Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Greater Manchester B&B and inn reviews
  4. Manchester B&B and inn reviews
  5. Reviews of The Merchants Hotel

Reviews of The Merchants Hotel

Back Piccadilly, Off Oldham St, Piccadilly Gdns, Behind Nobles Arcade, Manchester City Centre, Manchester, M1 1HP, United Kingdom

#40 of 46 B&Bs and Inns in Manchester

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1413 hotel reviews

6.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.9

  • Comfort

    5.2

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    4.8

  • Staff

    7.1

  • Value for money

    5.8

  • Paid WiFi

    3.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2019

    8.3
    Basically fine, if you need to save some money and get some convenience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Even located in the city centre, but the actual position seems not really safe, and there is a lot people smoke weed around the hotel, which makes the smell of the hotel really bad.

    The location of the hotel is good, just around the city centre.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2019

    7.1
    The location is fantastic, right in the middle of everything...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Basic
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The locks on the doors are safe but a little old fashioned and can be quite a pain to use. It’s basically one step up from a youth hostel but to be fair so is the price so I can’t complain about that.

    The location is fantastic, right in the middle of everything and where you want to be. Pretty much everything from there is walking distance.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2019

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV didnt work, floor felt damp, hallway smelt of urine, no lift meaning we had to carry heavy suitcases up three flights of stairs, plug sockets didnt work, delivery trucks outside the hotel making a lot of noise started at around 8 in the morning and woke us up. Shower was filthy and smelled awful.

    The bed was comfy and the location was good.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2019

    5.8
    Location was fab, right where we wanted to be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small, cold, noisy, no drawers or wardrobe to put anything. Got to pay £2 for a towel at reception. At £70 for the night I wasn't impressed

    Location was fab, right where we wanted to be.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2019

    5.4
    Friendly receptionist but that's all the place has to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated and tired looking. Not a very safe location. Part of the bathroom blinds were on the window sill and they were filthy. Shower had no power, no mirror in the bathroom and you need to hands to turn the taps on otherwise they just twist round

    Friendly receptionist but that's all the place has to offer

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2019

    5.8
    A Hard Days Night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very dingy old building accessed by a side door and flights of stairs to climb. Way too expensive even for New Years Eve. The room had a bed, a chair, a kettle and a cracked washbasin. That was it! No wardrobe, no drawers, not even a hook to hang anything on.

    The location, the reception, and it was clean.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable clean stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No towel supplied in room extra charge for towels think should at least supply towel in rooms without extra charge for the money you pay for actual room was bit disappointed with this otherwise no other issues

    Good value for money nice comfortable clean place to stay would stay again

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2018

    5.0
    Not a hotel but a hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel

    False advertising- it’s a hostel not a hotel too expensive for the facilities it is claiming it is offering. The only good thing was the receptionist was nice and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2018

    7.1
    Exactly got what I payed for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was a little uncomfortable and the facilities were not as clean as I would expect. Also, the thermic insulation of walls and windows is not good. But I guess that is what you have to expect for so little money in such a central location

    Exactly got what I payed for.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2018

    8.3
    Beds were comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All i would say is could do with a bigger sign. Wasnt so easy to find at first.

    Beds were comfortable. Everything that you needed for a one night stay.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2018

    3.8
    THINK TWICE BEFORE BOOKING!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Radiator didn't work (but staff gave us a new one) Strong unpleasant petshop-like smell Couldn't change the temperature of shower and was EXTREMELY hot Poor-quality mattress, could feel the shape and position of every spring Wifi cannot be found in our room and the reception DID KNOW that the wifi only works in one or two rooms ALMOST NO sound isolation, could clearly hear noise from both street and hotel The private bathroom is simply a 1m2 transparent tiny plcae Window could not be entirely closed and is unbearable in such a cold day... To be fair cannot imagine the facilities and service worth 110p per night...

    Good location

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2018

    5.0
    Convenient for the train station but not a pleasant place to stay.
    • Couple
    • Single Room - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night

    It appeared from our account that we were charged extra for towels, however the man at reception pointed out this was not so and he was in fact rude to us. He didn't care about his guests. Also, my room did not have a TV, in fact it appeared to be stolen! Instead of a TV there was a hole in the wall! To be helpful I mentioned this to the receptionist with which he said 'not all rooms have TVs', which I found rather strange. - The room was cold and I needed to put my jacket on the duvet to keep warm at night. - Then early in the morning there were the noisy big bin lorries and trucks unloading goods for the shops, so I got little sleep that night and was tired that day.

    - We enjoyed our complimentary tea. - Enjoyed a warm shower. - The receptionist was helpful when we were trying to find the hotel to check in as we did not know the city. - The receptionist was friendly with us most of the time when he wasn't rude to us.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2018

    6.7
    Friendly staff, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no heating in the room which in December made it a very cold stay. If radiators are not on, a heater should be provided.

    Friendly staff, good location.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2018

    7.1
    The room was very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv didn't work, the heating only came on in the middle of the night and the room was very cold. I heard every noise outside and there were a draft round the window, also the room smelt of cigarettes and nowhere to hang clothes

    The room was very clean

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2018

    4.6
    Very poor
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Out of two showers, one was broken, the other was really weak & only ran cold. There was no central heating so it was freezing. There was no water in some of the toilets. There were no tea/coffee facilities as advertised. And the staff was rather rude when I asked if something could be done about these problems.

    The bed was comfy, they gave me a free towel

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2018

    4.6
    Would never stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basic, not clean, shower on our floor out of action, toilet did not flush properly, hot tap broken, tv did not work and noisy

    The property was like a local hostel, very basic and the room facilities were poor, Hot tap broken, TV did not work and the bed was clean but uncomfortable. The location was good and the bar next door something Pig was good

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2018

    5.5
    given the price of the hotel and its locaton i would recomend it to someone staying overnight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The widow in the room(21) did not close I had to fill the gap with a scarf the radiators were not on and couldn't be turned on due to the tap being welded with layers of paint. We had tvs in both rooms yet neither worked or had a signal

    The beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean the location was excellent

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2018

    7.1
    Some shortcomings but location and price excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed in single room 12. Shared facilities quite adequate. Size of room Ok but cold on arrival. radiator never warm. No TV. No secondary double glazing on sash window. By spending relative small sums on improvements and making a modest increase in charges this could be a far better business

    Great location and a very competitive price for central Manchester. Wetherspoons 2 minute walk for breakfast etc,, opens at 7am, Piccadilly Station 8 minutes walk, tram stop nearby. Many attractions within easy walking distance.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2018

    5.8
    Lesson learned
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Radiator not working in room. TV not working in room. Shower in room barely a trickle.

    Location is good for the City Centre and Railway Station. helpful staff let me check in early.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2018

    3.8
    Never, Ever Again!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    probably everything about this hotel (i use the word very, very losely!) it is in a dirty, disgusting, back street location. all sorted of unsavoury looking characters loiter by the doorway, the man in the serving hatch (Reception?!) just grunted and pointed. I was put in a room on the 1st floor where the windows overlooked the aforementioned back street, which turned out to be the delivery road for the rear of all the shops on the main road, which started at 5 in the morning with a lorries refrigeration unit sounding like a pneumatic drill at the very same height as my window. I would NOT stay here again if someone paid me to!

    please see dislikes!!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2018

    4.6
    Basic room ok for a bed but not for anything longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Damp smell, room had a tiny window and seemed unclean. Shared shower and toilet light is outside the door. Would not like to spend any time in the room

    Location was good

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2018

    7.5
    Cheapest in Manchester City, as far as I have seen
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Basic
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Had to claim lot of stairs as no lift at the facility. No free wifi. They clean the room only if you request them to do. No hangers or hooks or even a pin in the room to hang your shirts, coats, etc. I had mentioned this during my last visit itself, but seems they didnt care about this. He said breakfast at 9 am, which means its just an eye wash as in my opinion people who stay here for business or holidays dont sit at the hotel until 9 am to eat the breakfast. So many will skip this and they save a lot of money. Doors could be repaired as they are too old and noisy and the locks are difficult to open some times.

    I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times, as it is the cheapest available in the city. Nearer to market street, about 500 mtrs from Piccadilly station. Staff was friendly this time. I stayed for 6 nights and so he offered me a towel for free. Room clean enough, small size. Bathrooms and toilets clean enough.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2018

    6.7
    Reasonable and convenient place to stay on budget in Manchester
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was reasonably friendly though perfunctory. Could not advise me on how to manage temporary luggage storage the next day for a few hours based on my travel plans. Eventually I sought advice from Manchester Tourism Office!🙄

    Built-in shower in room.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2018

    7.1
    Staff were friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy outside

    Staff were friendly and helpful Very centre of shops. Arnsdale centre is 2 minute walk away Piccadilly train station 10 minute so walk away Plainly decorated Rooms clean and tidy and freshly decorated in nuetral colours

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2018

    2.9
    Not worth any money.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing redeeming about this hotel. Run down building, freezing cold inside, no facilities to leave suit cases early before check in unless you pay 5 pounds, taps to the sinks not working properly and problems with bed bug infestations.

    There was nothing redeeming about this hotel. Run down building, freezing cold inside, no facilities to leave suit cases early before check in unless you pay 5 pounds, taps to the sinks not working properly and problems with bed bug infestations.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2018

    7.5
    Felt safe in hotel, area surrounding a bit dodgy so good for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better directions walking from Picadilly would be good....£2 charge for towel ... But I didn't need one !

    Felt safe in hotel, area surrounding a bit dodgy so good for me arriving in the dark and alone.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2018

    7.9
    Location, location, location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expect small rooms with the most essential stuff in it. I asked for an extra heater (as the central heating never went off...in November) and a towel and those were provided immediately. Can’t complain really.

    Location, location, location! Staff, although not the most enthusiastic, was very helpful as well!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2018

    4.2
    Very small room for the price i paid, disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small room, i had to put all my bags on the floor, the shared toiled was not that bad but for the price i paid i would have expected one in my room.

    Very close to the city center, nice to move around and get to places, loads of places to eat and drink around the hotel, close to the train station Piccadilly.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2018

    9.0
    Staying in Manchester
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel did not have a restaurant but there were plenty around the hotel. My room did not have a bathroom or toilet. These facilities were separate from my room. In the hotel lobby it advertised internet cafe facilities but this had been closed for quite sometime. This hotel service should not be featured.

    The room was spacious. . There were tea making facilities. Therr was a television. The bed was comforyable. The room was warm thoughout my stay. It was a comfortable room. The staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. I had a plessant stay.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2018

    5.0
    Cold and miserable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance to the property is situated in a seedy alleyway. The room was cold. Radiator did not work. There were no staff at hand to ask for help. Only a mobile number (pinned up at reception) for after 2200hrs. No shower/bath. Just a sink in the room. Toilet was down the corridor and a couple of steps away. Window in the toilet did not fully close. There was a gap at the bottom. It faced a building which looks to be in use. So, it may have been possible to be seen.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2018

    3.8
    Rubish. Will never ever think about that place anymore.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liars , cheaters, thiefs.

    Absolutely nothing. Utterly dissapointed and disgust with the whole experience. Hope the lightning hits and burns the bloody Merchant hotel to the ground with the staff in it.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2018

    9.2
    It was central and the bed was comfy clean room and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having a toilet in the room apart from that my bag spent longer in the room than I did

    It was central and the bed was comfy clean room and that's all I needed

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2018

    7.5
    Good for what u pay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just that it was down a back alley, but it was safe enough.

    The man who works there friendly an helpful, room was clean also toilet and shower room clean. Close to everything too.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2018

    8.8
    Cheap and basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was loud banging coming from outside the window all night, sounded like a garbage truck emptying dumpsters but I've no Idea what it was because it was just constant all night. The entrance in the alleyway was shady, when I first arrived a van drove past and the passenger shouted at me to cut my hair, then when I came back after a night out, there was a guy uriniting opposite the hotel door.

    Cheap, central, clean, friendly staff, tea and coffee facilities, TV with USB port

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2018

    2.9
    Bad experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Submitted via mobile

    I came for checkin at 10:30 PM and the Reception was already closed. There is a phone number written at the Reception to call for any help. But that number was already switched off. I waited till 12:00 Pm and there was no response. I then booked another hotel in Manchester and stayed there. Next day Merchants hotel booked me as No show and they refused to refund me 100 euros which was taken from my credit card. The hotel looked very bad from inside and outside. Seems not renovated for the past 40 year. Outside the hotel there is 5 meter banner mentioning that they provide accommodation for 30 pound. I suppose only the people who book online are charged heavy price. After this incident I read reviews about this hotel online and it was mostly negative.

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2018

    4.2
    A good central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold damp window didnt close wedged open by a coat hanger. Walls dirty and stained. The whole place looks to have seen better days

    A good central location

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2018

    5.0
    I should have read the reviews before staying in this dump of a place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was awful, in the rough end of town, in a dodgy alleyway. Very difficult to find. Room stank of smoke and marajuana. Bathroom door didn't fully close, let alone lock. Veiw from my room was of a dirty, grafitti covered brick wall lined with dumpsters. Sleeping was hard to do when there was constant yelling and banging about from the street. Towels - a basic requirement - cost £2 extra per towel. I also had to walk two flights of stairs to get to the reception - who only opened minimum hours. I had to walk a third flight to access my room.

    Staff were helpful.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2018

    5.0
    Very disappointing would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very disappointing not a hotel like a hostel, no hot water,asked at reception to fix problem but didnt bathroom door hanging off couldnt close window paint peeling off wall. Enterance on sidestreet beside rubbish bins and stink of urine.

    NOTHING

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2018

    6.7
    I could have stayed at a hostal for less money and gotten a better experience than here! Thumbs down
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was really bad and worser than the first one! The TV was broken and they didn't even let me know until is paid my money, the shower stand was faulty, the tap in the sink was faulty and the main light in the room was dim.

    The staff were friendly enough and the lounge area was really comfortable!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2018

    6.3
    I was really bad here and theres no way ill be back again when other places are way better for less
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water was cold in the shower so I had to use the sink to clean up and the tv remote didn't work for my games console so I couldn't use it!

    The staff were really friendly once I arrived and gave me a decent tour of the place! I also liked that they had a massive TV in the lounge area as it was a great place for my ps4! WiFi was solid and the free drinks/ biscuits were a nice touch!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2018

    7.1
    Good central location for sight seeing and shopping
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need double glazing as the property is next to a Morrisons who have deliveries every day between 6 and 7

    Good central location for sight seeing and shopping

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2018

    5.8
    Cheap with great location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower didn’t work, window wouldn’t shut, needs a bit of a refurbishment. Bearing in mind you can get a Travelodge for the same price it’s not acceptable for poor maintenance.

    Amazing location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2018

    9.2
    quick and easy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night

    Area seemed a little intimidating.

    Stayed here for less than 14 hours. Bed was comfortable and within 10 minute walking distance to the train station which brings you to the airport.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2018

    7.5
    not good value...only if you are desperate
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    room location...woken at 4am by lorries unloading for supermarket...finally got up at 6am...charging for towel...seriously...this is 21st century!

    comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    2.5
    Our Friday night was a nightmare
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have never seen that disgusting hotel in my life and it is totally different as it way on your website

    In this hotel just nothing, the room was dirty, the bed was extremly bad, we could not take a shower

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    8.8
    Cheap but very cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtains didnt cover the full window so once the sun came up the room was lit!

    Great value for such a fantastic location. Very close to Piccadilly and the Manchester Arena.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    3.8
    Truly Awful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival the place was more reminiscent of a movie portrayal of some place in the Bronx - down a filthy, dirty alley with rubbish & mess & graffiti all around. Continuous bleeping all night, street sweepers at midnight but was no cleaner in the morning & delivery truck 7am virtually blocking the whole road/alley. If I had arrived there with my children I'd have kept walking back to the car & booked somewhere else. There were NO towels. There was NO curtain or blind in the toilet/shower room - only a filthy net curtain so when the light was on you couldn't see out but the windows overlooking opposite could see in. Worst place I've stayed out of over 200

    Nothing at all it was awful. The man on reception was extremely helpful on the phone before I arrived with parking directions & info & later giving me directions for somewhere for dinner so can't fault him at all.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    5.0
    The location.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the worst hotels I’ve ever stayed in. Access from down an alleyway, Tiny, dated room. Told them in advance I was checking out at 4am as I had a flight to catch, was woken up by staff to swap remotes with another room. Worst of all, the room didn’t come with a towel!!!!! Never known that in my life! You have to pay £2 for a towel! Not an EXTRA towel. Just your standard towel for your shower the next morning

    The location.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.5
    Great location, good price but watch out for leaky windows
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Basic
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window in my room was not sealed properly, a lot of noise and chilly night air was getting in until I patched at least the largest gaps.

    Great location in the center, good price compared to other hotels nearby. 24 hour access with a key fob is also great.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    2.9
    Absolutely nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was at best, basic. No privacy for the shower etc. Had to ask for towels. In the end we didn’t stay as we found better accommodation but obviously lost the cost. The price was exorbitant for the level of accommodation. Very very poor!

    Absolutely nothing

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    2.5
    Easy to find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window was being held open by plank of wood, room was damp, bed was uncomfortable & door to get into the building was down a side street that was full of over flowing bins.

    Easy to find

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    7.5
    Merchants Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Basic
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was in a slightly poor state of repair. Lots of small jobs needed doing around the place.

    Location and price were great and staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    5.4
    Dire
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    The man was friendly and quite helpful. The carpet in the room strained and there was a funny smell. The bed was comfortable and clean but made a terrible noise when I turned over. No plug in sink. No hangers or even a hook to hold a hanger. Holes in windows on the way up to room

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    4.2
    It was near the shops
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the managers haven’t called me back in relation to a refund my father died Friday and had to rush back home to Middlesbrough! I did state this to the guy on the desk but said we will be in contact! No call so far

    It was near the shops

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    7.5
    Nice overnighter, get what you paid for and great for staying in the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise outside the window was really loud from really early with bin men and the extender from the plug was alittle sparky so kept unplugged incase it was faulty

    Only there for a nights stay but bed was super comfy, shower was hot and toilets were clean, staff were lovely too. Right in the middle of Piccadilly centre so great for getting around on foot.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    3.3
    My recent experince
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hand in towels in shared bathroom. Dirty carcpets and someone blocked open the main hotel entrance late a night, so I feel unsafe staying in my room. Finally, there was a £2 charge for towels. Towels shoud be provided as a basic healrh provision!

    The staff on reception

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    8.8
    Cheap, cheerful and secure.This is a city centre hotel so there will be some city noise.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A small hand towel at the sink would be good. More than 2 milks for two nights' stay too please.

    The receptionist was a really lovely guy. We arrived late and he stayed on to let us in which we appreciated. The room was basic which is all I needed - just a place to sleep within walking distance of the midwives' conference. Comfortable, clean bed, TV, tea and coffee making facilities. No towel at the sink - have they been pinched in the past I wonder!! My colleague had paid for a towel in advance but didn't get one either. Never mind midwives are resourceful, we used our t shirts to dry off!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    8.1
    For the price it was safe warm clean and close to the centre of Manchester.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrive before the 22.00 deadline for booking in because you will be charged £10 per person for 45mins late. Bring a towel - I paid for a towel for the shower but I wasn’t given one.

    I would call it more a hostel but for the price we didn’t expect anything more. It was very clean , with tea and coffee facilities which i didn’t expect.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    2.9
    Facilities were bad, no running water in taps, tv hanging...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities were bad, no running water in taps, tv hanging off the wall and the smell of the room was just stale. Carpet looked like it was from the 1970’s

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    4.2
    Worst hotel ever!!!£2 for a towel place was rotten.Only good thing was it had a roof
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    State of hotel and smell of room was awful.We had pick of 2 rooms both stank of cat pee.Single bed was broken and had slats missing.Blinds in toilet had pee stains over them.Cant beieve its listed here

    Location and the fact it had a roof

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    7.9
    Long weekend break with my mother in a friendly city I've never visited before
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shared toilet facilities were a bit of a hindrance. The rooms were not serviced during the course of our two night stay The showers were lukewarm and had little pressure. Hotel entrance was in a back alley just off a main street.

    The beds and toilet facilities were absolutely spotless and the beds were very comfortable. Fresh towels were provided and the normal fee was waived. Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Hotel is only a 5 minute walk to Piccadilly Train station one way and a 5 minute walk to the Arndale Centre the other way. There are lots of shops, restaurants, bars and coffee shops all within close proximity to the hotel. Morrisons supermarket right next door to the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.8
    Perfect value for money in a central location.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Shower wouldn't turn hot. 2. Windows don't shut properly, end up hearing noise outside. 3. Clean but quite a run down building (although small complaint when you take the value into consideration).

    Perfect value for money. I paid £22 and got my own single bed room with a kettle and a shower (although I couldn't get hot water!!!). Paid the same as it would cost for a night in an 18 bedroom hostel so for that and with the location being centre of the town it's great value for money!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    5.4
    To be fair, the hotel doesnt exactly promote itself as 5...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be fair, the hotel doesnt exactly promote itself as 5 star but i still expected a bit more than a jumped up prison cell. I just about had a view of a back alleyway...only just visible through the muck. The window was wedged open with a bit of wood but even when closed i could still hear vans, bins being emptied and god knows whatever else for most of the night. I was lucky enough to have a tv..which was plugged into an extension that sounded like it was about to burst into flames at any point or shock me across the room if i were to actually switch the kettle on that was plugged into it too. The sheets were very clean and the toilet down the hallway was also clean..but no paper towels. I didnt dare to venture and find the shared bathroom!..mainly as there were no towels even tho i was charged for them when i booked. Bit hard to complain to reception as they seem to disappear at night.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    4.6
    Ok for a drunk nights sleep wouldn’t stay again unless desperate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was clear damp in the room. The decoration was to a very poor standard. The bed wasn’t the best but the amount of alcohol I had consumed eased my sleep but the pillows were good! Single glazed window which aided a very cold room. Payed for towels however none were in the room. The duvet was disgusting needed replacing 6 years ago!

    The location was great ideal for pride easy to locate with 24 hour access

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    4.2
    Not worth it
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Basic
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not the cleanest of hotels, the receptionist was pleasant rooms very noisy, had to hunt for the bathroom, only one bathroom for two floors

    very noisy from loading and unloading from Morrison's around 4;30 am, people throwing bottles at the windows

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    4.2
    great location, poor facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    it smelled like cats urine, the window wouldn't close in my room and was kept open by a plastic bottle, the toilet was communal

    the staff were friendly and location was great

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    Budget accom. in city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night

    No wardrobe or anywhere to hang clothes or towel

    Only a few minutes walk from Piccadilly rail station and the city centre. Kettle in the room with complimentary tea and coffee was much appreciated. Was good for a one night only stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.9
    Merchant hotel, good for a night out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very plain and had limited space and the shower was a single room half way down the hallway and the sink was in the bedroom

    The beds are really comfortable and soft, was what you needed for the night out quick stops and for the price you pay I can't complain about the negative

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    6.7
    adiquate accomidation, noise was a real problem.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We stayed in room 7, noise from supermarket across ally really bad. 23:00 hrs dustbins get emptied and deliveries start around 5am. desperately needs double glassing to help reduce the sounds. TV did not work and no towels unless you pay £2.00 per item.

    Freshly Painted, good Beds. Cheap for location but parking is expensive in public car parks.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    5.4
    Basic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's missing little touches. In my room there was a sink in the corner which is okay but there was no towels when i had a wash. The bed for me, was not very comfy. It's very noisy so I couldn't sleep. I got 3 hours sleep that night because of the noise outside on the street and the uncomfiness of the bed. The bed has a wooden base and so it sticks out a little, so I managed to stubb my toe when I first walked by it. Shared bathroom was terrible. Everytime I went toilet it was not clean.

    The man that checked me in was really friendly and even let me check in earlier as my room was ready which I highly appreciated. I liked the little new soap that was given in my room. It was nice i got a kettle, tray and a pot of milk, sugars etc in my room, it's just unfortunate I don't drink hot drinks. For hot drink lovers though, it was nice. The location is great. Its like a 5 minute walk from piccadilly trainstation. I went down for pride, and so it was really close to sackville gardens where all the action was, so I was very happy about that.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.9
    For a cheap and central 'bed for the night' only, it was fine!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mattress not that comfortable and facilities very basic but given the price I couldn't have expected more.

    Good location, clean and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    4.5
    I needed a a city centre place with llate check-in, check...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I needed a a city centre place with llate check-in, check out early in the morning; arrived, checked in, saw a goodish band 100 metres away, went to bed, got up, moved on for early flight. Simples.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    2.5
    Absolutely shocking
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like this place at all it's more like a hostel the rooms smell Thers no TVs the ones that have a tv don't work there's no wifi in the rooms only at reception the shared bathrooms are disgusting this place should be shut down the staff are ignorant and rude

    Nothing I left half way through my stay

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    Merchant- review
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike as far as i was concerned. I only wish i could have extended my visit. I was meeting a friend from the airport & giving him a taste of Manchester. It worked. He wants to come back

    I have stayed there before & liked it so much i came back again. The staff are genuinely friendly - not like other places where the friendliness is insincere. The hotel is in the exact location i wanted. I slept soundly on a comfortable bed. The facilities were clean & the hotel was within my limited budget. As far as i am concerned Merchants is ideal for me & next time i am in Manchester i hope to stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    4.6
    Not a good hotel to stay at i leff my ipod and they claim it wasnt found which i dont believe
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a shower with no towel supplied i all so left my ipod under the pillow as i was in a rush to get out the room because i over slept slightly but when i went back the were not being as helpfull as i would of liked them to be and the cleaner said she did not find it there. When lets be honest if i know were i left it then it should of still been there so they were not being very honest at the hotel and this makes me a little angry and I would not stay here ever again

    Nothing the room was cheap but the hotel wasnt a good place to stay

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: