Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Meldrum House Hotel Golf And Country Estate 4 stars

Olmeldrum, Oldmeldrum, AB51 0AE, United Kingdom

#1 of 2 hotels in Oldmeldrum

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 297 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were not very helpful. We called ahead to check in early as we had a function to attend and needed to get ready beforehand. We were advised that this was no problem and that our room would be ready for us. Upon arrival our room was not ready but we were given an alternative room to get ready in before ours was available. We were then expected to repack all our things and move to the new room prior to leaving for the function. When we quickly realised that we would not have enough time to do all of the above, the hotel staff then said that we would have to be charged extra if we wanted to stay in the original room. There seemed to be no initiative shown or common sense from the staff. Nobody helped us with our bags on arrival nor showed us to our room. Nobody explained when breakfast was or where - meaning that we missed it by 8 minutes the following morning. No flexibility was offered and we ended up having leftover pastries and a coffee when we had paid for full breakfast. I mentioned this upon checkout but of course we had to pay the cost of two full breakfasts. Overall this is a lovely, characterful hotel unfortunately let down by the staff and service. For the price, we have stayed in much better value hotels with superior service.

    Excellent location and style. Very quiet and peaceful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is set in beautiful surroundings with gorgeous rooms in the main house where I have stayed a number of times. The staff are all so lovely and incredibly helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad to report about this property

    The location is excellent, the room was clean and stylish, the golf facilities are superb, the staff are helpful and friendly and breakfast was a treat. We would have stopped another night if there was room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A couple in our group were staying in the main Meldrum House (1st floor) and the noise coming from a party in the dining area / lounge (ground floor) was pretty unpleasant and led to a sleepless night. We had to ask reception to do something about it and although they were apologetic and moved the party to another area, the group was actually moved to the bar area which had outside seating right outside the hotel room, which meant the noise was worse! They were at it until around 1am. It's a shame because otherwise our stay would have been perfect. We've seen other reviewers say something similar - do double check before you stay if there is going to be an event at the same time. If so, try to get a room in the stables building. The rooms there were excellent (although less stately) and quiet.

    Beautifully decorated rooms, comfy towels, stunning views, the food was excellent and we particularly enjoyed the drawing room and historical decor

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was a little difficult for us to find as Googlemaps kept trying to redirect us to a different location.

    We booked this last minute for just a night stay and wished it would have been for longer. The setting was beautiful, food was good, and the hospitality was wonderful. We stayed in the newer addition and the room was very comfortably appointed with a wonderful view of the golf course. My daughter had a room in the original estate building, which was quite large and beautifully decorated. We enjoyed both dinner and breakfast there during our stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Stayed in the suite with my partner. Pictures do not do the room justice at all - absolutely phenomenal the small touches. They thought of everything! The dinner and breakfast was lovely. Will be back!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one negative comment....lighting needs improving at dressing table. When doing makeup, good lighting is required on both sides of the mirror.

    Beautiful room/accommodation. Gorgeous setting. Enjoyed room service & breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast could’ve been better as it was expensive. Bar staff may need a little more training, drinks were all fine it just felt they didn’t exactly know what there doing.

    We were staying for a wedding in the hotel. The hotel, rooms and views were amazing, staff were friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complains it was a good stay

    Food was excellent, fantastic choice on the menu. Bedrooms were huge! loads of space and great views. Staff were very frendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needs a little TLC - and the hot water behaved a little unpredictably in the shower.

    The breakfast and dinner were both great! The old building is gorgeous and the bedrooms comfortable with a matching old style elegance. And the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A mapped walking route in the grounds would be nice rather than just golf course. Breakfast should be included in the room price

    Large comfortable room Friendly,polite staff The Cave Bar ,great space with views over the estate Location,very peaceful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacing between tables in dining/ breakfast room was a bit cramped.

    The Turrets room was fantastic, spacious with great showers. Barman very attentive also.lovely, relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My shower had no hot water, but the tap water on the sink was way too hot. Dangerous if a child had been there. Also, they insist on leaving lights on and the tv on radio when there’s nobody in the room. Strange.

    It’s a beautiful building. The staff were fantastic. I was there for a wedding and everything ran smoothly. Perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to be asked if we wanted a turn down service. Don’t like that somebody was in our room without permission

    Comfortable bed. Lovely rooms, breakfast was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi is fairly poor in the rear building

    Set in a wonderful surrounding, a real professional group of staff members. A real quality place to stay away from hustle and bustle of Aberdeen central

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything we didn’t like about the hotel.

    My wife and I were visiting the area of Fyvie for a funeral midweek. We used booking.com to find local hotels. Meldrum house was the closest location but also one of the cheapest, also had free cancellation and pay at property. This was useful as we weren’t sure if there was alternative arrangements with family etc. We arrived late night around 10.30 and were extremely surprised by how well presented the hotel was. At the price point we were expecting a catch but we were very happy on arrival. Room was extremely spacious and clean, little vanilla fudge bites in the room with complimentary bottled water and a plethora of hot drink choices. All in all, my wife and I would most definitely recommend a will be returning to the area and hope to stay here again!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi signal a bit weaker in some parts of the hotel but understandable with nature of the building.

    Extra comforts to make it a home away from home, proper filter coffee in rooms and wonderful nights sleep. Staff very attentive and professional.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel was amazing! After a days work it was a haven of tranquility. The rooms were exceptional, and very comfortable, with lots of thoughtful extras. The staff were very professional and welcoming. The food was delicious (if a little pricey) - restaurant quality!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One tiny thing, we found our room a littly cold. Having said that it was very cold outside and it's an old building. Still worth the visit as the hotel and room were lovely.

    Beautiful room - turrets suite. Very friendly, attentive staff and warming open fire in the drawing room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedside reading lamp made an annoying hissing noise - the only way I could stop it was by putting it on! I did point out this to housekeeping but they couldn't fix it on the Saturday so I had to put up with it on Saturday night too.

    I enjoyed my stay very much - Was impressed that soya milk had been put in my room fridge. Also the Afternoon Tea was served with dairy free cakes. This was without even asking - most impressed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No faults

    Beautiful setting, the staff are very proffesional, food is cooked to perfection, the rooms are vey comtortable, the Hotel is spotless. I recommend this Hotel to anyone thinking of booking

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was not to the standard we expected. When asked for bacon and poached eggs for breakfast expected more than one of each. The plate looked ridiculous with only the two objects on it. Was expecting a wee bit more.

    The room was excellent, spacious and very comfy. The whisky left in the room was especially nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have no destructive criticism end of story

    very comfortable room,nice bar,breakfast was served promptly and had one been very hungry there was any amount to eat from the side table.A first class breakfast menu was on offer with no extra charge for smoked haddock or kippers

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If was being pedantic I would say the seating for the meal was not the best. My partner had a chair while I had to sit in a sofa making the meal a bit of a chore to pull myself up to the table. It was a very busy night however and didn't subtract from the evening at all.

    It's is a stunning hotel set in a gorgeous location, the hotel staff are all outstanding and extremely well mannered and presented. The whole place has an air of nostalgia and sophistication without being over powering. You really feel like the guest comes first which in my experience is rare these days. I travelled with my fiancee as an early Valentine's surprise. I had a few requests for the room to be set and was not disappointed. We also had a dinner reservation and the food was perfectly prepared and tastes fantastic. I would definitely recommend meldrum house.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    speed of broadband but that is outwith their control

    As a female travelling on her own I was made immedaiately to feel at ease. Staff exceptionally and naturally friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a cold spell and it is an old property with original single glazed sash windows with electric heaters being provided in the rooms , however being a little critical it could have been warmer. Smoked haddock at breakfast was beautifully presented but I suspect was frozen and rather " rubbery" All other breakfast items excellent.

    Very impressive period property in excellent condition throughout. Large rooms , well decorated. Attentive , polite staff. Would definitely chose to return in better weather if a competitive price was availble again .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was in the old building upstairs, there was no lift so lugging a pram up and down and a new born was a pain! The blind in the room was covered in dead insects!

    Staff were wonderful, helped carry all our luggage upstairs as well as our pram and baby equipment

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the Service rather slow at breakfast.

    We were in the new extension which is very luxurious.The room was spacious with everything one requires. The older historic part has been beautifully maintained so very atmospheric. The golf course looked interesting despite the damp weather.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the cost but for what you got and the type of hotel it was worth it even though I thought the wedding rate for people attending the wedding could have been cheaper. £145 without breakfast is a bit steep

    It had a great old atmosphere and the staff and food was great .The surroundings of the hotel were lovely. We were there for my nieces wedding and were staying in one of the rooms in the old house can't fault a thing.Great range of malt whiskies as well

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pity the corner window looks down on the recycling area. Cooked breakfast was disappointing. Over cooked

    Very comfortable bed, lovely spacious room and en suite. The corner window and seating was great. Wonderful curtains

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Club King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a little confusion at check-out with payment. I had booked, via Booking.com, and pre-paid in full. However, I was charged again on the final invoice. Fortunately the issue was eventually resolved and the invoice amended.

    The hotel with it's log fires and friendly staff was very welcoming. We had a spacious Club King room with a splendid view over the golf course. Dinner in the restaurant was supreme and we can well recommend it, especially the venison.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    absolutely loved all the shared spaces, fireplaces in sitting areas, stone rooms and whiskey bar, preferred the room with atmosphere in the "barn" to the modern new rooms. lovely location views cows and gentle atmosphere...people were wonderful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went for our anniversary as we got married at meldrum House in 2016. We spent a lot of money on our wedding day and I requested a bottle of prosecco in our room for our anniversary. I would have thought that meldrum House would have made that complimentary instead of charging us considering the room already cost £175 per night. Really disappointed at that.

    The new club room was very nice and the bed was extremely comfy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were lovely and took us to the golf club in the minibus ( down the long drive) which we appreciated after a tiring days touring. Bar was great and the setting very attractive

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was terrible including uncooked fish on the first night, also the staff were very poor and you kept having to remind them of drinks orders etc, other people at the oil and Gas exhibition who were staying there also said the same thing, ended up taking other clients to Eat On the Green for a meals as way better

    Location and setting

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Breakfast was excellent. Bed was very comfortable, room was excellent as we had corner windows with view over the establishing garden. Found staff to be friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was truly very poor. Over cooked breakfast and no brown sauce.

    Location was good. Rooms and building were lovely. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No negatives

    Luxury place to stay after a 10 day trip covering North of Scotland incl. Orkney where we stayed in varied hostelry's. Rooms spacious and comfortable and we had a great view overlooking Golf course. Food was superb with the staff well trained and welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are three main improvements I'd like to see to the room we stayed in. Firstly there were no sheer curtains in our bedroom, so in the morning I had to get dressed with blackout curtains shut and relatively poor (ie low) level of electric lighting - a bit of a gloomy experience. I think this is the first quality hotel room I've ever stayed in without sheers. The bed (set within a wide upholstered bedhead arrangement) was too near the wardrobe, which had the only 'sort of' full length mirror in the room, so it was hard to get a full body outfit check. It was also quite awkward accessing the far side of the wardrobe space. The bed could easily have been sited a bit further away during the original fit out. Finally, the full wall window was brilliant (when the curtains weren't closed over), however the immediate view looked over a large bin area below. This was tidy and partially roofed over, but given the quality of the rest of the room/ beauty of the hotel surroundings it seems odd to have this anomaly. I'd have covered it completely and given it a grass/green living roof. Hope this is useful feedback. I mentioned points 1 and 2 to the staff at the time, who did offer to move us to a different room in the stable block, but this wasn't viable given that we were getting ready to head for the wedding.

    Lovely historic property, beautifully renovated and a delicious breakfast with fabulous coffee. We stayed in the very nice, new accommodation 'block' attached to the old building. The interior decor was sophisticated, the bed fabulously comfy and the bathroom was superb. However, a few improvements would have made the room 'perform' better for the needs of wedding guests preparing for the day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the price should have included breakfast. Yes there was a price for breakfast but we felt it was just not worth it. The last time we visited there was a wedding on and our room was not ready even after an extra two hours. Even after complaint nothing was done so feel we use this hotel out of necessity rather than preference.

    Yes it was fine.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner service was a little haphazard and lacked an eye for detail. Food was mostly very competent but presentation a little odd.

    Good wine list, interesting choices and well priced. Cave bar was relaxed for pre and post dinner drinks, allowed outside seating. Room was modern, spacious and comfortable with a nice view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The long corridors of carpeting in a wheelchair. Sign posting inadequate.. View from window looking out at refuse bins. Seating in bar area a minimal and High stools not much use for elderly 80 year old, Bar prices even allowing for high standard facilities. £4-50 for can of Guinness £0-90 Supermarket.

    The site itself, Disabled parking adequate, Staff assistance good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was very warm and no elevator or means to get a heavy bag up the stairs.

    No real restaurants nearby, but excellent restaurant at the hotel. Very upscale comforts within an old building.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So much beautiful surrounding countryside yet the view from our room was over rubbish bins.

    The heated bathroom floor was wonderful, as was the history and ambiance of the Cave bar.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    None worth mentioning or that detracted from the overall wonderful experience/

    This was one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in, and we have traveled extensively around the world. Like staying in a lovely, stately 19th century mansion, with lots of discretely modern touches for comfort. And so many small details that resulted in an experience that approached perfection. Such as highland cattle in a small field right next to the hotel solely for the purposes of the visitor experience. Like the offer of a bottle of water by reception staff on checking out for our drive. And we weren't even there to experience the beautiful-looking golf course. This hotel was an absolute joy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our brand new very large double room unfortunately overlooked the garbage area of the hotel. A screen covering this would have been better .

    Very helpful staff , lovely decor & great facilities.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On booking.com it should have been clearer that the breakfast was not include in the deal.

    Room was very comfortable despite the view down into the bins. Eye level view was lovely onto a newly cultivated bank/rockery. The shower was brilliant. Breakfast first class.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening menu (Dinner) you have to remember not everyone eats red meat, the fish would have been perfect but it wasn't cooked properly and a chicken dish would have been nice to see on the menu 😀

    Fell in love with the LARGE chip they have on the menu lol brilliant

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were poor. Breakfast service was a joke. We were given a table to share with others who were just finishing their breakfast. We asked for tea for two only to be told that there was tea on the table. The little tea that was left was obviously cold given that it had been ordered and mostly drunk by the people ahead of us. We had to ask several times to get a fresh pot. We came across the same problem with the toast where we were told to eat the cold toast left over from another order when we tried to request some with our breakfast.We then struggled to find milk,sugar, butter and other condiments. Everything had to be searched for or requested (instead of staff ensuring the table was well stocked) and took an unreal length of time to arrive. I have never experienced being told to share our breakfast with strangers by drinking their cold tea and cold toast in any other hotel/b&b I have visited before. Staff were uninterested and rude. It really made what should have been a pleasant morning start miserable. Poor service also in the bar. Initially we struggled to find anyone serving ay the bar inspite of being told it was open. Eventually we got someone to come to the bar for a simple drink order. Then after a 30min wait we queried after the items only to be told (with no apology) that the bar staff 'hadn't had any time to make them'. We waited another 10 mins for them to arrive. Bar was also messy - covered in unwashed glasses from the night before. Really disgusting and shouldn't have been left like that - staff made no effort to clean it.

    Beautiful looking hotel and bedroom and bathroom are fabulous. Breakfast when ordered to the room was wonderful but do not struggle with breakfast downstairs as it is poorly staffed and serviced.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything.

    We liked the tasteful antique furniture,the organic tea, the glutenfree biscuits, the quality of the breakfast, great service from the staff, the room did not smell of cleaning chemicals and cheap sprays.No loud music anywhere, open fires, peace and quiet.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The time it took from being seated, order taken and served dinner. To be fair I don't like to be rushed! But an hour and three quarters including eating the meal (that part was 20 minutes) was a bit much!

    Very friendly and helpful staff. The cleanliness of the whole hotel and the setting.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having free wifi was great as there is no phone signal of any kind. However I had to reconnect every time my phone locked which became tedious.

    Bed was so comfortable and the room was spotless.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were here for the wedding of my son Sam to Jodie. Everything about the experience was fantastic from the stable ceremony to the breakfast and everything in between! The staff were so welcoming and efficient and made the whole day so much easier in the somewhat bittersweet circumstances so we thank you for that.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant meal and service, Service in the restaurant was very slow, the staff were very nice, but it took 15 minutes for my order to be taken, there seemed to be a lot of staff, food was just ok, my starter of cauliflower was very tasteless, and my main course of fish was over done, but the staff were so nice especially the restaurant manager, who had given me a history lesson earlier on in the day on the house, was wonderful. Evening staff not so helpful, I paid after dinner as I had an early check out, I was told on checking in that a continental bfk would be delivered to me in my room, when asked about this the receptionist said that would not be possible!reception staff booking in were not very smiley I was given a room with a shower, I went and asked for one with a bath, your head housekeeper was at reception, and went out of her way to help me move to room 3, which was wonderful,

    3 members of staff, your restaurant manager, your head housekeeper and night porter, room was wonderful, and a very nice atmosphere throughout the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely bar, lovely room. Was there for an event so it's unlikely we'd return to the area but the actual hotel was very lovely. If staying near Aberdeen, make sure you travel the coast, some beautiful beaches and harbours.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    We spent 10 nights here in January and it was simply excellent! I have to admit, I wrote a not too great review of this hotel some years ago, after a birthday celebration meal was spoiled by the noise of a wedding. The new function suite fixes this completely. The extension is beautiful and spacious, no more noise, the food great and the menu extensive. The bar extension is lovely and the cocktails/whisky selection devine. Most of all, we loved the staff. They welcomed us like family, looked after us, were intelligent and bubbly company, very professional and experienced and even arranged a wine delivery of our favourites. It was a really great stay and we will be revisiting for dinner many times in the future.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing was you had to have dinner in the resturant on a fixed menu. They tried hard to accommodate my daughters diet ( Vegan ) but wasn't much choice .Would be great if they could serve a less formal meal in the bar.

    Just a beautiful place, staff so friendly. Bed was so comfy like a marshmallow. All in fab place. Would go again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't fault it

    Lovely old country house hotel full of character with all modern conveniences, well appointed and comfortable. A luxury feel about the whole experience. Great views from the room across paddocks with beautiful cattle. Great Scottish breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps more clothing storage space especially drawers.

    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The food was excellent. The room exceeded our expectations. The complimentary whisky was a nice touch!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had some difficulty connecting to the free wifi but this may have been our phone rather than the hotel.

    Very comfortable room -and so unlike "standard" hotel rooms. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for a festive get together with friends. The hotel was very tastefully decorated for the festive season. The room was large and extremely comfortable and at a great price. Dinner & wines in the restaurant was excellent

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Food and drink was expensive. There were two indicator lights on the ceiling for smoke or fire detectors which were far too bright and effectively lit up the room. The heat in the bathroom could not be controlled and was far too warm.

    Food was delicious. Room very comfortable Staff charming.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints about the actual Hotel When third member of the party arrived it was dark and she found the signage difficult to read and confusing perhaps. better lit signs would alleviate this problem

    The reception staff were first class we were warmly welcomed on arrival. The dining room staff and the bar staff continued our favourable impression of the hotel The food in our opinion was comparable to the food we have received in 5 star establishments (with the exception of the porridge)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn't very good, bacon was thick, haggis was not nice, tea was cold and the coffe was like tar.

    Lovely location, we were at a wedding there, ballroom was really nice

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really but if I am being picky the shower was very small. This was in the old part of the hotel. I expect it is not like that on new wing.

    Location, hotel and grounds, rooms, friendly service, good food and wine, unique bar, golf course. Very peaceful and relaxing.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All good but you need a car to explore locally

    excellent service - staff very attentive food very good. A small bottle of malt whisky in room topped up every day!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If we had stayed longer than a night there wouldn't have been so much to do. The golfers were not very keen about people walking on the paths and one man was very quick to say so.

    The room was fabulous and the little extras like the fridge with water and the whiskey and strawberries were much appreciated. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the food was all delicious.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    only thing its lacking is a gym and that isn't too big an issue. Also the fact that you have changed your policy and don't allow dogs in the bar after 7pm is a bit disappointing.

    breakfast fantastic, food gorgeous, staff amazing, location and views from room are gorgeous. Jane Hepburn is exceptional... although all the staff are tremendous.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in room,temp of room 24 dec, very old and outdated bathroom only one shelf in bathroom which was over sink , even glass tumblers were hangind over shelf so narrow, no room in bedroom as so many old chairs and tables. Only full mirror in cupboard which had no light. At breakfast was given wrong tea/toast and missed beans off order. At check out said i was disappointed at no air con in room, only to be told "well ur were in one of the old rooms" if i had known there were old and new rooms and we were given an old, i would have just paid the £50 taxt home.

    Enjoyed location as we were attending a wedding there.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower had a mind of its own- hot then far too cold. Not sure I really enjoyed being in the cave for my pre dinner drinks either

    the staff were great nothing was too much bother. They were friendly without being pushy. Its wonderful location- so near Dyce airport but so far from civilisation. Fantastic golf course and wild life in the grounds.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was not fully operational.

    Views were great, esp from the bathroom. Telescope in the turret room was quirky. Four poster bed was very comfortable. food was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not dislike anything.

    Absolutely brilliant staff, particularly Trudi in hotel bar, generous food portions of fine dining fare and choice of areas to relax and read, do crosswords or simply chat.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast in the dining room was average, not up to the standard of the hotel. The bar doesn't serve food after 5 pm, which is inconvenient.

    The Laird's Room was awesome with elegant living area and two person whirlpool tub, the grounds beautiful, the staff were excellent. Dinner in the dining room and early dinner in the Cave Bar were both great.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The traffic bumps on the drive.

    I have been staying there for many years and would never consider staying elsewhere in Aberdeenshire. The new bedrooms make it even better than ever.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For someone just wanting a walk rather than golf some better paths around the course would be good.

    Very nice stay - made an overnight break a treat! Food lovely.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: