Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Maranatha House 2 stars

254 Ravenhill Road, Belfast, BT6 8GJ, United Kingdom

#7 of 29 B&Bs and Inns in Belfast

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 641 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was over the bath, my wife could not climb in. Parking was tricky and limited, so we could not go out for an evening meal. Restaurants for us were not within walking distance.

    Staff member Marian gave great assistance and was extremely helpful. The room was bright, clean, and comfortable. The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Our second stay at Maranatha, Marian was again very welcoming. Had room 6 first floor rear, which is very big with king size bed. Superb shower. Spotlessly clean. Very good breakfast in spacious dining room. Reasonable sized car park in front of the house. Maranatha is about 30 mins walk from the centre of Belfast (pouring with rain last night so £5 taxi back !). Our recommendations are the Crown (owned by the National Trust, dining room upstairs) and Robinson's next door, both on Great Victoria St opposite the Europa Hotel. Superb live music in Fibber Magees at the back of Robinson's

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was teeny. The hot water in the shower was erratic. It has a very efficient formal feel.

    This is a lovely stately home with 6 rooms. Very professionally run, spotless, extremely kind Marion. It’s location was across from a park and walking to restaurants, queens college etc about a mile away.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast good, but took quite some time.

    Marian is a lovely lady, very helpful and does her best to keep the house tidy. The parking spaces in front was super. The room was big with good windows which kept the street noice out and a comfy bed. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We use wash cloths every day to wash up. Had to request but Marion had some & gladly gave us some.

    The staff was so kind & personal & helpful in location of sites - very clean place to stay. Bed was comfortable as well. Would return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The parking was very tight and on a busy road; the smaller desk with mirror could use a stronger light.

    I loved the large window in the room, the super shower, large size of the room, comfortable bed, storage area, large desk, in addition to the smaller one with the mirror, the tea making equipment and snacks, the large breakfast, and especially the hostess Marian, who especially helped us out in an emergency.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very helpful and made us feel at home. Breakfast was excellent. Free car parking was very handy. Not far from the city centre. Ormeau Park was great for a wee dander in the sunshine after breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room that accommodated three of us is located at the front of the building facing traffic, so there was street noise. Otherwise all is good.

    The room was clean and neat, the staff very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious. Miriam, the manager was very helpful and accommodating. It is located half hour from city center and the Odysee Center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very pleased with our stay. Great hospitality and friendly. Good breakfast. Provided information on local tourist attractions. We recommend thi# property.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room that accommodated three of us is located on the street side of the property so was a bit noisy. Of course, the weather was unseasonably warm and we had to keep the windows open

    The room was clean and tidy. The staff was very friendly and polite. The location worked for us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner went out her way to accommodate our motorcycle parking Also clean tidy accommodation Breakfast very good we are booked in end of July again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a 25 to 30 minute walk to town, but this was not a big deal

    Marian was the best host. She let us check in early and made us special food. She moved her car to give us a spot to park. The accommodations were great, but Marian made our stay memorable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    n/a

    Staff went above and beyond to help us. Great facilities, lovely room and tasty breakfast. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Safe on-site car park was important to us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, our stay was perfect in every way.

    Absolutely perfect. Loved the Guest House. Marion was an excellent host and went out of her way to make our stay extra comfortable. My husband ran in the Belfast marathon and Marion let us keep our room until the marathon finished so Joe could have a shower. Marion also let us park in the car park at no extra cost. Wonderful staff and we thank you all from the bottom of our hearts.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I'm being really fussy, the shower was a bit temperamental, but maybe that's just me!

    Clean tidy and in a great place with parking. Breakfast was all fresh and Yummy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little gem of a hotel with a very welcoming Manager in Marian who went out of her way to make me feel at home. Enjoyed my stay very much and will stay there again on my next visit to Belfast (the city I grew up in). It is very close to the City Centre and Ormeau Park is just across the road. The room I had was very spacious with high ceilings and a great bathroom. Also does an excellent Ulster Fry breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could hear the room next door as the walls are quite thin but that I to be expected from the building, other than this, I cannot fault it!

    Great location, lovely decor, huge bed, high spec bathroom, fantastic cooked breakfast! Friendly and helpful staff, we will definitely be back!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    SLAMING DOORS don't stay here if you need a lay in from 6.45 onwards guest doors slaming closed as they need to for fire protection. But slow close brackets would make for a happier stay. It was VERY frustrating ! And sadly would prohibit me from staying again.

    Extremely clean and pleasant staff who were happy to help.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Breakfast was good with a lot of choice. Single room very comfortable. Would stay here again as the staff were very friendly. Central Station (15 min walk) and bus 6 (8 min from hotel).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out was abit early! We had to waste time as shops weren't open until 1 on a Sunday

    Couldn't fault the property! Bed was very comfortable, breakfast was lovely, host was very nice and facilities were just what we needed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very welcoming and warm place, most of it thanks to the owner who runs this place, I enjoyed my stay very much. Its location gives you nothing to complain about either, guest house if facing lovely park. City center is 20 minutes away (on foot). Nice breakfast, Swedish buffet but you can easily switch to English breakfast if that's what you like. There was an iron in my room which I didn't expect to see in a place like this, definitely a plus if you're on a business trip.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    perhaps a list of shops/eating places that could be of use near by but this did not spoil our visit

    the owner went the extra mile, I asked prior to our visit for a rose at the breakfast table as it was my wife's birthday and the request was fulfilled.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No, Nothing.

    It's more than a hotel, it's really the home of travellers. I love the owners of the hotel . They give me help as my family members always do.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very tidy and cosy place, nice breakfast included and the main thing: friendly and lovely staff, especially Marian, very sympathetic and concerned with our well being. I truly recommend!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit cold as the heating didn't come on until 4.30pm. We did have a oil fired radiator to plug in but it took ages to get warm. The weather outside was very cold though

    Very comfortable beds. The owner/manageress was very quick to ring around and book things for us or get information for us

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My sons room was smaller but nice,his view for the tv wasn’t great but that’s not what you go away for really . He had his tablet so he was fine . His bed was comfortable and the cooked breakfast set us up for the day.

    My room was lovely with a huge walk-shower and I had slept well which doesn’t normally happen when away from home . Maureen was so helpful and friendly .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A selection of wheaten bread at breakfast would have been good, also fresh jam other than pre-packed single portions.

    Friendly staff. Clean and comfortable room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I found the wifi connection poor but perhaps that was more a fault of my phone than the wifi. It is hard to say really. The lady working there was so helpful and allowed me to use her internet device to check directions for my meeting. That was so helpful.

    Marantha house is very well kept and the staff are so friendly and helpful. It was a lovely room and I had a very pleasant stay. It is very cosy and there is a nice warm atmosphere. The staff, the heated towel rails and the breakfast were the highlights for me.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality of the mattress. Too little support for a person with back issues.

    Porridge & poached eggs amazing. Marian so kind, friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit off location. More than half hpur walk from city centre. Couldn't have good sleep as room was bit cold and duvet was thin for that weather. Next morning I found there was electric heater in wardrobe.

    Lady at reception was friendly and welcoming. Place was clean and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In terms of value for money there really is very little you could dislike.

    Perfect for someone doing business in centre of city and in and out in one night.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could hear the people upstairs which disturbed our sleep a bit.

    The location was good for access to Central Station, just a 10 minute walk away. The room was lovely and the host provides a great breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit out of the town centre. Despite photos showing modern apartments the rooms are a bit run down - carpet is worn, walls damaged and curtains a bit worn too. Floors also quite noisy and can hear noise from other apartments quite easily. Probably a bit overpriced for what it is so wouldn’t stay there again.

    Nice staff, helpful with local knowledge and assisting with queries. Room was clean and adequate. Parking was easy. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was not very powerful and stopped working at one point.

    All of Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The Breakfast was delicious and the room very warm and comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The personnel were friendly and made us feel at home. The facilities were excellent and the breakfasts were always customized to your liking. 25 minutes max walk to city center and lots to explore.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is on a very busy road and so there is traffic noise. It is also tricky to get out of the front parking lot as a result of the busyness. We were upstairs and it is quite a haul with the baggage, so not for those with a mobility issue.

    Breakfast was lovely but a bit slow due to the busyness of the room. Our hostess was most gracious and suggested the Ormeau Golf Club to dine at and it was wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing I didn't like. Was very happy from arrival and meeting Marian. Who gave us a map and some directions for the town. She was very nice. Our room was perfectly presented. Breakfast was so good. Large menu choice of options. My eggs and sausages were yummy.

    Bed was comfy, room was spacious, bathroom looked brand new with awesome shower. Owner and staff very friendly and helpful. Ample parking. Convenient straight walk down to and then over bridge into main town. Two minute walk to couple of take-aways and grocery/off-licenses. Really enjoyed the stay and if going back to Belfast again would stay there again. Also when we were booking this was only place we found with room with 3 beds in it. I highly recommend people give it a look. Mark.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy but that was other guests and not the owners fault.

    Excellent location to Kingspan stadium and owner very helpful with directions and recommendations!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like. However the house is obviously very old and could really do with a makeover.

    Location was good for us. Mariam and young lady serving breakfast were genuinely friendly. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wall is thin and the parquet make the noise. People who stayed upstairs made a lot of noise until 1am! We couldn't sleep well.

    The owner is friendly & helpful. She prepared our special order breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is on a busy road, so parking is on the forecourt of the premises. While we were there, six vehicles were parked each night on the forecourt, but that meant that some shuffling around of vehicles was necessary for just about any vehicle to leave. This is an inevitable consequence of the location and actually wasn’t too much of a problem with the smaller cars common in Ireland, but a large SUV would have been a challenge. Also, a tip - if you are approaching the property going south, look out for a large church on your left and slow down immediately... the entrance to Maranatha House is in the next block shortly after the church and if you miss it, there is nowhere to easily turn around for a while after it. The next left-hand turn *will not* take you around-the-block. Once you know where it is, it’s eady to find again, but the first time is tricky.

    We had a large, comfortable room with an good ensuite bathroom, one level up from the ground floor entrance. There was a stairway but since it is an older building, the stairs were wide and the riser height was quite manageable. The food and coffee at breakfast was excellent with a good range of choices.... I can highly recommend the “Breakfast Special” (Poached egg and melted cheddar cheese on wheaten break with chutney). Coffee was served freshly made in individual plungers. There is a large parkland opposite the B&B.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought it was slightly pricey compared with other bed and breakfasts we have stayed in...but the positives made up for it.

    Friendly staff, good breakfasts,excellent location and spotless

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The best bit about our stay was the warm welcome we received from the guest house manager, Marion. She was very helpful and friendly throughout our time at the guest house.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was very convenient for staying in while we participated in the half marathon in Belfast yesterday with my friends. We were allowed to come back afterwards for a shower which we really appreciated :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk from the rail station. Was on a busy road, but there were sidewalks.

    Friendly staff. Marion was helpful in directions and getting taxi to airport.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - just perfect!

    Location was great for the city centre. Marian and all her staff were very friendly and helpful. Lots of choice at breakfast and cooked breakfast was great quality - yummy!! Will definitely be going back!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was at the front, which meant one had to chose between fresh air with traffic noise, or closed windows and quiet.

    Very friendly helpful staff, large room, comfortable bed, excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely big room but the bathroom was small compared to the room size. Staff were lovely and helpful. Breakfast was good. Location is a bit out of the centre but only five minutes or so to drive or take a taxi.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really comfortable and clean. We had room 7 on top floor. Fairly quiet which was nice. Only problem was poor shower quality with water cutting out and not hot enough. I understand this is being addressed. Breakfast was great!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shirley was lovely, couldn't do enough for you! Staff friendly and helpful, lovely clean room, and very nice place to stay. Just down the road from relatives, so perfect. We will be back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Should pay an extra Commission for card.Fortunately, we had enough cash.

    breakfast is delicious,we can choose what we want the fist night we thought have lost the key of the room and were almost frightened to death,,the hoster sent the spare key for us .luckilu,we found the key in our car next day.the service is reallly good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it was a little far from some of the amenities.

    We were made very welcome. The room was great for three people, very clean and well presented. Breakfast was extremely good with lots of options. We enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fewer stairs to carry our heavy bags up to our room.

    Helpful advice from the host added to the enjoyment of our trip. We were very comfotable in our room with everything we needed. Lovely breakfast with friendly service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was very tight, though manageable. It is on a busy street, so some street noise.

    Our room at Maranatha House was very nice. The breakfast was excellent and the hostess was helpful in arranging for our laundry to be done.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing l disliked.

    I liked the friendly nature of the host Marion. She was very helpful and concerned that with my disability l would be looked after and have my needs met. The breakfast was amazing! The room, clean, tidy and fresh.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the bottom floor so a fair bit of noise early on in the morning but this was only a minor blemish at a nice property

    Nice big bathroom with a great shower. The breakfast was also absolutely excellent!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because I was in room 1 on the ground floor I could hear staff arriving in the morning and guests leaving early. It didn't really bother me as when I'm in a new place I like to get up early anyway but for those who like a lie-in, I'd avoid room 1.

    Marion, the hostess, was very welcoming and friendly. The room and bed were very comfortable and everything was just as I would expect from a homely guest house in the suburbs of Belfast. The city centre was just a short 15 minute walk away along the Ravenhill Road, so within easy reach for all the amenities. There are also some shops 5 minutes along the road and the Ormeau Park opposite the Maranatha. I would recommend it very highly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am aware that there isn't much that can be done about it but the only negative aspect was the creaking floor

    Delicious cooked breakfast, personal was friendly and helpful. The building looks like the perfectly typical and elegant British property

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.had a very relaxing night.staff friendly.checked in very quickly no delay and no fuss.

    Easy checkin.breakfast excellent.friendly welcome.parking right outside front door.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located under flight path so you definitely hear the airplanes. But not so loud as to keep one awake at night.

    Lovely stay!! I loved that I was just far enough out of town to have free parking on a quiet street. Breakfast and the french press coffee was delicious, and the free WiFi was a great bonus. Marian was very nice and accomodated all my needs perfectly! As a solo traveler I Highly recommend Maranatha House!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all.

    I was made to feel very welcome by all the friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast was excellent. Could not be better. Wouldn't stay anywhere else if I visited Belfast again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location. The place is a bit isolated, not in the centre. So you request a car or taxi as the street you need to walk to the centre is pretty empty, no shops or restaurants, just wearhouses so a bit isolated if you want to walk at night back to the B&B and you are alone.

    Good room and good breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about but perhaps a box of tissues and a larger bath towel .

    The choice of breakfast was excellent. The manageress was very welcoming and extremely helpful. The staff efficient and friendly. Towels in bathroom changed daily. International guests made to feel at home. Everything enjoyable even the walk into the city! Ideal location for visiting the city and the rest of the country.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very squeaky floorboards. Right in the flight path to Belfast airport which was quite loud occasionally.

    The lady in charge was exceptionally helpful in directing us to places to visit and eat. Rooms were all good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Did not like steps as we were on the top floor. Would have been better if there was a lift. The following day, we were offered a room on the first floor when it became vacant but we declined. The management team were very concerned about my mother having to climb all the steps to the third floor

    Management was as helpful as they possibly could. Always had a smile Breakfast was very accommodating to our needs and wants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, had to book an extra day which was no problem to them. Also needed to get to the airport early early in the morning and they arranged a taxi for me. Breakfast is great, lots of choice. Make sure you have the cooked Ulster fry. Marian and her team are the perfect hosts.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was noisey early in the mornings with people talking loudly and I think a heard of elephants were upstairs!

    The breakfast was great and the staff were welcoming and very helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On a very busy street.

    Large house with good size rooms and updated bathroom. Closest restaurant was a 15 minute walk. Room on the back of the house was quiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were 3 of us in the room and there was plenty of space. The Landlady is very helpful and provides a good breakfast with several options. The property is about a 20 minute walk into the centre of Belfast and across the road from a park where they have concerts. There was a concert on the nights we were there but we didn't hear them. Parking is in front of the house but off the street and takes about 6 or 7 cars. It was not a problem when we were there.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything. Staff are ridiculous. Taking advantage of 3 young girls by trying to charge £50 for smoking in our room when it never happened. Trying to claim 2 non smokers WEREN'T able to smell a bathroom that "STANK" of smoke! Will never be back and will be telling everyone to STAY AWAY.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Marian the land lady was wonderfully friendly and helpful. It was a 20 to 30 minute walk to downtown Belfast and walking distance to some attractions.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was cramped so if you need to get your car out early in the morning, make sure you can park closest to the road otherwise you might be blocked in. The floors were a little bit squeaky so this might be something to take into consideration if you're a very light sleeper.

    The breakfast was excellent. Location is a little bit away from the city center but that meant it was quieter. Still easy enough to get to the city. FonaCAB runs pretty frequently by the place and you can use their app to schedule a ride.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower cubicle was a bit cosy and it took a while for water to warm up (I was on the top floor)

    Marian was a great host, offering useful practical information. I arrived after 9pm and Marian was there to welcome me. The full Irish breakfast was fantastic, as was the scrambled egg and salmon. Free parking was a bonus.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The curtians in my room were in need of repair, infact I had to get on a chair to make ajustments so that they closed across the whole window. Maranatha House is distance away from Belfast City and any interesting eating place's nearby. When booking Maranatha House on Booking.com it was hard to arrange the amount of persons staying in a room as it is a single room use cost. Through exchanged emails before arrival it was resloved though the booking was not updated to reflect cost, confusing.

    It was comfortable, clean and the staff helpful but.....

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything that I didn't like.

    Marion was so very helpful with all that I wanted to see during my limited time in Belfast, organising my personal tour of Belfast, checking on bus times and departure locations for my day tour out of Belfast and checking on my train tickets for my journey from Belfast to Dublin. She made my time in Belfast extremely enjoyable and I would definitely recommend Maranatha House.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Maranatha House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: