Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Meon Valley Hotel & Country Club 4 stars

Sandy Lane, Shedfield, SO32 2HQ, United Kingdom

#2 of 2 hotels in Shedfield

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 632 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Paid WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.1
    Being told no cocktails could be made as there was a wedding...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being told no cocktails could be made as there was a wedding on, being told room service wasn't available and if we wanted anything we'd have to go to the bar to order it....because there was a wedding on

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.3
    The reception staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs and lift were a little confusing. There didn't seem to be a lot of staff about

    The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The grounds were attractive... lots of golfers about. The Jacuzzi was very hot and bubbly. Generally the hotel was clean and tidy and good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.8
    A pleasant Hotel marred by unhelpful reception staff and a lack of room preperation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception staff on arrival were not the friendliest. No brief was given as to where our breakfasts were to be taken. No information was given about the use of the leisure facilities and on entering our room there was no expected arrival pack ie Tea, Coffee, milk etc.. The bin in the toilet had not been emptied.

    Excellent location for our travel needs. The room was large and the beds very comfy. The breakfast was well presented and certainly offered a wide variety. We found the breakfast staff very welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.2
    Good polite staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not all that clean

    Good polite staff. Fantastic gym- good range of machines and lots of free weights, Smith machine, benches and squat rack. Great room service!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    Will come back with my family as son and husband play golf and me and my daughter can Spa!!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked a few more choices on the menu - something lighter than burgers, steak. Everything was with chips, sometimes when you have a long journey you just want something like a salad. It was comfortable in the bar and the staff were friendly.

    After a full day at an exhibition and the journey down the pool and hot tub were a god send! Staff were friendly, the room was amazing, large comfortable beds plenty of room to hang clothes and quiet!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.1
    Not as expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In photographs swimming pool appeared luxurious,it most certainly was not. Considering the Hotel is situated in acres of beautiful land,why the breakfast would be served in a non description side room devoid of decorations blinds closed on to a view of a flat roof is a mystery.

    Friendly staff.Pleasant room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.7
    Meon Valley business stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room service menu in room asked for one waited 45 mins then rang for room service but no answer. Told later that the numbers on the phone were no longer in use very poor

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    5.8
    It was a good place to stay for Goodwood and would probably stay there again just wouldn't eat there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was very poor, and only one restaurant to choose from, ate there the first night but went out on the second night also thought it was very expensive. We hadn't booked breakfast but had it for the first morning and found it very expensive and cold, didnt have breakfast on the second day.

    Bed very comfy and room was lovely. Handy for going to Goodwood, staff were helpful but I think the place was under staffed especially in the restaurant. Bar was very busy (lots of men who obviously had been playing golf) but did get served fairly quickly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    6.7
    The setting of the hotel is beautiful, relaxing and fairly...
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a dirty towel left on a chair, sink was not clean near plug, odd things left in draws. There was only 1 morning tea bag. For the price paid biscuits might have been nice.

    The setting of the hotel is beautiful, relaxing and fairly quiet.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.0
    The room was good- clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no mention that some rooms- ours included- could only be accessed by stairs. No lift, very poor for anyone with a dissability. The reception staff were not very helpfull with information regarding layout of the hotel, especially where breakfast to be served etc.. No information in the room about meal times. Only one glass in the room. The breakfast was very poor and actually spoiled the experience. Cooked items were tepid in temperature. The toaster did not toast. No individual jam or marmalade, you had to spoon it out of a jar! The staff member at breakfast showed you to your table but did not tell you where to get food, tea or coffee. For the price I expected better.

    The room was good- clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.2
    Lovely for a stay for any reason
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I like a little more room in the shower, it was one of those baths with the splash-proof screen, (personal preference). My only criticism is that the drain was quite blocked and didn't drain well when taking my shower.

    I really liked the room it was cosy and it had 2 big TVs. The bed was a little crackly but comfy, I wish the pillows had a soft and hard option, they were too squishy for me but perfect if you like that kind of thing. Breakfast was hot, delicious and the choice was amazing. I would definitely recommend this place, the grounds are gorgeous and the gym is awesome, I took a quick look.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    It was an overnight stay as we were travelling from Plymouth...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was an overnight stay as we were travelling from Plymouth the next day. The hotel looked lovely as it was set in the middle of a golf course. Would definately stay again as it was very reasonably priced. Hotel restaurant was very good and also good value.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.8
    Would certaily recommend this Hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free WiFi in all rooms.

    The experience of my stay was extremely good. Attentive staff, comfortable and clean room with good evening meal and breakfast facilities.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.6
    May well come again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More diverse menu in the restaurant.

    Loved the experience, venue and especially the warm pool! A very peaceful and relaxing time with pleasant smiling staff! Thank you!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    2.5
    House of horrors
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food.spa facilities We were told off for taking sun lounger outside on the patio to sunbathe? Told to get off them and lay on the stone patio Food inedable... Burnt burger when complained to manager was told charcoal was good for me! Drinks added to my bill that i did not order..too much to mention.Horrible experience.

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    6.7
    Good location and staff, rooms need updating
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms very dated, rails in bathroom rusty and dirty, room was dusty in a lot of places, bathroom, desk, TV etc. food was mediocre, pizza I ordered was soggy, would of sent back but I was too hungry so just eat what I could and left the rest.

    Staff very friendly and helpful, and good location for business.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    3.8
    Never again!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a duplicated booking which wasnt rectified, we didnt have pillow cases on our pillows and at 9.30pm i had to call reception to ask for some and had to put them on myself. They hadn’t registered us for breakfast even though we were charged for it, there were dirty socks left from the last occupants and old water in the ice bucket Fromm the previous accuracy’s. The bed was like a board. I would ideally like my money back the room wasnt worth a pennie. I have emailed the Marriott customer care team also.

    The setting

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    Great day and night then travelled to Bournemouth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not fault just a little bit to far from Southampton town as the taxi fairs are £25 one way.

    The staff were perfect and the breakfast was great more than enough to chose from. Bedroom was very clean and the bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    5.0
    Poor ventilation in rooms meant they were stuffy and hot at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor ventilation in rooms meant they were stuffy and hot at all times. Request denied when asked to override the window locks which should have been an option. When we complained we were offered bottles of water and a noisy fan. Dirty dishes left outside our room for hours (not ours) and only removed when we complained. Food expensive and substandard.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    5.4
    Will not be going back or booking again for colleagues
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was a Marriott and in transition and has gone downhill. I booked this for a colleague and was embarrassed by the delayed food service and chaotic staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.9
    Generally very good :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room wasn't serviced (we were there for two nights) which was a bit annoying, as we came back at the end of a long day/evening to an unmade bed and room and bathroom not cleaned.

    Great staff, nice location, comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    6.7
    Romantic get away in the middle of nowhere, if you want peace - book this!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I thought the staff were a bit stuffy at times, one was particularly rude to me. It could have just been a joke, but it's not something I would expect the staff to joke about with the customers. Apart from that incident, the staff were generally very helpful and kind.

    Breakfast was high quality, and the rooms are clean and comfortable. There was lots of choice of things to do on site, and the facilities were fairly modern and tidy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.5
    Overall we had a comfortable 2 night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel had very recently ( one month) been acquired by Britannia hotels from Marriott. Latter had apparently allowed it to run down. Main restaurant Broadchurch had closed and was only used for breakfast. Other meals were taken in the bar area and the menu was typically pub grub - pizzas, pasta & burger etc. We had burgers which were good but our expectation had been set higher. Although there is a dedicated car park for golfers we noticed quite a number parked in the main hotel car park thus reducing capacity for non golfing guests.

    Excellent self serve breakfast. Room was clean & comfortable. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. We understand from staff that Britannia plan to invest in Meon Valley hotel and raise standards. A month (since acquisition) is far to short a time to achieve much improvement, so I guess it’s watch this space.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    6.7
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were uncomfortable. Prices of treatment at the spa was a bit much.

    The breakfast was nice. Room was clean. Check in and check out was quick. Overall, it was good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.3
    A bit disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Main restaurant closed on sat night which we were not advised of. Spa facilities- pool area looks worn and uninviting

    The room was fine. Staff were generally friendly & hotel in nice location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.8
    Overall very disappointed with our stay and don't think it was worth the money we paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked an executive room , but it was nothing special. The pool was more like a splash pool, than what you see in the online picture's Was not told that the menu was limited, the room service and restaurant were the same. Breakfast was Buffy style, and had the air con blowing over the hot food !! And coffee was luke warm. And Hotel information did not work, as being upgraded

    The receptionist was very helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.2
    Great apart from the food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was disappointing. We sent a meal back twice and in the end we said we didn’t want it. Then we had to ask them to take it off the bill. It was not done automatically

    Room was lovely

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly disappointed that given the price of the room there were no bottles of water in the room Small thing I know but in my opinion these things matter

    Great staff great location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable but difficult to get to
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast ingredients were poor. Difficult to get to the hotel without a car. Hard to get a taxi from the station

    Nice staff comfy bed and very clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable for our stay to attend wedding nearby.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a bit of a rabbit warren. The shower in the bathrooom could be better. Outlook from our room was unimpressive bearing in mind the hotels location. Room could have better ventilation.

    Room was comfortable. Surroundings of the hotel were very nice. Staff were friendly especially barman on our arrival day. . Leisure facilities were excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    6.7
    Basic stay; lovely grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was poor. Housekeeping knocked and/or entered room early every morning despite "do not disturb" sign in door. One receptionist was very rude. Room was dusty.

    Room was comfortable. Room service staff excellent. Check in was friendly and pleasant. Entrance to hotel very smart. Outside restaurant area pleasant overlooking golf green.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Nice stay. Fab staff. Can't wait to book in again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    From the time we booked in every one was so helpful. Did find the hotel was a bit of a maze but after finding our room we found direct routes to where we wanted to get to. The gym was a pleasure to use.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    5.8
    Good staff but rooms and breakfast not up to par.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was below par with the enamel peeling off the bath. The management upgraded us to a junior suite to compensate which was very acceptable however the mattress in this room was extreely uncomfortable and I ended up preferring the sofa instead! In addition I am glad that the breakfast was included since it is not really worth £16.50. The staff clearly make an effort to have a wide variety of things on offer but unfortunately the bacon in the buffet was cold and the eggs were not of a good quality. A better source of fresh produce would definitely improve this. In addition the tea and coffee cups smelt of fish and may have been washed with some fish dishes the night before. Maybe we were unlucky to get this standard because there was certainly much choice available, but perhaps quality instead of quantity would improve the offering.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly and the service was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.1
    Great location, friendly staff, little bit over priced as we booked when the hotel was still Marriot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in the restaurant was basically bar food as opposed to restaurant standard. Jacuzzi in spa are was not working and was definitely something we were looking forward to using. Reception did tell us it would be repaired soon.

    Rooms clean Spa area is a bit dated but still clean. Public areas clean and tidy, breakfast excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    4.6
    Needs good work over: has plenty of potential but sadly lacking in important areas( vide supra)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow reception,tired( almost to the point of total exhaustion)decor,restaurant like a motorway cafe( no pleasant ambience,noisy,poor choice of food,staff not trained and not interested: breakfast reinforced impression,more like a works cafeteria than a hotel: mugs,no cups or saucers,paper serviettes( tiny),tables in disgraceful state with badly chipped edges. No information about hotel in room: no do not disturb sign.Some transit areas containing dirty dusty unused furniture

    Room size,free parking,outside enviroment,wifi

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.2
    Overnight stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a complicated journey to my room and not user friendly , a mixture of lift , stairs and maze like corridors

    Good feel to hotel , good friendly reception staff ,

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath was peeling, room 447. Mattress wasn't comfortable, a little hard, which is maybe down to personal preference however sloped on one side.

    Jarvis, breakfast chef, very personable and I have to say he made our stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.1
    Relaxing night away, all good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No signage to get to the Hotel. Took a bit of time to find it. Bar and restaurant needs upgrading. There was a lot of noise and movement with people walking through restaurant to get to the bar, a bit off putting. The food menu needs looking at, not a lot of choice and not everyone likes burgers and chips!

    Beautiful Surroundings. Spa facilities good and breakfast good. Staff friendly. Bedroom was comfortable and bathroom clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    4.2
    Friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelled like foul drainage. No answer from front desk to rectify issue. No AC. Generally tired finishes. Food served cold & stale.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.1
    Generally a nice place to stay but the Housekeeping department needs to buck up its ideas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The weekend breakfast cook was not in evidence and I was not informed that I could request eggs to be cooked, although I overheard another guest being so informed later. Housekeeping put a personal towel of mine into the laundry, and this could not be retrieved, so is now lost to me. There was dust and a tissue (not mine) under the bed from a previous occupant which was not cleared away, and my room was not cleaned on the last day of my stay.

    Comfortable room and plenty big enough for one (it was a double room). Staff were friendly. Breakfasts were good with a selection of fresh fruit as well as Continental and cooked English breakfasts.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Comfortable room with very good staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff were helpful and friendly. They assisted politely when the lift door remained opened at the ground floor. Room was a good size. Bed was very comfortable and linen good quality. Leisure area staff were polite,attentive and helpful.Swimming pool changing area was clean and a good size and pool was well maintained. Although the building is standard the reception and grounds (golf course) were very attractive and spacious.We didn't have breakfast but if we were in the area again,we would definitely return.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.7
    Beautiful hotel and grounds. Shame about the room. Was over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was far too hot, with no air con or fans. The hotel had been taken over a few weeks before we stayed. The signs into the hotel had been removed, so made it hard to find turning into grounds. We were not informed of takeover

    The staff were friendly. The breakfast was good with plenty of choice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.8
    we like the Meon Valley Hotel despite its shortcomings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bath was chipped and looked shabby. as mentioned above, the hotel needs a serious refurb to warrant and excellent status review. aircon would also be a huge benefit

    the Meon Valley Hotel is seriously due for a refurb but we love the location, the leisure facilities and find the staff helpful and friendly. the restaurant menu is disappointing but there are many other places to eat in the area and we enjoy exploring.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Great spa facilities and great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of the breakfast too expensive.

    The spa was excellent we enjoyed the breakfast but the price was far too expensive. Would definitely come again staff are friendly and polite. Our room was great for the price.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    4.6
    Thoroughly disappointing
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sheets were dirty in the room. Had to move to another room.No air conditioning (although fan was provided). Tried to telephone the hotel 4 times on the day of arrival. Phones not answered once.

    Evening meal. Some helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Super five *****
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being charged for my stay before and the guest next to me was told no need to pay now sir you can pay on you're departure. Oh Oh but all in all everything else was fantastic I will come again

    Everything was super food location rooms staff especially at the spa reception fantastic. I will definitely come again and recommend my freinds.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    3.3
    Not to be repeated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Under new management who have lost the plot. Dirty laundry left in corridors until after 8pm. Sports channels no longer available in rooms or bar areas. Understaffed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location, facilities and staff. Management need to be more attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Check-in and Check-Out were both troublesome and time consuming.

    The location is excellent for getting to sightseeing places in the South. Whilst I didn't play the golf course looked excellent. Both breakfast and dinner were good, with the option of dinner being taken outside in the patio area next to the course.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.5
    Hot
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was staying at the hotel on a very hot night and was allocated a room at the far end of the property that was not serviced by a lift (elevator). The rooms are not air conditioned and my room was very hot on my arrival despite being ventilated by a small fan which was totally inadequate for the job. When the outside air cooled later in the evening, I find the windows were tethered and could not be fully opened. The only reasons I could imagine for fitting tethers was to prevent me jumping from the window, or climbing onto the roof. I was not inclined to do either. Just to complete the picture, the room had a bar fridge, but no water or other drinks were supplied. This hotel may be good for a winter stay, but was hopeless for a stay in hot weather.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    5.8
    no waterbottle in the room, no notepad with pen, no bible,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no waterbottle in the room, no notepad with pen, no bible, no TV programs in the room or in the restaurant. no tap beer at the bar, only beer from the bottle.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.1
    Generally acceptable but needs investment and refurbishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need to be air conditioned and/or the stupid health and safety policy needs to be ditched and the restrainers removed from the Windows. Given the weather the portable fan provided was totally inadequate. Also with the impending change of ownership the staff were demotivated and the place could do with a general refurbishment.

    Setting and relative seclusion

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    4.6
    Lower end of our expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room facilities and cleanliness and view. Poor night staff attention. Slow bar service. We walked in at 11.00.pm and the two night desk staff did not look up from what they were doing. We could have been up to no good and they would not have noticed.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.8
    So awful it brecame ridiculous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff were demoralised and unhappy because the hotel was changing hands. Several staff had not turned up for work which meant rooms were not ready until 9.30 at night. Evening meal took two hours to arrive!

    Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Lovely stay, would definatley come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air Conditioning in the rooms, however the last couple weeks have been very hot.

    The staff where extremely helpful, friendly and polite. Room was clean and well presented and general areas of the hotel where also exceptionally clean. Breakfast was lovely, plentiful and tasted great, even though buffet breakfast eggs are cooked how you like it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    6.3
    friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar food was very disapointing, squid starter greasy and soft batter, torkahire pudding burnt and hard, steak sandwich was rump and had four pieces of gristle still on it. In a sandwich?

    friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.1
    For the price I paid okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed only one night at £70 however refused to stay the next night as quoted nearly £200 which is ridiculous for what is basically an average rundown ex-luxury hotel however set around a very good golf course.

    The Price at £70 on par with most Budget hotels . Breakfast okay but not as good as Premier Inn just down the road where I stayed following night. Staff and facilities very good. Needs updating!! Very good golf course.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    A wonderful wedding and stay at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel. Special thanks to Vicki & Gary.
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could have been more sockets in the room.

    I was there for my daughter's wedding. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. My room was very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. Excellent service all round, would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    We really loved it and were deafly come back and have recommended to family and friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would of appreciated a play area for the children or a play room

    The food was amazing, it’s in a very peaceful setting felt very relaxing, comfortable seating area‘s.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Hotel was lovely only negative was reception staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff reaction to my children playing, they were playing as children do, no one else was in the reception area so they were not annoying other guests I felt they were not welcome

    The swimming pool and changing area was amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.5
    Lovely! Will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to say, aside from another more intimate couples restaurant space would be a plus...

    Location, service and spa... 2nd time there and it wont be our last

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    In spite of my comments re evening meal will recommend to friends but will probably eat elsewhere.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast excellent but range and quality of evening menu left a little to be desired e.g. my curry was heavy on the rice and light on the sauce.To be fair the waitress did bring some more from the kitchen,no mango chutney!restaurant geared to golfers rather than residents.

    helpfulness of reception,remembered us from a previous visit two years ago!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast was good and facilities were ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well very disappointing for a supposedly 4 star. Bath had 4 chip and shower head was extremely dirty and the tap. As you walk in the room and shut the door you have a feeling that the room is tired. Even the facilities looked outdated. Mind you for the price i paid for one night perhaps i shouldn't have expected too much. The front of the hotel is the most inattractive part.

    Breakfast was good and facilities were ok. Price was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.5
    Extremely limited childs menu.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Extremely limited childs menu. Only 3 choices very unusual and difficult to work. Ended up getting an adults meal to share (which I had to pay for when child's menu was free!!) as after 4 days very difficult indeed. Daft. Room service very late in the day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    This is a very good base for sightseeing in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I agree with a previous reviewer regarding the fact that the lovely and extensive grounds cannot be enjoyed by guests who would like to stretch their legs in the fresh air - unless they are golfers.

    The absolute peace and quiet was delightful, as were the views. Everything was of the high standard one would expect from the Marriott chain. I was pleased to see that the complimentary water came in glass bottles, which could be re-cycled, rather than in plastic bottles.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.9
    Great place for a short break with kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor service at breakfast. A number of food items had run out and the staff were incredibly stretched. However they did stay polite at all times. The pool area needs refurbishment in the near future as some tiles are missing and it’s starting to look a little tired.

    Hotel is based around golf and although this isn’t our thing, there is plenty to do. There is a very good fitness centre and a lovely warm pool and Jacuzzi. Additionally the sauna and steam room were kept at a very good temperature. The pool area itself is starting to look a little tired and should ideally be redecorated over the next year or so however this did not put us off in anyway. The rooms are comfortable, clean and of a good size. Ice was served on request and there was a fridge in the room which is always handy! The children loved the stay, the food was really nice in the Bar and Grill however breakfast was incredibly busy, they had run out of a number of items and there were no plates for ages. The T we ordered needed to be requested twice however staff were polite but obviously overstretched. Other than that, it was a fantastic day and I would highly recommend it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    Very enjoyable and pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast staff seemed a little stressed and had to go find cutlery and no milk given with coffee and tea. Some decorating in swimming changing areas would be beneficial.

    The hotel was in a beautiful location with a lovely comfy bed. Staff very welcoming and friendly. Rooms were clean and tidy!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.3
    Dated & Over Prices
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was expensive & not great. £15 for half a rack of ribs with nothing else so you then pay £4 for fries on top. Breakfast was ok, i have had better. The rooms are dated and our bed in room 131 was awful. My back now hurts and i got 4 hours sleep.

    The staff were friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    5.0
    I left within 24 hours despite having paid for a two night stay it was so terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was downgraded from a queen to a double with no explanation, other than a false claim that this was an updgrade. Hotel full of screaming children Iron was all burned and stained Pillows very uncomfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.5
    nice breakfast and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    all rather shabby. hotel needs refurbishing. pool smaller and less attractive then picture suggested. overwhlmingly strong smell of air freshener in corridors.

    nice breakfast and staff. room fine, beds 4ft 6.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.1
    Good location, not so good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The tray charge of £5 for room service sandwich costing £11.50. The tray charge was in small print on the room service menu but this was missed by us and was not pointed out when we ordered our sandwich. If the staff had mentioned the charge we would have collected sandwich ourselves. On top of the tray charge, there was a space on the bill had for tips. It did not go down well as this happened on the day or our arrival.

    Breakfast was very good. Lots of option and good quality.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Lovely family mini break, v child friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff in golf course area- one v unfriendly man

    Staff so friendly and accommodating. Children's playroom and activity packs made us all feel v welcome Excellent value for money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.6
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would expect WiFi to be free

    Breakfast was superb, rooms were a good size and comfy, some floors didn’t have lift access. Reception staff we’re incredibly friendly. Paid WiFi in rooms was pricey at £12 per day

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    Great Facilities, Warm Welcome, Excellent Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very hot, the windows could not open much due to the window restrictions

    Warm response from staff at reception upon arrival. Cheap room and excellent facilities provided. Breakfast was also excellent!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.9
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much natural light coming into the room as windows blocked by another building and slightly noisy with people walking past in the corridor due to the location of the room near the lobby.

    Very good value for money, staff very helpful. Room just what we needed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    excellent value for money, lovely locstion. food fer good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room and duvet too hot. On the first night heating came on in the middle of the night. Also room serviced too late. Came back at2.30 pm after being out all morning and still not done

    All very good, especially food and staff in the restaurant

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: