners are very good with small children and very accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Super King/Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was really really small for a whole family. We didn't care much for the smell upon entering the building.

    Breakfast was awesome, and the keepers were really nice. Also liked the bed.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double En-Suite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Homemade details and a wonderful welcome made this one of the best B&Bs we've ever stayed in. The room was light and full of wonderful handmade touches, the breakfast was stunning and included homemade bread and preserves, and we got lots of tips for the local area. It was like staying with friends, we couldn't have asked for more.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just the hills but this is not something that can be changed.

    All was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super King/Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lovely hosts. Very comfy bed. Everything you need in your room. Thank you.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double En-Suite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a good nights sleep. Great bed!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Super King/Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit too warm in the room

    Comfy beds. Plenty of room for a family

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double En-Suite Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Homely touches & hosts

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Super King/Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely room, comfy and cosy. Delicious breakfast with homemade granola. Nice and friendly owners.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bed was very comfy and the extra touches of real coffee in the room was inspired BUT it was the owners who made it!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking not very good

    Lovely breakfast loved bowl fresh fruit

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely room. Really relaxing. Lovely family run business. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Super King/Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The owners were friendly and helpful. Homemade bread and jams. Beautifully decorated guest house. Immaculate throughout.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Super King/Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic noisey. By busy road.

    Everyone friendly. Good food and very clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double En-Suite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu for breakfast/ missing different options .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double En-Suite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely house, great decor, fantastic hosts, excellent breakfast. About a 20 min walk from town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Homely feel and friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super King/Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent breakfast, very comfy bed..excellant service, would go back again, would recommend to friends and family.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double En-Suite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was wonderful. Very friendly hosts.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double En-Suite Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and great hospitality. Clean room and very cosy. Great breakfast fresh fruit and homemade granola.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super King/Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very helpful and friendly owner, printed our plane tickets out for us

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Super King/Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ---

    Very pleasant stay, wonderful room, very nice and helpful landlord, great breakfast! Thanks again to Mark, EFN, Germany :-)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double En-Suite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was fantastic.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Super King/Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing much

    Good breakfast and easy access to the town centre

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No observations.

    Toast was superb.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bird poo on my car after being parked up

    The shower was always hot

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - very happy with everything.

    Food and location were good. Staff were informative and very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super King/Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front bedroom overlooks the main road. 20 minute walk into town but free parking

    Great quality breakfasts

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Homely with very welcoming hosts. Breakfast was excellant.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought the room could of done with a freshen up,wallpaper peeled off,decor and bedding looked a bit cheap.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double En-Suite Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location, lovely hosts,tasty breakfast, clean quirky room with good bathroom.lots of information provided in room on area.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double En-Suite Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable bed, excellent breakfast, welcoming hosts, nice dog and a great location. Look forward to returning!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Super King/Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely, homely feel and friendly service.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Super King/Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mark and Erica were lovely, very welcoming and friendly. Room was really nice, cosy and comfortable we had everything we needed.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Super King/Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Family friendly very nice place. Serving breakast as when and where would you like and food was delicous. A+++ Place

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double En-Suite Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really great hosts felt like staying with friends, bed and breakfast amazing.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We had a lovely stay in Falmouth at the Lyonesse, Mark and Erica made us feel extremely welcome and relaxed in their home. The family room was exactly as pictured, it was beautifully clean and the (huge) bed was very comfortable. Our 8 year old enjoyed staying up on the mezzanine, it was his den for three nights! Great location, delicious breakfasts, wonderful hosts.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mark & Erica were lovely, really friendly and helpful. Room was stunning with lots of homemade items within it that gave it a personal touch. Also got a friendly welcome from their dog Tess.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One thing I would mark it down on was the noisy traffic on a busy main road as we had a great room but at the front..

    Location for town and beach excellent,very friendly and accommodating hosts.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing!

    Mark and Erica were very welcoming and friendly, It was very clean and had great facilities. Would recommend it to everyone and we will definitely been returning!

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Exceptional value for money, extremely comfortable rooms and very well appointed. Easy access to town centre. Would highly recommend, without hesitation. You would struggle to find somewhere better. Erica: Checkout mosaics in Truro cathedral

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Owners were wonderful, bed was extremely comfortable, breakfast was excellent and our 2 yr old was ecstatic that he was even provided with toys to play with during our 3 night stay! Highly recommend to all to experience what customer service with a personal touch feels like as we cannot remember the last time we were treated so well. Thank you again Erica and Mark.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    The hosts, Erica and Mark, are lovely people - so warm & friendly, you couldn't ask for more. Breakfast was a treat - taylor made to suit us every morning. Homemade granola was delicious. Freshly made cake on arrival was a lovely touch, and delicious! The bed was incredibly comfortable and the room was cosy and had beautiful homemade bedspreads, blinds and cushions. Welcome pack had lots of info about Falmouth and surrounding areas and Mark and Erica were always happy to help/suggest things to do. The centre of town is a 10 minute walk downhill from the guesthouse, so it's a handy location. We have a 17 month old and Erica had lots of toys for him to play with, which was a bonus! We would recommend the Lyonesse to anyone.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No bath, I don't have one at home and I was hoping our on suite would have one.

    Erica and Mark were great hosts we were able to come and go with no restrictions. The bed and sheets were wonderful (I love good linen). Breakfast was great with plenty of choice. Location was great for us near the beach and not to far from the town and harbour. We will be back.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking on street was sometimes tricky.

    Friendly and helpful proprietor Lovely homemade granola, fruit salad and preserves.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    .. everything was super.. No complaints!

    LOVED EVERYTHING!!! Great room.. wonderful breakfasts.. very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly - good location comfortable

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Only the weather, but that's my fault......otherwise the best

    If I have to be away from home, why not be in someone else's home.

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely room and great location.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Fabulous friendly couple running the accommodation. Loved the breakfast. Home from Home.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Tastefully decorated and well thought out room. Helpful and friendly staff. Good breakfast complete with selection of local newspapers.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    An excellent guest house with brilliant owners

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    How much help was given to book a restaurant for our anniversary

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good breakfast, easy access to all Falmouth has to offer.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    friendliness

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing!

    Everything!

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Newly refurbished room and bathroom. Colourful, jolly and very clean. Homely atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really enjoyed our stay, Mark and Erika are super friendly!

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely room and great breakfast. Erica and Mark were welcoming, friendly and helpful.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 69

Browse Lyonesse Guest House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: