Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Cumbria B&B and inn reviews
  4. Keswick B&B and inn reviews
  5. Reviews of Middle Ruddings Country Inn

Reviews of Middle Ruddings Country Inn This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Braithwaite, Keswick, CA12 5RY, United Kingdom

#69 of 74 B&Bs and inns in Keswick

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 481 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2019

    9.2
    The breakfast was one of the best we have had.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room did not have a shower, but we were informed of this , All in all we were very happy with our room.

    The breakfast was one of the best we have had. We liked the bar area, had a very relaxed atmosphere, also the lounge, it had plenty of reading material and games for anybody who wanted to do that.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2019

    10
    Happy prelude to a super Christmas; liked the carol service too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Neither my WIFE (not partner) are petite and the bed was a close fit. Apart from that everything was excellent.

    Of the very many Hotels with which I am familiar with in the Lakes this was up there with the best and certainly the best value for money of the lot.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2019

    9.6
    Everything was very nice, couldn't fault it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was a lovely house although could do with a bit of an update, think would cost quite a bit of money.

    Everything was very nice, couldn't fault it. The food, staff and facilities were excellent.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    10
    Everything was great, food, bed and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location for numerous walks even from the car park, comfy bed and warm room. Meals wholesome and delicious, excellent beers and drinks in front of a log fire, friendly staff what more could you ask for!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    10
    Brilliant host & staff, well worth it and would return again :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    The staff very friendly and were helpful. The food was excellent and lots of it. Plenty of rrom to relax after a day on the hills & lakes :)

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    8.3
    The staff were really friendly and the food was really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property could do with a refurbishment but the staff and friendly, comfortable atmosphere more than made up for it.

    The staff were really friendly and the food was really good.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    9.6
    Last minute booking with no complication. Hotel staff so helpful. Cannot Fault at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cannot fault the hotel at all. The only caution is that the junction into hotel street / drive is quiet sharp left from the A66 and the car park is tight in places but nothing major if you know about it.

    Great room at the back of the hotel with a small balcony to sit outside. Super Dog Friendly and the breakfast was superb.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2018

    5.8
    The breakfast was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very noisy from door slamming seemed like all night. Single room looked tired torn wallpaper, mould in bathroom etc.

    The breakfast was fantastic. Location brilliant.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2018

    9.6
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location for walks , some nice real ales breakfast was very nice , rooms nice and clean and warm and staff friendly , oh and i got at bargain price 😊

    Everything

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2018

    8.3
    Good location , good price and very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The saniflo toilets are very noisy. Could do with upgrading.

    £25 to stay as a lone traveller. Excellent value for money. Good accommodation and very clean.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    10
    Brilliant - will return
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Took our 2 dogs who were made very welcome. The food is excellent, the breakfasts are amazing. Staff are really friendly and helpful and the accommodation is comfortable and quirky. Very clean

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    9.6
    Ideal place in a very convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On a busy friday night, the parking was blocked by the evening's pub guests, so I had to leave my car in the street.

    The breakfast was marvellous! Especially the home-made muesli! And the staff is extra-friendly and extremely helpful. Overall, a very cosy, welcoming place I will definitely return to if I can.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    4.6
    Pleasant enough but no longer trust them over booking and honouring room request
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Promised large room on booking but on arrival only tiny room available. They Omitted to hold booking request. Pushy on arrival over booking table for dinner. Try to get you to table early. Served food as soon as we sat down. No time to order wine even. Top tip- Royal Oak pub is 100yrds round corner. Packed Sat night. Great beer and food.

    Breakfast very good plus bar choice

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2018

    5.0
    We won't return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No indication that we needed to ask for a night key if staying out late. As a result we were locked out on our first night. Pointing out that the documentation in the room explained this arrangement was less than helpful. A better solution would be to have an external door key handed out with the room key or if there were a limited number highlighting the point when checking in.

    Perfect location as a base for our walk.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    7.1
    Great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Outdated style/furniture/decor but clean. Could've been nice to have a bathroom door.

    Super friendly staff, great service. Very nice hot breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    7.1
    Lovely staff, fair place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's probably best for car owners to access rather than solo walkers/hikers, it is actually few miles from Keswick centre. Local buses are quite expensive and run approximately once an hour. The hotel accepts pets, my room had a bit of a funky/wet dog smell when I checked in, it originated from the spare blankets in the wardrobe that had not been washed and obviously used by previous pet owner visitors as a pet bed. It's a detail but it is probably best not overlooked next time. Other than this it's probably the best deal you will find for family and pet owners in the area.

    The staff was very friendly, kind and welcoming, it made the difference as it had a family-run feel. It is good value for money with the breakfast included. They have great facilities downstairs with a small pub and a restaurant, and a drying room. I didn't try the restaurant during my stay however the selection of local beers on tap is great and cheap.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    10
    The accommodation was a seven minutes walk from the bus stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The heater was broken on the first night but it was repaired by the second night.

    The accommodation was a seven minutes walk from the bus stop. Lovely accommodation, large double room and comfortable bed. The breakfast was very delicious, with great service by the staff.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    8.3
    Would love to do it all again!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the aims of the weekend was to walk Catbell; the weather simply didn't allow this to happen.... Which means we will have to do the whole weekend again, maybe adding on a couple of days to allow for a change in weather conditions.

    The owners and staff at the Inn were very welcoming; conversed with all guests and made guests feel at home. The room was clean, with plenty of space to move around without bumping into one another. The en-suite had a huge bath which was very welcoming afternoon a very wet day out walking. The breakfast was very good; plenty of choice for varied tastes. The stay could only have been made better by the weather; the rain just didn't let up at all, but we where in the Lakes.....

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    8.8
    A very enjoyable break in a good old-fashioned hotel ( in the best sense )
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no pavement when walking into village, steepish entrance.

    Views of lakeland fells, comfortable public rooms, helpful staff, excellent breakfast and evening meal, old-fashioned in the best sense, attractive gardens. range of real ales at reasonable prices.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    5.4
    Not bad!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower and room bit small, not much room to move around. Tiny telly couldnt see properly.

    Had a lovely meal although the staff were very busy and forgot to bring our wine. Got it eventually and it was very nice.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    9.2
    A relaxing and enjoyable stay in a truly wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bedrooms were slightly 'tired', though perfectly adequate for our stay. Tea/ coffee/ biscuits and a selection of good toiletries was an added bonus however.

    Very friendly staff. We received a really warm welcome - and the annual beer festival that was taking place on the premises as an added bonus.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    9.2
    Unplanned but good value and warm welcome to the Lakes
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    soup a little salty, curry a little plain, road noise during the night a little loud, shower pressure ok but not overly powerful, parking a little tight

    friendly welcome, comfortable bed, good sized room, excellent breakfast, good location in heart of Lakes

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable stay and exceptional breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Exceptional breakfast - much was locally sourced and everything was delicious. The muesli was the best I've ever come across. We ate in the restaurant - an excellent meal - the slow cooked lamb was so tender.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    7.1
    Lovely setting. The rooms we stayed needs a significant overhaul very poor value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was small, very dated and shabby. The cleaning of the room was not the best. The attempt to keep the room in keeping with the style and age of the Inn has failed, the furniture was old and in poor condition. The wardrobe door wouldn't close, the mirror on the dressing table was held in place with a box of tissues. The paintwork was very chipped and marked, the wallpaper was peeling in places. The bathroom was very old fashioned, with a noisy, not very efficient toilet and a shower that was little more than a trickle.

    The setting was idyllic and the overall appearance of the Inn was lovely. Staff were helpful, friendly and polite. The bed was was spacious. Breakfast was lovely and we had dinner at the Inn on one evening, this was also nice.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    7.1
    Expect an older style property where things are not perfect but expect a good welcome & a cosy bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    An annoyance was that the shower didn't work and I assume they must have known that when they sold the room for a not inconsiderable sum. There was a bath as an alternative. They did offer to change rooms on our third night. Overall it was slightly 'tired' in places.

    Convenient location as it was opposite the venue we were using. Nice location and bedrooms at back are facing away from A66 therefore quiet. Food service was good even though we kept adding to the number dining. Food was nice at breakfast and dinner. The staff were hard working and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    10
    A brilliant time, made welcome, in a nice area, would come back.
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    N/A

    The room was all we needed. Really pleased there was a bath, especially as was climbing mountains. Hot water all the time. The staff were very friendly and couldn’t do enough for you. I would definitely stay there again, and recommend others to.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    7.1
    The location was beautiful also the staff were very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was very dated and in need of a refurb, and the bed was very uncomfortable. Also the noise of the maxtator machine on the toilets, ment a disturbed sleep!!

    The location was beautiful also the staff were very friendly and competent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    10
    Great staff, clean room, lovely breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were extremely friendly. The room was clean and well stocked with toiletries and tea/coffee etc. Breakfast was lovely - perfect poached eggs.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    9.2
    Good supply of toiletries, towels etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bath was very slow to fill, the basic shower attachment was not usable as the tap came away from the bath when we attempted to use it. The bathroom door swung open if not properly secured but this was difficult as there had been three separate locks attached, none of which was really in good working order.

    Good supply of toiletries, towels etc. Very comfortable bed and pillows. The food was excellent although portions a bit too generous.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    10
    A bit of a gamble that paid off handsomely!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really. Car parking is a bit of a squeeze but that's not a major issue.

    Convenient location adjacent to the A66. Friendly and helpful staff. The food was excellent, particularly the breakfasts!! Good selection of ales at reasonable prices. Overall very good value for money considering the location in the Northern Lakes.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing stay at Middle Ruddings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the majority of the staff were quite surly, not friendly at all. The exception to this were the owner/manager Andy and the morning chef. Our room was very small, felt that it was.not good value for money. Shower was very.small not much room to move at all.

    Good location and very attractive from the outside, comfortable communal areas

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2018

    9.2
    Ticked all my boxes - I would stay there again and recommend
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not a lot. The property is older in terms of decoration but for me that's not a problem as it kind of suits a walking holiday with a dog and it ticked all the right boxes in all the essential areas so for me for this type of holiday it was fine

    Food excellent. Knowledgable helpful staff who were all v kind and friendly. Very Dog friendly . Great walks from the door - didn't have to move our car from arriving to leaving Plentiful hot water and comfy beds and anything we didn't have staff tried to provide .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2018

    7.5
    Great food,great service from warm hosts and a lovely view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I wasn't aware that the rooms were dog friendly and had obviously had dogs in before our stay(we found quite a bit of dog hair on our bed cover), although in fairness I didn't take much notice of this before booking but they make no secret of the fact that they are pet friendly so I won't knock them for this as they were lovely caring hosts and made it very clear if we had any issues to make them aware and they would address any issues they could

    Very good food, excellent customer service from warm genuine accomodating staff that seemed to appreciate our custom and created a warm environment for all guests.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2018

    9.6
    The accommodation was warm and welcoming, a home like atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The accommodation was three miles outside of Keswick which I did not understand at the time. It did cause us to use a taxi twice during our stay.Once we learned our way around, though, we used bus transportation.

    After a long day's travel, it was great to have our accommodations also offer dinner and breakfast for its guests. The food menu offered a variety and the wine/port/sherry offerings were exceptionally good. We enjoyed the relaxed pub atmosphere as well. The room was very cute and comfortable., but the bathroom was small but efficient.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    8.8
    We had a very pleasant stay and would definitely go there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was too firm for us and there was no shower in the en suite but this did not deter us from enjoying our stay. We would definitely go there again.

    All the staff were very pleasant and helpful and the venue was very peaceful. The breakfast set us up for the day. The room was very clean and fresh. Easy access to Keswick, Ambleside and Windermere.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2018

    10
    Perfect location, amazing staff!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff were amazing and catered to our needs - we stayed for work and I travelled with a model who needed things changing on the menu and the staff couldn’t of done anything better! Perfect service

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2018

    8.3
    Relaxing weekend with great food
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some of the furnishings and floor coverings are a little tired and stained but that wasn't important

    The food was excellent and particularly the breakfast. The staff were really friendly and our dog was made very welcome

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2018

    4.6
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dining with dogs despite room in non dog restaurant. Looking out of the window in the morning and seeing a dog doing his business on the main front lawn.

    Food good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    10
    Just superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fantastic stay (for the umpteenth time!). Andy and Liz/staff are all excellent and accommodating. Dog friendly too. Food is stunning and location is superb. See you all again soon!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    9.6
    Always a lovely stay; just a night on the way home this time, but I'll be back for a longer stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked a fan in room as it was so hot.

    Lovely comfy bed, great home made dinner and breakfast with all breads, jams etc home made and all meals cooked from scratch: no microwaved stuff here!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic breakfast and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was next to the boiler so was very warm. Couldn't be helped as it was humid outside too.

    The staff are friendly and accommodating, the breakfast superb and location sublime.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    4.2
    We would never recommend or return, we stayed at four places and this was by far the worse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room smelled of dogs, the bed was old and uncomfortable, the room was very tired looking. An old wardrobe that had coat hangers that were loose, the sash window could not be locked due to a rusty and broken catch. Dogs were allowed into the restaurant which we considered most unpleasant. There were two of them one which kept barking and the owners had to keep getting up to take it outside. Within a couple of minutes of it returning the barking started again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    8.8
    small single room with view Lovely breakfast but not a...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    better choice for vegetarians in restaurant needed

    small single room with view Lovely breakfast but not a very good choice for vegetarian in restaurant Good location Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    9.2
    Very warm and welcome. Great Hospitality. Great Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    May benefit of some refreshments and modernisation in certain areas.

    It was a great one night stop location for my travel. Very welcoming and pleasant place that makes sure their guests are well looked after. Even though I have arrived well after the closing time for the dinner, I was still accommodated with a hot meal which was greatly appreciated after been stranded on motorway for 11 hours. The cleanliness, parking facilities and good WiFi are also very important for my stay. I am pleased to say they have top marks on all of them. I will be very happy to stay again at Middle Ruddings , next time I am back in the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    8.3
    A very well located hotel. Single travelers should opt for a larger room i.m.o. The staff are great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Single bedroom was quite small and the loo area was a little claustrophobic. As the Spring bank holiday weather was quite warm I slept with the window open during the night. But as the bedroom I was given (room 23) was facing the A66 main road, the occasional late night traffic kept me awake more than I'd hoped.

    The great food (especially 'The Rum Nicky Tart' dessert & delicious breakfasts), fabulous view of Skiddaw, warm & friendly staff and of course, the draught 'Flying Elephants golden ale'!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    7.5
    Would stay again but really only because of the food quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the meals was incorrect to order. Charged for drinks we never consumed. All amicably corrected upon checkout but the waiter(s) need to be more on-the-ball. WiFi not available in room!

    The food! Have dined twice before and that was what attracted us to stay over this time. The location is quite convenient to Keswick and North Lakes etc. Braithwaite village is lovely (on a nice day).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    8.3
    Very accessible hotel with comfortable accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Whilst rooms at the front of the hotel had spectacular views to Skiddaw there was a little early morning traffic noise. Not too bad though.

    Very accessible hotel with comfortable accommodation. Travelled with a friend who brought his dog and was made to feel very welcome.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    10
    The warmest of welcomes, the cosiest room, the delicious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I honestly cannot fault Middke Redding’s Inn.

    The warmest of welcomes, the cosiest room, the delicious food. Everything was perfect. I will definitely be back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    8.3
    Good location, very friendly and helpful staff but evening meals need improving.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was very small for 2 adults and a dog. The bed was the smallest double I have seen. Evening meal was disappointing and expensive for what it was so we ate out after the first 2 nights. Went to the Coledale Inn where the dog was allowed and the food delicious and reasonably priced.

    Breakfast was very good. Location made it very convenient for visiting Keswick and many of the lakes. Hotel and staff very welcoming and our dog was spoilt rotten.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant but cut short midway because of car break down
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Plumbing in bathroom room needed improving Portable appliance testing out of date

    Lots of variety at breakfast. Well cooked and presented by pleasant staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    9.2
    The staff were very pleasant and obliging.
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very pleasant and obliging. The breakfast was excellent. The bed was comfortable and the room and bathroom were very clean. I can recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    9.6
    Great location to go and exp,ore the norther lakes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was a bit drafty and rather cold at times despite turning up the heating.

    The hotel is very nice, well suited within walking distance of Keswick and Skiddaw. Special mention most go to the staff who went out of their way to be helpful. The entire team was extremely friendly and we really enjoyed the lovely atmosphere at the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful time with fabulous food and glorious weather
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was a little uncomfortable, although this may be due to the fact that we are used to a tempur mattress as opposed to a sprung mattress, so please don't be put off by this comment it is only an observation

    The breakfasts were amazing and truly worthy of their "Award Winning" status. The evening meals on both nights were outstanding with helpful and friendly staff met at all times during our stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant stay and polite attentive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom was a little on the small side but as I was only there 1 night it wasn't an issue.

    Comfy and very clean room. Double bed. Breakfast very nice and served quickly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    8.3
    Great place, looking forward to visiting again.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A few more seats in the bar area would be good.

    Lovely hotel. Staff are all very friendly. Good very good, especially the breakfast. Nice range of beer and cider in the bar.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    7.1
    It was convenient, but!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tiny room. Not working = kettle and light over sink. The loo has entrance height that is about 5 feet tall. I bumped my head. No warning. The loo's sloping ceiling means that a man has to crouch to use it.

    location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    8.3
    A very clean comfortable room with a decent ensuite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Proximity to the main road meant there was an element of noise but not enough to disturb my sleep.

    A very clean comfortable room with a decent ensuite. I stayed in a small single attic room for two nights but it was cosy and had everything I needed. That room would not be ideal if you’re tall though as the eaves encroach on the space especially in the bathroom. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was nice. I was with a group and we all enjoyed our stay. Great views from the rooms to the front.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2018

    8.8
    Nice bar and restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed not too comfortable. Nothing negative to add because generally a nice place to stay

    Nice bar and restaurant. Cosy lounge . great location breakfast good . Nice bedroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    9.6
    Overall we enjoyed stay in this homely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Double bed in room 5 was too small and mattress was lumpy but interesting !

    Friendly staff.....very homely hotel with lovely open fire......extremely welcoming !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    10
    The best little boutique hotel in England.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Superbly situated and with a great view from my bedroom window. The staff were amazing and the food was the best I have had on my trip throughout the UK.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    7.1
    Lovely location, staff, and food. Just needs heating in the rooms a bit warmer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The views from the room where beautiful, but it was a bit on the cold side even with the heating on. The radiator in the bathroom didn’t work so it was freezing having a shower in the morning.

    Very friendly staff, lovely atmosphere in the bar, and fantastic breakfast!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2018

    7.9
    Nice location shame about the rain but the food was lovely
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room one doesn’t have a nice view unless you like fire escapes. Sunday morning was noisy there was a radio one at 7 AM I’m assuming it was the kitchen staff that woke us up!

    Great location for walking with plenty to do in this area

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2018

    8.8
    Very relaxing and with good hosts.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could have had a shower as well as a bath. Space was a bit tight to work at the desk and have the tea and coffee making facilities, ended up putting the tray on the floor.

    Very relaxed stay with excellent breakfast. The location was ideal for my requirements.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2018

    9.6
    The food was exceptional as was the choice of Real Ale on the bar. Both completely exceeded my expec
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food was exceptional as was the choice of Real Ale on the bar. Both completely exceeded my expectations. The staff too were fantastic and very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2018

    10
    Cosy comfortable Inn, just off A66.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could have been a wider selection of beers. Some very strong beer and a weak one but nothing in between.

    Cosy, comfortable with friendly staff. Easy access from A66. Food excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2018

    8.3
    Room was clean, maybe a little dated but fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only real negative was a background noise through the night (noise like boiler/pump makes).

    Room was clean, maybe a little dated but fine. Staff were polite and cheerful. Vegetarian dish for dinner was lovely... Would consider going back there again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    9.2
    Outstanding value, lovely staff and a really nice bar. Definitely will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the single room some people may find the macerator in the en suite too noisy - it didn't disturb me but it can make a loud noise quite suddenly.

    Staff were really lovely and accommodating, I had an early start in the morning and the chef was kind enough to knock my up a cooked breakfast considerably earlier than the official breakfast times.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2017

    7.5
    Nice stay although room a bit too cold.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was really cold as the heating couldn’t be left on by the person in the room, it was controlled by the hotel system. The quilt was quite thin so I woke up cold on numerous occasions. It was a cold weekend so the room was freezing as soon as the heating went off. Bathroom could do with a bit of a once over to freshen it up.

    Nice bar area with open fire which is lovely after a walk out in the cold. My husband loves the beer. The food was tasty although quite expensive especially when the chips aren’t homemade. The room was clean and the bed comfy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2017

    5.4
    the hotel was a disappointment and we didn't feel like home there also their meals were far too expe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not having a front door key cause the front door was locked early and we couldn't go out for a meal

    The location was beautiful and it was snowing too

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2017

    10
    Lovely stay. Will go back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Little disappointed with the cooked breakfast although the variety was good. Plenty of cold food to choose.

    Views and location were spot on. Good value. Evening meals were lovely. Cosy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2017

    6.7
    Nice hotel, friendly owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed at the hotel for dinner and drinks, the bar area was very quiet in the evening it was a shame there was no background music and we felt as the bar staff sat in reception and watched the TV they wanted us to go. We had to go and find them when we wanted a drink.

    We had a lovely stay, nice and cosy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2017

    10
    Lovely relaxing break - just what I needed
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I really hated having to go home :)

    Breakfast is amazing; dinner is amazing I bagged a bargain deal through booking,com but even at normal rates, it's still excellent value for money

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2017

    6.7
    Would have been an enjoyable stay if not for room heat and pump noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 5. First night hot and stuffy, even with the room radiator turned off, window open full and outside temperature around freezing. Second night even worse, also had to endure 'whine' from heating pump in room 'box out'. Hotel management need to rethink the letting of this room or insulate the 'box out' producing the heat and noise.

    Good quality and value evening meals.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2017

    10
    This is an excellent place to stay and the food is magnificent
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was amazing as was the evening meals, staff were very friendly and the inn is very dog friendly, our two dogs enjoyed their stay as much as we did.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2017

    8.8
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    While a lover of real ale , I like a bitter as opposed to pale ales and Mrs wasn’t too impressed with the lager. Breakfast on 2nd day tasted as tho it had been kept warm and not cooked fresh.

    The log fire it was so cosy Room we had had a great view of back garden

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: