Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club 5 stars

Ware, Ware, SG12 0SD, United Kingdom

#2 of 3 hotels in Ware

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 800 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were incredibly polite and helpful, going out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. The pool was wonderful and breakfast was really tasty. We'll definitely be staying again when we are back in Hertford.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were very obvious stains on my robe, towel, napkin at the restaurant. Spa could have had more features.

    The rooms were very good quality and the staff were very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Manor House King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were asked 7 times our room number in one afternoon!! The "fresh " orange juice was from a cardboard pack and the food at the restaurant was very average. The restaurant had the cold atmosphere of a canteen .... Not at all in keeping with the beautiful building and surroundings. Dogs were sitting on the terrace's furniture which is not what you want to see before sitting in your evening clothes !!

    The staff at the desk were extremely welcoming and they even left a birthday cheesecake and message in our room for my partner which was a very nice touch ! We discussed few issues with the manager who was very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Throughout many public areas there were many dirty glasses discarded and they seemed to be there for many hours

    Beautiful grounds that were well kept. Very quiet and peaceful during all hours.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Manor House King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room although quite large was dated. Shower and bathroom well used and looks tired. Sunday lunch was a bit pricey for what it was. But saying that a good array of deserts and cheese selection probably justifies the price? Spa was adequate but fully booked for treatments so make sure you book before hand.

    Location and the actual grounds are fantastic. Good well sign posted and friendly reception.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The swimming pool areas was advertised as adults only between 11-3 but this did not happen, there were lots of children in the lane only swimming area not swimming lengths and nothing was said. The rooms in the hotel were like walking into a sauna resulting in very poor to no sleep, the rooms were a good size and had the weather not been warm would have been comfortable but I would not stay here again in the summer the heat was unbearable. Also the shower in the room was really poor - virtually no water pressure. Drinks in the bar were overpriced but would expect that but still think £12.00 for a glass of average wine is expensive even by hotel prices.

    Grounds and location were excellent, well maintained grounds and spa / swimming pool area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The children’s hours in the pool - they can’t be in the pool between 11 and 230 or so and that’s right in the middle of the day when I would have liked to take our daughter - kids nap in the morning and later afternoon so the timing should be tweaked. Also they need valet parking. One minor thing is the WiFi - you have to pay for it which is ridiculous when you’re paying so much and because of this it requires a sign in feature which meant we were unable to use our WiFi enabled baby monitor. WiFi should just be free with a password given to guests.

    Lovely staff we had a fabulous room - it was our anniversary and they sent us up a complimentary bottle of Moët which was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Manor House King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air-con in the rooms, they offer a mini bar service in the room but there is no drinks inside. When you call reception no one answers. When you have kids it is very difficult if your put in the other part of the hotel because you have to keep getting a buggy to the main part for breakfast, to use the pool area and for the restaurant. It is a long walk and very difficult. You have to keep calling for a buggy and it takes them a long time to arrive. There is no reception service in the other part of the hotel as its meant to be a quiet area but its very creepy. Some of the staff are friendly. The cast iron restaurant is overly priced and very slow service. Ive been to many hotels and the 4 star hotels are much more better than this hotel. Overall the hotel is beautiful, very big but I would rate the hotel a 3 star.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cast iron grill restaurant food is awful.....we always pay good money for our food.... but this is truly bad £28.50 filet steak no flavor and i have medium rare so it should have loads of flavor, microwaved jacket potato served hard that got sent straight back boyfriend couldn’t eat his either. Friends ate there steak’s but didn’t really enjoy! Four people £207 with items taken off that did include a bottle of red in the bill.pricey for 1 star food. Breakfast is okay i’ll give that a 3 star because of verity not for quality of food and the same for the afternoon tea (2 people) they bring up three finger sandwiches each had to ask for more and i hate that... scone wasn’t fresh dry or there brought in?? 3 stars because stuff were nice. Rooms big but 2 double small beds?? Who wants that on a weekend away you want one nice big bed unless you ask for that..... your paying 5 stars for the look of the building and the grounds not what’s inside unfortunately! This place needs an overhaul and to be down graded to a 3 star hotel I’m afraid I serve better Organic steak at home then this place

    The men enjoyed the golf

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow service of our cocktails & very expensive

    Beautiful surroundings. Lovely room. Fantastic Breakfast Great amenities Helpful approachable staff Definitely will return

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not DeLuxe as photo on website. Room was very small with a view only over a roof. WC was stained. Magnified mirror in bathroom kept ‘wilting’ so that you could not see to put make up on. Bed was extremely hard. Check in took about 20 minutes. Cousins of mine paid the same for their room as I did (there was 2 of them so the cost per head was half) but their room was large, with a lovely view. Room was extremely hot. A very disappointing stay!!

    Grounds of the hotel and the building

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi charged @ £9 p/d in room. Breakfast scrambled eggs were poor and overdone. Evening meal @ flat iron grill was very poor. Rooms very dated. Faulty and dangerous iron in the room could have killed me. Phone signal dreadful throughout.

    Setting and location is lovely. Staff very pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The swimming pool was unhealthily hot at 30 degrees - it should be cooler. One of the double beds sagged in the middle so we rolled towards the middle and did not sleep well.

    The food was excellent - we had tea, dinner and breakfast and it was all fresh and tasty. The chicken and leek pie was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for a room with two beds and consequently we were given a family room. This had a connecting door through which you could hear everything going on in the adjoining room - which sounded like a hen party! The restaurant was a disappointment, with food no better than a Harvester (possibly not being fair to Harvesters) - definitely not what I would expect of a 5 star establishment. Breakfast was alright but very expensive. And when we arrived there was no one to help with the luggage, so the receptionist left her post to help us - reception is at the opposite end of the building to the rooms and my 78 year old husband had enough trouble just walking that far. So we will not be using the hotel again.

    The building and grounds live up to the 5 star rating, and whilst I did not use them, the facilities promised much. All the rooms seem to have good views of the grounds and our room was spacious and the beds comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact even though I had called the hotel before and spoke with Stephanie who confirmed they had authorisation to take payment from my card they still asked guests and the fact they didn’t read notes so Maris the manager was so lovely and tried to do best he could but even still my guests still had a lovely stay

    I loved the way the manager Maris sorted out the mix up and gave complimentary wine to my guests

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The seating at the spa was somewhat limited, but it's really not worth complaining about too much.

    It's absolutely stunning, beautiful, and comfortable. A really fantastic retreat

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sleep quality was terrible due to the poor quality mattress used by Marriott in the UK. Back pain for both myself and my wife on first night of two night stay. Second night was spent on fold out bed from sofa, which while cramped, was much more comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Central heating out of control, cold in reception rooms and bedroom all evening. At 6am woke up to red hot radiators you could cook dinner on. All windows had to be opened in the corridors and dining room to cool down! Fould smell of burnt bitumen blowing on the wind from quarry or cement works next door, very unpleasant.

    Breakfast was very good, adequate choice and good quality. Room good size in original building, bathroom good. Downstairs sitting rooms good size and attractive period decor Plenty of parking nearby

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I checked in, I was directed to my room with my suitcase (no porter) to a route which was then blocked off due to a wedding. The wedding made the hotel feel very busy and there never seemed to be enough staff around to deal with queries. Long queues at checkout.

    The grounds were beautiful and the rooms were stately. Room service breakfast was delicious but expensive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The grounds were amazing and we enjoyed walking around them. We loved the room, although one bed was a bit lumpy. Staff were polite and courteous, Lovely location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked to stay longer and play the golf course in the dryer weather due this werk

    Staff were all very helpful and nothing was too much trouble

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a better system on checkout to avoid unnecessary crowding in reception at peak times . We could see our bill on the room TV but then wasted time as there was no further message to suggest we just leave as we agreed with the bill! A simple sign in reception would be helpful .

    Provided a good battery recharge for worn out parents

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Visited to celebrate sisters wedding anniversary, absolutely gorgeous building and set in stunning countryside grounds. Meal in the Iron Grill was excellent, followed by drinks in the lovely cocktail lounge. Breakfast was included in our room rate and was delicious, it consisted of a full self-service hot buffet, pastries, cereals, juices etc.. Also, my partner accidentally left some clothing in the room and only realised when we got home, a quick telephone call to the premises and the reception staff liaised with housekeeping, located the lost items and posted them back to us, very very impressed!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The way the large party of golfers spoke to some of the staff!

    Food quality was good, but the staff at breakfast made it feel relaxed and enjoyable, as nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs a refit, it is tired and certainly not of the right standard for the prices. Check in staff offered no help at all with our luggage despite seeing that we were travelling with two small children. We were advised to pile all our luggage back into the car and then drive and park closer to our room where we had to unload once again. Terrible customer service.

    Nice location and grounds

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Miss communication,being told at breakfast that breakfast wasn’t included when it definitely was.I had confirmation of this which was deducted from our bill when checking out but this should have been clear at the restaurant for breakfast,miss communication between booking.com and Hanbury Manor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was way too hot with no wall thermostat to turn it down. Made for an uncomfortable night. We were given two double beds instead of one king size which was disappointing. Also a bit of confusion over our dinner reservation and where to put sleeping baby in a pram. It was soon worked out.

    Great pool and spa - great for kids when you go within the family swim time. Although can get crowded. Nice breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were a 10 min walk from hotel in an old dirty dusty section of the hotel not connected to the main resort. Unable to use facilities such as the restaurant/spa with out having to wrap up and leave. Unlike other hotel users who could stroll down to the spa in there robes. Afternoon tea was way over priced for what we got . The restaurant food was average and overpriced. Breakfast was mediocre.

    The oak room/cocktail bar was lovely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very noisy. Our room was next to the wedding party!! Staff too busy to help. Luggage miss placed for 2 hours. Staff do not know the local area. Staff busy managing weddings and afternoon tea. You do not feel special as a resident. Attention to detail is missing.

    The look of the building and the grounds

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel absolutely packed, to the point where facilities weren't useable. Swimming pool chaotic, bar stuffed, dinner booked until after 9pm.

    Location was beautiful, and building very pretty

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were in the Orchard wing and the bath in our room was a little rusty but this did not spoil our stay overall.

    This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. The staff are brilliant, they are all friendly and helpful. Anita in the Cast Iron Grill was particularly lovely - nothing was too much trouble for her. The pool and spa area is clean and spacious and the quiet area is a nice touch. We will definitely visit again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food through out the hotel superb , good staff

    Bed so comfortable , lovely room, very friendly staff, great chilled atmosphere , would love to stay forever , breakfast superb also spot on with the price, so worth it 👍👍👍

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was the most uncomfortable I've had the misery of sleeping in for years, including a single, coffin,like, hostel, dorm bunk bed in Croatia last year. It not only sloped downhill on the diagonal but was lumpy and bumpy with a ridiculously lumpy mattress topper on the mattress. the walk in shower leaked badly all over the tiled floor, which was not made of non-slip tiles - dangerous in an accessible bathroom. Need a suitable surface in the bathroom for sitting down on to dry feet/get dressed - the wooden 'bench' was not suitable for that (too high with sharp edges and no grab rails). A second basin at standing height would be good - not everyone needing an accessible bathroom is at wheelchair height. The decor in the room itself and in the hotel is tired, jaded and boring. The restaurant is very overpriced for pretty average, pub-standard food.

    The accessible bathroom was pretty well designed - loved the shower (apart from its drainage, which was badly designed i.e. didn't drain well) and the well-positioned grab rails and pull down seat. Grab rails round the loo were also both practical and stylish. The bathroom looked luxurious and designer-y, rather than medicalised. The health club is lovely (but get in the pool early)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The main restaurant (Cast Iron Grill) is also where breakfast is served, and so tables and ambiance was simple and didn't match the prices of the grilled meats on offer. My husband chose the best steak on the menu for £29 but it was overcooked sadly, and not value for money. The menu was rather pub-like, and we would have preferred something that felt more special. There are extensive grounds but these are mostly restricted to golfers, so there are not many places you can walk.

    We had a wonderful, relaxing and luxurious one-night stay, in a standard deluxe room. We were pleasantly surprised at how spacious and comfortable our room was, with beautiful decor and a comfortable king-size bed. Check in was smooth, and staff had left some chocolates and cake with a personal message congratulating us on our anniversary. We ordered some glasses and a cheeseboard, and were impressed at the efficiency of the hotel's room service. The pool and spa was relaxing, changing rooms were clean and well-kept, and little extras like free tea/coffee and lemon water with magazines and comfy sofas helped us to relax. We were impressed at the variety and quality of the breakfast buffet, especially the selection of fresh (not from concentrate) juices and even sugar waffles! We enjoyed a tasty afternoon tea after checking out, and will definitely be back!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Truly the most friendly hotel I have ever stayed in and a wonderful experience for us all. Some of your staff such as John were amazing and we were thoroughly looked after!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We was put out in garden court very dusty and stained sheets Telephone didn’t work properly Struggled to get the cart to take you to main reception For the money wouldn’t recommend to stay here to anyone the area we stayed in most disappointed

    Views

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have a few allergies, and while eating in the restaurant (grill) I asked for a gluten free menu (there wasn't one) for a hotel of this size I would expect a gluten free menu. I was then given my options and chose a T-bone with mushrooms (instead of chips as they were not suitable for my allergy) my meal arrived with chips (and I was told they were fine) then they were taken away and extra mushrooms were brought over a little while later. The food I was given was really tasty but a steak and mushrooms is not a full meal in my opinion. This was a real shame as most of the staff were really friendly and helpful.

    Lovely hotel, the leisure centre was beautiful and the staff there were very friendly. The room was excellent and very quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to wait longer than expected to check into the rooms. The bathrooms didn’t have walk in showers. If you are dissabled

    The afternoon tea was very good. The staff very attentive The location was lovely with nice surroundings.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar drinks are expensive at over £9.00 for a single gin and tonic. Spa area and pool is full of day guests and children with no preference for hotel guests. They have a lovely secret garden but have let it to go to rack and ruin. Room furnishings are very old fashioned with a tiny t.v.

    The grounds are lovely and the place is quiet. Golf course looks nice but I don't play so can't recommend it. The grill restaurant has improved.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I've been here four times Hostile gas service station staff Disrespectful travel lodge quality management Guests who act mentally ill I've emailed the ceo

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that our prestige room had had a leak overnight before or arrival and at the point of check-in, a painter was still in there trying to finish covering it up. The hotel had not bothered to call us that morning before we travelled to make us aware of the situation. Being unable to stay in a paint fume-filled room, the hotel fully expected that it would be easier to placate us in person with a ‘standard’ room instead as that is all they had available. They had no equivalent or better room available than the one we had booked. It’s exceptionally poor customer service and downright sneaky behaviour to not have made us aware of the situation before we had made the hour-long drive to get there. As a result, we had to find another hotel on booking.com at 3pm in the afternoon that would take us at such short notice. Not the most relaxing start to a mini-break.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing I can think of was lack of aircon but it was nicely warm on a cold winter day so that wasn't relevant and the rooms have opening windows. Slightly away from any tourist or business centre.

    Everything very high standard. Great comfy bed and large room. Good restaurants and lovely grounds with quality golf course.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little too cold around the swimming pool, and more loungers needed. Also spa treatments fully booked 1.5wks before we arrived.

    Staff, food, location and grounds.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could have been cleaner. Behind the desk in the bedroom was disgusting and clearly hadn't been cleaned in a very long time.

    Beautiful facility, decorated well and all in good taste for the style and age of the building.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having asked to change rooms immediately after check in at 3pm, due to a humming noise it wasn’t until 7pm when we were finally given the option of moving rooms. We were first told to wait until after 4pm to see if th noise stopped once the workmen left. We were then told they would see if a maintaince man could fix the noise and were told they were fully booked so it would be hard to move us rooms. Not the romantic relaxed break we were after. When we finally changed rooms, we were happy but what a long process! Phone didn’t work in room either so we had to keep visiting the reception desk!

    Lovely pool

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Afternoon tea overrated - great setting but awful sandwiches! Bed was a bit flimsy, not solid- we Had a family room and I shared a bed with my 7 year old...it was rickety..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Manor House King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was as usual too hard for me, but that's my personal preference. Ditto the pillows, asked for and got feather, but quite hard - always take my own anyway. It was half term, so probably busier than usual in the swimming pool. Refurbishing the ground floor completely in the old house so workmen started at 8.00am, but that will pass.

    Superbly trained staff, always say hello when passing anywhere. Spa treatments excellent from really nice girls. Staff always attentive especially when eating anywhere around the venue, i.e. afternoon tea in The Oak Room or in the restaurant. Very clean throughout. Grounds well kept and of course the golf course looked inviting but too wet to play for long - it is February !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Manor House King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the room: the bath / shower needs updating. A note/ menu for selection of teas should be put in the room. For tea a cup and saucer is needed. Headboard needed for the bed. Cushions for the sofas (as they are very low).

    The location, king room , facilities were great. The staff were friendly and attentive. After 7pm the swimming pool no children are allowed. The changing rooms have shampoo, conditioner, body wash in the shower rooms. There’s a steam room separate for ladies and gents. The room: Free still water is given inside the room. The room was serviced early and daily. Room service took was fairly quick. Big king room with lots of space. I liked the traditional theme throughout the hotel and room. Bathrobes and slippers were given inside the wardrobe.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lighting in the bedroom did not permit the running of a single low-light lamp, which called for improvisation as our granddaughters were sharing the room. All lamps except for the bedside one were run through the room's main lighting switch. The bedside lamp was large and too bright to allow us to read in bed without disturbing the children.

    Staff (with one minor exception) were friendly, happy and helpful. Decor and furnishings were of good quality and generally in good condition. The extensive grounds were amazing. The health spa including gym and swimming pool, included in the price, were wonderful and we made good use of them. Room service meals were good value and served promptly by friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only downside, and I'm being picky, is that there were three of us in the room but only two cups and tea and coffee provided for two guests. However, this was quickly rectified with a phone call to the services team.

    The room was spacious and clean, the beds were very comfortable and the staff were incredibly helpful. The swimming pool was lovely and warm and the spa facilities looked good (although I didn't use them this time).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred to be in a room in the hotel instead of the walled garden buildings where the walk to hotel was through muddy areas etc (albeit there was a golf buggy transfer on request)

    The food was much better than expected, very reasonably priced drinks given the location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The awful smell coming from drains, guests in room next door keeping us awake until 2 am fighting in the halls, staff displacing our payment, so unable to leave the property at check out, until CCTV had been reviewed, which made us late to pick up our children, as the situation stands we will not be reccomending to anyone.

    The bed was wonderful, and room was really nice, property maintained well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free Wi-fi in all rooms and areas should be common place when you’re paying for a room in a place like this

    Amazing grounds, good food and nice facilities including the spa. Room was very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Manor House King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A days march and two lifts to get to our room.

    Staff were fine and coped well with a returned non eatable steak. Apologies and “No problem, just choose something else. “

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is set in lovely grounds with plenty of things to see on walks around. The food was fantastic. The staff were so polite and very friendly and welcoming. I asked to change my room because I didn't like the layout and the staff went above and beyond to accommodate me. The bed was super comfy. Swimming pool and facilities were great and the whole place was really clean. Nothing to fault at all. Can't wait to go back for a second visit.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Manor House King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were not enough nice places to sit and enjoy a coffee most of the tables were reserved for afternoon tea , The bar was more like a restaurant , not a place to enjoy a nice evening drink , but the biggest disappointment was there was snow on the ground outside and none of the fires were lit , only in the evening ...we went for nice walk and thought have a nice coffee in front of fire but it wasn’t lit anytime during our stay only in the eve for a short time

    It was a lovely property , thw Bedroom was excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's like staying at a grand friend's house - our room was probably decorated some time ago, but it was done in such a classy way - an attic room with tongue and groove painted panelling, a huge bed, large bedside tables and oversized lights - that, despite being a bit tired, it still looks good. The staff were super-friendly and it was a very comfortable and luxurious stay. Thanks!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Manor House King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being woken up by drilling underneath our room and not being warned about the building works. Having breakfast in bed with the loud drilling sounds, not the relaxing morning I had hoped for!

    Beautiful building and grounds. Staff were great. Food in restaurants was delicious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We entered a room which had a note for someone else. The kettle was broken. There was a random fire alarm that went off on the first morning while we were still asleep which was an abrupt wake up call. Food was very expensive. Hair was stuck to the shower head from someone before. Our bathroom had a big window by the side of the toilet which looked down on to the front entrance which if you forgot to pull the blind down beforehand could have been very embarrassing. The room was very nice though and all the staff were very pleasant.

    The bed was beautiful and the bath was great. Had a very peaceful night sleep on the second night. Breakfast buffet had a really good selection and the staff were always happy to help.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa-was not Good, had got a treatment done-not upto standards.u pay so Much for a treatment and what we got was not good.

    Good ambience, nice place

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pricey! But you do pay for what you get!! still very worth it!

    Amazing location, beautiful room & lovely facilities. Stayed with partner & two children & had entertainment from 10pm until 2am. The fireworks display at midnight was amazing! Will be back next year 100%. Very well catered for with kids. So impressed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was well below standard for a 5star, pitiful shower, old bath and shabby shower head, luke warm water. Old toilet flush system useless, tired and cracked tiling. Old lighting. Tea tray poor, one teabag one coffee sachet. Whole stay appalling expensive for the standard of the room.

    The beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We called the hotel earlier in the week to find out what facilities were available for our cocker spaniel.. We were told we could sit in the golf bar area.Great we thought On arrival there were NO facilities for dogs at all. We had to order room service as there was no where else for us to go and eat. Food was cold when arrived. We were offered to sit in the hotel shop and have cup of coffee.!! Not a 5 star. If you have a dog and would like a restfull and relazing stay do not choose this hotel.

    Room was comfy . Grounds around hotel was nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Manor House King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Complicated Menus on the ordering side try to hide extra charges and fees as good as they can. Didn't clarify at all what is actually included in the price of the room, you had to find out yourself.

    Extremely helpful and polite staff, very unusual for United Kingdom. They respont to anything that left or overlooked immediately. The breakfast was highly rated included in the price, one of the best we had. Liked the pool and the sauna although the Jacuzzi was small for the amount of guests. Recommended to try the Queen Afternoon Tea in the Zodiac room, if you can afford it!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There simply wasn't anything we can fault. It was all perfect.

    The property was perfect for the Christmas stay. Actually it was ideal!! Lovely manor hotel with the superb facilities, grounds, location, and interior. It ticked all the right boxes for the ideal Christmas. It was how we would like our every Christmas spent. The hospitality and service was first class. The food was out of sight and for comfort, it was luxurious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't like the food on Christmas Eve, went with party of 14. Two children didn't like the food & 4 adults couldn't eat it, didn't want to make a fuss Christmas time, shame, spent a lot of money.

    Fantastic room with lounge was brilliant

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    have enjoyed every visit to hanbury, staff , surroundings, spa never fail to make me feel I've had value for money and always leave relaxed and satisfied

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The main building was pretty big and spread out. We were provided with a plan when booking in. Essential! Even so we did get lost several times as the interior signage could have been better. The main car park was away from the main building. Stop at the main entrance to unload your luggage!

    The meals were good, with a choice of two restaurants and bars, together with another venue for afternoon teas plus a bar. Yes, the croissants were good and the beds were very comfortable. The whole place, at least the parts of it which we saw, was excellently furnished and immaculate.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Prices of food and drink were extortionate. 2 cocktails £28 plus service charge!!! Room service breakfast which equated to 2 eggs, 2 mini cereals, 2 orange juices and 2 teas - £36, even the poor man who delivered it looked embarrassed to be charging me that!!!! Had a 'signature' treatment in the spa to the tuneful note of £115, nothing signature about it and the room I used to shower off my treatment was the grubbiest thing I've seen.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was interconnected with another room. The other people were so loud at 1am we had to call reception a few times then we were awake majority of the night really disappointed

    Nice setting and restaurant

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Grill restaurant ambience is great for breakfast but lacks any intimacy or “ grown up” feel / area- especially at the only time we could get booked at 6.30pm and 9pm would have been too late to sit down . The portions were minute and expensive- I had a smoked salmon starter which was a single layer small square of salmon covered with lots of leaves for around £10-£12 .The ribeye steak was small, tough and “sour” - totally inedible. Although friends who had the rump steak enjoyed theirs. My husband’sportion of fish for main course was again extremely small . The maitre d’ did graciously deal with my dissatisfaction & take off cost of the steak and a pud without quibble but I was left hungry till next mornings breakfast having also missed lunch in anticipation of a Lovely dinner! In summary Dinner is NOT good value for money here and make sure you’ve had lunch! As there is little option but to dine here given the Hotel’s location I wouldn’t stay here again due to that alone

    Friendly & attentive staff throughout Hotel despite being extremely busy in all areas when we stayed! Spa was maintained well and had a peaceful ambience even in pool which was excellent.Fantastic breakfast with huge selection which was much appreciated ( especially after a meagre supper experience)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waited for the one receptionist to find us a room Took her 20 min and this is 5 star ? She had to wait for a manager to approve her upgrade to the only available room. Restaurant was noisy and service very poor Food over priced but tasty Room not clean Shower hadn’t been cleaned Used plaster in plug ! Very crazy breakfast restaurant. Much like a very budget set up and not at all relaxing and poor food quality Disappointed and certainly poor value for what we paid Had difficulty finding a staff member to complain to and at check out we were in a rush as they are so slow in reception we really didn’t want to slow things further A shame Won’t use again

    Room was big but I think we were upgraded as they hadn’t allocated us any room? Setting is lovely .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place but we had dogs barking outside our room in the garden for half an hour at night and had to complain

    Spa area was fantastic, views were amazing and breakfast delicious

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our main meal in the cast iron restaurant took way too long to arrive & we had to tell the waitress how long we had been waiting!

    The nice touch by having a birthday message for my partner.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing to dislike how can you if it is a nice place to go to relax

    A very helpful toward deaf people and well aware and prepared of in needs of equipment and staff at the hotel and spa are great to help if any needs. I liked everything there it is a great place to go

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: