Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Melville Hotel 2 stars

38 & 39 Argyle Square, Camden, London, WC1H 8AL, United Kingdom

#768 of 977 hotels in London

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1192 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.1

  • Staff

    7.1

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was on the 3rd floor with no elevator. Not impossible but quite steep steps.

    Clean and comfortable with good facilities. Easy access to Underground and King’s Cross/St. Pancras Station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Slated shutters on the windows looked nice but didn't block out enough light. Blackout blinds would have been better. Very small room but I was only there to sleep.

    The location is excellent. Right next to Kings Cross. The guy at reception was kind of surly but really I didn't need any help after i got my key and I was only using the place for sleeping. The bed was very soft but as I was sleeping alone it formed a kind of hammock/mitt that was like a big soft hug. Maybe not so good for a couple or if you have a bad back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing location, few minutes from Kings cross train station and underground, Co op and Sainsbury's within 5 mins walk. Room was nice size for solo travel for one night, bed was soft and comfy, bathroom was clean and tidy. Room was a bit warm and possibly having AC or mini fan as part of the set up would have been a bonus but I opened the window slightly during the night at it kept things cool, other that that it was perfect for my needs. I definately will be staying there again should I need to visit london again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We stayed in the top floor room, which was steamy hot and infested with bed bugs. We got bitten all over on the first night. After complaining they offered us to move to another room (next to ours). We didn't see the live bugs there, but signs of their (past) presence were everywhere.

    Great location with walking distance to Kings Cross St Pancras train and tube stations.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was small with no opening windows and it was hot without any air-conditioning. Initial contact staff were very friendly and helpful but later shift was quite miserable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad service. None really. Very weird and creepy staff.

    Excellent company, not sure about the concierge. I would suggest to look for bodies in the basement.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom was extremely small. Very limited desk space. No self-catering kitchen despite photos of it on website.

    Room nice and light with big windows we could open in first floor family suite overlooking park.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the above

    Wall panelling delaminating Rooms really small Bed pushed up against the window No AC Small which stopped working No iron and board Mould in the shower Only one bath and small towel no where to air for the morning Fire Doors not painted

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great facilities at the Melville.. shower was warm with good pressure & bed was great after a long days graft. Also in a great location for pubs/restaurants etc. Would defo recommend!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ensuite, though clean and modern, had tiiny washbasin. Shower valve was of type that is easily knocked by accident.

    Distinctive style, central. Engineered wood floor in bedroom. Window shutters. On a square. Nice spacious reception. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like it much. Most of the staff is not helpful at all and unfriendly, they didnt gave us any recommendations or help for anything. One night they actually locked the doors and left us outside. The rooms are quiet small, but ok.

    It's near king cross station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very small and the bed was pushed against the wall. Not much room for two people and size of room more suited for a single occupier. Size of room is stated on their own website but not seen beforehand. There is no breakfast available at this property.

    The bed was very comfy and duvet etc spotless. The room was cleaned every day. Staff on duty were very polite. Bathroom was very modern. However, mirror was high and as I am 5 ft 3 couldn't see my reflection.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and bathroom was also very small. The basin was that small it was useless

    The room was comfortable for a couple of nights stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and located in a very noisy aere of the hotel. We could constantly hear people walking and slamming the doors.

    The room was clean, the location of the hotel is very good, close to the metro.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we were in the basement. The bathroom was a very small modular pod stuck in the room. It was very clean but very tiny had an aroma of urin after 12 hours. They did not have any soap or shampoo in the room however they were kind enough to take care of this when requested albeit with a bit of scurrying

    Very clean room but we were in the basement. The bathroom was a very small modular pod stuck in the room. It was very clean but very tiny had an aroma of urin after 12 hours. They did not have any soap or shampoo in the room however they were kind enough to take care of this when requested

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    In one room it was not possible to see outside since it was placed in an interior corner and in front of the windows there were only walls.

    It is 200 meters from the train station. Quite corner. Small room but very well cleaned.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was small and the bathroom was minuscule. This hotel still uses physical keys and it took three keys to get to our room.

    The location — close to Kings Cross — is the only reason to stay here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of limescale on showerhead meant water pressure was low. Considerable confusion when I tried to borrow a hair dryer (none in the room), first one was broken and had exposed wires, second one they told me I shouldn't bring it down when I checked out because they belong in the rooms, even though I had borrowed it from front desk!

    Great location, room and bathroom were decent sized for the price. Street outside was a bit noisy but I had ear plugs so it wasn't a problem.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    It didn't have a very cosy feel to the rooms. Also, there were no lamps or light switches next to the beds so you had to get up and walk across the room to switch the lights on / off. Considering the size of the rooms the bathrooms were tiny in comparison! They could've made them bigger, more inviting & comfortable - felt squashed and claustrophobic in them.

    The location was good and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The free wi-fi was very slow. I think they are trying to get you to pay the 5 pounds for the premium service.

    The cleaning lady was very friendly and the reception staff were okay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. We wasn't even in the "hotel" building. Was sent to what could be described as a crack den, once you got inside, looking shared house. Location was OK.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is far too small for 2 people. The noise from across the road. It didn't stop til about 2pm. Not the hotel's fault but we would not stay there again due to the noise factor.

    On the good side it is really close to Saint Pancras station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Room needed a full length mirror and mirror in bathroom was very small and too high to see into.

    Double bed was very comfortable and bathroom was modern & clean although quite small as was room however good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bedrooms tiny and need redecorating. Who can make do with only a half height wardrobe for basics such as dresses? Why isn't there a chest of drawers?

    Very comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room with bed up against rough brick wall, therefore no side table and claustrophobic. Mirrors too high. Only one chair but bed too high to sit on. No breakfast. Shelf fell down.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ensuite was very very very small. The curtains didn't close properly the fan in the room was in pieces.

    The locations closeness to the main stations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to clean teeth over basin as wall cabinet above Suggest shift cabinet to side Some staff not as friendly and seemed preoccupied

    Location Friendly greeting Pleasant decor Great view over park Modern bathroom Tea coffee Tv Nice linen comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kettle was broke but replaced once reported. No teabags but provided once reported. On the 4th floor but felt like a death as no fire escape. I’m sure a sprinkler system was installed though? No breakfast on offer.

    Staff were really friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor of the room was very dated. The room was tiny but since it was only me staying it wasn't too bad. The bathroom was also tiny, it was a washroom which was unexpected. There should have been free wifi but I wasn't given a password/code to access it and there wasn't a hotel phone for me to contact reception. I didn't get much sleep as the windows didn't seem to block out any noise and my room was facing the street. My room wasn't ready when they said it would be so I had to go away for dinner and come back again which wasn't ideal.

    The reception and halls were decorated nicely and seemed very clean. The staff were friendly. The bed was comfy and the room was clean. I had two clean towels which was nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, room was comfortable, clean and exactly what we needed. The staff were available 24/7 and very friendly. We arrived early but could still drop our bags, use the lounge room toilets and Wi-Fi.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was way different to what was advertised - it looked shabby and not as modern and renovated as the pictures showed. The bed was too small for 2 people (friends), it was either too warm or too cold in the room, there was no chair in the room to sit on so we had to sit on the floor... We’d also appreciate the room to be cleaner. The staff was a bit odd - there was often noone at the reception (which is alarming when all the stored luggage is practically right at the reception, left unattended) - and if they were present, sometimes it was hard to tell they were the staff. We had to assume they were.

    Location was perfect, nice neighborhood, close to subway.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom

    We had the basement room with small kitchenette. There was a patio window to the basement area. Room obviously new so very clean. Bed might not last very long but comfy enough for one night. Kitchen had kettle and milk, tea, coffee & sugar + 2 cups. Nothing else in crockery. There was a hairdryer & a nice big mirror. The bathroom was very small. Came as a Swales unit. It was clean. Shower was good but small. Wouldn’t like to be larger in size to sit on toilet ! Staff (might of been owners) were very friendly. We were able to store our bags free of charge. Location was very convenient for Kings Cross station. Euston station was only a 15 minute walk away too. Would stay again but only if 1-2 nights.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The maids are very intrusive and threw away some of our stuff. We were really pissed off about it. Also they came in while we were in the room even though we said not to enter. On our last night, the receptionnist went away for a few minutes to buy something to eat. Even if we do understand, waiting outside of the hotel during the night is not cool.

    Good place for the price. Great location. Day staff at the reception is very nice and smiling.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were situated right under reception and the hotel concierge/reception was watching tv quite loudly, and every footstep was loud. Someone checked in late at night and the reception area was again quite loud and woke my husband and I up. Also greeting by reception/concierge wasn’t very friendly and he wasn’t very helpful. We paid extra for a larger room but it ended up being quite noisy and didn’t sleep much

    Clean, tidy, modern

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn’t particularly clean. Staff on the evening of arrival were not well informed and their English was poor and made them sound rude.

    Convenient location. Reasonably well priced.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small so not great for a long stay unless alone. On the top floor and no air con, even with the window open it was boiling!! Got very sweaty and was only 12 degrees out.

    Perfect for a 1 night stay, great location! Very clean and modern. Great mirror right by plugs for getting ready and very comfy bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dreadfully tiny room. Bed rammed against wall, had to climb over partner to get out. The room was so tiny only one person could stand on the bedroom floor at a time, the other had to stand in the bathroom!! No room to put clothes apart from four hangers, and as it was very low only shirts could be hung, not dresses or trousers. So everything got creased in the case for three days. No plug in the sink. Asked and was promised one, it never materialised.

    Staff friendly. Great position. Nice bed linen.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I paid to have a suite and I must say I was slightly disappointed. Even thought the room is lovely with more then enough space it was missing essentials a room should have. No table or dressing table, only one chairs and no bed side tables. All very small things which would of made a massive improvement on the stay. The suite is in as conservatory which used to be the eating facilities. I can't comment on whether it was worth paying the extra as didn't see a normal standard room.

    Please ignore all the bad reviews this hotel has received. I stayed here for 2 nights and was pleasantly surprised. The staff are lovely and more then helpful. Whether that's just helping you check in to pointing out local hot spots you should go. It's in a great local with the underground at the bottom of the road. The hotel is very clean and I'd happily stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV in my room didn't work. It would have been nice to have USB charging ports above the bed instead of wall plug in. Sink in the bathroom could have been bigger and the bathroom mirror lower down and bigger. Not the ideal place to stay / get ready if you're under 6foot. you can hardly see yourself. Its also not accessible too! there are no lifts throughout the property!

    I took the cheapest room available and it was really basic and what I needed. My partner and I had a great night, staff were really attentive to extra requests. room was lovely and clean. Check in and check out was quick.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues at all

    Excellent location near Kings Cross, easy to find and parking outside was no issue after 19.00 and free until 8.30. Good clean modern room, perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no shampoo in the bathroom; the bathroom mirror was so small and placed so high that it was useless. The safe did not work. The tv remote did not work. There was no ipod docking station. Only one room key was provided. Trash was not emptied during our stay and the trash can was super small.

    The location of the hotel was the best feature.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are tiny. Would be great if the property had free or rented UK plague adapters. Electric cattle, but no tea bags. The single receipt for 2 rooms was prepared, the request to split the bill couldn't be accommodated.

    Good location, clean, modern rooms, brilliant view of the small park on the square.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room location isn't where showed on the Booking.com, and it's has been little far form station. The real address is underground 0B, 35 Swinton St, London. The room is lack with safer lock and the shower is difficult to use.

    Only the bed is so called comfortable, and clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do i start! Awful experience room smelt of drain wasnt the cleanliness. Pay an extra £5 for 2 teabags 2 sachets coffee and 4 uht milk rip off!!! Park opposite which gets locked at night youths climb over play basketball and play music till the early hours of the morning. I did complain twice nothing was done even tho the night manager claimed he was going to call the park warden. You can hear everything the people above are doing.Woke up and opened the shutters to people dealing drugs so obviously in the park and weeing up the tree facing towards the hotel! Not what you want to see or your young children. I know the hotel has no control over the drug dealers, homeless, youths and drunks using the park but clearly they are aware what an issue it is. Nearly £165 for 1 night stay with no drinking facilities, kept awake most of the night and no apology or full/ partial refund even offered. Another guest checking out agreed with me on my issues. We both said we will never stay again.

    The location was good and was easy to find.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was not much provided in the room, also, the heating did not appear to be working, on a very cold snowy evening. We would have queried this if our stay was longer.

    The location was ideal, a very short walk to the tube station. We also had a pleasant view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast. No lift. Poor wifi connection. No luggage storage room. Very small room. Bed wasn’t to my liking.

    Location wise close to st Pancras railway station. So saved me 3 taxi rides

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only a kettle and two in the room, but no coffee or tea. I had to ask the night manager to provide me with some tea, and I only received one tea bag.

    The room was clean and quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was difficult to maintain a comfortable temperature in the room. The weather outside was cool and the room was really hot. The thermostat did not work. We had to keep opening the windows and shutting them when it got too cold. We did not like wasting heat but had no choice.

    The location of the hotel was excellent. We could walk from the train station to the hotel. Lots of places to eat nearby. Good connections to go sightseeing. The staff was friendly. The area felt safe.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for a low floor on booking form and was given a 2nd floor room not good for disabilities Tv didn’t work properly No Breakfast facilities

    Comfortable and cheap

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Very small sink in the bathroom, quite uncomfortable to wash, you can barely wash your face in it; - You can sometimes hear the people in the room above, it was not a problem for us but take that in mind if you enjoy a very quiet room; - Internet was not working when we stayed there, we could not establish the connection;

    - Comfortable beds; - The small balconies with the view of the park; - Nice housekeeping services; - Very nice location, 2-3 minute walk to the train station and underground station;

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were not given any information at all at check-in (e.g. checkout time) so we weren't sure if there was anything we needed to know but hadn't been told. The bathroom was quite cold (choice of fan+bright lights or no fan+very dim). Skylight lets light in but also looks right out at other windows so not very private.

    Excellent location, 2 minutes walk to Euston Rd (South) exit at Kings Cross. Main room was warm and cosy and the bed was comfortable. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bed. Felt like I would fall off if too close to the edge. Can be very loud on the night times. Emergency services and general shouting. Hair in our room.

    Located close to stations and for our own experiences. One member off staff very welcoming.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More than issues - 'cause we honestly had no problems - I would like to point out some information that could be useful. The toilet was really small, it was difficult brushing our teeth, indeed. The bed was smaller than a double bed and it partially stood under the window, attached to the radiator from the head side. For tea or coffee there is a kettle and some sugar, but you have to buy the drink. There's a short open wardrobe.

    Great position, near King's Cross Station. The room was clean and the window offered a nice view of the street. We could leave our luggage there for the whole day before going away.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed was very small and you could only get out from one side the room was so small - a double bed put in a single room!

    The room was well heated

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was quite slow. Having to drag bags up 6 flights of stairs was also a bit of a hassle.

    Staff were very nice and helpful, especially when we had asked to check in early. Location was exceptional for transport and local eateries.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not welcoming at all !!! The room was very noisy, in the morning the guy at the reception for the check out was sleeping....

    Next to the the st pancras station

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the top floor. Anyone in poor health would have really struggled with the flights of stairs as there was so elevator. Really, the hotel should warn about the stairs before booking. Also tea and coffee making components were available for £5, not free in the room.

    Lovely, clean little room. Warm and cosy. Great location, short walk from Kings Cross station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was a kettle in the room, but you had to purchase tea or coffee. I don't think it would be too much to ask to put a couple of sachets of tea or coffee

    it was very handy for the tube. room was small but adequate for what we needed. staff was very friendly and even let us check in early as our room was ready

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thin walls.

    The hotel is situated a couple of minutes walking distance from St. Pancras, very handy for Eurostar travellers, also because they have luggage deposit available. Room was a good size, bathroom as well. We enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were slightly cramped so you wouldn’t have room for a lot of luggage or families.

    Very beautiful design, extremely clean throughout the hotel (lobby, stairs, room and bathroom). The hotel offered great privacy and quietness in the room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small bed and not very comfortable. Woken up by noises in the hotel. Maybe they need to be more considerate of their guests...not everyone wants to be woken up at 6am

    You get what you pay for really. it was very basic. No tea, coffee or milk in the room, which would have been nice, as there was a kettle and cups. Had to ask for a hairdryer, which was supposed to be in the room. Was okay for the purpose of staying one night, but we were woken up at 6am with someone moving furniture and banging around. Good location though.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Group
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of complimentary refreshments ie tea, milk, coffee.

    Nice boutique hotel, our bedroom small but ample for 1 or 2 nights stay, facilities fine, very clean & comfortable, good access to Kings Cross Station & underground, staff pleasant. Can recommend The Water Rat for breakfast, appx 5 minutes walk away.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea and coffee had to pay extra for this. No hairdryer in room. Soap dispenser empty in shower. No breakfast facilities

    Bed comfortable. Bathroom warm.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift and steep stairs to third floor: difficult with heavy suitcases and not suitable for anyone who is not fit. Room was clean but there was mould in the shower and the shower head was heavily limescaled. A kettle and cups had been provided but no coffee, tea or biscuits.

    Very comfortable bed. Location near to St Pancras and in a pleasant square.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only bonus we could have had would have been a breakfast option

    Beautiful building with character, friendly staff upon arrival, lovely well equipped room with nice decor (makes a change from plain magnolia). Help when booking taxis from reception.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked it all I can’t fault this experience thank you

    I came with my daughter for her 10th birthday the hotel staff were excellent and the hotel was very clean and tidy also the location was brilliant only a little walk to kings cross an the underground to everything that we wanted to experience in London. Thanks again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy Room on second floor - no lift, no offer to help with case Shower - water pressure very poor. Water just trickled out initially, then improved, then trickled. I would have been really annoyed if I had been washing my (long) hair.

    Good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Think my room was above reception or room above me noisy.

    Diversity of staff. Clean, comfortable. Decor. Amy Winehouse mural awesome !!! I was a little late leaving my room and staff didn't hassle me. Everyone polite. As a base for shopping, sightseeing, shows etc brilliant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    quite a small room and bathroom, however it did what was needed, somewhere to lay our heads while out in London. Location was spot on, not too far from the train station we could walk and the same for Camden.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room, no bath. No water nor complementary coffee in the room. Very slow wi-fi. Towels are old and worn out.

    Nicely located to a walking distance to man amenities. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No double glazing. Loud laughter from a property nearby followed by people talking in the street until 3a.m. and so a poor night. Kettle and cups provided but they wanted £5 for a pack of tea bags, coffee and milk.

    Bed comfortable. Good shower

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kettle provided but no coffee/tea. Other than that, I couldn’t fault the Melville!

    Well-decorated room, perfect location - a 2 minute walk into King’s Cross underground, ATM and convenience store on the corner but a good enough distance away so as not to be constantly noisy!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or anything complementary quite loud outside at night even though it's not a busy area. Maybe just because it was a Friday night? Not cheap.

    Good location and clean. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    But no phone to ring reception and had to go outside to another block to get teabags as kettle was there and mugs but no tea/coffee/sugar/spoons. No small washing products provided. However good location.

    Bed very comfy. Nice desk. Lots of lighting and plugs. Really good for a one night sleep.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small room despite paying upgrade ... paying for tea and coffee (£5 for 4 teabags, 4 milks, 4 sugars was steep, and towels (£2) we were in room 45 and it was really noisy as backed on to the stairs, and was only a stud wall so shook pretty badly. I think they should say that upgraded room is still very very small..Only had one pillow each and none available at reception.

    It was clean. decor was nice. shower was powerful and hot. Shower jel provided ..

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Melville Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: