Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Macdonald Leeming House 4 stars

Watermillock, Watermillock, CA11 0JJ, United Kingdom

#4 of 5 hotels in Watermillock

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 553 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Absolutely gorgeous hotel, couldn't fault it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    yes it may be a little dated and it doesn't have a spa which is a shame but that didn't bother us as we went to the sister hotel in Windermere and spent the afternoon at the pool there.

    The bedroom was classically beautiful, fab big comfy bed and the Elemis products in the bathroom were a lovely little treat. All of the staff were really friendly and breakfast was delicious but the absolute best thing about the hotel is the views!! OMG just beautiful and so peaceful, I could have stayed there forever. Will definitely be back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.3
    Cooked breakfast was of a very small portion considering the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooked breakfast was of a very small portion considering the price of the room was expensive. The room was far too hot at night, with the expense of the room we expected it to have good air conditioning and temperature control, not to be kept awake at night with the heat. Staff could’ve been more friendly and happy, smiling helps.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Fab relaxing and always a pleasure Leeming House.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Abbie Here the Partner of Jonathan - We would both LOVE it if they ever decided to get a pool - if you look at the laura ashley hotel in bowness, they have an outdoor pool and i really think this would be an excellent addition to the hotel, which would result in a younger cliental! Also this is REALLY picky, the morning music is like new songs played with a classical flare on the keyboard - just keep it classical, old is gold.

    Abbie Here the Partner of Jonathan - Leeming house is our go to place, this is the third time we have stayed, on this occasion I paid extra for a balcony room. If you're yet to visit Leeming House - You should. The food is Al a Carte like, so do not expect huge amounts of food, but the flavour is always amazing. The staff are good, especially the morning and evening staff. In every stay at every hotel you have things that could be different, as we see them through our very own eyes. I'm lucky enough to always stay in 4-5* hotels from Storrs hall in bowness to the Bulgari, Corinthia and Mandarin Oriental in London, and I must say, I will still ALWAYS love Leeming house. we visit the lakes 2/4 weeks in a month, and every single time we are there! It's nice to be recognised by not only one but two of the staff!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    Stunning location and Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor room service food, I was very disappointed with the quality and value for money. The breakfast was nearly £20 per person and was poorly presented. Very average would be a compliment. The smoked fish and eggs I ordered got served without any bread, the salt shaker was empty, my coffee got served with cold milk...

    Beautiful hotel with lots of scenic landscape to walk around, private access to the lake (which could be set up nicer, perhaps a decking) very clean and comfortable rooms with own terrace or balcony

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    5.8
    Lovely location and views, garden room: good access to garden and views, hotel & staff need tlc
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Evening meals too expensive, building minimally maintained, staff seemed too few, unhappy and un enthusiastic

    The position of the hotel is excellent, great views and not far from good resteraunts

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    6.3
    Helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waaay overpriced for the quality of the room. Hot and stuffy room. No fridge in room.

    Helpful staff. The concierge sorted a fan for our room. Good views across the lake.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    cooked Breakfast was cold on first morning, second morning decided to have cheese and ham but there was so many flies all over the cold buffet decided not to bother, Toast is just one round of bread each. very poor.

    room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Peaceful break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly staff, lovely building and fantastic location. The atmosphere was really relaxed, which is exactly what we needed. The walk down to the lake before breakfast and the views from the terrace were worth the price on their own.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Lovely place let down by the dining experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was very disappointing, unimaginative limited menu, "ambitiously" priced, not great. Dinner was shared with numerous flies spoiling the whole over expensive dining experience. Breakfast was "average" once again shared with numerous flies in the restaurant. The lunchtime menu is a joke in terms of price, avoid, go to one of the many local establishments for quality at realistic prices! And the same advice applies to dinner!

    Lovely property in a fabulous location. Quality fixtures and fittings throughout. Excellent room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Really beautiful location and grounds, the room was fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really beautiful location and grounds, the room was fabulous! Outstanding staff (especially Sam who went above and beyond helping us to check in early and retrieved a lost item) MANY THANKS!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    Anniversary weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Confusion over room booking in. Bar very restricted selection of beers. Limited evening meal selection.

    Friendly staff. Grounds. Room with balcony. View from room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Great Weather, fantastic views from the property, all of us enjoyed our stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    lack of food options for Vegetarians like us, who had to drive down to nearest place to find a restaurant.

    We got a complimentary upgrade to a lake facing room. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Away from the hustle and bustle of the crowed areas, this was a rather quite setting.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.5
    Good staff, lovely dining room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com stated there was air-conditioning in every room. There is not, and it was too warm at night.

    Good staff, lovely dining room. Wonderful grounds and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    6.3
    Will not be returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 11 overlooked a flat roof and a constant noise from air condition units outside. Breakfast 8 till 10. Arrived 9.20 . No used tables reset. Had to wait. No Eggs left . No butter came with toast no salt pepper on table. When requested was given empty salt with a hole in the bottom. Cold plates. For almost cold. Flies landing on food which was set out beside open door out to the patio.

    Lovely isolated location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.8
    Very overpriced and poor service in restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 16 is dark and sunken see bottom left. Service in restaurant v poor at b’fast on both mornings In need of painting see ceiling of patio V poor value for money

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Lovely position; helpful staff
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were incredibly helpful. We wanted to have breakfast with our dog and they laid a table on the terrace for us and provided access to the breakfast buffet

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.5
    Delightful location and friendly people but the bed was dreadful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was way to soft for a person suffering with a slipped disc. I slept in pillows and towels to try to make it firmer. My bedroom had little privacy as the rooms with balconies could see in.

    Receptionists were ace as was the Operations Manager. Location was stunning and trees in grounds beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.5
    Lovely location but wouldn't stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cooked Breakfast was disappointing, bacon was very fatty and under cooked. We ate in the fine dining restaurant in the evening, hadn't been able to find any information about menus/prices on the hotel's website - was presented with a confusing expensive limited choice of menu at the table, meal was disappointing and certainly not fine dining! Waiting on staff could be friendlier - seemed rather abrupt!

    Livia on Reception was very welcoming, nice room, fantastic location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.3
    A very nice and elegant hotel in great lakeside scenery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice food, well presented, but offered only as part of a rather pricey fixed menu.

    Very nice house and grounds with atmosphere and excellent lake location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful position, but would not use a Macdonald Hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Disappointed with availability of reasonably priced wine - there was none in stock. The cheapest white wine available was £64 per bottle. There were no vegetarian sausages for the vegetarian breakfast on either day and we weren't informed until after it had arrived. The staff struggled with any breakfast request not on the menu e.g. scrambled egg on its own.

    Hotel stands in beautiful grounds at the edge of Ullswater. Dogs are welcomed. Staff worked very hard.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows were very stiff. Softer pillows would have helped as the bed felt very firm. The little beach by the lake, could be made more inviting, with a wooden jetty or simple bench.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    There wasn't anything we didn't like, the room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe have a light bite menu running a bit longer than 6pm. We ate in the restaurant the first night and only just got back in time for the light bite menu, as we didn't realise it finished at 6pm. Beautiful food though

    There wasn't anything we didn't like, the room was lovely, large comfortable bed and a lovely view, the hotel was lovely, staff were brilliant, fantastic food - perfect

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    It was a perfect break for our journey from Scotland to the Midlands.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely lady in reception when we arrived. The room was large and just perfect. Tea on the terrace a delight and the restaurant service and food immaculate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.3
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were great beautiful house Only problem was the bar was closed at 10 30 we were offered a drink in the parlour but it just didnt feel right drinking in there But very leased with everything else

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dip in middle of bed.

    Beautiful hotel with stunning views. We got a room upgrade with a balcony overlooking the lake which was great. Breakfast and afternoon tea were superb! Service was also great, would have liked to have our bedding changed at some point though. Bathroom a little dated which didn't bother us. The bed did have a dip in the middle where two mattresses have been put together. This was a little annoying, but apart from that we would definitey return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.9
    I would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very warm and booking.com advertised it with air conditioning which it does not have! Also we were onan adjoining room to strangers who had telly very loud which was very annoying :(

    Staff were Very helpful when asked for anything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Whole experience was delightful great break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Eton mess dessert was not a mess it was a work of art a shame to eat it.

    Staff very friendly, spotless nothing was a problem. Left some jewellery in the room ,staff found it and was waiting for me when l returned.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful old fashioned stay by the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property located at the picturesque area by the Lake surrounded with sheep fields and forests and beautiful Hotels garden. Orly peaceful place to stay to recharge for a weekend or more. The rooms are comfortable, the staff is very kind with the pleasant attitude, fine dining - beautifully served with excellent taste of the chef. the only issue is to get there - private car is a must.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very quiet and peaceful location surrounded by stunning scenery. Hotel was lovely and staff were excellent and attentive. Would happily return here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    A perfect place to stay on probably the most beautiful of the lakes.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were all exceptionally friendly and went out of their way to ensure that we (and our labrador) had everything we needed. It was also great that our ground floor room had french windows with direct access onto the hotel's extensive lawns and gardens and down to the lake, so that when our dog wanted to go out at 4:00 am I didn't have to exit the hotel via reception.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.8
    Wonderfully relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant staff need a little more instruction and guidance. A maitre d on hand would help. Outside is mainly gravel which is difficult for wheelchairs.

    Room ideal for disabled mother. Low bath. Lovely big towels. Friendly and helpful reception. Wonderful lounge areas. Good food.Beautiful location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable Hotel with Beautiful Grounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooked breakfast could be bigger, toast was cold and burnt. Espresso machine broke down and staff were overworked.

    I loved the gardens, the old fashioned hotel decor, log fire in the drawing room and cosy bar. I loved the bath in my room and large bed and view from my bedroom doors.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    High standard hotel in an excellent location but poor restaurant service lets it down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service in the restaurant at breakfast and dinner in the Regency restaurant was repeatedly diabolical. The staff were pleasant and friendly but the service was so slow particularly at dinner. The standard of food at breakfast was good but at dinner it was not 2 AA rosette standard. The chef was accommodating as I am vegetarian but didn’t like the vegetarian option, the risotto served as an alternative was inedible.

    The staff were so helpful and friendly I contacted the hotel directly before arrival and they organised the rooms for my family so they were interconnecting and without stairs. Check in and check out was efficient and fast, the rooms were a good standard. The scenery is amazing. The hotel was lovely and warm.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast was really good and staff through out full stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms weren’t overly clean with dust in places. Floor boards constantly creaking, water wasn’t very warm and trickled from shower with no force. Rooms could do with slight revamp

    Breakfast was really good and staff through out full stay were more than helpful especially upon arrival

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Executive King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    This was tremendous value for money! Sat looking out over the mountains and lake whilst having breakfast was amazing! The room was gorgeous, really comfy bed and room. Shower was so powerful and just excellent. Overall stay was tremendous, already planning our return.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Wonderfull Experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautifull property, staff lovely especially livia who was on reception when arriving.couldn't do enough for us .

    Everything! Beautifull country house, views from balcony outstanding !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful views, peaceful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    While I didn't specifically ask, as I had brought my own food with me, I don't believe this property has options available for vegans for breakfast or dinner. This would have been a great addition to an already wonderful visit.

    I had an incredible one-night stay here last week. I was greeted with a welcome drink of sherry, which was such a lovely way to arrive. Livia, I believe her name is, was an absolute dream and made me feel so welcome. The room itself was beautiful, comfortable, and spacious with a balcony that overlooked the lake and mountains. The property/view was absolutely incredible. Ullswater seems to be overlooked compared to the other lakes, but mistakenly so. I spent a lot of time wandering around the property and taking in the views. It's very quiet here as well - a nice peaceful retreat to take in nature.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    Amazing customer service in an exceptional location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could not say a single bad word about this place . Seriously amazing from start to finish

    The staff were exceptional and the hotel was immaculate!! The views were something else! We’ve been to many hotels but I think this tops it in terms of an all round package ! Outstanding!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    a wonderful location and place to wind down...step out of the hustle and bustle!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    evening dinner menu was a little confusing...preference would have been to have set prices,depending on number of courses.

    peaceful and relaxing atmosphere. dinner and breakfast very good. staff very helpful. another wonderful stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.2
    Really lovely - A special occasion and we were treated very well
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no price at all on the food in the restaurant. As it was a special occasion we weren't too worried but it would have been nice to have had a guideline price.

    The food was beautiful, staff were very friendly and keen to please. We were upgraded to a room with a Lake view - This was lovely as it was a treat for my husband's 60th. Room was great and the bed was really comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    6.7
    Not stayed here for many years and the standard was dissapointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room over the library which had a log fire! Love the smell of wood burning but there was a problem with the chimney and we were evacuated to a draughty room while the fire department were called out! There was a fog like smoke filled room and I had to call reception to be told we should vacate the room! The internet was down one night for hours. We would have at least expected dinner to be on the house the night of the smoke incident!

    The breakfast was excellent. There wasn't enough staff on the first morning but seemed better the second day!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    Large bedroom with wonderful views and access to the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Please have no music in the dining area, easily the worst part was enduring the echoing computer-generated 'music'

    Large bedroom with wonderful views and access to the lake. Excellent croissant and fine food generally

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    7.9
    A lovely stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptions rooms had vases of dead flowers, agree with previous reviews re chimneys don’t ventilate properly so open wood fires made room smoky. The waitress at breakfast was comical and huffed and puffed when one of us asked for a latte. She said she was on her own for all the guests and didn’t have time. She nearly cried the following day when we asked for highchair for our 2 year old. The toast was the cheapest thin brown bread which seems twice toasted and left to go stone cold and rock hard. Completely inedible. When I asked for fresh toast the waitress said there must be something wrong with the toaster....Also agree to have a supplement charge for certain hot items on breakfast menu seems like a B&B not 4 star hotel. The bed large but very soft so not at all comfortable for me. It was 2 singles attached together. Room fairly clean but very very very dusty under the furniture. Bathroom needs a full update. The grout was mouldy and the shower leaked. Tea and coffee facilities could have been better. Few unappetizing tatty tea bags...generally needs some nicer touches like slippers in room, fresh flowers, some biscuits etc. A good 3 star, could do some work and make it 5 star....

    Beautiful building, lovely grounds down to the lake shore in a really beautiful location (despite the wet and windy weather). Easy to find, perfect quiet spot, yet short drive to lots fab walks and pubs etc. reception staff were friendly and helpful. The reception rooms were cosy with open fires. Spacious bedroom with very good view. We got a good value deal on booking.com

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay when visiting the heart of the Lakes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed that afternoon tea had to be booked 24 hours in advance, and that there was no simple cream tea option. This felt that you were trying to maximise profit over providing a flexible offering to customers.

    It is located overlooking Ulswater, which was an important factor for us, especially in that it allowed easy access to the lakeside. The welcome was warm, and the offer of a sherry or drink of water was a nice touch. Staff were attentive and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.9
    A friendly place in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two public areas have wood-burning fires. These look very attractive but unfortunately there is a pervading smell of wood smoke that clings to clothing.

    Location and views. The staff are friendly and try hard to ensure that you enjoy your stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.6
    Epitome of an English Country House hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Thought the price of dinner was OTT. Enjoyed it but very pricey

    Staff were excellent, bed very comfy, hotel warm in the depths of winter and food was top-notch

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely superb. Would like to return and will recommend to friends and relatives.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Smoke from the open fires. Both open fires smoked back into the rooms. Needs investigating as the fires were lovely but the fumes were unpleasant and unhealthy.

    Large and very comfortable beds. Stunning views with grounds extending down to the lake. Beautiful setting.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.0
    A lovely way to spend my 50th birthday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from room on carpark. Also no nut milks for breakfast as I am vegan so had to buy my own but breakfast buffet apart from that very good.

    Very friendly staff and lovely breakfasts

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing country stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner itself could have been better Lukewarm frozen chips are not appropriate for this type of restaurant

    Very friendly staff, amazing lake views, and comfortable rooms full of character. It feels like taking a journey back in time instead of just another hotel stay. Many thanks to Livia at the reception, Maria Ramona and the rest of the staff for a memorable stay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic location with views to match.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal looked a bit pricey for what was on offer. Back of bathroom door was a little grubby.

    Beautiful location, friendly staff and nicely appointed rooms. Did not stay for an evening meal but the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a wedding booked at venue which meant service was slow. More so at breakfast which we waited for from 8.50 until 10.20 which was unacceptable. We were unaware of wedding until we booked in. Staff were very apologetic but they were working hard and shouldn’t of been put in that position.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    6.7
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish I had had warning that there was a wedding booked. Screaming kids took over the lounge and the music was pelting through the ceiling of my room. I had to pack up and change rooms to get some sleep. I was seeking rest and relaxation but the hotel failed to balance the needs of the wedding party with those of the general guests. For £250 per night I was gutted.

    Lovely location, beautiful view out of my window. Comfy lounges with real fires.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.1
    Birthday celebration
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dining room was cold. Log fire was almost out by 10pm

    Right on lake Ullswater. Very pretty with the Christmas decorations up. Lovely and warm in our room. It was my partner's birthday and the hotel surprised him with homemade fudge and truffles after dinner.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.2
    A peaceful hotel, but drinks are very over priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of a drink was extortionate. Dinner portions were very small and were often served lukewarm. The dinner menu was the same for both nights of our stay and had limited choices.

    Comfortable bed, beautiful room, stunning views.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike, really enjoyed our stay

    Period property tastefully decorated in excellent position overlooking the lake. Excellent breakfast, good service.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    4.6
    The view from the room was stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Feature King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast staff were very slow. English breakfast on one day included one quarter of a tomato! They have no idea how to make toast - it was hot bread. The lounges had open fires that were not properly vented which meant they smelled strongly of smoke - not good for me being asthmatic. Only ventilation in room was balcony doors. But if you opened these the ceiling became covered with insect life! Two false fires alarms at 2am while we were there. The double bed was actually two singles strapped together. Each single had a mattress cover and then the double had another mattress cover on on top which made the bed extremely hot. Restaurant menu was pretentious. A proper shower with a removeable head so you can clean yourself properly would have been much better than the fixed shower head over the bath.

    The view from the room was stunning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful food, friendly staff and roaring fires. It doesn't come any better than this!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unusually, our last night was exceptionally noisy due to a group of young men disturbing the peace into the early hours of the morning.

    We have visited this hotel many times and we love its remoteness and coziness. The new manager has made some positive changes creating a much friendlier ambiance leading to a greater feeling of relaxation. Even in the coldest weather the grounds are stunning and wonderful to look at or wander through. The staff are all very attentive and nothing is too much trouble.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    wish we could have stayed longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there is nothing I didn't love about this hotel

    I loved everything about this hotel. we arrived after dark and all the xmas lights were twinkling. we had a lovely welcome from the gentleman on reception who managed to give us, what we would think, was one of the best rooms in the hotel. we had a balcony and a wonderful view over the lake and hills. we went down to the lounge where a waiter took out drinks order as we relaxed by the open fire. once drinks arrived we were given some lovely little tasters from the kitchen and left to peruse the menu and chat with other guests. I cant praise the food high enough, it was a taste sensation. the waiters all seemed very knowledgeable about what was on each plate. The hotel was very clean, warm and welcoming and we are already planning our next visit. thank you for a great stay

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    5.4
    We travelled with our son and fiance with the sole purpose...
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We travelled with our son and fiance with the sole purpose of finding a wedding venue for next year. Our room was okay, our son's was cold (they slept in clothes and pj's!) one radiator wasn't working at all, and the other one was cold and the top and warm at the bottom. The toilet and shower leaked. At breakfast, we ordered 3 full english and 1 mushroom omelette as I am vegetarian. Only 3 breakfast came out, the 4th was 10 minutes later. After taking a bite of mine, I had to spat it out as it had sausage and mushroom in it! Not impressed at all - staff didn't appear to be that bothered. Really disappointed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service was absolutely awful. Breakfast took 40 minutes to arrive. Dinner was pretentious, not worth the money and not even hot. Sent it back and was told that if food is hot you cannot taste it!!!!

    The room was fabulous

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    Absolutely wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely wonderful stay. All staff were very pleasant and very helpful. Lovely views and gardens, building lovely and well kept. breakfast was delicious and staff very quick to place and bring order. Look forward to returning, If you want quite and relaxing comfortable stay with delicious food would definitely recommend .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.5
    The room was lovely very up market
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Scottish chap on reception was too pushy - trying to book us in to the Restaurant for an evening meal on each night of our stay at £35 per head! I even found one meal had been added to my bill which he did take off. Maria and the rest of the staff in the Restaurant were very good but the service was so slow - over an hour on the first morning from first sitting down to getting our breakfast - we were the last people sitting there and still no food came. The second morning everyone seemed to come down to breakfast all at once the the staff couldn't cope at all.

    The room was lovely very up market

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.5
    We enjoyed our holiday but will not be returning to the Macdonald Leeming Hotel - more 3 than 4 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff did not communicate. Lack of consistency. Silver service standards were not met. Prices of bar meals extortionately high. Ditto drinks : cheapest bottle of wine was £27 !

    The bed was super comfy. The food was beautifully presented and, mostly, delicious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    6.7
    The hotel is convenient for Ullswater attractions but we have stayed in better hotels for less money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We checked into our room and found there were no towels. I phoned housekeeping but when we returned 3 hours later there were still no towels. The television set was badly positioned. One chair was immediately under the set and it was impossible to move the other one far enough back to make for comfortable viewing.

    The hotel is in a beautiful position with very well kept grounds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.8
    Perfect couples retreat for peace and tranquility
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of drinks was ridiculous.

    The room was lovely and a huge comfortable bed and pillows. The breakfast was brilliant. The scenery and peace was beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Excellent stay in stunning location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accessories in bedroom-hairdryer and fan were missing. The safe did not open. Drinks at the bar were limited in choice.

    Fantastic setting and scenery, peaceful surroundings

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant but slightly disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surprise bottle of champagne for my wife's birthday failed to materialise - very disappointing. The rest of the serving staff fell below the standard set by Sam. All seemed fairly amateurish.

    Good size room, great distant view of the lake. Stand out performance from Sam on the front desk - attentive in the extreme. The standard of the meals was very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    8.3
    Good value but nothing special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff were excellent whilst others need to be more engaging. The property is starting to look a bit tired.

    Scenery and the various views from the property. Bedroom was very comfortable. Breakfast was good value.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    5.0
    Dissapointing - was let down by attention to detail.
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cooked breakfast was cold and poor value for money. Staff slow and not especially helpful. There was black mould around the bath - totally unaceptable.

    Location and quality of bedding.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.5
    Excellent location, hotel a little tired and chef needs to wake up!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was a little soulless and looking a tad tired. Annoyingly the chef managed to run out of baked beans and black pudding two days in a row which rather spoiled our anticipated full English breakfast!

    Location was excellent, the main reason for choosing this hotel. Fortunately our room had superb views overlooking Ullswater lake which was a bonus. Lovely garden stretching right down to the waters edge.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.1
    An improvement on the last stay but only just (kitchen nightmare)Rooms looking jaded!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Abrupt table service manners but only by one.

    Overall our stay was satisfactory,but the waiter on that occasion was in need of some more basic training but thats down to experience. However I do not expect to be the recipient of a training excercise at such an hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet flush was a bit tricky but we asked in reception and they told us how to make it work

    Great location, beautiful garden with a view of the lake. The bed was super big and comfy. Good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    Nice lake views but expensive for what it is
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was noisy and it was the garden suite an upgrade for our anniversary by family That wasnt worth it Sadly Wine is over priced Food at dinner selection limited

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    6.3
    Food was good and well prepared but fell walking guests may...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Menu insufficiently varied for 4 night stay 24 hours to open safe left locked by previous guest -5 minute job No visible management presence or ownership of problem

    Food was good and well prepared but fell walking guests may prefer larger quantities Room spacious clean and quiet

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    5.8
    Okay but won't be returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked an executive room but our room was on the ground floor so we didn't have much of a view and the room was pretty dark and gloomy. There were only 4 couples in the hotel when we stayed so why not make the most of the views on offer! We also noticed several areas which needed a good clean - especially our bathroom door!

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: