Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort 5 stars

Mar Hall Drive, Earl of Mar Estate, Bishopton, PA7 5NW, United Kingdom

#2 of 3 hotels in Bishopton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 439 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dirty, soiled bedspread; the safe was inoperable and unattached to anything; changed rooms where safe didn’t work either; 2 story room was ridiculous- no closed closet (just a bare rod); no room for toiletries in bathroom; not a single drawer for clothes on same floor where bed & bath were; manager was supposed to contact us after our stay but never did

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Been here many times and it has always lived up to its reputation.. Excellent on very level… Looking forward to my next visit. Thanks again to all the wonderful staff for looking after myself and my family.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind

    We liked the situation of the hotel. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We had a pleasant dinner and breakfast was very good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had injured my knee before my visit and found the stairs at the entrance difficult to negotiate. Must be really difficult for disabled.

    Excellent service throughout our stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff go out of their way to make us feel welcome each time we visit. The breakfast is exceptional - and the setting is idyllic. This time we had fabulous weather, which is a bonus!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't sleep well. In my opinion bed was uncomfortable.

    Beauriful surroundings. Excellent customer service. Enjoyed food from lounge and in marquee (wedding). Liked the pool sauna and steam room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Wonderful staff service from the moment we arrived, comfort of the bedroom and bed, cleanliness and the food was delicious Thank you - we will come back!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    During the check-out We've noticed that they've double-charged us for the food and they've changed the bill after our objection. After we'd left the hotel, they charged us extra £100 for deep cleaning without our consent due to "heavy smoke smell" in the room. The problem is neither me or my wife is smokers and there weren't any kind of smell in the room while we were leaving the room. When we tried to object their decision, they threatened us to charge us for one night more since the room was not suitable to rent due to "heavy smoke smell" and forced us to accept £100 penalty for "smoking in the room". I don't recommend anyone to stay in this place.

    Authentic atmosphere

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being one of the minority who smoke I felt they had nowhere to stand out of the elements to have a cigarette, I found it embarrassing having to stand at their Grand Entrance, do all their guests need to stand there. Would have liked to have seen a jacuzzi in the spa, I felt this was missing.

    Bed was super comfy very nice room with a large bathroom. Very Clean. Staff were excellent and very helpful Mr Craig Pairman on reception was polite young man and a pleasure to deal with. Beautiful gardens and views across the Clyde. Plenty of places to walk your dog. Staff at Spa very nice and were not pushy. We enjoyed our afternoon in the spa using the pool, steam room and sauna towels were lovely and warm. There was a decent gym that we didn’t use. We had an excellent meal in the lounge as my young daughter didn’t appreciate the Ala Carte menu staff very efficient. Thanks for a lovely stay x

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t fault it

    Loved the pool, beautiful outlook, spacious well-appointed comfortable rooms in a peaceful setting and beautiful gardens. The staff were all really helpful and friendly and were very accommodating with the children

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WHAOUUUU!!! Amazing place, wonderful staff, exquisite food (diner,breakfast...),spacious beautiful room,relaxing spa/pool area...A real Scottish experience in the Castle of our dreams... Special thanks to Albert : the perfect balance between luxury and simplicity...Thank U for the Whisky testing,for your elegancy and professionalism...BRAVO! the only regret: our stay was too short,we would have loved to spend an entire week in this perfect location!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The original postcode took us to the hospital.

    Excellent service and even though it was -4 outside you didn't know as the room was so warm. Lauren on reception was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a terrible evening meal in the main restaurant, we are able to create better meals at home, it was dry and tasteless. Management were informed, discreetly and we were promised a gesture for our honesty. To date - nothing!? Poor communication, I would not recommend a stay here, over priced, paying for location not hospitality.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plastic mattress cover. No mini bar. TV too small for the room. No reserved spa sessions for residents.

    Ensuite very big. Good breakfast. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Amazing hotel and stunning room - staff were amazingly friendly and helpful and it was one of the most characterful places I have ever stayed - I’ll defintely stay there again. Food and drinks were good and reasonable value too

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few small things which could have been better. No butter with rolls in dining room, no toast brought to our table on 1st day but given on 2nd day. Cups and glasses not cleaned in our room the whole 2 days we were there. Just a few things I wouldn’t have expected for the money we paid and a 5 star hotel.

    Gorgeous building and rooms. Grounds were lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we stayed one night just walking out the door one of my friends wanted to stay a other night on classic rooms but junior suite was too expensive, thought better getting money for quite than not at all

    food was fab

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did wait 1 1/2 hours for room service but when it was highlighted this was dealt with professionally and efficiently

    The room was very comfortable and the breakfast had a huge variety with lots of fresh products.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn't like but food and drink expensive. You are paying a premium for the beautiful surroundings. Some members of staff were very friendly and helpful. Others seemed a little disinterested.

    Beautiful hotel in lovely setting. Welcome gift of chocolate dipped strawberries with happy birthday message. Lovely pool. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa facilities could have been better, there is no jacuzzi and I would have expected there to be one. Also only one sauna and one steam room in use which was fine because hotel not to busy at time of visit. Also relaxation room was bit cold.

    Staff were very attentive and well mannered. Food both at breakfast and dinner was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed wasn’t as comfy as I expected. Mattresses are a bit worn and mattress protector was plastic and cheap and annoying. Sheets also didn’t fit bed well and kept coming off the bed. Our room had great views in the tower (room 1) but wouldn’t suit those who have mobility issues.

    Breakfast, service, spa

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NO navigation system knows the right way to the property! Something has to be done with that!

    The view. The room was great. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds could have been better due to the creakyness of the bed it kept you up all night. Not sure if it was just our room that had that though

    The food at mar hall is beautiful, pricey but worth it, the rooms are big with all facilities you need. Lovely views, lovely staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was told there was a big reception area where we could sit with the dog but only two seats there and were four of us and always someone else on the seats. Dog wasn't allowed anywhere. Good if you are travelling and need to take the dog. Rubbish if having a family get away with the dog. Poor wee thing spent nearly all of her time in the room.

    Breakfast was very good. Also pool etc and gym was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Children being allowed to run around in the bar, dogs being let off their lead in the bar. In our room, there was No working television on Christmas Eve & Christmas Day morning & no heating on Christmas Day. Constant reminders at reception to get these issues resolved. Being charged for a drink I never had. Not disabled friendly. Disabled toilet on the ground floor. We were offered a 20% discount, but really, we should have been offered more.

    The food was excellent, although there was a limited choice. The room was a good size. The staff were great, in particular the consierge who had been only working at the hotel for 4 months, unfortunately I cannot remember his name.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The management in particular left a lot to be desired.The very loud booming voice of the lady during our Xmas breakfast was not what we expected from a 5 star hotel.

    We were made to feel welcome by some of the staff as we had our dog with us but the message regarding where we could go with our dog in the hotel was inconsistent. We had requested a room near an exit but we were placed in a room a fair walk from any exit albeit we were upgraded we still would have preferred to have our room as requested.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner menu was very Scottish and not very imaginative. The food was ok, but nothing special.

    The full experience had been fantastic, the decor and leisure center exceeded all expectations.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our deluxe room was huge and the four poster bed was so comfortable! Dinner in the Cristal restaurant was excellent - the waitresses were attentive and efficient and the food was exceptional. A bonus for us was that this hotel is genuinely dog-friendly too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was fantastic, one of the best cooked breakfasts I've ever had. The room was huge and comfortable and the bar was cosy and relaxing. Lovely relaxed stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    room was poor compared to last stay even though i paid £100 extra this time, swimming facilities are hard to use as its a late check in and early check out? not ideal.

    i proposed to my partner here as its a nice place we stayed previously

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff did everything to make our stay enjoyable. When we were unsure if there were nuts in the dessert they made me a fresh one and gave me an extra large slice!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The post code takes you to a gate that is locked not verry professional then when we got the correct way to the property our room was really really small nothing nice about it the throw over that was on the bed was covered in you know what so after getting that all changed not verry impressed got a bigger room and bathroom we got settled in and the door handle from the bathroom fell off including the handle for the bathtub that i fixed not wanting to complain again the window was majorly leaking condensation was all over leaving big puddles and dampness so that was all fine and then bed time came it was not a double bed it was two single mattresses put together i thought this was supposed to be upper class i also went too see the restaurant manager and asked about a birthday song for my girlfriend at dinner time re assured that it was all in place and would be fine went for dinner and absolutely no song what so ever we got 2 small glasses of champagne assuming for her birthday and it was appreciated but its not very professional saying that the songs arranged and not having it then double delivery charge for breakfast okay leaving and nearly had a car accident as someone coming up the wrong way but not very well signed or organised now im pretty sure i have a serious chest infection because of my stay i woke up struggling to breath weather thats dampness or dust i do not know

    The building is nice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel very cold everywhere. Disinterested staff. On arrival in evening the bedroom window had been left wide open and room was freezing. The curtains wouldn’t fully close and didn’t fit the window. At bed time we settled to go to sleep only to find we had an adjoining door to a function room. Went and immediately complained. Nothing done by hotel. Kids had to endure noise til around 12 midnight. Discussed again with same receptionist in the morning who had no interest what so ever. Nothing even deducted off bill...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plastic sheets made bed too hot Shower had mould, not clean Pool overspill was black with mould main entrance hall smelled like urine. Fine dining wasn't worth the money

    Pool and steam room was handy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed had plastic protector sheet making it hot. Tvs not working in gym.Corridor to hotel cold. Lockers in gym not working.

    Clean. Comfortable room. Good food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite draughty in the hall (lounge) There was no Jacuzzi at the leisure facilities

    The room & bathroom were spacious & the bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs and a long way to get to room did ask for room if possible in june ground floor but hotel busy due to wedding.e

    The breakfast was excellant and staff were very good and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was good too. The hot buffet containers were well filled and always hot although, strangely, the contents were not always so. Didn't stop our enjoyment though.

    A really comfortable stay at Mar Hall. Room was cosy although we did have to keep the windows a little open. Tv took a little while to load up and its position in the room made it awkward to watch from the bed. Bar food was great and staff very attentive. The restaurant food was good but not spectacular, again the staff were very good. Spa facilities were great, spent a full day rotating between steam, sauna, pool and reading, very chilled. The reception hall was a great place to sit and surroundings were lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    food and drink a little bit expensive

    The whole experiance was very good .The girl who played the piano and sang was fantastic adding a little magic to the experiance the staff were first class . I would recommend this place .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not know that our hotel room wasn’t in the actual hotel buliding but a hundred metres walk through the basement of the hotel to a new concrete, ugly looking building and next door to a smelly indoor swimming pool and spa. We chose this specific hotel because it was supposed to be dog friendly but were told at arrival that the dog was only allowed in the room, nowhere else (the room that was far away from everything).

    The main hotel building

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For a 5 star hotel standard of classic room was poor with basic toiletries, poor lighting especially for the dressing table, had to prop open windows with paperbacks, and although quickly repaired room safe did not work.

    Breakfast was very good with excellent choice on menu. Large well maintained gardens suited us as we travelled with our dog.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Distance to the room wasn't great, was in room 53 which was a 5-7 minute walk from reception which seemed rather far away from the rest of the wedding party I was with.

    Lovely venue. Amazing views

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having said the food was delicious the experience of the food was marred by 1. the unskilled waiter and waitress 2. The unbelievable rush employed when serving us at the 2030 dinner sitting. Unskilled waiter / waitress at dinner in the restaurant nod at breakfast; multiple times they tried to remove our plates before we had put our knife and fork together and before we had finished our mouthful, this really detracted from the delicious food. Speed: we ordered a drink for before our dinner but our starter arrived before the champagne. No more than 3 mins after our starter plates were whisked away from us was our main course delivered it was truly unbelievable and left both of us rather put off despite the delicious food and really ruined an otherwise lovely romantic weekend.

    The food was amazing, clearly Oct 2017 there is an amazing chef and he (we were told he is always busy) is very skilled. The spa was very well run, the pool is large and facilities in the spa were fine (showers not as good as in the room so we went back to our super shower & bath in our classic room) . Tha bar staff were wonderful and very professional.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to wait around til 4pm to check into a room when we arrived at 12. Being told a 'fabulous suite' with a baby grand was being prepared for us but then being given a small room overlooking the car park and a noisy wedding reception in the grounds. Gave us a bottle of fizz by way of apology. Being kept awake all night by noise and then being told no manager was available to complain to. Eventually took £72 off the £272 room charge after keeping us waiting for over an hour. Said they would send a voucher for a gratis night but never did.

    The location and the food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift to bedrooms 1 to 3 so do not try to take your own luggage although reception will warn you. Dumper trucks constantly moving up and down road outside our room woke us up from our long lie!! Satnav is useless for this hotel.

    Great rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything for the wedding which we attended at the venue was wonderful. Staff were excellent as was the service etc. Everything went very well. Could not fault the place. Would have been nice if we had able to us our room a little earlier. Wonderful venue.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too far from actual main hall. First night spoiled by large groups having parties. Wedding was on and it was more important than anything or anyone else . No parking near hotel , long walk carrying luggage

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very minor, but i would have liked another entrance as sometimes it felt a bit uncomfortable walking through wedding parties

    The staff were all very lovely and couldn't help enough. The breakfast was fantastic and everything was freshly cooked and to a high standard

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms had no place to unpack clothes, and generally the hotel is 'tired' and needs a revamp. There is a general musty smell around the place as well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is an expensive high class establishment, but a few little touches could improve it. Ashtrays out the side door were overflowing and not emptied during our stay. A couple of beer kegs had also been left there. Drink pricing in the bar is expensive, and odd - a bottle of Prosecco is only 50p more that a bottle of Pinot Grigio - the latter is £34 a go and there is nothing under around £26.

    Staff excellent, all helpful and friendly. Rooms a good size, but if in the spa extension are a long way from reception, bar and restaurant. The main building is beautiful, ancestral home of the Earls of Mar with great views out over the surrounding countryside.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast experience

    Dinner was faultless but the breakfast was cold. Because of this I had to order of the menu but even that came out cold. Did not expect this from a 5* establishment

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a mistake with our spa booking and it had to be moved to another day.

    Great breakfast, amazing view, helpful staff, beautiful mansion away from the city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nothing to complain- just perfect...

    This is a beautiful Castle Hotel in a perfect location to explore Glasgow and the Trossachs. Just splendid and simply perfect. Breakfast and food was excellent. The highlight of our trip hotelwise!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    General upkeep and maintaining of the hotel was very poor considering it is supposed to be 5 star, especially our room

    Food and beverage staff and food very good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A Jacuzzi in what is otherwise a high quality Spa, more areas for residents when weddings are taking place and more vegetarian options on the menu.

    Breakfast was excellent. Bed very comfy. Grounds beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are super comfy and the staff amazing we loved this hotel. Day Spa was great and we enjoyed a round of golf, this was the perfect relaxing end to our holiday.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Getting to Mar Hall was extremely difficult as the GPS took us to an entrance that was no longer used. Providing clear directions would have helped

    The hotel's ambiance, staff and services were stellar. A great place to end our first trip to Scotland. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The dining room was very dark .The carpet was needing atention

    The head concierge was very helpful as my friend has mobility problems .H e provided a wheelchair for the duration our stay and wheeled my friends to the car and back when we returned .Beautiful grounds

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful property, helpful staff, this place is heaven! Stayed here for a wedding and it was the best thing I did, we used the spa facilities as well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were excellent ! The staff, especially Lucy and Gordon were out of this world and got us a car/driver to get where we needed to go. The workout room/pool were great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very minor point, but the pillows could have been a little firmer.

    Extremely well appointed hotel. Big bed, comfortable mattress and spotless bedding. Outstanding food particularly the Scottish breakfast and attentive, helpful and well mannered staff. Great inside and outside spaces in which to relax.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Later breakfast hours.

    Very restful location and handy to get to. Beautiful interiors; food excellent; room quiet and comfortable; staff very attentive.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No sleep due to wedding party Spa relax room was like a walkway of people Room really hot and air con was a plug in one which was really noisy Broken shower door

    The staff were all amazing Food was amazing Not overpriced Felt at home Great views & surroundings for walks

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager in the fitness / swimming pool facility was a bit abrupt and angry. My wife and I were walking to the pool area Just to have a look at the facilities, it was my wifes birthday and we had a glass Of champagne whilst we walked. We were abruptly told by the manager To put them down and you can't take them in there..... we were not going to take them in we were just looking through the window. I thought that this was uncalled for and put a bit of a dampener on our stay.

    The environment was really pleasant and peaceful. The staff at reception, in the bar and restaurant were really good and it was nice to have entertainment at night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was very expensive and although it was a beautiful place a 5 star accommodation, a lot of things were very over priced especially the food and spa treatments.

    Staff were so friendly, beautiful room and extra bonus of an upgrade thanks to the manager in the spa for my friend and i celebrating our 21st birthday!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no faults from us at all.

    The staff were amazing so friendly and polite. Food was amazing this is now definitely one of my new favourite hotels.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was average, had much better meals for the same price, menu was difficult to choose from as it didnt have much choice. The bar itself was lifeless, walked in and it had bbc news on with people reading newspapers.

    Hotel room comfy bed was great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A, short, recital by a pipe major at around 7.00 pm would have been a nice call to dinner.

    Everything was perfect, The room, location comfort, food - the concierge had even arranged for the weather to be perfect.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Honestly, other than volunteering to pick us up and bring us to the hotel, I cant see how they could have done anything more.

    You can not fault this property or its staff even if you really really tried hard. The staff are amazingly helpful and smily. The property is beautiful and constantly immaculate. The room we were given was huge. The bathroom alone was bigger than my bedroom at home. The food is simple and absolutely amazing. I should also point out how wonderful and tentative the restaurant and bar staff are. Whoever did their training should be given an award!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    furniture was too old carpet in the hotel and room should change

    staff was extremly polite and freindly food and drink was amazing they upgrade our room to suite with out charge (thanks to them )

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one changing cubicle and only one shower in the ladies changing rooms. It was very busy when we were there so we had to wait to get changed.

    The massage was excellent. The food was terrific. Staff were lovely.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only minor grumbles on an overall excellent experience. We found the twin room rather awkward and the tv couldn't be viewed comfortably or fully from one of the beds. A costume drier would have been handy - flying home with wet gear isn't a happy experience.

    Charming staff, from the moment we arrived to the moment we left each one we encountered was delightful. Excellent pool if you like to swim properly. Same depth end to end.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We never got to use any facilities due to waiting nearly 3 hours in the lobby for our room to be ready.

    Absolutely stunning.. room was really nice and comfortable. Stayed the night after our wedding. Only wish we could have gotten in to our room earlier to make the most of our night away.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/ Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Room ( 36) should have been made into a Storage Room because it was to small. The Bathroom was an Ice Box.

    Dining Area and Food very good. Staff 10/10.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fine dining restaurant made a silly mistake and put our mains on the wrong plate. They apologised for this, however i would have expected an offer of goodwill for serving my partner and essentially the wrong dishes. They didnt do this and it annoyed us on our last night there.

    The room was huge. The Spa was excellent. The service was top notch.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: