Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Forest of Arden Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4 stars

Maxstoke Lane, Bickenhill, CV7 7HR, United Kingdom

#5 of 19 hotels in Bickenhill

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1747 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Paid WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff need better training. 35 minutes to make a bottle of pinks when it's on special is ridiculous. The only staff who were great were the receptionists.

    Lovely views and animals roaming wild

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed not level so feet above head so not to good a night sleep Room a bit tired floor uneven

    Location and grounds are great Very quiet good facilities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only slight downside was that room didn't have AC, and the bar was very warm in the evening - otherwise was top notch! We instead elected to sit outside and open our room windows as wide as they would go!

    All staff dealt with in hotel were exceptionally friendly - leisure centre, restaurant and bars. The facilities at the hotel were superb, especially the gym and pool area. Only a 5 minute drive to NEC so definitely can't go wrong! We had a request due to our circumstances and the hotel staff were able to accommodate excellently. Would definitely recommend to others and stay here ourselves again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Drinks are on the expensive side. 2 drinks always exceeded £18 .

    the staff are excellent. The resturant is good. We didnt take advantage of the buffett at £25 as we prefered the menu. The food is well presented and we were happy with our choice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not easy to access any shops near by or anything else without driving.

    A generally very nice breakfast spread, especially at the weekend. Staff all very attentive. Lots of parking and nice surroundings. Only 15 minutes from the NEC. Restaurant provided a very nice steak.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very average and the bathrom was smelling of damp and had a terrible shower head! Water constantly changing temperature to boiling point during shower. No aircon in room

    The carpark was free and hotel grounds are very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liquorice sweets on the front desk where very misleading, I took two thinking they where foxes fruit hard gums, unfortunately I was mistaken. This ruined at least 5 minutes of my stay. Thankfully they had free water (not liquorice) on reception

    Lovely hotel set in nice grounds. Pool, and spa was really nice! Best breakfast I’ve had at a hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a shame there was no where you could go on the grounds to walk or even locally, but we enjoyed drinks outside from the bar with lovely views of the golf course.

    We really Enjoyed the swimming pool, and spa facilities, was nice for my daughter to have a double bed in our room as usually she has a sofa bed. Breakfast was very good, a great selection from continental to fruit and cereal and even omelettes which you could wait as they were crooked in front of you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside needs painting . Offer we received st dinner was no offer as we paid full price hotel just dismissed complaint

    Bedroom well appointed but a little tired

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows of the room could have done with a bit of elbow grease.

    The bed was lovely and comfy. The rooms are clean. Staff are helpful. The breakfast was outstanding, due to variety and freshness.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some minor cleanliness issues (dust on window sills and frames). Bedsheet had a hole (cigarette burn?)

    Great staff, good size room, comfortable bed, great fitness centre and nice pool/steam room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was above the loading bay for the laundry trollies, deliveries etc They were so noisy I thought our window must have been open but alas no, they were just very noisy.

    Set in beautiful grounds. Superior room was spacious and bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit worn (carpets, furniture, bathroom). Could do with freshening up/new decor. Room tea/coffee could be better quality. Breakfast not included in rate and too expensive to add on for family.

    Staff were very helpful, welcoming and friendly. Beautiful setting. Ideal location for Genting arena. Rooms good size.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a birthday treat for my wife and we were treated to a lovely cake and bottle of fizz, as well as an upgrade. What a lovely touch! We felt really looked after!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the grounds were lovely, there was no where to walk. The golf course was off limits and the surrounding woodlands were private property. The receptionist was very polite, but needed to improve her customer service skills and be more friendly, also put the customer first.

    The hotel is in lovely grounds, with lots of amenities on site. The staff in the bar were extremely friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms was adequate but a bit tired, although the bed was comfortable. Food (carvery) just OK, although soup was good and there was a decent choice for breakfast, including omelettes cooked to order which is a nice touch.

    Lovely setting especially (but not only) if you like golf. Lots of wildlife - deer, pheasants, etc. Good facilities. Friendly helpful staff. Very comfortable bed. Some of the food was good...see above

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    after a very long day at work and another early start due, I was kept awake until very late on the Friday evening as there was a wedding in the marquee in the back gardens and my room was facing the back so until the wedding finished at gone midnight and the music stopped it was impossible to get to sleep. People were then incredibly selfish and coming back to their rooms making lots of noise. That cannot be controlled, but perhaps the property should make people aware of the wedding venue in the back so rooms for people like myself who need an early night and some sleep can request the front instead.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    **NOT A BAD REFLECTION OF THE HOTEL** The only issue I had was the noise coming from the hallway for over an hour in the middle of the night - unfortunately someone got locked out of their room and was banging on a door.

    Breakfast was delightful, the room spacious and comfortable. Could have done with a little better lighting but we didn't spend much time in the room (as it is summer) so not too fussed! Boyfriend slept a dream. Shower and complementary toiletries was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We tried for over a week to make Spa bookings no one returned our calls, we also completed an online enquiry in the hope somebody could assist and to date no one has made contact with us. The reception staff were informed of this at the time of check in and did not seem bothered however they did call through to the Spa but we were unable to book any treatments as they were fully booked, very disappointing. The beds are not comfortable, the shower has no pressure. We booked a family room 2 adults 2 children and were only supplied with 2 bath towels, we requested two more but were never supplied with them leaving us to use our swimming towels. No drinking water supplied to the room and again only 2 cups which is no good when there are 4 in a room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although free WiFi was available downstairs, it wasn’t available in rooms. I would have expected complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel.

    Brilliant location, staff are professional yet friendly, breakfast was brilliant. Room was very comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    When booking in at reception desk, receptionist asked if we were visiting for any occasion - said it was our wedding anniversary. We were presented approx 15 minutes later in our room with a complimentary bottle of Prosecco, cake & strawberries. What a wonderful surprise - so thoughtful!!!!!. Staff were so friendly. Food delicious - variety of food for breakfast was the best we have ever had in any hotel we have visited

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    shower was a bit low on water pressure but that was about it!

    bar staff were very friendly, reception staff were okay, rooms were a really good size, good facilities, love the freebies in the bathroom, biscoff biscuits amazing!!! breakfast spread was huge!!! so much choice!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The main course was nice, but the roast potatoes tasted like they had been cooked the day before and re-heated. More than one table made that comment. Starter, dessert and service however were brilliant.

    We were at a family wedding and apart from the joy of us all meeting up again, the hotel was exceptional. The venue room brought comments from seasoned wedding goers that they had never seen anything like it, and that it was the best wedding they had ever been at. Staff were courteous, helpful and efficient and even though we only had one and a half days and a single night there, it exceeded our expectation. We would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel Décor is in need of some maintenance looks very worn in places, Arrived at 7pm to wait 10 minutes to check in as no one was at reception,card machine not working so had to leave card details on paper until machine fixed,allocated room only to find it already occupied & had to wait 15 mins to be allocated another room,visited restaurant to be told that it was fully booked & I should have booked a table, not made aware of this at check in despite asking about the restaurant opening hours,i complained to the restaurant manager who realised that one of the hotel managers had booked me a table & arranged complimentary drinks for all of the hassle we had had at check in, luckily for me he had otherwise we would have been left hungry.

    Grounds were lovely & very well maintained, Bed was Great as was the Breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely hotel in beautiful grounds. Staff all very helpful and friendly, lovely food and reasonably priced. Lots of free parking which is secure. Short taxi ride to Genting area arena, not walkable due to being dual carriageway and five miles but only cost £8.00 each way. Easy check in and out. Will be booking again when next up and have recommended to friends who play golf

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mix up with breakfast we booked via booking .com thinking we had breakfast when I tried to sort it out prior to arrival they told me to contact the hotel but the hotel would not deal with it because we had not booked direct. We had a lovely stay while attending a wedding there but went home with no breakfast !

    Fabulous location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in the room and no fridge. Exterior of the hotel building could do with a little tlc.

    The food in the restaurant was excellent especially the clementine tart. Club sandwiches were very filling in the zest bar. Staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. Room was lovely with a gorgeous view of the golf course. Plenty of parking on arrival. Room was ready early which was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms get very hot so a fan in the room would be good. Beds were too hard for me.

    Breakfast was very good apart from one day it was bad but it was very busy that morning. They will cook fresh omelettes in front of you which I think is nice. Philip (guest relations) is an absolute credit to this hotel and went above and beyond to rectify the issues I had with our stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise of the trial bikes when on the golf course and that the watering hole at the 11th was not maned and no drinks in machine when they new how warm the weekend was going to be

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menu could have more choice how ever the food is excellent

    Loved the room. breafast in bed is a £4.50 tray charge but I think worth it. Some golfing party was roudy but i dont blame the hotel for this. The grounds are wonderful as is the pool and sauna at no extra cost. A wonderfull stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our key card had deactivated so didn't work when we went back to our room. It was quite a trek from reception & we were in dressing gowns after having a treatment. We had to go all the way back to reception but the staff were brilliant. The Porter followed us back to our room in case it happened again & then provided complimentary drinks & snacks. We were also unable to reserve a table in the restaurant so it's advisable to do this in advance.

    Location is lovely. The room was quite spacious & lovely & warm. The bed was very comfortable. The spa is amazing & the treatments are the best I've had. All the food we had was nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stand outside the restaurant was unattended for 10+ minutes, resulting in a large queue building up. During this time several groups of golfers arrived and told people that they didnt need to queue and that they get a free breakfast all the time. So half of the queue just walked in. Stupidly I stayed in the queue. When I finally got in I was directed to the "reserve" dining area, which is code for "forgotten". I managed to scratch around some other tables to find milk and ate my breakfast in the dark, empty room I was sat in. When I left I could see that there were plenty of spaces in the large, light conservatory. I could also see that all the "free breakfast" golfers were having a lovely time, sipping Cappucinos (Why couldnt I have one of those?). If the hotel wants to take your room number upon entry it should man the desk at all times. Instead the paying guests got a poor experience and started the day in a bad mood.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and shower curtain smelled a little.

    The property was situated in a lovely location. Staff extremely helpful and friendly at all times. Food very good and breakfast catered for well. My room was comfortable but it did smell a little and so did the shower curtain as if it had not dried out properly. Overall though, I would recommend and definitely stay again if I am down this way.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An hour wait in the Zest bar at the hotel. This was for two breakfast muffins and two sandwiches, completely unacceptable even after asking twice how much longer the wait would be. Housekeepers would be very loud in the morning, could hear them down the other end of the corridor. All bedroom doors slam horrendously, not nice to be woken up by!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were stuck in an area with LOADS of families and children making LOADS of noise. Woke us up at 5.30 then they were allowed to take over the whole restaurant at breakfast. Also, no plates at breakfast to serve from the buffet, had to ask 3 times, also the bacon was sooooooo fatty and only just cooked. The lane on the approach to the hotel was shut. A taxi ride back from the nec cost £35 instead of £15 due to the detour that was not advertised ( I have checked with highways ENGLAND and this was a scheduled closure) we would not have stayed here if we knew the cost of the taxi was going to be increased during our stay

    The layout was lovely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The location of the hotel was amazing and the room sizes were lovely and spacious. The breakfast in the morning was great with lots of choice! Lots of parking as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bedroom was freezing cold even though we had the radiator on full heat all day and night. The pillows were awful. Far too soft. Very uncomfortable night sleep. Maybe offer firm pillows.

    I loved breakfast. The staff went above and beyond.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower head was set way too low. The radiator made a whooshing noise all night even when the thermostat was off and the pool and changing area were not well maintained.

    Breakfast selection was great and the staff were very attentive

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa facilities were nice but in need of some love.

    Friendly welcome, excellent breakfast, lovely rooms and view. Great value for our stay visiting Genting Arena.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower over bath with a shower curtain. whole bathroom needed upgrading Evening meal took over an hour to be served and was badly overcooked. heating was noisy - radiator in the room Swimming pool silly shape making impossible to swim when more than 3 people in the pool trying to swim lengths.

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room... the toilet didnt flush very well. The duvets/bedding was crinkly and noisy therefore waking us up everytime we moved. On the website rooms are allocated robes which we wanted to wear down to the pool but on request at Reception was told only Premier rooms had them but we could get them at the pool. When we got to the pool we were told only day spa guests could have them. At over £300 for 2 nights we were unhappy about this. The restaurant... the ambience and decor is lovely. The menu is good however very pricey considering the size of each portion. We had 3 courses and after spending almost £200 for 4 adults and 4 kids, we were left hungry.

    We were allocated our room 3 hours early which was great. Our friends travelling with us encountered problems checking in as part of my booking made via booking.com however it was eventually rectified. It was not listed as part of my booking. The breakfast was amazing. The pool area fantastic. The hotel had a lovely contemporary feel... especially the main bar area. The golf club sports bar has a fantastic bar menu which we used twice and the food was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of a downside, but if it helps the car parks could be bigger as the spaces filled up very quickly. The hallway carpets were looking slightly aged in my view / opinion, could do with being a little more plush.

    Bed was very large, pity I can’t fit that size in the space allocated at home.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not what you’d call a spa day. Very expensive and didn’t get offered a robe to relax in. This cost £260!!! We paid an extra £70 to stay the night and an extra £26 for breakfast. There was nowhere to relax and enjoy the spa day so we decided to come home. A very very expensive DAY trip.

    Facial and massage

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room smaller than I remember from coming years ago but has the hotel been extended to add smaller cheaper rooms? The leisure facilities look a bit tired. Loved the steam room and that the changing rooms were warm.

    Bed comfy. Food great. Grounds beautiful. Great blackout curtains. Quiet night mostly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the room was a little tired around the edges, just a bit dated.

    Staff were lovely, food was excellent and surprisingly good value and a great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed here for 1 night as attended a gig at the Genting arena. Beautiful setting, beautiful hotel. breakfast...AMAZING! Had a quick hour in the pool etc to.Will definitely be back if need to be in the area

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating turned in in our room before arrival and room checked.

    The heating hadn’t been turned on in our room, when we arrived quite late at night and we were frozen having just got back from Egypt. We received extra duvets in request and the following morning the manager apologised profusely and gave us a free breakfast and 30% off our bill. Lovely setting, fabulous breakfast and very comfortable beds. Thoroughly recommended!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only issue was the length of time it took for our food to arrive when eating in the bar and some of our meal didn't come but it was addressed and dealt with in an acceptable manor. These things happen and it wasn't a big issue.

    Liked the fact that there were 2 double beds in the room. Kids ate free. Nice pool area Comfy beds Fab breakfast Every member of staff was excellent, so friendly and helpful. Would love to stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedding and towels were not 100% clean. Black marks on hand towels & mucky marks on the bottom of the quilt.

    Very comfy bed, spacious room. Staff were generally friendly and happy to help. Bar food was good and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Adjoining room door was thin - could hear people in the next room which felt like we had little privacy.

    Had a one night stay for my birthday treat! Loved everything about the hotel! Our room was cosy with a comfortable bed. Friendly, helpful staff, great food (bar snack and breakfast) and in a beautiful location!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar was very busy and had uncleared tables and no glasses at first. Staff were friendly but overworked. Pool was fun but dominated by some noisy unsupervised children who were rude to guests.

    Room was comfy and breakfast was delicious

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dinner at the Bar & Grill below standard and super expensive, we sent it back, the service was alos quite slow. Astonished to find there was no free wifi included. The price could have included breakfast

    Excellent breakfast, decent pool, sauna & steam room, god bedding

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 201 was a Superior King size room with a view (of the car park) however it was also next door to a laundry room store plus all laundry deliveries were received underneath our room. We stayed two nights and on both days from the early hours of the morning we had to endure staff in and out of the 'laundry' room - trolleys banging through doors and doors slamming! Plus on both days the hotel received laundry deliveries - which I appreciate are essential - however the deliveries were long winded and in excess of an hour as well as extremely disruptive.

    Staff helpful, room facilities were good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When using a taxi that the hotel reception booked, they charged twice as much as a local firm we used later to get back to the hotel.

    The stay was all you could have expected.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located remotely but ideal for a short drive to the NEC. Wi-Fi also didn't work very well in the room.

    Friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating in our room wasn't working, and we woke up cold (it was snowing outside). Complained first thing but nothing was done until we checked out. At least the hotel gave us a discount.

    Close to where we wanted to be. Large room, comfortable bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was painfully slow in the bar area. Menu for the bar was limited and pricey. I had to repeatedly ask for orders to be brought, i asked for a menu and it took 10 minutes while the bar staff talked to each other. The poor girl on the welcome at breakfast was rushed off her feet. They clearly needed another person working with her. (She was lovely by the way!) My main annoyance was that I booked a twin room for myself and a colleague. Unfortunately when we arrived they had given us a double bed! I went to the reception and was told they had no twin rooms and to make up for it they would put another bed in our room. This i thought was fine until i got back to the room to find a camping bed on the floor which my feet stuck out of all night. Needless to say it will not be a hotel i go back to as i did not pay all that money to be sleeping on a camping bed. When i spoke to the receptionist i was simply told they have no other rooms and when i booked it did not guarantee a twin room.

    It was a nice place to visit, nice grounds and furnished nicely. I liked getting out of Birmingham into the peace and quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All of the long life milk in my room was off as was that of my colleague, the interconnecting doors were not very soundproofed so next doors loud snoring sounded like it was in my room. The rooms were Starting to look a little tired in places especially the bathrooms.

    The staff were great, bed was very large and comfortable, cleanliness was good, food and restaurant/bar was very good, and a great breakfast too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast table dressing (cups and cutlery) let the place down as a bit too fast food like. My wife wasn't impressed with the pool and spa cleanliness

    Comfort of the bedroom was great. The staff in the restaurant were very good and the food excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold although did heat up when I put on radiator. Rooms were extremely noisy with interconnecting door on mine and I found it hard to sleep with banging doors also .

    Breakfast was fantastic. Rooms were spacious

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing 😊

    Welcomed from the first moment, until leaving. All staff extremely helpful, polite and happy .. a smile goes a long way ! Happily return if I can find an excuse to ! A previous experience with a Marriott hotels ‘take’ on what acceptable for a child’s meal was disappointing.. this Marriott clearly understands the children’s menu is just as important! Happy child .. happy Mum and dad .. who will stay longer and spend more !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom windows were very poorly fitted allowing a very significant draught during a very cold weekend. Drunken guest caused significant disruption in the bar and outside our room during the night. He was removed but why continue to serve someone in that state?

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eaten here before and it was disastrous but thought I’d give it another go just in case it was a random bad night. Yet again - Service in the bar is woeful- waited 90 minutes for basic food. My chicken breast was full of gristle and cold. Even paying took more time than it should. Won’t be returning. The hotel layout is awe full but the rooms are comfortable except really deep baths, which required me to almost hurdle just to get a shower. I’m not that short, but I actually couldn’t step in or out if the shower without sitting on the side of the bath!

    Reception staff were lovely. It was the only high point of my stay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On check out we were shown the bill to find out we were over charged by quite a lot. We arrived late on the Friday night and we apparently had breakfast there on the Friday morning (which we obviously did not). The drinks were completely over priced. £10.50 for a ‘small’ glass of wine is ridiculous. There were no drinks menus on the bar or at the tables. Some of the staff were better than others. We dined in the restaurant on our last night and from out of all the staff working in there only two woman were great at service. Barely any of them knew what table was which or where food was going.

    The room was lovely and extremely comfortable. Really really clean as well and couldn’t ask for more. The breakfast was good and had a great selection. The swimming pool and facilities were great also.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a twin room,given a king size bed,fortunately was with my daughter or could have been a problem,had to be moved at 1130 at night as toilet didn't flush,second room only had small double so had to have camp bed brought in,showers very dated need a bit of updating.

    The staff were very friendly & helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the rooms are dated and the bath/mixer shower was pathetic and not what id expect for a cheap b&b let alone an expensive hotel

    the hotel has a warm feeling

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For what we paid, I thought it was overpriced, which is unusual. With Booking.com, you get what you pay for, generally speaking.

    Great breakfast. The chap who you order omlettes and fried eggs from ...it was like watching a master at work.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No bottled water in the room. No bathrobe. Woken at 6am by a member of staff trying to get into my room! When I opened the door there was a staff member, a woman, and a man with a bandage on his head looking for someone. Not good enough! Felt like asking for a refund! Food OK but not top notch.

    Nice view from the room. Large bed. Bathroom and towels clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furniture tired and worn. Feel it could do with an update. Exceptionally cold weather. Cold throughout hotel. Most people kept coats on in the bar. Only place that felt warm was the Zest Café. Room cold despite heating on highest setting. No heating in bathroom. Can't believe only single glazing. Staff tired to get us heater but had none left. Eventually supplied us with extra quilt which kept use warm and cosy over night.

    Hotel set in beautiful ground. Staff excellent, very helpful, polite and professional Rooms very clean and well laid out. Have everything you need. Swimming pool looked great, wished I had taken swim wear. Breakfast excellent with great choice of high quality food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was quite a serious disturbance outside our room at about 1am, resulting in one guest being expelled by the police. No attempt to apologise or check with us in the morning which I found a bit disappointing

    This place pretty much does what it says on the tin. It's not the cheapest, but you do get what you pay for. Room was very comfortable, breakfast was plentiful and of a good standard. Location looks pretty good, but was just recovering from snow when we there so difficult to judge properly. Surprisingly close to NEC and airport, but taxi fare is £15 each way which seemed a bit high to us

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some attention is required at the bedroom windows, old wooden ill fitting and drafty around the opening window, our friends had an portable heater, so they know there is problem, bathroom required an up date, cracked tiles, and around bath area worn. Then there was the fight in the corridor outside our room at 2.00am. Drinks a bit pricey, £5.00 a pint!!

    Location , pool looked nice but didn’t get time to us it, breakfast good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds could have been better - mattress very lumpy.

    Fantastic breakfast choice and staff really friendly. Free hot chocolate on arrival - on a very cold evening!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A drunken brawl outside our room in the early hours!

    The soft pillows, the double curtain in the bath/shower, the large TV, the excellent breakfast, good cleanliness.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stained bedsheets. Breakfast was rubbish, the Orange juice tasted liked it was 50/50 watered down . We ordered crunchy nut corn flakes but instead we got cornflakes with a small bowl of nuts ??????? .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a queue to check in that stretched from the desk to the entrance door which in itself was no big deal although one might be forgiven for expect that given the bookings for that day they'd have been better prepared. We decided to go into the bar to wait for the queue to die down. It was cold and dark and poorly decorated and generally unwelcoming. It had a woeful choice of beers unless you liked lager. I was told there was only Speckled Hen on draft because the other "was off". There were 3 or four portable oil filled radiators dotted around to unsuccessfully augment the totally inadequate heating system but all they did really was to add to the tacky ambiance and to things to trip over. The seating in one section was dangerously tilting over because of a leg that had come off. Despite pointing it out, it remained so for the rest of the day and evening. After checking in no offer was made to help with luggage, the room although initially cold was adequate but very average, Had to call for bath towels and robes which had been omitted. Again, tired decor, old bathrooms and obviously not refurbed since artexed ceilings went out of fashion. I had to keep reminding myself that this was a deluxe room in a Marriot Hotel. The function room was freezing cold, the food was average, the function bar was poorly stocked and the staff although friendly were poorly trained, thought it ok to serve Congac in half pint tumblers. I was told the only Scotch available was Jamesons or Jack Daniels.!! When I explained that neither was Scotch Whisky the staff did not seem to understand or want to rectify the matter. I took it up with Thomas, one of the duty mangers/staff who was very polite and after taking me to another bar where there were 6 or 7 Choices of Scotch Whisky, assured me it would be rectified by transferring some to our bar.( He even bought me a drink) It wasn't rectified though.

    The company I was with and the great band that played, not much else to be honest.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Forest of Arden Marriott Hotel & Country Club traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: