Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Marlborough House Hotel - B&B 4 stars

321 Woodstock Road, Oxford, OX2 7NY, United Kingdom

#20 of 35 hotels in Oxford

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 869 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was iffy but they were responsive on issue.

    Good size room with table and chairs, kitchenette, new bathroom. Bus stop very closem, direct to oxford. Restaurants and grocery nearby. Parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No WiFi code provided (not sure it existed, used mobile data as only stayed one night). Breakfast was £5 each extra and although full English good continental was disappointing (wouldn't order that again)

    Great facilities, fridge and microwave in room along with cutlery and even salt and pepper.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a little dated.Bulb not working on bed side lamp and paint coming away from wall in bathroom.

    Staff very friendly and happy, breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi wasn't great. I ended up having to use my phone as a hotspot in order to use my laptop. Not the end of the world but a bit inconvenient. I was told on check out that there had been a problem in the area, not just the hotel

    Breakfast was decent and arrived at the time slot I ordered it. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom facilities were also superb. The staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor internet access. Patchy at best. Breakfasts poor. Window dirty with bird droppings. We cleaned this off ourselves easily by reaching from the other windows. Beds hard. Bath unable to be used, the plug mechanism was missing.

    Loved the large room and kitchen facilities. Great location. Good parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is a bit old, and it shows. The warm breakfast felt very improvised - the kitchen looked small and crowded, and the cook brought up the food herself. The sausages were barely cooked, so inedible, and the eggs were mediocre. One had to ring the bell to summon someone from reception to open the front door, even while we were staying there and had been given keys. The service felt very rushed at times.

    Good location (10-15 minutes by cab from central Oxford) and reasonably helpful and accommodating staff (including with leaving our luggage there prior to official check-in time, and with calling cabs).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite dated, facilities all in the room and fridge noisy. Carpets dirty.

    Good location, bathroom new and good shower. Limited parking but advised to park on street.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise from carpark and adjacent bedroom; lack of breakfast room; thin carpets in bedroom, shower fitting broken

    The size of the room , sink and fridge available, plenty of hot water.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked that parking was available, the rooms were clean and spacious. Bonus - breakfast was only £5 each, complete English breakfast and delivered to the room!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little to criticise: The TV could be a bit bigger for the size of the room and a shelf in the bathroom would be good.

    The room was very big and it's great to have kitchen facilities and a dining table in the room. Staff are very friendly and helpful, the bathroom is modern and everything is clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was hard as a rock Only instant coffee available

    Very uncomfortable bed Room overlooked a parking lot Long distance from town centre (45 minute walk)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The narrow parking and limited parking space.

    The house, the smiling and friendly staff, the possibility to eat breakfast in our room at your chosen time in the morning. The breakfast was very enjoyable in our own breakfast table. The nice neighborhood where the house is located.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unsociable breakfast in bedroom , and too early to enjoy Also not hot enough No fresh fruit offered, although shewn on the menu but did not have a menu to read. No shower cap, and one which was brought with us was removed. No lift although description was shewn as HOTEL. Having to make at least two trips to reception in order to complete our breakfast meal.

    Comfortable and clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed is not so comfy and it has no elevator, if you have many luggages it might be some hassle carrying to upstairs if you got 2nd floor room.

    Breakfast is good, including in the room rate and they have fridge and washing sink, like a small kitchen in your room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was absolutely nothing wrong .

    Closeness to the town . Large room with fridge and microwave. Cleanliness . Attitude of staff especially Anita .This accom is a great find 120%beyond any otherswe booked .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very soft for my liking and the shape of the too made it very difficult to see the television if sitting in the chair at table.

    The fridge and microwave in room was very useful, there was a nice range of drinks on offer. The staff were very helpful and polite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It felt a bit tired. Also a bit far from food outlets if you can't walk far and don't have a car.

    Spacious room and very generous breakfast and good supply of long life milk . Lovely bathroom. Nice to have a kitchenette. It was near a bus stop which made getting to city quite easy. Take the number 6. Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast served in room and not very good. Our friends had a long wait for theirs. Room not particularly clean noisy next to the door. Our friends were disturbed by the security light outside the room.

    Car parking was available

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough staff There was only one staff member on duty. We had to cancel our breakfast as she was too busy and could not sort it on time. Otherwise good value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not sure about breakfast being served in your room as standard. We were with friends we hadn't seen for 10 years and were seeing briefly. They were in one room with their daughter, we were in another. A convivial breakfast together was part of our plan.

    The dining table in the window of our room from which we could look out onto the street.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, its perfect value for money for this area, highly recommend.

    It's a lovely B&B located on the outskirts of Oxford, very quiet, clean, with spacious rooms and a good wi-fi. Very close to a bus stop if you want to travel to Blenheim castle or centre of Oxford. The staff are friendly and very helpful, the breakfast is served in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that was disappointing was the ever present smell of fried food in the entrance foyer.

    Lovely, spacious room. Staff were very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heater was on so the room was pretty warm. That is not my sleeping preference and it was hard to get the temperature down. They didn't clean the shower, they didn't empty the trash cans and flushing the toilet wasn't very difficult because it was broken. Maybe I had bad luck with the room....

    The Host was very friendly. The check in went really quick

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very little room between bed and wardrobe. The price of drinks from the mini-bar was extortionate. Being on the ground floor, we felt we couldn't leave the window open overnight.

    Nice to have a fridge and kitchenette. Bathroom modern and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no hot water early in the morning 5am). Also couldn't find a password for the wifi as there was no one at the reception after 8pm.

    Well equipped and a fantastic location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the steps, but that seems the norm everywhere.

    Clean, great staff, great facilities, great breakfast, quiet, nice little extra touches (great inclusions/facilities), great communication

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bed was extremely hard. it appeared that all that was cooked was chips by the smell...it was like walking into a fast food restaurant.

    the size of the room was good. power shower was lovely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place smells bad. Someone is smoking inside. It isn’t clean. The location is far from centre Oxford. They advertise breakfast included which they don’t give. Will never recommend someone to stay here.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a touch firm for my taste, but that is an individual preference.

    The staff were friendly, polite and efficient. The room had a good range of facilities and there was parking on site.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They do not have a breakfast room so serve the breakfast in the bedroom. The cooked breakfast was poor served with one slice of toast and no cerial. Had to make our own tea and coffee.

    The location was good for us

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival during the afternoon, there was a pervasive smell of frying food which was not too pleasant. Breakfast was served on plates in the bedroom which seemed odd. The food was average. Probably would not return.

    Room was spacious and comfortable. Staff were friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor value for £100 and room was barely adequate for two people. Lack of space made the light breakfast in room pretty miserable experience

    Room was clean. Location convenient for Oxford.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a little bit noisy at night so we didn't have a good sleep. Also, the breakfast is traditional English breakfast which is just normal.

    The room is beautiful and the decoration is fabulous. There is a microwave in our room which is really useful. If you want to have takeaway in your room it's completely fine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The was a little more compact than for the money we paid. Paid the same and had a bigger room.

    The pillows and the bed were very comfy. For a foreigner I still loved the view from my window even if it was a side road very pleasnt

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets in the halls are a little old and stained but the rooms were so nice it doesn’t even matter.

    Lovely large, clean and modern rooms. Large £5 full English breakfast. Free parking. Bus stop just across the road with frequent services into Oxford city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy room, very thin walls, bed linen stained. As soon as the water and toilets were used in another room, it made a big racket.

    Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have stayed here before and was impressed with the service I received so was looking forward to returning. I was equally impressed this visit. The staff are very welcoming and attentive. Our room was spacious and the refurbished bathroom excellent: plenty of hot water and great water pressure. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room and the amenities in the bathroom were very good. Breakfast was cooked to order and brought to our room at the time we requested. Onsite parking is available. The property is a little way out of the town centre but there is a bus stop outside or it's a short taxi ride into town. We enjoyed our stay very much.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sweet staff. Compact room but ok. Good, new shower room. One bedside light didn’t work and staff didn’t know how to fix it but wasn’t really a problem unless I had wanted to read after my husband had gone to sleep. Luckily we went to sleep at the same time! V good value breakfast. Very reasonable rate. Will definitely return if we need to spend the night in Oxford again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very spacious accommodation with good facilities. Located on a convenient bus route into central Oxford. We contacted them in advance and they allowed us to check in early which was very useful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attempting to charge £1.80 for a 500 ml bottle of water. This was cancelled at checkout- I would recommend it be taken off the minibar listing and given free. The breakfast (continental) was rudimentary, and croissants somewhat overheated and thus too hard. At 3.30 a.m. a very loud male voice came up through our wall, it sounded like a phone conversation. Woke me and my wife, but probably was a guest so not your fault! Actually it was 4.30 as BST that night... The cushion cover alongside bed pillow gave off a horrid smell. Cover needs washing I think!

    The room we were given was a good size good decor and ensuite we’ll appointed. The staff were friendly and service pretty good. Car parking good. Quiet location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi didn't work. Hairs in the bed and a stain on the sheet. Room 7 window is under the hotel exterior light that doesn't go off. Bit noisy as on ring road but quietened down during the night.

    Big room. Proper table and chairs to sit and eat. Kitchenette. Would be good for a longish stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blackout curtains were needed as traffic lights shone through curtains that were up.

    It was warm and cosy. Kitchenette was useful. Bath was lovely, plenty of hot water

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast in the room is a nice touch. Personally I weren’t keen on the hash browns and the bacon was overdone but that’s down to personal preference. To found a long hair on the bed which must have fell off of the cleaner. The room had the heating on full when we arrived and it was staggeringly hot. We left the window open the next morning after turning the heating down and it was shut upon return.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No reaction when told light bulb not working in bedside lamp. Light switch for main lights on other side of room to the bed.. Longer to town then the websites states. The fridge in the room was very noisy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I requested breakfast for 7:30am but it didn't arrive, I was told that that the staff knocked on the door but I didn't hear this. The staff should have phoned the room immediately after rather than await my call.

    The room was comfortable, and good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is kind of far from the city, you have to walk a little bit to the bus stop.

    Really good room, you have everything that you need. It doesn't have a restaurant, but they bring the breakfast to your room wich is really nice. We love it!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast has to be taken in my room and what they delivered to me was barely edible... toasts are burnt... sausages are burnt... There are limited parking space for parking... On the 2nd day when I drove back to hotel there was a car engaged 2 parking slots. I then asked the receptionist to help but she advised me to park on the street and said the guy who engaged 2 parking slots might not be there.... So I tried to see if it is safe to park outside... The fact was that there was no space available for parking outside ! I went back and put my car on a blocking position to that double parked car, but in the meantime I saw that receptionist went out... I believe it was just her time off and therefore didn’t want to help.

    Location is good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly dated décor internally.

    Nice location. Very large room. Comfortable bed. Extra pillows and fan in the cupboard. Plenty of breakfast items etc in the room free of charge. The breakfast was good and it was deliveredon time.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish the breakfast was better.

    Dedicated staff. Felt like at home. Very near to the city centre, only 7 mins by bus. No restaurants nearby or shops.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillow cases had black hair on them, so I suspect they hadn't been changed or hair had fallen from the cleaning staff. The rooms at the front of the property receive quite a lot of traffic noise. The TV is ridiculously small for the size of the room. The breakfast was all piled onto one plate and things were soggy overall. Overall, the quality of the food items is rather low.

    The room itself was relatively large and tastefully decorated. The staff were friendly on check-in, but the lady who delivered the breakfast was much less so, bordering on unpleasant. This really took away from the whole stay. The mini-bar was a nice surprise.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was brought to our room as there is no dining room. So not much choice of cereal or juice, no fruit. Cooked breakfast very generous portions.

    Our room was very clean and comfortable. Spacious and well furnished.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Large room on second floor with good facilities and a comfortable bed. Fresh coffee in the room was especially welcome The staff were pleasant and helpful and it was good value for money. The location was good as we wanted to be slightly out of town as driving in central Oxford can be congested. Free parking was also a plus. We did not have breakfast so cannot review it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had booked 2 rooms for 3 people. Although the staff was very lovely, she was not sure which rooms were to be allocated between us. Two of us ended up staying in the room for 1 person and my friend ended up with a room meant for two. The rooms were on separate sides of the B&B, so we had to walk around behind the staff as she worked this out. We were already quite worn out from the journey, so this wasn't very pleasant. The staff was not well informed about travel into Oxford city. The bedding and cutlery was not clean. We had no kettle in our room and needed to request one. There were bits of food outside the bin in our room upon our arrival. The breakfast was not worth the money, too little. When ordering a full english breakfast on our first night there, we were told that it had ran out as we'd called too late. So, I'd requested breakfast for the next day quite well in advance, yet my friend was waiting for her 8:30 breakfast until 9:00.

    The staff were very kind, good location, close to buses into Oxford city

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If forced to think of negatives: The décor was fresh, but not to my personal taste (except bathroom) and the TV was a bit small given size of room!

    The best bits: extremely helpful staff, large room, facilities in the room (including dining table and kitchenette), stylish bathroom, breakfast served to the room and regular bus service straight into the town centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I asked for gluten free bread but was not given it until too late. The heating was off through the day and I had to use a fan heater I had been given to use instead when I woke up as the heating had not come on. I warned staff I would not want breakfast on day 2 but then had to pay for it anyway as it was included - no-one thought to tell me. The room smelt of bacon from other people's breakfasts like in a cheap B&B in the 1970s. Half an hour before check-out I was interrupted by the cleaner who did not know what time it was! The whole building shakes whenever a truck or bus goes by - I was on the third floor! I would not go there again as there are much nicer places to stay. It was all a bit tired and fading and too expensive for what they offer.

    The beds were comfortable and the women on reception were polite.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi could have been stronger

    Got the bus into the city right across the road and we were allowed to pick the car up after the official leaving hour. Impressed by the kindness of the owner.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A slightly bigger tv as I do not have great eyesight and found it far from the bed

    The staff were all helpful and friendly the room was spacious I liked the peace and quiet

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was a bit tight and could have been a problem if had to leave early on the sunday.Otherwise would definitely recommend and stay again.

    we liked the little touches,such as tissues,milk in fridge,and friendliness of staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was very good, would suggest adding also some fresh fruit but that is more of a personal preference

    Great and spacious room, extremely clean, bath cleaned every day and given clean towels, very convenient parking

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is excellent with a 5 minute bus ride from right outside to get into the city centre. The room was excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Oxford is also a great place to visit, we will be back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I am a regular traveller, but the breakfast here was the worst that has ever been presented to me in a hotel. Poor quality, badly prepared, small portions delivered lukewarm to the room an hour earlier than requested. Our`superior room' was next to the main hotel entrance, where staff stood to make mobile phone calls early in the morning. There was a lot of traffic noise, and the wifi did not work. I would not recommend this hotel.

    The room was large and clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cooked breakfast was rather disappointing and the continental breakfast rather strangely consisted of scrambled egg,toast and two croissants served on the same plate.Marmalade was supplied to go with the full english but no butter.No butter or preserves were supplied to go with the continental breakfast,just seemed a bit odd.

    The room was fantastic

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stay was marred by another guest who played piano music. No sleep until after 3am: a disaster on a business trip. No one on front desk at night to help. Huge security lamp outside window went on and off all night (picture shown - note how clean the window isn't!). Noise proofing to the front overlooking a mega-busy road is poor. Breakfast: 37 minutes late and pretty terrible (cheapest ingredients, meatless catering sausages, bacon pre-cooked, like plaster board, toast like a crisp etc). Don't bother with it. They bring it to your room because there is no dining area, but then you're hostage to their timings. As a general comment Oxford is notorious for middling to poor B&Bs owing to a constant stream of tourists and students who want low prices and accept low standards. This property is not the worst but it could still do so much better!!!!!. The AA 4* rating: take that with a large pinch of salt.

    Staff excellent. Friendly and allowed me to leave a bag both on the day of check-in and the day of departure. Rooms large and the dining room table and kitchenette facility is welcome. The wi-fi worked (albeit poorly). The TV worked. The cutlery and other items provided were clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is nothing I didn't like about the place. It was superb.

    We are more used to staying in hotels, and this was such an amazing surprise. We arrived early and they gave us a room that is already ready, and what a room! It was huge, with a view of the carpark, a bath in the bathroom, a huge bed, a table for having meals, a kitchen sink, and fridge. The location is also so close to the centre of Oxford. Breakfast was delivered to our room each morning. This was a room we could get used to. Unfortunately we were only there for three nights. There is also easy parking right outside the house.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower head couldn't be secured properly but all- in all the facilities were very good

    The staff were very friendly and the room was a very good size for the price, the location was a bit of a walk from the city centre but there were busses that only took 20mins, however we still chose to walk because it was direct and scenic.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture old and not in a very good shape.

    Easy to find and to park with car, not too far from the city center, very close to the bus stop. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room very big

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of breakfast, since there is a B&B hotel.

    We loved everything except the lack of breakfast, because there are four bus stations to the city centre, where you can find something to eat in the morning...It was the 1st of january, so I guess it was hard for them to prepare something...😌

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold awful English breakfast with the cheapest of cheap ingredients (terrible). Poor continental breakfast for my son (no yoghurt, those long life croissants you can buy at a petrol station). Soft wonky old uncomfortable beds. Noisy fridge, No milk/sugar in the room. Don’t bother with breakfast-I would rather eat out!

    Spacious room with great bathroom. Free refreshments in the room. Table & chair in the room. Free parking. Excellent location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sausage at breakfast wasn't very good.

    This is a fairly large guest house. I booked two rooms for an overnight stay with a quick visit to Oxford. We arrived early and were able to check in right away. At that point, I booked the full english breakfast. The rooms were very nice and clean. The beds were comfortable. The kitchen had enough supplies for 2 people. There is a mini-bar in the room but I found it a little confusing to understand which items were included as part of the room and breakfast and which were an extra charge. The rooms each had a table and chairs for eating as breakfast is served in the room. The bus stop into Oxford is a couple minutes walk away and very convenient. After a big lunch and walk around Oxford, we brought food back to our room for dinner. It was great to have the microwave, table, plates, silverware, and glasses. Overall the breakfast was not great but we were probably just tired of full english breakfasts by that point in our journey.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WiFi didn't work as stated on the website. When we went to the office they gave us a booster to put in our room so they must know they have issues with it and it still didn't work for our whole stay. Our room was accessible by going outside so maybe if you stay in the main building it would work better, but it should work in all rooms if that is what is advertised,

    That it was close to a bus stop to get into town if you didn't want to drive and deal with parking in town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was a bit on the small side for me, the bath had no slip-free mat, and a cloth to wipe up water spills on the floor would have been nice. The extracter fan did not seem to work and the door to the bathroom had squeaky hinges.

    The small kitchenette with an endless supply of tea, proper milk,coffee, yoghurt and breakfast cereals etc. Spacious with plenty of drawers ie just about everything Also,the short flight of stairs.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The television was small, the rest of the facilities were excellent.

    We found everything we needed in the room. I was comfortable and warm. Small but nice private parking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean big rooms great. Breakfast in the room was lovely and extras in the fridge was a nice touch. Rooms were nice a spacious and beds comfy. Staff helpful and freindly. Would rrcommend and stay again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was right next to the front door, so that unless curtains were closed anyone coming to the front door looked straight into the room. Usually I ask for a room that is as quiet as possible, and almost all hotels or guest houses give me the best they can. Although road noise wasn't bad, we'd have preferred a room on the back. A bright light on the B&B sign would be very helpful, particularly given that Woodstock Road is extremely busy: we drove past then had to turn around a good km or so down the road and return carefully. Breakfast was OK, but eating it in the bedroom, getting ones own tea etc is rather unusual and not what we'd choose. There's booze in the room at an extremely high mark-up: does the place have a license and if so, how can it justify what must be a 3-fold markup? That feels a rip-off.

    The room was large, comfortable, modern and well equipped.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit dated but bed was comfortable. Good location close to Summertown and on good bus route for Oxford Central. Bathroom very modern but dated decor in the bedroom. Staff were very lovely and friendly though.

    Friendly helpful staff..

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Marlborough House Hotel - B&B traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: