Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Marston Lodge Hotel 4 stars

St. Michael's Road, Minehead, TA24 5JP, United Kingdom

#16 of 23 hotels in Minehead

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 118 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It is maintained beautifully both inside and out, Hospitality was excellent and nothing was too much trouble, Alex has a wealth of knowledge about the area and places to eat etc, There is home baked cake (free) which was amazing, and the cooked breakfast was egually as pleasing, All in all a lovely place to enjoy a relaxing break. ☺

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    A perfect weekend away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, I think they did all they could to make us welcome and comfortable.

    The welcome and hospitality of our hosts and the care they took to ensure we had everything for our stay. Their local knowledge of where to eat was really useful and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    4.2
    Very Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no heating on at the hotel only maybe for 1 hour in a morning and 1 hour at night. Considering that it was minus degrees outside we had to go to bed fully clothed shivering, even the bed sheets felt damp it was that cold. When we mentioned this to the owners they said to ring them when we were back and they would turn the heating on however this was only for an hour at most and we were still shivering The bathroom and shower was very nice however when I got out of the shower I was shaking uncontrollably due to it been that cold. Also to boil the kettle it had to be placed on the floor near a socket which I found dangerous.

    The hotel itself was beautiful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable hotel that is a great advert for the independent B&Bs
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly and welcoming host who took time to show us all the facilities including the lounge with open fire, pool table and bar. When we told Alex we weren't sure what we'd be doing during our short beak, he explained how to find all of the hidden gems on the lovely coast and moors which really added to our enjoyment. Great location for exploring the local coast and countryside. The town itself is dominated by Butlins which may not sound appealing but the hotel is out of town and is a great base. There are lots of good cafes, pubs and restaurants to visit in the area. Classic decor and furnishings are comfortable. The en-suite bathroom was modern with a fantastic shower. The full English breakfast is as good as I've had anywhere and will set you up for the day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    5.0
    Good location but certainly won’t be going back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed too firm. No hairdryer. Room freezing cold on arrival and took a couple of hours to warm up once radiators were turned up. No plain yogurt offered at breakfast. Unpleasant tone from owner on where to place teapot on table at breakfast and that we had to put empty sugar sachets etc in shell dish, not on side plates, felt like we were being told off! No response from owners when I enquired about a further £95 being deducted from my account without my knowledge the day after our stay when our account was settled in full on departure - very rude! Still no refund!

    Good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    Beyond happy review
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no problems with the property.

    They staff made sure that my room was in perfect condition, a very warm greeting as I arrived, and they took the time to answer anything I had to ask; be it the negative or positive verify. The view was mind blowing and the hotel was that faraway from town centre. I couldn't have favoured a better location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    8.8
    Reconnecting with family in the area after many years, this was a comfortable and unique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had a fabulous single room with beautiful views at the top of the house, but the wifi signal wasn't strong enough to work in my room. Fortunately, there was a comfy lounge and I sat there, usually beside a well stoked fire, to do my work and studies.

    I slept so well here, comfortable bed and totally silent room. It is family run, charming and quirky; wonderful location to launch off for walks up the hill in the surrounding countryside or go down for a jog on the waterfront. Although family run, I felt my privacy was very respected, which I appreciate.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    We had a great time and so close to Exmoor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel was a building, one of the oldest in Minehead and the views were to die for!! However you had a long steep hill to get there. ( Not so good if you have bad knees) but was glad we made the effort as the restaurants were all at the bottom!!!!!!!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    A most satisfying stay at The Marston Lodge Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    A very warm welcome from the Hotel owners. Superb cooked to order breakfasts. Home made cake in the afternoon which really hit the spot. (No charge) The hotel dog was very friendly as well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    Friendly owners made us feel very at home.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Steep walk up to the hotel from the town.

    Friendly owners made us feel very at home. Breakfast very good and well cooked. Selection of free homemade cakes if you fancied a bit of a snack. Fine villa with lots of interesting furniture and ornaments. Great views over Minehead.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.5
    Okay but wouldn't go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the top of a very steep hill, and although it didn't bother us as we were quite able to walk it, which ever way you went to get back to the hotel it was a steep climb. Didn't like the doggy smell in the entrance!

    Wonderful view from our room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.5
    Good exercise
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You need to be fit to walk back to the property from the sea front - very steep hills!

    very friendly, helpful owners, great breakfast,. A really nice, good old fashioned boarding house

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    fabulous views - very clean - superb breakfast - very pleasant owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very small detail had to fill in breakfast but was assumed we wanted same every day however not a problem as spoke with owner who soon sorted it

    croissants fabulous - coffee great - atmosphere great - very clean hotel-

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.5
    Holiday on the hill .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bananas out for breakfast , rather over ripe , and were there for four days . Chefing whites had seen better days and did not appear too clean .

    Good views from our room . Cake put out to help self to . Mints each day in room and sometimes biscuits too . Bottle of water left in room each day . Little touches make all the difference .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    6.7
    The gardens were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was up a very steep hill from the town and sea front. My wife found the bed lumpy I thought it was okay. We were in the attic bedroom at the top of the house. My wife had to clean out the drain in the shower for the water to get out which wasn't very pleasant removing other people's hair. The towel holder fell off the wall onto the bin denting the lid. It could do with having a fridge in the room. The water in the urn at breakfast was only just hot so filling a teapot up for 2 cups made the second cup to be had after the first very cold.

    The gardens were lovely. Breakfast was good. Room was okay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.8
    We would like to thank Alex and his family for their...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We would like to thank Alex and his family for their hospitality during our holiday in June. He gave us a lot of recommendations for restaurants, hiking tours and beautiful sights in Summerset. With his help we saw breathtaking landscapes, beautiful towns and did some walking tours around lovely places. You do not find this recommendation in regular hiking guides – just ask Alex for advice!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.2
    I loved the whole set up and location really comfortable and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately my partner has back problems and the property was situated up a hill which was fine going down but coming up caused him a problem.

    I loved the whole set up and location really comfortable and breakfast was cooked to how I wanted every day..

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    7.9
    Very relaxing place to stay and made to feel welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very good plenty of variety host very friendly and hospitable leaving some cake to help yourself to was a very good jester beds very comfortable rooms very clean lovely views from rooms in a very quiet location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    Relaxing, friendly staff and guests, hotel had a very homely feel about it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only that we couldn't stay longer

    Lovely location with fine views from our window. Very friendly and helpful owners with plenty of local advice about places to see and walking information etc. Breakfast was excellent with a large choice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.6
    Fab property on top of hill
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed seemed to be extra-super-king size! Obviously expensive mattress but again a bit too hard for me. But walking up the hill to get there ensures suitable fatigue...

    Fab view across Minehead, beautiful, quiet, clean: hard to fault. Hosts Alex and Naomi were a joy to talk to. Decor is fab - it looks almost late Victorian but has modern/ethnic quirkiness. And a small snooker table, honesty bar, bright dining room, exquisite gardens. I could go on!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    6.7
    very pretty countryside on the way to Minehead. not so much to do in the town itself.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    on the day I arrived there was a major problem with the electricity supply in the hotel. there was no power at all for the first evening and night - so nothing to but stumble around in the semi-dark until it was time for bed. owners were very apologetic but still - you expect a hotel to have electricity even if they need a contingency to hire a generator or something for a few hours in the evening.

    great view of Minehead town

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    5.4
    Friendly hosts but could do better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Decor (ceiling paper) and inadequate shower room, which is advertised on the listing as shower and bath, not one or the other. If going on the suggested local motor tour be careful to approach Selworthy on the signposted road, the other one was impassable. Also don't bother with the Worthy toll road alternative tp Porlock hill, it costs £2 and is in a poor state of repair!

    Friendly hosts and eclectic and quirky furnishings to the public rooms. Breakfasts which we paid £7.50 (per person, per day) extra for were of good quality and choice. Our bedroom (No 2) was of reasonable size but had a stained ceiling and loosened ceiling paper, presumably from a previous leak. The shower room was tiny and although reasonably equpped had a very small vanity sink. Not good enough for any real length of time. We had pre-paid and although we couldn't make the first day, they kept a room for us. May have been that we were the last in and drew the short straw. As the hotel has loads of good reviews I guess we were unlucky, but I wouldn't want to stay in the same room again

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    10
    friendly staff, beautiful location and views to the sea. Scrumptious breakfast.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really noticed how unfit I was. the walk down to the beach was short but coming back was very steep. so for a to be else attempting this watch out😂

    the hosts were particularly helpful and hospitable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    10
    Excellent short break in an interesting hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Excellent hotel adorned with many unusual art works from around the world. Plenty of tea and coffee in the room, which had great views. Breakfast freshly-cooked; real coffee. Easy walk down to town and back up-hill - not as steep as it initially looks. Knowledgeable and friendly hosts.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    10
    Fantastic little hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are extremely comfortable and the breakfast is excellent. Alex is very welcoming and full of knowledge about the local area. We had a lovely holiday and will definitely return. 😁

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    9.2
    New Year Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The telly in room 4 had a mind of its own.

    The owner was excellent, very friendly, knowledgeable about the area and was very helpful with directions, places to go etc. The room was very comfortable and clean. The breakfasts were excellent, freshly cooked along with the usual accompaniments. The antiques etc are fascinating and I liked the idea of the honesty bar.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    10
    A relaxing weekend in Minehead
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The hotel was very nice, bed was incredibly comfy and breakfast was great, staff were very friendly and the location was lovely with great views of the sea and promenade. Would recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing location within walking distance of the town and sea front.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    10
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nowt

    Absolute blast. .The place took a day to take in .Furnishings exquisite. .Views from room were amazing Alex was a font of knowledge regarding local areas and afar..Breakfasts bang on ..Lovely atmosphere all round ..

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    7.9
    Went for a relaxing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room and en-suite were somewhat small; - I think we were the last booking, so ended up with the smallest room!

    Breakfasts were very good, but you had to remember to say if you wanted a change, otherwise you got the same thing every day!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    10
    So glad we chose this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not one thing.

    Loved the quirkiness of the hotel and the tastiest breakfast. The owners were lovely and nothing was too much trouble. Fantastic views over Minehead. Will definitely go back there.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    10
    Thank you very much - you are excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A really cosy and calm hotel, beautiful house and rooms, excellent breakfast - freshly cooked. Most competent and helpful host with the best tips for Exmoor and more.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    6.7
    Poor but ok for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A warmer welcome would have been nice we were just given key and told 'room 6'. 1st morning at breakfast we were abruptly told 'its self service dont just sit there guys we cant afford staff to wait on you!' Thought this was unprofessional, rude, and put us on edge when we had a rare weekend to relax from stress! Im 8 months pregnant and wanted to chill. There was no wifi or poor wifi in the room. Black Dog hair in my breakfast. There is a strange and unsafe key system. when you go out you have to leave room key in a drawer in hallway. This leaves your room and valuables vulnerable to intruders either other guests or people from the street as front door wide open. The bed was firm but ok not that comfy.

    Nice location, son was friendly,

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    7.1
    Breakfast excellent, room clean and tidy, Lady of the house...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gentleman of the house a bit grumpy when we came down to breakfast a bit early.

    Breakfast excellent, room clean and tidy, Lady of the house very nice and welcoming very knowledgeable about the area. Owners dogs beautiful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    7.9
    Generally good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check-in time was quite late as it was 4 o'clock The staff could have been more friendlier as well

    The breakfast was excellent and the hotel was very nice

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    10
    Comfortable and pleasurable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More windows that could be opened would be better because the room got very warm.

    The views were fantastic from the front bedrooms. The full English breakfast was appetizing and freshly cooked for each person.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    9.2
    Our room was lovely and big and it had excellent view of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you have to use public transport be prepare to walk steep hills. Otherwise it's a great hotel

    Our room was lovely and big and it had excellent view of the town and coast line. We could even see the steam train coming into the station.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    8.8
    Good location for exploring the area, comfortable rooms,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wi-Fi in the room unreliable.

    Good location for exploring the area, comfortable rooms, great breakfast selection and very tasty. Interesting furnishings. Lounges, balcony and garden a nice touch.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    6.7
    OK for a short stay
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hairdryer, No Wifi.No proper welcome although check in time said 4pm they were not ready for us . We did ring in advance to say what time we would be arriving.Unable to use hot brush for hair as 3 pin socket was opposite side of room from mirror.

    Quiet comfortable.The cooked breakfast was nicely cooked. Room and beds very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable break-great hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Heavy blanket on the bed

    Loved the view from bedroom window. Alex helped to plan our travel, great. Good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    Very helpful proprietor, very good local knowledge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is set above Minehead and walking back up ,you need to be vary fit.

    Very helpful proprietor, very good local knowledge

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Excellent, we would happily stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was just right: - welcome, bedroom (+ views), comfort, location, garden, breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Great hotel great owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Great atmosphere

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Staff fantastic , location fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff fantastic , location fantastic

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    W
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing too dislikewonderful break

    The hosts the lodge great place Loved it all we were well looked after

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Good quiet location over looking Minehead and the Bay , good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good quiet location over looking Minehead and the Bay , good parking and clean rooms Nice breakfast and a good host

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Our break was very relaxing and owners were very happy to assist with anything we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no problems.

    Lovely big bed, everything was clean and tidy. Owners were very friendly and helpful. The view from the room was amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    We will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk up the hill!

    Excellent service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice place to stay in minehead, great views.
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were clean and host was very welcoming. A good breakfast was given and the location has great views of the bay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    Lovely country house
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift

    Great staff very helpful and polite. Great views

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.2
    Wpykd defiantly go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A Very querky hotel. Lots of interesting artifacts to look at. A pure jem of a hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable bed, superb breakfast in every way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable bed, superb breakfast in every way.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.5
    We all had a great holiday definitely coming back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stunning views ,excellent breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    5.4
    Enjoyed but I think it is an upmarket b&battery and not a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After breakfast the hotel was dead. Plus on 2 days the owners were arguing and swearing at the top of their voices

    Breakfast room clean and tidy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Very good centre for exploring this beatiful part of Somerset
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like!

    Very comfortable hotel with fantastic views and brilliant breakfasts!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    10
    Excellent stay as the sun shone on us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast had to be ordered in advance

    The view was amazing, but it was 10 or 15 minutes walk from the beach up or down a steep hill.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    Superb location offering splendid views over Minehead and beyond. Very interesting old house .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location, fantastic views, especially from top floor. Great breakfast served by very knowledgeable host. Ideal for anyone interested in walking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Recommended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was 'ok' but was on third floor of an old house!

    Friendly and felt like home from home

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Cosy room with great views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were too soft.

    Enjoyed staying in such an old hotel that had been refurbished to the high standard that it was.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    4.2
    ok but no evening meal as stated on internet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no evening meal as stated on internet no fans in very hot bedroom told to keep door open room not serviced one day.

    breakfast was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    beautiful site on North Hill above Minehead
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    lovely style of the house, very detailed and helpful information about back roads in Exmoor from the host

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.8
    Anniversary weekend in Minehead
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Evidence of some damp in bathroom.

    Location and views were super.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    10
    Brilliant stay at MARSTON LODGE - Minehead
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    We liked everything.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Overal very enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No milk on our second day, my mother in laws bed was not made up!

    Location, the building, antiques, the views from the balcony

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Excellent.. Excellent... Excellent...😀😀😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hosts , excellent food , excellent stay ...Nice to find a Faultless experience away from home .. Thank you.😀😀😀

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    10
    pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The owners were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    10
    Definitely will be back!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place and beautiful views.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    6.3
    Disabled unfriendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The flight of stairs to room as husband has mobility problems

    Breakfast was luvly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    8.8
    Fantastic view, quiet place to relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic view, quiet place to relax.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    7.9
    A pleasant introduction to Minehead
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A razor point in the bathroom and a 5ft bed

    Excellent breakfast and great views over Minehead

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    8.8
    Breakfast to die for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Terrific view from our room which was very spacious and had lots of character. A very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    8.8
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All was good

    Fantastic views

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    10
    Nice atmosphere and loved the view from our room no 10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice atmosphere and loved the view from our room no 10

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    10
    Just great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great room with amazing view! Super friendly and helpful staff! Definetely worth to stay again!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    7.5
    A lovely quiet hotel (although the dogs were a bit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really. Even though the hotel was at the top of a hill it was not too bad a walk. Only niggle we prefer to go down to breakfast at our leisure not at a set time. We did not like Minehead as there was not much to see or do.

    A lovely quiet hotel (although the dogs were a bit boisterous for me!). Breakfast was very good and cooked to order, the mushrooms were delicious. Lovely big croissants and nice to have a choice of coffee. The room was of an average size with nice armchairs to sit in in the window. We definitely recommend this hotel but don,t understand the ratings as we would give it a score of 8.5.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    7.5
    The honesty bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The honesty bar The breakfast The location was good far enough from the town but near enough to walk to it The knowledge of the landlord of the local area

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: