Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant 4 stars

Meikleour, Meikleour, PH2 6EB, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Meikleour

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 305 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was a great choice. Would like to have stayed longer.

    The beautiful building with interesting decor. Lovely staff and very nice room. Loved the bathroom!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great.

    The staff outdid themselves in friendliness and helpfulness. The room was beautifully furnished and extremely comfortable . The menu was small - but dinner was excellent and exceeded our expectations. An absolute gem of a find for us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Three-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very beautiful cottage, great location around a lot of castles, nice and helpful people, big advantage is a restaurant nearby with good meal. We enjoy our stay there very much.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dinners in the evening could have been better.

    Holiday cottage was very clean and well equipped. Beds were very comfy and the wood burning stove was a nice touch and kept us warm in the evenings. Breakfasts were excellent as was the accommodation.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a beautiful hotel set in stunning Perthshire countryside. The hotel is clean and looks like it has been recently renovated. The rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated. We loved our stay here due to the lovely hotel setting and especially the outstanding staff who went out of their way to make our time there enjoyable. We had our 5 month old puppy with us and I would highly recommend this hotel if bringing your dog (I should note for non-dog lovers - the hotel isn’t full of dogs). One member of staff even offered to look after our puppy whilst we ate!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can honestly say that there were no complaints whatsoever.

    The staff were lovely. The evening meal was perfect and breakfast was cooked to perfection.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This is the second time we have stayed at the 1 bedroom Cottage and it was as good as we remembered. The staff are SO friendly and can't do enough to make sure your stay is pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise travelled easily however its an old building and the staff do try to minimise it. Minor point as well however the carpet in the room was stained and very rough to walk on.

    I loved the room size, the mattress was amazing and comfy. The facilities were great in that the in room stuff was all that we needed and the staff were accommodating to any other requests.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Everything was top-notch. We visited the hotel in September 2016 for the first time before the re-furb and we loved it then. We didn't realise the extent of the re-furb. We were delighted on arrival. The room was fabulous.. 4 posted bed, great pillows, luxury mattress and a 5 star bath/shower room. I reckon it was closer to a 5-star experience. The food was excellent, the staff were efficient and friendly and the beer garden was a joy on what was an unexpectedly sunny day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The batter for the scampi was a bit sweet for my taste. Other than that. It was all lovely.

    The staff were really exceptional. Kind, charming and really helpful. Paid lots of generous attention to our baby son. Lovely old building with lots of character and plenty of nice little touches throughout. Good food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to control the heating in our room - it was very room & we needed to open a window to keep it cool - traffic noise noticeable in the morning but a minor criticism after an overall excellent stay!

    Lovely room & very comfy bed. Staff were friendly and our meals were excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints at all! Nothing negative about this hotel.

    From the second you arrive at the front door, the welcome, the staff, the ambience & the appearance of the hotel is very special indeed. An absolute pleasure to visit & I have no doubt we will return there again!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to think of anything.

    Rooms were very well appointed and spotlessly clean. Food was amazing and very much impressed clients I had with me. Lemon and olive oil cod was a particular hit. Great staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like leaving!

    Everything, room was fantastic, bed was the best I've ever slept in. Staff amazingly friendly and chatty. Nothing was too much trouble. Food was to die for. superb, superb, superb

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well this was our 4th stay at this little gem of a hotel,so the question was.......Q.what did you like,A.everything, hence why we returned for our 4th visit.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is lovely. The staff are all so helpful and it is truly dog friendly. We have now been twice and have booked to go again this month. Think this will become a regular treat as it is just so relaxing. The rooms have been decorated well and they look chic yet comfortable. The food is great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our cottage was not cleaned to standard it should have been for the cost. Freezer part of fridge had not been emptied from previous guests, hob on cooker was filthy dirty with hard food on one of the rings,the log box had not been filled for our arrival. The evening of our first night there we discovered all the glasses and several of cups were dirty with lip and finger marks... we spoke with manageress who was very kind and stated she would be down next day to inspect cottage but was unable to do so,much to our disappointment!! We then found tv and mirrored tiles in living area dirty and smeared having obviously been wiped with a dirty cloth!!. My partner and i were given a free drink. But feel in view of having to wash some of dishes in order to use some sort of refund would have been more acceptable as this property was £115 per night!! And we certainly did not go there to do a cleaners job!!

    The hotel itself was fabulous menu and food presentation excellent... staff couldn’t do enough nothing was any trouble... location was blissfully peaceful and scenic

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    We stayed in an annex building.very comfortable and so quiet.Lovely toiletries. Also a small carafe of Sherry was provided.Food was excellent and all freshly cooked to order. Staff all very helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lighting at bedroom vanity table

    After checking with us first prior to our arrival, we were moved to the two bed cottage as there was an issue with our hotel room. We were very happy with this, although a little concerned that the cottage was some distance from the hotel itself (900m or 15 minute walk). As the weather was good over our stay in the end this wasn't a problem and we were happy to walk to, and back from, the hotel for dinner (not sure if it had been raining rather than a mild starry moonlight night that we would have been quite so happy though, as one of us would have had to drive). The cottage itself was really lovely, furnished to a high standard and beautifully decorated with the most comfortable bed I think I have ever slept in - in fact I would like to know what make the mattress is as I am now looking to replace my own mattress as I now realise how uncomfortable it is!! The cottage was very peaceful and my only slight complaint would be that the lighting for the vanity mirror/table is poor which made make up application impossible so I needed to use the mirror in the living room area. Staff at the hotel are extremely helpful and accommodating. Would definitely recommend and hope to return.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing and this is just a small thing, the carpet in the room was a bit rough on your feet, very heavy duty carpet. You need slippers or socks on.

    Everything from our arrival to our departure was fantastic. Very friendly and welcoming staff. Best bed and shower we have had in a hotel in a long time. The decor was beautiful through out the Hotel. Food in the restaurant was fantastic. Can`t wait to visit again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I felt quite uncomfortable with the hunting theme e.g. huntsmen print curtains and shooting magazines.

    The décor throughout was beautiful and our room was cosy. Liked the prints and pictures of family members.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were welcoming and friendly. The whole place was clean and attractive. Lovely quiet location with lots of walks and places of interest close by. Menu was limited but very well presented and tasty.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stylish, clean, huge bed with super soft sheets. Cottages have everything you could need. Stunning woodland right outside the front door to walk in. Staff friendly and very helpful. Megan, Mandy and Shaun made us so welcome and went above and beyond to help. Food was gorgeous. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only concern with this otherwise wonderful hotel was that our room, the Mercer, wasn't quite as quiet as we would have liked it to be. However was in the room above us seemed to be pacing up and down all night which was quite noisy. Only other issue was that as the the room was situated close to the back exit it there was a bit of coming and going.

    Elegantly decorated and very comfortable rooms. Locally sourced breakfast, the venison charcuterie, the location and the wonderful walks you can take around the hotel all added to the sense of it being a rather luxurious place to stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upstairs rooms had wooden flooring so could hear lots of movement above

    Friendliness of staff Size and comfort of bed Bathroom facilities - bath and large walk-in shower Breakfast options Dining room Newly and tastefully decorated Heating options in room Little decanter of sherry - lovely little touch

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More glasses in the cottage (only 3 champagne flutes) and a light in the corner of the living room would have been better (to the right of the fireplace)

    The staff were excellent and very friendly/accommodating. The cottage was fantastic and so comfortable. Great walking from hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cottages are almost 1km from hotel / pub. Road access is very muddy / needs draining when walking for drinks !

    Cottage was amazing - log burner - plenty of space and great beds ! Kitchen was well equipped.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We stayed in the One Bedroom Cottage over the w.e and it was beautiful inside and spotlessly clean. The lounge had a log burner which was great in this weather but to be honest the Cottage was roasting so we didn't really need it on but put it on as it looked nice and cosy. The staff at Meikleour Arms where we went for our breakfast and evening meal were fantastic they were so warm and friendly and couldn't do enough for you (our black lab loved them as she got lots of cuddles and treats). We will definitely be back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. All good for us.

    The setting is ideal, quiet and secluded. The property has recently been very tastefully renovated. Room was comfortable and a good size. Meals and drinks were good. Had a good chat to some locals at the bar. Parking easy. Lovely stroll around the village the following morning

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing It was exceptional.

    Spent an amazing three nights here over New Year. Cottage was amazing. Staff were amazing. I fell in Love with Scotland and would return to Meiklour in a heart beat.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The glass shower curtain wasn’t long enough to keep the bathroom floor from flooding a bit.

    Staff were super friendly and accommodating of our late arrival due to a weather delayed flights. We missed dinner and they offered to have sandwiches in our room for us when we did arrive. The place itself was well appointed and very comfortable. We would have loved to stay longer.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    We were here for Christmas Eve through to Boxing Day and we couldn't have had a better place to celebrate! The staff were incredibly cheerful and accommodating. The room itself was lovely and it was so cosy in the whole building that we didn't want to leave! That being said there are plenty of great walks nearby and it's very close to Dunkeld. The food was delicious and very reasonably priced. We cannot say enough good things about the Meikleour Arms!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The driveway at the cottage was very tight for a large car. But it was not a major issue. The fillet steaks we had on the Saturday night could have been hotter.

    The décor, in and around the whole place was tastefully done. The staff were spot on. Friendly and helpful. The Hotel and surrounding areas was good for dog lovers, lots of nice walks and very dog friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pretty much perfect stay - My poached eggs were not runny at breakfast - that's all I can fault them for!

    The rooms we extremely clean and the decor was better than expected from the photos. We had a warm welcome and ate in the restaurant - it was delicious and the fish was so fresh! I would definitely come back again. The bed linen and towels were lovely. Breakfast was a cold buffet with warm menu as an option - we had both!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an infestation of wasps in one of the ensuites that was unusable. Also lack of sufficient equipment in the kitchen to cook

    Gorgeous location, cottage and restaurant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing.....even the weather was good....minus 4!!

    The food is excellent the staff are very very helpful and the whole place has been given a make over which is absolutely wonderful. A lot of thought has been given to create a wonderful experience of an old hunting/fishing/shooting lodge on a very beautiful estate in the heart of Perth shire.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    We had a brilliant stay - everything was great from the room, the surroundings and the food! The staff were so friendly and always happy to help.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Early morning noise of timber yard behind property. Constant enginge noises of agricultural machinery and vehicles. Only one sofa and not comfortable for relaxing on.

    Breakfast in the hotel was good quality, service excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing to say was the service at dinner could have been a bit quicker and there could have been another waiter/waitress to attend to the tables as there was quite a wait.

    First of all the welcome. The staff were all so friendly and helpful. All in all a superb place to go and have a break. Food was first class. To be highly recommended

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing at all.

    We stayed in the 3 bedroom cottage and it was immaculate with everything we needed. The Meikelour Arms Hotel was just round the corner and we went there for breakfast which was included in the price! We also had dinner there two evenings and the food was excellent. Great location and extremely friendly and helpful staff. Would go back again and again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole place is a total delight. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. The food was delicious. The room was outstanding. I cannot recommend this place enough. We will definitely return. AMAZING

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could not find fault with this property. The manager, however, had a nasty cold and she should have stayed home instead of attending to guests (and serving food).

    This is a beautiful place: nicely (and appears recently) redone. Bed was comfy too. Food was delicious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really.

    The bed was Supercomfy! We were in the annexe with the dog, and as it is on 2 floors, could have done with a mat on the wooden floors to deaden foot noise. Staff very friendly and helpful . Minor point : toilet roll holder should be moved for convenience, nearer the window.Pretty gardens.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a great deal in the village really but the inn was a place of respite after a long journey.

    Lovely newly decorated inn. The hotel retained its unique character, enjoyed by locals and visitors alike. Two differing places for eating which was nice. Room lovely and warm. There were other areas for socialising; large dining room, outside beer/ picnic garden and a large fireplaced lounge.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a very hard woven carpet that was sore under foot even with socks on! It did look lovely just wasn't comfortable in a bedroom!

    Breakfast delicious, good selection, lovely interior and styling throughout. Staff were welcoming and very helpful. Thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay and would recommend it to others.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lounge a bit dead and smelly. Second dining room dark. Think there is room for improvement in these areas. Also it would have been lovely to have seating in the secret garden adjacent to annex. Would have liked info on history of building and local area.

    Newly refurbished annex with superb bathroom.king size bed extra comfy. Excellent room. Food and atmosphere really good. Sheep were real fun! New manager was very helpful and friendly and I'll be a real asset to the business.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Laminated floor in the room above ours. Whilst I appreciate how much easier this is to clean etc it can be very noisy as in our case. We did mention this to the staff so they are aware. Our room was also adjacent to the road which is not noisy but we were unable to leave the windows open as the can not be locked in an open position. Would be good if something could be done to allow this for in relation to safety and security and of course overnight ventilation.

    Lovely clean and comfortable place to stay. Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The settee is v uncomfortable and not conducive to settling down in front of the log fire. However, having said that, it does not detract greatly from the overall experience.

    We stayed in one of the one bedroom cottages, which are remote from the hotel itself, so it's a little home from home with all of the facilities you need along with the added bonus of having a log fire and a plentiful supply of split logs for you to use.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Management are aware that some more staff training required which we are sure will please guests.

    For a fussy couple the room and bathroom well planned. Place to sit toiletries and hooks behind bathroom door!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only small problem at the cottage, some work traffic occasionally passing. It didn't bother us though.

    Highly recommended. We stayed in the cottages and had superb breakfast at the hotel. Everything you need at the cottage and lovely staff at hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mattress hard. No sound proofing, very aware of people above walking about. Heard toilet being flushed upstairs.

    Lovely setting. Spacious rooms. Tasty breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The farm machinery coming and going to the area immediately behind the cottages was noisy occasionally. But wouldn't be a problem if you're always out and about during the day. It was tricky and noisy shutting quite a few of the doors in our cottage ( No. 4) so if you're trying to get youngsters to sleep, or not wake up sleeping teenagers, maybe bring some WD40!

    Lovely spacious 2 bedroom cottage with wood burning stove. Good to have tea, coffee, washing up liquid and toiletries provided. Very comfortable beds. Breakfast was great, as were the evening meals we had there. It was good to feel rural with the fields and woods surrounding us, but with the hotel just a short walk away. We saw a buzzard in a nearby tree a couple of times.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of decent kitchen utensils and coat hangers let this property down. Only 1 saucepan, no kitchen scissors or tin opener and 4 hangers in the fitted wall to wall wardrobe. A fair walk or short drive for breakfast may put some off but we walked the dog and killed two birds with one stone.

    Nice big bed, pretty location, lovely cottage. Dogs welcomed and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Renovation work still happening, but no major issue for us. the pub and the food were great, breakfast was very nice but a lack of jams and marmalade etc was noticeable.

    Country location, lovely room, friendly staff, nice food and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were in an outside annex and the room was cosy, clean and with a nice bathroom. We dinned in the bar and enjoyed the atmosphere, the food and the excellent and friendly service.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great to have somewhere you can also take the dog when you are having a meal... breakfast, we hate having to put the dog in the car when we have meals. Zuri was welcome for dinner and breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I could fault

    900 m walk from the pub to the cottage. Very peaceful setting looking onto the woods. Cottage was modern, extremely comfortable and warm. Food in the pub was excellent especially the gallette forestiere and the seafood salad. Scotland needs more pubs like this.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    modern decor it was not in keeping with the area. The furniture in the room was modern but poor quality and a very small table with kettle facilities. Overall we think they have lost the character of the hotel and gone to modern.

    nice big bed and bathroom with excellent shower and bath. liked the garden area at the back. Hotel was being refurbished so it was new and modern

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in the room above the bar and it was very noisy. We couldn't get to sleep until the pub closed around 11.45pm. My wife sorted this by downing a few fun and tonics. However, we were perhaps unlucky with this room. Opened the window and the smell from the sceptic tank outside was not good. Had to close the window again which meant it was very warm. As I said. Lovely staff. Lovely accommodation. Very clean but ask for a room at the back if you want to go to sleep early and surely they can do something about the whiff..... don't let this put you off though. Great place to stay. I'd do so again.

    Staff are brilliant. A joy to be with them. Made us very welcome.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Potholes in track to cottages. Sheets were not changed as stated. No sherry or fruit in room as stated on web page.

    Bed very large and comfy, staff helpful and friendly, nice quiet location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautifully refurbished property Gorgeous mix of old and new Fabulous bedroom with very modern and stylish bathroom Excellent food and helpful staff Couldn't fault it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have preferred to see a mirror setup on exiting the carpark.

    Everyone was very friendly. Very professional set up. The room was well appointed with a modern bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room in the annexe was delightful but ruined by the noise from the bedroom upstairs when guests arrived there. We heard every movement made across the floor and when the shower was utilised by the occupants, the noise was unbearable We asked to move and the only bedrooms available were indifferent and probably due for refurbishment but at least the one we chose was quiet Additionally, the bar was not open due to renovations of which we were unaware thus restricting the facilities available

    Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Building work/ improvements were under way so presently no bar, no easy access to our annex and the dining room was lacking atmosphere with no privacy or interesting 'alcoves' Walking in the road to our annex was necessary as the hedge was overgrown! No telephone in our room was a joy for me but might worry others? When finished I am sure it will be beautiful!

    Staff particularly Mandy, very relaxed about breakfast 'Last Orders' She made our visit a joy! All the staff were very friendly. Our bedroom was delightful although noise transference from engineered wooden floor could be a problem for others underneath us!? Newly commissioned bedroom was very, very nice!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like to have had the wee bar to sit in but is still under construction. If it turns out as good as the rest of the place would certainly make a return trip just to see it all complete.

    The cottage accommodation was excellent value for money very spacious and very comfortable. Food in restaurant was excellent kitchen looks brand new and spotless and they served a cracking pint of draft lager. Staff were all very good and helpful. Would highly recommend and will be returning.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Personally I was happy to go down to the hotel for breakfast. Was the just a short walk or drive and felt like self catering with a bonus!

    The cottage was well designed and warm and comfortable. You really felt you were in the countryside and would be lovely in both the harshest winter or summer time. The wood burning stove was great

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we turned up the whole place was getting a renovation so no bar and no lounge just one square room to eat and drink very very disappointed we were there to celebrate a special occasion but ruined as there was no facilities, I book many hotels through booking.com and this I felt I should of got my money back.

    Staff were friendly and food was good

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In middle of major refurbishment, which means it will be lovely in about 5 months, but now you have to walk around to get to main building and it is just one stark, soulless restaurant.... Annex very well done out, but very noisy if you have someone in room above - which of course I did....

    Friendly reception, free WIFI in restaurant was excellent, as was food,

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We weren't aware there were major building works going on......... there was no bar open for drinks in the main hotel and the dining room was extremely cold because of temporary blocked up doorways. Having said that it will be absolutely beautiful once the building works are complete!!!

    We stayed in Cottage 1....excellent facilities, it was like home from home!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Travel from cottages to hotel were along an unlit road so had to rely on phone for light. A minor complaint but at this time of year a torch would have been handy if we had known.

    Cottages were fantastic

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel being refurbished & NO bar facilities at all, extremely disappointing since there was no alternative nearby. We were NOT informed beforehand

    Dinner & breakfast very good

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole main hotel was being refurbished and there was no lounge or bar to sit in at night. The restaurant was open but approached by very muddy entrance as large road machines were working on site all day. We were in an annexe, which meant walking down a road with no suitable pavement to get to restaurant. At least it didn't rain.!! We should have been warned of this upheaval when booking.

    Lovely room, fluffy towels and comfy bed.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beds were too firm

    Food was fab! The restaurant is in the process of being refurbished. An extension housing new restaurant and kitchens has already been built. Existing area is about to be upgraded.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I chose the Meikleour Arms as a special treat for a birthday present for my partner who is in his late 70’s. We had passed the hotel a number of times over the years and my partner had said that he would like a meal there one day. Too far to go for an evening meal and then drive home, I decided that I would book a meal and a room for the night as a special surprise present. It sadly turned out to be not the sort of surprise I had intended. We arrived in the afternoon, as I had planned. I thought that we could sit in the bar (which the website said was cosy and welcoming, with oil burning stoves) and sip a glass of something before our meal, on that cold January day. I was looking forward to eating in the wood panelled dining room with its lovely log fireplace (as described on the website). These are the reasons why I made the booking. But….. …..When we arrived, we were informed that the bar was closed for renovations and there was no alternative lounge to sit in. …..We were informed that the wood panelled dining room with its lovely log fireplace was closed for renovations - but there was a replacement! It was just unfortunate that the replacement had under-floor heating which had broken down. We sat in our fleeces with outdoor jackets on top and fur-lined boots to have our meal. (Did I tell you how cold it was? – The ice-covered snow had not melted all day.) In times when my heating has broken down, I have relied on my fan heater and calor gas heater - but sadly I had failed to take either with me. Clearly the management had not thought to have a back-up. After we left the dining room, my partner stood under the shower for quite some time in order to warm up. We did have a lovely comfortable cosy room and the meal was excellent, but what a disappointment for a special birthday treat.

    Room was lovely, food was lovely, waiting staff were friendly

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The chalet is a wee bit far from pub/resteraunt. I don't think it's walkable at night time.

    The modern facilities, helpfull staff. The chalet had it's own dedicated Wi-fi router which is a first for us! Log burner is also a good feature. The bed was very comfortable. I can't fault the place.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The inn was being completely refurbished while we were there, so after our first evening, there was no log fire and the staff were having to make use of the corridor for the bar etc, However, they all coped very well and we accepted that January was probably the most sensible month to do the work. It didn't spoil our stay and it's going to be stunning when it's all finished..

    Our cottage was immaculate. The bed was amazingly comfy, the shower was good (very important) and the log burner was a major boost as we were there in January when it was snowing! Very good quality furnishings and décor throughout. The staff were all very professional and friendly and seem happy to work there - a testimony to the management.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75