Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Melville Hall Hotel and Utopia SPA 3 stars

Melville Street, Sandown, PO36 9DH, United Kingdom

#4 of 15 hotels in Sandown

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 179 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.1
    Overall, a good base to stay in for touring the island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Were not told we had a restricted view. The hotel entrance roof was right across our window, so blocked out view and sunlight. Thought the restaurant menu was expensive, so we did not eat in the hotel. There was a continual noise from the heating/water tank, could not quite make out where it came from. But as we were tired and slept well after a long day out, it didn't worry us.

    Breakfasts were excellent. Room was comfortable, lovely big shower, bed very comfortable. Use of pool a bonus.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    4.6
    Below expectations. Bar bad. Dinner service bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Dinner was appalling. I sent back the fish cake starter. The old man serving at dinner was blasé touching upon rude. I queued at the bar for a drink and when he arrived I said that I did not know how to contact him while waiting. His response was 'I have other things to do'. He is the reason I'd never stay with you again. Spa air was stale and smell of sweat in the Jacuzzi.

    Breakfast good and female breakfast staff excellent. Bedroom fine. Spa treatments fine.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    6.7
    when I booked the break I was told that the price included...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    when I booked the break I was told that the price included VAT But when I requested a VAT invoice I was told that the hotel is not VAT registered so it cost me 20% more.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.5
    The hotel was a short walk (downhill) from the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin/King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room needed upgrading and the artwork round the hotel makes it look dated in certain areas. Brighter artwork or colours would help. The gardens are neglected and the drive needs attention as it is hard to drag cases over a bumpy surface. However, the new owner has exciting plans for the hotel.

    The hotel was a short walk (downhill) from the town. The outdoor pool area is a real suntrap. Although the room was dark due to overhanging trees the bed was huge and so comfy. The seating in the lounge area was also comfy

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel made for a very relaxing getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed in our room wasn't awful, but was less comfortable than we'd hoped

    Beautiful place close to the beach and close to town. Loved the spa facilities, everything was clean, and the staff (especially the night staff) were so kind and accommodating!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    4.6
    It was somewhere to sleep and had hot water!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    cleanliness was very poor. The majority of the place reminded me of a resurrected Titanic! Needs a lot more TLC and modernisation.

    Friendly staff. Restaurant had nice decor

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.1
    Very welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin/King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we stayed there, they seemed to be having some ongoing problem with hot water in rooms.

    Very welcoming staff. The full English breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very friendly, facilities lovely. We had to book it last moment as hotel we stayed the night before was awful. Stay in this hotel was very pleasant

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    2.9
    Bedroom was really small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was really small. Asked for the room to be dressed and wasn't adding to the fact that the toilet seat was stained you wouldn't even have that in your own home let alone at a hotel you've paid for. In the spa there was a plaster floating in the water. Our room was over looking the pool which someone was messing around with at 6am in the morning and woke us up!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.4
    Very good I would be happy to recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't anything that could be better. If you wanted a quiet relaxing location this would definitely fit the bill. A car would be useful if you were planning to go out a lot.

    The staff were very friendly, the facilities were very clean. My daughter and I had a treatment which was a very reasonable price and very relaxing. We only stayed one night and dined in the menu was very good. I will definitely return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.4
    A bit dissapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin/King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The whole place appeared run down and dusty. The indoor pool was cloudy and needed a shock chlorine treatment. The outdoor pool fountain didn't work and the bottom of the pool was peeling and falling apart. The outdoor hot tub could also have been warmer. Only one biscuit and hot chocolate was supplied even though there were two guests and the room was baking (although they had put two fans in). There wasn't a fridge and the spa treatments area was only behind a screen in the reception area rather than being in a separate room. The chocolate croissant for breakfast was a normal one with chocolate drops melted inside. They did appear under staffed with reception also catering the bar area. All in all, I was expecting a posh papering and that's definitely not what we got.

    The bed was very comfy and the staff were very friendly. The location was ideal for the day trips we wanted to make.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    We enjoyed our short stay. The food was excellent and it was an ideal location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Externally, the building looked a bit 'tired' and the garden was untidy which perhaps gives the wrong impression of how the hotel was inside.

    Restaurant and quality of food was excellent. The location for travelling and the short walk into town was ideal for us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.4
    Pleasant stay, good breakfast and ideal location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The number of steep steps to our second floor room were not expected and rather tiring to climb and difficult to wheel luggage, we were assisted on arrival but not when leaving. The room was also uncomfortably hot, despite the windows being opened and a fan being supplied. We were, however, a little upset to be contacted by another guest at about 9pm one evening telling us to 'reduce the noise' coming from our room! We were simply watching TV on a low volume, and had the fan on, (given that it was about 30 degrees) which we were told was causing a vibration. It is obviously not the fault of the hotel - that we were contacted by phone by another occupant in this way - but we do question how this was even possible for another guest to do this, as it did rather interrupt our relaxing night in. Fortunately we were not bothered thereafter, as we gather these people left the next morning.

    The location of this accomodation was ideal for our purposes.The room was clean and comfortable, except that the room was incredibly hot and stuffy, especially at night which made sleeping difficult. The standard of the breakfast was excellent and the waiting staff were very friendly and acomodating. The room was cleaned daily, except for one day, which didn't worry us too much. I'd describe it as a cross between a guest house and a hotel, as it didn't operate in the way I'd expect a hotel to run. This isn't a criticism, just an observation, and overall we were generally satisfied.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    4.2
    Hotel very dated, room poor standard and over priced for the stay we had.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    First room we had, awful view, no hairdryer, had to ask for more towels and coat hangers. No hot water for 2 days in the morning, room very hot and fan provided was too small. Second room we were given was better but above the reception so very noisy. No reduction on the final bill to compensate for no hot water and having to pack and change rooms.

    Staff were helpful when we raised a complaint. Indoor pool small, changing rooms good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    A very friendy, comfortable hotel with excellent location, food and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were enormously friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the cooked breakfast outstanding. The location was extremely convenient, with a gorgeous beach nearby and easy bus links to the rest of the island.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.5
    very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    unfortunately the hotel had no lift , we asked for a change of room to ground floor the receptionist was only too pleased to offer a ground floor, so everything turned out just fine

    Breakfast & evening dinner ok

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable and eventful holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Going home!

    We stayed at this hotel a couple of times many years ago - it began to appear very run down and lacked a lot of things in many ways. However, after reading it was under new management- we thought we would return. The outside appearance still looked neglected- however - to pay for regular landscaping is very costly- and clearly a lot of money had been spent on the interior. New carpets and decor was really nice. It looked a lot more inviting and bright and clean. The restaurant had certainly had a facelift - along with the outside pool and seating area. However- I think we were jinxed with our room! It Albeit - it was very nicely decorated, with what appeared to be a new bathroom. It was extremely clean and bright looking and wonderfully comfortable bed - overall a lovely room - but - we had a couple of problems with a badly stained duvet cover, no replacement towels and room not cleaned one day - (which seemed to be a result of the door notice and not lack of service) I would like to say that instead of this turning into a complaint - the help we received from the Manager was wonderful - he couldn’t do enough for us. We had as many towels as we needed. A complete change of bedding straight away. Fresh cups etc and anything else we needed. He was so kind and nothing was too much trouble for him. In my eyes - this is indeed a compliment to him - not a complaint at all. I would like to add that all the staff we came into contact with were extremely helpful. I think the facilities at this hotel are not promoted enough. The outside pool and jacuzzi is perfect, along with the inside one. Not many hotels offer this and the lounge area are bar are very welcoming and relaxing. A perfect retreat from the usual noisy hotels which lack in good old fashioned service. Thank you

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    We had a brilliant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area around the outside pool could do with a face lift. ..replacing the old screening around the pool area with new tending the raised gardens and replacing the old canvas screens

    The staff were very friendly The hotel was largely clean and well cared for The food was delicious

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    we had two nights stay,made very welcome from beginning to end.they have more features coming soon .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    some very slight cleaning probs in bedroom,and outdoor tables could do with a wipe now and then,but overall fab .some minor cobwebs in the outdoor area too.but as i said great value for money.well worth price..

    the room was more than enough,the food was excellent,evening and breakfast.all day in fact.i was only expecting an indoor spa and pool,was pleasantly surprised to find outdoor jacuzzi and pool.and seating.very reasonably priced for what you get.def go back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdoor pool too cold for me. Indoor pool lovely temperature but not big enough for a swim.

    The accommodation was clean and nicely decorated. Staff were lovely. Good breakfast and you could get a bar meal or dine in the restaurant, both good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    A very enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of hand towels,on the last few days of our stay.

    Comfy beds,Friendly Staff.Especially in the dining room.Plenty of beds,chairs by the outdoor pool. The porridge at breakfast was excellent as was all the food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.6
    Good value for money although the building is looking tired! Lovely character though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The superior room was very dated and old and not what we expected. However. The manager was extremely helpful and understanding and moved us to another great room. A very good hotel.

    All of the food was excellent and the staff were very polite and efficient

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    We had a very relaxing stay and was just what we needed, the location is peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin/King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar area, although it is being.updated so should really reserve judgement until it is all completed

    The food was excellant and very good value, and the spa was great, the therepists where very professional. We had a few treatments and would recommend it, try the thai foot massage (heavenly).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.1
    3 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom furniture and bathroom a bit tired. Lots of noise from surrounding rooms, could hear the shower running , draws opening and closing etc

    Ideal location. Staff very friendly a polite, very warm welcome. Breakfast good plenty of choice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.0
    Nice for getting out and about. New owner has his work cut out tho with improvements/updates to prop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bodged four poster bed(2 beds screwed together, one on top other) ikea cheaply maybe. No steam room for spa, no cold shower for use between sauna and pool. No handrail for pool entry outdoor and indoor. Outdoor jacuzzi not work properly. Basic seating poolside. Room had mixture of furniture .

    Staff very friendly. Location, internal decor ok Restaurant food was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    A decent-sized room, good food and lovely staff made for an enjoyable short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hooks around, say on the door, on which to hang things temporarily. The hot water system needed a bit of a run before it could deliver-not a deal-breaker for our 2 night stay, though.

    Really lovely staff and with a hands-on owner to boot. Would look forward to meeting them all again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    Staff were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very quiet at meal times so you felt you had to whisper rather than being able to have a proper conversation.

    Staff were lovely. Pool and spa facilities excellent. Room lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent and will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My mattress in room 231 was to firm for me, and I might suggest the lighting in the restaurant be a little less bright in the evening to give a little better atmosphere

    The food is excellent and the service even better

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.1
    Quite pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The entrance was challenging for Seniors. 2 lots of steps and a strong door when carrying cases. The handrail was helpful. Bar meals as restaurant was closed on first night.

    The welcome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.9
    We wanted to relax and we did that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel in general needs an update, but it appears that the property has recently been taken over, so presume the new Owners have plans to improve. The swim pool was a little dirty and in need of a clean.

    Staff helpful. Food very good. Hotel was clean, bedroom was roomy and bathroom clean and again roomy. Only problem was the bed. It was small and very clunky and noisy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.5
    Always have a nice time but see above comments
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When booking I wish I had specified that we did not want a second floor room. Although fit we find the last run of stairs extremely steep especially lugging cases up. Also we were disappointed that during this spell of snow and ice there was very little in the way of salting the entrance steps and drive. - very scary getting to the cars.

    It is a comfortable hotel ,we have had Several stys at Melville Hall

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    6.3
    Very nice and professional staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had food poisoning after the stay

    Very nice and professional staff. Amazing breakfast. Unfortunate become sick after the stay do to expaired milk in the room. Pool need to be clean. Very nice location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.9
    Lovely couples spa break!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ensuite was a little dated and not enough space for hanging up towels etc. The lighting in the room was quite poor. Bedside lamps were good but main light didn't really do the job.

    The spa area was lovely - Jacuzzi, pool, sauna all excellent! We got robes and slippers and it was very luxurious. Staff were super friendly. It was a very relaxing stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    3.8
    A dissapoinent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was seriously under furnished the bed was just a big mattress with the bed loads attatched to the wall to give the look of a bed. The rooms work dark and dingy, the cleanslyness wasn’t grewat, dust everywhere, dirty bathrooms. Not nice at all

    The spa was lovley

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    10
    Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa prices are very high

    The bed was lovely nice and peaceful place to stay staff extremely friendly facilities excellent would recommend to friends and family in fact going to treat my mum for a two night stay spa

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Perfect long weekend away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff couldn’t do enough for you always there to help and make you as comfortable as possible. The breakfast was brilliant and so were the spa facilities. Highly recommend the reef restaurant on Sandown beach.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    2.9
    Not worthat the money. Dated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room we had. There was a thick layer of dust in the TV cardboard. Flasking paint. GrubI'm When the people staying above could hear the shower room not soundprooffedit. Breakfast bad.

    First room we had. There was a thick layer of dust in the TV cardboard. Flasking paint. GrubI'm When the people staying above could hear the shower room not soundprooffedit. Breakfast bad.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    5.4
    For the price we paid it was ok, wouldn’t choose to return purely based on the bed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was tiny and very uncomfortable, the mirror was broken, the gap under the door let the light through all night and the bathroom needs attention.

    Staff were lovely, spa was nice and restaurant was fine.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    6.7
    Room warm and adequate ,breakfast terrible.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spa bath was not in working order. The bathroom extremely small. No tissues in the room.

    The breakfast was very disappointing,it was only 8.30 and the food was barely warm, under cooked bacon, hash browns,tomatoes and sausage all cold. Coffee was terrible quality, weak as water. The waitress was pleasant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    clean, tidy, pleasent staff, and good breakfast, short walk to the highstreet, and beach/pier
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The size of the indoor pool, sauna, and detox units are acceptable for a handful of people, anymore and it would not work, to small, 2 people in the pool and swimming is "difficult".

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    6.7
    Nice to get away with my boyfriend but rubbish sleep, only
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whole place a little tired, cobwebs in room, thin walls as could hear man next door snoring all night, then having shower in the morn. The spa is very small, not very luxurious, bit disappointing as I have been to a few spas and this was far from the best. Brekfast wasn't very big, one egg, one sausage and one bit bacon, bit disappointing.

    Local, easy parking,large room, loved the outside hot tub and that we could get a drink at the bar to sit in hot tub with.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    6.3
    Wouldn't return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked to dine in the restaurant for dinner, but on returning to the property before 7pm was informed by the receptionist that the restaurant would not have sufficient food. They also couldnt recommend a good restaurant nearby.

    The housekeeping staff were very good, the reception staff very average.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.7
    The reception staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although we were early arriving, we were not able to book a table for dinner that evening. We were not aware of the need to pre-book. It did mean though that we were able to enjoy a good meal down on the sea front at the Reef restaurant. The lounge seemed crowded with arm chairs and sofas. The hotel looked ideal for those using the spa facilities but, as we had chosen not to, we did feel a bit awkward. The furniture in the bathroom was suffering a bit from damp in the chipboard. The need to use two hands to get into the bedroom - twisting Yale key and holding down handle while fighting a strong door closer - was not ideal.

    The reception staff were friendly and helpful. The bedroom and bathroom were well equipped and the bed was comfortable. The room was quiet both from outside noise (very little traffic) and inside noise, in spite of being at the top of the stairs. The food that we had in the restaurant, 2 breakfasts and 1 dinner, was good, but see negative above. There was a 10 minute walk down to the town and the sea front.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Very relaxing and excactly what I wanted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The feeling of calm created by spacious areas, wonderful friendly staff who could not do more for you. The restaurant food was high quality and reasonably priced. The restaurant staff created a friendly relaxed atmosphere. Brilliant porridge

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    5.4
    Nice staff, but wouldn't stay again as other hotels offer far greater value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms incredibly expensive for quality and cleanliness offered. Vegan choices offered but one option not actually available. No vegan option for lunch, however Emma did a great job and managed to get my guests a no butter marmite sandwich.

    Emma and Helen were lovely!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    3.8
    Not worth the money for this type of experience!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed one night, but I will never go again..Is not worth the £140 pe night for 3 stars hotel that looks like 2 stars.The room was fair clean but looked so old, so depressing, the paint from the bathroom door was falling off, rusty mirrors. The people next room were noise all night and when we called the reception no one was in there. Small pool and jacuzzi and no steam room.

    Staff was friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    7.9
    a very relaxing stay in comfortable surrounding made all the more enjoyable by the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the food was well cooked and served splendidly but I felt that on the night I had dinner there wasn't a lot of choice (it was a Saturday night and I guess I was looking for a steak type meal)

    the staff were exceptional, especially the young man in the restaurant and the gentleman who managed the bar

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    6.7
    Excellent spa, adaquate rooms, nice food, though would have liked more choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Facility is quite run down in places, though it appears that work is being completed slowly. neighbouring houses overlook the outdoor pool, though some blinds have been fitted, they are ineffective to enable privacy in the outdoor pool area. Small number of staff are overworked, leaving bar unattended and long periods of waiting to be served with drinks.

    Good Food though little menu choice and a little pricey. Good clean Spa facilities, well stocked bar. Indoor and outdoor pool and jacuzi's. Good breakfast with lots of choice. Hotel is close to Sandown Airfield, meaning we can fly over in a light aircraft from the mainland.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    My husband and liked all of it especially when we had...
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing really we disliked apart from we thought that in the indoor swimming pool, we thought that there should be a rail to hold on to when getting in and out, especially if you have any hip or leg problems,

    My husband and liked all of it especially when we had informed them before our arrival that we had just got married and when we got to our room, they had decorated the bed in petals and swan heart bath towels, and a card to say congratulations,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    6.7
    a pleasant friendly stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room clean let the side down! We stayed for 5 days and not once was the floor cleaned in the room or the bathroom The festival was on during our stay and a lady who was staying had a pair of boots which left a lump of mud in the stairway when she was leaving, that was still there when we left 5 days later so not sure what else was not maintained in the room on the evidence!! Everything else I could not fault Suggest they have the cleaning monitored to improve standards

    Wonderful hotel and very friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    9.6
    A good time to relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been good to have a lift. We are rather old to carry cases up stairs.

    The bedroom was good size and it was fun to have a four poster. There was lots of storage space for clothes and hangers for shirts and dresses

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    3.8
    Oh dear....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You got our booking wrong! We were below a herd of elephants in the room above! The complementary free meal ( for getting our booking wrong) was appalling! The room was beyond hot! Shall I carry on?? Very disappointing!

    Location was adequate.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not all Freeview channels available Toilet flushed ceaselessly Parking needs better definition to maximise space usage Map showing which half of road to take for hotel location would save going wrong way in Melville Rd.

    Bed, Restaurant, Service

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.6
    Isle of Wight Perfect Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin/King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing wrong with the rooms, the only comment would be that they were a little dated.

    The staff at the hotel were very helpful, especially the lady who checked us in. We had booked the hotel as we were going to the festival, she gave us advice on how to get there and also where the taxi would pick us up and drop us off. All staff were friendly, we had dinner at the hotel on Saturday and it was delicious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.2
    All in all very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower head FIXED not removable. Very limited/sparse fruit at breakfast table. Extra payment for bath robes! Noisy refrigerator van early morning engine running outside bedroom windows (open for fresh air )!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Service in the bar area was very slow. The dinner menu did not change throughout our stay and there was no fresh sea food on the meal. This was readily available in Sandown.

    Staff were friendly and very helpful. There are good restaurants to eat at in Sandown which is a 5 minute walk from this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    3.8
    the hotel is dated and needs a complete refurbish inside and out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bathroom to small the toilet was too close to the door the ceiling had damp patches and the walls were stained the meals were very bad they need a new chef

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    6.7
    Overall a good place to stay in quiet location with advantage of small spa facilities
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin/King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival our room was not ready as a twin and the room was not. The receptionist arranged for the beds to be arranged correctly and the room deep cleaned the following morning. You have to request a change of bed sheets if you want them changed during your stay. The main meal choice is limited and could be better so you may want to combine eating in and out where there is plenty of establishments to choose from. The rooms are basic but we'll equipped and more than adequate for a short stay however the staff make up this be being very helpful.

    The staff are very helpful and always there to help. Loved the spa and treatments and the outside hot tub is to die for. The hotel is well located (is on steep road for information) to get out and about to see the island.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    6.7
    Pleasant enough stay served its purpose for a few days
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room needed some major decorating. The bathroom needed a good clean and re layout as the loo was too close to the door. The bed was like a rock!

    The staff were helpful and friendly. the main part of the hotel and dinning room has been recently decorated.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    8.8
    Very enjoyable overnight stay on our cycle tour round the island
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall my friend and I really enjoyed our stay and these are very minor comments/complaints: A brown blind in a bedroom?? Very unattractive. Curtains would have been pleasanter. After padding down to the reception early morning to find out that the reason the kettle wasn't working was that the switch in the room had probably tripped. If this is a known problem get an electrician in!

    Staff without exception were helpful and friendly. The spa was very welcome at the end of a long cycle ride. The breakfast offered healthy options. The room including the bathroom was very clean and nicely proportioned. We enjoyed sitting in the comfy bar/lounge area in the evening and browsing the magazines! The bar prices were very reasonable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    5.8
    Nice but not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room (Spa)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are not worth the money at all. The cleanliness is poor, the decor is dated, the curtains are falling down, the door handle was broke and no lock on the bathroom door. The lamps are broken in the bedroom, the mattress is very old and sinks in on one side. The rooms need a damn good clean even the little milk cartons were dirty.

    The reception staff are welcoming and the spa is quite nice. The hallways and restaurant are nicely decorated and the breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    7.5
    A lovely stay, not perfect but would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room (Spa)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was ok but very dated. Doesn't look as grand as in some photos - our view was of the empty swimming pool outside. Continental Breakfast could have been a bit better - more fruit? Bed was quite creaky and uncomfortable. You had to pay extra to loan robes and buy slippers to use the leisure centre! Thought this was a bit excessive,and we didn't have a hairdryer in the room.

    Nice staff, very helpful - a few niggles like big sighs when we walked away from reception desk and a bit unprofessional in office while we were stood waiting though. Pool/Jacuzzis/Saunas were lovely. Breakfast was good, quick. Room was ok. Outdoor jacuzzi was amazing in the February frost!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    7.1
    food lovely staff friendly ideal.location to the town n beach good leisure facilates
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room (Spa)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    chose a room on the net .did not get allocated that chosen room . A noisy outlet was just below our bedroom window kept me awake all nite above the pool .if our stay was longer than 3 nites I would of moved rooms.

    Lovely variety of breakfast.hot and cold.lounge in the evening was deserted.made quite a lot of friends in leisure complex with pool.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    10
    The most helpful staff on the island
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room (Spa)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The refurbishments going on, but these should be done by the new year. The TV was pretty small and mounted high up on the wall.

    The staff were extra helpful, no request was too much. Food was excellent. The attached spa was much appreciated.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    9.6
    We had an amazing weekend stay. Only wish it was longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a bit of noise from the corridor but i think it was from the gap under our door. We managed to block it out with some pillows. The pool was a little bit cold but still OK to swim in.

    The bed was really comfy. The room was lovely and clean. Facilities were top class and staff were so warm and friendly. We had an amazing full body massage. The best I've ever had. Can't really fault the place much. I would definitely come back for longer next time!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    3.8
    Vert Dissapointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room (Spa)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very small room Bed was very uncomfortable When other residence used there bathroom we could hear them Telly made a buzzing noise when it had been on for an hour

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    8.8
    Great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed hard. Walls in the room thin so you could hear people talking in the next room. Shower not powerful enough & either too hot or too cold.

    Lovely staff. Lovely pool. Beautiful breakfast. Lovely room. Very clean room. Loads of tea / coffee in the room. Great location to high street & beach.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    5.4
    Our stay was comfortable but due to
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room (Spa)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa staff were a little aloof. I asked one of the assistants to show me how to use the detox box. She seemed iratated because I couldn't work out how to use it. The breakfast was average maybe a little more choice.

    The room was small but ok needed some updating tho.it was the little things that with a little updating would have improved the overall look of the hotel. The night porter and restaurant staff were very nice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    8.8
    The option of towels and bath robes when using the leisure...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room (Spa)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 2 individual changing rooms.that I had to use after checking out of the room 11:00am Due to these being used after my treatment I missed my train and connections to get home resulting in an extra 2 hours on my journey. Talking to some guest who were there for the day. This could have been a longer queue if we all decided at once to get ready for travelling.

    The option of towels and bath robes when using the leisure suite. The view out the window whilst having a pedicure.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.3
    The car park, nothing comfy to sit on in the room apart from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park, nothing comfy to sit on in the room apart from the bed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.9
    We had a great stay. Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the furnishings are tired and could do with a spruce up.

    Friendly staff, nice sized comfortable rooms and great location for our needs.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.9
    Very clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    The staff couldnt do enough for you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    The staff couldnt do enough for you.we only had the breakfast and it was lovely

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.3
    Friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly helpful staff. Great location for getting to Sandown esplanade or Shanklin. Breakfast top notch!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    6.7
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa availability and standard room amenities

    Great location

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: