Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Metro Inns Newcastle

Ponteland Road, Kenton Bank, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE3 3TY, United Kingdom

#21 of 21 B&Bs and Inns in Newcastle upon Tyne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 928 hotel reviews

6.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.3

  • Comfort

    5.4

  • Location

    6.6

  • Facilities

    5.1

  • Staff

    7.2

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were uncomfy, just wooden boards with green sponge on top and a white sheet over it, also the fan in the room was very noisy

    Could do with having better beds

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like a hostel luckily only used for sleeping one night after a concert , toilets and showers in corridor only one plug in bedrooms not the cleanest and think 55 quid is quite expensive for what you get to be honest I’d say 20 quid max

    friendly staff,close too venue

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty there were hairs around the sink and on the bed, the blind didn’t work properly and had cigarette burns all over it. The lock on the door was about busted and took 5 minutes just to lock or unlock. No plug in the sink, no kettle in room, uncomfortable beds. There are shared toilets and showers on each floor that are absolutely disgusting, stink of urine and don’t seem to be cleaned very often. All in all a very poor hotel.

    It was cheap and is located next door to a Toby carvery.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room - potentially for THREE guests ? (Not) ! Bed not made or room serviced Ventilation fan noisily running 24/7 No plug in the sink TV purchased from the Antiques Roadshow. (- pre remote control days ) poor picture quality

    Low cost no frills accommodation Plenty of clean towels & hot water Adequate l for a one night only stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit far out of the city so had to taxi in as not near any public transport. Quite loud outside the rooms due to thin walls of the bedrooms. Wifi was poor to non existent at times.

    Friendly staff, showers were strong and hot, good value for money and easy to get to. Was exactly what I expected and the bed was comfortable which was a big help.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilets were portaloos inside a hotel and most of the time unclean Hard thin mattresses Dirty cups Beds block the door entrance pretty much Blinds broken

    Location was easy access to town centre via drive or taxi

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the room to look a bit more looked after.

    Our stay was alright for one night the beds are clean,but the carpet didn't look to clean.But for what we paid it was alright.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What you pay is what you get! Due to the Ed Sheeran concert we had no other option but to book this as the hotel prices where sky high, shared toilets/showers is not ideal at all, really dirty and smelly. We couldn’t face a shower so even had to wait to shower till we was home the following day, room was small, bed smelt clean, only 1 plug, not ideal when you have phones that need charging and trying to get ready for a night out with Hair curlers/straighteners etc.. some nice members of staff, would I stay again? No I wouldn’t.

    Staff where helpful in changing my room to an upstairs to a downstairs

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Accommodation was very tired and shabby, No plug in sink so had to use a plastic cup to stop anything falling down the plug hole i.e. jewellery. Window wouldn't shut properly so had to speak to reception to get it sorted. Couldn't log onto Wi-Fi. Bed linen was clean but decor in rooms was very shabby, with holes in the wall, Good points were friendly staff, next to a Toby Carvery and short walk to Metro station. Didn't pay a lot for the rooms but wouldn't book there again. Rooms were not as they were in the photos on w/site

    friendly staff & walking distance to metro station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard bed. Shoddy paint work. Looked unclean. Toilet covered in sick no sign of anyone cleaning. Window wasn’t secure. Door was warped struggled to lock. Carpet dirty. Tv from the 70s.

    Location And staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was extremely smelly, old cigarette smoke smell and “mouldy” smell. Toilets were disgusting - strong urine smell, no soap in most and no running water in many. It was budget but I’d rather pay much more. This was all that was available, I will make the 150 mile drive home if this is the only place available again.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no light when we got back from the concert and it was too late to go down and ask but feel they thing should be check before a guess stays there

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window in the room was hanging off it's hinges we had to lift and wedge it so it closed and there was sick in the sink in 1 of the toilets

    The staff was really helpful and welcoming lovely staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to find as satnav takes you to wrong hotel, but this is not Metro Inns' fault!

    Close to airport; cheap basic accommodation; what we expected for the price; receptionist helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Toilet and shower facilities are shared with the whole corridor of rooms, they are like portaloos and portashowers that you get at festivals except they are inside- very strange. Do not use them late in the evening or first thing in the morning as they are disgusting, with vomit among other things all over them. There were left over takeaway food all over the corridors in the morning and although staff were quick to begin cleaning all this mess up its a mammoth job! This isn't a nice place for a young girl to stay, my daughter who is 18 was leered at, and suggestive remarks were made constantly, and one cretin tried touched her backside as we were climbing the stairs-its quite oppressive and there were many large groups of young and older men staying there. We found that despite smoking not being allowed on the premises our corridor constantly smelt of cigarettes and there were frequently people smoking weed outside the front door and in the car park. The walls of the rooms are very thin and unfortunately you can hear word for word... or noise for noise exactly what is going on next door. Having said all this its a perfect place for hen and stag parties to stay- just a shame that is not what we were there for.

    Staff were friendly, parking was OK there were plenty of spaces-albeit they were very small and I struggled to park my very small car in them. Toby carvery right next door was a real bonus, as it meant we were able to have a hot meal without going far. Large tesco just down the road too for any little bits and pieces you might need.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was soooooo noisy. I couldn't sleep at all because there was a party in the parking lot. Seriously a bad experience. I left at 5h30am without having slept at all because I couldn't take more!

    The staff was nice and it was cheap.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were great, couldn’t do enough to help me. Originally booked to stay 4 nights but extended my stay and the staff especially the manager was extremely accommodating. It is exactly what it says in the tin and great value for money! The kitchen facilities were a god send! Look forward to my next stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't really dislike anything we were just there when we were sleeping really the showers were good really powerful but didn't stay on for longer than 5 seconds

    Beds were very comfy carvery right next door staff were very nice rooms were clean and the price for the rooms were very decent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfier beds. Shared wc and shower facilities bit this was n the description beforehand

    Very basic we needed somewhere cheap for a few hours before our flight

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was all good

    There’s not much to like about the property...but it serves a purpose of being somewhere to just sleep. Perfect for a weekend on the ale as it’s cheap and there’s no issues with noise.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is honestly the worst hotel I’ve ever stayed in. The carpet and basin were absolutely filthy and the room stank. The door had clearly been kicked in and was poorly repaired. The window blind was in tatters and when I opened the window to get fresh air it would not shut so I had traffic noise all night. The mattress was a piece of foam and badly stained and the pillows were so over used they were flat I could not wait to get out in the morning. I know it’s a budget hotel but this is way below budget

    It was close to the rugby ground

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    As it was a very busy weekend, I was put in a smoking room, which stank to high heaven. I had to bring in an air freshener from the car. Before I left, I wanted to go to the toilet. I went in, took one look, turned around and headed for the exit. It was a Saturday and a group of people dressed as superheroes was leaving, just as I checked in. Needless to say, their return, in the small hours, put an end to any hopes of sleep. No plug in the sink in the bedroom. Wifi didn't work.

    Not a lot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet facilities very poor - not flushing and dirty. TV not working (not a problem but it wasn’t). The room had clearly been “abused” by other users! Disappointing.

    Convenience

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The person who thought taking a dump in a towel then dropping it onto another guests car was civilised .(not my car) but not acceptable.

    I didnt like very much to be honest The room may be budget but wow it was not that good . Travelodge is budget but thats where the comparison ends the light was broken and hanging down ,the tv may have worked but had no remote so no idea a three room would mean a double and a bunk .for 3 adults but not ask if we all male or all female is nuts. the window would open all the way so if you go there with kids be aware they can get out of a window on the higher floor . the toilet was a porta potty fitted into a wall to look like a toilet .the shower the same . and the carpet had more stains than a patterned carpet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the fact you could sleep three but only had the choice of a double and a bunk. But where all rugby boys so don't mind getting close to my buddy, lol.

    I booked for a group of fellas get ready forastag night. Accommodation was very basic but sheets and towels clean and the showers which are shared were clean and the best showers for power I have used in many a place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were dirty look like mud on the walls The top bunk bed was dirty crumbs and a lot of dust . Wouldn’t let my child stay in it . Wouldn’t stay again Bed very uncomfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolute pits of a hotel, stained bed sheets, urine marks up the wall, horrendous smelling toilets and bathrooms, Rude and arrogant managers, sellotape over the smoke detector, room stunk of Smoke

    Nothing I liked

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    The place was horrendous. More like a half way house for people out of prison. We left after 10 minutes and paid to stay somewhere else. No refund or partial refund was given and the staff were just horrible also.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got absolutely zero sleep. Hordes of drunken idiots causing mayhem all night. Unbelievable

    Generally stay here when on tour, basic, cheap, usually nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception was full of people standing around ,,the room stank of dampness the window was broken and couldn’t close I had to go to reception 3 times for a remote control for tv The toilets were filthy and we couldn’t sleep as there was folk running about shouting all night

    There was nothing really at a push car parking was easy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared facilities. Room was tiny but it was worth it for the money. There was a party going on next door which led to lads out of their face barging through my room and laughing. Although it was funny it was very scary. I could not let myself sleep for that whole night to make sure of my safety to make matters worse i had to catch a flight the next morning .

    Value for money and location. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Went to reception to complain about the stains on my bed was told “it is a budget hotel and if you wanted better there’s hotels just down the road” also “ I don’t like your tone I may ask you to leave if you continue to complain” I was advised. Asked why I had “ripped” the bed apart I advised I was checking my bed and I’ve not exactly ripped the bed apart I’ve turned down the sheets to check my bed to be told “who does that” I know the rooms are cheap but it is so dirty it doesn’t look like they even take a hoover to the place and the beds are falling apart, severely stained with god knows what. Stains on the walls I saw look like beer and blood and the toilets that’s a different story. My conversation with reception “Iain” the person in charge who did nothing but argue about it....

    Leaving

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible bad smell in the toilets maybe a little of bleach on the basin and toilet could help

    Room is ok, not big noise and 2 of the people that work there were kind

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no mention of a deposit per room on the site, and it cut into spending money big time, £50 per room is way too much. The beds probably cost £30 maximum and there was a tv about the same age as me that didnt work, so £50 is ridiculous

    The price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have stayed in this hotel before I felt this time it wasn't very clean it needs a revamp and showers and toilets in the rooms the bed was uncomfortable and there was a right smell and especially in the toilets and shower damp smell sorry it needs revamped like Falkirk

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arrival the exterior of the building was somewhat unpleasant, filthy windows and even a cracked panel of glass in the fire door of all places which had been ridiculously 'botched' up to avoid actually replacing it. We parked up and proceeded to get our belongings from the car and made our way to reception where we was greeted with by a nice enough man, he went on to explain the terms and conditions of the rooms and so on. We recieved our room keys and headed up to the room, heres where things really turned sour. As we reached the floor of which our rooms were situated there seemed to be a potent smell of urine circulating the corridor, it soon became obvious that this was coming from one of the shared toilets which upon inspection looked like it hadn't been cleaned or refreshed in days, horrible. As we opened the door to the first room we was immediately greeted by what can only be described as a Siberian weather front like temperature hitting us in the face, the room was FREEZING and considering we're in the peak time of winter no effort had been made to turn any heating on within the room prior to our arrival. We then continued to look around the rooms, it soon became evident that there was no chance we could even think about staying in them! Where do I start? The carpets were covered in chewing gum, stains, rips, even the walls were disgustingly dirty! Each room had a double bed with a single bunk on top, unsurprisingly there had been minimum effort to ensure these beds were clean and suitable for a new set of customers to stay the night in; who wants to sleep in a bed infested with the previous occupents hair balls?

    There was nothing to like about this property! AVOID!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arrival the exterior of the building was somewhat unpleasant, filthy windows and even a cracked panel of glass in the fire door of all places which had been ridiculously 'botched' up to avoid actually replacing it. We parked up and proceeded to get our belongings from the car and made our way to reception where we was greeted with by a nice enough man, he went on to explain the terms and conditions of the rooms and so on. We recieved our room keys and headed up to the room, heres where things really turned sour. As we reached the floor of which our rooms were situated there seemed to be a potent smell of urine circulating the corridor, it soon became obvious that this was coming from one of the shared toilets which upon inspection looked like it hadn't been cleaned or refreshed in days, horrible. As we opened the door to the first room we was immediately greeted by what can only be described as a Siberian weather front like temperature hitting us in the face, the room was FREEZING and considering we're in the peak time of winter no effort had been made to turn any heating on within the room prior to our arrival. We then continued to look around the rooms, it soon became evident that there was no chance we could even think about staying in them! Where do I start? The carpets were covered in chewing gum, stains, rips, even the walls were disgustingly dirty! Each room had a double bed with a single bunk on top, unsurprisingly there had been minimum effort to ensure these beds were clean and suitable for a new set of customers to stay the night in; who wants to sleep in a bed infested with the previous occupents hair balls?

    There was nothing to like about this property! AVOID!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to get to and from town without taxi, but in the night they'll charge you £30-£40 pound as we found out

    Laid back hotel, perfect for stag party

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Be aware that the hotel does not have any restaurant facilities. There is a Toby Carvery next door , but no other choice. Similar to motels on the motorways.

    I was looking for a budget hotel and this provided good value and a n acceptable standard of accommodation. This will not suit every one as the building is rather functional and isolated, near a retail park. Easy to find and good transport links

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The inn is basic but it's clear on website. I needed cheep and a room quickly due to snow. What I did see untill morning after a 200 mile drive was the sheets had blood splatters on them. It was disgusting, I complained to the front desk to be told "It's nothing to do with us we'll tell the manager"

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This should not be sold as a hotel,it is a hostel. Noisy youths banging doors ,singing in the corridors and being a nuisance throughout the night.

    Clean bed sheets .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was given a smoking room - I wasn't aware that these still existed! Complained to staff who were not interested. Noisy at 3am and staff not concerned about asking guests to keep it down. BEST AVOIDED

    Price & location were good - but best avoided despite these 2 "+'s"

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    ALL OFF IT

    IT was awful,Wi fi did not work went to reception and he said i have to wait until someone clicks off which never happened,i actually phoned them beforehand to ask if wifi good as i work on internet.Hole in wall,had to hang towel at window as blind was ripped and would not come down ,everything about this place was wrong,i should have realised at £22 pound but thought it would be up to Booking .com standards.forgot to mention shared bathroom filthy,sink in room had no plug ,Best thing about this place was checkout.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Far away from the city centre, cost us £60 in taxis. Filthy, cold room with a broken heater. No toilet roll in the shared toilet. Won't be staying again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property wasn't clean or looked after in anyway, shared bathrooms and showers which looked and smelt disgusting. Was asked to give a £50 deposit per room (we had four rooms) and wasn't told this before booking this hotel. At check out, someone had to check each room before we got our deposits back, it felt like discrimination against us because we were a group of 10 males. The experience was not pleasant at all and I wouldn't even recommend this hotel to someone who I hate. The bed was uncomfortable, a double bed at the bottom with a mattress that was about four inches deep and a single bed on the top bunk that didn't fit the bed properly and was unsafe as the ladder was rusted and some of the steps were snapped off, and that was just the room I stayed in. The others were much worse. The hotel said that it was no smoking and those found doing so would be fined, the rooms smelt like stale cigarettes and in each room there was an ash tray. No care has been taken in the appearance of this hotel. It was terrible.

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old crappy TV that barely worked, no facilities in the room.

    The value for money is amazing. Large room and plenty of free parking, also only couple miles from city centre, with a Toby Carvery next door.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms on the G/F - Compared with those rooms on the 1/F & 2/F, more visitors probably stayed in the rooms on the G/F before, eventually the blind in the rooms was quite seriously damaged, giving inadequate privacy to residents... Also, more residents coming back at 3 or 4 am closed the door loudly & woke you up in the middle of the night...

    Location - just a few minutes car ride from the airport Soundproof rooms - no matter your room is facing the main road or on the ground floor, you cannot hear any loud noise from the main road or upstairs, a good sleep can be largely guaranteed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the small rooms and the shared toilet and shower , Damp on the walls Old style tv , the box type ones struggled to get signal Only had 2 plugs which one was tv and one was for freeview so couldn’t straighten hair same times as tv on or charge phones , no extension lead was available . Could do with a makeover with new carpets and walls painted and upto date TVs

    Cheap price for 3 people Staff are lovely Free parking

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't very clean, but we were too tired to ask for new bedding/wiped down surfaces so I don't know how they would have responded.

    It was very cheap and allowed three family members to stay in the same room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tvs need updating and the decor could do with refreshing but apart from that it was ok.

    It is an ideal stop over for my working needs close to the a1 for next leg of the journey staff are friendly and helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vary basic room, everything very worn and tired. Lots of noise from other guest all night long which was not challanged.

    Reasonable price and good location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is located far from the city. Have to travel thru bus/taxi to get to the location. Breakfast is not provided however there is a restaurant located just beside the hotel. The tv remote control did not work.

    The room can accommodate up to 3 people.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At midnight 2 guys were fighting in the next room for at least half an hour. But nobody called the police. It was so dangerous for me with my baby. But, on the second night it was quiet.

    Very clean and tidy room. The bed was wide enough.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I lost my car keys Friday afternoon in morpeth about 12 miles away . Sue the manager heard about it and was really helpful .letting me get my washing sorted ..great friendly staff !!! .hopefully be back up there in a couple of weeks so I'll be staying there again 😁

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff and easy access to hotel by driving plus free parking! not far from town only a taxi ride which reception were more than happy to order it's next door to a carvery ideally situated for any sort of visit is basic but you get what you need!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff memeber mike that was working the shift when we arrived was outstanding. Made our stay outstanding and went above and beyond to meet our needs! Public transport close by, Toby’s carvery was right beside hotel and there was a shopping complex 10 minutes down the road. Basic but good value for money!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness was poor. Mould and mildew. Dust everywhere. Very dirty carpets.

    Staff were ok, location not too bad for me & the reason I was visiting Newcastle

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only dislike was the toilets it reminded me of being on a airplane which I'm always nervous to use

    Staff were beyond helpful I'm 29 weeks pregnant so requested a extra pillow and they went out there way to help giving me a quilt to make a pillow out off worked a treat mangerment was very chatty and told you how it was had a good laugh

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls had dirty marks on, carpet was extremely dirty & dusty, the first room we was given the lock didn’t even work, toilets were dirty & smelled & when we complained the Manager agreed the rooms are disgusting & they are waiting for decorating. No apology and when we said goodbye she didn’t even reply. Very rude.

    Nothing the room was dirty and staff were rude

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place should be closed down by whatever agency is in charge of sanitary matters for the City of Newcastle.

    This place is an unsanitary, run-down dump where people come to get drunk before taking off for a night in Newcastle (about ten miles from the "hotel"). Then they come back, drunker, in the middle of the night, and they wake you up. Better sleep in your car, especially considering the price (55 pounds a night).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole hotel

    Nothing. Place was very dirty beds room and toilets. Had hens and stags running up and down corridors until midnight. Never stayed in such a disgusting place in all my life .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personally my room could have been at least hoovered up 1 time but only was my towels changed also I got a few bedding sheet changed apart from this I loved the metro inn at greater Newcastle upon Tyne the reception staff Micheal with Susan was highly helpful respectable sociable loving people’s staff also the 2 certain female staffs Karen with Charlotte was brilliant again just doing there duty’s as for the cleaning this never really bothered me but the weekend Friday I experience fire alarm going on/off for 15/20 minutes approx also there was music playing loudly for approx 2 hours but management Susan sorted this out god bless her as for the other weekend night there was a lot of certain female guest shouting for approx 1 hour in the corridors but again weekend said it all also the beard male staff was very respective in is duty’s yes a great big topsoftheworld thank you metro inn very Comeing happy times festives seasons to all humans kinds ok DET

    I liked very much in deed more than loved the greater Geordie Spirts ever my mission trip was marvellous collections of my personal Respective monies Yes I wish Geordie land a topsoftheworld Comeing Festives seasons to all generously humanity thank you till time again ok DET

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was like a jail. Literally. Portaloos for the toilets, sick everywhere. Place is disgusting. You walk in to the reception, it absolutely stinks. Somebody’s car got broke into. It’s just a shambles. Do not stay here! It’s horrible

    Nothing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was the worst hotel if ever been to. It was like a prison cell.. I will be writing review of this on TripAdvisor.. I have a lot of photos of the place too..

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilets could be cleaner

    Good location for a night out in the centre, it is £8 in a taxi to the centre. Also very cheap. The ideal hotel for a night out.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    disgusting filthy place. Faeces in toilet, shower dirty. sheets clean but duvet was BADLY STAINED. lots of noise. felt it was a fire hazard waiting to happen. Our room smelt of cigarettes. Carpet badly stained.

    getting out of the place

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything , dirty bahthroom, matress that you could feel every spring, dirty paint , couldnt tell if it had paint or dried blood on the wall, chipped vanity unit

    nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Considering it was a very cheap rate and the website mentions not suitable for children at weekends, I was still expecting a little value for money. The website does not inform you that the toilet and showers are located at end of each corridor so not in the room. Vomit stains on the carpet at the bedside and the toilets were so disgusting we refused to use them, was like a portaloo. We needed a bed for a few hours after a flight and it was simply that. We couldn’t wait to leave unfortunately not as refreshed as we had hoped.

    Location 5 mins from airport easy to find.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The customer service was minimal. staff were not friendly. room was not clean for the four days I stayed there. Another guest was able to use his key to enter my room though didn't kow I was in

    it was only the Wifi

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hated every bit. Slept in car from 3-7 in morning as it was so disgusting. My kids are disgusted too

    Absolutely disgusting. The toilets were portaloo in hall way. Hookers everywhere. Bedroom was filthy. Booking was incorrect night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived and manager was parked in the only disabled spot asked him to move as I'm in a wheelchair. He wasn't happy. Disabled toilet stunk I was gagging. Manager heard as he was only a few feet away but he wasn't much cleaner either. I've seen cleaner public toilets. Floor appeared like hadn't been cleaned in months. Skirting and walls in bedroom had unimaginable stains and deposits up them. As we arrived at 2am from delayed flight we just climbed into bed after covering pillows with scarves. In the morning I refused to use bathroom again and went next door to the Toby for theirs. I would have preferred to sleep in our cold van had I realised. Looks like it's used for dole and homeless accommodation.

    Leaving

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fine print about the £50 cash deposit on arrival this wasn't mentioned or anywhere to be seen until we arrived, it had to be in cash they had no bank machine and weren't very helpful about the full situation. After we paid for the room that's when we were then told about this deposit and we were told without the deposit we wouldn't receive the keys. The room had chewing gum stuck to the carpet floor and wasn't very presentable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Whilst it is cheap it is also VERY basic. Double bed with bunk over it, small table with power point, tiny hand-basin and mirror in corner. Window with blackout blind & tiny TV on the wall Toilet and shower facilities down the hall. Had better rooms for the same price

    Cheap and within walking distance of Metro line into town. As a place to stay for Great North Run it did its job

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Information quoted as 10 minutes from metro station. It took me over half an hour up a hill . There was no indication of this when I booked. I had substantial luggage and it was difficult to get to accomodation. The title of the accomodation is Metro Inns. An Inn is by definition somthing that provides not just accomodation but meals. The only food available was a machine supplying trivial snacks. It is certainly not a Hotel neither is it an inn. it is essentially a boarding house. The title should reflect what it is.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The first night I was allocated a smoking room, it stank of smoke and had to be endured because the hotel was full. I was allocated a non-smoking room the next day but the tv was broken. The 3rd room had a functioning tv but like the rest of the hotel the carpets were stained and thread bare, it was poorly maintained throughout. The smell from the sink was so bad I couldn't lean over the plug hole to clean my teeth. Rather than endure another room move, I poured bleach down the plug hole which cured the problem. This is the most gruesome accommodation I have ever seen.

    The location is its only redeeming feature.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Metro Inns Newcastle traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: