Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Marina Inn

110 Harbour Street, Irvine, KA12 8PZ, United Kingdom

#11 of 14 hotels in Irvine

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 354 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    3.3
    Very little- the worst hotel I have ever stayed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived to be greeted with my name on the street on the front door (what ever happened to data protection and GDPR) and a pin pad to get into your room (you don’t get told about this nonsense until you book the room) no reception or staff on site, no electricity (called and got sorted, apparently ongoing issues with the fuse ‘just flip switch if goes off again’) contact numbers to call various people with no immediate pickup. Sticky carpets, bathroom furniture hanging off the walls and to top it off while staying with my family a full blown room party which went on for THE FULL NIGHT in room 7! No sleep! No staff on site to help! Had to listed to thumping music and a full on sex show through the paper thin walls! Worst hotel I have ever stayed in- I would avoid like the plague! Haven’t even bothered complaining to the hotel as no point- they simply don’t care! If they did their hotel would not be in such a bad state of repair! Take my word for it avoid!

    Very little- the worst hotel I have ever stayed!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    2.9
    Poor poor poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold bedroom unironed bedding pillows flat as paper no heating on. bathroom freezing damp on ceilings fixtures falling of walls. Not one chair to sit on in a bedroom for 3 adults poor never will return. Website states bar and restaurant they must of been invisible. Never saw any staff at all in 3 days disgusting service. No one there for check in or out just key left in door. No bulbs in light fitting.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.0
    Should have read the reviews more thoroughly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lumpy uncomfortable bed, noise from other rooms, wifi not working. No reception, just my name on the door and a phone number which I assume anyone could have called to get the access code.

    Leaving!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    5.0
    Beautiful location, shame about the b&b
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was basic. It was 2 joined rooms with a tiny bathroom which was just big enough for a toilet and shower stall. The double bed was uncomfortable, the bathroom stank like a portaloo which due to proximity and a very thin sliding door made the rest of the room smell awful. There were no staff on-site and we only ever saw the cleaner(?) in the morning who seemed to go out of her way to avoid people. The double bed had cigarette burns in the bedding, the wardrobes had to most ridiculous assortment of hangers I've ever seen, with 0-6months and xxl hangers, all of which were falling apart and broke on trying to put clothes on them. The kettle in the twin room was brown inside, and again the hangers in the wardrobe were a mix of useless and utterly useless. All this combined with holes in the walls, the most ridiculous bathroom set up and a fridge with a broken handle made for an awful week away. Also, should not call itself an inn when it does not have breakfast, food or drinks, just a welcome basket with shortbread, tennents, wine and a porridge pot. I would not recommend this place to anyone wanting to stay in Irvine, and would sincerely hope that any other room would be better than this one, which was room 5.

    The view of the harbour was lovely and some beautiful sunsets. Irvine itself is a lovely place and has plenty of great places to eat. Just would never stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    ALL is perfect no issues clean rooms and welcome basket is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    ALL is perfect no issues clean rooms and welcome basket is very good . Location is very quiet and very nice ,short distance from beach and shops.Highly Reccomended to any one.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    6.3
    The box of wine, lager, crisps, biscuits etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My view was the side of another . Not having a seat on which to relax. The heater was not easy to manoeuvre.

    The box of wine, lager, crisps, biscuits etc. were very much appreciated. Having a fridge and microwave in one's room was most agreeable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Great location right across the street from the waterfront.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location right across the street from the waterfront. Walking distance to Maritime Museum. Their other property about 100yds up the street has a person at the desk, who handles check-in; simple and convenient, no problems.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    6.7
    Suit ed our needs enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A welcome on arrival even just for a introduction . Strange not to have no one there at anytime .For hand over. Fridge a little noisey had to switch off.

    Clean room large bathroom everything you need for comfort.being on ground floor a bonus for pensioners. Nice and quiet location tv with several channel's.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.5
    I was very happy just the lumpy bed and the noise from next room didn't help☹️
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable and some noisy tennents during evening and 5 am leaving the building or having load TV 7 in the morning. Otherwise it was perfect 😃

    Facilities ware great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small technical problem... the tv remote didn't work. Probably just needs reprogramming

    Fantastic value for money... we have stayed here 3 times now! Fab location and clean, modern rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Can't wait for our next stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress on the bed was so very uncomfortable and my back was killing me in morning...

    Everything... it was spotless and the extras added for our comfort was amazing... there was loads of space and a fridge and micro in the room...also an iron for wrinkly clothes and heater if we got cold...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Great value for money highly recommended
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was clean with comfortable beds, a breakfast hamper was waiting in the room for us on our first night which was a nice touch because we had booked for room only.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    The location was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds weren’t the most comfortable and there was a funny smell when we first walked in, especially in the bathroom!

    The location was perfect! Right in between the train station and the beach. Only 5 minutes walk to each.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Excellent stay and will be back soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to write about,all good...

    lovely location for overnight stay,good bars for food and good value,will be back to explore more of the surrounding area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    5.4
    Access was straightforward.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room smelt of sweat/body odour. The place needs a thorough clean. The Room was cluttered by too many beds for the size of the room. No milk or creamer for coffee/tea.

    Access was straightforward. Shower was OK.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    2.5
    Not fussy .you get what you pay for but there is a limit .
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hole in the wall the grotty old bedding the springs sticking in your back in the ancient bed .the fridge on and off all night next to the bed .

    Nothing didn't stay the second night went home .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.5
    reasonably priced easy access and parking and good location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    the fridge was noisy-could feel the ridges in the bed-but still good value

    reasonable priced and good location-had all you need for a quick visit-plus a hamper gift

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.5
    WOULD GO BACK AGAIN
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    OUR ROOM WAS UPSTAIRS. BEING DISABLED IT WAS CORRECTED STRAIGHT AWAY AND GIVEN A ROOM DOWN STAIRS 10 OUT OF 10.

    IT WAS GREAT HAVEING A FRIDGE AND MICROWAVE IN THE ROOM. IT WAS VERY CLOSE TO THE TOWN GREAT WHAT THEY HAVE DONE TO THE HARBOUR. A NICE RELAXING BREAK

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    As nice as ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike about this property. As clean and comfortable as ever. The beds are comfy.

    Clean comfortable and value for money. The complimentary baskets of goodies are especially nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    4.2
    I asked for a sea view room after booking and was able to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress need to be changed as they are tired. Whoever used the room before turned the thermostat in the fridge up to maximum without us realising therefore the goods we brought had frozen. The wifi code given in the email correspondence did not work - there is a different code on the fire notice on the door which worked. The toilet is a saniflow system whilst I appreciate odours do occur - this one needs looking at as there seems to be a connection missing.

    I asked for a sea view room after booking and was able to get one. Prompt email response.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Little gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My name displayed on outside door.

    Location was pefect..2 mins to the beach. Room was spotless clean,with a fantastic wee welcome hamper of shortbread, teacakes,can of beer and a wee bottle of wine. Superb touch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent, had an amazing time and the sun shone both days!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!

    Fabulous view from the room to the Harbour and beyond. Stayed in Room 4, had everything you would need, lovely touch with hospitality basket if you like on Facebook. Bonus of fridge/microwave in room! Clean towels in the room and hand-wash in bathroom. Excellent value for price, good communication and easy check in/ check out. Will be back :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    A pleasant stay all in all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv. Screen was damaged and the twin beds weren't too comfy for us.

    Great location and lovely welcome basket. Good size room with nice ensuite and fridge. Good price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent Value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problems with shower

    Welcome basket, microwave and fridge were great additions for anyone on a budget. If you're after luxury look elsewhere, but really well priced for an overnight stay. Good wi fi and great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    A nice wee gem and a pretty location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress was uncomfortable and probably due for replacement. I slept on top of the duvet as there was a blanket so generally ok.

    Clean, good wifi, you could park outside, lovely view, hospitality basket in the room which was a nice touch, overall good value

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.0
    Nice view outside but lacking space and comfort on the inside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too far a walk from train station.Depressing type room.Would not return.

    Although I had a lovely view from room the room itself was tired and the tv was way to high up on the wall to enjoy viewing. Bathroom was not very nice as far too small.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Room was bigger than expected and beds were so comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was bigger than expected and beds were so comfy. Bathroom was massive with a lovely big shower. Welcome basket was a great touch, we loved that. Amazing for what we paid.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    4.2
    Use booking.com regularly but that experience will make me very wary for future accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room & bathroom shabby nothing like photos. Fridge not working. Worry about electrics, a number of extension cables attached to walls. Shower worked in reverse needed to be in cold settings and then only a trickle! Entrance at rear like a building site.

    Bed clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Marina inn, excellent experience thanks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no complaints about the property it was excellent.

    Very clean and tidy beds were extremely comfortable would definitely stay again ten out of ten thank you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    Overall had a lovely two days in a lovely location and the marina inn was perfect for our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front door closed with a bit of a bang so could hear people coming and going also, mattresses not brill but ok for short visits.

    Was clean and modern and location was fab, larger than expected bathroom. Would definitely stay again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    3.8
    Unsuitable for elderly or disabled people. No mention on the booking page that thsi is NOT an INN !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The add is misleading. There is no mention that the access to the room is at the rear past the rubbish skip up a steep slipy unsafe staircase, which is totally unsuitable for a disabled person. We requested disabled access. They should not have accepted our booking. Unless you are young and able bodied, this building is unsuitable.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    5.0
    Cheap and could’ve been much better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Crack in coffee mug cigarette burns on the covers door banging all night with people walking in and out

    The basket either complimentary food and drink was nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    As clean as comfortable as ever but spoilt slightly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy guests. At around 1.00am the second night of our stay a guest decided it was acceptable to bang on the security door to attract attention of their travelling companion. They both then proceeded to talk very loudly in the corridor with no respect for other guests that were up until this point sleeping.

    The hotel was as comfortable and clean as always. Andy was as helpful as he always is. The only draw back was the noisy guests

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    5.8
    No hot water in the bathroom sink.
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hot water in the bathroom sink. This was an issue raised by a previous visitor so we did not expect that. Shower had black mould round the bottom 2 feet which put us off using it. The basket of goodies had a note explaining they were a gift to be used by visitors who were prepared to recommend the hotel on Facebook. We are not on Facebook.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.3
    It is basic, but all you need if you're passing through as we were. Totally worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't clear that there wouldn't be a reception but it wasn't a problem for us, although it might confuse some people especially if they are from over seas

    Basic no frills accommodation. Comfy and next to a pub. Nice basket of treats too!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.9
    Location was wonderful, easy walking to meals and drinks, I...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t have water on the last day (but not their fault)

    Location was wonderful, easy walking to meals and drinks, I had a back room so no view, but it was quiet to sleep. Easy to move around inside, and big bathroom. I would stay there again but get an upstairs front for the view 😃

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.5
    Get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    'Guests' in room 5 noisy..arguing all hours. Sure room was used for 'unsocial activities' people never slept at all doors banging all hours. We darnt complain for fear of reprisals!! Have used this hotel b4 but will not use again. Think because its not staffed other guests arnt bothered how they use it..sorry ☹

    The room was fine for what we paid. Could have changed the bedding half way through the week tho. Hospitality basket was lovely

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant apart from the few small flaws!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower took ages to get warm water and the room was very cold to begin with when we arrived.

    The relaxation and no one bothering you! Bed very comfortable and hospitality pack excellent! Late check out after I text Andy was no problem.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    4.2
    Never going again!!!
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water running with hot tap only the shower was warm, shower hardly let water out, 2 single beds for me my partner and my son and we couldn't even put the beds together, the room was too cold heating didn't work, me and my wee boy ended up with the cold and my partner has yet to get it, I would not recommend this hotel again, my pram hardly fitted in the room I had to put it at the door which is blocking a fire exit, wouldn't go again!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    9.2
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having stayed twice recently, the internet connection did not connect both times.

    Having the tea/coffee and buscuits was great (someone had eaten the pringles and replaced the box - lol!)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.3
    In general, well worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sorry, only one thing, bed linen. Yes, clean, but did not like the feel of it. It almost made me want to scratch. Had stayed previously and had no issue and am staying again, so will check. Time of year was really cold, a late arrival and the heating came on in the morning. Shower was hot and easy to use.

    Just about everything. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Love our stays at marina inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location perfect for us. Like that there is a full size fridge microwave iron ironing board plus fleecy blankets. Toiletries and fabulous welcome hamper

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    6.3
    Excellent location. Nice view. Very basic but good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cold water tap in bathroom not working. Big clump of black hair on hand towel - towel was clean though.

    Excellent location for the venue we were going to. Nice view. Liked the complimentary box.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.5
    Excellent stay but didn't feel secure having no reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like that there was no reception. My name and room number was printed and stuck on the front door.

    Very clean and comfortable. Cleaner came in everyday. Received a goody basket with some champagne, beer, crisps, chocolate and water. Was brilliant having fridge and microwave in room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    Clean and comfortable as always
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only slight criticism I would have is that the hotel should try and avoid putting children in rooms above ground. Its very annoying being below a room where parents let their children run round the room without any disregard for whoever is in the room below. Its rude and disrespectful gor others trying to sleep

    Spotless clean. Warm and comfortable. Great location. Hospitality tray is a very thoughtful extra. Great value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.2
    Worth to visit for this money- great conditions, we will be back again👍😀
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    I loved the welcoming basket full with some shapain, bear , snacks and sweets. I loved to have a fridge and microwave there. Very nice decorated room and cosy. We really enjoyed the staying. Regards

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.5
    Overnight stay before trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff on site, what would happen if a disturbance? You need a code to enter and can see folk going on night out and forgetting code. Ok durin week but would be wary of a Saturday night stay

    Clean, good TV, hospitality tray a lovely touch! Walking distance to shops , pubs

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    Perfect relaxing beautiful surroundings. Local shops and people all very friendly and welcoming.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    Loved the view. The room is perfect although it became uncomfortable for longer stay. would Benifit from a chair and small table instead of chest of drawers. Wardrobe is more than enough space for storage for two people. We really did enjoy our stay at marina inn Thank you

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.9
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely welcome basket included in the price which included miniature bottle wine, can of lager, Pringles, shortbread, tea and coffee making items. As no breakfast offered there was porridge pots. Microwave and fridge also available in the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    5.8
    like the welcome back. does all it says and very cheap for business users. worried about noise.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    walls a bit thin. and could be someone there to meet after 8.30pm, but very practical for business when no time to be sociable. this works.

    all basics there for the business traveller and great value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.3
    A great economical home base for exploring the area!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entry lock system was a bit tricky but we finally got it sorted, and the hot water heater was off but the staff was excellent about fixing it right away.

    Proximity to the ocean and to a fantastic coffee shop: GRO Coffee!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    3.3
    Really disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very impersonal. No view.things where hanging off toilet walls .cables loose on ceiling.very hard to access property then asked to leave at 10.45 am by housekeeper.!!

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.2
    Great location and value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Iron and ironing board were overused. Iron got replaced. Heater needed a long time to warm up.

    Excellent location with plenty of parking space in front of the building. I was sold with the fridge and microwave in the room. For business trips, this is an excellent way to buy your own food. Very nice and quick service, the room is clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.5
    A good place to stay if you're an early riser.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wash basin in bathroom was small(more for a closet rather than en-suite)& the hot tap continually dripped. Other guests allowed doors to slam shut in early hours,lots of activity around 4 to 5 am.

    The room was clean & comfortable. The welcome tray was a lovely surprise,included bottled water,shortbread,porridge,cans of beer & a small bottle of champers.A short walk into the town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.8
    The old world charm of this property was a perfect setting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds could use mattress updates and the soundproofing between rooms is about what you would expect for a vintage tavern restoration, but all in all this property was charming for travellers on a budget.

    The old world charm of this property was a perfect setting for our tour of western Scotland. The location on the harbour front was lovely for walking to the beach and sea. The walking distance proximity to food venues was very helpful. Having a room with two single beds for our teenagers was a big bonus so they didn't have to share and we didn't have to listen to them complain.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.1
    Not the worst it could have been.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked last minute and when arrived (At the time we stated on the booking) There was nobody there and we had to phone to find out about access to the building. No physical staff interaction. Someone tried our door just before midnight as well which was a little unnerving.

    Room was clean, hotel was quiet, overall not the worst stay it could have been.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    2.5
    this inn was terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My wife and I were very disappointed they were no staff whatsoever this inn was more for working people to stay. We go to over night hotels often and this one was the worst we have ever stayed in we would not return even if we were given a free night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    5.0
    Not great!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could hear 2 men next door talking late into the night. And then in the morning too. Very noisy. Doors were slamming late into the night that shook the whole internal wall. It woke one of my children up it was so loud!!

    We found a clump of hair (not belonging to us) in our bed. Its was dark hair and my hair is blond. It was not pleasant. Thw children were asleep at this stage so I wasnt going to wake them to leave!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    7.9
    Budget accommodation in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast facilities, but we knew this before hand. Microwave and fridge in room, and cafes nearby.

    Location was great. Short walk to beach and shopping.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    6.3
    Enjoyed our stay visiting family. And surrounding areas . Beautiful beaches and Robert Burns cottag.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower . It had no place to put anything. No grab handles. No comfortable chairs to sit in. The door lock not easy to use . Expected to see staff when we arrived only saw a man who took the key when we left.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    4.6
    Welcome basket is a nice touch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear and feel the front door closing every time someone passed through it. Everything is done by phone / internet so no contact with staff - not very welcoming No soap Fridge was dirty Irvine isn't really a nice place to visit

    Welcome basket is a nice touch Price is good, from £35 on their website

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    Great value basic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a basic hotel as reflected in the price, great value but don't expect the world.

    Great location and great value, staff friendly when we met them.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.3
    Nice accommodation for a short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were two single beds for the three of us, although we paid "family rate" instead of "twin room rate". I had to share a single bed with my toddler and ended up sleeping on the floor.

    10 minutes walking distance from the beach and nice view from the window.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    5.4
    Quiet and self contained, nice complimentary basket
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nobody to greet us, small room, poor bathroom.. Beds hadn't been pushed together as requested

    Quiet and self contained, nice complimentary basket

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.2
    We got to the hotel a lot later then the last booking in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We got to the hotel a lot later then the last booking in time due to a car breakdown and I had to ring up for my security number, the gentleman who answered was very nice and considerate even though I had woken him up, he then went on to solve my problem in a very quick and polite manner. The rooms were lovely and warm for us and the welcome basket made my Grandsons night. So I would like to say a Big Thank you to all.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    4.6
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No facilities on site.

    Not what we expected from the web site. The facility is unstaffed. The facilities were clean and through it included breakfast this was very basic being a tub of porridge which you added hot water to and a sponge cake.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    2.9
    STAY AWAY!
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely poor cleanliness, no reception/greeting, poor communication.door to room wouldn't lock!unsafe due to gaps between walls and plug sockets! Previous guest left kebab n.microwave and we were greeted with it! I had 3 children with me!shocking standards!AVOID NO MATTER THE COST!

    The view outside the window.Getting refund for awful stay!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    7.9
    Good to stop at for rest on a long journey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the fixtures and fittings were a little loose. Nothing to worry about though.

    Good value for money and access made available to us late at night. Tea/coffee point etc was good to have in the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.8
    Good value, excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are a few short comings - an old house, that close to the sea will have that clammy smell in the soft furnishings. The place is very clean but when they next refurbish they should ideally replace the carpets with lino and keep the soft furnishings to a minimum - maybe even let a dehumidifier run occasionally. The mattress was a lot softer than what I was used to.

    There is no staff on site, but I got my code for the entrance, I had a sign that told me which was my room (I had that per email already) key is inside. There was a kettle and tea & coffee and mineral water and biscuits - and a fridge which was really useful. It is good value for money, the room has a reasonable size, was comfortable, had everything I wanted, the location is brilliant - there are several excellent cafes and restaurants nearby, the landscape is magical. The location is quiet (apart from the sea gulls!).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    6.3
    "BANG OUT OF ORDER"!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that we wer right at the door entrance !! Wer every morning at 5:30 the men staying through from us woke up and proceeded to bang doors constantly!! An average time from 5:30 till 7 they went out 16 times punching in numbers n slamming the heavy door it was terrible ! Hence we came home a day early from holiday ! Totally ruined we went away to have a break from work and came bak exhausted !!

    Liked the wee welcome box

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.9
    Nice tidy room, good location and great price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It doesn't tell you that there is no reception and the key is just in the door, had to phone for a code to get in the building and first number did not work.

    Nice tidy room, good location and great price.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    Great Property Great position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    excellent position next to the Marina handy for shops, restaurants, train station, we went to Glasgow for the day 35 mins away fantastic,close to the beach for a nice walk on a nice evening.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Microwave and fridge are a good perk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi kept going down and connection was rubbish when on even though it stated high speed on booking.com. Had to keep curtains closed due to being right at the front to avoid people looking in, made the room very dark.

    Microwave and fridge are a good perk. Had one problem within the properly but was solved very quickly and compensated

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.8
    bedroom 10 street level so we had to keep the curtains drawn...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bedroom 10 street level so we had to keep the curtains drawn as people were looking in going past this made the room dark on what was a beautiful sunny day.maybe a lille net curtain or blind would be an idea

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had no reason to dislike anything. Everything was of a good clean standard.

    The location is great. It is quiet. The room was clean and comfortable. The facilities in the room are good and the hospitality tray is an especially nice touch. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: