Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Maryculter House 4 stars

South Deeside Road, Maryculter, AB12 5GB, United Kingdom

#1 of 2 hotels in Maryculter

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 621 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    9.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Another great stay
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There really isn’t anything I don’t like about staying here. Even when I have had a rare issue they sort it so well.

    Great surroundings, great room, nice staff. I feel at home here

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Hotel with history, standing on the place which belonged to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel with history, standing on the place which belonged to Templars. Very nice hotel, good restaurant, great breakfast and beautiful room. We liked it a lot!!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I was being very picky the furniture is just starting to show it’s age and the bathroom grouting could do with replacing but these would definitely NOT stop us coming again

    Very friendly staff, comfortable clean rooms, great food and beautiful location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    4.6
    I wouldn't recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Food was really poor and expensive, staff were bored and there seemed to have no leadership whatsoever.. It was really sad to see such a pretty hotel in a beautiful setting so badly run. It was understaffed, under resourced and the rooms needed to be overhauled.. from what the staff said it seems that they rely on functions and don't bother with the rest of the week.

    A beautiful setting, and I am afraid I can't say any more.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.3
    The room was very nice with a lovely view over the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit of a letdown with what was on the hot buffet being a bit cold. The bacon was overcooked and covered in salt residue. Sausages were of poor quality. Not what we had expected from this standard of hotel.

    The room was very nice with a lovely view over the river. We had a good night sleep on a comfortable bed. The staff were very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    The staff were very welcoming and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The rooms were very well equipped and comfortable. The breakfast was lovely as was the evening meal. The hotel is in a great setting and is extremely comfortable. Many thanks.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.2
    Nice rural location for a one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wedding venue. Staff seemed a little tired however it was Sunday night probably after a busy weekend. Continental breakfast provided, cooked items add on.

    Location close to Aberdeen yet secluded and rural. Historical property modernized sympathetically. Price reasonable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.8
    I wouldn't recommend this hotel! Seriously needs to consider food hygiene at breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room - Very hard mattress, filthy windows and headboard. Bathroom - Not enough room to sit on toilet, have to sit sideways, taps needed about 10 turns before water came through them and then made terrible screeching noise! Evening Meal - Wine prices are excessive, Main Courses had to be returned as not edible, first time I've ever been served burnt chips! Breakfast - Bread and Pastries not covered and flies crawling on them, no tongs to lift them, French Bread on board for guests to cut themselves, I don't want bread other people have been handling. One pot of jam for all residents to share. Yogurts felt warm, not stored in ice or cold water like most hotels would do! I could add more but think I've said enough!

    Location was good for our travel plans.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    The location of the property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the property. It’s on the banks of the River Dee so the view is beautiful. I liked the staff they couldn’t do enough for you. The food was great and very reasonably priced. There was a large choice also for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Relaxing and friendly to come home to after a hard day's sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have liked a sachet of hair conditioner to be included in the toiletries provided.

    Very relaxing - no noise during the night. Very comfortable resident's lounge. Friendly atmosphere - helpful staff. Restaurant had a varied choice of food at a range of prices, and the food was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.5
    Lovely, quiet location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Whilst there Croatia beat England in the world cup which the staff put on the big screen. I may as well have been in Dubrovnik!! Maryculter is on the south side of the Dee, so if you don't have a car with you, taxi's to Aberdeen cost about £20 each way and there's no bus route nearby....

    Lovely, quiet location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    3.5
    The views and the outside area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terrible odour in our room. We were wedding guests and made to walk all around the property to reach the function suite. Very old and dated. Staff not very welcoming or helpful.

    The views and the outside area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Home from home with great breakfast thrown in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff are fantastic they all make you so welcome the rooms are very clean and comfortable with great views . This was our second visit this year as there are so many interesting places to visit nearby .we hope to visit again soon

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    5.4
    Normal hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is really old, but you feel not the history, but the need of renovation (we had superior room). No place to sit outside, exept of the few bar tables. Normal breakfast, but nothing special. I have booked it for romantic stay during the birthday, but it was not romantic at all :)

    Big parking place and good wifi. Relatively big room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful and historic hotel with lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in a beautiful situation. Our room was very comfortable with a spacious shower. We had a drink outside and ate a good meal in the restaurant where we had excellent service. Parking is generous.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were kind to deal with my clothes that needed drying as a result of a small misfortune in the dining room. \it was nice to sit on the lawn overlooking the Dee, although to improve customer experiences the hotel might like to consider expaning available outside furniture (although hot sunny weather in Scotland may just be to rare!).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.5
    Lovely River Dee setting
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was dated and carpet very stained. Bed felt small. Others in our group did have updated rooms and bathrooms were nice.

    Location right on the River Dee was beautiful. Great breakfast included in room rate.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location and surroundings very comfortable but restaurant staff could up their game.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of privacy in riverside bedrooms with noisy, inquisitive children gawping! Poor communication between reception and dining room staff over table reservation and poor communication between members of restaurant staff themselves.

    Location, surroundings and ambience; very pleasant staff, especially the breakfast team; exceptional breakfast; reasonable food otherwise, from short menu. Very helpful follow up by the manager to problem.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    What a place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our food is the restaurant at night wasn’t great. My wife’s was cold after waiting ages to get it to the table and all the food was very oily and greasy.

    What a place! Room was incredible, staff were superb. Got an absolute bargain of a last minute deal and will definitely be returning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely location, good food, comfortable room and especially liked the use of mugs both in the room and at breakfast. No faffing about with little cups.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    chilled
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be totally honest I have no criticism of this hotel.

    Views, smiling staff. The restaurants ability to cater for multiple allergies. The beautiful building grounds and overall experience.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Outstanding property, comfortable stay. Well done staff and owners. Fascinating residents' lounge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best place we have stayed in Scotland in our three visits here.

    Historic, knights templar property, well appointed, alongside river Dee and just a great place to relax. Easy parking on site.Good valve for money, tasty food that was at a good price. Service from all staff was excellent and all were proud of the property.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Great staff in the hotel, helping a lot, very good breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Great staff in the hotel, helping a lot, very good breakfast and the hotel is overall very romantic and unique. We would stay longer if we could!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor point: since our room was on the ground floor people sometimes walked by the window, and since we had an awesome River view we didn't want to close the curtains. Not great for privacy.

    The staff was nice, clean room with awesome rain shower, great view of the river from our room. Location was pretty, close to several attractions (by car). Good breakfast, restaurant had good food as well for dinner.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Welcoming, comfortable hotel with helpful, informative staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    n/a

    The staff were helpful and informative. We had ‘lost’ a group member and were too late for dinner. They went out of their way to offer soup and sandwiches at 2230. They expressed concern over our friend and were happy to report her arrival when we came down to breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    just excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to not like

    Large comfortable well furnished room, cleanliness throughout the hotel, pleasant and helpful staff food excellent at reasonable price, excellent parking facilities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    The location was beautiful situated on the Banks of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was beautiful situated on the Banks of the River Dee. Dinner was excellent with the most amazing Steak I’ve eaten in along time and all served by friendly welcoming staff .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.7
    OK room, very clean.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would like to draw to your attention the very poor experience I and a colleague had at this hotel this week. We have been frequent visitors to the hotel for the last few years, preferring to stay there rather than the Ardoe House, where we hold our business meetings. To date, the service and welcome from the staff has previously been first class. Unfortunately, this week's experience was very different as the manager / restaurant manager flatly refused to show the England game on the purpose-built television. We tried to negotiate with her but she became arrogant to the point of rudeness. We ended up having to go to the Ardoe to be able to see the game. We also ate and drank there, rather than at this hotel. This has, therefore, cost this business around £150 for last night, plus we will not be returning to this hotel in the future. Therefore, the unpleasant reaction from the manager has directly cost the hotel valuable repeat business. There is a great deal of choice on the area and we will be using those alternatives in the future.

    OK room, very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Place to stay in Aberdeenshire
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike

    Staff are always friendly and helpful. Managed a very difficult small group who arrived late for meal extremely well. Great value for money. Rooms all comfortable, quiet, spotlessly clean. Very relaxing ambience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.0
    Beautiful surroundings on The River Dee.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely historic hotel in a beautiful setting on the banks of the River Dee. The staff was wonderful, rooms were comfortable and clean and the food was fantastic. We especially loved the historic Resident’s Lounge dating back to 1460.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Great value in a beautiful location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A rather plain breakfast, and poor wifi reception in some areas.

    Fabulous location on the banks of the river, with comfortable bedrooms and a lovely evening meal. Unbelievable value for money. The lounge is astonishing historically and architecturally.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Excellent location and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was our second time at Maryculter House and we again enjoyed the stay. The house itself has an interesting history and is situated in parkland along side the River Dee. Our ground floor room overlooked the river. We had a very good evening meal and an excellent breakfast which was cooked to order. Very good value for money .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.5
    Go for a meal but not to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked via booking.com and thought the price was reasonable for the standard of room we received. However the standard price that the hotel offers without a discount is not value for money. The rooms are tired and dated and bathroom very small. We were promised a room with a bath and view of the river however received neither. With a little more work into refurbishing their rooms i would be willing to go back

    The customer service was good and staff very friendly. Food was delicious and very reasonably priced.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    a very enjoyable stay..nice decor,very helpful staff..a credit to the hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    perfect to me in every way..

    very beautiful hotel,exceptionally clean with a lovely view of the golf course/pond from my room..built in the 12th century..you can still feel the history of the times occupied by the templars..loved the resident lounge..food was plentiful and excellent..it is set in private grounds so outside noise kept to a minimum

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Beyond and Above Every expectation
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing!

    Amazing Venue. My son got married 27.05.2018 and what a day. I didn't want it too end. The hotel was fantastic, service impeccable. What I would call the perfect hotel, perfect venue and perfect weekend. Thank you

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.1
    A good overnigt/couple of nights place to stay in a really lovely setting
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom in general ok but around the bath was tired & not as clean as one would expect The salad leaves with my burger were not properly sorted through for freshness - some leaves were slimy & I put them to the side - also my skinny fries were really nicely cooked but were spoiled a little bit by too much salt added before being served.

    The hotel is set in a lovely location on the banks of the river Dee which gives you the feeling of being 'away from it all'- great to relax after a long day working & traveling & dinner was tasty & options were reasonably varied too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    10 out of 10 Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything

    Great location lovely friendly staff. Very relaxing experience. We were on a break with friends and enjoyed it so much we have booked another stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.9
    I would stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bar was appalling-flat coke, tasteless beer and wine and not much of a selection. Didn't like the mirror in the shower-am now on a diet!

    Nice location by the river. Food was good. Proper hotel-much better than the Premier Inn where I usually stay. Lounge room was stunning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    Historic property with modern amenities and welcoming staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful historic property with all the modern comforts and amenities of a high end hotel. Warm welcome at reception, large room with view of the Dee river. Beautifully furnished public areas. Full breakfast buffet. Ample parking, quiet serene location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Had a brilliant stay can’t wait to go back
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was excellent rooms spacious and very clean staff was very friendly and helpful breakfast was excellent and plenty of choice the setting of the hotel was spectacular will be back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    It was incredible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I liked everything from the restaurant to the bar and the room was fantastic not too far of a drive to get anywhere and fantastic views from our room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel with character in quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything

    Wonderful hotel with character in quiet location. We had a downstairs room with double doors opening onto the patio & overlooking the river. The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. Bathroom was spacious with seperate shower and large bath. Food was exceptional, something for all tastes and apetites on the dinner menu and the breafast cooked to order was excelent! Cant wait to go back!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    We have stayed here several times, staff are so welcoming...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have stayed here several times, staff are so welcoming and friendly, rooms are spacious and extremely clean, food is excellent breakfast and dinner! Will be back soon

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel, great staff, bargain price with the Genius deal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great service when we arrived to fit us in for dinner straight away as we had to rush off to a function. Huge bed and a great view over the river. Will stay again next time we are in the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    We had a fantastic four night stay at this super hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing. It is a really special hotel where we have stayed several times and will hopefully visit again later on this year.

    Everything was perfect, as usual! The rooms were super, the food excellent, the staff friendly and helpful and the views from the hotel were outstanding. We particularly loved sitting in the historic lounge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful setting partly renovated historic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bathroom was not cleaned to a high standard...toilet and basin stained. hair on basin. Breakfast was chaotic. our bedroom was tired and shabby with minimal decor

    location. historic rooms. tasty generous breakfast. 63£ bargain room rate was very good value

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Excellent we would recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like but one small improvement could be more comfortable seat or a few lounges in the grounds to enjoy the river on a hot day.

    We are well traveled and have seldom lyn met such attentive,professionals but friendly staff.The food was well priced and plentiful.Rooms are spotless and bathrooms clean and well stocked.Wehadbooked another hotel to continue our holiday but it was so awful we drove an hour back to Maryculter and received a warm welcome.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.5
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like the small corridors through to get breakfast and back to dining room

    Location friendly staff but really busy. Chilling by the river, quiet at night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    This was our second visit to Maryculter House Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing to dislike!

    This was our second visit to Maryculter House Hotel. I was born in Aberdeen so to come back is to relive my childhood with picnics up the Lynn of Dee. Our four days at Maryculter were magic, lovely accommodation, great food and staff who were very friendly and so helpful! We would recommend Maryculter Hotel to everyone who wants comfort and a leisurely holiday. We shall certainly make the trip back from the Isle of Man.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful views and fabulous food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a river view room which was lovely. We were disappointed by people walking by the window . Could this be restricted at all?

    Beautiful views and fabulous food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic staff, wedding venue, food, qccommodation.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to wait until 3pm to check in, after driving for 7 hours! Won’t put us off returning though.

    Attended a wedding. Everything was excellent. Enjoyed our stay very much and hope to be back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing stay (once again)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was not the first time I stayed so that may give an indication how great this hotel is. The staff is excellent, everyone is super friendly, cheerful and very helpful. The rooms are pretty large actually and well equipped (the shower was great). And the food in the restaurant is delicious and a good mix of traditional meal options and more sophisticated food like duck or venison.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.6
    Nice place with some fantastic history
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mobile phone signal was very poor and the WI-FI I think is medieval it was very poor. so on that point it did dissapoint me.

    Nice clean and warm feel to the place, the staff were relly friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.2
    Great stay at Maryculter House Hotel
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room could have been cleaned a bit better (there was a broken hanger from a previous guest and the shower grout was a little mouldy), and the shower controls were a bit wonky which made it difficult to get a consistent water temperature. Other than that, the hotel was great.

    The hotel staff went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable, dinner was wonderful, breakfast was great, the room was cosy and warm, and it was nice and quiet at night when we were sleeping. We will definitely be back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    8.8
    The staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful and made...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little mobile reception in room but at least it gave me some extra peace and relaxation!

    The staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful and made the stay that much better as a result

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.8
    Excellent hotel well worth the visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet seat was broken but it may have just been overlooked by staff. We were the only residents in the hotel that evening and unless all the toilet seats were broken I found it strange to be in a room with a broken seat!!

    The bed was large and very comfortable. The staff were friendly and attentive. The meals were excellent and served quickly both in the evening and at breakfast time. The breakfast plate was full and it was very filling. Did not need to eat again until the evening.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.5
    Lovely staff, very reasonably priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was fairly bland, the rooms could do with an update.

    The staff were all really nice and helpful. The price was very reasonable. Vegetarian breakfast available.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    10
    Absolutely great stay and I will certainly make a return visit. I would happily recommend to others.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very minor negative is the poor connectivity for mobile phones although in certain respects this could be a bit of a blessing

    Immediate feeling of friendliness and efficiency from reception and bar/restaurant staff. Great ambience throughout the hotel. Extremely comfortable room at the perfect temperature. GREAT shower. The food was fantastic and extremely good value.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.3
    A nice, old fashioned hotel in scenic surroundings; reasonable value for money
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The real fire in the lounge wasn't lit, despite it being very cold. Food was ok but nothing special.

    Great location, deer and other wildlife in the grounds. Nice old fashioned lounges with real fire in one of them. Staff are very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    Simply wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely historic building, beautiful riverside setting and exquisite grounds. Bedroom was pleasant and bathroom very nice indeed. Public rooms really attractive. Staff helpful - one member printed out a history of the building (Knights Templar) and gave it to me (unrequested) having observed me taking an interest in the historic structure. I thought that was exceptionally considerate.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    8.8
    Would stay here again - lovely setting on the river, friendly staff, good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pillows too firm - would like feather pillows - bed also very firm - I bought two pillows at the local store and solved the problem myself!

    public rooms and guest lounge historic and attractive

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous relaxing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room could have been a little warmer and the shower a little hotter

    The food in the restaurant was fabulous with lots of choice and very innovative dishes. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The table in the restaurant by the open fire was lovely.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    Find memories. I'd love to go again this time with my husband. I went with my sister this time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On our last morning the breakfast buffet was not warm enough but we didn't have the heart to complain 😕. Sorry Maryculter. X

    The hotel was like a highland country home and beautifully presented and clean and comfy.. Good was soooo good. All the staff were friendly and made us feel welcome. Log fire in fabulous ancient sitting room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful place with fascinating history
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful place. Absolutely warm welcome. Delicious food and unexpectedly fascinating history of the hotel. We have got more than we expected!! Definitely a place to come back. We loved it!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    This was my 3rd stay at this very special hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything great.

    Peaceful hotel. Open fire in the ancient hall- the lounge. There were no children either! The view over the river wonderful. Staff were very helpful. Food was of a high standard.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    6.7
    Pleasant over night stay. Nice large bed. Pillows could have been better. Lovely view from room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bacon was very chewy Restaurant food was expensive for quality. Hot milk with coffee would have been nice Disappointed in the bathroom. Very small with No bath. Very different to website photos

    Eggs, sausages & coffee Very pleasant staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely , friendly hotel with a real Scottish feel. Well done to the staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was not always consistent , some little things like I can add my own pepper to dishes ! I ordered the same thing the next day and it wasn’t what I exspected.

    Staff were all friendly , lovely and excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    5.0
    Not up to much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No phone signal parking was not good no lights in the car park Room was very small was not a double room it was two single bed put too gether ;(

    Not a lot

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Great base for visiting castles. Lots to choose from.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.. we really liked it.

    Charming historic hotel. The public rooms are very attractive with views of river. The sitting room is worth seeking out. Gorgeous staff. We used it as a base to visit castles all easy drive away and returned each evening. Would definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Great value for money together with first class service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Telephone and wifi reception not too good!

    The hotel was very comfortable with a very high standard of service and offering a good variety of reasonably priced meals in its restaurant. Breakfast was included in the nightly charge. The accommodation was excellent with great views over the adjacent river and golf course. We used the hotel as our base for motoring around the eastern coast en route to Inverness.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.2
    Will go back another time and I'm. Going to recommend the hotel to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sorry to say the mattress has seen better days.

    The welcome was lovely. Pleasant friendly staff. Room was large and clean. Tea and coffee facilities in the room were in the wardrobe which we found amusing. We ate at the hotel, the menu had a great choice and although the food we had for dinner and breakfast was tasty, for us, it could all have been hotter.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    This hotel has it just right.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Check in was efficient. Breakfast excellent and served very quickly. Staff remember you from previous visits. The location is ideal and lovely views. Evening meal was beyond reproach.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All aspects of the hotel and staff were perfect.

    The hotel staff were very friendly and cheerful and the hotel was excellent for a relaxing break .There is many interesting places nearby which wakes it ideal for returning visits.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    Excellent room, very friendly staff, very pleasant location and great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff were very friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast and dinner were very good. Very good location at the side of the river Dee. Room was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Excellent and unusual hotel in a superb location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in a superb location overlooking the River Dee and approached through park land. It is about 10 miles from Aberdeen in a quiet location. The building itself is interesting with a history involving the Knights Templar and a fantastic lounge which looks like a room from a medieval castle. Our room was on the ground floor overlooking the river with a very comfortable bed. The staff were welcoming and friendly. We had a good evening meal in the bar and an excellent and very large breakfast cooked to order. Very good value too.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: