Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mansfield Castle Hotel 4 stars

Scotsburn Road, Tain, IV19 1PR, United Kingdom

#7 of 11 hotels in Tain

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 537 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedside lights didn’t work, shower was very old and dilapidated and definitely needed replacing, extract fan in the bathroom didn’t work and the bathroom windows didn’t open.

    staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I was being picky... Heating goes off quite early overnight Loud bathroom extractor in room next door woke me up in early hours.

    Old style and quirky Friendly staff Good food

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Castle? Surrounded by a school and an estate and secluded only because of the original trees.

    Great high quality evening meal.Drinks expensive.Lovely quality breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were lovely. We had our dog with us and were very accommodating. The staff set us up in a separate dining area for dinner so we were able to take our dog with us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff seemed very cool, especially when serving breakfast. Used dished were not cleared until you were finished your meal.

    Th hotel was everything I had hoped it would be, a lovely old stately home close enough to walk to downtown.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were atrocious. The staff was accommodating but unfriendly. The property is run down and poorly maintained. For example, at some point in the past the door to our bathroom had been kicked open, causing substantial damage that was never repaired. The entire property has been deeply bathed in chemical scents to the point that my travelling companion (who has no allergies or sensitivities) was getting a headache from it. For me as an allergic/sensitive person it was terrible. We opened the window to air out the scent in the room, only to find out that the heat shuts off automatically at 10 pm (on a night when it was below freezing outside!). The front desk grudgingly turned the heat back on for an hour so we could warm up our room.

    The breakfast was filling and delicious and our breakfast servers were friendly and welcoming. Parking is free and plentiful. The location is excellent for exploring Orkney and Skye - situated almost exactly equidistant from the two. Everything else about this place...not so good. The charm of this hotel pretty much begins and ends with the fact that you're staying in a Scottish Castle. American fans of well-preserved Americana kitch motels/hotels will love the vintage/aging/decaying feel of a classic highland Scottish vacation hotel. With better management and proper maintenance/updates this place could really shine again. As for now it's best to avoid.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our trip was a 30th birthday trip, and I had called ahead to ask whether they could do something nice for him when we arrived. They said they could put a box of chocolates out, and indeed when we arrived there was a lovely box in the room (though nothing special) and two drams of scotch (unclear what the scotch was, though, and it wasn't very good). I could overlook the bad scotch, but they then billed us a whopping 35 GBP for this. It's not just the price that was ridiculously inflated that bothered me, but it was the fact that they didn't check with me that this was what they were planning on charging for a simple gesture. I was willing to overlook the general shabbiness of the place, the non-working bath, and the really, really bad breakfast. But then to add a charge that I wasn't expecting was the last drop. I don't plan on ever returning here, and I suggest to anyone who is considering this place to just do yourself a favour and go to the wonderful Dornoch Castle instead.

    It is a small castle, so it is an interesting property. It is a half hour walk to Glenmorangie (5 min max cab ride) so if that is the only distillery you're interested in visiting it is a good spot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gardens could be smartened, and lawns trimmed

    The staff, food and room was excellent, the decor is a little worn but hey it is an old castle. Venue in general was awesome, well worth a stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower door seemed broken

    Spacious, it was different.. a castle! Yes older and perhaps a little dated in parts, but it was lovely. We had an amazing time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit tired - just small things - but comfortable. The bathroom sink had a huge crack in it so didn't look good and the bath had a shower curtain (bit outdated these days).

    Food in the restaurant was excellent, the selection of drinks in the bar - fabulous and staff very helpful (especially Julia).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were taken aback by a £6.50 pint of beer in the bar. Maybe check which drink you're having at what price before ordering, if you don't like paying that much for one pint. Great selection of local whisky's though.

    Lovely family run feel to the hotel, staff very friendly. Traditional Scottish hotel, cosy. Great breakfast!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very shabby and in need of substantial refurbishment. Very poor breakfast. Carpet in bedroom stained and grout in shower mouldy. Poor choices for vegetarians.

    Hotel was warm and staff were pleasant. Bedroom and bathroom both spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bath plug didn't fit in bath, shower was poor, no strength to the jet - definitely not a power shower, more of a trickle

    Breakfast was excellent, staff could not have been more helpful or down to earth. Room was comfy and had all we needed for our stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Worth noting that the scrumptious breakfasts aren't included in the price. It's a super hotel and has a wonderful feel about the place.

    Everything. The location, the hotel looked impressive driving up to the reception, the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Rooms clean and beds really comfortable. Food excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was no dressing table in the room although for the size of room there would have been space for one

    the size of the executive room and bathroom were great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor wifi reach despite the advertisement that wifi is available in all areas. Rooms aren't insulated perfectly, people from other rooms can be heard. Twin beds put together (not a double bed as requested and advertised and booked) were not comfortable, soft sprung mattresses. Way too many potholes on the driveway. The room door handle nearly came apart.

    It is well kept building from outside. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I only reserved the room due to it having a jacuzzi bath, however it was not working. When I arrived late after 22:00 there was no hot water. When hot water eventually arrived the tub never worked. I complained early in morning. Lady said I should have complained that night . Only reason booked was for the jacuzzi in bedroom. Otherwise i would have booked down road for £50 less. Disappointing! My friends birthday present ruined. No vouchers or apologies.

    Location. Beautiful area and building

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower cubicle door difficult to negotiate. Old sash windows need re-furbished or draft proofed.

    Reception staff very helpful and welcoming. Very good breakfast and service. Good ambiance, cosy and welcoming. Excellent room sizes - bathroom the size of some hotel rooms. Quiet and comfortable. Good location. Plenty core parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff perhaps need a bit more training

    Dinner was very good, staff all seemed pleasant enough. Room clean, bed comfortable, breakfast good. Overall a good stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative would be the decor in pub and crab shack. This does not fit with the decor and vibe of rest of building . Only other quibble would be that our double room was 2 singles pushed together .

    Beautiful old building felt relaxed but luxurious. We took our dogs with us and they were made welcome very hospitable even able to have meals with dogs loved this.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was good but found the menu was restricting and thought it could have offered something more normal or simplier. Not everyone likes duck or venison. So ended up having the fish and chips which were good. Steaks were very overpriced.

    All good and friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They wanted to give us another smaller room the very last minute, it was very stressful. Finally we got the room we booked but the bed was very small and old, the furniture is very old and need renovation.

    However, our dinner at the hotel restaurant was good and their service was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Person who appears to be the owner dominates the bar. Staff are friendly ( which is good ) unfortunately they are not always efficient and professional. Training is required. The wine list could be better

    Spacious and comfortable castle with great character. Sympathcally modernised. Rooms attractively and individually decorated Relaxing place to stay. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two single beds together instead of a double. However, they were secured so no chance of falling through a gap in middle of the night.

    The way the place is furnished, retaining that oldy worldy feel without feeling dated. Beautiful wood and tartan decor in the main hall is especially welcoming.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we were very disappointed with the bar menu they don,t seem to cater for people who may have been out for the day and only need a snack on their return/ sandwich or perhaps a burger and chips to go with a drink Also items on the menu were not available and not a lot of choice and quite expensive we are ex restaurantuers and feel they are missing out on a niche market

    the room was large well furnished and very clean the staff were very friendly and helpful the hotel is in a lovely setting and full of old world charm

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fantastic thank you 👏👏😉

    Staff very helpful food amazing value for money and good size portion. Room very warm and free WiFi too . Thank you very much

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful location and very good rooms. Its a quaint little castle and the overall experience was very good. The staff is also very friendly and helpful. All in all, a wonderful experience, would highly recommend it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main part of the hotel smelled a bit fousty. Nice clean and comfortable

    I like the old furniture and atmosphere of the place. Thought the prices of the food and drink a bit expensive so went out to eat.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Old world but all amenities up to date. Enjoyed roast turkey dinner at very reasonable price. The atmosphere of a private country club. The staff were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Where do I start with what we didn't like? Our 'Execute Suite' room was directly above a 24hr bar, noise from loud drunk guests kept us awake until 6am. The room had little to no sound proofing. We took our small dogs, and one of them found a grape on the floor of the room in the bay window area (grapes are poisonous to dogs) which signalled the room obviously hadn't been cleaned properly. When the manager was addressed about the grape, he said 'there were no grapes on the premises so this is a mystery' and effectively denied all responsibility - it's funny that there are 'no grapes on the premises' when one of the dessert options on the menu was 'Scottish Cheese with Frozen Grapes'?! No concern was shown by him for our lack of sleep and the poor cleaning that could have resulted in our little dog being made very ill (thankfully, we got the grape from her before she ate it). For a room that cost £144 we were only given a £30 refund from our evening meal, no actual refund from the room cost at all, despite a completely sleepless night. We had booked a two night stay, and left after one night - it was that bad. I am truly disgusted by the attitude of the main manager, who I emailed after the stay and explained our problems too - he has turned a blind eye to all of our issues and even accused us of looking for 'monetary gain'. We are simply looking for a refund - considering you book a hotel to relax and sleep - which we certainly did not enjoy the basic luxury of. I would strongly advise anyone looking to book this hotel to go elsewhere, as the experience we had showed us that they do not value their guests happiness at all, and will simply refuse to acknowledge any problems you have.

    The only positive traits that this hotel had were the staff (excluding the main manager; who's attitude leaves a lot to be desired) who were very friendly, and the building itself; which is a beautiful old building. The few good points are eclipsed by the bad ones.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is too expensive for only a classic english breakfast.

    We enjoyed the room, was a superior with a big bathroom with hot tube, shower and 2 sinks.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That our stay was only for 3-days.

    The staff were extremely helpful and went that extra mile to make our stay what it was. The food was perfect during our 3-day visit. All in all our visit exceeded our expectations in all departments.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spa bath did not work in the standard room. No other issues or complaints whatsoever, other than the smoking guests smoking beside the doorway. It would be nice if they had somewhere else to go.

    A lovey hotel, warm and comfortable, with exceptionally friendly staff. Pet friendly, although pets only allowed in standard rooms. Handy location for Tain town centre, however far enough away to be quiet, located on the edge of the town.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was freezing, as it is timed heating. The bedroom design didn’t reflect the hotels style either, but the room was spacious enough and despite the temp, was comfortable.

    The quiet location and the Victorian decor was great! The staff were very approachable, friendly and informative. The lounge areas were fantastic to chill, chat, read etc.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hate noting something as I liked the place so much - so saying this constructively - would suggest a look at the mattresses - I have a dodgy lower back and the first one I tried was not good for it - but they were very good and let me try others and I got a bed that was much better.

    Perfect for a Highland Christmas. The main hall was beautifully decorated. Staff were most obliging in all ways. Good breakfast and restaurant food - all served hot and swiftly. Excellent Christmas lunch in the sister hotel. Quiet location. Everything restful. Warm room. Lovely bath. Plenty of storage. All sorts of nice gestures e.g when they knew I was vegetarian they got in veg sausages. They even had decaf teabags!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful old fashioned building with excellent modern cuisine, leaning towards the traditional. Even offers kippers for breakfast, taken and excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I just wish they’d embrace its own charm without all the crab shack references and fake nets - it’s not that kind of seaside town and the hotel is no where near the sea. Also too many fake flowers which distract from how lovely it actually is.

    Nice food lovely place - Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The layout of the bathroom the HOT towel rail was too near the toilet slightly dangerous ? Nothing else springs to mind

    This was our first stay at the Mansfield and we were very impressed the staff were very helpful and informative the room was spacious well maintained and comfortable nicely furnished to keep with the rest of the hotel All communal rooms were very comfortable and clean Set in lovely landscape this is definitely a place to revisit

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We only had breakfast in the restaurant. The Full Scottish was lovely, eggs cooked to perfection. My partner just had scrambles eggs, which were also very well made. The staff were very attentive, and helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The drive could do with a entrance sign as it's not identified. The black cast iron lamp standard at the bottom of the drive is broken & needs the top replaced (first impression, auh, is the hotel of the same standard) we arrived just after frost so the parking area was muddy & could do with 30 tonne of small aggregate to make the parking area look like the "official Parking Area" & not just a piece of converted garden acting as somewhere to dump you vehicle "in the noo"

    Great, actually shown to our room by a member of staff. Room was actually warm as the heating was on. Staff very friendly & chatty, breakfast was perfect with ample choices, hotel is full of character with building features every where. Definitely recommend this hotel & will return.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dark haired young lady at the front desk has a quick temper. When I told her we were in a hurry to check out (our ferry departure had been moved to an earlier time due to a weather event) it seemed that she had taken my comment as some sort of personal insult, and she became quite snippy. It did cast a shadow in on otherwise nice stay.

    We liked our room. The decor was dated, but the room was large, clean, comfortable, and very quiet. It was quite cold outside, but our room was nice and warm. We appreciated the nice host tray! It had an electric kettle, cups, plenty of coffee & tea, and cookies. The dinning room where breakfast was served was beautiful and we had a very nice breakfast there. The staff was polite. The building has a lot of character and beautiful woodwork. The grounds were pretty, with the trees showing off their fall colors. Location is convenient - walking distance into town.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room was comfortable and cosy. Shower was great fluffy towels and some toiletries available. The food was good but mostly good quality in grub.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    LOVED this hotel...the best one we booked for our entire 3 week holiday. Only wished we stayed longer than 2 nights. The food was excellent, the room beautiful, the staff great! The pictures of this hotel are accurate and the rating is spot on. Not like some other hotels we stayed at. We would gladly return, and probably will!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Everything was great!

    This was a really beautiful and nostalgic place to stay. We enjoyed the unique character of the property, and it's beautiful setting, and appreciated being so close to lots of great places to visit, too. We ate dinner in the bar at the hotel, which was a relaxing and quiet atmosphere with good food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t get the room on the first night that we originally booked, the second room was freezing and so was our hot tub in the morning, when we arrived we werent told that our room that we booked was available

    Staff were friendly great breakfast easy access parking

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No wifi that allowed you to get on the internet in rooms. However in the reception area it was excellent and fast. You could connect to the wifi in the rooms but no internet connection was available to you.

    This is an old building with loads of character. The decor was perhaps slightly dated but in excellent condition. The maintenance person must be congratulated. As I said it is an old building but everything worked and the heating, hot water and shower all worked brilliantly The food choice was excellent with a choice of 2 menus and a large selection. If you could not find something you liked on the menus you would never be happy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    Lovely location, food excellent, beautiful rooms and setting. Super staff. Drinks a bit expensive and spa bath did not work. We're not offered a discount for this. Only comment on your site is that I booked a double room which I thought was priced for two people, however when I arrived it was the rate for one person in a double room! So this is confusing and should not really happen.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to query bill as were overcharged! Hotel takes money from card at time of booking and also when checking out. They did refund the overpayment.

    Stayed one night for our anniversary treat. Rooms and food were very good. Staff friendly. Spa bath and large comfortable room,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff need customer service training, not sociable just did there job, going through the motions. Hot water coming out the taps very rusty colour with residuals of rust left in bath, was offered another room but realised water all comes from the same tanks. Worst breakfast ever had. Burnt and dried out resembling something that had been cooked the day before or just left under heat lamp to dry out for hours. Would not recommend. It is a shame as a lovely hotel.

    Castle lovely, rooms very comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The car park. Understanding that had been raining, under foot was muddy.

    Really enjoyed the breakfast although do not normally start the day with a breakfast. The experience was very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, it was all good

    A very old Scottish type of place. Clean and tidy and room a good size. Meals were great, bar well stocked. Close to some of the worlds best golf courses and whisky distilleries. We sat around and relaxed a bit here and it offered a very comfortable quiet environment. the host like to chat as well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    lovely comfortable accommodation,bed was huge,staff very informative and friendly,made us and the dog very welcome,evening meal and breakfast was excellent,would love to go back

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dreadful pillows - must be a Scottish thing, had the same problem throughout our holiday.

    Impressive sprawling hotel with lovely old furniture. Enter via a long circular drive and park in front of the castle. Friendly staff. Well appointed rooms. Internet a bit slow but probably was the area. Bar very nice. Restaurant (expensive but very good) with chandeliers - we were celebrating a significant birthday and staff were happy to oblige with candles on the dessert. Excellent breakfast. Altogether an amazing experience.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet consistency terrible. Had a flood in our room due to old windows not handling the rain. Suitcase and clothes soaked. Not a great deal of support from hotel to fix although offered to put them through tumble dryer at no charge

    Staff helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress needed replacing carpets needed replacing Bathroom a bit tired. Noisy music couldn't sleep. Very unhappy about hotel taking £310 deposit without asking or mentioning it!

    Liked the size and outlook from the room. Good ok staff very helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    our room was not easy to access - in an annex at the rear - not part of the main castle building which was disappointing - many stairs up and down -beds were poor - bad mattresses (should have been replaced long ago) - had to add pillow support under mattress in order to sleep -

    lovely setting close to town - clean - fairly updated - good parking - quiet - pleasant staff - bathroom was clean and the best part of the room!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The continental breakfast was good but it was a pity to take extra fee to have a Scottish breakfast seeing the price of the rooms. We can have the same meal for a better price in the city. Our room had a great jacuzzi, the hotel's decor is beautiful. Unfortunately we had a room near a new part annexed to the castle and passing through the corridor we saw and old fridge and some toilets left outside the castle (a bit disappointing!). The hotel is a bit expensive!

    The castle is really beautiful, bed was comfortable and the food is good. The bar staff was lovely, I've asked for an special meal and they were quite attentive to my demand.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the money the room cost it fell well below par with very old fashioned decor. We had the enjoyment of the kitchen flue running up outside our window so when window was open you got a creasy smell in the room. Not sure what the 'crabby shack' restaurant was all but but looked very tacky for a nice looking building, the two just didn't go together! Breakfast was poor, hard rubbery scrambled eggs on two bits of dry toast and one slice of bacon with poor tea! Nice building but could do with a bit of a shake up!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Most of the rooms isn't really in the castle, they are in an annex which is considerably less stylish. The whole property feels in need of an upgrade.

    It's a castle! Which might be what you want when you come to Scotland. It's also on a nice property, the breakfast was good, and the shower was mercifully powerful, not just a trickle like in so many other hotels.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would not stay there again - it was Fawlty Towers. Windows wouldn't open due to rope sashes broken. Spa (?) Bath surrounds were lose and no hand rail over spa (it would make it very difficult for a person with a disability to use bath), the 2 single beds (not a double) were of different heights, the breakfast was NOT GOOD (if you liked Tinned prunes or grapefruit, you might be OK), Staff in dining room were NOT well trained. In fact at night there were only a few having a meal - there were better meals at the local Hotels. To use the jug in the room you had to put same on floor - the cord for the jug was too short as the power point was on the floor It is overrated. There was a definite shortage of power points - in fact there was no power point in the bathroom.

    The Location. Frilly decorations

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room in the annex was clean but very tired , bed was old and hard windows were fixed shut so unable to ventilate the room and windows stared onto a wall 3 ft away didn't expect this .

    Nice greeting at reception and girl who took us the maze like walk to our room at the very rear of the building annex was excteemly helpful we ordered food to be delivered to room which was very good .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All was to our satisfaction, thank you!

    A most enjoyable and comfortable stay at Mansfield Castle. Thank you, Julia, for your kind assistance with information. Your advice for travel was superb and our day's outing was fabulous! Loved 'Little Scotty' who 'guarded' our room!!! (See pics posted) We would certainly recommend this facility.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room on the ground floor needed some climbing up and down to reach.

    So lovely hotel, love at first sight! Also, One of us had a birthday and at the last moment, the helpful staff managed a pastry with a candle.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was great. Breakfast was wonderful, both the buffet and the cook to order selections. Dinner was superb. The bar was a good place to relax both before and after dinner. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone and if I were to return to this area I would with out a doubt stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we had very noisy people in the adjoining rooms, but that could have happened anywhere. Our bed needed replacement, it sagged badly in the middle.

    The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The internet was down, but were told that it was construction related.

    The room was charming and the bathroom was huge. The staff was friendly. We had a nice time talking to them. We ate dinner in the restaurant and really enjoyed the meal.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic breakfast. Very scenic. Great staff. Allowed me to have breakfast earlier than normal hours since I needed to leave early for business reasons.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Staff were very friendly, food in the restaurant was good. Room well equipped and spacious. Loved the thought of staying in a castle and it still has very traditional appeal. It's an easy walk into town and only takes 5-minutes.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We don't find any fault with this hotel it was the type of hotel we both enjoy staying atAll the staff were friendly and helpful

    This was a lovely place to stay Staff were excellent the food was good and the hotel was clean and comfortable Our room was quiet and peaceful so we had a good night sleep Nice lounge to have a drink and relax and also a nice dining room for our evening meal

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking system was false and we ended up paying for a room that was not needed. Leaving us £234 plus breakfast out of pocket. Management misled us over breakfast costs.

    Lovely surrounds, beautiful building and great rooms

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked two rooms and they were far apart. One on ground floor and had to go outside or face a lot of stairs to go to breakfast or dinner. Not much fun in rain. Booked quite a while ago so would have thought we would have had rooms closer. Expensive.

    plenty tea etc provided. Bed comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great building, friendly staff, good food. This could be even better if the owner would invest and take it up a level. The cheap signs outside need to go and the Crab Shack as well. This does not need gimmicks, its a great building, location, with good staff, it should be aiming at 5 stars.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had an old world charm about it but overall it seemed out dated and 'tired' - perhaps a gentle refresh is needed? 'Free wifi' was an issue - could not maintain connectivity which was frustrating. At breakfast, the coffee was really weak and hardly tasted like coffee. When we asked for a stronger brew, we were provided with undrinkable tar. Ouch!

    We were excited to stay in a 'castle'! Sticky toffee pudding dessert was delicious!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was hard in the dark to tell where the front entrance was. We came in through the side patio and were slightly confused. But it wasn't a big deal.

    We arrived close to dark but our phone GPS brought us right to the property and it's long driveway. The staff welcomed us warmly and though they were close to closing the dining room they let our group of 8 eat and gave us excellent service. This meant so much to us as it was our last night all together and we wanted it to be special. The food itself was some of the best we had on our 14 day trip. We purchased two different types of room. The executive rooms were in the main part of the castle up a splendid staircase. The first was large and spacious with it's own sitting area. We lucked out and got the Tower Suite (not sure why but not complaining!) and the entire group was giddy with excitement as we explored the two bedrooms, sitting room, and top of the tower (you could see the ocean). The standard rooms were in a different part of the building and felt more like regular American hotel rooms although the furniture was pretty unique which gave it a little flare. They were clean and comfortable. This was not a luxury resort with top of the line refurbishments or brand new everything. The place has a bit of age and character which we really enjoyed. It was the perfect place to end our family vacation and well worth the bit of a drive from Inverness.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was great and went out of their way to make sure we had a great visit. The night porter even put out a continental breakfast an hour before breakfast was served and made us sandwiches/packed lunch to go because we needed to check out very early (well before made to order breakfast was served).

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: