Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Maison Gorey Hotel 2 stars

Main Road. Gorey Village, Grouville, JE3 9EP, United Kingdom

#1 of 2 hotels in Grouville

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 253 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bit of a strange check-in as there was no manager around when we arrived but we were assisted by a very nice staff member. Be aware if you have mobility issues that the hotel doesn't have a lift.

    The hotel is clean and comfortable with friendly staff. Its in a good location only 5 minutes walk from a great beach and 10 minutes walk from Gorey pier.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a bar and perhaps a garden area. The breakfast although good could do with being hotter, maybe heat the plates up.

    Rooms very nice, comfy beds, nice bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet location, less than 5 minutes walk from beautiful beach and 15 minutes walk from some excellent eateries. Brilliant staff. definitely would go there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The end wall of room 119 supported the exhaust ducting from the kitchen below and the wall resonated badly as soon as the kitchen started preparing breakfast at 7:50am. The bathroom equipment was poorly maintained (many fittings were loose and the toilet flush failed) and needs some tlc. The remarks above about staying there again presumes a different room away from the extractor.

    Pleasant and friendly locally run private guest house close to the friends we were visiting and near the centre of one of the most attractive villages on the island

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking; there are only limited spaces across the front of the hotel and minimum parking in the street due to it being residential. Parking is tight this was only an issue because we had a hire car and didn’t want to get it scratched! There wasn’t a view except over the houses and hillside at the back but there are blinds and curtains so you’re not over looked and we were back after dark so we didn’t care. If it had a view it would have cost twice the price!

    The whole stay was lovely, clean and modern. There was a fridge and safe in the wardrobe and the bathroom was larger than ours at home, the shower was amazing! The hotel is a 2 min walk from the beach and 10mins from the bay. There’s a small food hall for extra supplies round the corner all on a quiet road. Breakfast was the best my husband has had (as a chef that’s high praise) and great continental choice too. Lovely welcoming friendly staff, the guy behind the desk (didn’t catch his name) even printed my return flight tickets off for me. Lots of leaflets and magazines in the lobby if you’re stuck for what to do as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing to dislike. A hairdryer would be a useful addition in the bathroom.

    Pleasant , comfortable and spotlessly clean room. Good breakfast. Very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi in our room was sketchy at best. Steep, narrow stairs in places and no lift.

    Very comfy rooms, good sized bathroom, staff will do anything for you. Breakfast delicious! Quiet location and blackout curtains for those who need quiet & dark to sleep.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff. No one on check in for the 3 weeks before our stay. We tried to call and email as did booking.com as we wanted to stay an extra day. No one returned our calls or emails. No one was ever on reception. Asked for an invoice but never got one. Asked for decaf coffee for breakfast..got tea... breakfast also has dogs in the eating area. Not impressed

    Location and clean rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited parking outside hotel but not a problem as public parking 2 mins walk. Self serve English breakfast could have been kept warmer but OK & shower in my room a little difficult to use as the on off was very stiff. Would definately stay again though.

    Walking distance to Gorey. Clean & sufficient facilities at reasonable price

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I cant find anything to fault the hotel about although parking was a bit restricted

    Manager was extremely welcoming and helpful. The room was well decorated and very tasteful. Nice atmosphere throughout. The waitress from Madeira was very friendly and accommodating at breakfast time and the food was very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I prefer a buffet breakfast so I can have a look and see what I fancy but thats just my personal preference. There were unused hot dishes on the side of the restaurant so presume these are used at busier times. It may be that we were a little out of season so it would be wasteful to over cater so cooking to order is more efficient at quiet times. It really wasnt a major issue, just my own preference

    The gentleman on reception is very helpful, he kindly printed off our boarding passes for the return journey. The room was lovely, great shower and a proper bath as well. The fridge in the room was a great bonus as we were staying for 5 nights it meant we could get a pint of real milk for our cups of tea. Location is great, a little walk out of town but what a beautiful walk along the sea front, looking back towards the castle all lit up against the night sky. Magical

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    distance from town

    breakfast delicious location picturesque.Guest house has been refurbished on arrival i requested a room with a bath.The chap at reception got me an upgraded double room with bath.Delighted this was my second visit to the gorey area at maison gorey guest house.I SHALL RETURN NEXT YEAR.......... THANKS

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the second floor and the room was incredibly hot at night time. A fan was provided, which helped, but I would try to avoid that room next time.

    The location is perfect... in a quiet street in Gorey village and a 10 minute walk away from Gorey harbour. Breakfast was lovely... in particular the Danish pastries!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Personal hygiene of the front of house reception staff. Unfortunately very smelly body odour that remained around the hotel. Needs addressing. First room we stayed in started shaking at 7 a.m. due to the kitchen extractor fan going off. was very noisy and disturbing. We asked to be moved to another room which was fine albeit smaller. Lights didn't work properly in either room we stayed in. Breakfast was very average and the quality of ingredients low. Based on the other good reviews we were disappointed as they didn't match the experience we had. I wouldn't go back to that hotel unless the rooms were all sorted, the personal hygiene dealt with and the breakfast improved upon.

    location was great for Gorey bay and Grouville castle and close to bus stop with very regular service. Bathrooms recently updated.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not get WIFI in rooms at all...Could not even call out by phone using my phone. Due to being so far out from centre and travelling on my own wit business it was totally impossible. This is an REALLY WHICH MUST BE DEALT WITH.

    Comfortable and great mini freezer in bedroom

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very noisy due to bed being opposite adjacent room bathroom.woken up late at night, kept awake for 1.5 hours

    Very nice lady serving breakfasthe, let me in early as I had an appointment

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit dated in terms of decor but this did not affect our stay at all or the quality of service , food etc

    Lovely service , lovely accommodation , great breakfast , facilities with easy access to surrounding locations

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was off the main road so it was a nice quiet area without being out the way that it was hard to find. Nicely decorated and had a nice homey feel to it. It was relaxing. The rooms were nicely designed and laid out, very spacious. The staff were excellent, polite and friendly, and very welcoming.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception was very helpful, anything I needed he was able to provide even in short notice. All in all staff were brilliant

    Very clean, very helpful and so friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi was the only downside at this hotel - we stayed in two different rooms during our stay and our first room had weak wifi and the other room had no wifi at all (or at least we never managed to successfully connect to it).

    We found this hotel after having to make a last minute booking and were very pleasantly surprised with the place. The location is great - close to the sea and to great restaurants by the harbour and the castle, but in a quiet, peaceful location. The room was very clean and comfortable and the staff were helpful. The breakfast had an excellent selection of fresh buffet food, including everything you'd expect in a full English. We actually extended our stay from 2 nights to 4 as we enjoyed it so much! The hotel is also very reasonable for Jersey and had a sitting room with some books and games and a TV room if you felt like a break from your own room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was large and very clean and comfortable, fairly warm in the room at night but did not affect our sleep. Really good selection of food at breakfast and staff over friendly and helpful. Location over convenient, short walk to Gorey pier,the beach and buses.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That there was no food actually at the hotel apart from breakfast, would be nice to have been able to get a snack if needed in the evening, that the Tv lounge was not comfortable felt more like a boardroom, maybe a small bar lounge area woukd of been nice to sit in the evenings.

    Very friendly and helpfull staff, good clean rooms and the breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The eastern town of Gorey is a good base to stay for driving to all the marvellous spots to see on the island. It's a 30 minute drive in a hire car (very much recommended) from the airport. The hotel is clean and comfortable albeit a bit tired. Owner staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfasts fantastic. 1200 metre walk to a safe sandy beach and 1 km to Gorey castle and township with great restaurants. Also a 100 metre walk to a good Chinese restaurant and coffee shop in Gorey village. Jesey is great place to visit..allow 5 days.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed several years ago and the hotel had a bar. This has now gone. Only found mini bar in wardrobe the night before we left to go home.

    Food good room good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything's about the hotel

    I love jersey but the hotel was exceptionally poor and the food was non existence and inedible . Cold bath water , dirty environment and I would never return there .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An hotel with no residents bar and no restaraunt and a limited reception so actually a b&b. Staff friendly and helpful and breakfast was ok if a little disorganised. Clean and comfy and a short walk to the harbour and buses. There was a safe & minibar in the room that wasn't overly priced like so many can be.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Excellent hotel, great location lovely 10 min stroll to the best little harbour on the island, nice village location, very friendly staff, immaculately clean, nice sized room & excellent breakfast. We would highly recommend this lovely hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of stairs no lift, not suitable for disabled. Family rooms would be tight, lots of stairs for toddlers and baby equipment but good price! Creaky floorboards. In hot weather, could do with fans in rooms.

    Value for money super freshly cooked breakfast, close proximity to beach. Tasteful decor in newly furnished rooms, tiles in bathroom new beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking a bit restricted in front of hotel and in nearby town of Gorey Other restaurants near Maison Gorey were pretty mediocre

    Bed very comfy Full English breakfast delicious Everywhere Very very clean Staff charming Ideally situated very near a lovely beach just minutes walk away

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit noisy until quite late (July) Foreign staff in restaurant friendly but need to speak better English.

    I appreciated the little touches in the room such as a mini-bar, a safe, a selection of toiletries on the bed as you arrive, quality milk with the tea and coffee, fast wi-fi etc. Very clean, well presented room and bathroom, no laborious paperwork or form filling at check-in, just given the room key and electronic main door entry card.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service in the restaurant for breakfast could be improved. The staff struggled to understand English & they got my order wrong twice which was disappointing seeing as we only had 2 breakfasts. However when it finally did arrive it was very nice.

    The rooms were very clean & nicely decorated. But the mattress wasn't very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The first breakfast we had they had ran out of Mushrooms & toast was the crusts of the bread they did apologize for the shortage. Apart from that slight hiccup, A friendly service and more than happy with our stay & we will stay again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not many parking spaces and a bit tight. Narrow road but only one way.

    A very short walk to grassy area with dog poo bin. Also large sandy beach very close.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A pity the shower was not on a wall holder instead of dangling around the taps.

    The welcome and ongoing service from the staff was first class. The hotel has recently been refurbished and our bedroom and bathroom in particular had a very modern, clean look. The breakfast was excellent. Tea and coffee facilities in the bedroom and room serviced beautifully each day. Five minutes from a bus stop and buses are definitely the best way to travel around this lovely island.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    didn't like the broken stool in my room that caused me to fall backwards off of it and injure my arm. didn't like the casual attitude of the staff towards this and being given a DIY first aid outfit to attend to it myself. room servicing left much to be desired.

    decor and furnishings

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning would have been the cherry on the cake.

    Fabulous refurbished property, comfy beds and lovely bathroom. We last stayed here 42 years ago so the changes were amazing and very welcome. Good breakfast in very pleasant dining room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It didn't make evening meals, the WiFi was extremely slow, and not much parking.

    The hotel (Oh, sorry, Guest House, as it doesn't do evening meals!). The hotel was clean and bright with a modern feel to the place. Everything worked as it should and the staff were always happy. There is a general store shop just up the road, and at least two superb places to eat within a five min walk, and several more with a fifteen min walk. They even opened up twenty mins early for breakfast for me.A very good price for what you get.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room door was difficult to lock

    Breakfast was good, in particular, the poached eggs were outstanding The room was spotless I liked the location Staff were very helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    Comfortable, large, well-equipped double room. Very friendly and obliging staff. Superb cooked breakfast with many options. Gorey harbour area about ten minutes walk from Hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No criticisms at all - I was only sorry that because the agility festival started so early in the mornings (7.45 am) that I was only able to enjoy the breakfasts on the day of my arrival and departure as breakfast does not start until 8 am. The Wifi did not extend to my room which is a minor gripe only.

    Cannot speak highly enough of this hotel. I booked 5 nights here in order to attend the Jersey European Agility Festival with my dog at the nearby Accommodation Centre. I had booked a single room but was given a spacious double (room 107) with modern décor, super comfy beds and a fantastic ensuite bathroom with a waterfall shower (no dodgy shower curtains here!) and flat screen tv. The staff were wonderful, particularly the chap on reception who very kindly carried my very heavy suitcase from my car up to my room for me on arrival. The hotel was quiet at night and is in a fantastic location - only minutes walk to a corner store, Chinese restaurant, pharmacy etc in Gorey village and, more importantly, a lovely common and, over the road, a great beach which is open to dog walkers all year round with only the requirement that dogs are kept on leads between 10 am and 6 pm. Great (and huge) cooked breakfasts served in the mornings.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing is there were no nets or blinds in the window so we kept the curtains closed which shut out the light.

    breakfast was really good and the staff very friendly, james and pam were great. I will definitely use this hotel again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of privacy to Windows no blinds or nets to go with the curtains.

    Friendly knowledgeable staff. Great choice at breakfast and good food. Comfortable bedroom and dining area.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was too firm for our liking

    The rooms were beautifully clean and well furnished for a 2* rating Super-friendly staff Lovely, quiet location within walking distance of Gorey harbour and village

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Single occupancy price rather high due to large commission charged by booking .com !

    Room recently re furbished to a high standard,excellent breakfast choice.Staff pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really maybe just fresh decaff coffee rather than instant , but that really didn't spoil anything.

    Really helpful and friendly staff. Great atmosphere and good value.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing needs changing at all.

    Immaculate. from the staff at check in right through to housekeeping and waiting staff they were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We had a most relaxing stay. Thank you. We will be back.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could make this hotel better, it's great value and a good location

    The service is amazing every time and the rooms are finished to such a high quality!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining room could have subtle background music.As a lone traveller I could hear other guests personal "discussions"even though plenty of space.

    Nice bedroom and lovely shower-room. Very quiet. Handy location restaurants,small shops,bus stop, coast and beach.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was only one minor thing. I was slightly disappointed that the en-suite didn't have a bath.

    The room was lovely and clean. The bed was extremely comfortable, and it felt nice that it was a double. Didn't expect the drinks fridge. Although I didn't have any of the drinks inside it, it was handy for storing easily-perishable food. The small safe was a nice touch, too. The en-suite was lovely too. The shower didn't take too long to heat up, and kept a constant pressure. It amused me that they were using the same toilet roll as we were at the time. The staff were extremely friendly and professional, and they served lovely breakfasts. The location was excellent, too. Plenty of eateries within a short distance, plus a castle. Most importantly for us, it wasn't far from a bus route with a frequent service to St. Helier.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room (101) backed onto gardens of adjacent houses and very noisy neighbours in garden during night. My wife had to dress and informed reception, who spoke to neighbours and when noise restarted, police were called. Sleep limited despite help from staff.

    Excellent selection for breakfast and very friendly staff. Reception very helpful. Room nicely decorated and good facilities. Close to Gorey and beach.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything! ( Perhaps having a chair in our room would be an asset-but this didn't affect our stay in any way )

    The staff were lovely- very friendly and helpful. They really made us welcome. Our room was comfortable, very clean and the bathroom facilities excellent. Great shower! The breakfasts were tasty with a great choice of food! The drinks in the mini-bar were inexpensive and good value! The hotel is situated slightly apart from Gorey harbour, but only a 10 minute, beautifully scenic walk away, alongside the sea. Very close to beach. It has a wonderful bus service (every 15mins to St.Helier and from there EVERYWHERE! ) We will definitely return to Maison Gorey-couldn't fault it!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The key thing that let it down was the quality of the breakfast. It was ok but didn't match up to the quality of the room. Eg it would have been nice to have had the choice of natural yoghurt, fresh fruit salad and porridge. One day I opted for poached egg - which literally was just that, one egg on one slice of toast. I'm a normal size but two eggs and toast / marmalade and preserves would have been better. Sorry!

    Nice atmosphere and convenient location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The free WiFi signal was very poor and weak, and kept cutting out constantly in our room.

    Value for money, very nice room. Breakfast was also great with a selection of cereals, yogurts and juices, as well as a full english breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The only issue I experienced was that Internet access was erratic and this caused me problems during my stay as I was relying on it to organise the everyday details of my trip.

    The hotel has a lovely location in a quiet, picturesque sea side village. It was a clean and pleasant environment to stay in. My room was kept in excellent condition and the breakfast service was good with friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi fi.

    Accommodation was very high standard bathroom was spotlessly clean bed and pillows were very comfortable. Overall very good value for money, having the beach across the road was also a huge advantage.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    not enough parking on site with the nearest car park a five minute walk away

    beautiful room and bathroom helpfulness of staff excellent breakfast with lots of choice really pleasant

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was lovely, very comfortable bed & probably the best shower I've ever had in a hotel. Friendly staff who made me feel very welcome during my stay. The hotel is a short walk from a beautiful stretch of beach & Gorey Castle. Bus network in to town was great & the nearest bus stop was a short walk from Maison Gorey. I'd definitely stay again!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Beautifully presented room with gorgeous bathroom and comfortable bed. The location was perfect, 5 min walk to beach and very close to Gorey town. Breakfast was also brilliant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed too hard for us but this is a personal thing But i would still go back

    The hotel staff were very good and friendly. Nice breakfast the hotel very clean, mini bar was very good and a good location for Gorey. Good restaurants in Gorey only 10 min walk away. Maison has its own parking it is excellent value we would go back

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value for money great location staff really friendly and welcoming,so much variety for breakfast,rooms very comfortable would use again and recommend to family and friends

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice to have a chair in the room, there was room for one, also an iron and small board would have been useful. Batteries in tv remote needed changing, had to manually change channels and volume. We did ask for new batteries after our first night but unfortunately it didn't get done.

    The room was clean, nicely decorated and tastefully dressed. The breakfast was fantastic, the choice was good and the full English was cooked beautifully ( bacon was lovely) The staff were so pleasant and helpful, very welcoming 😊 Will definitely use again and would recommend to others. Nice touch with the mini fridge / bar in the room which reasonably priced, well done.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had to ask for a chair in our room, there was ample wardrobe/drawer space but nothing to sit on apart from the bed-I sat on my suitcase the first morning to dry my hair! There was often no-one on reception, though everyone was helpful and friendly if we rang the bell to ask for anything. Parking was not easy as our car is quite long and we did struggle to park some days.

    lovely comfortable bed, spacious room and ensuite excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar as it was a guesthouse but one is being put in for next season.

    Great location. Super friendly and helpful staff. Lovely breakfasts. Spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No early morning cooked breakfast available therefore not really suitable for business travellers, but if you can catch breakfast it's excellent.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, very friendly helpful staff especially James the hotel manager nothing too much trouble. Breakfast superb. Definitely stay again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor could do with updating, and a designated spot for bikes would be great.

    Lovely staff, comfortable stay, good location near to Gorey attractions and bus route, reasonable price. Very pleased with our stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking apart from a few spaces outside which were always full.

    The breakfast was lovely. And the decor of the rooms was excellent. We loved the location too.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The young waitress cleaning the tables was quite curt and very unhelpful.

    Lovely location and good customer care from the receptionist. The room was comfortable, breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My husband would have liked a chair in the room! An odd moan - the water was very hot - but we were there in v hot weather.

    Staff were super friendly and helpful. Lovely breakfasts very good selection. Lovely rooms and bathrooms. very good situation in Gorey. We had Wi-Fi in our rooms.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel very well located in a peaceful part of Gorey just a few moments walk from the promenade. Room was spotless and nicely decorated with a beautiful en suite. Staff were very pleasant and very helpful on our arrival and throughout our stay They also posted home our baby daughter's toy which had been lost in the hotel room which was really thoughtful. Breakfasts were great, freshly cooked and with plenty of other choices. As there was no restaurant in the hotel, it was nice that we could bring our own food and eat using the small dining room facilities in the evening.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did in fact have a chair placed in my room, which made it a lot more comfortable. I believe the idea will be to have a chair put in most of the rooms.

    The very relaxed nature of the whole environment here. The staff did everything possible to look after us. Also provided a great deal of information regarding local area.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was terrible until the last day and as the phone in reception wasn't working it was our only means of communicating with our family.

    The room was amazing, the hospitality was amazing, in general everything was amazing!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need a chair in the room. Parking limited. Bathroom small but spotless.

    Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast very good. Good idea having a room where you can bring in a takeaway as the hotel does not do evening meals. Good takeaways nearby. Very pretty location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Hotel in great location in quiet street in Gorey Village a short walk from Gorey Harbour with it's castle, restaurant and pubs. Also short walk to beach and bus stops. Room was very clean and bright and newly refurbished. Breakfast was lovely and staff polite and helpful especially Amanda who was wonderful and a credit to Maison Gorey.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Went to make cup of tea in morning but no milk. Tray was refilled that morning so not too big an issue.

    Bed very comfy. Decor tasteful and easy on the eye!

    Stayed in June 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Maison Gorey Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: