Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Middle Aston House

Middle Aston, Middle Aston, OX25 5PT, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Middle Aston

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 408 B&B reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    6.3
    AS above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Phone call from manager at 7pm to say that our key would be left in our room as no staff would be on site. No bar available as no barman. Had to go straight to room as main house locked. Disappointing. Had expected to sit on the terrace with a glass of wine to finish of the day. Room very basic and not as clean as we would like. This is a conference centre not a hotel. Facilities not as appeared in advertisement. Shame. Beautiful setting and friendly staff at breakfast but will not return

    Venue: a beautiful setting. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    Very friendly & helpful staff - perfect location -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bright green light from fire exit sign above the door illuminated the whole room at night

    Very friendly & helpful staff - perfect location - excellent breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    3.8
    Very disappointed stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had in the main house was not clean, dead wasps all over the floor in the bedroom and bathroom and window ledges! Also found them in the landing next to the room! The bed was made ready for guests but no one could have been in to check the room in about a week! Flush on the toilet was rubbish! Window opened but due to recent wasp nest wanted it shut but it wouldn’t shut properly, had to be slammed shut! Phone to reception did not work. No fans in the room or available to hire at the hotel. Slight musky smell also in the room. We had no electric in the morning so no coffee for us! No pump working in the shower so had a dribble coming out of the shower head! Went to breakfast to find they had a powercut! So no cooked breakfast or any hot drinks. What were we paying for??? After an unbearably hot night with lack of sleep we decided that we had now had enough knew we needed to pack up and check out. We needed breakfast before our long day ahead so had to get that elsewhere! We certainly did not want to stay for another night in a stuffy hot uncomfortable room where you can’t have a window open in case of wasps getting in! The young lady we saw when we checked out was very apologetic. Sort out the housekeeping, wasps and maintenance and you would have a fab hotel. The view across the countryside was beautiful and the house sits in a lovely setting just a shame about everything else we experienced!

    The location and grounds

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    5.0
    The property were experiencing a power cut from early...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property were experiencing a power cut from early morning so we didn't stay. I had a my 7 yr old son with me so it wouldn't be possible to stay without guarantee of power being restored.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location shame about the meal
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Evening meal! Ask if we could book a table week before stay (on a Saturday Night) and was told to do it when we arrived, when we arrived there wasn't any tables left, until we kicked up and pointed out we asked to book in advance as there is 8 of us! Menu was only bar food, number of issues with service, food turning up but no cutlery to eat it with, side plates but no bread rolls, not offered to get drinks or wine list Had to ask for jug of water Long wait for food We were quoting Faulty Tower by the end of the evening!

    Great location, lovely views, great grounds for a stroll

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    A lovely comfortable stay in a fabulous place with brilliant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the other guests were a bit noisy - but that's not the hotel's fault!

    Lovely peaceful place. The staff were lovely and so helpful. We had a great picnic by the lake watching the ducks and geese. A wonderful place to chill out.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.9
    The room was very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not expect to be in an annex. The bar meal for the evening was not what I was expecting and was quite pricey for what it was

    The room was very comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.3
    Clean, comfortable and stunning location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Offering an Air conditioning unit or a fan in the room would have been a bonus during this hot weather

    Beautiful location in peaceful setting. Breakfast was delicious. Staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were basic but clean and comfortable. Plenty of free parking. Local taxi firm very reliable and helpful - details provided by Hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    3.8
    very dissapointed , will not stay again.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    check in rather indifferent, the room was smaller and nothing like shown on the website. the carpets were dirty and badly stained in several places, the bath surround cracked and dirty tiles. cobwebs in the ceilings , no bedside lights or mirror over desk. Overall very disapointing and overpriced.

    Nothing...….

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    5.4
    Fawlty Towers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were insects everywhere in the room- mattress, walls, bed head. Whilst waiting to be checked in, host on reception was attempting to book herself a hotel room somewhere, having us wait whilst finishing her telephone conversation. Breakfast was chaos- no order, food was cold, cutlery was sticky. No one knew what they were doing

    Location and grounds.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    4.2
    An expensive mistake on our part by booking to stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The interior of the house was bland. The bedrooms even more so. Small and with totally uninspiring decoration. There were no pictures on the wall to brighten the place. There was no window to open and no air conditioning and it was very warm over the time of our stay. There was a "balcony" door which, once opened, was nigh on impossible to shut. We were thankful in the end for that, as without it we would hardly have been able to breathe. The breakfast, was, like the interior, bland. It was NOT VALUE FOR MONEY and we would never contemplate staying there again, or recommending it to any one. As a Conference Centre it might work, but doubling it up as a Hotel at the weekend it just doesn't. An expensive mistake on our part by booking to stay here.

    The Setting of the House is superb.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.8
    Fine for 1 night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very basic and small. A few lil touches could make it feel more welcoming. The breakfast was poor limited choice and seating and organision poor.

    The bed was comfy and the grounds are stunning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing/stunning location. Brilliant for our one night stay with friends after our Blenheim event.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room very warm but then we are experiencing a very warm and hot climate at the moment!

    As check in finished 9pm, Bobbie, General Manager, was extremely helpful in that she allowed us to collect 3 room keys late morning due to us going to Blenheim Palace for the whole day and evening, therefore not returning to the hotel until 11pm that evening. Bobbie showed us where our rooms were located which were very clean, had a good night's sleep and we all enjoyed a very good full English breakfast the following morning where staff were very attentative.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Carl, Andover 14/07/18
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little on the small side, but still adequate

    The grounds were breathtakingly beautiful and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    4.6
    Wouldn't stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisey. It's an annex not the main house you stay in. Student like accommodation, listening to people letting doors slam, chatting and having a final cigarette before entering underneath your bedroom window. No evening meal offered until people on conferences have been fed, no cooked breakfast until after 8am. Staff who can't give instructions as where your staying because they can't speak the language or be bothered to show you. Worst place I've stayed for quite sometime.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.7
    Lovely location, clean rooms, limited facilities, good for a stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On checking in, in the afternoon, the couple before us asked if they could have a coffee and were told there were facilities in the room. We were just told where our room was and timings of breakfast. Breakfast was adequate, d-i- y, but not a lot of cold selection and no choice of egg, just scrambled. On return I have been contacted for a bar bill I apparently didn't pay when we didn't even know there was a bar as we were not told about it !!

    Clean room and bathroom. Toiletries and towels good quality. Tea and coffee facilities in room. Nice location, main house very nice, annexes modern and efficient.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a small double bed, not a full size one. It was not written in the room description. There is no taxi company in the village, taxis come from other towns so they charge a little bit more than if they were from a local firm

    Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.5
    A good pit stop, nothing fancy but clean and comfy bed for the night.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con, not ideal on one of the hottest weekends.

    Excellent location for what i needed to do. The local pub was a nice walk away - the red lion.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.5
    Lovely quiet setting..enjoyable but not quite what it says on tripadvisor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    States on tripadvisor that its hotel but not really..very quiet..no bar or food facilities unless theres a conference then they will try to fit you in..altbough you would not want to impose..middle aston missing out on alot of potential could cater more in b/b with adding a eveni g meal or doing afternoon teas...the red lion in next village lovely and theres a great pie pub with hooky beer in deddington

    Quiet beautiful location in village setting..place caters more for conferences..rooms are either in annex or part of a cottage..grounds and lake beautiful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    6.7
    Laughable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We learnt before we arrived there was no restaurant which was disappointing but to find there was to be no bar and no seating for us to gather was not acceptable. Are we to stay in our rooms like naughty children??? Therefore we had to go out and then we got locked out at approx. 10.30pm. Apparently someone had accidentally put the catch down so the next persons entering (us) could not get in and we had to call someone. Get the catch sorted if it is that easy to lock someone out!! Why does it need to lock from the inside?? The telephone number for that person was not easy to find. Thank goodness it was not pouring with rain or freezing cold. Will not be staying again

    The cooked breakfast was lovely. The location was in a lovely setting

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    3.8
    Good location and beautiful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor quality of accommodation, one towel between two people, paper thin walls so you can here next door talking and going to the toilet! Poor breakfast, under cooked and cold. Nobody to clear dirty tables and we were expected to drink out of other people's dirty glasses. Staff were too young and inexperienced to know how to cope. It was sold to us as a hotel but is nothing more than a poor conference location. Very disappointed.

    Good location and beautiful surroundings.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.8
    Spoilt the weekend, after along journey we had to go out again to find a place to eat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A complete lack of staff, In the evening the place is locked up and the few staff all go home. No bar, no evening meals.

    Clean room with peaceful surroundings.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.4
    GO ELSWHERE
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed was uncomfortable, noise from other guests i.e. facility noises water running, pipes banging, door shutting, rooms are in blocks not in main house so from advertising looks as though your getting a room in a lovely manor house and your certainly not! No restaurant and even though it states theres a bar its served by the same person manning reception so chances of getting served slim to none! also bar closes after last person checks in. your told to use the pub along the road. Certainly don't even get what you paid for here i'd go elsewhere. Never would stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.9
    A lovely area to be close to, comfy room and good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was a bit of a let down as not fresh cooked English breakfast to order, the food had been cooked and kept warm

    the grounds were stunning with lovely views. room was small but comfy, bathroom clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely setting in lovely English village
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely breakfast Comfortable rooms Helpful reception staff and staff in the restaurant Appreciated being rung to be told that the two rooms originally booked were not close to each other

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.1
    The cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central heTing on full blast in the middle of summer, and having a self service breakfast - no staff around to ask where things were, and no cereal dishes out.

    The cleanliness

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    3.8
    Disappointing stay with poor levels or attention and facilities.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bath was not clean (human hair) and the walls paper thin. The annexes are not ideal for women travelling alone-they feel isolated and unmanned. The hotel was poorly signed with little food choices. Food was indifferent. Staff were similar.

    There is a pleasant view from the terrace.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful and serene place in a relaxing environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lack of ATMs in town, but not a disaster

    A beautiful place to stay in a sublime location. The place and village is beautiful and such a wonderful relaxed place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.9
    Friendly staff, good size and comfortable room, excellent...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was average at best, intermittent hot and cold water. TV socket was loose and décor was tired and in need of attention.

    Friendly staff, good size and comfortable room, excellent breakfast and service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Amazing, tranquil, beautiful, relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is set in such a rural area, the peace and tranquility is just what we needed. Just the sound of nature, at it's best! Loved every minute of our stay here. Special thank you to Dave and Jess, who went out of their way to make us welcome.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    3.8
    Disappointing on all counts except the surroundings. No life in the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is a small bland box in a modern block. Not country house as indicated. The late shift man said the bar was closed and he could sell us a drink to take to our room. But then was in the bar when two people wanted a drink. He was lazy. He advised us the pub was a 5 minute walk away when it was getting dark. It would have taken us 20 to 30 minutes to find the pub! The room tv did not work. The room main door handle was hanging loose. Overall we felt the place ran with minimal staff ie 1 person who realy didnt want to do anything. When given our roon key, other than say the block name he really didnt want to say much, like directions to the block. I got the feeling that although he smiled all he was thinking was "you can go now" . The breakfast was small and took ages (about 20 minutes) to come once ordered. We both asked for Full English and the waitress asked which type of eggs. We replied poached. When they eventually arrived I got mine but my wife was given just poached eggs. It had taken so long to arrive we couldnt be bothered to ask for the rest of it. The breakfast itself was poor. The poched eggs were watery. The beans in a tiny pot (so as to make sure you dont get one too many beans!) And the sausage very cheap. The bacon was good 😁. The table cloth (paper) was dirty from the previous user of the table when we arrived for breakfast and was the same on the only other free table. Overall the nice original country house setting was spoiled to the point we felt cheated. Thank goodness it was only for one night. Wont be going back.

    Surroundings

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Lovely location, basic accomodation but all we needed or expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived we had to wait quite a while for the receptionist to receive us am not sure if he was filling in for someone, nice enough but not very professional with giving information either it was all a bit vague but we managed to work it out. I knew what to expect as had read reviews and for the price we were happy but in agreement with what others have said it isn't like a hotel if you want more than a room and breakfast you may be disappointed but it had all we needed for a night. Only other thing was the water tasted very strange when we made tea in our room but that may be just a location thing.

    The location is beautiful. It was lovely walking around the grounds and seeing all the geese and goslings. Our bed was comfy and the breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.1
    Nice place, nice staff but some things need tweaking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived we asked about an evening meal and were told that the chef hadn't given them the menu and he was on a break, after doing breakfast and lunch. In our room we had coffee, tea and cups but no kettle. We went back to reception and the receptionist was apologetic and said she would get us one, which she did but there still wasn't a menu for the evening meal. We went back at 7pm and the menu had arrived but we were told that the evening meal wouldn't be ready until 8.30pm. This was too late for us to eat. The breakfast was ok but some of the hot food wasn't very hot and the hot water for tea was in a thermos jug and wasn't hot enough to make a decent cup.

    The house and grounds are beautiful and the staff are very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very Small bathroom. We were placed in area were corporate people were staying so Sunday morning was noisy from 7am whilst they all got ready for breakfast. Smoking outside the front door so we could smell it in our room!!!! Doors banging a lot so was relaxing Sunday morning which is such a shame because the location is so peaceful and gorgeous views. Maybe in the main house would be quieter. I need tick the reason for visit box as leisure so I really think they should separate there clients accordingly.

    Beautiful setting. Very peaceful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.9
    Great value for money, beautiful location & would stay again
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only disappointment was on arrival in the evening we were informed that due to a conference taking place, no evening meal was being served. Whilst it's not a major issue, after a 4 hour drive to reach the destination; the last thing you want to do is have to drive again to get a meal.

    Perfect setting, beautiful location, friendly welcome & lovely breakfast. Rooms were clean, comfortable & tidy with ample space for parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed the stay would have been excellent except for the things mentioned above.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water due to thermostat problem was fixed but too late for us so no heating either, lucky for us outside temperature was ok. No chef so dinning on site not an option, bar closed at 9, not big drinkers but !, walked to the local pub a mile away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful location, nice room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The overall feel of the place was tired. It was a little bit shabby and could have been better kept. More facilities like food to order, as the nearest pub was some distance away, and a welcoming bar area would have been nice. It is a beautiful place but just needs some TLC.

    Beautiful location, nice room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    A hidden gem in a stunning location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a shame the large lounge by the terrace couldn't be used as a breakfast room. That would add an extra dash of elegance to the stay.

    The setting was stunning - a beautiful house with gorgeous grounds. I genuinely think it's too good value. It was a lovely stay, great breakfast, friendly and helpful staff. A hidden gem.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    4.2
    This hotel is not suitable for the business traveller,
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception closed at 21:00 hours. No evening meal or bar service provided. This venue is geared to the Conference/Wedding and not the individual.

    There was nothing that merits positive comment.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.5
    Functional hotel rather than homely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being woken up at 6.30am by the night staff going to bed in the room above us. The ceiling/floor creaked so much we thought they were going to fall through!

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    A well needed Birthday break, totally chilled out, followed by a lovely breakfast = Perfect :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilet didn't flush 100% properly & the milk cartons in the room were off.

    Great value for money & an amazing view from a great room in a wonderful location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.2
    enjoyable and fantastic value well done.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed was very comfortable but a little small , still found it ok

    the breakfast was superb, the staff were efficient and welcoming , well done we enjoyed our short stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    5.4
    Not satisfactory on this occasion but would love to try in the sumner for its location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In February it is clear that only a few rooms are available that are heated. On arrival we were offered a room "where the heating had failed" and so a convector heater had been turned on. This was insufficient & the bathroom was freezing. A puddle of water was under the sink... We settled on the 3rd room we were shown which was in the main house & warm but the TV did not work properly and the bed was not a twin as promised on booking.

    Jolene was brilliant. The cooked breakfast was excellent but there was no fresh fruit. Soya milk was provided and gluten free bread. Management was excellent in sending me back my charging plug/lead left behind.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Positively delightful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Phone signal but nothing to do with the b&b

    Bed was comfy and the room was really warm. Staff were really friendly just felt a bit surreal as we were the only guests.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.8
    Look at the price of the stay minus the vat minus the breakfast ,the room becomes good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a good value hotel so don't expect the Ritz . You have Bicester shopping 15mins away Banbury 20 mins away a fantasic area for walking and a fab playground 15min walk into Steeple Aston

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    3.8
    Lovely place but was put in a seperate room away from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very basic and had two single beds pushed together even though we were the only guests. I booked this place because it looked romantic and the food looked amazing, when we got there we were told that they were not doing food on the saturday evening and had to drive 5 miles to a decent pub for food.

    Lovely place but was put in a seperate room away from the building,

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    6.7
    Location is beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was mouldy and there was no staff upon our late check out on a Sunday

    Location is beautiful Check in staff was very bubbly and we had a warm welcome

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    6.3
    The area is very pretty the staff are very helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are tiny, the heating didn't work when I wanted it to, but came on in the middle of the night.

    The area is very pretty the staff are very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    2.5
    Terrible. Would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really unhappy with the quality of this 'hotel'. I booked for 4 nights as a single travelling lady. I was placed in a separate accommodation block to the main house which was effectively a dorm room. It had a basic bed, desk, one bedside cabinet. The bathroom was minimal and toiletries were not provided (I went and bought a bar of soap to wash my hands). The bathroom was not particularly clean, the toilet being especially grubby. I sought advice on dinner from a lady at reception, she informed me that there was not a dinner provided, I asked about the bar, thinking that there might be bar food, but only crisps and peanuts. I asked if there was anywhere locally and she said there is the only pub in the village and I could go there. I ended up going to Bicester and getting supplies from the local Tesco. I stayed the night. And went down for breakfast the next morning. It was an unmanned limited amount of cooked breakfast on hot plates and some cereal. Unappetising. I was very unhappy and felt like I have been sold dud accommodation in a beautiful area, but it was inadequate for someone not staying more than one night as a stop over. I packed my bags and went to reception to complain and check out. The receptionist was apologetic that I was unhappy, but agreed with my opinion that the hotel was not suitable if you were travelling for leisure and staying more than one night. I got the impression that she had dealt with unhappy travellers before. I payed for the night I stayed and frantically checked myself into a different hotel nearby. Overall, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. I was extremely disappointed and seriously considered just heading home and writing off the whole of my trip. The pictures make it look like a lovely luxury break but it is far from that. I would advise people not to stay here and they will be disappointed.

    The grounds were nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    6.3
    Great location amd wonderful breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, maybe due to the short notice booking, our room was located next to the boiler room in the Pembroke annex therefore we didn't get much sleep. The Pembroke annex had quite a number of pieces of plaster falling off the walls and even though the building seems to be quite new this makes it look a bit tatty.

    They accommodated us at very short notice and the breakfast was of a high standard. The view from the hotel was outstanding and we felt relaxed. We found it very easy to get to and overall it was a good stay. The room had everything you needed i.e. hairdryer, tea& coffee facilities and a great range of bathroom complements.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    2.5
    Awful shocking terrible.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wrote it all in the box above.

    Nothing. It was difficult to find. Staff not at all helpful. They had incorrect details about the length of my stay. I was not informed of the process for breakfast. I was just shown to the dining area and left. It was a help yourself cooked breakfast but it was all cold. There was no heating in the bedroom and it was freezing. I had to sleep in my day clothes to keep warm. The room was a long way from the parking area and it was raining torrentially so I got soaked. The room was not particularly clean and there were a number of spiders around the room. All in all a terrible experience. I would not stay there for free let alone pay for another stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    3.3
    Looks can be deceiving! Ignore the photos!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were cold and like student accommodation. The staff were unfriendly and the breakfast was awful as was cold and congealed under heat lamps not sure why it was cold! The cups weren't clean and there were no staff in the dining room to help when there were no plates etc. A very bizarre set up.

    Not a lot!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.5
    Cold bath ruins otherwise lovely place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom smelt of damp and the only reason I'm not giving a higher score is because the hot water was far from hot and I had to have a luke warm bath. Ironic that by bath and sink are stickers warning - "Very hot water!"

    I love the location with the beautiful lake and it's very peaceful and quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyable would think of coming again next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No meals on the Sunday evening. And the VAT was not mentioned on the menu that it was not included in the price, so was a shock when we paid for our meal. I did complain and the VAT was refunded. Thank you very much. So would have preferred a room over looking car park.

    The surrounding area was very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    It was a beautiful ground, staff were very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out was too early (9am) would rather have breakfast go back to the room pack up have a wash and go but we had to rush

    It was a beautiful ground, staff were very friendly and helpful beds were comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.5
    We had a pleasant stay in lovely surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The croissants certainly were not extra flaky ....very dry. Breakfast was not so good ...lukewarm runny scrambled eggs and rubbery bacon....just due to being under a warmer. Plenty of it but not very appetising.

    Beds and bedding very comfortable. Staff were helpful when a problem occurred with our room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    3.8
    Bad Form
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had not been cleaned. Somebody tried adding a £30 bar bill onto our room. My wife phoned the week before our stay to request an early breakfast. This was interpreted as we wanted to upgrade our room which we were charged an extra £24 for. The room wasn't worth £90, never mind £114. All in all, not a great experience. Would I stay here again. Absolutely not.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    lovely setting , beautiful house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did ask for twin beds, but had a double!! could have been a disaster especially as we didn't arrive until 10.00pm Hair dryer didn't work.

    Breakfast was excellent, staff were friendly and efficient

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    gorgeous property in stunning grounds , fabulous staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing, the accommodation was basic - ideal for large groups / clubs/ young people - but clean and fresh.

    gorgeous property in stunning grounds , fabulous staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable bed and nice location 15 minutes to Blenheim Palace .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast not very warm unless you are eating at 7.30am and breakfast finished at 9.00am.

    Lovely rural surroundings in a nice setting, but basic room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.1
    Good location, rooms small, basic but adequate. Beautiful location with a good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    communication poor. Arrived unavoidably late. Tried every couple minutes for 2 hours to contact hotel but found phone busy every time. Arrived to find door locked, number left to contact was on answer machine. Manager eventually replied, and came to book us in only to be told we had already been booked in. Odd as we had just arrived. She said they were having problems with the telephone line but it had been reported but she was very pleasant. Again, on departure same lady explained that we had already paid. When we replied that we had indeed not yet paid, she then went to look for the paper work and found it ready for us to settle the bill.

    Room basic but comfortable. Breakfast good and the overall setting was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    5.8
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanliness!

    Generally the hotel needs some TLC - We had 3 rooms, 2 of which had not been cleaned properly and bins were still full from previous occupiers - disappointing for such an amazing location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    7.9
    Stopover to visit Countryfile Live
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although cleanliness in general was good, crockery in the room had obviously just been rinsed and not washed properly. The cups had tea/coffee/lipstick marks on them. No restaurant facilities, and the nearest pub is a mile away along roads with no pavement or street lighting.

    Lovely quiet location, plenty of parking, staff very welcoming. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    5.4
    Crossroads motel in beautiful setting!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! This is not a hotel. The website is totally misleading. They have a subheading- wining and dining - there is no restaurant at the 'hotel'! So it is not possible to wine and dine. The rooms are more like a 1980's motorway motel! It has huge potential... a chain should take it over!

    The staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.8
    Rubbish
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No-one on reception on arrival, given key to find room not ready bedding all over floor and not cleaned, swapped room. Radiator didn't work so was a bit chilly. Pump for water kept kicking in every few minutes which meant sleeping was difficult. Tried to contact reception before bed but no answer.

    Dinner was lovely

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.4
    not great - glad we weren't staying longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very basic rooms - like student accommodation/Travelodge but charging hotel prices. Paper thin walls - we could hear someone nextdoor just putting keys down on their table. Buzzing noise in corridor at night. Uncomfortably small bed. Interior green emergency exit light illuminates at night so impossible to sleep in a dark room. Breakfast was disappointing.

    location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.0
    Beautiful location, unhelpful staff, terrible nights sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff didn't seem to want to help at all. We got there at 11.30 and told we couldn't order food, and that the bar was closed and told we could drive to a cafe elsewhere!! We stayed in a new building where the walls were paper thin and we were woken up 3 times by people walking down the stairs in the corridor. The bathroom floor and side of the bath was dirty. There was a constant rotation noise of I think perhaps the air conditioning, very noisey. It was a double room and the bed was shuved into a corner so there was only one bedside table and lamp. At breakfast it was supposed to run until 10 but as we were still eating at 9.30 the food was taken away.

    The actual building/ grounds of the hotel is beautiful and quiet

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.3
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    only 1 bath towel, plus it would have been better at breakfast if they came out with a pot of tea, plus because we was not sure if there was a cooked breakfast we had cereal and toast.

    location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.5
    Very good breakfast in a pleasant dining room overlooking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I know the centre well from previous occasions of running training courses . We booked 2 rooms at the same price - one room was nicer , bigger and much better equipped than the other which was basically furnished and did not have easy chairs or any pictures on the wall. Whilst this is fine for delegates on a training course, I would suggest such rooms are priced accordingly and not the same as more superior rooms. The other key issue was having no hot water in our ( basic ) room so no shower . I realise that when staying overnight and discovering this in the morning nothing can be done about it but an offer to reduce the £99 room price would have been appreciated when I reported this to reception when settling the bill.

    Very good breakfast in a pleasant dining room overlooking the grounds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    Helpful Staff, good breakfast and lots to do in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was to small for us, we are both tall people so a King size bed would had made our visit perfect.

    Had a lovely stay at Middle Aston House, the lady on the front desk was very helpful. Breakfast was lovely with lots of choice. The grounds were great to walk round and enjoyed reading about the history of the place. Restaurants we visited, only a short drive away were the Trigger Pond at Bucknell and The Crown and Tuns at Deddington both served great food and worth a visit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.1
    50's couple long weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stuck out in another building no different to a premiere inn that was very basic and had some kind of pump droning loudly all day and night. Accommodation 'block' bore no resemblance to the lovely old house in the hotel picture. Add to that that despite breakfast being advertised 8-10 in morning when we arrived at 9:30 there was nothing left and no staff to replenish... There were not even any cups or plates... Reception did knock £20 off but I'd rather have had the breakfast I'd looked forward to....

    Very attractive property in lovely (if remote) location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.8
    We will not forget the beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had two seperate rooms, a family room was not available.

    Clean, very good beds, quiet! Windows can be opened for fresh air (wich we prefer to airco) It is a beautiful location, we took a lovely morning walk with the children across the cornfield.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    6.7
    Fine as we were visiting family but would not have been ideal if we had been holidaying.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of facilities in the main building. It is very definitely for groups and not so much for holiday visitors.

    The building and surroundings were beautiful. The room was good for someone at a conference but not great for a couple sharing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    5.8
    Mediocre hotel in spectacular location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were the equivalent of 3rd rate student accommodation. Very sparse, small, no bedside reading lights and soap fixtures on the bathroom walls that didn't work and not within access if having a bath, Breakfast very basic. Initial booking with American Express through booking.com but subsequently informed by hotel would not be acceptable. Check out at 9 am felt outrageous but largely ignored by guests and staff.

    The surroundings are spectacularly beautiful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    8.3
    Comfort in lovely surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in The Cottage - only criticism is that in such a spacious room surely there was room for a bigger bed?

    Located in lovely surroundings. Spacious hotel - the main building is old and quirky, the other accommodation clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75