Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mermaid Inn 3 stars

Mermaid Street, Rye, TN31 7EY, United Kingdom

#3 of 8 hotels in Rye

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 750 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being woken up each morning by noisy pigeons. Other than that no complaints.

    Lovely historical building run really well by some very helpful staff. Excellent service and food and comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant needs more choice as it was very limited. Don't get much for the money either. All the staff were lovely apart from one barman who was a bit sarcastic when I asked about cocktails.

    Loved the old feeling of the place but was still very clean. Had all was needed in the room and beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very welcoming, Emma on reception and Glen a smiling, genuine nice guy. He showed us to our room, the haunted cellar and gave us tour and lots of interesting facts about the mermaid. Thx Glen. We enjoyed our stay and will be back. The whole experience was lovely and made my ladies birthday very special. Thank you Mermaid.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better air con systems required in the rooms. Room service after 11pm very limited. More assistance required with luggage due to stairs.

    Beautiful hotel and location with lots of history. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. Food was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is always nice to stay in a Hotel that is “different “ and this place certainly came under this category. The olde English medieval ambience just blows you away. It’s a picture perfect place that takes you back to another generation.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning could have been more assiduous......

    Wonderful 15c hotel but sometimes the facilities are also 15C! Excellent food, service and very helpul, cheerful staff. So happy we stayed an extra day..........no ghosts though!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Beautiful, quaint and full of history. It was like stepping back in time! Staff friendly and attentive. Tudor rose room was lovely clean and comfortable. Lovely surroundings and perfect location for getting out and about. Felt thoroughly spoilt and would definitely return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent breakfast and evening meals, hotel position was perfect for a base to travel from with a train station a short walk away The Inn had on-site parking, and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is a jewel set in the most idyllic location. Dates back to 14th century but rooms, bathrooms, beds have all superbly been brought into the 21st century with the comfort they provide. Staff were delightful, and food in the restaurant superb. Even catered to glucose free and lactose intolerance of one of our group of friends. We were overjoyed with the hotel, and Rye, and would definitely go again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a very heavy thunderstorm during our stay. Our sons room had a leak from the ceiling (luckily not over the bed), luckily the rain stopped soon and the leak just needed a towel on the floor to catch the drips. The Mermaid needs to get the roof checked as it looked like it had done it before. Apart from that the rooms were very nice, clean and comfy

    We hired the Tudor Room for the afternoon. The exclusive bar was very helpful, the staff were very friendly. The 3 course meal was good value and well presented as well as being tasty. We would definitely use it again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dinner menu was a little bit stuffy for me. There really wasn't anything that I liked and so we had to give dinner a miss, which was a great shame as we really wanted to eat there. I dont eat lamb or shell fish.

    The staff were so helpful and service was second to none. The breakfast exceeded our expectations, along with the attention to detail. The hotel is full of history and suspense. Simply adorable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel - just don’t expect all the mod cons. It’s a gorgeous old building but some of the facilities (eg the en suite) and the approach of the staff reflect this.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Full English could be better. Poached eggs poor. Rest sparce. Only one rasher. Sausage nice. Half tomato. No beans or hash browns. Next day went for omelette and bacon at side (2).

    we were in small double. top floor. Bed was very comfy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing which I didnt like and this was very minor; the room we stayed in only had a bath and no shower. However this didnt spoil my stay or experience.

    The staff were all very welcomeing , polite and friendly, the service was excellent nothing was too much trouble . The food in the restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had intended to eat from the bar menu, when we arrived at 8.00pm we were advised that due to a function that evening there would be no bar food served. Earlier in the day we visited the bar and had a drink and it would have been very helpful if this information had been displayed so that we could have made alternative arrangements to eat elsewhere. Just a sign on the bar would have been sufficient.

    The history and atmosphere of the building. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were exceptional (on reception, delivering room service and then at breakfast). We arrived late and they went out of their way to calm us down and ensure we had a relaxing stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No proper shower head holder in bathroom (single room) and water temperature was a bit variable, otherwise excellent all round.

    Quaint, full of character, winding staircases and very nicely furnished communal areas.Staff were very helpful, and breakfast was superb.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facilities are not great - really we went with friends and we were put in opposite ends of the hotel. The food is nor good - we asked for a fire to be put and they said they wouldnt so it didnt feel very specal

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The plug in the sink was stuck - a minor detail.

    The staff were lovely, local people who were obviously happy in their work and a pleasure to talk to. The history of the inn was fascinating. It was nice being on a cobbled street with only the occasional vehicle accessing the road.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have stayed here a few times, but I felt very disappointed with our room this time round and not very clean, quite a few cobwebs, which you could clearly seen been there a while, but the rest of the experience was very good. Also it was a shame that the bar closed dead on time, it would of been nice to of been able to sit in there as we were unable to get in there in the day, being so busy.

    We have stayed here a few times and absolutely love it, Glen is certainly a great asset to the place, and so helpful and obliging, all the staff are very good,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only problem was that there is no water pressure on the top floor and it was difficult to take a shower. The toilet did not fill properly and the hotel could not mend it over the bank holiday weekend.

    Great location, friendly and helpful staff, very atmospheric place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had our room given to another guest with my champagne I ordered. Replacement room was great, or though, was not impressed with the mound growth in the shower cubicle. No butter on my table for breakfast and had to ask for toast.

    A lovely quaint hotel. Room was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Mermaid Inn exceeded all my expectations. The rooms were beautiful. The service was exceptional. The food and bar were superb. I loved being able to see the cellar that was built in 1159 and the fact the whole place was built in the 1450's is impressive. But not as impressive as the service, I felt completely looked after by the team at the Inn from the moment I arrived to the moment I left.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom disappointed us, needed more cleaning and a plastic toilet seat? Really?

    History of the place, comfortable to be in, excellent staff especially in the restaurant, exceptional food too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff. Excellent restaurant - food service etc. Comfortable bed. Bathroom twee but only to be expected in such an old place. No fault found.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a specific request for arrival. The website said to email them. I did 2 days before arrival but never heard from them. Everything else - perfect!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting an additional service charge of, apparently, 10%; but this was also based on spend at the bar! Visitors to the hotel bar are not charged an extra 10% so why the guests? When paying twice the price for a bottle of wine and two double Baileys for the price of a bottle, and water at 4 times the shop rate? Not good😡

    Atmosphere and very attentive service, beautiful building and decor😊

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Wonderful hotel and wonderful dining experience Staff excellent from check in till check out We were recommended by a couple checking out as we checked in to eat there and they were 100% right !!! Fantastic food Breakfast was included and it was excellent!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kettle had the wrong base so didn’t work Bed too hard after two nights I went home with a backache I ran out of Breakfast teabags and the receptionist wanted to charge me even though I was staying a for a second night. Restaurant service was lovely, very attentive and prompt

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was a little smaller than I was expecting, but OK for my stay.

    The location in the old part of the town is first rate. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel has real character. The bar and lounges were welcoming with open fires and a relaxing feel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to add in this box....it was a great stay.

    I have been staying at the Mermaid for many years and love it passionately but this break was really lovely. The receptionist on arrival was so helpful and welcoming and it is the perfect place if travelling alone because for some reason there is a sense of belonging. The breakfast, which is always good, is served by excellent staff. The waitress who takes the order is efficient and friendly and there is the wonderful Glen who is both fun, attentive and super professional. The Inn with the roaring fires is atmospheric and cosy, so good to visit in winter. I could not recommend The Mermaid highly enough.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    would have been nice to have a stand up shower in the en suite rather than a shower attached to bath taps.

    Lovely bar with open fire - very cosy for a winter break. Bed and room lovely and comfortable with modern bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular. Price remains at the top of our scale so would not be inclined to stay for more than one night.

    2nd stay at this hotel. Central location with great style and on site secure parking. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary. This was not recognised whilst we were there, but we did have a lovely room overlooking mermaid street.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed linen was below expected standard - hotels you expect beautiful sumptuous crisp 100% cotton linen and duvets so a little disappointed there

    Friendliness of staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a great stay and the premises is really special! The rooms were very nice with large bathrooms and plenty of space. Unfortunately we couldn't eat dinner there due to the restaurant being full (would recommend booking in advance esp. at the weekend) but ended up at The Standard Inn nearby which was very good. Ypres Pub was also a lovely find close-by. Breakfast was as you would expect it to be (went for the full english) and not at all rushed. The Mermaid is well located close to all the hotspots but also very quiet and situated on the most stunning cobbled street. Overall a lovely stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had dinner and my fork was dirty... like I scraped something thick and beige off it- fat or wax or - I don't really want to know- swapped it for a fork at the table nearest us as I didn't want to make a big deal. It was not a big deal and an a-typical event for a stellar place

    See above

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only staying for 1 night.

    Very old. All decorations furniture etc. was meticulous. Staff very welcoming. Like going back in time. You will (in my opinion) never of had the pleasure of staying in a hotel of this elegance before. The whole town is steeped in history. The old properties and cobbled streets added to this time traveling experiance for us.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom and bathroom facilities were poor. No shower, hot water not really hot and no pressure. Would have taken an age to run a bath by which time it would be really cold. Bathroom dimly lit and only one socket in the bedroom so drying hair (having washed it over the bath) not possible in front of the mirror as the lead wouldn't reach. Bedroom really quirky which was fine but other "personal" facilities ie the bathroom was really poor. Overall, at £150 for the night with breakfast, this really didn't represent value for money. Perhaps we should have asked for another room ......

    Its very old and has lots of interesting history.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't a proper shower in the room - the one in the bath wasn't really usable.

    Atmosphere was great, two beautiful lounges and a lovely old bar, all with fires.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accessibility difficult for some people due to the ancient age of the building. Not a problem for us, but would be for some of our friends.

    The historical aspects of the hotel, the legends and stories and the lovely Christmas feeling in the cosy lounges. The food in the restaurant was delicious and the service good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we can really complain about was the pressure of the shower. It could have been much stronger

    Glenn made our stay so special and interesting. He puts attention to detail with guests and makes sure you have a enjoyable time. Staff very welcoming. Hotel itself is just beautiful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were put in Room 4 which is directly above Reception, next to the stairs and the fire door. It was very noisy indeed, we could hear every word in reception and every time anyone walked up the stairs and through the fire door. In the hours when no one was in reception or moving around we slept well as we had a nice comfortable bed. I guess that’s old buildings for you. Please give us something to hang wet towels on.

    Very helpful friendly staff. Had an excellent evening meal in the Restaurant. Lovely old building. The main part of our room (4) was charming. The shower room was tiny as was the tiny shower cubicle, luckily we are both quite slim or I think we would have struggled.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have liked more info on the ghost stories!

    The staff were lovely, wouldn't stop to help us and really personable. Their extra touches made the trip all the more memorable. Also - poached eggs to die for!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very disappointed with our room which was cramped and had paper thin walls which meant we could hear our neighbour's conversation as clearly as if they were sharing the room with us. Take you earplugs with you if you want to sleep at night! All very poor value for the high room charge.

    The staff were very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking was slightly difficult, but again staff were very helpful.

    On arrival till departing, staff were friendly and very helpful. We are returning to hotel for the New Year celebrations. Thanks again

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have felt safer if there had been something to hold on to getting in and out of the comfy - but slippery - bath.

    The attractive ancient building with its quaint interior, oak beams, log fires etc but also all mod cons made it a fascinating place to stay. The evening jazz group with supper was a very enjoyable bonus The staff were all pleasant and helpful - even giving us a lift to the station when they couldn't get us a taxi!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we would change.

    Wonderfully friendly, helpful staff, every detail has been thought of. The mermaid inn itself is a beautiful building with so much history attached to it - it was a privelidge to stay there!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of room , parking, rates / clearness

    Room rate was unclear went up from £90 to £150 as its charged per person not per room. Room was dusty and curtains tatty . Bird droppings in window. Onsite parking but was cramped and was told to double park and if necessary the owner would move my car! Not sure about that

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being put on top floor bedroom with my dog doesn't make easy access to outside with pet. Housekeeping could have been better especially in bathroom area - bathroom was like a broom cupboard. Carpet was stained and tired and needs replacing. Although advertised as pet friendly dogs are normally not allowed anywhere except in room.

    Lovely staff, excellent dinner, good service, lovely location especially house porter who I believe was called Glen, appreciate his assistance in helping me get a pass for Lulu in lounge area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The younger staff members could do with livening up a little but the older staff were really friendly and helpful, especially Glen. Lovely old character Hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I asked the receptionist (abut 9pm) if I could have a sachet of hot chocolate to take to my room (coffee and tea were in the room) I was told a curt 'no'. She didn't tell me that hot chocolate was available in the bar!

    Can't really expect all the mod cons from the Mermaid, it's a 14th century building and walls are thin and some rooms small. But it's a beautiful building and ozzes history. Lovely old bar which is like stepping back in time.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was trying to do some local walking and there was no central, easy map for the many, many routes around.

    Front desk staff was incredibly helpful. Staff recommended the local historian tour, which was well worth the trip. Very pleasant wait staff, breakfast, and amenities -- wood fire to enjoy at night!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cistern in room 23 is very slow to fill and does not always flush. There is no proper shower over the bath so you either have to take a bath or stand in the bath holding a shower hose - not particularly a luxury experience for £150 pound a night!

    If you appreciate staying in old buildings with loads of character, you will love staying here! Its location in Rye is unbeatable! We enjoyed sitting by the fire in the evening in the lovely, quiet lounges, reading or playing a board game. The food was fabulous both at dinner and breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the two flight of very steep stairs to my room

    bed lumpy, both difficult to get in + out of bath because of slopping roof bathroom very small not much room for toiletries

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Leaving!

    The Mermaid Inn was everything I had expected and more. I had a single room for one night, it was very well furnished, very cosy and comfortable, spotlessly clean, and overlooked Mermaid Street. The interior of the hotel is just amazing. All the staff I came into contact with were very friendly, I felt completely at home here, I couldn't have wished for a more perfect stay. I will certainly be back!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Delicious food, extremely helpful and friendly staff, unique quirky atmosphere. A much needed mini break in a quaint inn that mirrors the cute village setting. Looking forward to staying here again!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel and staff were amazing. Beautiful part of the country. We will definitely be staying again and I would highly recommend, probably the nicest hotel I’ve stayed in.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stuff are brilliant, the breakfast service is excellent but food quality is poor I’m afraid,breakfast is £15 if it wasn’t included in the room price, our bathroom was a great size but only a bath! Could easily put a shower in the bath so you could stand in it!

    great location, very pretty property stuff are excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a little limited because casual patrons use it. The restaurant is quite expensive.

    The history and the location of property. Parts of the original Norman building are still evident. The restaurant is especially good and varied with degustation menus available but is a little expensive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the restaurant seemed very understaffed at dinner and breakfast. Couldn’t get a second drink with dinner till we were finished, and waited a long time for our breakfast order to be taken.

    The staff were attentive and helpful. The cockney porter (Glenn?) was a particularly friendly and entertaining chap, and very knowledgable regarding the hauntings at the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a little quiet - but we come from SE London so this is probably normal in the country!! Otherwise there is nothing we didn't like!

    Beautiful setting of 'Old England'. Absolutely gorgeous setting and very quaint!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Amazing place - very quirky but comfortable. If you love old buildings with creaking floorboards etc, this is for you. Great food and very pleasant and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sufficient space in lounges and bar to sit and did not light fire in smaller lounge Insufficient parking for residents. My friend was very reluctant to hand car keys to hotel staff for them to move car if necessary

    Quaint and interesting decor

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Felt quite dark and stuffy but I appreciate the limitations on development of such a historic building.

    Ladies on the front desk were excellent and the position is very central. Obviously characterful old building is attractive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints but due to the age of the building and nature of Rye old town not good for disabled

    Beautiful old building of character. Very pleasantly suprised with the quality and standard of the dinner - beautifully presented and delicious

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bath water pressure was too low for a good shower and no shower curtain was fitted to the bath. Stand up shower not possible. This may be a limitation created by being in such an old building. If you prefer a bath, then there is no problem at all. Other than this the hotel was really excellent!

    Superb historic property in a wonderful town full of history

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we couldn't eat in the bar area as the room was very small but they had a roaring fire going which made the room too hot

    the history and character of the hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was awful, tiny with no shower except for handset on taps which fell apart when used. Lighting was poor. Stairs difficult for older people very steep and narrow treads.

    staff were very helpful. Beds were good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble . They were polite and friendly and just made our trip that much better. I would recommend the Inn to everyone.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did feel that the customer/guest service was at times lacking and and a bit casual. We expected due to the hotel being in the higher price range for Rye staff to be more professional in their manner.(it did come across that there was a lot of young staff who appeared quite immature) Also for example It would have been nice to have felt like a valued customer/guest and to be asked when checking out if we enjoyed our stay.( it's the little touches that mean a lot!) Maybe an issue that needs to be addressed on a managerial level.

    Car park was a bonus. Quiet rooom with lots of character and charm.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car park was full when I arrived at 5pm so I had to park in the railway station and lug my things across the town. The room was very small for £90 and the walls were paper thin so I could hear next doors tv well into the night.

    Great location in the centre of Rye. Food both in the morning and from the bar menu was good. Loved the quirky nature of the pub and separate guest lounges.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think I just was unlucky this time...it is not representative of the hotel or staff. My single room at the very top of the hotel and massively sloping eves and I could not stand up in most of the room or sit up straight in the bathroom. Added to this the people next door werenso noisey and I could hear every conversation and was woken up at 2.30am by their snoring..so it was not the wonderful escape I had planned. However, the staff were so helpful ..unable to move me as the hotel was full and did phone the occupants next door and ask them to put the TV down which I appreciated. Glen the porter was lovely and really cheered me up at breakfast after the first sleepless night. I do think I was just really unlucky and I am looking forward to returning there in November...but not to that room...when something is usually as perfect , as a stay there usually is, there is going to be one visit that is not quite up to the mark. That is life!!!!! Regardless of anything I will always love this hotelxxx

    I love the Mermaid Inn and have stayed there several times. I think it is a very very special place and makes Rye even more magical. The staff are fabulous, especially Glen, and you are always made to feel welcome. During this stay they were as helpful as they could be, under the circumstances, and I appreciated their endeavours. The breakfast is always great and the bar great fun. Even when things go a little haywire I love, and always will love, the bones of the place.xx

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We found it noisy at night in the building with people travelling along the corridor outside the room but realise the old buildings creaks and groans .

    The breakfast was good and although we didnt use the restaurant this time, it looked good and had a good menu. We only stayed l night but would consider going back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    uncomfortable polyester sheet pillow and duvets. Food at restaurant over-salted and a bit disappointing

    very clean sheets! We enjoyed our stay but it was quite expensive for a room that had no bath. Limited bathroom accesories.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initially room given was very small and in the roof with lots of steep stairs. Bath difficult to get in and out as under a sloping ceiling. When requested a move this was arranged quickly to a much better and a more accessable room

    The old charm. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: