Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of St Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4 stars

St Pierre Park, Chepstow, Monmouthshire, Chepstow, NP16 6YA, United Kingdom

#7 of 15 hotels in Chepstow

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 894 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel got our room wrong when we arrived so we had to complain. The room we were given smelt of damp. Wasn't overly impressed with the food in the Grill, I think the food was slightly overpriced. Several people we were with complained about the price if the drinks.

    Brilliant staff, lovely location, nice (but not amazing) food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not told at time of booking that the Morgan's restaurant would be closed on the night of our visit. The food at the Cast Iron Grill was very disappointing and service was extremely slow. In the service booklet in the room it states that breakfast on a weekday was served until 10.30. We arrived for breakfast at 9.50 and were told we would have to grab something quickly as breakfast closed at 10. We were looking forward to a leisurely breakfast but had to rush.

    Room was very comfortable and quiet. Leisure facilities were good and most staff were friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food didn’t come out very hot from the” cast iron” bistro. It was very plain and lacked flavour

    Excellent facilities especially the gym and choice of dining options. The lakeside room was peaceful and relaxing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sign for not unloading luggage would be better positioned at the car park not at the reception doors.

    The room was spotlessly clean, the bed was very comfortable, the in-room accessories were plentiful, the entire hotel grounds are peaceful with beautiful scenery.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would've loved a bath robe but maybe that comes with a more expensive room?

    The bed in our lakeside room was huge and very comfortable! Wonderful pillows too. Loved having takeaway cups - meant I could make and take a cup of tea with me when I was up and out early in the morning!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a little dated, the pool was a little dated too.

    Location is fantastic! Can't fault the staff, very polite, smart and went out of their way to make us feel special as it was our anniversary. We were given a room upgrade and our room had a plate with 'Happy Anniversary' written in chocolate with strawberries and blueberries, accompanied by a hand-written card and swan-heart towel arrangement on the bed was a lovely touch. The Cast Iron bar and Grill is a Lovely eating establishment! Food was tasty and cocktails even better! And the staff gave us a free glass of prosecco as we were celebrating. The spa is very relaxing and the staff their made you feel relaxed and calm.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn’t great. The whole block we stayed I could do with a good vacuum and some tlc.Very noisy both from other guests and also the extractor fan from the nearby kitchen which sounded like a plane taking off!

    Lovely setting surrounded by beautiful grounds

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast service was very poor. Had to wait several times for buffet to be replenished. Chef behind counter was quite rude and not helpful. Also we asked for a room with a view of the lake which we had but was disappointed that this was not in the main hotel. Instead we were in what seemed like a bustling chalet set away from the hotel. Room was nice but we fee l not value for money. If we were there on golfing trip then this would have been fine but not for a couple on a night away.

    Main hotel was very nice. Dinner very good in restaurant.setting very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need a wider range of Gins and then it would be perfect haha!

    The hotel was amazing. Came to wales for a little break away for 2 nights with my partner. Hotel facilities were brilliant. Staff were lovely. The food in the hotel in the Cast Iron restaurant was amazing. Rooms lovely, spacious, big tv, lovely view of the courtyard, amazingly clean and comfortable. Absolutely amazing hotel and plot we were amazed when we pulled up. Definitely recommend 10/10 for everything. Would definitely visit again!! Oh almost forgot, deffo pay for the buffet breakfast, absolutely amazing!!! We had about 5 breakfasts each morning!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Regarding the hotel itself our only complaint would be that the room we had was an adjoining room and the people next door stayed up most of the night, giving us little sleep. Not much we could do about it but in the future we would request one without an adjoining door (the first night of our stay it was not an issue). A separate issue was that the evening service in their restaurant was really poor on the night that we went, with staff who were either inattentive or simply could not handle their zone. We also had to send food back; the waitress was good at that time, but nowhere else to be seen for most of the dinner.

    Facilities were great, we enjoyed the use of the gym, pool, sauna and steam room. The breakfast was also very good both mornings.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved the hotel inside and out, beautiful exterior and lovely landscape , and it had a long history.Staff friendly , attentive and helpful. Lovely food with a lot of choice. We would definitely return .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    My issue was with the catering on offer. I stayed on 28 May 2018 (a bank holiday). The main restaurant is apparently only open for dinner on a Fri and Sat which I find bizarre in a hotel. There is then a restaurant attached to the spa where I have eaten previously and is at best average. However on the evening of my stay we could not eat until after 8.30 which was too late for us. We were directed to the Trophy Bar which is a glorified burger bar for golfers. Hence I was not satisfied with the catering arrangements.

    The room was just fine. No problem there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Group
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool could be open all the time :-)

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed for 2 nights. It was wedding of my friend. Place was very clean and very nice :-)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No big deal but I would have preferred to be in the main building not in the Lakeside Village. Also there were alot of insect in the swimming pool.

    It's a lovely place with a great breakfast, staff are nice and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was tricky. Made enquiries at 6.30pm Restaurant fully booked until 9pm. Suggested we try the Grill. Staff ignored us there so we sat outside and had a drink, as no one served us we tried to secure a table inside only to be told the were no tables available (looked like half the tables were empty at the time) and we should order food in the trophy bar. Ordered dinner at 8pm still no food by 8.45pm. Reminder seemed to prompt the kitchen and finally had our meal. Can't recommend any of the eating options.

    Incredible historic buildings and serene location. We stayed in a villa overlooking the water and loved our room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool/spa is difficult to find as it is located at the very back of the property where you must walk through a restaurant to get to it. One particular member of staff in the pool area was extremely rude demanding my wife and I leave ten minutes prior to scheduled closing time, glared at us as we got out of the pool and dried off, and then preceded to follow me in to the changing room and glare at me without another word while I changed. It was a shame because the rest of the stay was faultless.

    Most staff were very helpful, restaurant had great food at a more than reasonable price given the quality, breakfast was a typical breakfast buffet but everything was fresh and of good quality, and the overall facilities exceeded expectations for the price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed wasn't particularly comfortable - mainly due to the waterproof covering making it very hot. Wedding party using bar - just so many people to wait behind so think they should have had their own bar to use. A more varied bar snack selection would be appreciated - especially covering some gluten free options (we decided to eat elsewhere).

    The member of staff that checked us in was exceptional - she could not have been more helpful so please pass on our thanks. There was a very loud wedding part and they consumed the Trophy bar on the Friday afternoon so this was disappointing so we choose to eat and drink at another venue. The massage was amazing. The pool was a little dirty and run down but was ok, it wouldn't stop me from coming again for the right price. The hotel is approx. 3 miles from the centre of Chepstow so get had to get a taxi in, not a problem, just worth noting. Beautiful countryside among the golf course.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to get into bistro ...had to wait. Wine hugely overpriced and not very good either. Restaurant too fussy unless special occasion.

    Room. Bed. Breakfast. Staff. Setting.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    No aircon in the rooms so our south facing room got very hot and the window only opened a crack resulting in a very hot night.

    Very comfortable large hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is comfortable except there's no air-con in our room, however, there's a fan and it got cooler during the night.

    Love the staffs and the facilities, excellent service during our stay, would love to go back again. The swimming pool and gym are awesome, didn't try the golf due to the limited time of staying, however, the field seems lovely. The hotel is previously a manor house and the decor is exceptionally beautiful, really worth the money and would absolutely recommend to stay here for holidays.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We may have been mistaken, but we had the distinct impression that the hotel's restaurant Morgans was short staffed on every evening of our stay except the last.

    The friendliness of the staff, the quiet golf course location and the old world charm of the property and its wholly up to date facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms with lake view and some others are not in the main hotel so you have to walk to the main hotel For food and other facilities which would not be good in lashing rain. I was not aware of this on booking - the rooms are basic and tired and need modernisation but the housekeeping was very good so well done to them. Food for room service very basic and a bit bland just sort of boring - I also had no idea where to find the room menu as it was tucked inside a drawer so it implied that they were not keen on operating the service - room very small and not what I expected but can’t speak highly enough for the cleanliness !

    Room clean lovely view over lake

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really noisy both late at night, and from 6am on Sunday morning, the walls were very thin and someone was bouncing a ball against our wall. It spoiled our stay completely.

    The location and old buildings and restaurant were beautiful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was in a cottage and not in the main hotel. It was very bland, a bit sad and chilly

    Very friendly and helpful staff. The grounds are beautiful and I enjoyed the sports facilities - pool and gym are excellent. Great food at reasonable price in restaurant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a lake view room but the view was awful as its very covered where our room was could see the fountain and that was it,the room was so hot even with a fan on all night and the mattress was very lumpy on the one side. the leisure facilities were awful, i would not recommend for a spa, the steamroom stank, the Jacuzzi was barely warm, the whole swimming area as a whole was not clean at all.

    The breakfast was excellent, as was the meal we had in zest.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very uncomfortable, beds awful. Hairs in the bathroom. Ridiculous in this day and age that there isnt free Wi-Fi. No drinking water available in the room. Would not stay again

    It looked really nice until we approached our room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of sandwiches at the bar over priced for what was produced £8 for a thinly spread salmon and avocado ciabatta with a small hand ful of crisps !

    The whole stay was great and the bonus was having access to the pool, sta, sauna and steam room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was well worth the money, my budget is rock bottom and have to choose cheaper hotels. No hotel compare to St Pierre or the staff.

    If you play golf this is a dream hotel. I do not play golf and the hotel the best in area, fantastic staff and facilities excellent. We did walk around the golf course and did not get hit by golf balls.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't realise it was SUCH a golf resort, probably my fault. Lovely old facade to building is a bit of a con to use in pictures as most of the resort is golf golf golf!! We are not interested in golf !

    Room clean and comfortable with good view of golf course. Breakfast ok

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom slightly dated. On arrival we were informed we had a choice of rooms so selected Lakeview thinking we see the lake...Then we were woken up early with a charging child(ren) running around called reception several times, which the running and jumping eventually stopped. Perhaps when checking in they could have advised us to alternative accommodation away from a young family.

    Wonderful building with a great atmosphere. Staff were apologetic about our neighbours above, but it was too late considering we had come away for a break and not even a mention of a compensation of even a coffee before we continued on our journey.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to request change of room due to dirt and damp smell. Staff changed it immediately though.

    Restaurant was great, food was amazing but a little high priced for what you got.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing of relevance. Our block looked a little tired and threadbare.

    Happy Staff. The church. Tennis courts. Had 2 great meals. The pool. Problems sorted instantly. Views. Room temperature. The clientele. (Very mixed excellent)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The weather on the last day.

    This hotel is unique as if the staff have been personally selected and trained to show their own personality with respect to others, nothing is too much effort. We arrived far too early and they found an available room. I could have spent all day talking to one of the waiters.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No menus available in room to look at Very expensive wine by the glass Included gratuity not made clear we tipped twice Bedroom decor very tired

    Nice setting Friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rather small bathroom. coffee/tea facilities in room few and not good quality. Swimming pool quite a trek away - especially having to go through the bistro on our way back with dripping hair.... Location too far away from anything. (But then again it is a leisure club, so to be expected.) A great disappointment to my daughter who was not permitted to use the Jacuzzi or the gym - the reasons we chose this hotel in the first place. I may have missed it, but there was no mention in the listing of under 16s not permitted in the spa.

    Peaceful location, very pretty grounds. Clean room. Very attentive staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    furnishings jaded & breakfast both mornings felt as if 3 coach parties had just arrived, much too busy and the staff were struggling to cope.

    The location and peace and quiet. Plus the bed and pillows worked well for one night but not comfy enough for two

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening food was rather mediocre in the Zest lounge (pork belly balls over cooked and in old oil, pear and walnut tart was actually an under cooked pizza, lamb rump well done, sea trout very nice but came with potatoes and that was it). We were in Woosley one of the out buildings next to the lake, great location and bed was amazing but it appeared somewhat tired and outdated particularly in the bathroom.

    Fantastic location and setting. Superking bed was amazingly comfortable. Staff were very friendly and amenable. Main building also looked stunning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were all really helpful, especially the lady on the check- in desk. The room was clean and comfortable. The gym was well equipped and the pool a good size for a hotel. We ate in Zest restaurant in evening, the food was great and the breakfast the following morning kept us going all day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic stay at st Pierre. Beautiful location, great facilities and the most comfortable bed I’ve ever slept in! Attention to detail was unmatched. The staff were excellent, couldn’t do enough for us - allowed us earlier check in, gave us our included breakfast even though we’d gone to the wrong restaurant, called us a taxi on check out. Highly recommend, will definitely be coming back!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel room clean and spacious, very comfortable. Lovely views. Plenty of parking. Breakfast was very good. Leisure area very warm and relaxing, with nice showers and changing area and with plenty of toiletries. Overall we loved it here.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a marriott as one expects level of hotel standard. Very impressive on arrival entrance. Very tired needs refurbishment bedrooms dated. Bathroom rusty holders in bath not impressed will not return. Carpets feel need a clean . Leisure pool area unclean pool needs refurbishing very disappointed was hoping for a relax in thus area left after 15 mins!

    Dinner and restaurant location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like being called in the room at 9:30pm to settle a room service bill which could have been dealt with in the morning when we were to check out anyway.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We ate in the Zest bar for 2 nights but had problems both times. The first night they forgot our order so we were waiting over 1 hour for our starter. The 2nd night I ordered a chicken pie & received a steak one. Did complain both times & rec'd a discount & some free drinks so overall felt it was handled well. Not enough tea making facilities. Had to ask for extra teabags each day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room furniture was quite old, the surface of the desk was quite horrible and not sure if it was damaged or stained or both! The material on the armchair was quite threadbare and also the desk chair quite shabby.

    Very friendly staff, very beautiful and impressive house and grounds, lots of lovely big lounge spaces, really fresh and varied and tasty breakfast, great shower over my bath

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room did not smell good - but we were easily upgraded. The receptionist told my partner how much the stay was costing but it was meant to be a surprise for him.

    Breakfast was excellent. Swimming pool and spa facilities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    The villa we stayed in was dated but very comfortable

    The staff were all very friendly and efficient. Check in and out was extremely easy made so by the staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More light needed in the lake view room, for example a better Picture window as you lost the impact of the lake.

    Good Food/bed/en suite, Friendly atmosphere in the bar and comfy layout.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Two single beds pushed together doesn't equal a double bed. Hot chocolate sachets in the bedroom would have been nice for a before bed drink.

    Very comfortable room, excellent breakfast with a wide choice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Junior Suite with Sofa Bed and Free Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was charged extreme amounts on my credit card even though I had paid in cash apparently it was charged by mistake but yet I had to point that mistake out, there was no compensation offered or anything

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff at this hotel were extremely friendly. As a regular traveller of long distances, this means a lot and I was very impressed with the reception and the overall staff engagement. The TV is the room was excellent as was the Spa area. Will be staying again (hopefully in summer with a round of golf :-)) and would recommend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing not to like. An excellent stay over.

    The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. The room was excellent, very comfy bed and a fabulous TV. Nothing to be critical about..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    leak in the bathroom, so walked into a pool of water, breakfast was either over cooked on bacon like rubber and hard , eggs were cooked fresh but was undercooked so couldn't eat it and the hash brows had foil on the bottom so couldn't eat the cooked breakfast but had other options available that was very nice

    the room was a good size and had a nice view.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toaster at breakfast was too light in toasting but burnt on reapplying

    The staff are your best asset. Without fail every member of staff from waiters to reception, pool attendants to cleaners welcomed us with a warm smile and hello. Well done to them all

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    When telephoning, trying to speak to reception was very difficult. First you had to choose from 6 or 7 options. Then the phone rang and rang with an answerphone telling you that no one was available and to try later. When I finally got through to a real person in reception, they were very helpful. Buying drinks at the bar was rather expensive.

    very comfy sofas and armchairs in the lounges. Late opening of the bars with hot snacks available. Friendly and helpful staff always smiling and ready to answer questions.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was rock hard didn’t sleep very well, food overpriced and not 4 star standard... £77 for 2 starters and a shared main which included salad, chips and a fillet of steak, £33 for buffet breakfast and £50 sunday carvery for two people. Booked a massage for the next morning weeks before over the phone hence why the over night stay but told there was no trace of our booking and was told to just use the pool! Very over priced and underwhelming

    The room was furnished quite nicely and the grounds were lovely

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    £10 something added to our food bill for the staff to just come and ask how our food was etc. If I wanted to leave a tip, I would of. Not with the pressure of £10 something extra on top of our food bill. Paid the same amount on food for two people as the same rate as the room. For what didn’t seem a lot.

    Amazing grounds and polite staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar had a choice of sports on which were changed after booking a table, which was dissapointing

    The bed was extra large and very comfy , the facilities were outstanding and clean, and the staff were extremely helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much really - would like to have known pool was open for children’s swimming lessons! Very noisy and busy with changing cubicles filled with children’s clothes - not very relaxing!

    Lovely,peaceful location - historic building which is sympathetically decorated and furnished. Great choice at the breakfast buffet and availability during the week and weekend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WiFi in the rooms is somewhat hit and miss dependent on the time of day and the expected usage but, overall an extremely pleasant, well managed hotel.

    The members of staff were extremely polite and courteous. Location and tranquillity of the hotel was nice. The gym, and pool area was very enjoyable. The zest bar near the pool was good food and good value for money. Well worth a visit.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the break was booked as it was my wife's birthday. we were extremely disappointed upon booking Morgans restaurant to be told that it wasn't open during the winter months. I feel we should have been told this when booking. the receptionist then booked us into their bistro restaurant and marked on the request that it was my wife's birthday. However this was not acknowledged in any way by the staff in the restaurant! we found this somewhat disappointing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Junior Suite with Sofa Bed and Free Parking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was dusty. The junior suite did not look like the pictures on the website. The room was a bit run down and old fashioned. The bed was two put together.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only criticism I have is we knew the main restaurant was closed on Sunday night but expected Zest near the leisure club to be open but when we were there we saw a sign saying it was closing at 5pm & only the golfers bar was open for drinks & food! As we were celebrating a special bday we decided to go out to a restaurant in Chepstow

    The bedroom was great & the bed was very comfortable (wished we could if stayed another night) Excellent leisure facilities

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It really needs a refurbishment, everything looks very tired and I would argue the 4 stars.

    Staff was great, very friendly and helpful. Also, food at their restaurant was great and the chef has accommodated my partner’s alergies brilliantly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rambling buildings but little or no signage especially to bedrooms. In the restaurant we waited 45 minutes for a meal to be cooked. Only after waiting 30 minutes were we told that the dish would take 25 minutes to cook. Menu lacked imagination. It was not special.

    The building and grounds were wonderful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior King or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check in took a long time because info received by hotel from Booking.com was not correct. Room was in a lakeside bungalow, so we had to walk outside to reach the dining room. Giving a room service order was difficult because the person I spoke to did not seem to understand English well & was unfamiliar with the menu. When it arrived 45mins later, our order was wrong. Internet access was also not good.

    Good location for our purposes. Tranquil setting. Good Breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was filthy and not cleaned for over a week as I found dated rubbish in the unemptied bin , very dusty and when I showed the lady at reception all samples of the dust in different places and the bin content she asked for payment and threw all samples in the bin

    The spa

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a lot of trouble with the room key and as we were outside in one of the cottages it was very inconvenient to keep going to reception, especially as it was raining. Breakfast was not included with our stay which bumped up the expense.

    The bed was a super king size which we have at home and was lovely and comfortable and the sheets were crisp and clean. We were there for the black tie dinner on news year's Eve and the food could not be faulted.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to walk up 3 flights of stairs and then down 4 flights of stairs with all my luggage!

    It was really hot in the hotel and in the bedroom which was quite uncomfortable. I spoke to a lady on reception and she said that several people had said the same thing and they were bringing in the engineer. Excellent customer service and attention to detail.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    No soap in the bathroom. There was shampoo, conditioner and shower gel but no soap :(

    Plenty of nice soft pillows, the bed was really comfortable. The room temperature was just right. It was nice to jump in the jaccuzzi at the end of the day and have a sauna. Made for a relaxing end to the day. The actual building was exceptional, felt like we were staying in a castle, very nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only issue , but not really one was the we were in the individual building which when raining was a trek from the main hotel

    Was a great stay , and have rebooked for Christmas and new year 2018/2019

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They only thing that let the place down is that the pool area is a bit dated.

    I went for my 21st birthday, lady at reception went out of her way and got room service to send me a birthday card from the front desk and a birthday cake! Completely unexpected but made the stay there that little more special.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have eaten at the hotel several times but were not impressed by the evening Buffet in the main restaurant.

    The hotel is perfectly situated for trips back to my home town of Chepstow. It has all the facilities you could wish for and the staff are always friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    prices of drinks were somewhat over priced especially wine and shorts don't understand where they get their prices from

    full breakfast was ample and great choice of food leisure centre was great only used swimming pool but lovely and warm lounges were great to relax in and even a quiet room to chill out very well decorated everywhere

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only drawback was the bed, mattress in our room not brilliant, needs changing.

    Beautiful hotel, great staff, friendly & accommodating, breakfast fabulous, room very clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were offered Breakfast and paid for it. But next morning a waiter was very rude when insisted we had not paid. Then he involved the manager and they asked us to pay again. We had our meal spoilt and had to resolve the issue with reception.

    Lovely ground floor accommodation.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: