Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club 4 stars

Edinburgh West, Kirknewton, EH27 8EB, United Kingdom

#2 of 2 hotels in Kirknewton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1144 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Many small details such as buttons on lifts not legible, poor monitoring of breakfast buffet (allowing items to run out, Mismatched cutlery on breakfast table, juices appear to be watered down, ridiculously expensive sandwiches in leisure club bar, insufficient seating in same bar, Brasserie food poor for the price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its just tired, living off past glories , carpets are dirty and need replacing, I couldn't see the numbers on the lift they have worn off that much!! It just needs updating and it could be very good again.

    Bed was comfy and the staff/food in the Golf club bar were nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor signage for car drivers arriving in the dark, especially blue badge drivers. Signage is unlit, street lighting does not illuminate them, and it was impossible to find the Disabled parking in the dark.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff - hotel set in a beautiful setting. Great attention to detail to the little extras, we stayed here the night before running the Edinburgh Marathon, staff had out of courtesy put free bananas and bottles of water by reception before we left in the morning, with a good luck message to all runners. Would definitely recommend a stay here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were leaving very early and ordered a take away breakfast, but the breakfast set was a disappointment, just a banana, yoghurt and a croissant.

    Nice country club hotel for golfers. Lovely garden with a few large sequoias. Convenient parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s not easy to find the rooms, we got lost twice. Could be better explained or signposted.

    Our meal did not meet our expectations. We did not complain however the restaurant managed Royston, acknowledged I had not eaten a lot. We spoke to him and explained the reasons why and he was excellent. He accepted that the hotel look for feedback and always look to improve. He did not charge us for our meal. He was very friendly and we were very impressed with him and his staff in the restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the day was spoilt not by the hotel but by the people in it. We were on a corridor that accessed the main body of the hotel and until 04.30 there was a lot of noise and drunken behaviour going on outside or door or so it sounded. The pinnacle of this was the "people" in the other side of the adjoining door were trying to access our room at 2.45 AM which I can tell you is a little scary. Me shouting stopped it.

    the rooms were great with good facilities and as a golfer a beautiful setting.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall it was a lovely experience to stay here. No major complaints, but there are a couple of areas of improvement that would make the experience even more special: The cocktail bar. It really could be doing with a decor update. It was very dated and dull. We saw several guests pop their head in then leave again after looking around. Restaurant availability: We were told the restaurant was full on check-in and only the informal brasserie was available for dinner. We pushed to get a table in restaurant as we were there for a special occasion. Staff were very apologetic but couldn’t accommodate us and we were added to the cancellation list. Fortunately we got a call later to say they had a table free. When we got there we saw plenty of vacant tables. It appeared they didn’t want to operate at full capacity. For the size of the venue suggest they have more staff in the restaurant then they could accommodate all diners wishing to choose that option for dinner. Brasserie still looked nice though as an alternative.

    Beautiful setting. Excellent choice of activities available at the venue, including nature walks, gym, spa, golf. Delicious breakfast. Wide variety of options to suit all tastes. Staff were pleasant. I ordered a slight variation on the menu and they got it wrong, but they changed it quickly and with a smile. There was a large wedding whilst we were there but this didn’t impact the service and attention to detail we received. Quick check-in and pleasant reception staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly, I think the food was a little over priced, not excessively but I think if you want to relax in your room, you don't really want to spend 9pound on just a sandwich.

    The location, extremely beautiful scenery, exposed to the nature of Scotland and the weather complimented it perfectly. I personally love the country and even if I'm not much of a golfer, I appreciated the the beautiful area. The building itself is similar to a Scottish castle and is just a stunning piece of building work, very old fashioned. Yet the inside was modern and comfortable for the average traveller. I'll love to go back. I wrote a note to the staff requesting some more tea for the room, and they gave me loads more. Little touches like that are what makes a place memorable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’ve stayed in hotels with a similar room rate but was offered those little extras that made the stay special eg tissues by the bed, filter coffee, not just rationed coffee packs and complimentary bottles of water. Although clean and spacious, the room itself was noisy. You could hear everything in the corridor and I was glad of my ear plugs. This hotel is 8 miles/20 mins drive from the city centre so if you’re planning a night out in Edinburgh take the taxi cost into account.

    There was a good selection of food on offer at breakfast. The room was spacious and very clean. There were good facilities on offer especially if you’re a golfer. We were lucky enough to get some wonderful weather and it was a treat eating breakfast outside. It was great to stay at a hotel where check out wasn’t until 12pm.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was room 202 next to the stairs and the elevator. I heard people talking all night. I also heard a lot of banging from both upstairs and down downstairs and my window was right above one of the entrances to the building. Basically lot's of noise and a crappy nights sleep. I was hoping for some water in the fridge also. Just basic.

    Bed always comfy, breakfast was amazing and staff were delightful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No a lot to complain about. No yogurt for breakfast because of late delivery...

    The bed. Good heat in the room. Very Scottish and traditional, in a good way.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift was a little old and scary to use, thankfully our legs worked fine and used stairs mostly.

    Good choice of breakfast in the Form of a buffet. Very friendly staff. Prosecco waiting for me and New Husband in the room as it was our honeymoon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My wife and 4 yr old son arrived at 7pm, they were greeted with a very rowdy party, empty bottles and glasses throughout. They visited the restaurant where service was very slow and lipstick was noticed on my sons glass. I was stuck at work so didn't arrive until 11pm, the rowdy bunch still in full flow. The persons in the adjacent room were beyond loud, even attempting to access our room through the adjoining door at 1am.

    Hotel looked beautiful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Period Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit cold sitting in the golf course Resteraunt.

    Lovely place to stay, very pretty surroundings room was superb and in the old part of the hotel, bathroom was huge and golf course was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Period Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a very strong sound during some parts of the night. We called the reception and they said it had to do with the heating system. The sound was like an earthquake and made the room vibrate a little.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast table area not clean/ food on seats and a lot of food on floor- pet hate of mine is sittingceating whilst standing on old food/ cocktail bar disappointing although a very nice room and staff were friendly we felt that more effort could be made to promote the cocktails and maybe more attention to the glasses used. Just a small thing but makes a big difference 👍

    Atmosphere/ lounge areas/ leisure centre wasn’t too busy/ staff very helpful and friendly/ comfy bed/ location/ nice walks/ breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was on the cold side, that suited me, might not suit everyone.

    Friendly staff, wonderful gym, changing rooms. Our room was in the old part of the house and was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brasserie, service was poor, took almost three hrs to have an evening meal with only two courses and no coffee.

    Gorgeous old building. Oozes character. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Lovely golf course. Nice swimming pool and gym. Pricey but quality, you get what you pay for! Would go again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very poor service at breakfast. I left after 30 minutes still waiting for scrambled eggs to be delivered to the buffet area. Rude, under pressure staff who had very little command of the English language were unhelpful. A charge of £15.50 was overpriced by at least £10, in my opinion.

    Comfortable beds and soft, fluffy towels

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was great

    The breakfast was great plenty of choice The food in the brasserie was excellent and the rooms were very comfortable The staff were very attentive and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    2 people in my family are gluten free and the only option was gluten free toast. The jacuzzi did not work in the pool.

    The location was easy to get to many places in Scotland and also is very close to the airport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Second time of staying here within a week following return trip to Stockholm, would highly recommend paying for a room upgrade to main house, a world apart from staying in main hotel / Leisure side Staff, Breakfasts & Food really good overall, looking forward to using again when next in area

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast service was appalling. Not enough staff. Food not kept fresh on the hot buffet. Milk for cereal not kept cold. French toast came dripping raw egg. The staff were inexperience and dismissive. I may use the hotel again for convenience but will never eat there.

    The pool was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    How long I had to wait for hot drinks at breakfast (15mins) and had to ask twice and ended up with two pots. Had to wait a wee while to be seated at breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was clean and a good size, very comfortable bed, and all the staff were lovely. We were even a little late down for breakfast the next morning, but he staff allowed us eat and even brought us out a small bag of fruit to eat too!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed in Room 123 - Room was very cold and drafty even with curtains closed and radiator on max, with the exception of the main house the add-on hotel was generally cold and drafty Would recommend paying the upgrade to stay in main house

    Nice breakfast and food generally was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets are a little to be desired, and the dinining room must be too small for the size of the hotel as the main dinning room was fully booked when we checked in. I was disappointed as eating in thr main restaurant is a big part of our weekend away.

    The property is what I would expect for a country club. It is quite unique in its layout which, is quite fun to find your room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise started about 6am. Main areas could do with cleaning. Bed was uncomfortable, room dusty and cigarette burn in curtain. Lake of toilets in restaurants and bar areas. Beauty treatments need advanced bookings, didn't know that. Beautiful building but you don't actually sleep in main area. Cocktail bar only serves 1 page of cocktails and when I asked for one thar wasn't on said no.

    Staff were supper helpful, polite and friendly. Pool, steam room and sauna were great. Pool warm, changing facilities great. Food lovely, reasonably priced. Would recommend and use again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were guests at a wedding and had a thoroughly enjoyable time celebrating the union. Staff were friendly and helpful and the food we had at the wedding was excellent and beautifully presented. Breakfast had everything you'd wish for to set you up for the day ahead.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Period Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price of the alcohol was a bit steep, they could brush up on some small things like .. red wine in a white wine glass, close the interconnecting door between the bar and the restaurant, just a few other minor thing that would set them off to a tee

    Everyone was very friendly really nice place to unwind

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, mind you on our first morning there had been a wedding, but no pastries in basket, other food could have been warmer. Second morning no potato scones or black pudding, still could have been warmer!

    Room was very comfortable, well equipped, mind you windows were drafty.Glad to close curtains.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More thorough cleaning needed, no set menu etc at brasserie £25 steak with no sauce is a joke. Learn to cook breakfast sausages or do square sausages. Update decor.

    Cleanish

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food just wasn't good enough at the brasserie bar. It was way way over priced for what it was and really let the trip down. As there wasn't anywhere else to go once you were back at the hotel for the evening. There is an onsite restaurant, but we didn't try it after the 'cheaper' eating place was so poor.

    We liked the facilities, and the room was clean and comfortable, with good powerful shower. The breakfast was really good, with a great choice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Below our room there was heating & hot water boiler which was very noisy through the night. Our sleep was regularly disturbed.

    Room was of a high standard.staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On this occasion there was nothing staff are attentive from the gentleman at the door who went to school with Doggie the rugby player to reception to The cocktail bar to the pool staff The maids in our room was really good chocolate lots of large towels robes can’t fault

    I visited this for the Scotland V France 6 nation with clients this was a cooperate event and the full experience was shocking However the reservation staff contacted me as they were aware we have booked for the Scotland V England match with clients again and They did go out there way to vastly improve everyone’s stay We have the JR tower suits well worth booking really spacious comfortable contemporary style (old new) Our clients were really happy as was I

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn’t good and we got put a table right next to breakfast line wher people wer queued right next to us standing over the top of us

    Big comfy bed. Good room. And leisure facilities were really good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing...ok well the Black Pudding was just not for us 😀. But the experience was amazing!

    A little spot of Hear on Earth. The staff where amazing and so helpful to us. We felt pampered and well cared for. The place was just stunning.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Atmosphere, food, facilities, leisure options, comfortable bed, good breakfast and dinner, amazing surroundings, nice staff.

    I come to Dalmahoy several times a year and it is always a pleasure to stay there.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Children’s swimming lessons on a Saturday morning, which meant the pool was very hectic and busy.

    Staff are excellent and are very helpful with everything. Very friendly place, a warm welcome by reception staff and really comfortable beds.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No drinks in the bedroom so I went to the bar and ordered two small bottles of water and two small bottles of coke - £9.60p!!! If I stayed again I would definitely take my own drinks for the room.

    Great location and facilities. The food at both restaurants was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast to be honest is just ok, a lot to choose from but nothing that will knock your socks off in terms of quality.

    The place is huge, very well taken care of, my room with the queen bed, huge TV was amazing and the bed just hit the spot :) Gym facilities and pool are one of the best I've seen in a hotel on a business trip.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food is terrible and the hotel was full of children as they do Haven holidays offers. On arrival I was informed the restaurant was fully booked and you needed to give 24 hours for afternoon tea. We stayed in our room and had room service that was appalling and we received a refund the next morning for the food. Beware this place is shoddy and the staff are useless.

    Our bedroom and the cocktail bar.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel needs to stop using Booking .com as the hotel did mot have my booking not only once but on two occasions Eating is expensive for what you get W watch for service charges

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from room next door with young children running unsupervised. Ordered bottle of wine to be in the room on arrival as a surprise for my husband. It wasn’t there. Had to ask for it which dampened the surprise. was not give wine glasses for a bottle of wine that cost £20.

    Clean comfortable room. Paid extra for a jnr suite in an upgrade. With hindsight the panoramic views described of the golf course were nothing special and mostly trees and an old Potacabin. If you looked really hard you could see a flag from the golf course but to describe it as a view of the course is misleading.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If I had one criticism it would be that the shower was not powerful enough to accommodate the rainfall head it had and as I'm disproportionately large (6`4") there was not enough space for me (a small minor concern compared with normal sized humans).

    I booked the business trip as my meeting was at 9am to be held in the hotel. When I booked I was offered an upgrade which I accepted and had a main house bedroom, wow, considering I only paid £91 for bed + breakfast what great value for money. The room was very clean and tidy, the bed was an enormous super king size that felt soft at first touch but oh what a comfortable sleep. The breakfast, oh the breakfast what a choice which set me up for the day. Having read previous negative reviews on this hotel I find it strange that some people can complain, my room was enormous, yet it was comfortable and warm on a snowy February night so much so I had to turn the heating down. One last point I would like to make is the staff, the staff are a good mixture of local and international employees. The staff make the experience what it is, to be greeted with a smile on arrival, to be made to feel welcome, asked at every opportunity if there is something they can do for you and on departure offered to store bags or help to get articles from your room. The staff deserve 11/10. I have stayed at this hotel for the last three years when meetings are held at this time of year, primarily to avoid the traffic, potential poor weather and making sure I am on time for a meeting. This hotel may offer facilities best appreciated in the summer with an excellent golf course but do not rule it out as a winter getaway.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Inedible steak in the brasserie. They took it off the bill. Generally things could have been better - room cleanliness wasn't up to standard. The whole place could do with a facelift - old carpets.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture in bar area rather aged and you can feel springs poking through. Bedroom suffered from bit of noise from corridor - door slamming. Spa area more like a public baths due to non-resident country club members attending on the weekends with their kids. Noise, busy, messy and disappointing .....

    Breakfast was lovely, staff were friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the cocktail bar they didn’t have a lot of the ingredients for the cocktails on the list. This was disappointing especially for a Saturday night when the bar was busy !!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the bad out weighed the good on this trip. Upon checking in we were advised the main restaurant was fully booked but there was two others where we could eat. We took a walk to the other restaurants as soon as we dropped our bags off (circa 4pm) and we’re told by an older gentleman, at the restaurant above the pool, that we didn’t need to book dinner so we went for a swim. Now, unfortunately the pool was below the normal temperature as noted on a sign at reception (however nobody actually mentioned anything). The pool was advertised as having a jacuzzi and if it’s the built in section to the pool then I cannot class this as such as it appeared to be broken (if I have missed the jacuzzi elsewhere then fine). We spent a short time in the pool, around 40 minutes and went up to relax. We headed down for dinner about 8pm and were greeted by the same gentlemen who told me we didn’t need to book that a table would be free at 9:30. He suggested we try the other bar for food, only to go in and see it was full. We went straight back to the bar above the pool and said we would wait till 9:30, somehow he was able to squeeze us in at 9 (not sure if the first advised time was a delay tactic). We went to the cocktail bar (which was lovely) had a drink and returned at 9pm to be sat immediately as there was a choice of 3 tables to pick from. We eventually sat at the same table which was free at 8pm when we first tried to be sat for dinner. The older of the two waitresses then brought out bottle of wine and put it on the table. There was no ice bucket offered or brought, despite us seeing other customers with their wine chilling in an ice bucket. We then had to ask the younger of the two waitresses (didn’t catch her name but she was lovely) who brought us one without hesitation. We then ordered our starters and waited 50 minutes (9:50pm to just be eating our starter) no apology or reason was given for the delay by the older of the two waitresses.

    Hannah at reception was very friendly and made conversation whilst checking in. The young girl in the restaurant above the swimming pool was also very friendly and chatty (we ate about 9pm). The room was a good size and really like the fact there was a fridge and also an ice bucket in the room with an ice machine very close by, this was a very good feature!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leisure facilities. Went for a break with my partner. Pool was absolutely freezing so much so your couldn’t sit in it. (One of the main reason we chose this hotel for the leisure centre) Ordered room service which took over 1 hour 30 to come. Also had to wait over 45 mins for a table at breakfast, which I paid for when booking the room. Was told a member of staff would come round for tea and coffee during breakfast. Sat for 30 mins and still no one came.

    room clean and tidy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was a little too hard for me and the pillows a little too soft

    The staff were extremely helpful and cheerful. The Breakfasts were good with plenty to choose from. The staff even brought out a little cake with a candle and sung Happy Birthday to my Husband as it was his 50th Birthday.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I thought the restaurant food was just OK and not really good value for money. I hated the incessant flashing from the fire alarm system in the bedroom ceiling very bright at night.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Period Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative was finding out that we were staying in a very haunted bedroom. Whatever your beliefs on the matter we did not sleep very well because of this. You should maybe be told about this on arrival, but every guest is different

    Leisure facilities were very good. We only dined at the Pentland Restaurant and it was superb and great value for money. Room had some lovely extra touches in the main house itself

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Dalmahoy was amazing, there is so much to do in and around the hotel and the staff were very friendly especially Steven the manager who made sure our stay was special :) Would highly recommend staying here, we will definately be going back for stay soon!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely awful service. Nothing was open (spa shut at 5pm and none of the treatments were available during the whole stay, despite the fact this was the whole reason I booked). The steam room was cold, no water in the room, they forgot to tell us we needed to book the restaurant which meant we couldn't eat until 9:15 then when we got to the restaurant they couldn't find our booking and made us wait while they seated others. They sat us next to a noisy refrigerator and we waited over 30 minutes to be asked whether we would like a drink, while people around us were given complimentary water, bread etc we didn't receive these. After 45 minutes we asked to move as the noise was hurrendous. When we got to the restaurant we realised the reason we couldn't eat until (now almost 10pm) was because they couldn't be bothered to open half the restaurant (it was nowhere near fully booked). When we checked out the hotel then tried to overcharge us by over £100, duplicating our meal charges!!! Also the room didn't get cleaned until the evening when we were back in the room. I'm absolutely appealed by this stay which was supposed to be a special treat, we couldn't wait to leave. So stressful and I'm not happy paying 100% of this. I'm very surprised booking.com recommended this so highly.

    A fairly decent breakfast buffet

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights

    After two nights the bed was a bit saggy, soft and rolled into the middle a little. No bathrobes or slippers - would have been a nice extra tough and good to use at the spa and in evening to relax. Lighting in main room was x3 large - mostly fine, but one wall or central light option to give a bit more light would have been good for evenings (not just in the bathroom and hall way).

    The room was very spacious and warm, with ability to open windows to regulate. Clean bathroom and good supply of fresh towels and toiletries. Great family rooms with x2 double beds in one room. Fantastic breakfast - lots of food options, constantly topped up and even with 400+ over new year, only had to wait a short while to be seated. We didn't need lunch on a few days as still full from breakfast! Great pool and sauna/steam room. Lovely grounds to explore - great on a wintery snowy day too for!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor, plates and bowls were dirty. No soundproofing in rooms , we could hear child and parents in next room all night. Room decor very tired.

    Cocktail bar was very pleasant. Staff also pleasant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel seemed to be unable to cope with volume of guests at meal times. We were unable to book table for dinner in main restaurant and then other option closed early without any prior notice. Also took over 20 minutes to get a table for breakfast.

    Hotel was away from city centre contained within its own substantial grounds. Room was clean and pool facilities excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue we had was that the breakfast could have been a bit hotter. However, there was a fantastic choice and everything was feeshly prepared & our coffee was brought to us.. So not a c9mplaint as such.

    The staff were fantastic, everyone was so polite and they could not do enough for you.The manager came to the breakfast room in the morning as it was busy, we did not have to wait long and apologised for our wait, he was very pleasent and chatted to everyone waiting.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed wasn’t as comfy as I would want, location not exactly next to Edinburgh centre as it was stated

    The variety of food, freshly baked breads and pastries (amazing btw) dining room cozy, bathroom clean and adorable, fresh towels every day, overall cleanliness, staff very friendly, especially one Polish lady at the restaurant

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room service let this hotel down in terms of choice and quality of food options . Hotel management were advised of this and responded positively : removing the items from the bill and informing their team of the poor experience and to effect an improvement .

    Almost all Staff were professional and helpful to a high degree . Brassiere was a good eating experience as was breakfast .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The ambience of the hotel was lovely and the grounds very picturesque. Leisure & pool facilities were fabulous. We ate in the hotel for our stay and we were delighted with the food. My family and I will be back next year

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is really kind and helpful the place is idillic, the room was very good and my daughter and me we sleep very well, and the food at the brasserie is very good. I definitely recommend the hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very overpriced for what I got! Food was average in Sports Bar and then I got stung with a Service Charge automatically added to the Bill - £30!forve mediocre meal. Paid extra to upgrade to what turned out to be a very average room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish I’d have been able to book an upgraded room as the view from our room wasn’t great...

    Gorgeous Surroundings! Close to the airport, but far enough out in the country so it’s quiet and NO traffic! Plenty of Parking! Staff EXTREMELY Friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in a deluxe bedroom. The only down side was the mattress ......... It was comfortable but for my back it needed to be firmer.

    We were welcomed by Grahame at the front desk. The checking in was a breeze and he informed us all the facilities at the hotel. The room and bathroom were very spacious. The bar area within the hotel had a couple of log fires burning which made the surroundings very relaxing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked to see porridge on the buffet options at breakfast for a truly Scottish experience, but enjoyed the haggis

    Was given the opportunity to upgrade to a suite. Excellent hotel. Beautiful room with comfy bed. Swimming pool was nice and warm.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel has stopped the chef service at breakfast time and the provision of toast to the table. Parking was difficult on the first night.

    Room was excellent .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No glasses available at 4pm... no lemonade available at 4pm.. poor bar service.. breakfast was shocking! And service charge is a tip for poor poor service,cheating customer

    Like the location of hotel,easy access to m8.... dinner was very nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    £6 for a half of Coke is ridiculous, prices are too high for food and drinks, I've stayed in much nicer and the drinks were not that exspensive ! Breakfast could be a bit more organised, queues for 30 mins on the morning, where the food was the plates ( 15 ) of them were dirty and food was very average, staff were not great either, I never complain but the staff at breakfast didn't have a clue.

    The hotel is beautiful and the setting around it is stunning.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable Noise coming from another room like a toilet filling up (constant and did not stop) interrupted sleep and staff not interested when told

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was not great and certainly not good value for money. My friend is vegan and was served slices of beetroot and some spinach- terrible :(

    Service was good and beds really comfortable!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Building has been extended so lots of corridors, ups & downs. Easy to get disorientated at first but these are minor quibbles.

    Beautiful country house style hotel with gym & spa. Great breakfast. Staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel set in beautiful grounds with golf course. Fantastic beds and pillows.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very busy hotel, and the weekend we were there there were a lot of functions on. So much so we couldn't really get to the bar very easily. We had a long walk to our room from reception, and there didn't seem to be any easier way to get to the room.

    We meet friends that lived nearby and had a lovely meal in the restaurant. Great Location, wish we could have stayed longer. Nice bar area. Also great breakfast, ( but no porridge )!

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: