Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mentone Hotel - B&B 2 stars

54-56 Cartwright Gardens, Camden, London, WC1H 9EL, United Kingdom

#96 of 356 B&Bs and Inns in London

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1394 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.2
    Kind of don't want to say how great this hotel is as it may mean that there won't be space next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    An extra towel would have been useful in addition to the two shower towels and shower mat - then it could be left in the ensuite by the sink - personally I don't like to dry my body after a shower with the sink towel. That's my only suggestion to help improve comfort.

    Friendly happy helpful professional staff; large clean room; lovely view over Cartwright Gardens with it's large trees; hot chocolate as a choice at breakfast not as an extra - good breakfast menu; hot shower (just need to let it run for a while first to heat up) and perfect location from Kings Cross Station. Thank you.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.8
    Homely atmosphere, enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only minus was that it was extremely hot and the room did not have air-conditioning, but overall it was an enjoyable time.

    I really liked homely atmosphere, the people working there really took care of me and my husband. Our room was comfy and clean, the bathroom was tiny but clean as well. We were provided with everything we needed. The bed was big enough for two people and really really comfortable. The TV set was working properly although we actually didn't have time to watch TV. Our stay was short (only 4 days) but the towels were exchanged. I really enjoyed my stay. Breakfast basic but tasty. Piotr (the receptionist and manager) and Ania (the waitress) thank you for taking care of us.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    6.7
    London trip
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was on the top floor with a very narrow staircase to reach that floor. Shower was very tempromental Reception staff not very friendly.

    Great location . Good value for money and breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Can’t wait for our next visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Truthfully I haven’t a bad word to say . The staff were first class , got us sat down at a breakfast table straight away .

    Lovely breakfast nice room the whole experience 10 out of ten I enjoyed my stay

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    4.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds weren't comfortable, tv was making a humming noise making the tv hard to hear. Bathroom floor has a raised tile step which I kicked and hurt my toe. Beds weren't full size doubles in family room. Waited 30-40 mins for a table at breakfast. Staff wasn't that friendly.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.8
    Beds were comfy, room was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was up 5 flights of stairs, no lift, so if you are older make sure to ask for a room on a lower floor. There were some issues with the bathroom, shower not working properly and exhaust fan also not working. The staff were very helpful but could not get these things fixed during our stay.

    Beds were comfy, room was very clean. Lots of storage for clothing. Staff are very helpful and the hotel has a nice atmosphere. Very close to Kings Cross and St Pancras but in a very peaceful neighborhood. Very close to British museum and British library and lots of great restaurants and cafes. Breakfast is excellent but could perhaps be extended half an hour as there was a queue every morning. 9.0am is a little early to end breakfast in a tourist hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.2
    A comfortable stay with attentive staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor flow of shower water, maybe because we were at the very top. Dodgy bed light Concern re fire escape if the fire was below top level

    Tasteful update to the facilities

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.9
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is great as very close to the Euston Station and very easy to get to where you need. Rooms are good, better than some reviews lead me to believe.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.5
    The room was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no elevator, the stairs are very narrow. If you come with baggage bag - it is a problem to lift it to your room and same problem to bring it down at check out. Rooms are very small.

    The room was clean. The hotel has a very good location and easy to be reached from tube. Good price as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    5.4
    The location is good and very close to the underground also...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reading light above my bed was brock asked 3 times for it to be fixed which it never was. Left with it still broken. While the stairs is very small and hard to get up with luggage.While the bedroom was small. And while using the shower the floor gets wet as the shower curtains were not long enough.

    The location is good and very close to the underground also quite. In the night. A very good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    5.8
    Overpriced for the facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was too small,hot and stuffy. The shower leaked through the wall. The breakfast room was too small and breakfast was boring if you didn't want a full English. Some staff were friendly but others were not terribly'

    The location was great!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.3
    Will return next time I stay in London.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you didn't like good breakfast then not a very good continental choice. Breakfast finished at 9:00am in the week which is rather early if you are on holiday.

    The location was excellent, just around the corner from Euston Station. Also two very nice pubs in immediate vicinity. Nice clean rooms. Good cooked breakfast. Very accommodating about looking after luggage before and after checking in.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    Location was perfect, especially for Harry Potter visitors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was perfect, especially for Harry Potter visitors. King’s Cross is around the corner, yet the hotel is situated on a quiet street. Nice restaurants and shops are close by, also Russell Square underground station. Breakfast was good, only be early to avoid queuing. Room was cosy and clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    Reasonably priced hotel in a good loction for main railway stations.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was quite small. As always in this area, there is no lift.

    Reasonable price for London. Location is OK, close to Euston and St Pancras. Quiet area. Few pubs and coffee shops close by. Staff were friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    6.7
    excellent location, University area, nice staff, decent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room, no fridge, we had the roof top at awful +30 degrees heat, unbearably heated up room, no lift available, expensive as London in July can typically be

    excellent location, University area, nice staff, decent breakfast, nearby Brunswick shopping mall and Waitrose Supermarket, plenty of good neighborhood restaurants, right between the underground stations of King’s Cross, St Pancras and Russell Square

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.1
    Good location, service could be improved.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The room service was far from optimal. Daily cleaning was only superficial. Although we stayed for more than a week we only got one piece of soap at the beginning. (There was a soap dispenser in the shower, though.) The linnen was not changed during the whole stay. Practically this means that the longer you stay the lesser is the value that you get.

    Breakfast was quite rich, also beyond the "English" version. However, it started quite late so that I could not always take it. The room (3rd floor) was quiet and convenient and the location was perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.4
    Good location but not good value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    1. Not good value for money. - expensive 2. TV did not work on arrival early afternoon - only replaced the following day 3. Water in shower haphazard (cold - hot - cold) 4. Small breakfast room (had to wait to be seated) 5. Very small room for a quadruple

    This hotel's location is the big plus. It is close to Russell Square Station and King's Cross Station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    Room very comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room too small. Attempted 3 times first morning but there was a queue each time so gave up and breakfasted elsewhere

    Room very comfortable and clean. Staff helpful and friendly. Good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.8
    Thoroughly enjoyed our visit and will use you again when next in London.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location - near to rail stations and bus routes. Very quiet location in a lovely crescent. All facilities more than adequate. Would recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.1
    Bed and a shower, that's about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi was awful - very slow and disconnected often. Also the room was small and poorly ventilated, so if you wanted to spend time in the room during the day this would not be the place.

    Totally adequate for a short stay in London at a reasonable price. I just needed a clean place to sleep and charge my phone and this was totally fine for that.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    Great location, shame about the service
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very uninterested and unhelpful. When we arrived the desk clerk, after saying he would show us to our room, led us to the stairs and pointed up them and told us to go up and we would find our room on the left and through two doors. The room came with breakfast, but the breakfast hours were strictly 7.30-9am which did not fit our schedule at all so we didn’t get breakfast on either of the mornings we were there. In fact, on the first morning we mistakenly thought we had been told breakfast was until 10am and we turned up at the dining room at 9.05am to be told quite abruptly that the kitchen was closed.

    The location was fantastic for us as we had booked two nights in London specifically to go to the theatre. We were able to walk to the theatre within half an hour and we felt safe enough in the area to walk home again afterwards even though it was dark by then.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.8
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was too small for 4 people. The breakfast was too short. Breakfast was not be served after kl. 9:00. We all wanted to start a day in a shower so half of us missed the breakfast all day because it was not possible to eat after 9:00. Too expensive hotel. Will never go to this hotel again.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    4.6
    Expensive for this 2* hotel
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Old hotel; expensive for 2 *; carpet dirty; rusty installations; no AC; exclusive English breakfast; if you are late 5 minutes they don't serve you breakfast; problems with wather at 3rd floor- hot water is boiled from a boiler, and either hot water does not get quickly, or if others washes you'll stay with foam on you, for a while; dusty Bed sheets;

    Location- neard railway, or 30 min walk to the city center; space in a family room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Weekend in London
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ease for Euston station and golden tours hop on hop off bus service. Did Covent Garden transport museum, river cruise FREE with golden tours tickets, then back to hotel. Sunday V&A museum, then harry Potter shop and then to train 🚂 home. All hopping on and off

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location for exploring London, proximity to St.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything as expected. Should be aware no lift in the building.

    Great location for exploring London, proximity to St. Pancras, metro, ...breakfast very good. Second stay at this hotel, improved in the meantime.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Great location, comfy and friendly all you need for a London break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, easy to walk from Kings Cross and to underground station. comfy beds , amazingly quiet area . Good breakfast, on top floor so quite a hike up the stairs but not a problem for us. Great places to eat a few yards away.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.9
    great - FANTASTIC llocation - better than an AIRBnB - i will stay there in future
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a lounge area in the hotel would have been nice - but i guss thats why they call themselves a B&B

    comfortable, clean, better than many london hotels, wonderful location for transport, walking access to central london, britisih museum, british library

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable stay in London's strategic location
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    If you like Kings Cross / St. Pancras area, this hotel is a great choice. It is close to Russell Square and many cool places to eat and drink. It is particularly recommended to health conscious people due to abundant options of healthy eating in the area. Just go to the Brunswick Centre that is 5 min. walk. And its strategically located in terms of transportation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.8
    Having stayed here several times before, the standard has dropped and it is not good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inadequate provision of towels, had to ask for full complement each day; double bed with only one bedside cabinet, and crammed into alcove; noise from room above unacceptably disturbing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.3
    Ok but not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was quite basic and cleanliness was only OK. The main issue with this room is that it was on top of 3 flights of stairs, the last of these being extremely steep, which I found really hard and dangerous. It is not suitable for elderly people or people with mobility issues. This information should be clearer on the website. Breakfast was also quite basic.

    This accommodation is very well located right next to Euston and there are lots of nice restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.0
    Poor hotel. Expensive stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The old shower curtain; the shower hose which leaks; the long hair on my bed; no desk in the room; the wobbly room door; the noise from the neighbor room; the WIFI which works 30 seconds every 30 seconds; etc...

    The place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Cosy, Well Located Hotel, with a Friendly Vibe!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only real let down was the lack of amenities, for example, no iron, no shampoo or conditioner; but apart from that the place surpassed all expectations.

    Very cosy room, friendly vibe, settled in very easily. Staff were very kind, were available all day, and answered every question we had with a smile. Breakfast was excellent, offering a wide variety of options with great, fast service. 10 minutes walk from Kings Cross/St Pancras which means that a taxi really isn't necessary; safe area of the city, hidden away but at the same time close to lots of lively pubs and restaurants. My girlfriend and I avoided public transit throughout our weekend stay, the walk to the main attractions (ie. Big Ben, Buckingham Palace, etc.) was not too bad, lots to see, and experience on the way, and with the hotel being so close to the train station we could spend a lot of time out and about without worry. Definitely worth the money, would definitely recommend :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Quality B&B Hotel in a fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic small friendly Hotel with a super clean room. The location is situated between Kings Cross and Russell Square which was ideal for moving around town. The Breakfast provided plenty of choice and set me up for the day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast should start earlier (07:00)

    Room was very clean and contains everything that you would need for a one night stay. Bathroom was a decent size compared to what you normally get. Decent value compared to others in the area. Would book again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.7
    Good value at £145, handy location for rail, but a classic get what you pay for experience.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower literally didn't work. No water came out at all, had to use a plastic cup with water from the sink to rinse the soap out of my hair... Then the sink tap stopped running as well, them came on boiling, then freezing, then not at all. Then I was late for my conference. The breakfast room was completely full and oven-like, I waited for a table awkwardly. The staff didn't smile, or say anything in fact. I asked for scrambled eggs on toast and got a cold plate of scrambled egg, followed by a butterless slice of toast on a side plate about 5 mintues later.

    The location is good, right next to Euston station. £145 is great value for the location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast is very rich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The evening service staff is very helpful. He explained the Oyster card is details.

    Breakfast is very rich. The chef's cookng is very good. The bread is very fresh and delicious..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.5
    Friendly, surprisingly quiet and clean in a great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Top floor rooms are up a v narrow, winding staircase. Terrible or no TV signal. Lounge could do with a facelift.

    Friendly, surprisingly quiet and clean in a great location. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable bed,nice breakfast,good location with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is only 2 plugs for 3 of us to charge our electrical devices,boiling water,hair dryer.......... Not enough hanger inside the toilet.The room too cold as heater not working.

    Comfortable bed,nice breakfast,good location with a beautiful garden in front of hotel. The hotel help to keep our luggage after check out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Overall was a good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noticed that water flask in room was dirty when I was going to heat water for tea.

    Staff was very helpful and allowed me to leave my luggage after checkout until almost midnight when I went to a show. Also asked questions and offered suggestions of local things to do and places to eat.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    3.3
    Never again in that hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The carbet in the room was really dirty and full of crumbs. Even the following days the staff didn't changed something about it. The room was booked for two. The bed (and the entire room) was that small that we didn't fit really in it. And last but not least, the water in the shower di not run off. We coudn't take a shower longer than a minute before flooding the bathroom. We informed the staff and they confirmed us to fix the problem. Nothing happened. During our 4 days stay in the Mentone Hotel, the staff was really unfriendly and mannerless.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.9
    Will recommend Hotel Mentone, not the unsmiling staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff unsmiling No towel rails in bathroom and not enough hooks to hang clothes while dressing

    Close to Kings Cross/St Pancras stations Room a good size Beds comfortable Bathroom a good size Room and bathroom were spotlessly clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only disappointment that there was no decaff coffee in room. Hot chocolate might have been nice as it was a family room.

    The location was perfect. So close to the station and yet so quiet. Breakfast was excellent and plenty of it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Perfectly located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit cold indoors with no heating on. No hot water in the evening.

    Perfect location right next to Kings Cross with Continental and cooked English breakfast. Loved the historic building with high ceiling. Very good service and our beds were made and towels changed every day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.3
    Despite our room’s issues, we would give them a second chance due to liking the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neither of the wall sconces over each bed worked (each was switched independently) and was not fixed despite us inquiring about it on each of the three nights we were there, so the room was dark and we could not read in the room once the sun went down. This was truly disappointing as all three of us enjoy reading in bed at night. Also, there was a strong sewage smell that frequently came from the shower and was highly noticeable in the room. Every time we went into the bathroom we had to run water down the shower to lessen it. We also mentioned this to the desk staff and they said they would tell maintenance. We also kept the bathroom door closed at all times and left the light/fan on all night.

    Very cute hotel in a great location. We would try them again, I think the maintenance issues in our room are not typical. Breakfast was serviceable despite short hours. The queen bed in our room was very comfortable but the twin was hard and all springs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    6.3
    One night..O.K.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very cold in our room. The heat should have been left on longer than it was. We had a bedroom at the front of the property so people coming in and out shutting a very heavy door disturbed our sleep late onto the night and early in the morning. Perhaps a room at the back would be a better choice.

    Comfy Bed, Clean Room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Excellent place, close to transport, good value for money for the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Get early for breakfast or you’ll be waiting for a table...

    Bathroom in the single room was bigger than usual for this area and price range, could actually fit in there. Breakfast was an English breakfast plus cereals, cheese, yogurt etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.5
    Helpful staff. Good location. Attractive property. Great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower could have been little more powerful and there wasn't a mirror near a plug socket making it difficult to do hair.

    Large and roomy. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    3.3
    Not recommended for staying with kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Im travelling with my 8mos old, weve been staying at the 3rd floor of the hotel without the lift and assistance from staff to bring my luggage in my room, knowing that the stairs is too narrow. Aside from that they dont have hot water in their shower.

    Breakfast and staff is ok

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.1
    Stay at the memenoe
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a bit tatty, wall paper coming away. Room every hot with no control and only one plug socket. Breakfast was ok

    Location was fantastic, easy from Kings Cross and center of London.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    a charming place and stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    stairs can be hard to climb, not for me but for some people. I was at the 3rd and last floor. you can hear some noise from other people but the neighborhood is very calm and the residents too

    very cute place and calm and nice neighborhood

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    5.4
    Were it not for the lack of a desk and the cold, it would have been a good stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was on the third floor with no lift. The heating was faulty so the room was cold during the night. There was no desk in the room, so it is not appropriate for a business traveller. The TV was jerky, so it was difficult to watch something without interruptions.

    The breakfast was very good and the staff very helpful. The room was cleaned on a daily basis and it was quiet so I could do some work without being disturbed. There is a kettle in the room and there is plenty of coffee.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.8
    Great stay, will be back
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For the price, there isn't anything that didn't meet expectations.

    Rooms are clean and comfortable and reasonably fresh. Breakfast was great and marmite was on offer, which is always a bonus. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    Clean and friendly, good value
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some hooks in the bathroom to hang towel next to shower

    Quiet location despite being on first floor at front of building Nice quality bed linen Nicely cooked and presented breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    6.7
    I do not wish to continue this correspondence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower room / toilet was cramped. The mirror was too high for my partner, and the lead on the hair dryer was too short for her to use the mirror by the door. Because it was a basement room, the window was locked shut meaning that there was no ventilation. However it was good value for the area.

    I don't know what the genius perks are. The room was comfortable and warm, as were the beds. The breakfast was excellent. The location was pleasant and convenient for the station. The staff were efficient and polite.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    5.0
    Only good thing is the position and cheap price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was quite lazy , they cleaned the room maybe 3-4 times in 12 days. The man at the reception was pestering me all the time because he wanted the payment in advance. The room was too small , couldn’t even open my luggage and noisy, I could hear evrything from the reception, the bathroom in the room was freezing cold because nobody put any sort of heating in there. There is no place where to pit your things and no trash bin at all in the room. Crazy.

    Not bad the english breakfast served at the table. Good position in the city centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    5.4
    Not the best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water without running Tap for 11 Minutes. Heating was off at night when it was the coldest night of year so far Front staff very ignorant . Not good at all.

    Room was fine

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    2.5
    Double payment
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel didn't return my autorisation payment, so I paid as a result for 3 nights instead of 2. I wrote 2 letters to hotel with full details and still expect the answer.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    5.8
    Expensive for what I got
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs, no lift. Breakfast time is very short until 9 am on weekdays and 9:30 on weekend. The sound of the tube because our room was below basement.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.3
    Overall a very pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More room for toiletry storage in bathroom would be nice. Some plumbing noises but to be expected in a building of this description.

    The room was a good size, nicely decorated. Large TV. Bathroom lovely. Excellent shower. Lovely breakfast although had to wait for a table on a couple of occasions.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.3
    Great location and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Compact but good value for money if staying for short time

    Good value for money for location, near Russell sq station , easy to get to from heatrow direct line on tube. Also near main train station st pancers and Kings cross, 8 minute walk.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.9
    Good value hotel with helpful staff in a good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel foyer smelt strongly of cigarette smoke which unfortunately made it into my room which was just off the foyer.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was well appointed and clean. There were a number of choices for breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    5.4
    Expensive for what they offer, only convenient position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is very different from the picture you see online. Almost useless wifi in the room. Quite poor standard breakfast. No fresh fruits, very cheap bread and cheese, and food in general, small cups for tea and coffee, only alternative for vegetarian is to eat part of it. Only one towel mid size per person. Cleanliness could really be improved under furnitures and behind what you immediately see. Pre-authorization payment blocks the sum like it is already charged on your credit card the moment you book it even if you choose "free cancellation option".

    Convenient position. The elder guy from the staff was helpful. The lady was quite rude.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    2.5
    *AVOID* A frozen shoebox with not even basic heating and rude, uninterested staff who lie.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No customer service, room was freezing as it’s winter and the central heating not on, I kept going down to ask and they kept saying ‘it’s coming on soon, maybe 15 minutes, it came on 3 hours later and was still cold so had to sleep in my clothes. Asked if they had any extra heaters, they said no until I insisted then miraculously they had a room with several plug in ones so they know there’s a problem. They didn’t note my complaints or a lying by saying ‘the customer didn’t let us know about the heating’.

    Absolutely nothing. I could t find anything positive to say about this ice cold shoe box so checked out early.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    2.5
    Disgusted and disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at reception is miserable, he needs to be trained with public relations skills, no consideration whatsoever. Room is not spacious for a group, there is only one socket available which is not great as it’s not even close to bed, room is freezing cold and the noise is unbearable, I could even hear the people conversing outside the hotel. Coffee is very cheap taste. Breakfast is included with the payment but it didn’t start until 8am which is not useful as we need to be at Harry Potters studio by 9am so that was a big waste as we didn’t have breakfast at all even though it’s paid. No other option was given to us. This hotel and reception is a big waste of time!!

    Sad to say but there is nothing likeable to this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very cold ,Breakfast reheated beans were very cold ,Unwelcoming feeling ,Could hear everything in room above very creaky floor boards ,Could smell cigarette smoke on stairway

    Good sized tv in room ,Good Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Good sized room for the price, comfy bed, clean, warm shower...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good sized room for the price, comfy bed, clean, warm shower room. All staff were very friendly and made my breakfast even though I was close to the closing time.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    4.6
    wouldn't go back even though it was priced low
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff - just a face no actual customer service, could hear other guests snoring in the room next door, room very small, dated and tired decor, iron cord was so worn the live electrical wires were visible and dangerous

    price was low but had to be as standards were low too

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.6
    Great!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't mind, but perhaps as a warning to others - the stairs up to the rooms are quite steep

    I had booked a double, the room I ended up in was quite spacious with a double bed and 2 singles. Clean and nicely decorated too. The location is handy for the Brunswick or a few restaurants/pubs for dinner - this stay I went to the Indian restaurant Depa which is quite good. It was great that with the teas & coffees were plenty of the UHT milk cartons - meant I could have a cuppa as I got into the room and one very necessary one in the morning! The room was clean and the bed comfy. Breakfast was good, cooked to order and plentiful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    6.3
    Good location, short walking distance from Euston, St...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, it felt like there was no walls or doors between the hallway and rooms, you could hear people walking and talking. No fresh fruit or vegetables on the breakfast. I think the coffee on breakfast was instant coffee, not brewed. No lock on bathroom door. Problems with getting warm water.

    Good location, short walking distance from Euston, St Pancras and Kings Cross stations. An alright breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    4.0
    If you want a hot shower & security dont stay here.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was tiny as was the bathroom & whilst no lift is OK there is no one to assist with bags & the stairs are a killer, when I got to my room I was dying for a shower & there was no hot water, 32 hours of travel & a London winter this wasnt what I expected to add insult to injury the woman on the front desk said she would notify maintenance who knows if she did. Breakfast was average & the service was poor, some bloke roaming around wouldnt take an order we had to wait for his colleague, whats that all about? The best part was for me, laying in bed fast asleep & a woman enters my room, scared the life out of me & she had been given a key to my room & was trying to move in, so clearly the front desk had no idea I was there & there is no security, in this day & age that is a worry.

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    10
    Friendly staff, great location, quiet area, delicious...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were on the top floor so there were a lot of narrow stairs to go up but it was good exercise!

    Friendly staff, great location, quiet area, delicious breakfast, good price. I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.2
    Ideal location for Euston station. Friendly staff and excellent bed and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Peter at reception very welcoming on my late arrival (11.30pm) Room etc very clean. bed firm and comfortable....ideal for me. Breakfast excellent and served with a smile!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.2
    Really good value for money, will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This may sound crazy, but the staff service at breakfast was too good, I like my fruit first or as I noticed with other customers they wanted their cereal first, but the waitresses want to take your order and it arrives when you are still eating your first course of breakfast. We stayed in room 7, we should of mentioned it at the time that the floorboards between the en suite and the nearest bed really make a noise when treading on them, but the room was quiet as we asked for.

    The breakfast was excellent, the service was good, room clean and comfortable, bed comfy, position lovely. This booking was made as we had originally booked at the Ibis as we always did, but this is now closed due to the HS2, so possibly we may never of found this little gem, but we will be back next time in London.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    7.1
    small
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room near the stairs. Last time I got better value for money. Especially the female receptionist is very friendly.

    Room is ok with good bed and water cooker. The heating did not work and they took immediate action. Very nice location!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    Have been to this hotel several times and will certainly return. Highly recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As someone who tries to watch my Weight, a choice of milk would be better, but I understand that’s not everyine’s problem.

    Staff always pleasant and helpful. Rooms always clean and well apportioned. Good value for money, especially consider the location, minutes away from the British Museum.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Mentone Hotel - B&B traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: