Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mermaid Suite Hotel 3 stars

3-4 Blenheim Street, Westminster Borough, London, W1S 1LA, United Kingdom

#752 of 977 hotels in London

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1974 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    5.9

  • Staff

    7

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Paid WiFi

    4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    6.7
    Great location, but don't expect much.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They had no record of my booking when I arrived. The room would benefit from a good clean. The street was fairly noisy but I guess that could have been expected. The breakfast was poor: a croissant in a plastic wrapper and 3 triangles of toast; I wasn't offered anything else.

    Location is excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    3.8
    we were happy to leave
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It must be all about the location. The room was small. We had to call for towels, and even then I had to go get them myself (our room was across the street. The price was high. The room was hot, and again we had to go across the street to get a fan. The windows did not open well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    3.8
    Great location, the rest is awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both receptionist are extremely rude , and have no clue what customer service is. The amount and type of stairs are a killer and doesn’t offer any help carrying of luggages. Rooms very hot and stuffy and very dirty . We found our room without a fan and iron board and when requested, receptionist made our lives miserable . After a lot of arguing and begging we finally got these items . One very small tiny fan for a quadruple room.

    Nothing except the location and the well mannered maids

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Good location for The Cure at Hyde Park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a really hot day so the room was boiling even with windows open. Would probably be fine if it wasn't a heatwave though.

    Excellent power shower, comfy bed. Quiet street.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    2.5
    Do your self a favor - do not stay there
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is remotely far from being "sleep - worthy": * Windows cannot be closed * Unbelievably, Windows have no curtains!!! 04:50am, room is all lightened up * It is more comfortable sleeping on the floor than on these beds * No elevator, horrible infrastructures * No air conditioner, in summer it is impossible to sleep properly * They charge WIFI - at the year of 2018!! I stayed there as it was the only hotel that was available in the area I needed, but I never stayed at such a horrible place, really.

    nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.3
    This is a basic B&B, clean and in a very convenient location but overall disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very tired and needs updating in all respects. Window very poorly dressed - blinds were missing vertical strips. The facilities in the room are very basic but clean. No air con or fan so room was extremely hot all day. Free toiletries means only a soap dispenser on the wall next to hand basin none in shower area. There is no lift in the premises and we had to climb a number of stairs to our room so not suitable if you have heavy luggage or more than one case. The restaurant was across the street from the building our room was located and was again very dated and not clean or fresh looking .

    The location was excellent for shopping and accessing transport to all the main sightseeing areas. As a room to sleep in it was adequate. The room was clean and a reasonable size but very dated furniture and fixtures were very tired looking. Bathroom was clean but very dated. Shower cubicle was very small. Staff we met were pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Lovely Hotel, Would Recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing except for all the stairs as we were on the top floor, so take care when you book if that is a problem.

    It was clean, lovely friendly staff even though we arrived a bit early. They stored our luggage without a fuss. The room had a lovely feel to it. Breakfast downstairs was nice, and the lady who served us was polite and cheery.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.4
    Certainly no 3 star experience! Just about OK for 1 night if you must.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room (14) was at the top of many flights of stairs (and across the street from where you have to climb more stairs to check in). Stifling in the recent heat - day and night. No fan provided. Window blinds broken and missing so no full window coverage. Privacy and light issues here.

    Superb location for Oxford / Regent St and most West end theatres

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.7
    Ok for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the reception was open for 24/7, the receptionist made a comment about us arriving very late. Yes we did arrive late (the plan changed) but it shouldn’t have been a problem as we booked the room in advance. He even said, he could have given this room to someone else???? The room was just ok clean. The bed was clean and done but lots of dust everywhere in the room. Bathroom needs bit of renovation.

    To be honest, it’s nothing exciting about this place but is ok. Good thing is, having a private bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.3
    The price of the hotel is very reasonable.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival, you have to climb up the steep stairway to the reception... and so on (to your room). There is NOBODY in the Hotel to help you out.. So if you are aged.. or with babies, look for the other ones. There is absolutely no amenities at all in the bathroom!!

    The price of the hotel is very reasonable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    4.6
    Only location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the accommodation was not clean in the bathroom mold the toilets bad everywhere dull air apparently smoked here. Breakfast was very bad and poor, I'm sorry but I am very disappointed, next time I choose to stay away from the center but in a better environment.

    Only location! Nothing more!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.4
    Expected better for the amount of money paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fact that I was asked to pay for the room before moving in went against my grain. I have never paid for hotel accommodation before using it. Shower - Hot water not available on the first day.

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    4.2
    Would not stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were outdated, they need a good clean stains on walls and carpet and needs to be painted. Toilet, well had to cuddle the sink while sitting on the toilet. Hall ways dirty as well.

    The location was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    4.6
    Served the purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a rubbish cupboard at the bottom of the stairs which was full on arrival and was stinking on a hot day which came into the flat as the door was bowing. There were very steep steps to check in and also to get to the flat.The breakfast was thrown at you and not a friendly atmosphere. We also had to wait for the person to reappear from the cafe so we could check out and he didn’ t ask how our stay was. The kitchen was also not very clean with a dirty freezer and dirty glasses and ash trays in the cupboard. This could be a nice place with a little effort as the location was great.

    The location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.9
    Very good location, kindly staff, cleanness,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small room, relative high price because of London´s centre, "sweet" breakfast without any meet, eggs...

    Very good location, kindly staff, cleanness,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    5.8
    The location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stuffy room with poor ventilation. Cigarette butts inside the screen. Bathroom had a bad smell like the moldy water... Plus the ventilator didn't really evacuate the humidity. The breakfast was not good. I wish I skipped it and ate a proper breakfast around the corner. All that being said... I primarily chose this hotel because of its location.

    The location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    4.6
    Good location but poor accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything else: too expensive, too small, dirty, door cards wouldn't work, not given a wifi password, told there was a public car park nearby for £30 for 24 hours, but it was actually more than £50 so had to look for another place to park, booked double room but single beds were put together. All in all very disappointed they are selling good location in exchange for a lot of money and poor accommodation.

    Just the location, which is why we booked it. Plus local attraction discounts, but didn't use them.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    2.9
    Only location is good nothing else !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room standards is very low . They Mangi on no lift but how can u ask travellers to go 4 floor up with luagage and small kids ! Had broken showers low lighting in rooms

    Only location is good nothing else !!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.5
    I would use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Closest parking location is about a 5 minute walk which was fine (Cavendish Square) but be prepared for the price ..... £41 for overnight parking!!

    I’m going to be very thorough on this review. And although I’m being critical let me start by saying I would definitely use again. Amazing location just off Oxford Street. Relatively clean. We could only get out one side of the bed so be prepared for a shuffle or climb. That could easily be solved by them rearranging the room. Shower holder broken so had to hold it, but very powerful so as far as I was concerned it was fine. Air conditioning unit huge, noisy and no good. Fan would have been better. Powdered whitener? Fine for coffee but not tea. If you’re hoping for a lay in, you won’t get it due to the location it’s very noisy with deliveries from about 7.30am. Didn’t affect us as we were up early anyway. Breakfast laid on free is in the Italian restaurant downstairs and is a croissant, a slice of toast and cereal. Tea/coffee. I did ask for more toast and they were happy to do that. We had eaten lunch there the day before and the food was really great, staff not very attentive though. Spent lots of time on their phones.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    This was a value for money stay in London - ticked the boxes - except for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very basic - toast and pre-packed croissant soggy and lukewarm. Shame as evening meal had been very good.

    Bed comfortable and room/bathroom very clean. Staff were friendly and we were able to leave luggage prior to check-in. We enjoyed an evening meal too - good food on a special football match night!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    6.3
    Very basic hotel, just about ok for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room dark and in need of decorative restoration. Mould in tile grouting. Creaking floor boards and stairs. No milk supplied for drinks only very little powdered whitener!

    Bed comfortable and clean. Breakfast adequate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    6.7
    Not bad
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little tired but it is an old building in Central London with steep stairs. Lots of traffic noise.

    Good location with comfortable beds. Restaurant downstairs was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    3.8
    Paid for a nights sleep and didnt get any, wont be back
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My employer gave their credit card details when this was booked yet I had to provide mine when I got there. I told them my toilet wasn't flushing and they said they would look at it the next day, so I had to walk to a pub and use theirs. The alarm in the building was faulty so was chirping all night then went off at 4am so I had no sleep then had to go do a days work. I rang 3 times and complained and it still wasn't fixed. I tried to check out at 6am so I could go to my office for a sleep before work and there was no one in reception to check out which meant I had to go back over again later in the day. I have tried ringing several times to speak to a manager about getting a refund, no luck, I have also emailed them and still have not got a reply.

    The location was great as it was beside my office, lots of retail and restaurants near by

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.5
    Would only use it for one night, couldn’t get a better location for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small, shower had mould in , no milk or coffee only tea bags in room , very outdated and rooms need a makeover

    The location was excellent and the bed comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    5.0
    Won’t return
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs up to reception then back down and up again over another shop to the room, which was dark and cramped. Breakfast was basic though staff here were very friendly. I have paid less for better accommodation in London.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Very comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little but on the warm side.

    The location was amazing and the room was surprisingly quiet considereing where it was located. This was my first time staying in a hotel alone and I felt very safe and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    7.9
    Central location, normal stay (don't expect luxury)
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stairs were a nightmare... It's an old house, so no elevator. Breakfast could have been more substantial (2 toasts, 1 croissant are brought to you and you have spreadable cheese, honey, jam and butter on the table)

    Cleaning lady left towels and toilet paper at my door the day I was on 'please don't disturb', which was lovely. It's really central and easy from it to reach Oxford Street and some of the most central locations. Don't expect luxury, but you will have an ok time. Coffee at breakfast was really good (Italian restaurant downstairs, hence why the coffee is so good). Overall, it was worth staying here, as the location is also safe; it just depends on what you are looking for in a hotel. If you only want a place to come and sleep at night, then this is a good choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.8
    Will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (7 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blinds not curtains so very bright in the morning.

    Pleasantly surprised. Linen and towels clean. All but one bed very comfortable. (The other was very squeaky)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.5
    Average stay.... value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather small rooms but we knew that when we booked the hotel. Purely booked it for location. No elevator so it’s hard for families to carry luggage up and down the stairs. We knew this when we booked the place.

    Excellent location as it’s close to almost everything Clean rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.5
    Super location, outdated interior
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very worn out carpets and beds Bathtub with yellow stains and hair from the previous guests

    Locationwise top just off Oxford street Quiet in the night Breakfast simple but nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    4.6
    If you only care about location and a roof over your head, this is the place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift to the fourth floor room. Very limited breakfast offering (cornflakes, one an a half toast per person, and a bagged croissant). No eggs or nutritious food. No laundry service offered. Internet for a fee per device.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.3
    Great location, facilities ok, you get what you pay for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains were Venetian blinds with one missing. Reception was up one flight of stairs, room was in another building up three flights of stairs. WiFi was £5 per device per day (not 24hrs) Croissant in a bag for breakfast.

    Great location Good shower - hot & strong

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.8
    Clean, comfy, friendly, great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing much to complain about. Breakfast could have been more interesting.

    Nice place, helpful and friendly staff. Room was across road from reception, top floor, lot of space, warm. Furnishings and decor a bit tired and tatty, but firm, comfy bed, great shower, clean and fully functioning bathroom. Ate at linked Italian restaurant, 10% discount for hotel guests. Standard Italian fare but friendly and nice atmosphere. Breakfast in same place - minimal, toast, coffee, juice. Great location, central London on doorstep, close to tubes, yet also pretty quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.7
    A bit disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a problem with the stairs, there were no lifts. Also the breakfast was not great. Someone took my table and I had to take my breakfast to my room.

    The location was perfect for my stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.9
    Good value in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little more attention to Room preparation would have been good - There was no milk with the tea/coffe tray and the TV remote batteries were flat! Not suitable for anyone with mobility issues, many stairs involved.

    Such a great location. Comfortable and surprisingly quiet considering the location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.3
    Well positioned in Mayfair, easy to get here and everywhere...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Italian breakfast would be easy and fine, but plastic sealed croissants make it unpleasent

    Well positioned in Mayfair, easy to get here and everywhere in the City, Simple but sufficient rooms, you only Need for staying overnight and therefore it´s great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly, room very clean and comfortable. The meal in the restaurant was excellent as was the continental breakfast. For me I had an issue with the stairs as there is not a lift. However staff very accommodating when explained a knee problem made stairs an issue.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money. For short stay it is ideal.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-Fi is not free. Breakfast is from 8 a.m. which was too late for me.

    Location is excellent: centrally located and 2 minutes walk from the underground. Room was clean, calm, the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    5.8
    The area near oxford street
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast, room door has to be kept open with a stool. Pigeons all night doing noise, could not sleep. Drawers full with rubbish from previous stay.

    The area near oxford street

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    5.0
    In the middle of city accessible easily.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hot water for shower was not working,we were not able to have a shower. Staff was reluctant to discuss even just to admitt it, stepping back behind manager which of course was not available. Despite request of call back for explanation and discount, no follow-up, of course no phone call. Very Disappointed

    In the middle of city accessible easily.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    8.8
    Great location, a bit old but great value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelly carpet in the hallway. But keep in mind the price is low for such a location in London...

    Great location, near beautiful New Bond Street and within 20 minutes walk of lively Leicester Square

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    5.8
    Location - close to shopping centers and Mayfair region.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I've ordered taxi service at the hotel reception to take me from Mermaid suite hotel to Victoria bus station at 4 am. I was charged 29 pounds.

    Location - close to shopping centers and Mayfair region.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.9
    we enjoyed our stay and would stay again if we were on lower floors and on the same floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we are retired and found the stairs a bit of a problem. also we are a married couple who sleep in separate rooms. we were given different floors which we did not expect and were disappointed with this.

    comfortable if basic rooms. excellent location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed our stay. Simple, no thrills. Good location. I’d skip breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The boiler kicking in whenever someone in the building used the shower was loud enough to wake you and went on for length of the shower it seemed.

    Easy and straightforward. Room was clean and was a quite location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    6.3
    Very good location - very close to Oxford street and city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel haven't own restaurant. Guest can use neighboring pizzeria for breakfast. Unfortunately, breakfast is really poor - just roasted bread/croissant with jam/butter or melted cheese and frosted flakes. No hot meals. P.S. Big thanks to waitress for coffee on the first day! ;)

    Very good location - very close to Oxford street and city center. Perfect place if you come to London for shopping. ;) Room was small but clean and very warm.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    4.6
    If your looking for location, this is a great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel had a musky smell and appearance was underwhelming. It is not accessible for any person with physical limitations as you have to walk up narrow, steep stairways to the check in desk & to the rooms. Be ready to carry your luggage.

    If your looking for location, this is a great stay. Beds were clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.5
    Would consider returning if I could see the room first via photo. The location is excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Second night didn’t show up in hotel on arrival and receptionist had to enter our details from my phone . The stain on the bedding ( duvet cover) which was tucked in at bottom of bed. No free WiFi in rooms No milk only powder and only 1 breakfast tea bag for 2 nights as we didn’t use tea on day one - Room small and bed lumpy plus against wall which is difficult for couples. Marked my skin with pressure marks . Very noise stairs and room above - would not recommend room 26 for couples.

    Bedroom clean And well glazed from Street noise. Breakfast included is simply cereal toast drinks and croissant in the restaurant across road.. Staff very flexible about

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    2.5
    The check in/check out experience was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything could have been better. It was the worst excuse of a hotel in have ever been in. The shower was tiny. The water wouldn't adjust to an ambient heat. The shower head was leaking and would not stay at the height required. The room cleaners were extremely rude and told me I had to check out on my second day even though I was there for a week. The phone didn't work. The television had a jumpy screen with lines going through it. My single matress was a total disgrace. It was very lumpy with springs sticking into my back and way too short.

    The check in/check out experience was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    6.3
    It met our requirements of being in a good position.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was in poor condition. A good paint badly needed!! Hotel in such a good position - would it be worth an upgrade?

    The property was well situated for an appointment at the Whitley Clinic in Vere. It was quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    8.3
    No nonsense, clean, great location - but not suited to the elderly or unfit.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Take your own teabags! I didn't have ANY ordinary teabags in my room - only fruit 'tea' and Earl Grey. My room was on the top floor up steep stairs. I'm reasonably fit but I was panting! Definitely not suitable for elderly or physically less able guests.

    Comfortable, clean, warm, amazing location, and I got a great price online. Would definitely stay again when on business.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    7.5
    location good, think I would rather stay at YMCA
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wouldn't recommend a Saturday night there was a lot of street noise stag/hen parties going past and hotel noise doors banging. Should be highlighted that NO LIFT all rooms are accessed by stairs at least 1 flight possibly 2 or 3 flights. Card key stopped working and no one in office for 15-20 mins that was at the end of a long day. The same happened when returned after theatre trip after 10 pm. Coffee in room 2 sachets, creamer 2 sachets - so one cup per person for per day - more than mean, plenty of tea bags but no milk to go with them.

    location was great. Clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    4.2
    Beware their double charging scam. But at least it's central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On check-in we were told we'd need to pay again, even after providing proof that payment had already been taken. This turned into a fairly tense situation, and we eventually agreed to pay again (use a credit card - it's easier when you need to ask for a refund). Booking.com was very helpful in securing us a refund after a few days. Rooms are fairly shabby and there are quite a few funny smells lingering around. WiFi exists, but looks like it's a paid extra.

    Let's be honest, the main benefit of this hotel is the central location. It's a fairly reasonable price for somewhere so close to central London.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    5.4
    good choice if you do not have breath problems
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too much stairs, the hotel are divided in different doors same road, this is not a problem, but are fully developed in height and if you get the last room at the top you have to do 55 steps to get there, when you are settled is not a problem, but when you arrive and when you go away with the suitcase, it becomes. If you have a breath problems ask before the room at road level.

    The position

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    5.8
    Average hotel in a good location in central London.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were a little dirty and had a black mark with was kinda like blue tack on it. Also the shower didn’t look like it had been cleaned as there were hairs all over it.

    Average hotel in a good location in central London. Good easy and quick breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.3
    Th location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a little hard to find. Took flat a long time to warm up.

    The location was great with food, shops and transportation. The space was great for family or a group travel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.3
    Great location, with basic but clean amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    £5.25per day charge for WiFi was excessive. Breakfast - no decaf coffee or fruit infusions.

    Basic continental breakfast. Room was very tired but clean although the doors really need painting. Shower was good. Location is bst thing about this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.1
    Highly recommended if you are looking for location - and easy shopping :}}
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sadly - in today's world i feel that free wifi should be free and included. We come from abroad . and mostly work with our phones with 3g.. but if i bring my laptop - i can not use it . Also the stairs.. get ready for a good workout cause the hotel is on first floor - and so are the rooms..

    Location is perfect. Just around the corner from oxford street so easy to shop and dump your stuff along the way :} - Staff were working hard and make a big effort to keep the place clean and feed everyone at breakfast and were very helpful at the end when i needed to keep luggage for a few more hours after check out.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    We have stayed at this hotel 3 or 4 times while visiting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have stayed at this hotel 3 or 4 times while visiting London for short breaks and have been happy with the hotel as the location is very good and cleanliness and comfort is good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    8.3
    Good location, good price, very basic
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No iron or ironing board in the room had to get from reception that is in another building.

    Great location just off Oxford street. Very Clean and good for what I needed, for a good price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.1
    The location of the hotel is very good.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean but in the bathroom was a lot of limescale around the toilet at the wall. It was a small room but just for sleeping totally ok. The breakfast is small. The croissant was packaged.

    The location of the hotel is very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    5.8
    Ideal location , great for shopping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn't adequate for the price paid. Just toast , drink and rubbery crousant. Ideally continental breakfast should consist of hams, cold meats ,cheeses and self service toast facilities. Room was basic and access to rooms was via a lot of stairs.

    Ideal location right near Oxford street.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.9
    Basic, would recommend it for a short stay, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a bath mat would have been useful. very basic breakfast lots of stairs to our room (20)

    clean, warm, quite basic room for 4 people ok for short stay location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    5.0
    One of the worst places I have stayed in London, and I have stayed in very many hotels in London.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small. The beds were hard. The two nights were sleepless due to the noise from the room above. They seemed to spend the entire night walking on creaky floorboards. The breakfast was barely adequate, but the toast was fresh and hot. The croissant was supplied in a plastic bag and resembled a rather sad bath sponge.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    5.8
    Great loction!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Narrow stairs and no elevators, very hard to get luggage up and down the stairs. You could hear the people next door walking around, and ever more so for the above neighbours all night long.

    Great loction!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.1
    After an unpormising start, the room was absolutely finegiven the relative money and prime locat and
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception ambiance and public areas was off putting, lots of prohibition notices, felt more like a mini cab office. Quite hard to spot entrance in the dark.

    Location convenient, room itself was as good as a Travelodge/Premier Inn

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.5
    Ideal for short trip - will definitely go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quite small, but it was clean and as we were only staying for one night, it was perfect - the location makes up for the room.

    The hotel is ideally located - just off Oxford Street.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    7.9
    We three sister had brilliant time, can’t wait for our next outing!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a small moan, didn’t have no soap & hand towel but we bought some!

    So so close to Oxford St. but very quite. Ate in restaurant in evening, food great, friendly people

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    4.6
    The only thing I liked about this hotel was the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower had mold in it and when i asked if they could please do something about this or could i have a room change, i was ignored, the man at reception claimed he 'forgot'. Very unhygienic and old room.

    The only thing I liked about this hotel was the location. Very central.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    6.7
    Harika konum
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no elevator and the stairs are very narrow. If you have a heavy suitcase, it will be very difficult for you. The room can be considered as a windowless because of it looks the gap between apartments. There is a high level of noise till 11 pm from the restaurant airconditioning which is in the space between the apartments.

    The location of the facility is great and the transportation was very easy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    10
    Great place for family but was super disappointed with the...
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift access

    Great place for family but was super disappointed with the parking facilities due to the nature of Central London. Otherwise, the location was fantastic for shopping.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    7.5
    The room is of decent size by London standard.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is not perfect. Some stains here and there, especially the bathroom/toilet, nothing major but could be better.

    The room is of decent size by London standard. A good and quiet location. The staff of the restaurant next to the hotel which provide the breakfast is excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    6.7
    Very friendly staff, good location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room looked a bit too old but clean. They might want to buy some new furniture as this hotel is at a central location and deserve attraction from guests.

    Staff was friendly, location was great, right on Bond Street. It was very good cos my business meeting was only 3 minutes walk.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    6.7
    Perfect Location for shopping trip.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The window of the room was facing the inside court and there was a sort of generator/aircon system, outside, that was noisy during the night. The comfort of bed can be improved.

    The location is great, just 2 steps from Oxford Street and 4 steps from Bond Street metro station. Handy and easy check-in and check-out, with a practical luggage storage option for all day, until 1am. Bathrooms are well renovated. Size of room is quite fair for a short stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    Great location and excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have preferred a bacon sandwich for breakfast, but the continental breakfast was fine!

    The accommodation was excellent value for money - great location and our family room was actually a flat with a kitchen, fridge and sink. We were on the top floor so there were a lot of stairs to climb, but that was the only downside. There was a discount on the meal at the Italian Restaurant underneath and it was one of the best meals I've had - cooked fresh and the staff were very welcoming. Definitely would stay there again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.5
    Great location in a comfortable hotel. Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room wasn't ready. Although directed to the diner in the building, it would be better if the hotel gave a voucher for a discount at the diner. When we book hotels, we risk being charged if we don't exit by the checkout time, so if the room isn't ready, that's not the guests fault. Provide a voucher for some food / drink while the room is prepared and give internet access for free.

    Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Mermaid Suite Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: