Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Lypiatt House 5 stars

Lypiatt Road, Cheltenham, GL50 2QW, United Kingdom

#17 of 28 B&Bs and Inns in Cheltenham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 575 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Delightful - lovely house, welcoming staff, good food and a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On site parking was available but difficult - not enough space for all the guests. It could do with marked parking spaces to make better use of what available space there is.

    Lovely staff who went the extra mile - delicious bacon sandwiches when we needed an early start!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    Would definitely recommend this place and it is walkable to the town center if you ar agile.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only downside is that the reception closes very early. After 6pm, I could not find anyone when I needed some information.

    I loved the old feel of a Bed and Breakfast. An old house with history that has been renovated to be used in present day. More personal than chain Bed & Breakfasts like Premier Inn.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.8
    Excellent location for the Cotswolds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is in need of an entire renovation, including access to the outside space would be beneficial. The breakfast room is extremely small and is very warm with no fresh air being circulating.

    The onsite managers were extremely friendly and professional and answered any questions we had.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable, friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The initial check in was by phone, giving a code to the key safe, and then a letter with the room key was inside. Not a problem in itself as long as you know that access may take some time, but we were not made aware of that in advance. Staff are not in the premises 24/7.

    Friendly hotel, comfortable room, well located for Montpelier area of the town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.9
    Lovely breakfast cooked to order.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi doesn't extend to the top floor bedrooms which is unfortunate if this is needed for work purposes. It does work on other floors and in the lounge/conservatory. I did mention this to the manager who said she would look into extending it.

    Lovely breakfast cooked to order. Pretty house and excellent location. Very comfortable room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable and quiet and friendly...very nice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check-in afterhours a little disconcerting since not sure if someone will answer the phone...but really quite OK

    friendly cosy atmosphere with very comfortable bedrooms and loverly bathroom .....wonderful natural light in the space

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for our two days in Cheltenham
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In club rooms somehow warn guests not used to sloping ceilings that they need to look out. I nearly had a concussed husband - twice - upon arrival!! However, I loved our Club room at the back - cosy with views across the hills. Husband recovered to enjoyed stay very much :-))

    Location excellent, can walk to restaurants and town. Very comfortable and welcoming and super breakfast. Nice lounge area and conservatory to relax in away from room if you wish. Would recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice accomodation and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit on the small size

    Location meant you were within walking distance of Cheltenham town centre with a good choice of bars and restaurants. The hotel itself had lots of character and was very clean. Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Somewhere between budget and boutique - the perfect balance.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WIFI was a bit slow (presumably due to distance from the router), and so was breakfast in the morning.

    The lady that checked me in was really friendly and easy going. The facilities were exactly what I needed for a short stay. In all, really enjoyed my stay and would definitely stay again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely house and great location, lounge and honesty bar are...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower a little small, nuts and pastries at breakfast would be good in addition to fruit and yoghurt. Bar was a little disorganised so took a while to find what I wanted and there was only 1 G&T there. But overall I love the feel of this hotel, have stayed several times.

    Lovely house and great location, lounge and honesty bar are good and staff friendly but unobtrusive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    Very laid back B&B, very welcoming, great location. Next stay I will request no top floor!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like the room we were allocated The Hatherley was small and dark, so quite disappointed, we stayed in The Montpelier room a few years ago, which was fab.

    Love the location, it is a beautiful house

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.1
    Just needs tweaking!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds very soft could do with upgrading. Bedrooms so hot couldn’t open window. No staff around to ask for help.

    Location great if you want to be near Montpellier.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    An absolute delight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love this hotel couldn’t have been better

    This hotel is a little gem lovely staff room and great breakfast excellent will definitely be staying again 👍

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Perfect location, wonderful hosts, comfortable rooms and a great breakfast! Highly recommended!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing not to like!!

    The location of this beautiful regency building is superb - close to Montpellier with all the cafés, shops and parks it has to offer. We've stayed here several times over many years and have been immensely satisfied each time. The stylish rooms are extremely comfortable, clean and well proportioned and the breakfast is delicious using very fresh ingredients. We have had the local sausage, bacon, and eggs and beautifully presented fresh fruit. The parking is ample and to top our stay off, the hosts are wonderful. Friendly and helpful, they gave a warm welcome each time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Comfort in Cheltenham
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    The hotel is a beautiful old house converted to a gorgeous bnb. The breakfast was 5-star. Our room was warm and extra-comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Great location, great welcome, very very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really lovely place to stay. Great location. Our room was probably a little tired but the quietness and comfort more than made up for that. The couple who ran the property were great as well - even gave me a lift to my meeting the following morning as I couldnt get a taxi. Would definitely recommend it and if we visit Cheltenham again will stay here! Thank you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    Wedding night blues
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel wasn't manned as had no residential staff, which was unexpected and caused us some upheaval for our wedding night. Only one set of keys provided, which caused a domino effect in delaying the timings of our wedding Do... When we went to check in, obviously with a lot to cram into the day, we found that both managers had gone away at the same time(?!?) and the girl covering couldn't find any record if our upgrade to a suite!? We misplaced our only key and then couldn't get the key code to release our key at the end of the night and so had to sit outside with an anxious and tired bride whilst waiting for the girl to return. This could have been all avoided if someone was there day and night. The breakfast was lovely and so were the kitchen staff (the lady there used to own the hotel so she was very nice and empathetic). Why on earth did the Manager not consider just how important a couple's wedding night is and check all was in place though? Also, the shower wouldn't stay in place and was quite low pressurewise.

    The rooms were spacious and comfortable and breakfast was the best.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    Thoroughly enjoyable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we were in, whilst originally being sumptuously decorated, is becoming a little tired and the bathroom a bit dated and used looking.

    Wonderful property in a lovely location in what must be one of the best parts of the town. Very nice staff and a good breakfast and good off road car parking if that's a concern. The sitting room and conservatory areas are splendid.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    An absolutely lovely place. friendly, clean, and perfect location for town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to fault about the hotel !!

    Staff upon arrival were very welcoming. Room was comfortable, but slightly noisy at night and in morning as we had to open the window as it was a warm night.But otherwise it was a clean and lovely room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.6
    lovely homely comfortable bed :)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wi-fi wasn't working most of the time iwas there, but it was too late to ask anyone to help me with it. I didnt report it as was in a rush leaving the next day

    The bed was very comfortable. the lady who helped me to check in was friendly, not too much, helpful and made me feel welcome

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Comfy bed, gorgeous breakfast, lovely room, best bath we’ve...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room we had booked was too small but we upgraded and it was wonderful

    Comfy bed, gorgeous breakfast, lovely room, best bath we’ve ever seen, lovely service and staff would definitely recommend this hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    a very pleasant overnight stay overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The central heating went off at night, so i was a bit cold. At home i have gentle heating throughout the night. Not sure how to deal with this without overheating other customers. Possibly the system water temperature could be lowered at night so that everyone just got a touch of warmth?

    I loved the art on display.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    A perfect hotel for a person visiting alone. I look forward to returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind, apart from no-one about to say goodbye to...

    Very welcoming. Warm cosy atmosphere. Room at the right comfortable temperature for both sitting in and sleeping. Everything provided to make ones stay perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Phenomenal
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a destination in itself. Located in the heart of Cheltenham yet tucked away in a quite corner. Managed by some of the friendliest people you'll ever meet. We had a lovely time and look forward to our next stay at the Lypiatt.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.3
    Overall enjoyed the Lypyatt but would chose a better room next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small and regularly bumped head in sloping ceilings- it was the lowest grade room however. It’s rrally a guest house not a hotel as it is described. No evening meal-although near to several restaurants- and only a limited “honesty bar”.

    House was very nice, very clean and very friendly staff. The lounge is extremely well furnished and comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.1
    Toiiet cistern did not fill so lavatory would not flush.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toiiet cistern did not fill so lavatory would not flush. Bedroom was on the top floor and the low sloping ceiling was a little irritating to negotiate to make sure I did not bang my head.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Great location and beautiful house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice. Situated in a lovely road in Montpelier with lots of local eateries and shops, but only a short walk into the centre of town for restaurants, shops and the theatre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.1
    pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    decor a bit tired, bedroom quite noisy with the road and a "whistling" electricity sub station close by, shower was hard work without a proper screen

    great staff and breakfast, good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.3
    unimpressed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were disappointed with a small room. The bed side light flashed on and off - repaired after first night the heated towel rail did not work. - reported no feedback The dressing table /mirror were sited opposite a window so seeing in them was difficult. We booked not expecting children to be in the hotel - on the one occasion we went to use the public rooms there were loud children with feet on the furniture. Breakfast plates were cool therefore breakfast went cold very quickly. overall we were disappointed and will not book again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.2
    great location for town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The accommodation was lovely and clean, and just 5 to 10 minutes walk into the town centre. We went to the races and it was a lovely walk to the race course. The owners were lovely and friendly. We wanted to check in later than the 7pm check in time and that was no problem we were given a code and key and information for room was left waiting for us, which was great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant and relaxing.We loved the calm and friendly atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My husband found the number of stairs from the dining room to our room on the top floor quite a challenge! But it was good for fitness, as I pointed out to him.

    The staff were charming and helpful. It had the atmosphere of a large, friendly family house. It was very warm. The breakfast was beautifully cooked and presented with an excellent choice, including delicious fresh fruit salad.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    7.1
    I didn't get any sleep due rattling window, negatively impacted my experience.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The windows are single pane glass, a lot of traffic noise, and being old the wind rattled the windows all night - I didn't get much sleep at all. This was a serious problem given I was there on business and departed with about 2 hours sleep for a very important meeting.

    Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    Lovely quiet clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Lovely quiet clean room. Great location. Nice welcoming staff. Croissants could be warm and I prefer stronger coffee, better quality coffee not sure if it was real or instant! But these are only minor points. Would stay again in this stylish house.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable, comfortable stay, will definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, quiet road but very close to bars and restaurants in Montpellier area. Good choice for breakfast, freshly cooked. Very comfortable, large bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    House was very clean and comfortable. Tanya and Frank were very friendly and made you feel at home. Excellent choice for breakfast, well presented. Would certainly use this venue again

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable with stylish decor and right in the centre of everyhing but quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought I had booked for 2 people but turns out I only booked for one. Booking .com needs to be clearer in this respect.

    Good cooked Englisj breakfast and lots of prepared fresh fruit.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    10
    Simply a joy from check in to check out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t fault it.

    This elegant period property has been decorated, furnished and appointed to an exceptional and tasteful standard in keeping with the period. It is warm, comfortable and serviced by lovely staff. Food excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Great location, lovely hosts and a very nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wasn't so keen on having sheets and blankets on the bed, would prefer Duvets. The hotel was very hot in the hallway.

    The hosts are lovely. The breakfast was really nice and well cooked. You may struggle to park if the hotel is full, but I believe you may be able to park close by. Very well maintained and very clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    I think I'll be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arriving into a unstaffed hotel was a little odd, but the instructions were clear and a useful text from the owners helped me through the process.

    The room was beautifully appointed, and the drawing very relaxing. The breakfast was spot on.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    7.5
    Very pleasant. I’d stay there again on my next visit to Cheltenham.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is mold on the inside of the shower near the door. The shower looked clean form the outside, but when you stepped-in and looked back at the door, the mold is visible on the right side.

    The woman who helped with the check-in process was wonderfully welcoming. She was extremely helpful in guiding us to the site, since it didn’t have a street number.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.3
    Location made it, the Montpellier region is lovely and a great afternoon/ evening spent there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was fine although wasn’t 5 star / boutique as advertised- would have expected more in terms of room facilities etc

    Location was brilliant, very well looked after hotel, lovely cooked to order breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    3.8
    Crummy. The Wyastone was much better when we stayed there one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had arranged a first floor room. The owner was absent and the staff put us on the top floor with a minute room with sloping roof so we hit our heads frequently. There is no lift (elevator) so we had to carry our own luggage up stairs. Not fun for seniors. Breakfast was minimal. At best it could be called a bed and breakfast, not a hotel. We stayed at eleven hotels in England this was bottom.

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.2
    This is the place I stay every time I come on business as so much nicer than a corporate type hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Personally there is nothing I don't like as I love this place, but some of the rooms don't have huge beds or large showers and are up several flights of stairs, so best to ask if those things are important.

    Elegant mansion, lovely decor, homely B&B on a quiet street just a few moments' walk from Montpellier. Very friendly welcome, absolutely delicious hand-cooked breakfast. Nice touches such as little toiletries, honesty bar, windows that open & plenty of lights & plug sockets. Very good value.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    5.8
    Horrible
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The general manager was rude to me. As my train was delayed I arrived late. I was given a number to call to remote check in. Despite calling the number and waiting outside the premises in the cold my call was not answered as the GM had not linked the phone to the hotel. Thankfully I contacted the owner through FB and he let me in. When she finally called me she told me it was my fault as I was late and was rude and blunt to me on the phone. As a customer I would never expect this from any hotel I stay. It was unprofessional. My room was clean but my mattress was clearly old. I will never stay here again and will not recommend to my work colleagues. The General manager needs to be to be respectful.

    The location from the train station. The owner allowed me to check in late as my train had been delayed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent establishment in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great.

    The staff were excellent. I unfortunately mixed up my dates when booking so arrived a day later than expected but it was dealt with in a very understanding manner, even upgrading me to a superior room which had subsequently become available. The surrounds were elegant and refined and the staff very personable - excellent value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.6
    My stay at Lippiatt House was perfect for my needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The step down into the bathroom could be hazardous. The management are taking steps to deal with this.

    Breakfast was excellent, particularly the fruit salad selection. The location was particularly good for people attending the Literature Festival in Montpelier Gardens. It was still easy to reach the shops. The Montpelier area is full of interest. The train station was about a mile away and was an easy and quick taxi ride away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.2
    Pretty much everything about this hotel is great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was a bit too hard - nothing a memory foam topper couldn't sort out.

    Pretty much everything about this hotel is great. Very clean and nicely decorated rooms. Fabulous breakfast. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.1
    I would have liked a quilt instead of blankets!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked a quilt instead of blankets! I was too hot with them on to start and then woke up cold in the middle of the night so I had a disrupted nights sleep. Waited a long time for the breakfast to arrive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    Great spot for a visit to Cheltenham.
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi coverage patchy (though they were open about that). We had a very small (but nice ) room so suffered from the Boutique Hotel Syndrome - too many scatter cushions and nowhere to put them

    Great location, staff, breakfast, nice comfortable hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.5
    Fine location, well appointed, comfortable rooms, but needs more staff to serve guests's needs.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very short staffed. No staff at breakfast to take order. Could connect to Wifi, but could not then connect to internet

    The rooms were very comfortable and cozy. The furnishings in the place were really pleasant. The location is perfect for Cheltenham.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Clean, stylish and restful boutique guest house.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was facing the road and the traffic noise kept me awake. Also there was no hair dryer in the room?? Luckily I took my own.

    Beautifully kept boutique guest house. Lovely touches with an honesty bar, conservatory and very near the town.The breakfast was cooked to order and lovely. It was very restful and I would book again when in Cheltenham and recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.3
    Given my health problems every thing was done to make my stay a happy experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to do with hotel staff but with no lift, steps to enter property, even steps to enter ensiute facilities within the room, not suitable for disabled or users of mobility scooters.

    Happy with the facilities would recommend this hotel for able bodied but not for disabled or any one that finds it dificult to use stairs. Liked the nice hot indiviual cooked breakfast that the larger hotel chains do not provide with all their 'hot' meals served under heated containers

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable overnight stay in a very clean well decorated bedroom and bathroom. Frank was most welcoming and helpful at check in. Lovely breakfast. Parking in front of the house was easy and a short walk into the town centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.8
    Very comfortable room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lypiatt House was fairly full so parking was rather 'tight'. You have to let yourself in if arriving after about 7.00p.m. However, the system works well although there was a slight cock-up with room details when I arrived (fairly late). Another guest had already been given my room. He was very charming about my intrusion and we quickly agreed that I would go to the room he was supposed to have been allocated. There was no problem but it could have been awkward. Quite pricey at £114 for one person for one night's B&B but Lypiatt House is a nice place to stay and is well located near the centre of Cheltenham. As mentioned, I would certainly stay here again.

    Very comfortable room. Nice to have a bed with sheets and blanket rather than the usual duvet (which is invariably too hot). Nice bathroom, with bath and shower and plenty of towels. Very good breakfast. I would certainly stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    6.7
    A pleasant hotel with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was in the eves and was quite small. It didn't help that the ceiling was sloped due to the eves which meant I banged my head several times!

    Beautiful building in a fantastic location. Breakfast was fresh and tasty

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.1
    It was very pleasant don't think we would return as we like a bit more atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't think this is a hotel it's more like a BB there is not a lot of atmosphere.

    The staff was very friendly, breakfast very good but if you have a healthy appetite the portions were on the small side.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.2
    It's a lovely building in a very convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although there was shower gel, there was no soap or hand wash for the wash basin. There were no tissues either.

    The bedroom was tastefully decorated. There were plenty of fluffy towels and the toiletries were of a good quality. The staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    5.8
    worn out carrying suitcases up 4 flights of stairs, you need to be fit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not having to climb 4 flights of stairs to an attic bedroom which was small and very hot, the mattress was uncomfortable. had to pay as soon as we arrived, before even seeing the room. the attic room was very claustrephobic

    near to the city, décor good, owners friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    We enjoyed every minute of our six day stay and would not hesitate to recomend the Lypiatt to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was absolutely nothing we didn't like

    They say 'nothing is all things to all men' well this was 'all things to most men' Very friendly staff in all areas. Excellent food and service. Nothing was too much trouble. Who could ask for more.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. The managers were super friendly and helpful. The premium room was beautiful and very comfortable. The breakfast was plentiful with pastries, fresh fruit, cereal and hot breakfasts cooked to order. Five minutes walk from the town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.2
    We really felt at home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight problem with sloping ceiling in bedroom and next time would try for a lower flour. Bar could have had more choice

    Extremely friendly and efficient staff. Excellent breakfasts and lovely ambience in a beautifully furnished property with an honesty bar.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    6.3
    Tried to change to a larger room but the place was full. Attic top floor rooms small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The top floor attic rooms are very small with low ceilings that you have to duck to avoid hitting your head. Also up four flights of stairs for anyone with mobility problems no lift.

    very pretty house and good reception rooms downstairs

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    7.5
    Convenient to town, shops and restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I found the mattress too soft and prefer more structure to the mattress.

    Was convenient to town, shops and restaurants. Was comfortable, clean and well presentable property. Breakfast was good and staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.3
    Great local hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a club double room however there was only a twin bedded room available. I hadn't remembered what I had booked when I was shown the room. Car park a little tight for the number of rooms rented.

    Get location, nice local restaurants. Friendly owners.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    Very good situated / quality-price / and charming hosts 😎
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cheapest rooms on top Floor could be quite warm in summer (as no air conditioning) and relatively small bed in width and length.

    Very charming hostess (of the house) and enjoying/amusing host. Very Well situated - near the "place to be" Montpellier area with quite some nice restaurants. We went to the "Blanc" restaurant - also nice brasserie recommeded by the lady of the B & B - which was a very good choice/trendy restaurant with good wines.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    3.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was in the attic, noisy from the traffic if window open. It was pokey and far too small for two people. Room was tired and needed some TLC. Lighting was also bad. The morning aroma of fried breakfast cooking three floors below & rising into the attic was overpowering and off putting. When the house is full it is difficult to park the car. This is a very expensive B&B. Booked for 3 nights, stayed only two & definitely would not recommend or go back.

    Looked nice from the outside.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of a thing!

    The staff were very friendly and the facilities excellent. The close proximity to the city centre was also a big plus. It was an easy walk to where we needed to be.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    A high in quality Guest House.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Nice family run Guest House in a nice quiet street. Breakfast cooked to order for the guests and very high quality too. The partners who run the house were very welcoming towards the guests. The accommodation is very high quality.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fire escape on upper floors: poor ventilation in room: room absolutely stifling: uncomfortable bed: no bar: very rude lady staff member in breakfast room.

    Breakfast; location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.2
    Short break in the Cotswolds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was on the top floor and was extremely hot for all our stay, we were given fans but still very stuffy up there. Room is very small with low ceilings so not good if you are tall!

    Owners are very friendly and helpful with good local knowledge

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful family-run place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lovely, cozy, clean, good breakfast, quiet, enough space, tea and snacks in the room, clear instructions in an envelope waiting for you if you check in late. Will definitely stay again if I get a chance and I warmly recommend it!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.6
    A great place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi a little tricky to get sorted.

    Great location, close to the town centre. Very friendly owners and nicely appointed rooms and bathrooms. Topped off by a great breakfast. A super place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.3
    Nice classic regency house in great location for town bars,...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a heat wave and the rooms in the top of the hotel have small windows that only part open. There is no air conditioning and the fa was small so the room was boiling

    Nice classic regency house in great location for town bars, restaurants and shopping

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.2
    We would recommend this hotel to all our friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bigger variety of drinks left in the conservatory fridge. There isn't a garden to sit in and that would have been really nice as it was a very hot period when we stayed at The Lypiatt House.

    They were just so friendly and you would have thought they had known you for sometime. Very comfortable room. Nothing was too much trouble and if you did have a problem it was dealt with immediately. Fabulous place to stay for a short break.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.6
    Recommended. Excellent B&B. Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was very good, Just remember this is a 5 star b&b and it deserves the 5*, but it is not a hotel.

    Great location, bed very comfortable, excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: