Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Longs Hotel & Inn 3 stars

18 Bedford St., Woburn, MK17 9QB, United Kingdom

#2 of 3 hotels in Woburn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 604 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    Friendly and welcoming stay in a perfect location.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows! But I have this problem wherever I go!

    Very welcoming at check-in and later in the bar. As I was traveling with a dog I had breakfast in the bar so I didn't have to leave my dog in the car. The ladies in the morning couldn't have been friendlier and gave the pooch a lot of attention. Courtyard room very pleasant, quiet and private.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.1
    Convenient for Woburn . Pleasant bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room tired.Shower had black stains in corners. Breakfast poor. Buffet thin,cheap jams. Four pieces ofuninspiring fruit.

    In centre of town. Staff freindly, looked after our bags for the day.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.2
    It’s clean and quiet, the staff are polite and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s clean and quiet, the staff are polite and very helpful. My car broke down, they give us late booking out time and very good at making us comfortable while we waited to get it fixed. It’s an old property with the old stables converted into rooms to stay in. Bar at front of building is quant and cosy! Proper old fashioned style. Car park at back of property not big but could fit around 10-12 cars, or you can park on the road outside the front. Breakfast was both cooked or continental. Full English is lovely sausages, bacon, mushrooms, black pudding, egg, beans and Brown or white toast. Fruit juice tea or coffee with free top ups. Will definitely come back.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    Adequate and economical for a one night visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To get in the very narrow entrance to the car park you need to approach the hotel on the other side of the road and then turn in.

    Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    6.7
    The staff were lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t want to complain because we had a great stay but there were no sanitary bins and the mattress wasn’t great that I had but the one my dad had was fine.

    The staff were lovely! Mostly the gentleman who served us in the evening he was great!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    it was ok ,but wouldnt stay again, shame as the staff are amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needs updating, no plug in either bath or sink, very loud banging if used the saniflow toilet, although bed was clean ,the headboard creaked very loudly on the slightest of movement the bathroom bin was still full of the previous guests

    Very friendly staff .made us feel very welcome and breakfast quality was very good ,exceeded my expectaions Bed *&towels very clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.2
    What a joy to have a proper cooked English breakfast -...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really.

    What a joy to have a proper cooked English breakfast - cooked nicely and tasty. Good selection of juices, cereals and toast. Quaint inn with a good selection of ales. Evening meal was good for quality and quantity (and excellent value for money).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.1
    Value for money, just a shame the decor isn’t up to date, because this could be a real gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could do with updating, get rid of the black skirting boards, non matching furniture, give each room a new lick of paint or some glam wallpaper and generally freshen the rooms up. The hotel really needs to invest in new carpets throughout the hallways and up the stairs, not only for cosmetic reasons but where the carpets are worn out they are a trip hazard too. Our room was on the top floor and smelt like damp, overall the rooms are a good size they just need a little TLC to restore their charm.

    The hotel staff were very friendly, and checking in was really easy. The hotel iself is very pretty looking from the outside and is located in a great area with lots of local amendmenties and restaurants. The hotel’s restaurant, pub and downstairs communial areas had a very rustic feel adding to the charm of this hotel. The room was £60 per night which is good value for money, I would definaltey be willing to pay up to £100+ per night should the rooms be updated.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    Centre of village, near Abbey etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Premier Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Centre of village, near Abbey etc. Room off laneway not above main building was lovely. Great breakfast included. Room was comfortable decent beds and pillows and all spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.1
    We specifically requested a room in the main part of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A private party on the evening of our arrival meant no evening meal was available in the hotel. It would have been helpful to know in advance. No lift. Very steep stairs No help with suitcases.

    We specifically requested a room in the main part of the hotel as on a previous stay we'd been located in the annexe next to the car park and didn't like it. On arrival we were advised we'd been allocated a room in the annexe. When we explained our initial request, we were immediately given a room at the top of the hotel which was away from the private party so not noisy other than from traffic on the main road. Dietary requests were accommodated to some extent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    I booked the cheapest accommodation in the area expecting a very basic room. It was really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was mould on the tiling around the bath which could do with some specialist cleaning

    Request for early check in was met without hesitation. The room was much bigger than expected. The breakfast was great. Ample parking. Fantastic location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.8
    placeGood value and very pleasant stay in a lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we were more than satisfied with our one night stay here and would have stayed longer if we could. Very pleasant courtyard room, with lovely bathroom [and bath!] Very clean with good breakfast included. Comfy bed though pillows were hard as rock. Only negatives were that the little milk pots provided in the room were 2months out of date [we were provided with a jug of fresh milk when we complained] and the other down side was because the parking was behind the inn [17th century building] and Woburn is very busy traffic wise we had a heck of a job getting out onto the street in the morning! Other than that it was all good and very very reasonable. We would most certainly stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.4
    Adequate, not the best hotel experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared bathroom. Plain glass in bathroom window which looked out onto back yard, which had picnic tables, so useing bathroom put you in full view! Carpet in bedroom was old and tired. Breakfast which was extra was a small portion, albeit there was plenty of cereals, coffee and juices svailable. In fairness, hotel was built in 1650, and unfortunately is showing its age.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Car parking was good off road.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.1
    Location and relaxed atmosphere and gave us fresh milk for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit tired and our room was on the fire exit rout...I.e had there been a fire then the whole floor would have been trapesing through our room. Bright fire exit signs in the room and the curtains were not a good fit.

    Location and relaxed atmosphere and gave us fresh milk for room tea and coffee on request:) Take a drive through the Abby grounds and have a look at the deer, well worth the effort.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park was a bit tight

    Lovely character coach inn situated in the middle of a pretty village it was lovely the staff were very friendly and helpful I would stay there again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location for what I wanted - Bedford close and the childhood haunts easily accessible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedside light would have been nice.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and the bathroom was easily available -only shared between 3 rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.8
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal and breakfast of poor quality, choice and value for the money. Breakfast was particularly disappointing , we prefer a continental style breakfast and on offer only were a selection of cereals, fruit juice and a pitiful bowl of fruit consisting of apples and oranges that were fit for the bin. There was no chillers and the jug of milk for use was warm and slightly soured.

    Quaint. Village style hotel. Pleaseant comfortable room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Woburn is delightful and Long's Inn is in the heart of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Woburn is delightful and Long's Inn is in the heart of it. It is a lovely old building, unpretentious, and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.5
    Would like to stay longer at Longs...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked the overall good welcome from the duty host. The only glitch was that my allocated room wasn't ready on my arrival which was due to a clerical error from the previous evening shift, but happy to say that this was quickly dealt with by the appropriate staff who returned specially to put things right, so well done to them. Meanwhile I was treated to a welcoming drink on the house. Breakfast here is very good, prepared fresh to order. The room and bed were clean and comfortable and I slept really well. I would stay here again when next in the area. There was a good atmosphere in the pub which was the night that England were playing the "dirty" Colombians. Anyone who watched that match will know what I mean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.8
    Would stay here again, good base for nearby attractions/things to do in Woburn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was a bit harder than I'm used to.

    Staff helpful, friendly and down to earth, my brother's children are fussy eaters and live on toast which they were happy to serve in the restaurant in the evening, family room (2 adults and 2 children under 2) good value, my brothers children are 3 and 9 but they were happy to let them stay regardless of their age, rooms are the back of the pub nice and quiet but in the center of Woburn.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.5
    Location was great, price was fair, breakfast was brilliant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was in need of repair, shower flooded the bathroom and made the whole room damp. Heating didn’t work.

    Location was great, price was fair, breakfast was brilliant and staff were attentive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    Looking forward to staying again soon ☺
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every fine for us

    Friendly helpful staff, efficient and seen i had walking difficulties so they gave us a ground floor room very comfortable 😀, we sat in 🍺 beer garden most of the night , night nice and quite ☺

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Great little hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed in one of the apartments and the hotel itself is lovely and quaint. It was brilliantly situated for us, playing Woburn Golf Course, and was everything I needed for a short stay. The staff are incredibly friendly and the breakfast included was high quality. If I was in Woburn again I would definitely choose this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.9
    A pleasant overnight stop in the attractive village of Woburn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a ground floor room. We appreciated the availability of gluten free bread at breakfast. Despite having requested veggie/gluten free food for dinner, the gf pasta was not available. However, my husband had a delicious meal by putting together suitable items from the menu.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Clean, friendly accommodation - a bit of character and charm at good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only being able to have one device on the wifi at any one time is daft! Make it so more than one device can connect to the wifi. Shared hallway, bathroom and kitchen were very stuffy/chemically; very clean but not well ventilated. Bed was comfortable but a bit small. There is no desk/surface if you need to work.

    A good cooked breakfast, and variety of options; not spectacular but competent and tasty. Nicely laid out room, and the whole establishment is well thought-out with a bit of character, friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.9
    It was disappointing that the pub closed at 8pm with no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was disappointing that the pub closed at 8pm with no warning on the website. Partner and I chose accommodation as had been travelling on motorbike all day and did not want to leave once in for the evening. On arrival we were informed no food as pub closed at 8pm. As it was, there was a lovely restaurant and wine bar up the road that saved the day but think closing early should be mentioned on website.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Very comfy stay in a lovely village. Ideal for WoburnAbbey, Safari Park and surrounding area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly staff, lovely clean room and big, clean bathroom. Fresh towels every day. Breakfast good. Didn't feel like I was in a hotel, as it was just a friendly pub with rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    6.7
    Great location, good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    'Deluxe' room was very basic and looked a little tired. Free parking but no spaces available had to park 150 yards up the road

    It was in a good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Breakfast was delicious and the staff were super friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was delicious and the staff were super friendly! The apartment we stayed in was really nice and we slept very well and ideally located for the wedding we attended at Woburn sculpture gallery :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyed our time in Woburn and Longs Inn was a comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the finishing in the room was lacking - TV not central on the wall; flooring in bathroom poor standard of repair; some mould on bathroom tiles; and this was for a premier room.

    Our room was at the top, in the older part of the main building. We overlooked the road which was not a problem. We had a view to the hills and woods beyond Woburn. Full English breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Most Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very helpful and made themselves available.I did ring in advance to ask some questions and also to reschedule our stay which they made very easy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.5
    Good food , extremely helpful staff comfortable for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately it is only manned from 8am until closure, so when our shower didn''t work there was nowhere to get assistance. the gents toilet taps had been left on in the bar and there was no hot water until after we had to check out.

    Good food , extremely helpful staff comfortable for the price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.3
    Great location, reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A lack of comfort due to the age of the property ( which in itself is charming) making it very impractical for families with young children.

    This is very conveniently located within Woburn. It has historical charm, but as a result lacks comfort and not practical with a small child. That said it is very reasonably priced, and comes as described.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant and homely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was creaky and you couldn’t lean on the head board without it making a loud noise. The plug on the left hand side of the bed did not work.

    The mattress was comfortable and the room felt like Home. The staff were friendly and explained everything very well. We were lucky enough to stay a bit longer than the expected check out time also.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    Gresat location. We walked round Woburn on arrival and plenty of nice places to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    stairs, ok for us but wouldn't do if you were unsteady. Bathroom could have done with a little refurbishment.

    Simple room, up a steep staircase. Free parking, at rear of building, through narrow entrance. Nice breakfast. Centrally located for Woburn.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful. Bargain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a little bit more breakfast. Greeedy

    Lovely little pub and hotel. Why spend £189 to stay at the Woburn Hotel when you get exactly the same here? Plus? It’s quaint and pretty if you prefer that to the modernisation if an overpriced travel inn.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    A good place to stop for numerous local attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access to upper rooms would be an issue for people with mobility problems.

    Welcoming staff. Atmospheric old world appearance. Large comfortable room. en-suite with excellent shower. Hotel easy to find on Woburn high street and safe parking at the rear of the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable accommodation with helpful friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, a great place to stay

    From the moment of our arrival, the staff couldn't do enough for us, Helpful with directions, taxis etc, great stay would recommend as plenty of places to eat, drink and visit all within walking distance. If you are happy to travel for 20 minutes, you get to the heart of shopping in Milton Keynes

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    7.1
    Scruffy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some refurbishment has been done but a lot more required. The stair carpets are appalling. No curtain in my room and a window needs replacing.

    A very friendly welcome.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    I'm going to be staying for a Long Inn'ing here :-)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking can get a little tight when they're busy, however there is always room on the street

    Location for Leighton Buzzard, quiet and cost effective

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Incredible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are absolutly amazing! We was arriving from way out of town and had some car trouble therefor we arrived out of hours. We was meeted and greeted b a member of staff who lives on site he was very polite and professional. Breakfast was outstanding and the ladies serving it was so polite and helpful. Overall we loved our stay, don't let the thought that it is a shared bathroom put you off! It was sparkling clean and also have a shared kitchen, travelling with a little one this was great. Thank you very much and we will be back! Superb value for money!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.5
    Great location and comfortable room. Nice and warm with a big bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    shower took a long time to heat up and was more a mist than a torrent. fried breakfast was a lot smaller than we expected.

    lovely big room and big bed. very comfortable. walking distance to the deer park. friendly atmosphere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    6.7
    Good location, food not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food choice was far from fantastic and the staff while friendly didn’t seem to fancy doing much. When asked if the fire could be lit, the answer was ‘It could be, but I’d have to clean it and then start it. I’m pretty busy.’

    Was very handy for visiting Woburn and easy to get to and from. The staff seemed helpful and nice though empty drinks stayed on the table for hours.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay for work trip -
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower bit tired but water hot

    Home cooked food, clean rooms maintained during week I was there with a clean every day, friendly staff, car park, peaceful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    4.2
    No frills
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to rooms via stairs, particularly with age of property, really not good! Would suggest needs a total refurb rather than the necessary handrails! A shame, detracts from what could possibly be an attractive period property if totally revamped. Very basic, you get what you pay for - not an awful lot. Passable with the deal at the time but certainly wouldn’t book again.

    Friendly staff, clean enough room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.9
    Lovely place, lovely staff, really friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No extras at all in the room, towels, hairdryer etc. Tv not working Not sparkling clean, lots of dust etc And very very noisy headboard. Every time you move it bangs on the wall louidly.

    Lovely place, lovely staff, really friendly. Warm spacious room decorated well & large ensuit bathroom Breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.2
    The room was very comfortable and clean, I was by myself...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This does not really apply to me as I am only 5'6'' but the ceiling in my room was not very high particularly in the en suite bathroom. I can imagine if someone was 5'11 plus they may feel slightly cramped; this probably does not apply to all rooms, I was in room 7 on the top floor. Moreover, to get to my room you had to go up quite a lot of narrow stairs which may prove difficult for an elderly or larger person.

    The room was very comfortable and clean, I was by myself however, it could have easily accommodated two people; the breakfast was very tasty and arrived quickly. Due to the snow the Inn rang the day before to confirm I still wanted the booking which I thought was excellent and allowed me to check in a couple of hours early as I was going to a wedding at the Abby at 2pm.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    4.6
    It was warm enough and had clean sheets and towels.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelt awful it was tremendously fusty. The walls are in need of complete redecoration. All you need is a reed diffuser for a nice fragrance and a lick of paint and it would have been miles better perfect. In addition the ceiling lampshade is covered in dust also the skirting boards are filthy and the rug outside the dor is hackey.

    It was warm enough and had clean sheets and towels. Also the shared bathroom is ok.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    10
    Very welcoming in the reception & bar and very efficient...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    EE mobile signal was non existent but Wi-Fi for texts and internet

    Very welcoming in the reception & bar and very efficient booking in. The rooms are nice and comfy were very clean. The dining area was good and breakfast was great (cereals, juices and full English etc freshly cooked to order). The pub is typical old schiol snd very friendly sraff and locals, and real fires throughout. Courtyard parking free with the room. Free Wi-Fi. Can't fault it especially at the rates, excellent value for money. This is all in the centre of the village with lots of quality restaurants in walking distance for other eating options.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.8
    For £50 it was worth the money. Quirky old building with a good breakfast in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was very small and parts of the bedroom were a little tatty. Bed also could have been a bit longer for a 6ft2 person but then it wouldn't have fit in the room!

    Breakfast was excellent and we loved the old ambience of the property.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Good value for money, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some other tenants were very noisy at night outside but not really hotel fault, I guess Bar was already shut at 10pm when we got back to hotel after visiting family so we went down the road for a drink

    Clean rooms Good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Comfortable. Great breakfast friendly staff and fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi was a bit slow and kept cutting out but not to bothered.

    Very close to all woburn attractions very clean staff friendly breakfast was very nice as well would come back again possibly in the summer thanks you for a lovely stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    FABULOUS
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some sweeteners instead of sugar. loved everything else.

    Such very pleasant and helpful staff. James went out of his way to help me. Shame about the couple who did a runner without paying. Would it be possible to have sweeteners available rather than sugar?

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.1
    Second visit, disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast service was scrappy, attention to detail in the rooms was a little disappointing (e.g. string replacing the bathroom sink plug chain)

    Arrival welcome, location in Woburn, clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful old fashion inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cups were stained and dirty, the kettle still had water in it from last guests and the lid didn’t shut so it took longer to boil and spilled every where

    I liked the old fashioned room, the staff were very friendly and welcoming, the bed was beautiful and very comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    6.3
    What was meant to be a nice break turn into a nightmare
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt like they couldn’t be bothered. Unprofessional. They shut the pub when they fancied. Dinner wasn’t available. They “accidentally” put the fire alarm on in the morning coming to work.

    We liked that we had an apartment to ourselves.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    6.3
    Nice old pub, and most of the staff were very friendly and...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The selection of ales wasn't maintained unfortunately and for a pub like this, this was very disappointing. Rooms are fine but a bit creaky and cranky, but, it is 400 years old so not surprising really. The bars didn't really have any comfy seating.

    Nice old pub, and most of the staff were very friendly and accommodating. It has loads of character and a definite individual identity.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    8.0
    Okay for what we paid
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stair carpet was badly worn and had holes The light on the landing did not work so it was so dark it was difficult to open the bedroom door with the key No carpets in the dining room just bare boards

    This Hotel charges very little for what they provide and it was clean and it gave us a good stop over for our journey and the staff made us very welcome and in some respects the score I have given is a little unfair The Inn is very old so is somewhat basic, however it needs to be refurbished even though it might result an increase in charges.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.3
    Woburn is a lovely town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar closed at 20.00 pm. But there are other bars nearby.

    We had a nice large room. Hotel was very quiet but I suppose that is normal at this time of year.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    5.0
    Average at best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    not a very warm welcome by staff and general feel for the pub wasn’t warming. Seems very unprofessional and not bothered if people stay or not attitude. Went for breakfast the place was locked with people inside eating. No way of checking out so we left the key in the door as our accommodation was external to the pub. So we had to ring an out of hrs number to let them know. And I’d payed for breakfast so lost out. You live and learn we won’t be back but had a great NYE in the black horse up the road.

    The privacy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    3.3
    Never again, worst hotel experience in a long time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hasn't been redecorated since the 1960's, dangerously steep stairs, wifi didn't work, heating didn't work, room dirty, carpet is infect...

    nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.9
    Lovely staff and beautiful location. Just a shame the decor is so unkept in the apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the apartment. Very old and tired decor. Carpet looked very old, worn and stained. Very marked and scratched paintwork, mood on the bathroom tiles, wood missing from the upstairs landing bannister. Just needs a general returb.

    Service was great. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Place was clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    Cosy will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Not a fan of carton milk so was given a jug of fresh milk for room. Was no trouble

    Traditional country inn accommodation, very clean, excellent quality towels and a superb breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.5
    1 night stay for two.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the parking as I had to park in the bell car park. Not ideal to carry luggage.

    It was nicely decorated in the breakfast room. With a nice view of the garden.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    6.3
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have had a more cosier feel. Although everything was clean it somehow felt clinical. Archway from road to parking at back very narrow. Nowhere to turn round if parking area full!

    Good location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.1
    Just stunning for a day.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing and everything. Go see for yourself and you will understand.

    Very old completely outdated almost derelict English place, but lovely hosts, nice little bar, typical English breakfast and coffee. Would return any day for that price. It felt like traveling back to a long forgotten time and I loved it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    6.3
    Could be a nice hotel with some more investment
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I understood based on the price what to expect really so overall it was fine

    Large old room with comfortable bed and good shower. Would benefit from wider selection of toiletries. Breakfast okay but rest of menu uninspiring.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    8.3
    I arrived at the property quite late, they kindly hid the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I arrived at the property quite late, they kindly hid the keys for me as the reception was closed. The only thing was when I woke up and got ready and went for breakfast, they’d already stopped serving five minutes earlier, I tried to explain that there was no information in the room on times for breakfast or departure times, the young lady, unfortunately didn’t seem to bothered. Saying all that it was cheap and cheerful, and worth the money if I had breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Very nice, easy to locate accommodation - excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, everything about the Inn was great

    On arrival we were met by management in the bar, the booking in process was very simple. It was getting towards the end of the lunchtime but the staff took our order and the food was delicious and plentiful. The room was substantial, clean and tidy with facilities to make our one night stay very enjoyable. Full English breakfast was magnificent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    5.4
    Georgian charm - rather down-at-heel.
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Premier double room with bath & shower booked - room 5 was not "premier" - no bath and fire escape access was through this room for all guests! Strong draughts through fire escape door. Dangerous unmarked step to bathroom caused foot damage! Car park muddy and access difficult.

    Friendly staff, location handy for Woburn's facilities

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    5.8
    Convenient abut room not designed to spend any amount of time there. Room was freezing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is tiny. The bathroom just about has room for a person. The room was so cold - old wooden frames were letting in the cold.

    Price and location was good. Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.3
    Suited our needs for a reasonably priced B&B for one night while we visited Bletchley Park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Need a warning that you may not be able to get your vehicle actually into the car park so will have to park on street. Make sure that you know before charging customer whether or not they have prepaid for the room. Need some WD40 for the squeaky bed in room 7!

    Character property, nice and warm. Well positioned in centre of Woburn. Reasonably priced basic pub food, promptly served. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.0
    A reasonable stopping off point.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise, could do with curtains to soak up noise and give the rooms some character.

    Staff were willing and friendly, food was good. Bedroom clean shower could do with a good scrub. Overall a reasonable stay, not particularly cosy for an old coaching Inn, could do with decorating and some curtains.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.8
    Great one night stay in a clean room and convenient location
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only niggle was that the shower pressure was slightly on the light side.

    The staff were absolutely fantastic. Really helpful with my questions and requests. Convenient location for access to Woburn Abbey. The bedroom (single) bathroom/kitchen (shared) were kept really clean and tidy. Great rustic feel to the inn. Nice atmosphere all round. Would definitely stay again!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    5.8
    friendly staff good food poor facilities in the room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WIFI was poor and the lights to the room were broken so I had to use my torch. There were no facilities in the room so no tea, coffee etc

    Food was really good.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: