Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Marlborough Arms 3 stars

26 Oxford Street, Woodstock, OX20 1TS, United Kingdom

#7 of 16 hotels in Woodstock

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 240 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We thought it was a little on the expensive side and I think the toiletries and the type of coffee provided could have been better considering this. I thought the breakfast was OK, there was plenty of it and it was well cooked but nothing special.

    Excellent location with private parking. The check-in/out was friendly and fast and when I contacted them for information before we arrived the response was swift and helpful. The room as clean and comfortable and surprisingly quiet. There was lots of hot water and large towels, always a plus. We saw people enjoying a sit-down and drink downstairs but but we didn't have time. It was easy to come and go and felt secure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is really old, and it shows - from wallpaper that peels off, to water infiltrating the walls and ceiling, to worn-out carpets and beds and floors that are not straight, but at an angle or have bumps and valleys. We experienced a torrential rain the night we were there, and by the time we came back from dinner, there were buckets and pots in the lobby and on the stairs, all the way to the top floor, with water pouring down through the roof. We were very worried that we might find our luggage soaked, but thankfully, the room was safe. It's clear the place is in need of major repairs and upgrades, and while I'm sure that would be a considerable investment, I think it is, at this point, necessary.

    Very nice location, plenty of old charm and close (5 min walking) from Blenheim Palace. Very helpful, knowledgeable and accommodating staff (including with leaving our luggage there prior to official check-in time), and very nice and diverse warm breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Position right in the heart of Woodstock, and with its own parking. Angelika, the host, was very charming and helpful. Everything was very clean, and although no restaurant, the breakfast was excellent and there is a bar for night caps.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As with many listed buildings rather dark. The stairs not easyto negotiate .

    Good location but large windows faced Windows over the Main Street and double decker buses stop outside the front of the hotel where our room was located.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe the room a little dated but fine for an overnight stay.

    Excellent location with parking. Walking distance to bar, restaurants and Blenheim Palace. Just perfect

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was adequately appointed but the mirror and dressing table were too far apart. The water on the tray was too warm as in a sunny window. We weren't sure about the status of the bar downstairs. We went out for drinks when we would really have liked drinks in the bar area. Our room was at the top of the house and felt rather isolated.

    The position of the hotel in the town was good. The breakfast room was very attractive and sunny. Breakfast was good. The staff were friendly and helpful. The car park was a bonus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was clean and spacious, but one or two of the tiles in the bathroom wasn't laid professionally- but this is nitpicking as it is a 15 Century Hotel.

    We booked a room at the Marlborough Arms to visit Blenheim Palace, and the hotel was literally a stone throw away from it, which made it very convenient. We had a family room which was large, clean and spacious. The staff were friendly and made us welcome. My granddaughter and I enjoyed the breakfast. The hotel had their own car park at the rear of the property which was very useful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was quite basic for a superior room. Limited breakfast choices.

    Convenient location in the centre of town. Quiet room despite being on a main road. Cosy in the reception area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    B&B rate a little expensive but achieved because of position.

    Room very nice. Staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was excellent, freshly cooked.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    A warm welcome from the lady on reception. She recommended places to eat which was helpful. Fabulous breakfast, easy and safe parking, lovely and quaint building.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Since I do not travel to England but every other year, I had trouble with the heater in the shower. Instructions would have been helpful. (Just for us travel novices) The tub was great .Maybe a twin room at a lower level?

    WE have stayed her before and knew what to expect. It is so conveniently located, loads of charm and its higgledy-piggledy upstairs and downs stairs movement around the old carriage drive. We just love it and will stay again. They were doing bunches of renovations to the infrastructure but it was no bother to us

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    My stay was amazing and I loved the whole experience the Staff were lovely and went out of there way to make my stay extra special , the breakfast was out of this world and I will be staying again if I go to Bicester village or Blenheim palace

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for restaurants and shops in Woodstock and pedestrian entrance to Blenheim Palace. Good breakfasts, onsite parking and comfortable beds. Staff very helpful and friendly. Would certainly stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's an old building, which gives it charm, but my second floor room was not as warm as it might be. In fairness, there was a convector heater provided which I did not use. But the bathroom was heated by just a towel rail, which was not up to the job!

    Warm welcome, comfortable feeling, excellent breakfast. No evening meal service, but given a 10% discount card for us at Woodstock Arms, 2-3 mins walk away. Nice atmosphere, excellent food.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi ,very low water pressure for shower,custard creams (not what you expect for the price of the room !)

    lovely public area,friendly staff,excellent breakfast,comfortable ,spacious ,quiet room ,very clean.Location of property.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs!

    Historic building in the middle of town and within walking distance of Blenheim Palace. Lots of good "pubs" that served really good food, not pub food! Staff was extremely helpful with recommendations for food, touring little known local areas and gorgeous gardens.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive for facilities , rated 'luxury' but a little tired . Toiletries available in bathroom fairly standard/cheap for a 'luxury' accommodation . Bar lacked atmosphere , parking tight .

    Great location , character property , clean , helpful reception staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was up two flights of narrow stairs which made lugging our bags quite challenging. But this is to be expected in a 15th century building.

    Perfectly located for a visit to Blenheim Palace. The village of Woodstock is charming with lots of restaurants. The hotel is very atmospheric and the breakfast room is lovely. My son liked the waffles at breakfast. We had a family room which was large. Even though we faced the main street it wasn't noisy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Were not permitted to enter before 2pm . room a bit small. could not figure out how to use shower controls. quiet

    central Location, staff, breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All staff really helpful, beautiful room loads of character. Breakfast was excellent bacon and sausage really tasty. breakfast buffet excellent quality

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a Nespresso machine but it didn't work which was disappointing as we don't really drink instant coffee.They did, however, bring a cafetiere of fresh coffee to the room when we told them the machine was broken though so we shouldn't really grumble but surely the appliances should be checked between guests? If they had done so and simply removed the Nespresso altogether we would have been none the wiser! There was a kettle and instant coffee in the room but only one little pack of biscuits for two guests. We had to eat breakfast separately as we had a dog with us for the first night. That didn't bother us and it's understandable that they can't have dogs in the dining room but why, when I went in for breakfast at 9 a.m., had they already run out of croissants? A minor thing because overall the breakfast was very good and the young lady serving it was a real delight but perhaps a bit more attention to quantities when the hotel is full? We felt it was a bit overpriced for what it is but this may have been because if was Blenheim Horse Trials weekend.

    A very warm welcome and extremely pleasant staff. The location is great and they have clearly done all they can to make guests comfortable in what is a very old building. It was great to have off road parking so we could just leave our car there until we left on Sunday morning. It's in the heart of the village which has a great assortment of restaurants and the gates of Blenheim are less than 10 minutes walk. The décor is well thought out and the bed was gloriously comfortable with good quality, fresh white linen. Fantastic mobile reception and the Wi-Fi is good (and free)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was only B&B accommodation and although there were places to eat elsewhere, it would have been nice to eat in-house. Perhaps the owners could consider this?

    Very comfortable bed and room. Staff could not be more helpful. Breakfast was plentiful and excellent. Free parking on site.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    thought it was overly expensive compared to other hotels we have stayed at

    Lovely ground floor room, very clean and it had good size fridge and coffee making facilities. The bathroom was small but adequate for our needs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Slight noise filtering in from the road outside in the early morning but not too intrusive.

    Excellent room, quite large with all you need with good bathroom facilities. The breakfast was also very good wide choice of cereals, fresh fruit, croissant, cheese etc. as well as a cooked breakfast or porridge.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It didn't bother us but the Marlborough Arms is on a busy road so if that is a problem for you it might be as well to ask for a room at the back.

    The property is really quaint with a lovely ambience. There are two nice sitting areas downstairs and some garden seating as well. The room was comfortable and had everything we needed. The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were a little aloof this time, frantically busy even though there were few guests, and I felt were not as helpful as they could have been with a tired 73 year old - could have made more effort to get the room ready slightly early and make us feel welcome even though we arrived at 2.15pm not 3pm.

    Lovely charming hotel. Would definitely stay again. Nice comfy rooms, gorgeous bathrooms, and traditional living area / reception.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not air conditioning. The room temperature was fine, I just really like a cold room.

    The staff was very helpful. Breakfast was plentiful. The room was very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Everything about the Malborough Arms was perfect. The staff, the level of hygiene, the facilities, the food, the location. We were visiting Countryfile Live and the hotel was just across the road from Blenheim Palace's main entrance. We couldn't have wished for anything better.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    very comfortable hotel, nice quiet area to sit in downstairs. excellent breakast both the buffet and the cooked, served very well by a nice lady from Romania.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A pity the hotel did not offer any meals other than breakfast. It is, in effect a B & B.

    Attractive olde worlde atmosphere, but very comfortable, with good en suite

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect for our trip to Woodstock, right in the centre of the village & very close to Blenheim Palace. The breakfast was good and served promtly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really ...or to really nit pick, a thermostatic shower control would be nice but that's a very minor point and in no way altered our view of the hotel

    Fabulous bed, very comfortable good sized room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    would have liked to remove shower head from attachment to make showering easier. Hot water tap in sink took along time to come through. Shower hot enough.

    Variety of food on offer for breakfast. Very quiet at night. Lady on reception when we arrived (Sam) told us about the local eating places and which ones to try.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we did not like

    We were greeted with warmth upon arrival from the owners who were extremely helpful during our stay, we stayed in the family room which overlooked the Main Street, beds were comfy room was immaculate with tea and coffee facilities and cleaned on a daily basis, Breakfast was ample with a choice of contential and full English which was a good start of the day, this property was full of character and within walking distance to Blenheim Palace and some great restaurants our favourite being the Woodstock Arms. I would recommend this property and looking to return.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was surprised to find our room was outside in the courtyard with cars parked right opposite but on the whole other guests were courteous and didn't disturb us.

    Good choice from cold buffet and excellent cooked breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kingsize rather than douoble bed would have been preferable as we're both nearing 6 foot..which let's face it isn't rare

    Perfect location for a trip to Blenheim Palace

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in at 4pm is very late!! The twin room was a little small and there was nowhere to put our luggage that was out of the way when walking to either the bedroom or the bathroom (some shelves would have been useful). The television was also very small! I think the price was a little high for the time spent there.

    The reception area with log-burning stove is lovely. Our twin room was at the back of the hotel and therefore very peaceful. The lady who worked on reception was very kind. Large bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had long story and doesn't have lift inside.

    The family room had separate to two rooms. The restaurant had good view when sitting and having breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no help with luggage to room up two flights of small stairs to room at end of corridor which is more pleasant in photos, heating was not good on a cold winters night in bedroom or bathroom that again looks better in pictures than reality - horrible vinyl floor. constant reminders that check out was 11.00 precisely !!

    central location in the small town of Woodstock and private parking

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hook on the back of the bathroom door fell off and shower toiletry holder not secure - suction pads wouldn't hold my toiletries.

    Lovely inn in the heart of Woodstock. Staff were very friendly and the breakfast was outstanding, probably the best full English in a b & b we've ever had! Would definitely return. Thank you for a short but lovely stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have preferred an en suite but shower and loo facility was excellent.

    Did appreciate the private parking. Breakfast was excellent. Room was comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No evening meal available. Room not large, but OK. Expensive accommodation

    Very good choice at breakfast. In centre of Woodstock. Minimum reception staff, but polite and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit on the chilly side but a supplementary heater was provided. Toiletries were provided but a few extras such as cotton pads/buds would have been nice. The hotel doesn't do evening meals and a lot of local places were already fully booked when we arrived, so we had to hunt around a bit more than expected for somewhere to eat.

    The hotel is full of character with a lovely lounge area. We stayed in the studio, which was separate from the hotel off the car park. It was newly reburbished, very tastefully done and immaculately clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing ,

    It was lovely , the whole stay was lovely beautiful place and wonderful people and a brilliant breakfast to start the day off absolutely wonderful .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good, though for the price would have expected slightly more luxurious bathrooms, but was so happy with everything else, it didn't really matter.

    Friendly, relaxed guest house. Our big, family bedroom overlooked the street and was comfortable and warm. Great to be in the centre of Woodstock right by all the amenities.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a really lovely stay, the staff were very welcoming, location right in the middle of Woodstock, great recommendations for where to eat and a very comfy bed! Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The owners and staff were friendly and helpful. Clean, comfortable room. Excellent choice for breakfast delicious and well cooked. Quiet and relaxing, just what we wanted.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny single bed, tiny separate unheated bathroom

    Very pleasant and helpful young lady who checked me in etc Sadly the room was not worth the £100 If you turned over in bed you fall out !! And the separate bathroom was definitely not good !!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were looking for an inn with a lively gastropub. This place didn't offer dinner and no pub open. Dull and empty feeling. The plumbing was iffy, both shower and toilet

    The room was clean and quiet but no atmosphere. Sterile for a heritage property. And no easy way to drop off and pick up passengers or luggage, as it's on a no-stopping street.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike at all.

    Great location, comfortable bed and good breakfast. Parking is a real asset in Woodstock. Hotel generally very good and friendly and attentive staff on site. They recommended Woodstock Arms as a place to eat which was excellent and gave a 10% discount to Marlborough Arms guests. Malborough Arms doesn't have a restaurant just Breakfast room which is also used for functions.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very calm, so gave a great first impression after travelling. Staff excellent and friendly.room very quiet,overlooking courtyard. Breakfast lovely - Good choices. Excellent location for Blenheim Palace.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a major problem but water flow in hot tap was very slow and it took 15 minutes to run a bath

    Excellent breakfast, friendly staff, excellent location in centre of Woodstock

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'd have expected a hair-dryer in the room - unless there was one hidden in a drawer that I didn't check as I didn't need one. Advance information about the location of the car park would have been useful: we arrived in Woodstock in a stream of traffic and by the time we spotted the hotel frontage we were past the side turning that led to the car park at the back of the hotel and had to continue through the town some way before we could turn back. One of our friends did exactly the same, so it wasn't just us being daft. A shame that the bar had very limited stock, only bottled drinks.

    Central location but rooms were quiet. Lovely old building with lots of character. Comfy lounge area. Good breakfast. Easy walking distance to the gates for Blenheim Palace.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was some traffic noise being on the main road and rooms looking a little tired. Bar area nice but empty.

    Good parking and pretty courtyard for drinks

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At £150 for one night this was an expensive B&B (although expected for Woodstock). We were in a twin room, which aren't usually as nice as doubles. The room was very tired and didn't feel like 4*. For the money we were paying I would expect a nicer overall feel - touching up paint chips and replacing the carpet, which was very stained and a bit grubby looking, would help.

    Staff were excellent - very friendly and helpful with places to eat etc.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    lovely full cooked breakfast as well as continental buffet, lots of pictures and memorabilia on the dining room walls, beds very comfy. Excellent service

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit pricey for the general level of the hotel, notably in view of the decoration of the bedrooms - at least ours which lacked of the charm that a few pieces of antique furniture would have brought.

    Pleasant small boutique hotel, with a very nice lobby and chimneys. Generous breakfast. Warm reception in the evening (somewhat cooler in the morning).

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The accommodation was first class. The bed was especially comfortable. Wonderful to stay in such an old coaching inn that is steeped in history. The staff were especially helpful. Delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The breakfast was freshly cooked and plentiful, with a large choice of cereals, fruit and other items. The staff were friendly, polite and very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Marlborough Arms is a lovely building and the common parts of the property are attractively presented. I feel it would work well as a hotel or a pub, but it doesn't as a B&B. If you are offering a "luxury bed and breakfast" at the rates charged I think there should be the services to match. The premises appeared not be staffed beyond 8pm and so no assistance was available during the night. Our room was a good size and pleasantly decorated. But it was a warm summer's night to say the least, and for three hours I got no sleep. The room had no air-conditioning, neither had a fan been supplied. The temperature in the room was 26C at midnight and dropped only slightly thereafter. The sash windows could only be opened a limited extent and even so the noise from the traffic (often heavy duty-vehicles) persisted throughout the night. Another issue with the room was the shower which at its minimum temperature setting was uncomfortably warm and delivered as a dribble; any further increase in the flow brought intolerably hot water. Describing these issues to the owner brought a series of denials, but instead of managing the complaints or indeed visit the room she walked away leaving her husband to bring the matter to a reasonable if not over-amicable conclusion. We cut short our stay and moved to one of the Oxford colleges which was a very good move. The hotel's rates are exorbitant for so little staffing and a breakfast which wasn't really that good (the scrambled egg seemed to be made from powdered eggs or from chickens whose batteries were truly exhausted). My advice to the owners is if they feel unable to manage complaints then perhaps it's time to wind down.

    Leaving early and moving to Oxford

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My fault rather than theirs but I wasn't expecting a b and b from the descriptions I read - so we were expecting little extras like a fridge in the room and a telephone. It's a little pricey for a b and b but perhaps not in Woodstock, which is quite upmarket - and it really has a lot of charm and is all beautifully done. Would definitely recommend.

    Really friendly staff, excellent breakfast - especially good sausages - beautiful inn, very comfortable bed, great location. Liked that it was quiet too - no in-house bar like a lot of the other places in Woodstock, which meant we got a good night's sleep.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Believe £170 for a one night stay was over priced, but as we were attending a special function at Blenheim we were largely a captive market . Disappointing & surprising that no bottled water was provided at this price.

    Very comfortable beds , great breakfast and location. Very clean

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A restaurant would have been nice, but not a problem as plenty of choice in town. Couldn't fault anything else. Perfect for a night or two.

    In centre of Woodstock, very friendly, helpful staff. Excellent breakfast. We stayed in room 10, very comfortable with lovely bathroom, on the top floor, so not suitable if you struggle with stairs. We paid £119.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were a group of four couples away for a weekend together to visit Blenheim Palace. Large comfortable rooms; good breakfast and friendly staff. A lovely weekend.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I enjoyed everything. Weather could have been better to put icing on the cake but did not spoil my enjoyment of the area

    The proximity to Bleinham palace for our pre-arranged concert, easy access to the Cotswolds and the many local pubs for eating and drinking. Woodstock is beautiful and quaint and will definitely visit both Woodstock and the Marlborough Arms again.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of any negatives

    Beautiful old coaching inn with character

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel didn’t have cosy little bathrobes and slippers, which given its comfort and location would have just been a cherry on top.

    On site parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a too soft for our taste.e

    The whole feel of the place. Lovely ambience and cosy. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable room and delicious breakfast. Very easy walk around the centre of town and close to Blenheim Palace.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent in all respects

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On-site Parking, which is a huge bonus in this location. Not cheap, but compared to local competition, quite good value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very spacious and clean room. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no restaurant

    beds very comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful room with a stunning bathroom. Comfortable, clean and spacious x Room 10 is a true find !

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: