Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Gloucestershire hotel reviews
  4. Cheltenham hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel

Reviews of Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel 4 stars

The Promenade, Cheltenham, GL50 1NN, United Kingdom

#9 of 26 hotels in Cheltenham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1022 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2019

    7.9
    A lovely weekend in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lift wasn't working and we were on the second floor which was quite a lot of steps to contend with every time you wanted to go to the room. I was also shocked to discover there was a £13/day parking charge - so another £26 for the weekend. Why? The carpark is right next to the hotel surely this could be included in the cost.

    Location of the hotel was great. Short walk into the town and bars and restaurants only minutes away. The Big Wheel was a nice attraction from our bedroom window.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2019

    9.2
    Excellent, apart from the car park price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a bit excessive at £13 and I wasn’t aware at time of booking there is a charge

    Accommodated an early Check in request as we were attending a wedding in the day.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2019

    9.6
    The location was ideal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we had faced the road and it was very noisy with revellers leaving a local bar

    The location was ideal. A very comfotable room. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2019

    10
    Staff were very helpful, warm and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Staff were very helpful, warm and accommodating. The hotel decor is nice, modern and relaxing and the front facing rooms are beautifully appointed. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2019

    8.3
    Mainly good, but with surprising shortcomings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist at end of stay said bill not ready, would deduct extras from my card. We expected to receive a final statement, buy none came. E-mailed the firm a week later, but no response to date! Staff not attentive at breakfast on our second morning, had to go and summon service eventually.

    Very good position in town. Very helpful receptionist. Very attractive room.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2019

    9.2
    Rooms, style, service, restaurant, all very nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menu for guest having booked half board haven't changed since months. Guests staying in the hotel multiple times are likely to get bored. But the dishes on the menu are all quite tasty.

    Rooms, style, service, restaurant, all very nice.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2019

    8.8
    Perfect for our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Temperature controls were not the easiest and the room was too warm and could not be cooled down except for opening the windows in winter. You don't want to do that all night long, as it is likely to get too cold.

    The bed was comfortable and the location is perfect for doing anything in the town. The staff was helpful. The room was very roomy and that is unusual for the area.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2019

    9.6
    Location was amazing staff friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from our room and the fact that we had to pay for parking in your carpark being guests I think this should be free

    Location was amazing staff friendly

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2019

    9.2
    If you're looking for a top notch hotel in Cheltenham you won't go far wrong But when 131 Opens...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that let the place down was the shower its a fantastic bathroom and the shower enclosure is awesome with push button control but the power of the water coming out of the shower was rubbish my other half has long hair and it took her an age to wash the shampoo and conditioner out the tap in the basin worked better.

    Fantastic Staff , Beautiful building, Excellent Location your not far from anything in the area. Breakfast is well worth the extra.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2019

    8.8
    lovely building, full of character.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    water pressure in shower was poor, at times (I guess when everyone was using the showers, but a hotel of this nature should be able to sustain water pressure during peak times). I was initially charged for 2 lots of parking, despite having 1 car (at no point was I asked if I had 2 cars, the booking was made for one so seemed illogical) - this is not a huge negative at all, but something they could clarify as I was in a bit of a rush to leave!

    lovely building, full of character. Lovely print on the walls, fantastic bar area and the associated restaurant is also fantastic. One of my favourite hotels about.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2019

    10
    Very close to Cheltenham Town Hall, where we were attending...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit away from the railway station but not really a problem as taxis were available

    Very close to Cheltenham Town Hall, where we were attending a concert.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2019

    9.6
    Superb hotel in a very picturesque location - will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar Manager was a bit over anxious to close up.

    Stayed before - the hotel is very well located - superb building from a different era- the stairs area is just mesmerising.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2019

    10
    Amazing hotel with fantastic facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Amazing hotel with fantastic facilities. Cleanliness of room was second to none and the hotel is in a great location for mooching around Cheltenham

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2019

    10
    A wonderful christmas in Cheltenham
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there is understandably, musty smells on occassion due to the age of the building. The cleaning staff were good at taking care of this however by airing the rooms out.

    the beds were extremely comfortable and the service was fantastic. The Bellhop in particular was an absolute delight to speak to and he was very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2019

    10
    Amazing hotel, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved every minute of our stay at the queens hotel. Staff went above and beyond to make our trip enjoyable. It was the little touches we appreciated such as balloons, a birthday card and chocolates as we were celebrating my husband's birthday. The food was amazing, we especially want to thank the lady who served us last night she was so friendly and even sent over a desert with a candle on it. The breakfast in bed was amazing being parents of three boys we very rarely get chance for breakfast in bed or to spend a weekend away so this was a treat and everybody made our stay memorable. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2019

    7.5
    Certainly did not meet our expectations and very disappointed indeed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor restaurant service and the use of breakfast plates to save money in the restaurant which was buffet only. No valet service and had to carry our own cases to room . This hotel is so unlike it’s sister hotel “the Francis in Bath” .

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2018

    9.6
    Good central location with fantastic staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was at the front of the hotel and was slightly noisy but that is not the hotels fault!

    The staff were so lovely and attentive nothing was too much trouble

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2018

    9.6
    The weather outside may be frightful, but the firseide and bedromms of the Queen's is delightful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A minor point, but given the hotel's character and charm perhaps worth mentioning. My bedroom, a generously proportioned room, with attractive fittings and a modern bathroom on suite - contained a bedroom chair that would not have been out of place in a cheap, hot-desking, office-A pimple on an otherwise, flawless complexion.

    A grand hotel in the Palladian style, at the very heart of Cheltenham's most attractive district the, Promenade, Guests are greeted as they walk through the imposing entrance to a lounge, situated to their left, brimming with cozy comfort, oversized armchairs and the joys of an open fire!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel but breakfast and parking very expensive. Offensive language accepted in bars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being charged £12 a night to park . A complete rip off especially as no one told us of the charge - just added it to the bill After attending a wedding party we returned to the Queens for coffee and liqueurs expecting a nice end to the evening . In the bar a group of (mostly) men we shouting and offensively swearing. The staff made no attempt to ask them to stop. We took our drinks to the bar in the lobby but there we were disturbed by a very loud disco party.

    Lovely room and very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel with great vstaff and beautiful decorations too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room far too hot and air conditioning did not help the situation

    Bed very comfortable and great vshower - room had a luxury feel but unfortunately the room was too hot.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2018

    7.9
    Clean, bright room, closely located to high street and other...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Creaking Floor boards; disturbs rooms below. Room & Corridor Carpets were slightly marked / stained and getting slightly musty. The carpets should now be removed and changed to wood flooring or wood like tile flooring or Amtico floor board tiles: which are hard wearing and look amazing. Installed in the Cape Grace Hotel (leading small hotels) in Cape Town. This will address the potentials stain, musty smell and foot fall.

    Clean, bright room, closely located to high street and other shopping facilities.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2018

    10
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were comfortable and spacious. The staff were superb. We had the Sunday lunch which was excellent. We were well looked after and would definitely come back if we are ever in Cheltenham again.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location, friendly staff, a real show stopper hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We phoned in advance to know our room number and was given the incorrect information which caused issues for us. Although it was confirmed this wasn't a disability room the only things highlighted was that it didn't have emergency chords but did have a walk in shower and space for a wheelchair, we were not warned of the crazy high bed - which is obviously an issue if you have mobility issues. I thought a hotel of this calibre would have got these things right.

    Location is unparalleled, the staff were friendly enough. Breakfast was lovely with a good choice of hot and cold options. Lots of lamps in the room, which sounds silly but meant the lighting could be adjusted which was a nice to have. White company bathroom products made it feel really luxurious and it was one of the comfiest beds I've come across

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2018

    8.3
    A great treat weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We opted for the cheaper room but it was cramp and no surface space - huge bedside lights which meant very little bedside space and no drawers. One small round table in the room so nowhere to put anything.

    Wonderful breakfast and evening meal in the restaurant pricey but superb with very attentive waiter. Superbly placed with easy walk into town.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2018

    9.2
    I will go there again when being in the area
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Surely saving water is good for the environment but the water pressure for the shower was a bit too much throttled.

    Large rooms, comfortable bed. The desk could have been bigger and a real chair would make the room perfect. The restaurant services tasty food for reasonable prices.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2018

    9.6
    Perfect, just what I needed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For such a lovely hotel, i was surprised that the in room coffee making facilities were nescafe instant sachets. But that's not a deal breaker ....!

    the room was lovely, the bed sumptuous and snug. Just perfect to de-stress and relax. A delicious breakfast set me up for a busy day

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2018

    8.3
    Historical Palcae
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    However, shower power was very weak, staff at the reception not focused due to lack of number of staff, and room service failed twice to reach on time. Housekeeping not very friendly.

    Very cosy, stylish, perfectly situated on higher ground to city center, next to posh area, with cool classic bar, lobby and service, the robes very perfect, room heating much better than any other UK rooms, decoration very luring. Internet good.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2018

    9.2
    The location, the decor, the staff and the general feel of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish there had been a bath in the room and more choice of pillows. Also I didn't like the fact parking was charged.

    The location, the decor, the staff and the general feel of the hotel. The staff went above and beyond to make our anniversary special, we had a card and chocolates in the room and the bed was laid with heart shaped confetti! Attention to detail made the stay so special!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2018

    9.2
    A nice break in a reasonable hotel. The evening meals were very nice. All the staff were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A better room temperature control..it was too warm despite turning control off. Double glazing is required for rooms overlooking the roads. Saturday night revelry continued until gone 4.00am ..and was perfectly audible in our room.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2018

    7.9
    enjoyable but noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside noise both from traffic and people disturbed us considerably. The interior decor although fitting to some extent to the period of the building looked a little drab due to the colour scheme. Room service and the breakfast service was very good and value for money. The room itself was clean and facilities in the room excellent and bed very comfortable .

    Location close to shopping and picturesque view.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2018

    9.6
    Excellent choice of hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable hotel. Feather duvet and pillows were swapped without any problems Car park is really worth using, even although charged for as a flat rate fee, as you can come and go as often as you like during your stay. Excellent choice at breakfast but if you want two rashers of bacon or two eggs you do need ask for it. Although we had to wait too long from sitting down for breakfast and getting our cooked breakfast my complaint was resolved courtesly and efficently by the manager.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2018

    10
    Fantastic Stay - Didn't want to leave!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Before we arrived, the Staff had decorated my daughter's room with a couple of ballons on the bed, a graduation banner, chocolates and a handwritten 'Congratulations' card from the Staff - surprise little touches that meant so much to my Daughter & us. The Staff are so warm, friendly and helpful (like you have known them for years!). It is like staying with family/friends for a really good weekend. We loved every minute of it - thank you for helping to make my Daughter's Graduation such a special time.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2018

    9.2
    Really nice, will stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Larger bedroom

    Very nice surroundings, nice public rooms, small but comfortable bedroom and friendly staff. Within a short walk of the town centre. The 180 year old wallpaper was particularly impressive.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2018

    10
    An excellent venue with very attentive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in room 119 - the room was very cold when we arrived. The air heating unit, which is located in the vestibule to the room took a long time to heat the room. The central heating was not on during the day, so it took a long time to reach a comfortable temperature.

    The staff were excellent - particularly the bar staff Ben and Adela - who looked after us extremely well. Please can you pass on our thanks to them!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2018

    10
    Luxury and comfort with a staff that care!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Booked for parents to celebrate their big birthdays! Excellent superior, spacious and very comfortable room! Staff especially kind and helpful. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2018

    9.2
    As returning guests, we had another perfect weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel atmosphere in a great location with really friendly and helpful staff. It was my husbands birthday and the glasses of champagne and chocolates in the room were a welcome and lovely touch, Thankyou.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2018

    9.2
    The location was great and room nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were very thin which was quite surprising as this is not a cheap hotel. Also, as with so many other hotels, why can’t they put a small jug of fresh milk in the fridge instead of the horrible little pods!

    The location was great and room nice.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2018

    9.0
    Relaxing,comfortable ... somewhere to visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To put the television on a different wall as where it is at the moment is extremely uncomfortable viewing ... a crick in the neck! Perhaps some way of keeping breakfast brought to the room warm so you don’t have lukewarm food or soggy toast.

    The courtesy and friendliness of the staff.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel in a beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked some draws to store our clothes. Although we had a wardrobe there were no shelves or draws in the whole room—strange!

    The property was spotlessly clean the room was perfect The breakfasts were amazing and the restaurant staff were cheery and helpful

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2018

    8.8
    Good Going at the Queen's.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Tea/coffee cups at breakfast are large and cool quickly. Maybe the idea is to half fill them. There was little draw space in the Bedroom.

    The service is first class and the speed of the serving of Breakfast is excellent. There is a very full and varied breakfast menu. Room service can be taken in any area of the Hotel which is helpful in the Lounge. Perfect situation for Horse Racing and Shopping.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2018

    10
    Anniversary stay at Queens Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Made to feel special the moment we arrived. We were upgraded to a suite where we found handmade chocolates and a personalised anniversary card signed by many of the staff & rose petals strewn in the amazing bed! Then a knock on the door and champagne & more chocolate! All of the above were totally unexpected & we were so amazed so thank you to Queens Hotel & the amazing staff - you made our anniversary.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    6.3
    Staff really friendly and décor of hotel is beautiful.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was directly opposite the stairs and not down a hall, so it was really noisy. Not preferable when staying for work and having to deliver training the next day. It's a shame as I have stayed at The Francis Hotel in Bath for work about 4 times now (same chain as this) and it has been amazing each time with a couple of upgrades thrown in!

    Staff really friendly and décor of hotel is beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.2
    Delighted with stay but one entirely avoidable drawback.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was set to work intermittently- maybe for 1 minute in every five. This was intensely annoying. The room was hot and stuffy as result. If you set the aircon to 20 degrees you do that because you want the room to be that temperature not 6 or 7 degrees hotter...

    Great location, extremely courteous and friendly staff - nothing was too much trouble. Good breakfast. Elegant lobby. Beautiful view over garden square.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    7.9
    Ideally placed for Cheltenham Literary Festival!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay for parking. Lack of drawer space - almost none! Shower only and not easy for anyone with mobility problems. Pillows too soft for us. Not sure if others available.

    Great location in town centre. Spacious bedroom. Elegant building. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    7.9
    Location and very nice staff in restaurant and bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost. £12.50 per day for parking when you had no choice. No bath, but complained and was offered a change of room for second night which we declined as had unpacked etc. Nice manager came to explain and apologise, but only gave us a voucher for a free drink which, when I went to use it, only included certain drinks. He really just over politely talked us out of giving us any kind of refund. Restaurant very good, but again, a little pricey. Maybe due to having to keep such a beautiful old building up to scratch, but two nights eventually came to £400 with just one dinner!

    Location and very nice staff in restaurant and bar

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.1
    The hotel with lots of history is nice, the staff v.good and in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are insufficient facilities for clothing storage either in the room or the wardrobe, the wardrobe given the lack of shelving had to few hangers. Really not good enough for a 4 star hotel. The car park cost (£12 a day) should be included in the hotel charge. Room 117 is above the privately run restaurant which is open until late, it has outside seating and is noisy until late. So if you are a light sleeper avoid this room.

    The bed was comfortable and room spacious

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.2
    Bed was both huge and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would have like to have had breakfast in the hotel, but no breakfast is worth £22 (unless you include a few glasses of something!)

    Bed was both huge and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and polite

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    10
    Historic and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything about this hotel.

    Excellent location in historic hotel. Very well maintained and beautifully appointed. Lovely bed linens and pillows. Friendly knowledgeable staff. Very comfortable. Physically beautiful place.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.6
    Great trip. The hotel was perfect for us with our 17 year old grandaughter. Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heating in the room. Information on the shower was not clear.

    The room was cold. It may be because of the change of season but we had to ask for a radiator. There needs to be a clear sign as to how to work the shower. I found it confusing and another older guest said she did not take a shower as she did not know how to work it. Excellent staff, food was fantastic especially the breakfast. The ambience of the place was Sofitel which I love.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Excellent stay, impeccably clean, well designed rooms.
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did not eat or drink in the hotel so cannot give a comment.

    The room was beautifully clean and well designed and perfect for our one night stay. There was nothing to fault it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    Location was excellent
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and very nice the only fault was very squeaky floors. I think all the room were the same as noise from room above could be heard clearly in our room below.

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.2
    Overall extremely good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am a tall person but the room was designed by a very tall person. Towel rail very high. Magnifying mirror very high. Kettle and cups very high. Safe very high. Could have done with some hooks in bathroom on the door.

    staff very helpful. Bedroom light and airy. Good facilities.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    In the main very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The checkout process is shambolic. The pre charge to my credit card took place and at check out there was no receipt explanation give you will receive via email. Next day invoice arrived to check and there was an additional charge for lunch of £35 that took place after I checked out. Called the hotel to discuss at 9.30this morning and I still have not heard back at 4.30this afternoon. It has spoiled the weekend somewhat.

    The hotel was excellent. The location was superb. The staff were very friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    Location, ambience, staff
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    House keeping could improved, with a room cleaning schedule that should be extended pass 4pm. Room should serviced at the guests convenience.

    Location, ambience, staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable, spacious rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Increasingly expensive... I guess because it’s increasingly popular and understandably so.

    Comfortable, spacious rooms. Beautiful building. Great location situated centrally and in a nice area. Great shops a restaurants a stones throw away.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    excellent overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    traffic a little noisy - appreciate this is an old building but secondary glazing would help particularly on the front

    location is perfect , staff very helpful, good breakfast, room great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    Lovely short break location, felt that we were well looked after in a luxurious setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was quite warm and night, when we put the air cooling on it was quite noisy. Also the shower tray was extremely slippy when wet, would have appreciated a non slip mat being provided.

    Very comfortable room, staff were very friendly, welcoming and efficient. Excellent breakfast with huge choice of delicious food. Good value for a relaxing Sunday evening stay, unaffordably expensive on other nights- particularly Saturdays. Excellent location and plenty of local parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.8
    Staff is friendly and good breakfast choices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room too small, no desk, only a small round table. noisy. not good value for money. Parking costs extra which is a shame.

    Staff is friendly and good breakfast choices. good location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.4
    Close proximity to the town
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hairs in the wardrobe! Coffee machine at breakfast not working! No biscuits in room! Dirty glasses left outside of room! Bar closed at 23.00 despite 20 -30 guests returning from a Congress requiring drinks were served in the lobby after protestations but seating was limited. Nit picking about £12 a night car parking spoilt the experience. This was our fifth but last visit to the queens.

    Close proximity to the town

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.6
    Rooms were clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we weren't offered the free buffet at breakfast until the last day. Television not in the right place to watch in bed.

    Rooms were clean. Great location. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Excellent, accommodating and just right for our weekend reminiscence jaunt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very friendly staff, made everything easy for my 94 year old Mum in a wheelchair...great parking facility....room great, food great, location excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location, very comfortable and good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was not very powerful and the breakfast although nice was not as good a standard as everything else. Service was a bit slow.

    The room was lovely, it was spacious, airy and light. The bed was large and comfortable. Toiletries were nice and everything was clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.9
    Attractive and historic building, well located.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slight lack of attention to detail. Room 129 felt a little unloved at the end of the corridor. Bathroom rather dark. Shower controls stiff. Cleaning staff knocked on door well before check out time on day of departure.

    Attractive and historic building, well located.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.2
    Mixed feelings about stay at Queen's Hotel, Cheltenham
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bath/shower was lethally slippy and no bath anti-slip mats provided Room was not serviced on Saturday in spite of leaving notice saying 'Please make up the room" We were out of the room for long enough for this to be done. We were going to a wedding and had to get freshened up and ready and this was more stressful than it should have been. When checking out - and paying - I complained and got the usual excuses. Not good for a hotel of this calibre in other respects.

    Room was large, comfortable and well equipped. Breakfast was excellent and staff very helpful- especially Ashley, the Restaurant Manager. Also had excellent dinner on Friday evening. Very well looked after by Ben.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Smart, relaxed stay in charming Cheltenham.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of a thing! We will be back!

    Superbly run hotel. Added bonus... they have a gin bar with over 100 gins! Situated between two small parks and close to the fashionable Montpelier area. Fabulous breakfast served in the orangerie, and close to some wonderful restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.5
    Queens Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast cold choices are limited but cooked is good. Rooms are adequate, showers are great for waking up and feeling refreshed.

    Great location, second visit here and the room wasn't as good this time round - had a car park view instead of the high street. For a short stay, location is key and near the shops, restaurants and our client meetings.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure in shower was poor. Foolishly, I left my phone charger. When I called to ask if they could post it to me, they said yes - they would send a credit card authorisation form for me to authorise payment for the cost of the postage. This felt churlish and rather shabby. However, they later agreed to post free of charge (when I told them my daughter was staying in one of their suites that night - I would ask her to pop down and give them a couple of quid!)

    Room was small but comfortable. Bathroom looked lovely. Quiet, in spite of overlooking main road.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.8
    Lovely, town, good front, poor otherwise. Not a luxury stay and not a luxury hotel. 3.5 stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 129 is terrible and NOT a luxury room. You look out on the bins, gas cylinders, car park and the staff smoking. There is a light outside the window and an extractor fan below the floor. You can't open the windows and are sealed in a little box. There was an ironing board propped against the wardrobe. If you go, ask for a room overlooking the park or front NOT the rear. There were cobwebs throughout the hotel and in the breakfast room, so attention to detail is poor.

    The cooked breakfast was good, however, pastries had to be ordered separately and were not available to the breakfast bar. The breakfast room has an exit to the carpark directly in it, so we were regularly blasted with cold air and rain.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.2
    An excellent launchpad for a visit to the Cheltenham Cricket Festival
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As I have mentioned before the bar does not match the rest of the property. It is a little drab. However the staff we came across were fine.

    The hotel is traditional in feel but modern in delivery. Our de luxe room was excellent. The breakfast is very good. The reception staff were very helpful in dealing with some emails/scanning that we required. A good experience

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    All of it rooms are outstanding clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love the queens hotel best place to stay in Cheltenham. Breakfast outstanding, staff were so helpful as we had to catch the train and rushed our breakfast order for us.

    All of it rooms are outstanding clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.1
    Location is excellent, the beds were very comfortable and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The water pressure in the shower was not good. There was no drawer space in the room. The sound quality on the TV was very poor. Very disappointed with the quality of the breakfast. The smoked haddock was dry and overcooked and the poached eggs were stringy.

    Location is excellent, the beds were very comfortable and the A/C worked well. Staff at check in were very helpful. Good parking facilities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic location in this beautiful town. A comfortable stay. Good staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lift not working. Small room

    Fantastic location. Our bedroom (111) overlooked Imperial Gardens but was rather small and had very little storage area. Consequently I had to keep my clothes in my suitcase which was then in the way. Breakfast was OK although a forgotten order one day and the buffet running out of items and not being replenished in time has reduced my score. Staff were very helpful. Bed was very comfortable. The lift wasn't working for the 3 days were stayed there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for size of room and fact there was no breakfast included. Not great view. Poor check in and no one to show us to room. Lift out of order

    Great location and building

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Wedding Honeymoon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only booking one night , wish we had have booked longer :)

    The hotel and staff went over and beyond to make our stay as memorable as possible. Fantastic stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.2
    Good location and hotel although room size was very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Main lift was not working throughout stay (3 nights) - not good news as I was on crutches. However, I managed to use the service lift. Bedroom (118) was very small compared to others that I saw.

    Comfy bed; clean; excellent breakfast; lovely old building; proximity to cricket ground and local restaurants

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: