Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Macdonald Aviemore Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Aviemore Highland Resort, Aviemore, PH22 1PN, United Kingdom

#11 of 11 hotels in Aviemore

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 951 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    7.0
    Stay ok but quiet exspensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the staffs lack of basic English had to ask 3 different staff members to heat up pastries at breakfast. The pool wavemachine and slide is only open for a few hours in the middle of the day . Also a lot of handles missing and doors in the changing area.

    Good location food also good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    5.8
    The leisure facilities were good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The family room was small and sofa bed was really uncomfortable. Also room was roasting and had no air con. We all Had a poor night sleep

    The leisure facilities were good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    7.9
    Room was large, clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel was a bit tired. Corridors were a bit tatty and unwelcoming.

    Room was large, clean and comfortable. Bathroom was gleaming. Hotel is in a great location in the centre of Aviemore

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    9.6
    Room was lovely and spacious very big comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was lovely and spacious very big comfy bed.Staff were excellent very friendly nothing to much trouble and the buffet breakfast was amazing will definitely be back

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    9.2
    Great resort, a little tatty/grubby in places. Lovely staff, excellent breakfast and fab facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We booked a double plus single bed room. When we arrived we were given a double with a sofa bed. This wasn’t what we booked. We changed room to one with a camp style bed as this was all that was available. My partner was sleeping in the camp bed and it wasn’t suitable for his requirements at all. We were really disappointed as he didn’t get a good sleep at all (it was far too small). We told reception (he was very pleasant, clearly poorly but tried to be helpful!) but sadly nothing else suitable was available.

    The big bed was very comfy. The pillows were lovely and squashy! Robyn in the restaurant was very friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    6.3
    Seriously disappointing!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In the rooms in said if you need ice or fresh milk call room service, when we did, we were told we didn't have room service, so which is it? 4 of us in a room and we were provided with one bath towel and three hand towels, when I asked for another 3 towels on 2 seperate occasions one via a call to reception and one in person at reception I was told they would het them to us, nothing arrived. I had to catch one of the ladies making up the rooms in the corridor myself and ask her before I got anything. Lastly not directly related to Macdonald staff but does reflect poorly on the resort, went to get coffee for myself and my wife at spey valley costa I was to late as they had already closed and in the process of cashing up, this I accept I was to late not a problem. I made it clear to the member of staff behind the counter that it wasn't a problem I was going to try across at the leisure centre, she said nothing and let me walk across to the leisure centre in the rain to be told that the other costa had be closed as well. All and all how they manage to maintain 4 star status is beyond me as the service is 3 star at a push.

    The ladies in the morning at breakfast were fantastic, always smiling full of conversation and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    4.2
    Tv didn’t work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tv didn’t work. Card advised they had room service when called advised they don’t. Hairdryer in room didn’t work, fire escape notices hanging off walls, lifts temperamental, overall definitely not value for money would not stay here again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    10
    AmaIng stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Couldn’t fault anything!

    AmaIng stay! Perfect location, room was great very clean and bed very comfy. Staff were all lovely and had prob the best buffet breakfast I’ve had!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    5.8
    Over all was very disappointed for the price we paid, many more points but no space to write them.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not allowed to use slide in pool, one fold down bed very uncomfortable, had to ask for extra towels only 1 was provided for 4, very salty cooked breakfast, the building looked liked a block of flats.

    Good location, comfortable double bed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    6.3
    Adequate but hardly 4 star for me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was quite basic, public areas and corridors etc seemed tired and in need of redecorating in places. Bar only open 17:00 to 22:00 and it’s also the restaurant (Spey Burger) although we hardly saw anybody eating there. We had to go to one of the other hotels in the resort for a nightcap, not too big an issue in good weather but a pain if it’s cold or wet. Got a feeling it’s used for staff accommodation for the resorts other hotels. The overall resort is rated as 4 star, this hotel doesn’t really cut it.

    Room was clean and location good for walking into Aviemore itself. Breakfast was good and little or no queue.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    5.8
    Family hotel that isn’t family friendly - deserted, overpriced and uncomfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    First week of school holidays and it was difficult to locate staff - everywhere seemed deserted which negatively impacted the holiday atmosphere. Several families showed up to prearranged activities and nobody was around to facilitate them. The kids activities were the main reason for choosing Macdonald resort but it should be noted you have to pay extra for most of them. The evening disco and entertainment was good and the team facilitating were excellent (my kids loved them) but on far too late for kids. Most of the families we spoke with didn’t attend due to the time of it (eg kids party kicked off at 7:30pm and didn’t start a beauty and the beast show until 9pm). Especially if they had a younger baby. Consequently, the kids party was also deserted. My husband wanted to pop through to the bar when I was with the kids at the night entertainment in the osprey centre (approx 6:45pm) to get a pint and a bar snack - there was nobody around, everything was closed up yet set up for dinner like people were expected to arrive any minute. Was very strange and actually a bit eerie! No signs to indicate when that area would come to life in the osprey centre. No staff around to ask. We went to that bar previously during the England vs Sweden match, despite it being quite busy there was only 1 poor barmaid and she was struggling behind the bar. The pumps weren’t working properly and neither was the card machine. Food in restaurants on site is much more expensive than elsewhere in aviemore. Perhaps worth it for resort atmosphere but that was non existent. When we first arrived we were placed in a room with a double bed and single - we had two adults and two kids, this wasn’t what we paid for so we had to move. The rooms were absolutely stifling hot, no fridge was available and we left the curtains closed to keep out heat during day but room service kept opening them (even after note left). Made for very uncomfortable sleep!

    The location is ideal, fantastic set up for kids to meet friends. The staff we could find were lovely and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    3.3
    Very close to everything but most hotels in aviemore are
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This hotel in the McDonald centre is easily the worst of the three hotels it’s not worth the money they are charging 2 adults & a child one night £167 ? ridiculous! The room & hotel didn’t smell nice the view was of a car park the staff all looked out there depth if they had charged Me £50 it’s still to much !

    Very close to everything but most hotels in aviemore are

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable short break with plenty of activities round about, we would come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel sits in large grounds which could be made more of, play park for under 8years only plenty of scope to do something for older kids, but there is plenty to do round about. Some of the communal areas such as corridors to rooms could do with sprucing up.

    We had a family room for two nights bed and breakfast. Room size was good, beds comfortable and tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Large television and nice clean bathroom with walk in shower and complimentary toiletries. Breakfast was very good with everything you could want a variety of cereals, pastries, fruit. and cooked breakfast. Short walk into Aviemore for bars, restaurants, supermarkets. Staff pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    4.6
    Not impressed wouldn’t recommend or come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms very small beds very uncomfortable definitely not worth the money Bathroom far too small The hotel looks very run down Activities for children very expensive

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    7.5
    Great hotel, nice staff, yummy food and super location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a shame that the flumes and waves were only on 12-3 when most people with kids are out for the day!

    Breakfast was delicious! Beds were comfy and we had a wonderful view from our room. Hotel is right in the middle of town! Swimming pool was great and good choice of restaurants on site!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    8.8
    Overall very happy with our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We don’t know you could possibly sit three people at the breakfast tables as there was hardly enough room for two. The breakfast selection was very good and the staff were attentive.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    6.7
    Great place Aviemore , hotel was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was not ready when we arrived offered a ten pound voucher bought 2 drinks in the bar the £10 did not even cover the cost of the drinks

    The location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant weather , lots to do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no hairdryer in our room. I went to reception to ask for one. The receptionist said he would get another one from one of the other hotels and get it to us (never did ). Seen him pass a hairdryer to another couple when we were passing after breakfast.

    Best Scrambled eggs I’ve ever had from a breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast was excellent and hotel room was spotlessly clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Walls between rooms not well sound proofed! Sofa beds mattresses very uncomfortable for my children! Leisure facilities not well kept very unclean and not all facilities available!

    Breakfast was excellent and hotel room was spotlessly clean. Well done hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    7.1
    Our stay was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Checking in and out was a shambles. My partner paid for our room when we checked in but there was no record of it and the check out chap asked for a payment- thank god he kept the receipt. The music in reception was lovely but too loud as no one could hear what was being said. The changing rooms at the pool were in a poor state with missing locks and doors that did have locks had initials scratched into the door- hardly the standard I expected! The room was baking hot and unless we put up with the noise of the Tesco delivery there was no other way to cool it down- I do appreciate it has been unbelievably hot but we can't be the only guests who slept on top of the bedding.

    Pool was huge!! Bed extremely comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    6.7
    Conned by website
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The booking with your site was deceptive, advertised as half board but only one room was dbb while the other was bb!! We are one family!

    Location was great, as was hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom was very small. The shower was over the bath, which was not a full size bath. It would be difficult to get in the shower if you aren’t agile. Breakfast didn’t start early enough for us. Too many bus tours leaving early in the morning so making a lot of noise.

    Comfy bed. Nice room. Good breakfast. Great location and easy to walk into town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    7.9
    Not bad... needs sharper service
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i had to ask 3 times to get a coffee at breakfast - very frustrating the corridors are quite tired and let the place down and also it looks a little run down from the outside and could do with freshening up

    great spot and rooms were nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location, clean warm comfy hotel fab breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff unresponsive to requests. Extra bed taking up room, talked to reception and took note, "gtfo extra bed housekeeping" and we phoned for ice. Neither of the two happened.

    Excellent location, clean warm comfy hotel fab breakfast. Would recommend it!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable stay, we'll fed and exercised, rejuvenated till next break.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Weather but that's down to luck.

    Annual break with our dog, most impressed with quality of accommodation given we had our canine companion. Plenty of outdoor activity in area and excellent pool sauna on return. Choice of restaurants to suit all on site or short walk to village.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2018

    7.1
    For one night it was adequate but not anything more than average.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The buildings could be a bit more attractive they are very bland The bar in our hotel was a sports bar and not very inviting to the more mature guests . We went to another bar in another hotel on the site which was much cosier but empty , I think the bar prices are too high .

    Hotel was good but not brilliant , resort was quiet and the facilities were good . Im sure during the school holidays it will be busier .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    4.2
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was disgustingly dirty hard to believe it’s achieved the 4* rating. Wasn’t booked correctly through booking.com on arrival so was offered a disability or nothing. No room made up in the 3 days I was there... Should have stayed in a B&B.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    10
    Great value and excellent quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Quick check in and friendly staff at reception and in the breakfast bar. Booked hotel as overnight stopover on the way home as Inverness hotels were charging ludicrous rates. The standard of room, comfort and quiet surroundings were more than I expected. Would definitely recommend and use again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    5.8
    Very Average....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything about this hotel is very average. It is looking tired and in need of investment with no real stand out features of note. Poor value for money.

    The location of the hotel is superb.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    8.8
    Bed very comfortable great size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room to hot. Door in corridor kept squeaking and banging very annoying. Just about managed to get into the bath bit tight on space as you couldn't move shower screen.

    Bed very comfortable great size. Comfy pillows .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent family holiday. Something for everyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pool wasn’t open all the time for the slide.

    We stayed here with family with children aged 1.5, 2.5, 4, 6 And 13 And there was something for everyone. The hotel had excellent facilities for under 12’s. Excellent central location for Landmark and the zoo, walking distance to the town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    5.4
    Sub-standard for an expensive evening
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Customer Service

    We were given an assisted room without being advised, not even at point of check in nor when I booked the room through booking.com. The staff at breakfast on 2 occasions tried taking our plates away when we were still eating. I had an issue with a glass of wine that I was served and the lack co-operation from the so called supervisor was disgraceful, not something I expect paying over £160.00 for a night in a MacDonald Hotel. Staff need proper training and learn how to understand and speak fluent English.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    5.4
    Not baby friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not pram friendly at all. There is one tiny lift that could barely fit my pram and me in at one time. Loads of heavy fire doors that slam shut right behind you. Our classic family room was very small with no were to leave the pram and no space for baby to crawl around. Despite providing my kids ages they didn’t have a travel cot for us upon arrival. After a few hours they managed to find one and left it in our room for us to build ourselves. The hotel couldn’t provide a mattress for it so we ended up using the cushion from the sofa as a mattress. I was overall very disappointed with the hotel and I expected a bit more from the Macdonald group. Especially at £150 a night, you would want a clean room that had been hoovered! Definitely won’t be staying there again.

    Great location for town centre and good swimming pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2018

    7.9
    Good stay with a slight 1990s feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel has a rather 1990s feel about it - a lot of dark wood, “this is a non-smoking room” signs, etc. It’s actually quite charming in a retro way for a night or two, but if modernity is your thing it might disappoint.

    Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel and a lot more to offer with the full complex
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stayed 2 nights and after the day out retuned to our room at 5pm and it still hadn’t been serviced which we felt was very late and we had actually just wanted to relax a little before going out to eat However that was a minor point and by 6pm when we returned it has been cleaned

    Amazing breakfast with everything you could possibly want and more Whole complex very well kept and all facilities welcoming and very clean Swimming pool a great bonus

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    8.8
    Great family spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property grounds could do with a good old tidy up but appreciate it’s a massive property to care for.

    Great facilities for the kids, pool, soft play areas, outside park and plenty of choice for eating or having a quiet drink for the adults. Close the lakes and outdoor activities, plenty of restaurant, cafe options for meals. Cinema and on-site shopping area a bonus. The resort has lots to offer families. Rooms clean and tidy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    7.9
    Rooms need AC for the summer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very expensive for what you get. Rooms need air con. Beer from the pumps is poor so I reccomend Just buying bottles. Cocktails are extremely overpriced.

    Friendly staff. Great location. Rooms are great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    7.1
    Rooms and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Out of the 3 hotels on the complex I would say that this was the poorest only because of the dining and bar/lounge facilities, the dining was lower end and was in the bar area with no frills seating, but saying that you could use the other hotel restaurants and bars if you wanted to do so. The room was excellent as well as the staff.

    Rooms and staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    7.9
    Lovely room, great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Massive long check in queue with just one staff on duty & an empty jug of water to drink, rubbish signage to find hotel on Aviemore complex

    Lovely room, great breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    7.5
    Ok, good location, hotel seems a little tired in places dont know if i would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Have someone at reception not a phone asking you to call for someone . We did only stay for two days but our room was not cleaned. One bottle of water and two biscuits in room for two adults and a child seems a bit tight.

    breakfast had a good choice and the leisure facilities were good, also bed was very comfy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    7.1
    Good place for short break. Excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom really small - struggled to bath our two kids and get them in and out. We had a fire alarm at 8pm on our second night and had to evacuate. Turned out to be a false alarm but staff on duty were useless - no communication and seemed to have no idea what to do.

    Breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    7.5
    Nice spacious room and free parking at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Resort complex could do with better sign posting from the car park. Public areas of the hotel felt a bit dated. I would have liked a made to order cooked breakfast like in other Macdonald hotels rather than the buffet.

    Nice spacious room and free parking at the hotel. Plenty of things to do onsite if the weather hadn’t been so nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    7.9
    Relaxing family break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor quality food in the Spey Diner. Waves & flumes closed on Bank Holiday Monday.

    Lovely grounds, spacious rooms, good facilities - leisure centre and playground.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    6.3
    Not good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast selection was poor given the price paid. The standard of the room was average for the price paid e.g. the door handle on the bathroom was missing. The welcome at check-in was poor for the supposed standard of the hotel. No willingness to accomodate or assist when turning up early with children. No information provided on breakfast times and location etc. Had to dig through the information pack to find that out for yourself.

    The location is good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    7.5
    I paid £133.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I paid £133.00 for the room plus dinner but I arrived at 9.30pm and could only get a cold sandwich which made the stay very expensive. I was travelling alone and I found the lighting system in the corridors terrifying as the delay on the lights coming on (although it was just a couple of seconds) meant I was walking through doors into complete darkness. I wouldn’t stay here again and have booked an alternative for my visit to the area next week.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay, bedrooms were great, but exterior of building needs upgraded
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had to keep asking for teas, coffee, milk and sugar

    Cleanliness, although the bins were not emptied or the bed made in my father’s room on the 2nd day of our stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing due to poor service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The service in Italian restaurant was very poor. We were left for ages without being asked if we wanted dessert as the staff were either too busy setting up for the next morning or standing around chatting. Not impressed and I told them so.

    Lots of choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    3.3
    Breakfast was the only good thing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When I wanted to book a massage I was told the women was on holiday for 2weeks and there was no other staff member there that could do my massage

    Breakfast was the only good thing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    5.8
    Mixed reactions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fact that you had to go in another hotel for your evening meal. The stairways smelt and weren't very clean. You felt you were a second best guest because this time of year they do corporate bookings.

    The bedrooms were spacious and had two lovely seats to sit in instead of just the bed. It needed a good dust though.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    7.1
    Family room spot on.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Initial hotel room in the Aviemore hotel not so good damage to internal door and the base of the door had been cut? As it was squint on the base of the door and there was an inch gap between the bottom of the door and the floor. The room wasn't worth 156 pound. When we moved into the Highland hotel no issues. Enjoyed our stay.

    Family room spot on.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    9.6
    Had a lovely weekend with my wife and granddaughter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite expensive for a family of 3 - offers for returning guests would be ideal.

    Rooms very comfy. Good selection to choose from for breakfast. Facilities great for kids - swimming pool excellent. Staff really helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    9.2
    Lots to see and do
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    On the second day when we returned to our room at 4pm the maid had not yet cleaned the room. On the third day the bed had not been made properly and we had only been left one bath sheet, not two, and no hand towels. There was dust on the floor in the bathroom for the whole three days.

    The hotel was well situated in Aviemore and we had been given a free upgrade to an executive suite which was very comfortable quiet and spacious. The staff were very pleasant and we were made to feel welcome. The breakfast buffet was excellent with a wide choice of hot and cold foods. There were various restaurants in the locality. We ate at the Steakhouse at the Golf Club on two nights and this was excellent. There are plenty of walks around the area and we enjoyed walking up the hills to visit the reindeer and the funicular railway up the mountains

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    7.9
    I thought the room itself was very in inviting and relaxing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The attention to details in my room, such as someone had clearly been shaving in the shower and the hair was all over the walls. I had to clear that myself. Also the handle on the window was broke and needs replaced. When I asked to have my room serviced, I expected the whole room and bathroom to be cleaned fully, hoovered etc. But this didn't happen. Instead the bed was made, given a couple of extra towels and bins emptied only.

    I thought the room itself was very in inviting and relaxing and I loved the overall size of the room. The bed was a king size bed, which was great also!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    8.3
    Thumbs up, will go back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not really got anything negative to say as we had a fantastic stay.Wish the flume had been open in the swimming pool but thats not a complaint.

    Friendly staff, comfortable room, great facilities,beautiful location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    7.9
    Booking today again for two nights next time instead of one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Swimming pool didn't open till 8am so we couldn't fit in a swim and leisurely breakfast before check out.

    Room was lovely especially pillows/beds. Staff lovely in restaurant and in hotel check in and check out. Lovely location. Breakfast and evening meal lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    7.5
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had been roaming around with luggage to find the hotel we booked in for as its a resort so took a while to get our heads around. Needs good sign postings for visitors

    Location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    3.8
    Awful, disappointed and regretful of staying here. Spoiled weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff did not understand you and only spoke limited English. The room was smelling of damp, once window was opened would not close. Waited until 12.30pm for staff to bring a remote control for the TV , not appropriate for a staff member to chap your room door at this time when you are a lone female with a child of 9. Was over charged and was offered vouchers to the amount overcharged to spend in their hotel by the the end of my stay. Staff were amazed when I said not acepting this, staff had to get duty manager to allow my over charge to be refunded. Hotel very noisy with dogs barking and running water from next door, on both sides. Breakfast had a lot of variety but would be better with less and better quality. Had to continuously for food to be replenished, far to small heated plates for cooked food. Restaurant was not clean. Staff were very rude for the price McDonald charge the hotel is a disgrace. Would not recommend to stay at this hotel.

    The bed and pillows was comfortable and clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    6.3
    Good Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is starting to look a little tired in places and could do with an overhaul. The show little signs of customer service or helpfulness, it's very much going through the motions

    The rooms were fine if a little tired. Breakfast was good and the location in the center of Aviemore is ideal to get out and about.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    7.9
    Did not exceed expectations especially for the high price !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bunk Room (Hotel Double + Bunk Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not much parking at the hotel we stayed in ! No room service menu in our one either. Dirty glasses although there was two tvs which was great each time we turned the channel both tvs changed very annoying ! Bathroom very small . We have stayed in many 4 star hotels and have to say we was quite disappointed as it did cost alot for 1 night ! The breakfast was ok apart from the bacon was cold and again i have seen better selections at other 4star hotels ! Also with it so spread out it can be a walk to various parts ! Luckily it was sunny so we didnt mind ! Then at checkout the system crashed and the receptionist was not very helpful !

    The various activities for the kids although having to pay extra for the cinema is a bit much considering the rates!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    4.6
    Very bad hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just about everything!

    Just appalling from start to finish. Staff were not friendly, not aware of the situation and basically couldn't care less about clients. We arrived at 5pm and there was a queue at reception. One person on and she had no comprehension of the size of queue. She was slow, didn't appear to know much about what was going on and never requested help. The place was dirty and all the doors were sticky. Decor was poor and ripped in places. In the room there was one bottle of water 500ml between two people and kids screaming and running up and down the corridor without any challenge. On checking out the guy on reception was really disappointing. He didn't know what he was doing and held us for 10 mins just to hand back a key for a pre-paid room. All for £188!! Macdonald USED to be a sign of quality. On this showing it's more like a sign of 'we know its May in Aviemore and we can charge what we want and not give you any service or customer care'! A very bad experience. I won't be back and I'd advise anyone thinking of going her to think carefully.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    10
    Highly recommend this resort for a getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some fool in the corridor late at night that woke me up

    The staff were very friendly and professional My daughter loved the swimming pool and facilities The breakfast and dinner were lovely too

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    10
    It was really good ...kids loved pool and other activities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The service in the restaurant beside the pool was poor.....can’t remember it’s name!

    Liked the Toiletries for use in the bathroom and bottles of water available in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    3.3
    Will not b back over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms were very overpriced and basic we seemingly got upgraded would hate to see other room if we were. Got told bar would b open late and it wasn't will not b returning to this complex and will not b recommending it to others

    The location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    5.8
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel felt dated and tatty. We upgraded to a suite as it was a special occasion. The room was cramped, the bathroom was tiny (and the extractor fan didn’t work) and nothing felt at all special or luxuourious.

    Breakfast was great, lots of choice and tasted fresh and delicious. Hotel very central within Aviemore.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    6.3
    Disapointed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were put in a disabled room which smelled really bad (drains we think) despite complaining about this no effort made to resolve issue. We use McDonald Hotels a lot and this was not what we would expect.

    Breakfast good as was service in restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    6.3
    OK without being fantastic.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately there were two occasions where the staff said we hadnt paid when we had. They were not unpleasant about this and I suspect it was a system failure but not really something I want to keep repeating. The newspaper that was ordered never arrived. The rooms were lovely when you got to them, the corridors not so much. The room was cold when we arrived and boiling at night!

    Breakfast was lovely and the restaurant was too. The room was pleasantly furbished. The staff were friendly but I think a little inexperienced and probably busy as the Lib Dem conference was being held in the complex at the same time. They were certainly as helpful as they could be. The complex itself appears lovely and the location is superb for exploring the Cairngorns and visiting the Highland Wildlife park

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    9.6
    The room was really big, bed was massive and really comfy. Only a 5 min walk from the centre/shops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was really big, bed was massive and really comfy. Only a 5 min walk from the centre/shops. Staff helpful. Breakfast good and a lot of selection.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    4.2
    The resort has 4 hotels but I stayed in the Highland hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff attitude was poor, breakfast was dried out and not great quality. The bars closed early. Overall it’s not the best place to stay

    The resort has 4 hotels but I stayed in the Highland hotel. It needs updated and a good clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    10
    We had a great time, and would go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was dated, hallways, reception and outside in need of modernisation.

    Good size room with twin beds rather than sofa bed for children. Comfy beds. Excellent breakfast, facilities were great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    8.3
    The hotel looks old and some parts in a bad condition.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel looks old and some parts in a bad condition. It needs some investment or a good lick of paint at least. The bottom of our bath was rusting away.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    7.1
    Great facilities, hotel disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very run down looking and definitely not a 4 star hotel. The other MacDonald hotels in the complex seemed much superior.

    Activity centre was great for kids

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    6.7
    Great location, fantastic outdoor activities, responsive and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Felt the bedroom was to small to accommodate a family of four ☹️ Also, the slide in the swimming pool was closed leaving the kids disappointed.

    Staff and service was excellent. Outdoor activities and park were excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    7.9
    Overall is was excellent, we had a great time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The changing facilities in the swim area are terrible, too small, showers not great and not enough hooks!

    Kids facilities are excellent, supervised sessions are really great. Breakfast was very good Towels and bedding very good! Hairdryer in room was awful, have to hold down a button to work.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    6.3
    The hotel in itself was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel in itself was nice. The surrounding areas are beautiful. The member of staff who greeted us on arrival was quite dismissive. We were surprised to find a pair of socks on the floor in the room, presumably from a previous guest. Bedding was not changed at all during our stay. Our kids loved the resort however, and the entertainment staff were excellent. They would love to go back, however my husband and I have taken the kids to other popular destinations within the uk, similar in price but better value for money and standards are higher.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    10
    The stay with you was for us and our family the highlight of the month April
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast room, although having many people for breakfast at that time, didn t feel crowded at all. Everything was very well organised. The waiters did such a good job, they were helpful and kind. Our grandchildren could somehow move freely (because of the space) , and they discovered everything they liked (food wise) The coffee was good, and , indeed, the choice of food was excellent. Thank you.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: