Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Warwickshire hotel reviews
  4. Wellesbourne Hastings hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa

Reviews of Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Walton,Jubilee Drive,Wellesbourne, , Wellesbourne Hastings, CV35 9HG, United Kingdom

#4 of 4 hotels in Wellesbourne Hastings

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 652 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2019

    6.5
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was very cold, the thermostat didn’t go beyond 21 on the dial. I reported that we were cold to the reception. While we ate downstairs someone came to fix it but it was still cold. Not very nice, as we hadn’t bought dressing gowns and slippers. The bathroom was also very cold so we didn’t linger in there. Disappointing for a hotel of your calibre.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    9.6
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The drinks in the bar were a little steeply priced but that was to be expected in a hotel in general. Only other issue we had was the TV remote stopping working after the first night so having to use the TV buttons to work it

    We couldn't be happier with our stay. We slept well, the food was great our room was good value for money. And the shower was also very satisfying

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2019

    10
    A lovely hotel and grounds with helpful and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    More biscuits in room and a later checkout. Extra bedding would have been appreciated.

    A lovely location, quiet and peaceful. Bedroom was spacious with a large comfy bed and good facilities.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2019

    10
    2 bed apartments perfect for our family, great value for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    People had 3 dogs next to us, is not usually a problem as we have a dog too but they went out for the evening and one was constantly barking from 8 to 10. Lucky we are always up early as we have 3 young kids otherwise we would have been woken by barking too.

    2 bed apartments perfect for our family, great value for money. Staff really friendly and very helpful. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2019

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The 'main' gate, according to the postcode, was closed due to bridge repairs but this information and alternative entrance postcode were not given in the confirmation email or on their website. These details were printed on A4 paper attached to the 'main' gate. A bit of a nuisance in my opinion.

    Everything else was superb

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2019

    9.2
    Loved the old tower suite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was cold, heating wasn't functioning properly. Water wasn't hot enough for bath. Needs notices for how to use the built-in heating and towel rail.

    Loved the old tower suite. Very beautiful building and grounds. Needed more time to partake in the spa and pool facilities

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2019

    9.6
    The room was beautiful as are the grounds of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only bad thing I can say about the stay was that the spa was a bit of a disappointment. It was overcrowded and the facilities were a bit basic for the money you pay to stay.

    The room was beautiful as are the grounds of the hotel. Staff were lovely and helpful. Very comfortable bed. Will definitely be returning.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2019

    9.2
    Very enjoyable and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The facilities we're a fair way to walk for disabled people and there were no changing facilities for disabled people who need help with undressing and dressing.

    The food was lovely and the room was excellent for disabled people and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2019

    5.0
    All that glitters is not gold
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was given a disabled room even though the hotel was not full. The room was below ground and dinghy. I came here 3 years before but had to leave as there was not cell signal. It has not improved. Everything is slow here. The sat nav goes to an entrance that has been closed and there are no directions on how to get to the proper entrance. Me and another guest were driving around for a while looking for the entrance.

    Nice setting

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2019

    9.2
    Great for a getaway and a relaxing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    all good

    Stayed again in the Shakespeare cottage, perfect for the 4 of us plus my little dog! Restaurant lovely, staff great, just right for a little gettaway in a beautiful setting

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2019

    8.8
    It is a beautiful property, in the middle of nowhere so very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As the property is in the middle of nowhere surrounded by fields the access roads are pretty narrow but ok. There are a number of large pot holes which could do with filling in but you can drive around them. We stayed in the old part of the hotel which is beautiful, bit sad that it is no longer used as the main reception and social area. It’s feels very separate to the rest of the hotel but that also has it advantages as it’s very quiet at night.

    It is a beautiful property, in the middle of nowhere so very quiet, a real getaway from everything. We stayed in a Suite, massive room with a lovely bedroom.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2019

    10
    A fabulous hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I always feel the quality of the food served in the evening doesn't quite match the quality of the hotel as a whole, which is a shame. it's okay- but doesn't match the high quality of everything else. the breakfast however is fabulous.

    I love staying here. The staff are great, its very comfortable, the rooms are massive and the spa is brilliant. I have to travel a lot with work, and staying somewhere like this makes being away from home so much more bearable.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    8.3
    comfort in a beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are comfortable but a little tired in places and could do with some of the items being replaced, for example the desk chair leather was torn and tatty. The premier rooms may be more luxurious.

    The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and the location is beautiful.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    10
    We booked a Suite for three nights and attended the Gala New...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked a Suite for three nights and attended the Gala New Years Eve Dinner. An excellent stay all round. Food especially dinner in the main restaurant and in the Hall on New Years Eve was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    9.6
    How friendly the staff were and also u got to use the swim...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It advertised a big free standing bath in the room and we didn’t have one it was the main reason I wanted to stay :(

    How friendly the staff were and also u got to use the swim and steam room free

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2018

    5.8
    Okay apart from getting in, the entrance was locked with no alternative route supplied
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entrance given in the hotel directions was closed with no alternative given. It would have been helpful if the hotel had a notice on the website to state this

    Room very comfortable

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2018

    10
    Highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The hotel was lovely , spotlessly clean , lots of little extras such as jugs of water and bowls of fruit dotted about the hotel . Staff were all very friendly , breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2018

    8.3
    An excellent stay but beware of pool times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed with our children and they were excited to get to the pool after our arrival on Friday, early evening. Unfortunately, we were then told that there were children's swimming times! Never heard of this at a hotel. The staff said it was out of their control and at the discretion of the pool manager, despite the hotel being called the 'Walton Hall Hotel & Spa'! Fortunately, the pool manager let us in but we had to wait in the pool reception (like 2nd class guests) for the 1 swimmer to vacate before we could use the large pool.

    The pool itself is excellent. Large, clean & a nice temperature. The sauna was ok but the steam room struggled to get near to what it should be. The apartment rooms are brilliant and really suited our needs.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2018

    10
    The bulls stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We loved everything thank you would definitely come back and recommend to our Friends love how you are so dog friendly to kids loved it.

    The pool the apartment was amazing the grounds wow what can you say it's all amazing

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    8.5
    Fine for a business trip
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Signage from the road - it took me an hour to find it as the sign was small and unlit. The postcode on the Booking.com site is wrong and takes you to an inaccessible back entrance on a country road. Had to phone the hotel for directions. Signage within the hotel is also inadequate, especially in the dark. On the first night there were a couple of piles of dirty laundry left in the corridor. I asked for them to be moved but they were still there the next morning.

    Nice hotel with serviceable restaurant that was fine for a business trip. Room was comfortable, large and clean.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff in the spa were not very helpful and quiet abrupt. Towels in room only bath towels not bath sheets

    Couldn’t fault the room, facilities or the staff, lovely quiet location and very clean Breakfast was top notch

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2018

    8.8
    My sister got married here the weekend the place was...
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn’t like being charged £42 for a breakfast we never ate I have contacted hotel via calls and emails and still it hadn’t been sorted or refunded.

    My sister got married here the weekend the place was beautiful very clean friendly bar staff we’re great.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    7.1
    The staff were very friendly and it was an amazing place to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When we ate there we asked for a bottle of wine. They didn’t have it so we asked for another. Didn’t have that but the girl didn’t even offer us an alternative when she could have said before we asked that it was not available and not have to keep going back and forth to sort. Knowledge of what your selling is a good thing

    The staff were very friendly and it was an amazing place to walk round

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    6.7
    Once moved quiet and relaxing
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Being put in a room next to a function when the hotel was not full. We did get moved on request but at 8pm when we were ready to be relaxing. Room lighting was appalling! V dull and depressing.

    Friendly staff. Good breakfast. Dog made v welcome. Great grounds.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    8.8
    Lovely venue, extremely clean and very comfortable beds. Pleasant and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant was arranged in a very functional way, a large space with little creativity in table planning. Hot drinks facilities were poor for the quantity of customers on busy days.

    The restaurant was well organised and efficient despite being extremely busy,and the food was good.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    6.7
    Ok
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Come in the dark, gates were locked & drove round for 1 hour 20 minuets trying to get in the entrance as no lighting or signage... terrible entrance to find as very dark no lighting 😡

    The old part off the hotel

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    8.8
    Stunning location, beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The problem was trying to get to the hotel the main gates at the entrance were padlocked and it was dark but there was a notice to say the bridge had collapsed and to use another entrance which would take a further 15 minutes of driving which in the end took another hour to find very frustrating if only they had prewarned us, when we finally got to reception another couple had gone through the same problem what a shame not a good start to our relaxing getaway.

    An absolutely beautiful location and lovely room couldn't fault it, my only wish was that we could have stayed longer .

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    7.9
    As an Accor club member not impressed with the service and for an overpriced room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On checking in at reception to have been told that the room I was assigned, happened to be above a function room that was hosting a reception that evening and a disco until the early hours. Paying over £140 for a room that was only worth at most £75 that you could find at a motorway services or budget chain. That the cleaner had noticed that the Toilet seat was not secure. The television did not function correctly. Surprisingly the map I was given to reach the room was accurate ,shame the lighting and signage to find entrance to the Block at night was poor.

    Basic room not very big with a double bed . Bed very comfortable with tea coffee facilities etc.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    9.6
    excellent will definetly be staying again, wether it be on business or for pleasure.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    sat nav struggled to find the right entrance in the dark, sent me to 2 seperrate entrances that where blocked off. (not the hotels fault but a touch annoying)

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    8.3
    Good stay for business purpose, would recommend
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dinner was ok, quality of food could have been better but good service

    Spacious clean room with comfy bed, beautiful park, nice pool and steamroon and sauna up and running early in the morning

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    6.7
    Housekeeping staff came into room at 8am when we were still...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Housekeeping staff came into room at 8am when we were still in bed. Not impressed by this. Not sure why they would need to come in at that time if check out isn’t until 11am.

    Housekeeping staff came into room at 8am when we were still in bed. Not impressed by this. Not sure why they would need to come in at that timr if check out isn’t until 11am.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    10
    Comfortable, relaxed, stress free short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some maintenance needed on the outside of our wing of the hotel, paint peeling, drain pipe not attached.

    Lovely location, good facilities. Clean and comfortable. Generous, tasty breakfast. Great for walks in the grounds in good weather, pool and spa facilities to use if required.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    7.1
    Nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed sheets were not so soft. The acoustic was not good and it was really hard to sleep with the noise from the others rooms.

    The hotel is beautiful, with an amazing garden area. The breakfast and the size of the bedroom were really good.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    7.9
    Wonderful location
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is tired in places with dull woodwork and rotten woodwork in places. The fact you have to walk outside to get to rooms. A connecting corridor would be of benefit

    The staff were great. We had the two dogs and they were so helpful and friendly. Ensured we had suitable rooms although I would say the ground floor rooms with external doors should be for dogs not the ones with just windows

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    5.8
    I was there to attend a wedding reception so my stay was necessarily brief.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There must have been a problem with the drains. My shower and wash basin water did not drain away.

    The location is spectacular. I liked the little touches - the apples and biscuit jar. Parking adjacent to reception was convenient.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    9.6
    I would definitely come back
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were fireworks let off at around 10pm. Nobody has advised me that this was going to happen so I was unable to prepare one of our dogs that gets extremely stressed by them.

    Loved that the dogs could come into the bar whilst we ate. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    5.0
    Someone else said it. It’s seen better days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel was tired, dirty in places. Room was tatty. Spa facilities were tired or broken. Dinner was very disappointing, food was over priced and service terrible.

    Breakfast was ok

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    7.5
    Clean, neat and tidy, perfectly acceptable without being special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The postcode is wrong. It takes you to a back gate that's locked. When asking locals for directions their final comment was, good luck! So long as you phone before and get the right one you'll be ok. We tried to phone while sitting at the gate. After 30 minutes of no answer I sent my boy over the fence to walk there.

    The staff where exceptional, welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    7.9
    disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    you have to walk throw the bar/restaurant to get to the spa facilities, tv in the room didn't work nor the heating, sauna didn't work, and no jacuzzi

    the location was beautiful, a great breakfast collection

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    9.6
    A lovely stay and will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very satisfied with our stay and did not note anything that needed improvement. Lovely room, beautiful location and surrounding area. We cant recall anything that we didnt like. This is one of our preferred holiday destinations.

    We liked the location and walking in the grounds and visiting the little church. The stay was very peaceful and relaxing. We enjoyed the leisure facilities and great to be able to swim and use the gym and sauna.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    10
    Brilliant hotel, APPALLING service from Booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Booking.com taking my money but failing to give the hotel correct information this resulting in the hotel not having my booking. Booking.com left me with no room & refused to help.

    Great hotel but Booking.com messed up our booking & refused to help. Their error. The hotel took good care of us & did not leave me & my young children at night, without accommodation as Booking.com did. NEVER again will I use these cowboys.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    10
    Amazing luxurious 2 night stay in the main hall, loved every minute.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was too hard for my liking but thats just a personal choice. No slippers, other rooms had them provided. Fridge very small. Large stains on carpet throughout the room. Separate shower did not work so well, too much spray & not directed down so might need a clean.

    We end d up in the main hall room 24. Spacious rooms. High ceiling. Clean bathrooms with separate shower Huge bed in middle of the room. Clean bedding. Lots of pillows. Robes. Views are amazing across the grounds. I loved that the shampoo etc were brand new & sealed. Loved the expresso machine.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    7.9
    The restaurant staff and bar staff are very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our bed sheets had black marks and part of a sweet left on the duvet cover. We have been going to this hotel for a number of years. It wasn't till we pulled back the quilt when going to bed that I noticed. I didn't like to call reception at 11pm. So we slept on top of the quilt.

    The restaurant staff and bar staff are very friendly and more than happy to help.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    8.3
    Disappointing to arrive have issues booking in. Tatty chair spoiled an otherwise good room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spelling of my name was incorrect on the booking and the receptionist could not find it for some time. The booking was for a twin room with bath - what we got was a double with shower. This was changed by the reception staff. The chairs in the rooms were tatty

    Friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    8.3
    Loved where we were at the orchard mews inbetween the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bath/shower leaked water onto floor and chair broken in room didn't really care though!

    Loved where we were at the orchard mews inbetween the main hotel and the spa great room with patio doors and top marks to David the barman who looked after us so well!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    5.0
    Never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My wife was left standing in her wedding dress after a very long day for 20 minutes in your reception whilst our rooms and bags were located. Completely unacceptable as I rang earlier in the morning to ensure our bags would be in our room by the time we arrived and was garaunteed they would be, not the best start to your marriage to have your bride waiting around still in her wedding dress.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    10
    Relaxing and recharging
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing that was a downside was when it rained you had to go out side to get to facilities and restaurants.

    It was welcoming , comfortable and the facilities were clean . The breakfast was fresh and good choices .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2018

    9.6
    Really enjoyable would revisit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Personal presents only but would have preferred breakfast not to be s help yourself process That said Tyson food was excellent

    Fantastic location Really pleasant staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    10
    Lovely relaxing weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely large bedroom in the Hall, very quiet despite a wedding going on downstairs. Had a really nice walk in the grounds, lots of sheep who seemed very tame. Fantastic hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2018

    5.8
    Not the best hotel I have stayed at
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel lacks tender loving care. The whole thing sprawls over a huge site.The first room in the mansion I was allocated had a window that didn't shut, the main bedroom light needed a bulb. It was dismal at the back of the house despite being told that this was an upgrade! I moved rooms to one over looking the lake which was huge but when you examined things it wasn't that clean and the furniture seems to have lost all handles because these have been replaced by leather ones which frankly look cheap and ridiculous. The sauna was cold because the door to it did not shut properly. The breakfast was poor. The dining room was completely cluttered. There were too many tables and not enough space to do a proper self service. There was little choice of fruit unless you liked melon, and the bacon was not great. They also have only a small bar area for such a big place and the draught beer was off. The conference room we used had poor acoustics. Overall it was not a great experience which is a shame because it could be so much better if someone took the time to evaluate properly what is on offer.

    It is a beautiful though impractical setting miles from anywhere. The dinner menu though limited did offer good food

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2018

    4.6
    Not what it looks like.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was absolutely nothing like what I was shown I was paying for in the photograph. The door handle for the bathroom came off completely every time I used it. There was a lot of noise outside the room early in the morning. Just lots of banging around and it wasn't other guests. The room was much smaller than all of the other rooms along the corridor. I could tell this by the fire evacuation map on the wall in the room. It was less than half the size of the others.

    I liked the building I stayed in. I liked the grounds too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    5.4
    Walton Hall Hotel Wellesbourne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stayed in room 301. Window frame rotton. Sink didn't drain away. Had to request towels. Burn mark on dressing table. Bar service atrocious. Breakfast was cold, fresh batch of sausages brought out and were cold.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    7.9
    Fantastic venue. Just needs a professional management. Attention to detail and hospitality lacking.
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    On suite had overhead shower and no shower cap provided. Room would benefit from furniture moving out and edges cleaned. All rooms windows needed cleaning, especially in main house. We were there for a wedding , very unhelpful, nowhere offered to change from traveling clothes, only wet steaming spa changing room. We had traveled very long distances and the weather was extremely wet. We asked for somewhere with an electrical socket so that we could dry hair and use straighteners. We asked for an unmade room for 15 minuets. No help given at all . We ended up in the restaurant toilets having to use hand driers for our hair and wet clothes. The layout of the hotel and wedding venue is very spread out . The pathways and carparks were flooded so we all arrived with wet feet and nowhere to put umbrellas. The outside areas and steps and terraced areas of Wedding Hall were very dirty needed brushing. No door mat at front door, just a scruffy empty recess. Such a shame, just little things to make this a perfect venue. I felt there was a lack of mature professional staff.

    Fantastically clean and comfortable bed. Very quiet and peaceful night.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    5.0
    It was ok as a base. Breakfast was good. The good part of the hotel now exclusively for weddings.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Exterior not well maintained - peeling paint on door frame, broken gutter streaming water onto balcony, which was covered in cigarette butts

    Interior Decor

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    5.0
    The staff were very friendly and professional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No hot water in our room in the morning. We had to leave early to get to an event at Silverstone and were not able to have a hot shower. This is totally unacceptable for a hotel chain of any ilk never mind Mercure.

    The staff were very friendly and professional

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2018

    7.1
    Lovely location and apartments
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The apartment could have had some small essentials, e.g. milk and bread. Beds weren't the most comfortable. We eat in the bar/restaurant on the evening and wasn't great food for the price, would have expected a better portion and quality.

    2 bed apartment was great, very roomy and modern. Breakfast was buffet style and really nice, good quality and worth the price. The house is separate and there was a wedding so we didn't get chance to look around, but the grounds are stunning and lots of bins for dog waste. Spa was okay, pool, sauna and steam room and towels included.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2018

    5.8
    Staff were attentive and pleasant, food was good
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel has a wonderful 18th Century mansion, yet they use the apartment block style bedrooms and a modern reception dining area when the quality of the stay could be much higher

    Staff were attentive and pleasant, food was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2018

    6.7
    Great place with lots of potential if only they invested in maintenance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Arrived and sent to accommodation but it hadn't been cleaned yet and this was nearly 3:30pm. Many things broken or missing: no plugs for sinks so water is wasted; electric supply in bathroom for razor not working; dripping tap that could not be stopped; lacking in kitchen utensils (not even a cork screw!). Windows on outside needed cleaning badly and some inner sheets on bed needed replacing.

    Beautiful setting and large accomodation suitable for a family, swimming pool and grounds. Hotel staff were helpful, apologetic and gave free drink vouchers. Cleaning staff always willing to help.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    10
    We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which turned out to be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which turned out to be the upper floor of one of the cottages in the grounds - absolutely perfect! The apartment was huge with two bedrooms, one en suite plus a main bathroom, a very large lounge and dining area and a fully equipped kitchen. All incredibly clean and we were delighted that we had maid service each day despite being in an apartment. We chose to have breakfast in the hotel and it was very good. We used the pool facilities on each of our three days - I don't know if we were just lucky in our choice of times but it was always calm and peaceful and felt like our own private pool! The grounds of the hotel are delightful (especially loved the swans and their eight cygnets) and the staff very pleasant indeed, with a particular shout out to Adam on Reception who organised a lovely glass of prosecco on arrival when my daughter mentioned it was our anniversary.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    4.6
    Awful !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We checked in to be told the toilet in our apartment was filling very slowly after being flushed and to be patient with it. As we had travelled a long way from Cornwall we accepted this and took our bags to the accommodation. Outside the front door was a full dog poo bag which was not a great start. The TV had obviously sustained damage and the screen was cracked and partially obscured. The toilet was not slow at filling but didn't flush at all. I reported this to the duty manager who came over to check and then offered us another room which stupidly we thought was a replacement. We moved our bags to find this was a twin room and what he was offering was the use of the toilet in this room which was across an outdoor courtyard and down a corridor. We were told all the accommodation was full although several similar apartments seemed empty to me. Again stupidly we accepted this as a minor inconvenience but when our 12 year old got up at 5:30 in the morning and went outside across the courtyard alone in pyjamas without us realising perhaps we should have objected more strongly on safeguarding grounds. We went for food in the bar and after the kind restaurant staff carried us a table into the already full bar we stood at the bar waiting to be served for quite some time. We rapidly realised that the bar staff were all busy attending one particular group in the corner and would preferentially serve them keeping others waiting. Despite several staff members being visible the tables were loaded with plates and used glassware as was at least 1/3 of the bar! I appreciate this was a busy time but there didn't seem to be any system and the service was chaotic at best. The food was good in contrast with the smoked haddock risotto being especially good. We slept ok in the room and our grievances were well managed by a different duty manager in the morning with a full refund of the room costs.

    The problems were addressed at checkout as we were not charged for the room but our experience was poor and as this was the last night of a family holiday and we were hoping for something a little special a refund doesn't repair the full damage sadly and we will not be returning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    6.3
    Location was pleasant, restaurant and bar areas looked nice,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was not a superior double in my opinion, the shower flooded the bathroom floor, the walls and ceiling had plaster missing and damp patches, there was no hair dryer, all of the windows were sealed shut and couldn't be opened, the mini bar was empty, the lights in the cupboard didn't work, staff were rude.

    Location was pleasant, restaurant and bar areas looked nice, easy to park.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2018

    5.8
    Good hotel if you can find it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The address supplied on booking lead us to a locked gate. We phoned and the staff were aware straight away and gave another postcode. We checked in late at night and were not spoken to during the check in process apart from to ask for the card. We were not informed of check out time etc.

    The room was spacious and had a balcony. It looked very nice. We requested a room with a bath and the hotel were able to accommodate this. They also were able to give late checkout.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2018

    2.5
    Don't bother staying here.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning, avoid this hotel like the plague... We arrived approx 11:15pm and were very tired had to wait over 10 mins to get room key as the receptionists were swapping over. When entering the room the heat hits you like a hammer, the carpets were filthy and cobwebs everywhere. After a terrible nights sleep where my daughter actually slept on the kitchen floor as was so hot, we couldn't wait to get out of there. I will never stay in this hotel again on check out the receptionist refused to give me a receipt at first as I made the booking with booking.com but as I pointed out to her that I paid the hotel directly she then reluctantly gave me a receipt. Not once did she ask me if I had had a pleasant stay etc.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2018

    5.4
    Unsignposted diversion to entrance .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We arrived at entrance and it was closed with a notice to use alternative entrance . Had to take diversion that was not signposted as 17th century bridge was being repaired . An email could have been sent to advise customers or The closure of the entrance should have been signposted at the turn off. The breakfast was cold . The swimming pool did not open until 10am for children. The room was located in the stables far away from main house so it did not feel like staying in a hotel.

    The pool was nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The arrows for reception were blacked out, so we didn't know where to park the car for reception. Signs to reception were unclear, so we ended up at the back of the bar. Our rooms weren't ready at 3pm, which is the hotel's stated check-in time and we had a 20-minute wait. We had a tight turnaround for an event at 4pm, but the staff on the reception desk were slow and unsympathetic. Wed booked a double and twin, which we were allocated in unconnected accommodation blocks. Breakfast is not included in the tariff, which is mean at the price charged. Poor desk/dressing table lighting and the weediest hairdryer imaginable. Flimsy plastic beakers in the bathroom, one of which split immediately it was used. Dried up orchid in the room didn't add to the ambience.

    The room was clean and well-equipped. Comfortable bed. Plastic beakers were sealed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2018

    5.4
    Staff in the restaurant and bar area are very welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No iron in the room which was stated (priveley room). Hairdryer that as no heat. We also stayed in March and had the same issue . Cleaness not like normal standard. Only one towel in the bathroom for 2 people. Had to go to reception for bath towel and shower mat / hand towels Standards are becoming un acceptable. The sink in the bathroom stunk.

    Staff in the restaurant and bar area are very welcoming. Bogi is so friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2018

    10
    Excellent stay ,you won’t be disappointed ,highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing we didn’t like ,was that we couldn’t stay longer

    Every thing about the hotel is fantastic from the staff been so helpful especially Chris to the food ,the cleanliness, the location,to the decor,will definitely go again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    6.3
    No air con is understandable but then not to have enough...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air con is understandable but then not to have enough fans for each room in this day in age is poor. Hottest week of the year so far and really suffered here. Staff response was poor at best. They’re all out. There’s nothing we can do!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    7.1
    Lovely hotel in pretty surroundings, with good facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When seated in the dining room, we were just given menus and not asked if we would like to order drinks. We waited about 10 minutes, and in the end I went to the bar and ordered them to take to the table. This was in a very uncrowded restaurant. Waiting staff cleared empty plates while we were still eating other things (at both breakfast and dinner), seemingly unaware that this is impolite and makes diners feel rushed. On the morning of our departure, 'housekeeping' knocked on the door at around 9am (there was no door sign in our room to hang up to say not to disturb). I was in the shower at the time and it gave my daughter a shock. When we went back to the room after breakfast a cleaner asked if we were leaving - this should surely be on a list for them and they should only attempt to clean the rooms as they are cleared by reception as having checked out. Overall, I felt the staff were trying hard and they were friendly and polite, but they need better training/organisation. On check-out, we were not asked if we enjoyed our stay or experienced any issues. We got lost on the way back from Stratford-on-Avon and ended up at a closed entrance to the hotel that the sat nav took us to and in the dark it was difficult to read the instructions as to how to reach the correct entrance. I felt more could have been done to make guests aware which postcode to use.

    Breakfast had lots of fresh fruit and the hot food was good. The pool, steam room and sauna were nice, we were provided with towels & there was no extra cost. The hotel is in beautiful countryside and has a lovely dining room overlooking gardens. It's peaceful with no traffic noise. The room was comfortable and it was easy to park. Our room was serviced fine (it was a 2 night stay). The bathroom was nicely done with a good shower & plenty of towels. It's not too far to get into Stratford-on-Avon (about 20 minutes).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    8.3
    Perfectly pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very few plug sockets in the room (and none near the bed). Everything just slightly run down. Like, the lamps on the wall were a little loose, and the shower (which was functionally very nice) control was loose. None of this impacted the comfort of the stay at all, but sort of feels like it could do with a handyman wandering around with a screwdriver just tightening up all the slightly frayed fixtures and fittings.

    Breakfast was very good. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was made up as double rather than twin by mistake and this was fixed straight away with no trouble or fuss. Nice shower and good sized bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    7.1
    Very busy hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Whilst it was in a lovely setting and very relaxing it was a little too far away from a town.

    Very busy hotel. Staff always friendly and helpful. (Especially Sonia in the bar/restaurant).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    8.8
    Things that are non- negotiable include USB ports, toilet brushes etc. Plus side ..... the rest ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The key locked me out when I had a lot to carry. I’d like to have been told room 36 was quite a challenge to access..... I’m a young 69 but there were many stairs and no lifts. The person I asked to help me unlock my door was only just polite and asked me if I’d stored the key near a magnet. I had to make him stay while I checked it was not going to happen again.... it did so luckily the downstairs staff were more helpful.

    The sense of history and the style

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    7.9
    beautiful location and good hotel . would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    food and service in the restaurant was ok but nothing special. Waiting staff were friendly but I suspect fairly new and needed more training

    lovely location and good size rooms. reception staff very helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was lovely, the grounds are beautiful and the staff are very friendly and helpful. However, there was a strange smell coming from the fridge in our apartment and there was no air conditioning. Normally this would not have been a problem but with the really warm weather it made the upstairs bedrooms extremely hot and uncomfortable for sleeping.

    Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful location!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    5.8
    Don't check in at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They tried to downgrade my room and charge the same price. 30+ minute wait for check in. No air conditioning.

    Some management are very professional. Grounds are quite nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: