Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Macdonald Aviemore Hotel 4 stars

Aviemore Highland Resort, Aviemore, PH22 1PN, United Kingdom

#11 of 11 hotels in Aviemore

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 895 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buildings could be a bit more attractive they are very bland The bar in our hotel was a sports bar and not very inviting to the more mature guests . We went to another bar in another hotel on the site which was much cosier but empty , I think the bar prices are too high .

    Hotel was good but not brilliant , resort was quiet and the facilities were good . Im sure during the school holidays it will be busier .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Quick check in and friendly staff at reception and in the breakfast bar. Booked hotel as overnight stopover on the way home as Inverness hotels were charging ludicrous rates. The standard of room, comfort and quiet surroundings were more than I expected. Would definitely recommend and use again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about this hotel is very average. It is looking tired and in need of investment with no real stand out features of note. Poor value for money.

    The location of the hotel is superb.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room to hot. Door in corridor kept squeaking and banging very annoying. Just about managed to get into the bath bit tight on space as you couldn't move shower screen.

    Bed very comfortable great size. Comfy pillows .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool wasn’t open all the time for the slide.

    We stayed here with family with children aged 1.5, 2.5, 4, 6 And 13 And there was something for everyone. The hotel had excellent facilities for under 12’s. Excellent central location for Landmark and the zoo, walking distance to the town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Customer Service

    We were given an assisted room without being advised, not even at point of check in nor when I booked the room through booking.com. The staff at breakfast on 2 occasions tried taking our plates away when we were still eating. I had an issue with a glass of wine that I was served and the lack co-operation from the so called supervisor was disgraceful, not something I expect paying over £160.00 for a night in a MacDonald Hotel. Staff need proper training and learn how to understand and speak fluent English.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not pram friendly at all. There is one tiny lift that could barely fit my pram and me in at one time. Loads of heavy fire doors that slam shut right behind you. Our classic family room was very small with no were to leave the pram and no space for baby to crawl around. Despite providing my kids ages they didn’t have a travel cot for us upon arrival. After a few hours they managed to find one and left it in our room for us to build ourselves. The hotel couldn’t provide a mattress for it so we ended up using the cushion from the sofa as a mattress. I was overall very disappointed with the hotel and I expected a bit more from the Macdonald group. Especially at £150 a night, you would want a clean room that had been hoovered! Definitely won’t be staying there again.

    Great location for town centre and good swimming pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a rather 1990s feel about it - a lot of dark wood, “this is a non-smoking room” signs, etc. It’s actually quite charming in a retro way for a night or two, but if modernity is your thing it might disappoint.

    Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed 2 nights and after the day out retuned to our room at 5pm and it still hadn’t been serviced which we felt was very late and we had actually just wanted to relax a little before going out to eat However that was a minor point and by 6pm when we returned it has been cleaned

    Amazing breakfast with everything you could possibly want and more Whole complex very well kept and all facilities welcoming and very clean Swimming pool a great bonus

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property grounds could do with a good old tidy up but appreciate it’s a massive property to care for.

    Great facilities for the kids, pool, soft play areas, outside park and plenty of choice for eating or having a quiet drink for the adults. Close the lakes and outdoor activities, plenty of restaurant, cafe options for meals. Cinema and on-site shopping area a bonus. The resort has lots to offer families. Rooms clean and tidy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for what you get. Rooms need air con. Beer from the pumps is poor so I reccomend Just buying bottles. Cocktails are extremely overpriced.

    Friendly staff. Great location. Rooms are great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Out of the 3 hotels on the complex I would say that this was the poorest only because of the dining and bar/lounge facilities, the dining was lower end and was in the bar area with no frills seating, but saying that you could use the other hotel restaurants and bars if you wanted to do so. The room was excellent as well as the staff.

    Rooms and staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Massive long check in queue with just one staff on duty & an empty jug of water to drink, rubbish signage to find hotel on Aviemore complex

    Lovely room, great breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Have someone at reception not a phone asking you to call for someone . We did only stay for two days but our room was not cleaned. One bottle of water and two biscuits in room for two adults and a child seems a bit tight.

    breakfast had a good choice and the leisure facilities were good, also bed was very comfy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom really small - struggled to bath our two kids and get them in and out. We had a fire alarm at 8pm on our second night and had to evacuate. Turned out to be a false alarm but staff on duty were useless - no communication and seemed to have no idea what to do.

    Breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Resort complex could do with better sign posting from the car park. Public areas of the hotel felt a bit dated. I would have liked a made to order cooked breakfast like in other Macdonald hotels rather than the buffet.

    Nice spacious room and free parking at the hotel. Plenty of things to do onsite if the weather hadn’t been so nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor quality food in the Spey Diner. Waves & flumes closed on Bank Holiday Monday.

    Lovely grounds, spacious rooms, good facilities - leisure centre and playground.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast selection was poor given the price paid. The standard of the room was average for the price paid e.g. the door handle on the bathroom was missing. The welcome at check-in was poor for the supposed standard of the hotel. No willingness to accomodate or assist when turning up early with children. No information provided on breakfast times and location etc. Had to dig through the information pack to find that out for yourself.

    The location is good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I paid £133.00 for the room plus dinner but I arrived at 9.30pm and could only get a cold sandwich which made the stay very expensive. I was travelling alone and I found the lighting system in the corridors terrifying as the delay on the lights coming on (although it was just a couple of seconds) meant I was walking through doors into complete darkness. I wouldn’t stay here again and have booked an alternative for my visit to the area next week.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to keep asking for teas, coffee, milk and sugar

    Cleanliness, although the bins were not emptied or the bed made in my father’s room on the 2nd day of our stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service in Italian restaurant was very poor. We were left for ages without being asked if we wanted dessert as the staff were either too busy setting up for the next morning or standing around chatting. Not impressed and I told them so.

    Lots of choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I wanted to book a massage I was told the women was on holiday for 2weeks and there was no other staff member there that could do my massage

    Breakfast was the only good thing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that you had to go in another hotel for your evening meal. The stairways smelt and weren't very clean. You felt you were a second best guest because this time of year they do corporate bookings.

    The bedrooms were spacious and had two lovely seats to sit in instead of just the bed. It needed a good dust though.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initial hotel room in the Aviemore hotel not so good damage to internal door and the base of the door had been cut? As it was squint on the base of the door and there was an inch gap between the bottom of the door and the floor. The room wasn't worth 156 pound. When we moved into the Highland hotel no issues. Enjoyed our stay.

    Family room spot on.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite expensive for a family of 3 - offers for returning guests would be ideal.

    Rooms very comfy. Good selection to choose from for breakfast. Facilities great for kids - swimming pool excellent. Staff really helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the second day when we returned to our room at 4pm the maid had not yet cleaned the room. On the third day the bed had not been made properly and we had only been left one bath sheet, not two, and no hand towels. There was dust on the floor in the bathroom for the whole three days.

    The hotel was well situated in Aviemore and we had been given a free upgrade to an executive suite which was very comfortable quiet and spacious. The staff were very pleasant and we were made to feel welcome. The breakfast buffet was excellent with a wide choice of hot and cold foods. There were various restaurants in the locality. We ate at the Steakhouse at the Golf Club on two nights and this was excellent. There are plenty of walks around the area and we enjoyed walking up the hills to visit the reindeer and the funicular railway up the mountains

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attention to details in my room, such as someone had clearly been shaving in the shower and the hair was all over the walls. I had to clear that myself. Also the handle on the window was broke and needs replaced. When I asked to have my room serviced, I expected the whole room and bathroom to be cleaned fully, hoovered etc. But this didn't happen. Instead the bed was made, given a couple of extra towels and bins emptied only.

    I thought the room itself was very in inviting and relaxing and I loved the overall size of the room. The bed was a king size bed, which was great also!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really got anything negative to say as we had a fantastic stay.Wish the flume had been open in the swimming pool but thats not a complaint.

    Friendly staff, comfortable room, great facilities,beautiful location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Swimming pool didn't open till 8am so we couldn't fit in a swim and leisurely breakfast before check out.

    Room was lovely especially pillows/beds. Staff lovely in restaurant and in hotel check in and check out. Lovely location. Breakfast and evening meal lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had been roaming around with luggage to find the hotel we booked in for as its a resort so took a while to get our heads around. Needs good sign postings for visitors

    Location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff did not understand you and only spoke limited English. The room was smelling of damp, once window was opened would not close. Waited until 12.30pm for staff to bring a remote control for the TV , not appropriate for a staff member to chap your room door at this time when you are a lone female with a child of 9. Was over charged and was offered vouchers to the amount overcharged to spend in their hotel by the the end of my stay. Staff were amazed when I said not acepting this, staff had to get duty manager to allow my over charge to be refunded. Hotel very noisy with dogs barking and running water from next door, on both sides. Breakfast had a lot of variety but would be better with less and better quality. Had to continuously for food to be replenished, far to small heated plates for cooked food. Restaurant was not clean. Staff were very rude for the price McDonald charge the hotel is a disgrace. Would not recommend to stay at this hotel.

    The bed and pillows was comfortable and clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is starting to look a little tired in places and could do with an overhaul. The show little signs of customer service or helpfulness, it's very much going through the motions

    The rooms were fine if a little tired. Breakfast was good and the location in the center of Aviemore is ideal to get out and about.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bunk Room (Hotel Double + Bunk Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much parking at the hotel we stayed in ! No room service menu in our one either. Dirty glasses although there was two tvs which was great each time we turned the channel both tvs changed very annoying ! Bathroom very small . We have stayed in many 4 star hotels and have to say we was quite disappointed as it did cost alot for 1 night ! The breakfast was ok apart from the bacon was cold and again i have seen better selections at other 4star hotels ! Also with it so spread out it can be a walk to various parts ! Luckily it was sunny so we didnt mind ! Then at checkout the system crashed and the receptionist was not very helpful !

    The various activities for the kids although having to pay extra for the cinema is a bit much considering the rates!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just about everything!

    Just appalling from start to finish. Staff were not friendly, not aware of the situation and basically couldn't care less about clients. We arrived at 5pm and there was a queue at reception. One person on and she had no comprehension of the size of queue. She was slow, didn't appear to know much about what was going on and never requested help. The place was dirty and all the doors were sticky. Decor was poor and ripped in places. In the room there was one bottle of water 500ml between two people and kids screaming and running up and down the corridor without any challenge. On checking out the guy on reception was really disappointing. He didn't know what he was doing and held us for 10 mins just to hand back a key for a pre-paid room. All for £188!! Macdonald USED to be a sign of quality. On this showing it's more like a sign of 'we know its May in Aviemore and we can charge what we want and not give you any service or customer care'! A very bad experience. I won't be back and I'd advise anyone thinking of going her to think carefully.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some fool in the corridor late at night that woke me up

    The staff were very friendly and professional My daughter loved the swimming pool and facilities The breakfast and dinner were lovely too

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service in the restaurant beside the pool was poor.....can’t remember it’s name!

    Liked the Toiletries for use in the bathroom and bottles of water available in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very overpriced and basic we seemingly got upgraded would hate to see other room if we were. Got told bar would b open late and it wasn't will not b returning to this complex and will not b recommending it to others

    The location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel felt dated and tatty. We upgraded to a suite as it was a special occasion. The room was cramped, the bathroom was tiny (and the extractor fan didn’t work) and nothing felt at all special or luxuourious.

    Breakfast was great, lots of choice and tasted fresh and delicious. Hotel very central within Aviemore.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were put in a disabled room which smelled really bad (drains we think) despite complaining about this no effort made to resolve issue. We use McDonald Hotels a lot and this was not what we would expect.

    Breakfast good as was service in restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately there were two occasions where the staff said we hadnt paid when we had. They were not unpleasant about this and I suspect it was a system failure but not really something I want to keep repeating. The newspaper that was ordered never arrived. The rooms were lovely when you got to them, the corridors not so much. The room was cold when we arrived and boiling at night!

    Breakfast was lovely and the restaurant was too. The room was pleasantly furbished. The staff were friendly but I think a little inexperienced and probably busy as the Lib Dem conference was being held in the complex at the same time. They were certainly as helpful as they could be. The complex itself appears lovely and the location is superb for exploring the Cairngorns and visiting the Highland Wildlife park

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really big, bed was massive and really comfy. Only a 5 min walk from the centre/shops. Staff helpful. Breakfast good and a lot of selection.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff attitude was poor, breakfast was dried out and not great quality. The bars closed early. Overall it’s not the best place to stay

    The resort has 4 hotels but I stayed in the Highland hotel. It needs updated and a good clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was dated, hallways, reception and outside in need of modernisation.

    Good size room with twin beds rather than sofa bed for children. Comfy beds. Excellent breakfast, facilities were great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel looks old and some parts in a bad condition. It needs some investment or a good lick of paint at least. The bottom of our bath was rusting away.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very run down looking and definitely not a 4 star hotel. The other MacDonald hotels in the complex seemed much superior.

    Activity centre was great for kids

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt the bedroom was to small to accommodate a family of four ☹️ Also, the slide in the swimming pool was closed leaving the kids disappointed.

    Staff and service was excellent. Outdoor activities and park were excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The changing facilities in the swim area are terrible, too small, showers not great and not enough hooks!

    Kids facilities are excellent, supervised sessions are really great. Breakfast was very good Towels and bedding very good! Hairdryer in room was awful, have to hold down a button to work.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel in itself was nice. The surrounding areas are beautiful. The member of staff who greeted us on arrival was quite dismissive. We were surprised to find a pair of socks on the floor in the room, presumably from a previous guest. Bedding was not changed at all during our stay. Our kids loved the resort however, and the entertainment staff were excellent. They would love to go back, however my husband and I have taken the kids to other popular destinations within the uk, similar in price but better value for money and standards are higher.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast room, although having many people for breakfast at that time, didn t feel crowded at all. Everything was very well organised. The waiters did such a good job, they were helpful and kind. Our grandchildren could somehow move freely (because of the space) , and they discovered everything they liked (food wise) The coffee was good, and , indeed, the choice of food was excellent. Thank you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    n/a

    Good rooms and facilities in room / onsite pool / gym etc at this complex of hotels at heart of Aviemore - have stayed here many times but this is first time in the Aviemore hotel (one of 3 there I think). The Aviemore hotel is itself more family orientated than the others on site I believe so lots of young families there if that is a concern / positive for you. Excellent dinner (4 choices of restaurants across the hotels) and breakfast choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tiny, not enough staff on reception, Key card didn’t work one day and waited 20 mins at reception to be sorted out, went to pool to use slide and they shut the slide, no desserts in the Italian restaurant, toilet didn’t work properly, found a hair in food in burger restaurant was given a round of drinks on the house for that though, floor was filthy in burger restaurant, was not worth the money we paid to stay there, we won’t be going back.

    The breakfast was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic family facility, great pool, softplay and cinema. Location is superb for getting around Aviemore, staff all friendly and helpful and cleanliness was to a very high standard. Great selection during breakfast which was constantly replenished. During our stay we watched enjoyed the children's evening entertainment followed by the musical medley which was first class.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were not great and not particularly clean. We specifically asked for a single bed for our son and got a fold down sofa bed which was so uncomfortable with lots of metal bits on the sides. We were not in the main part of the hotel as we expected.

    Didn't say that you would not be in the main part of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I felt that the restaurants were VERY expensive and not really value for money. I found some of the mangers to be very unfriendly and not sympathetic in any way.

    I liked having some of the onsite facilities, including a cinema...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had asked for top floor but given a 1st floor room with view over Tesco car park and therefore a bit noisy from traffic but as we were just there 1 night it wasn't an issue to warrant a complaint. The cleanliness of the bathroom floor wasn't good with hairs in the corners.

    The facilities were excellent, lots going on for the guests, especially the pool was great for kids.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Aviemore hotel is very tired and in need of a major rehaul. The reception areas, lifts and corridors of the hotel are in a very poor state and the hotel tooms themselves were very cramped. The swimming pool chamging was not hygienic and overall a poor family result.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On booking the package I understood that meals were included for myself & child but on arrival I was told that my 7 yo was not included in the dinner - there was no mention of this when booking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No chip and pin card machine to pay for our stay and my card doesn’t work any other way, very embarrassing at the reception and luckily my husband had a card we could use.Our hair dryer was broken and kept having to ask for another one, at least 3 times back at the reception. Our room was only cleaned once in our 4 nights stay as cleaners came late to clean the room, one night at 5pm when we had just arrived back at the hotel to relax. They did offer if we needed anything though. We arrived to one little bottle of shampoo and body wash for a family of 4, not great really when we paid £855 for our stay.

    Breakfast was amazing with plenty of choice. Staff were so friendly in the restaurants, at breakfast time etc. Hotel is in such a beautiful place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds fell to one side , breakfast not stocked well, marks on rads , more like a budget hotel than luxury

    Evening meal was lovely, pool great ; pleasant reception staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a meal in Aspects and found the service and food good but the area of the dining room we were in was unacceptably cold.

    Food selection at breakfast. Rooms and surroundings.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at reception wouldn't answer the phone when I tried to call, I tried 5 times and gave up. Once they answered and hung up immediately. I then had go down the dark and cold hallways and stairs to reception to ask for the tv remote. At time of booking it wasn't made clear that there would only be a choice of two restraunts, one of which was fully booked, so my wife and I had to make our into aviemore to find a place to eat.

    Coffee at breakfast was lovely. Breakfast in general was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its great that you offer supervised play sessions. However we missed out as we were unaware it had to be pre booked and felt it could have been mention on check in. The leisure member of staff was unhelpful. A shrugged shoulder response was not welcomed!!

    Hotel is lovely. Relaxing atomsphere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff weren’t helpful and we were passed around every building they owned. Also on departure we were not asked how our stay was and we emailed them and we are still waiting for a reply. I thought i was on the jeremy kyle show with the antics of some guests, it sounded like they were smashing their room up certainly wont visit this establishment again which is a shame because most of the mcdonald resorts are amazing.

    Bedroom

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On two occasions we were over charged once was in the evening where there was almost £30 extra on top of the bill what was then later corrected second was when we checked out they had charged £25 for drinks which again was also wrong and later corrected. I then once arriving home discovered i had left my electronic smoking device in our room and called the reception desk immediately to inform them so that it could be sent out, i was told that they would call me back if they had or had not found it, no phone call was made so i then rang a second time to ask if it had been found or not to be told it was not there but in actual fact it had been left there so unless it was stolen it should have still been there. Not happy at all with the customer service we have been given and would recommend to all who do vist to thoroughly check your bills etc before you pay. Food was delicious and serving staff were great, good facilities great distance from shops.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no parking outside our hotel building. When we checked in, we were sent from one building to the next to the next before we got to our actual building our room was in. The photos showed a coffee machine, there wasn't one in the room.

    It was modern and waiter was very polite and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately this time 1. The room wasn't warm. It had draft coming from the fire exit. 2. IT was top of the restaurant. the room had the food smell all the time.

    Breakfast was excellent kept going for the Ski & walk.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel restaurants did not open until 5pm, but lots of other places to eat in town.

    Lots for children to do - soft play, swimming pool, activity rooms and children’s entertainment were all great and the activity room staff were excellent with the kids. Kids had a fantastic time. The evening entertainment was really good too, amazing singers. Really good location, right in middle of town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception area of the Aviemore Hotel was not very welcoming, very cold and rather shabby, the other hotel buildings were much better.

    Room was good for family, beds very comfortable, breakfasts were excellent, swimming pool was very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a little fruggle and the hot breakfast serving dishes were not kept topped up. Had to ask for an extra pot of tea as the 'pot for two' only held two cups and no hot water was provided. Pavements were not salted so extremely slippy when icy.

    Well situated in the centre of the town and close to the railway station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel looks tiered and unclean from the outside lots off potholes in road around the car parks house keeping cane to room at 5pm when we just come back from a day out found empty bottles under beds from the day we got there the price of a dog to stay extra £15 for wot no doggie bag for the dog ?

    Nice size room and plenty to do there

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cafe was closed at 5:10pm and I would have liked a coffee in there whilst the family went for a swim.

    The bed was comfy the room was lovely and the porridge was extra tasty .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is getting run down and could do with some attention, particularly corridors and woodwork, very worn. Staff were rude at times and not as warm and friendly as I would have expected.

    The location of the hotel is good, central in Aviemore. Room was clean and bed comfy. Ample car parking

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hot food at breakfast could have been warmer and I suggest that it should be covered. Changing room facilities in swimming pool could be improved as £1 coin lockers not taking new coins and some changing booths needed new locks.

    Swimming pool was good value as was the soft play attached. Staff were excellent throughout the hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Family Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel seemed To be understaffed so there was lots of waiting, out room wasn’t ready until late, wasn’t cleaned until late afternoon, we were left waiting a long time for food in the restaurants. This was redeemed somewhat by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, there just needed to be more of them.

    The room was modern, cllean and spacious. The facilities were ideal for the children in our family and the location of the resort was perfect for accessing the outdoor areas.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cattle like reception at four o clock getting put into a steel chair in a burger bar for breakfast. Dog howling at night a couple of food down. Big disappointment

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: