Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Lyzzick Hall Hotel 3 stars

Underskiddaw, Keswick, CA12 4PY, United Kingdom

#3 of 21 hotels in Keswick

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 463 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing could have been done any better, our stay was perfect.

    All staff were incredible and went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. The ground are stunning, our room was lovely, very comfortable. The food is to die for, I don't have a bad word to say.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On first night on late arrival no question about how far or had we eaten , just told food finished, at 9.45, would not take a Michelin star chef to knock up a sandwich, then at 10.45 all staff seemed to vanish and no one around could not get another drink or anything, not good...had smell of fried food, oil in room on second night which was very strong, room had fan from kitchen close by...

    Location superb, very clean, food good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food is simply the best of anywhere I've ever eaten. Amazing! Decoration and attention to detail really make this such a special place. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. My and my wife's favourite ever hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sharp shard of plastic in Gazpacho. Told staff but didn't want to make a huge deal. I felt really unwell, bad headache and sun stroke I think. Staff were kind but I felt that it was mean to charge for all 4 courses when we didn't even order dessert or coffee, especially given the circumstances. Dining room so quiet and stuffy. Could hear a pin drop at breakfast...also the food seemed to be over the top. Monkfish, saffron potatoes, samphire, tomatoes, creamed rice, sweet potato puree all on one plate.

    Very friendly and attentive staff. Nice room. Stunning views.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything about this hotel.

    This hotel cannot be faulted for anything. Location, cleanliness, homily and friendly staff, room, food, facilities, the beautiful views, the beautiful walks. On every point we would give this hotel 10 out of 10.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite a lot of stairs to the room and just a bit too far to walk into town.

    Friendly staff, spacious room, very nice, modern bathroom. Loved the pool and spa area. it was very quiet and relaxing with gorgeous views over the fells. Breakfast was very good and served in a pleasant dining room. We regretted not having dinner there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very minor and would in no way would it put me off returning but there were no sun-loungers around the pool area.

    Unbelievable surroundings. Everything you need for one or two nights relaxing stay. Friendly, approachable staff. Great food (we had dinner 10/10 and breakfast 10/10).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    If you are looking comfort style and tranquillity this place is outstanding. The views are breath taking it is a postcard honestly I have stayed there 3 times fantastic , great staff who cannot is enough and the meals are just outstanding.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff really friendly and helpful. We had breakfast and dinner one night. All food was really nice. The views are amazing especially with the nice weather we had and being able to have a swim/jacuzzi after long walks was great! Would definitely come back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. We loved it , we have stayed before & also eaten there when staying elsewhere. Never disappointed.

    Wonderful location. Family owned hotel with excellent staff. Lovely comfortable country house hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only difficulty is lack of a room to be reached without stairs as a friend of mine would love to come but cannot manage stairs.

    Lyzzick Hall is like staying with friends. We are always made so welcome. We have been going now for many years and will continue to do so.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sauna was not on/cold when we visited the spa facilities after arrival in the afternoon. Luckily a staff member walked through area and was able to switch it on...had to wait for sauna to then reach a good temperature.

    Staff all friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cleanliness of the bathroom could be better- some bedside light bulbs didn't work -too late to report! Plugs and taps/plugs in bathroom stiff and a bit difficult to use. Loved the swimming pool, but could have been just a bit warmer!

    The warm welcome from staff and fabulous location! The public areas were beautifully furnished, decorated and very clean. Loved the swimming pool. The food is excellent at both dinner and breakfast. Very considerate, accommodating hosts.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If our trip there could have been shorter!!!

    The staff were extremely helpful when my radiator broke and fixed it very quickly. The food was delicious, both breakfast and supper was provided promptly. So pleased my sister and I stayed here on our trip to the Lake District. The swimming pool was beautiful and clean and the views spectacular!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to dislike about this hotel😁😁

    My wife and i have just had a wonderful break at the most beautiful hotel in the Lakes, Lyzzick Hall. Stunning hotel with magnificent views. The service is excellent and the staff very friendly. The hotel is beautiful and the grounds are immaculate as are the rooms.The food menu is top notch, superbly cooked and presented. The spa and pool is an excellent facility after a hard day on the fells. For a wine lover, the selection is world wide and excellent value too. Lyzzick Hall is a beautiful gem of a hotel, we visit a few times a year, and have never been disappointed. Stunning hotel, magnificent surroundings and perfect food and service, you can't beat that. Thanks everyone for looking after us and celebrating our 27th Wedding Anniversary.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 25, cramped, bathroom even more cramped. This room was too expensive, would have expected much more space at that price.

    Excellent views, friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was a wonderful gastronomic treat on our first night. But some sort of light supper offering would have been appreciated.

    This hotel is a class act. Lovely spacious lounges and bedrooms, excellent food and professional and friendly service

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi slow, no loungers by the swimming pool, a little pricey (although we did get a free upgrade to a huge room!), no fridge in room

    Amazing views, very personalised feel and friendly staff, meal service always excellent, they make packed lunches for you if going walking for the day, jacuzzi and pool with incredible views, great location near Keswick and Skiddaw

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great!

    I am a regular annual visitor of Keswick and I have to say Lyzzick Hall is the best place I’ve stayed! The hotel itself seems to be a lot nicer than what the online photos show. We stayed for one night in February and we were impressed as soon as we walked through the door. The views from the hotel were beautiful, and the hotel itself is sitting just under Skiddaw mountain. The rooms are lovely and clean and the bed was comfortable! The staff were also lovely! The hotel is about a 3 minute drive from Keswick Centre/Square and it cost about £5 in a taxi to get there! The pool area isn’t huge, but they have a Hot Tub/Jacuzzi and the views from the pool area are lovely. We will definitely be returning to Lyzzick Hall in the summer!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing. The bar was more expensive than we expected but we had a nice time in the communal area drinking with the fire on

    Lovely view from Our room and pool. Free breakfast. Extremely friendly staff. Close to Keswick town but on a nice quiet road. Lovely gardens surrounding. Also loved the hot tub and food opening hours for the pool area. 8am -9pm

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    Stunning scenery and lovely grounds. The food was delicious. The accomodation, room and facilities, were excellent. But the icing on the cake was the staff who are extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing I could find fault with was the Wifi coverage - it was awful.

    Staff were very attentive, friendly and professional. They clearly take great pride in their work and want visitors to come again. I'd be happy to visit the hotel again in future.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room extremely small for the £156 per night. Bed just the standard double, personally prefer a king-size. No iron in room but they were available if you asked for one. Avoid room 28 it's tiny.

    Beautiful location, excellent staff, food was amazing, but if you have a large appetite have more than 2 courses. Great swimming pool. Extremely clean and well presented rooms. Communal areas beautiful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very warm and cosy hotel and very comfortable.excellent food,nicely cooked, tasty and well presented. Mulled wine and mince pies were great. Peaceful setting with lovely views of hills.staff all very pleasant. Relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Everything was amazing!

    All the staff were so friendly and helpful, as I am 8months in to my pregnancy I did have a few good related requirement and the staff were so helpful all weekend, the room was fab, they gave us a bigger bed which was very comfy, the food was amazing, I even enjoyed a few lengths in the pool.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An upgrade. They prepared a very early breakfast as we had to leave for Manchester to attend an appointment on the day of departure. Nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant first class, staff friendly and very attentive, rooms and all areas v clean, property in very good order throughout, food was very well cooked, well presented and plenty of variety. Swimming pool and spa area excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very minor would be small size of TV, but nitpicking really.

    Everything, the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff, the decor, peace and quiet, best food we have ever tasted at a hotel, bonus was the pool, jacuzzi and sauna, the suburb views from the elevated position.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is VERY busy because of restaurant - should have dedicated Hotel parking for guests. Powercut - whilst not their fault, could have had info relayed to guests. Two single beds used instead of king/queen size.

    Double room options are two single beds put together - whilst not uncommon, for this price point i would have expected a king/queen size bed without the big gaps in the middle. Some of the restaurant staff had very limited english, which made conveying allergy requirements difficult. Great location, and AMAZING views. Had an extended powercut during stay, may have been nice for staff to have let us know what was going on, instead of having to go down to the bar to ask for a candle or torch.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about the hotel was just right...the pool even has amazing views! Staff could not do enough for you but the icing on the cake is the quality of the food in the restaurant, these were some of the best meals I've had...quality ingredients treated properly by talented chefs!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the mattress too firm for our liking however, when we mentioned this at reception they arranged for a mattress topper to be put on which softened it.

    Beautiful location, very welcoming staff and excellent food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn’t like. No negatives.

    The management and staff were very friendly and obliging. Have been numerous times for lunch which we have always enjoyed and decided to make this visit a surprise 70th birthday present for my wife as she has commented on previous visits that she would like to stay overnight. Our daughter joined us for our stay and she enjoyed her short break as well. The management was very accommodating and allowed me to use the swimming pool earlier than stated before breakfast. All in all this is a first class hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was lovely but the staff seemed overworked and we had to wait quite a while for the food to arrive.

    Breakfast was lovely and we got a free upgrade to a bigger room which was great. The floorboards in the room next door wher really noisy and woke us up a lot.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms were small for the price paid and the bed was very uncomfortable and just a standard double - for the price paid I would have expected more

    Hotel was very clean and well presented

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we arrived, we were given a letter stating that although we booked through booking.com, maybe next time we should book with them direct. Then 2 nights on the trot we were informed in a loud voice that we were getting our meal cheaper so why waste a course. Shared with the other residents. We were humiliated and I spoke to the manager about this. This is a reason a) I wont be going back b) I am not sure why you now bother promoting the hotel. They don't want you to promote them and, if you look on trip advisor, someone else had the same issues. Leave them to look after themselves! I can send you the letter. Also, although the tv didn't work properly, no one fixed it when we asked!

    The hotel was clean and warm and the restaurant staff friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eggs at breakfast not cooked well. Wet scrambled eggs and poached eggs had hard yolks. Would have preferred to have been able to take cold drink to pool area

    Tasting menu evening meal very good, cooked well and nice flavours. Nice selection of wines. Staff polite and helpful Pool and sauna relaxing area Lovely views from dining area

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there was nothing to fault

    The staff were friendly and the service was faultless. The food was stunning. The hotel is in a beautiful location and provided a fantastic break.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could hear our neighbours screaming at each other late into the night and a tv blaring at 3am. I realize that it's an old building so soundproofing would be a large endavour, but when we paid so much for the room, it was disappointing. I don't blame Lyzzick, I blame the neighbours. But still something I wouldn't want people to be surprised about.

    The shower was awesome.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Somewhere to relax in the pool area (such as a lounger) would have been nice

    Staff were outstanding (always happy and go out of their way to be of help, when requested)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool temperature was a little bit cold. Would have preferred a room looking out the front of the hotel towards Keswick, this would have increased the value for money rating.

    Great location with great views! Staff were very helpful and polite. The rooms were clean and really nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pricing and options on food menu confusing

    Really clean, comfortable room, fantastic views and stunning location. The staff were brilliant, nothing too difficult, service was excellent. Lovely manicured gardens. Pool and facilities great for a rainy day. Food excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and bedding. Hard mattress and a bit thin too. Pillows not full and plump. Sheet too small to tuck in. Bedding could have been newer crisper. However will upgrade for next visit.

    Beautiful elegant, classy interior. Pristine gardens. Superb views. We enjoyed the choice at breakfast all fresh not kept warm under lamps. Dinner also very good and on our second night we went for the 7 course taster menu the portions were just right and the timing between courses was perfect. Our room had plenty of storage and although the bathroom was compact it had big fluffy towels and the water pressure wow! Giving power shower and the bath filled in seconds. They have their own spring hence lovely cool water fill up your old bottles from the tap! Would definitely recommend this hotel and we will be back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our bathroom (room 25) was pretty cramped and could do with an update. The over the bath shower has the old bath/shower dual tap system and was cumbersome to operate to get the temperature right. At the price of these rooms, a better shower would be expected. Also the low energy lighting, both in the bathroom and in the room itself was very poor - I couldn't see to do my make-up even though the bathroom had a lit mirror.

    The staff here are all exceptional - friendly, helpful and extremely good at what they do. Nothing is too much trouble for them and they make every guest feel valued. The pool, with sauna and jacuzzi is a real bonus - an excellent way of recovering from a long walk in the glorious surrounding countryside.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having to leave.

    It was a complete joy staying at Lyzzick Hall. Without exception the staff were utterly personable, professional and quietly attentive to your every need. The hotel décor and housekeeping is kept to the highest standard throughout. The swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna superb and look across to the glorious fells. The grounds are immaculate - even those hidden corners that wouldn't regularly be seen. The restaurant, food and service, is the best we have found in the Lake District (and many other places besides). Lyzzick wants to spoil you - so just enjoy it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to not like

    Absolutely gorgeous hotel.our room was spacious and elegant with an awesome view of the surrounding hills.fabulous bath room, huge comfy bed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    long walk to the room at the rear of the hotel, we had to navigate many up and down steps.

    Extremely comfortable hotel and relaxing was easy in this beautifully located hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We wanted for nothing.

    We loved the ethos and whole character of this hotel, luxurious but relaxed. The food was superb, one or the best hotel restaurants we have been to, service brilliant, staff were watchful and attentive without being intrusive. Everyone was happy to help and nothing too much trouble. All public rooms and our bedroom were of a high standard, the setting was glorious and the location well placed for the northern lakes.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I wanted to book directly through the hotel. I had never heard of Booking.Com. Somehow I found you and presumed that I had to book through you. When i got to the hotel I discovered that you were charging a premium of £10 per evening meal eaten. Happily we wre able to avoid eating at the hotel as of course there are many interesting restaurant in and near Keswck. In the future I never again wish to book through you unless I know at the outset what I am doing. Also, please do not seek to bury me beneath a barage of your emails. I do not wish to hear from you again unless and until Iactively wish to use your services. The hotel is good but not very good. It has a fusty atmosphere and a faded manner of doing things.. One breakfast detail: the main breakfast is measured rather than full. And the toast is of very poor quality bread - dry and tasteless.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just two minor details...the swimming pool should have the depth more clearly displayed at the side of the pool, particularly as it is very deep in the middle. Secondly, whilst the staff were very helpful in finding my partner a vegetarian main course that he would like, the portion was far too small for a man. He didn't like to ask for more having caused so much disruption already.

    The room was a good size, clean and well furnished. There were a couple of lovely lounges to chill out in and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar closed early on our second night - we returned from "Theatre by the Lake" to find most of the hotel looking rather closed up for the night!

    Very welcoming with 'old world charm' in spades. Dinner was particularly good. Great location for walking Skiddaw.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole ambience of the hotel and its position were really excellent. The helpfulness of the staff created a great atmosphere. On arrival we were shown to our room and then, once settled in, coffee and home made biscuits were brought onto the terrace for us. Dinner was excellent and we opted for only 2 courses with coffee, and it was excellent. The swimming pool was made available at 7am the next morning where we enjoyed a pre breakfast swim with a gorgeous view over to the hills.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was too hot on our arrival but that was easily remedied by opening the window.,

    The staff were excellent. Friendly and efficient and they noticed that one of our party at dinner was celebrating a birthday and they made a special dessert for them without being asked. What a nice touch. We also got a room upgrade without asking. The views were spectacular and the food at both Dinner and breakfast was absolutely Top Notch.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    The staff were really lovely, cleanliness was excellent, Lovely firm bed, food was top notch. The location is fabulous, looking out over the Fells.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe they could add some veggie sausages to the veggie breakfast, but other than that everything was great.

    check in was extremely easy, staff was very helpful and friendly, room was very clean and we absolutely loved the swimingpool and the hottub plus steam room were a nice extra

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lunch and dinner were available. We had lunch on day we arrived whilst waiting for room to be ready, (we were early). Food was nice but a little too fancy for us and a bit expensive. We thought the dinner price too expensive and ate out in Keswick on both evenings of our stay for less than half the price at a chinese restaurant and an indian restaurant. The tv in the room was tiny by comparison with other hotels we have stayed in.

    Breakfast included. Was good with lots of choices. Great view from room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    I would have liked another bar rail outside the shower/tub to hold on to-there was one in the tub. We would have liked to have some choices on the dinner menu instead of one price for many courses.

    The staff was very efficient and cordial. The food was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot and light. View was obstructed slightly by swimming pool roof.

    The restaurant was great. Delicious food. nice reception rooms for after dinner. Beautiful grounds. Pleasant staff.very attentive to your needs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water pressure was high causing water to splash out of the sink onto the floor.

    I enjoyed a swim in the pool on arrival and before breakfast the next morning. Breakfast was excellent; a huge choice of food cooked to order. The gardens and views were excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be great if snacks or lighter meal choices were available.

    Wonderful surprise with the quality of this hotel. Very comfortable and extremely well looked after with pleasant staff and a beautiful location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We loved the bathroom. Bed was very comfy. Beautiful view. Smoked haddock and poached egg for breakfast was absolutely delicious. Service at breakfast excellent. Quality of food excellent. Staff extremely friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    our wet walking gears did not get properly dried but the next day was a sunny one so not an issue at the end. Would not call fudge "petits fours"

    Nice good - Swimming pool - Views

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we had a standard double room which, although offered all the usual coffee, tea, dressing gowns etc was very small and I felt over priced for what we got.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole experience was wonderful, a real treat. The hotel offers a fantastic restaurant, very impressed! The food and service is excellent. Extensive wine list. The rooms are clean, fresh with decor that is in tune with the building, just beautiful. The hotel staff are friendly, helpful and smiley too. Can't fault this hotel at all.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a very special hotel a class above alot of more expensive hotels, customer service is excellent and the food was exceptional, lovely place in lovely surroundings will definitely go back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    yet to find something I didn't like

    The Location was fantastic. The Hotel is just wonderful, its beautiful. The staff are really lovely, friendly and efficient. The food was amazing. There is nothing to not like about this Hotel. we will be returning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed and relaxed! Room was pleasant and clean and the bed comfy! And nice and quiet!! Best thing about the hotel was the evening meal, home cooked delicious food, and chef even made to order a personal vegetarian main! Lovely staff and fantastic service!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A traditional hotel with a pool; obviously very well looked after. It has a good restaurant which, though not at the cutting edge of modern cuisine, pruduces excellent meals and has an excellent eclectic Portugese / Spanish wine list. There is a bus stop at the end of the drive

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing not to like, Excellent location for the views, excellent staff, superb food and a very relaxing time.

    All the meals were of a high standard and beautifully prepared. 5 star quality. The bonus was the care the staff took for your every needs. The restaurant was run by Dennis who is a star !!! Many Hotels should send people here to see how it is done. Well done Dennis and team.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    appeared too formal; evening meal menu restrictive they seemed totally focused on directing your choice specifically promoting the 'taster' menus

    location views the room cleanliness

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was too expensive for what it was. Although clean and reasonably comfortable it was small, small bed, not luxuriously decorated and had a dated bathroom and the price was too high for that. The room felt a bit b nd b despite the rest of the hotel being luxurious. Prices in general need to be reduced a bit for the accommodation and then I would want to return.

    Lovely food, beautiful gardens and location, lovely pool and jacuzzi, lovely staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negative's from us.

    We loved everything about this hotel,the staff were excellent, the location is beyond belief, the room was beautiful, the food was amazing (the black sheep beer was right good too!!) Nothing too much trouble, thanks to all for making our break sooooooooo good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is in the most amazing location - the views from the garden are priceless. The hotel is very high standard and the restaurant is very high quality. I would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift. Staff meeting in the orangery took prescedence over guests. Staff directed us to a specific dining table whilst other tables (window locations) would have been preferable.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Lovely hotel with pool, jacuzzi and sauna which we had virtually to ourselves. Staff were friendly and the views were magical. We will definitely go again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing!!!!!

    5th stay here...fantastic staff, fantastic location,fantastic service, wonderful reception after the Macmillan Mighty Hike Challange..thank you so much again..I will be back

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: