Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Mayfield House Hotel 3 stars

Crudwell, Crudwell, SN16 9EW, United Kingdom

#1 of 2 hotels in Crudwell

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 178 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    6.3
    The hotel is pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tired to say the least. The bed was awful - not at all comfortable. Road noise from lorries.

    The hotel is pleasant. The staff friendly. A good breakfast in pleasant restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    4.6
    Disapontment for not so cheap accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was a catastrophy. WC flush hardly working. Everything in the room very old, worn out. Finally, we had to pay for breakfast, and we have booked with breakfast included.

    Staff was very polite.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    5.0
    Very very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Accommodated in room 27 in one of the cottages. The whole "suite" needs complete upgrading from its 1980"s DIY decor. Bedroom bland an unappealing The couch to watch TV in the tiny office was under the TV facing the wrong direction and could not be turned around because the desk was opposite it...so a complete useless facility. Shower in the bath not separate, could not regulate the water temperature...old style taps not a proper mixer. Non-slip shower mat old and did not use as I did not trust its cleanliness. Poor quality furniture...plastic wood effect that was coming off on the wardrobe and bubbling on the desk. So overall very very poor value for the money.

    Location good as it was just five minutes from where I need to be for a few days. Bed comfortable. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.2
    Worked well for our trip to Womad. Would stay again for that reason.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Check in...Yes we were 20 mins early but had to wait for ages for our rooms and the guy on the desk didn't tell us when they were ready! Laundry. In this day and age hotels use a simple code: if the towel is on the floor it means it needs washing. Our relatively clean and hung up towels were replaced the day before we checked out. What a waste of energy! Check out was impeded by another guest, the receptionist could have called someone else or briefly broken off to take our key. Annoying.

    Good breakfast although the weekend service a bit haphazard. Food excellent and very fresh. Comfy beds. Glad a fan provided in the heatwave. Good to see a water saving device on the shower but it ages to actually have a shower.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    5.4
    OK as a place to stay near to our event, but overpriced for what it was.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cooked breakfast not particularly hot. Didn't bring toast despite several requests. Poor security on bedroom (annexe room with simple, loose yale lock). Tired room.

    Helpful early check in.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.9
    Very happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very dated & the shower very weak. The tiles behind the shower weren't clean. Drinks were expensive in the hotel

    Very attentive staff. Good size rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable, convenient and good value - a shame about the hot weather.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because of the hot weather the windows needed to be open at night and being not far from the main road there was quite a lot of traffic noise. I'm sure that with the windows closed the traffic noise would have been acceptable.

    We broke our drive from Land's End to East Anglia at Crudwell. The hotel was easy to find with good parking. The double room was was reasonably large with good bathroom and excellent shower. The weather was extremely hot and although the windows were open there was no breeze into the room. The warmth was uncomfortable but a fan was provided. Tea making facilities were excellent, and an excellent breakfast was provided.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    A very good hotel in the heart of the Cotswold countryside. Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that comes to mind.

    The location, for us, was spot-on (We have family nearby).The hotel is well run, the staff cheerful and efficient. The atmosphere in the bar during the evening was great. The breakfast was excellent. The bed was very comfortable. What's not to like?

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.8
    Shame the room allocated let the whole experience down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Unfortunately our allocated room (room 10), was located directly above the kitchen and its adjacent storage area with an audible extractor fan located on the outside wall of the room, which also presented the smell of cooking to the room on opening the window. The window also overlooked the narrow driveway and thus captured any noise emanating from the kitchen and storage area below as well as vehicles. Although the extractor itself was switched off at approx. 22.30hrs, there remained a low humming sound of something intermittently running throughout the night followed by an early morning delivery which arrived between 03.30 and 04.00,, to the kitchen/storage area, located below the room window. I had early appointments requiring me to rise just before 05.00, and therefore gained little to no restful sleep during the night due to the continual noise. The situation was discussed with the duty manager/receptionist on the second evening (Wed 11 July), but I was informed that no alternate room was available due to the hotel being fully booked. The situation continued for the duration of our stay and whilst the final evening was originally booked to enjoy a restful evening at leisure on conclusion of the visit, we decided to forego this and checked out one day early on the morning of Sun 15 July. The total cost of the booking was £783.45 (additional 2-nights added separately with the hotel direct), and I strongly feel that room 10 was definitely not worth the £111.92 per night (averaged total over 7-nights), and that room 10 should be let with a caveat indicating its location and the possibility of disturbed sleep. I was also a little bemused at how, having made my reservation back in August 2017, I was allocated to room 10, as there were clearly better located rooms at the property??

    Lovely location, very friendly and helpful staff, excellent food and a nice al-fresco dining area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    Great staff and food make this a little gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress was very soft so we did not sleep as well as we prefer a harder bed.

    The staff were excellent from check in, dinner and breakfast. The food both dinner and breakfast was very good. Nice room, good car parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.8
    Friendly reception night staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower took 20 minutes to run warm and the pressure was very weak When we booked the rooms they were only available on a dinner, bed and breakfast rate. We arrived too late for dinner due to workokg on a nearby event, so asked the manager if a proportion of the dinner allocation could be refunded - she informed us this was not possible and was pretty rude to use about it!

    Friendly reception night staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    A super Cotswold base
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we were very happy with our room and the hotel in general, the bathroom fittings in our room were a little dated. It is nothing major and really only a little point to make.

    The staff are very friendly and the hotel has a welcoming country feel. It had a wonderful homely feel about it. The guests we met were all very friendly and we weren’t the only people to feel the same way. The restaurant, bar and F and B in general were all very good. The staff were full of local travel suggestions. Local knowledge is always useful isn’t it?

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.8
    Ok ish.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was in one of the rooms in a converted outhouse. Musty and dark, hole in the bathroom lino, really needs attention generally.

    Friendly and efficient reception. Very nice breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable, good breakfast, good value, old fashioned
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not at all environmentally conscious.... Lights are all remotely switched, heating was up full blast and windows left open, no message about saving laundry for towels etc. The shower was terrible... If the pressure is high the temperature is scalding hot if the the temperature is lowered the pressure is too low to shower.

    Nice pain au chocolat, good breakfast. Large room. Very very warm.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.6
    we were made very welcome and would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit small

    The hotel was very well run all the staff we're very cheerful and always on hand can't fault the place I would stay again but would get a larger room very good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    We both felt our stay was brilliant and wanted come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had attended the Kemble Open Day and decided in advance to stay over locally on the Saturday night. Everything about our stay was excellent. eg: we had come away from the event at midday to have lunch, which we were able to have at the hotel. We had arrived without any prior warning ahead of our booking-in time and were warmly greeted and furnished with a very tasty lunch. Our comfortable overnight stay and custom breakfast the following morning were all we could have wished for. We can't wait for an excuse to stay again, maybe for next years Kemble Day or sooner if possible. We would certainly recommend Best Western's Mayfield House to anyone. Thanks for looking after us so well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    4.2
    Very disappointed compared with previous Best Western stays.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was very dated and rather lacking in space, considering it was a 'superior' room. The shower was very cramped (over bath) and water pressure abbysmal, non-existent at times.

    Public areas were very good. Breakfast was excellent .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Even with little niggles, we had a lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could do with paint, the shower didn't seem to have enough pressure & there was only 1 vegatrian main option.

    The location was great very peaceful . Nice big tv, very good breakfast & very friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.2
    Warm welcome, comfortable bedroom, delicious food, excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A warm welcome awaits you in this lovely cosy hotel. The rooms are very comfortable and stocked with everything you'd expect in a hotel of this standard. The food is locally sourced and well cooked - the menu offers something for all tastes ranging from a simple beer battered fish & chips to more gourmet choices. Breakfast is extensive with buffet style starter, choosing from a large selection of fruit/cereal/danish pastries followed by a delicious full cooked breakfast. We highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.1
    Lovely relaxing time in the Cotswolds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower mixers and electric shower alternative were both terrible - boiling hot or cold drips. Needs plumbing fixture replacing as there is plenty of hot water yet no way of using it in a shower.

    Friendly staff, great food and service, beautiful area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    6.7
    Good staff turned this experience from fair to good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel needs to up its game to be competitive. The facilities are quite old-fashioned. The food was generous portions but often either over or under-cooked.

    Very helpful and approachable staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.5
    do not stay in room no 1 the hotel has low water...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    do not stay in room no 1 the hotel has low water pressure and the pump is in the bath room pump comes on at 06-45 am and off at 11-15 pm very noisey

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Convenient and quiet location. All the staff were welcoming and very friendly. Comfortable lounge area with things to read about the local area. Good size room - and a fan.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.4
    Staff tried hard but did not seem to be well trained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no hot water in the morning, so cold showers and hair wash were not appreciated. The Manager did compensate us by not charging us for our evening meal and drinks and was most apologetic.

    Staff tried hard but did not seem to be well trained.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.5
    Our evening meal was enjoyable and the bedroom a good size...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The plumbing needs updating. Our shower was very temperamental and our friend had no hot water in her room (admittedly a room not available for on-line booking but should certainly have had hot water or she should at least have been warned in advance of the lack of hot water there).

    Our evening meal was enjoyable and the bedroom a good size with comfortable bed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.1
    Close to WOMAD site
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel needs not just a makeover it is very tired, driveway all patched up, rooms dated but it needs a compete overhaul

    Staff friendly and nothing was too much trouble

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.9
    Serves the purpose!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    place looked a little tired. Mould in between tiles in bathroom, nothing serious but should be looked at.

    Welcome, Showed us to the room and made us aware of everything they had on offer.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    4.2
    If you can get this for 30 pounds a night you are still over paying
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower did not work properly, it started then stopped, started, stopped and after a few minutes it stopped completely. The bed was itchy and I think some bugs were crawling on my face during the night. We are in the summer and it was around 20 degrees and the heating was on full blast from 4am in the morning which obviously woke me up at around 6am

    Bar staff were very friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.3
    Very pleasant and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water pressure on the shower was very poor and the shower head had very minimum adjustment

    Very pleasant and helpful staff. Easy parking and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    Surprise birthday party in Crudwell
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked the dog friendly room and then didn't take the dogs. All other rooms taken so still had it. Very dated. Cord pull lights, tired decor, old fashioned bathroom.

    The staff, particularly the breakfast and reception staff. Near to Cirencester, Tetbury and Malmesbury.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.3
    Lovely stay in a hotel with lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower pulsated and wasn't very good. When trying to use the bath tap shower attachment instead, I either got hot water or cold - the two would not mix properly Decor is a bit dated (but did not detract form a good stay)

    Staff were excellent, evening meal very tasty and breakfast very good and very accommodating Instant hot water and very quite during the night

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    6.7
    Great staff, clean but a little disappointed....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed 2 nights and were attending a wedding on the second. The bar closed bang on time (11pm) on the first night and before 11pm on the second night (Saturday) and there was no night porter. I get it, it wasn't busy but just disappointing not to have a nightcap before bed. Breakfast was OK but could be improved - mushrooms and hash browns deep fried in oil instead of butter or grilled, fried eggs with a hard yolk, tasteless bulk buy sausages. We stayed in one of the outside courtyard rooms, it was a bit tired and could do with redecorating but it was clean. We paid £142 for a double room and for that price expected something better but we really did only get the 3 star experience.

    The staff were very pleasant and helpful, the bed was very comfortable. Those 2 comments are not related to each other by the way!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    5.8
    DM was accommodating in being able to store my bicycle, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv didn't work. Couldn't get it to turn on, room was above the bar, so could hear guests talking late, Food was under seasoned, vegetable side over cooked, not great value to be honest. No check backs during my dinner.

    DM was accommodating in being able to store my bicycle, and being able to leave early in the morning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    3.3
    The only thing Best about this hotel is in the name
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Where to start? Tiny dirty rooms that were last decorated in the 1970s. Bathroom very tiny with electric shower!!!! Old worn out towels. Bathroom was particularly dirty with the last guests discarded contact lenses still on the sink which didnt look like it had been cleaned behind for years. Mould and stains in the shower. Walls paper thin, I travelled alone but didnt want for company as I could hear every conversation going on around me. As the name Best Western was attached I thought it would be a chain with a certina standard, it wasnt.

    Convenient location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.2
    Great place as a base for seeing the Cotswolds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift, and as my wife and I are 85 it was quite a haul getting up and down.

    The beds were comfortable but I wish hotels didn't use those duvets that slide of when you move.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    7.9
    A little disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The view was of the Courtyard on one side, and with a high window on the other looking out across the driveway onto the main building not particularly picturesque! It was also noisey in the morning from deliveries.

    On arrival we were allocated a family room with two pieces of furniture that had their surfaces peeling away and clearly needed replacing. In any case we had booked a double room and were far from happy. We spoke to the Receptionist who after a little time upgraded us to a lovely room in a Courtyard block. It was very comfortable and we were perfectly happy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    10
    Lovely Crudwell
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice atmosphere,lovely staff,thanks to John for informations provided,excellent breakfast and dinner too. I will definately come back into the same area or even the same hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.6
    Great Holiday Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was fine with no problems

    Food was great, staff were very helpful and pleasant to deal with. The position of the hotel in Crudwell was great for visiting the surrounding towns.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    8.3
    Great value for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom a little small and shower was tricky to get the right power/temperature. Evening meal at the restaurant was a bit dated and expensive, we actually preferred the bar menu.

    Lovely large room with hairdryer, and extra pillows included. Fiona was a particularly lovely member of staff, although they were all polite and friendly. When I mentioned that one of the bulbs wasn't working in our room it was sorted quickly. Very good location if in the Tetbury area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    5.0
    dissapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not of the standard I expected for a best western, tired rooms, uncomfortable bed/pillows, very poor weak shower, quite noisy inside with people in corridor constantly, light coming in under gap at the bottom of the door and all that was in a superior double!

    location was good, staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    4.2
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed with our room very small and dingy. Bathroom even smaller. And no hot water .Very out of date and in urgent need of an upgrade. The quality of the furnishings was very poor . Fabric on chair all worn and coming off. Dirty table . Not up to Best Western standard.

    Good location for where we needed to be

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    8.3
    Big room and bathroom, very clean and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food in the restaurant was tasty, but very expensive.

    Big room and bathroom, very clean and nice. Large windows which allowed good airflow. Really friendly staff were were very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    6.7
    Good location average hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Disappointed with the room meant to be a superior felt it was a double with a large bed. Pictures on website misleading as shows wet room and only got a small bathroom. Shower was not good waited 15 minutes for hot water to come through then dribbled out. General decor a bit tired.

    The breakfast was good and had a good selection of cooked options. Location Bed was confortable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.6
    Friendly, clean and cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My grandson (4 years old) complained that the loo seat would not stay up but we told the staff and they said they would put it right.

    Food good, room comfy, staff friendly and very helpful. Our waitress was lovely sadly I did not get her name

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    8.8
    Handy hotel for a southern Cotswold's break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower was rather feeble and decor/carpets a little dated but all in all a comfortable weekend stay.

    Room was well-equipped and spacious. The staff were friendly and approachable. The evening meal was well-cooked and tasty. The hotel was handy for Tetbury and Malmesbury with plenty of parking at the rear of the property.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    10
    Warm and comfy stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant food too expensive. We were forced to make other arrangements.Along with our friends who were also hotel guests.

    Comfy beds, nice and warm. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    8.8
    Clean warm room and bathroom, Very comfortable bed with good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Warning of low ceilings when booking room, mainly in the shower would have been good.

    Clean warm room and bathroom, Very comfortable bed with good quality linens.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    9.6
    fabulous stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing here to dislike.

    A lovely warm and comfortable hotel. The Dining experience was one of the best we have had, both dinner and breakfast were superb... and we travel a lot. Top marks to the folks running this hotel. Thankyou.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    9.2
    chilled, friendly quality stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Churlish to pick faults when the stay was so enjoyable

    The whole stay was great from moment we booked in, the room excellent, even though was allowing for a dog, not always the case, staff friendly, food tremendous, relaxing atmosphere we wanted to chill and this hotel offers that opportunity

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    8.8
    1 night stay over.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a little dated, which is to be expected in an old Hotel, but very clean and comfortable.

    Warm and cosy with friendly staff and excellent dining.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    4.6
    Not quite what we expected from Best Western
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room. Not the largest of rooms with 'En Suite ?' stuck in the corner. 'Cotswold English Breakfast' - 1 sausage 1 rasher of bacon 1 slice black pudding 1/2 slice fried bread with a fried egg in the middle served on a large dinner plate which emphasised the lack of quantity.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    8.8
    Really enjoyed our stay and is central for lots of places to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows in room 7 were too flat and not plump enough. Needed the cushion off the bed as well.

    The staff all very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was lovely and the evening meal was really good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    7.5
    Good position and wonderful chef
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    One of the pillows was like a brick and needed replacing. The shower could not be made to work - either scalding or freezing and we had to wash our hair in the small basin instead. Room 6. No toiletries given.

    The food was excellent and the chef superb. The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    Plenty of space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plenty of space. Only downside was creaky floorboards....but it is an old building.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.3
    Good value hotel with comfortable rooms
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good value hotel with comfortable rooms

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Delicious breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Delicious breakfast. Very nice duty manager helped us deal with our broken vehicle, as we had difficulty of communication. Many thanks.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    3.8
    The breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled of damp and was dirty the bathroom floor covering ripped and stained. Club chair in room ripped and tatty

    The breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.3
    Very relaxing unpretentious hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a room above the kitchen. There was a definite smell of cooked chicken wafting into our room.

    Staff were lovely.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.8
    Friendly atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Friendly atmosphere. excellent position to explore area. Helpful staff. Breakfast plus half-board package great value.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    A lovely place with friendly staff and good food
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower not powerful at all !!

    Great chose for breakfast ......bed comfortable ......good walk for dog

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Very welcoming staff & very good restaurant
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very welcoming staff & very good restaurant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom floor creaked loudly especially at night when youre trying not to disturb your partner

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Lovely breakfast
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problem with our shower being out of order

    Lovely breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.0
    Breakfast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was dirty, had not been cleaned properly. Room needs a complete revamp and update

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    Very good evening meal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good evening meal

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.7
    Was clean and quirky.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needed modernising, wasn't great for tall people very low ceilings and beams.

    Was clean and quirky. set in a lovely village next to a great pub.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    6.3
    Served our purpose and is in a beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plumbing in bathroom

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    9.2
    Looking forward to my next visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room heating was a little poor on a cold night especially the bathroom 🙁

    English breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    10
    overall was brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the price of the cask beer was a little high

    every aspect of our stay was brilliant

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    9.6
    Most enjoyable stay in small village
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    4.2
    Really dated room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really dated room. Cold shower not worth the money

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    The service and The stuff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service and The stuff. Excellent location. Will be regular

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.3
    Breakfast well cooked and did not need to wait long.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed to soft and noise from room below ours

    Breakfast well cooked and did not need to wait long.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    5.8
    It is conveniently situated but not a great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor is tired breakfast is not great badly cooked fish

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.6
    Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast served by very friendly staff. Food excellent.Very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: