Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mill Hotel & Spa Destination 3 stars

Milton Street, Chester, CH1 3NF, United Kingdom

#10 of 28 hotels in Chester

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 5218 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.8
    Reception staff were lovely, told us everything we needed to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Went to order cocktails at the bar and we were told that ‘cocktails are off tonight’. Not good when the bar is advertised as a ‘cocktail bar’. Bar staff were also very rude.

    Reception staff were lovely, told us everything we needed to know and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Ideal base for a short break in Chester.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Class Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very warm. A fan was provided but it was very noisy.

    Convenient for city. Pool was lovely. Bar and bar food were very good and reasonably priced for a hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.3
    Pleasant but too noisy and not worthy of £175 a night for twin room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not good value for money as no airconditioning, in the attic and could not see out of the window, not enough tea bags, no semi skimmed milk and the noise from the traffic is insufferable. Very simple breakfast choice.

    The facilities of pool, gym, spa and 3 restaurants are excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    Every think else was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Class Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 314 has a small window close to celing the room was so hot left the fan on all night, no more than 2 hours sleep all night ,told them that room needs a c

    Every think else was great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely, canal boat trip was the highlight!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather disappointed with the lack of airconditioning as when booking, it said hotel was air conditioned, but in reality only the reception areas were. There was no aircon in bedroom.

    Dinner and trip on canal boat was excellent - very well organized with excellent, friendly staff on board. Hotel quite central, plenty of parking, friendly efficient staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Staff brilliant,super location, food superb very well priced...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Class Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NOTHING!!

    Staff brilliant,super location, food superb very well priced atmosphere in bar area great with good priced real ale on tap!! Our second visit in 4 months so it must be good. To finish our stay had a wonderful meal on the canal cruise at a very reasonable price £29.95. for 4 courses with coffee and after dinner mints. For a 3 star hotel i cannot rate highly enough. I have read some negative reviews all i can say is get a life!!! All picky complaints. Yes our room was by the road not the only hotel situated by a busy road!! Everything considered a fantastic couple of days, will certainly return.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Very good position of hotel excellent for sighting in chester.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Class Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in rooms only a fan. Bedroom extremely hot and stuffy unbearable at times. Hotel need to sort some air conditioning.

    Breakfast very good dinner very good staff very good surroundings very nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.5
    Room was very small, much smaller than the last time I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small, much smaller than the last time I stayed there. Staff very nice, breakfast edible, location great and with a car park, which you now have to pay for! And if you leave your car there after check out its very expensive. They will give you a postcode to a car park that’s a £1 an hour, so you will need to move your car. It’s on a main rd so pot luck whether you get a road view or canal view!! Will definitely stay again as location is so good, but would hope for a slightly nicer view over the canal rather than the main rd.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    Overall very pleased
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom was very hot despite having the window open. However, the hotel did provide a fan and the weather during the day was hot.

    A great location and the staff were friendly and helpful. Excellent selection for breakfast, you could eat as much as you liked.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't realise there was a parking overnight charge until arrival at the hotel. The room was extremely hot due to weather although a small fan was provided, had to have the window open all night which was busy and noisy

    Hotel was fresh,clean and welcoming with lots of food variety options, staff very welcoming and friendly, spa facilities were lovely

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.3
    It was ok but expensive for the room .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was on the top floor near an emergency excit.A bit dated and worn for the price.Bathroom had an over the bath shower .

    Good location ,only 5 minute walk into Chester centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable few days with friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Class Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very hot even with a fan could have done with air con

    Staff very friendly and polite. Pool excellent with hot weather. Position of hotel good close to shops pubs and places to eat.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Good place to stay awhile.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Class Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff; during my whole time at the Mill, only 3 members of staff smiled at me and no-one asked if everything was okay, and no-one pointed out the layout for breakfast on my first morning. I usually travel alone and an enquiry would have been appreciated. Not even Reception greeted me when I checked-in, in sharp contrast to the cheerful chap when I was booking-out. Disappointing you don't stock Campari in the bar (in a Venetian-themed hotel) and you need to place a handle over the bath.

    Very clean, extremely comfortable and fantastic location. I took advantage of the Dinner Cruise and had a fantastic time. The breakfast was excellent. The room was cleaned very carefully and thoroughly, and a portable fan had been left which was very thoughtful. Thank you

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    excellent location lovely staff good value would go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room decor a bit drab and bathroom very small weather was hot could have done with airconditioning fan provided which helped a little

    Got a nice welcome when we arrived all staff friendly and helpful location is brilliant couple minutes walk to town centre and places of interest

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    The location is really good especially if you want to walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is really good especially if you want to walk to Chester Walls. The staff are extremely helpful and the facilities are excellent. The hotel does not have air conditioning but due to the recent spell of warm weather fans were placed in the bedroom which was a nice touch.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.5
    Good location wonderful food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was right next to the main road and so was very noisy even when the window was closed. It would be much better if the hotel invested in triple glazing.

    Breakfast was gorgeous! Pool lovely and bed comfy. Room nice and big. Location was fabulous as it was a short walk away from the town center along the canal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    Comfy and clean and very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Canal Side Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't get parked in car park pressed buzzerand struggled to get answer eventually caught a member of staff and got sorted

    The style of the hotel comfort and location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Ideal location we had a great room across the bridge with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Canal Side Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were disappointed with the breakfast it let our experience down. Self service hot food was only warm, not great quality especially for the price we paid overall. We want to return to Chester and will only return to this hotel if we can get a deal without breakfast at a good price. Its a shame because everything else was excellent.

    Ideal location we had a great room across the bridge with a canal view, spacious, sofa, huge bed, nice bathroom very comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful at all times although stretched somewhat on reception where we did have to wait, not the fault of the individuals who were absolutely doing their best.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    5.0
    Suited our purpose as somewhere central(ish) whilst visiting Chester
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room very small and temperature controlled by opening window which resulted in a lot of traffic noise..

    Reasonably convenient location for visiting Chester and the boat trip supper was good fun.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Superb position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Class Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't fault mill hotel at all

    Situated in a perfect position to either walk into city centre or walk to the railway station . The hotel rooms are clean and of a good size . The bed was very comfortable. And we had a view over the canal . The Staff were extremely friendly and helpful We enjoyed a couple of spa treatments and would definitely recommend treating yourself to one. They were well worth the money. The swimming pool was lovely as was the jacuzzi although we did find it a little difficult to get in and out. The restaurant was very nice and the food was good . Treated ourselves to the canal dinner cruise. Well worth doing if you can.. Overall couldn't fault The Mill hotel and Spa .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Will be back next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was located on the ringroad side which was quite noisy, especially with having to have the window open due to the hot weather.

    The location is just fantastic. On the canal close to some bars and restaurants and still only 5 minutes from the city centre. Free parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.8
    Met my needs but not as good as I had hoped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Class Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean but dated and the bathroom was awful. A tiny cloakroom sink and an old decrepit shower. On our first full day the breakfast staff were surly and rude.

    The location was ideal for visiting Chester. Reception staff were helpful and the dining room staff were great on our second day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable stay good location for exploring Chester
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were not enough electric sockets to be able to use the hairdryer without unplugging something else

    The restuarant served very good quality food and the staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.8
    Generally most of the staff were very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room right about the smoking area which was very noisy most of the time...even at 5am...as it was very hot the window was opened and smoked drifted in.The pillows were the hardest ones I have ever slept on..I did ask for a feather one but they obviously didn't have any and replaced them with polyester one.My neck and shoulders are really painful as a result. Breakfast wasn't very good...was surprised not to have fresh orange juice.The staff at breakfast on our first morning were not friendly at all.

    Generally most of the staff were very pleasant.The food we had in the evening was nicely cooked and fresh.The staff at breakfast on our 2nd morning were completely different and very friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant would stay again 100%
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing i could think that could be better was the hair dryer and if there was a small fridge in room.

    This was a fantastic hotel for all reasons but what makes it fantastic is how friendly all the staff are. All the house keeping staff were so polite and friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel. Location was great it has parking and hotel is very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.8
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Private parking ( great ) extra - price not specified when booking ! Shower didn’t work Noisy - no air con ( fan provided ) Could do with up grading rooms Would not recommend

    The hotel has spa and pool although I didn’t get a chance to use these !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic location on canal tow path and close to town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Class Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a cider drinker I wasn’t impressed with the ciders on tap in the hotel bar. The outside drinking spaces are a bit grim - especially the few seats along the canal.

    Lovely hotel - clean and comfortable. Great facilities in the hotel leisure centre included in room cost so good value for money. All staff were welcoming and pleasant. The dinner cruise was very pleasant and the hotel waiting staff who also work on the boat were excellent and work so hard going up and down with food and drinks. The hotel is walking distance from the station and town centre via the canal towpath and city walls. There’s an excellent pub (The Old Harkers) a couple of minutes walk away along the towpath and above that a Thai and Tepanyaki Restaurant. A little further along the towpath is another pub balled The Artichoke and an Indian Restaurant. These both looked popular but we didn’t have a chance to go in them.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Lovely city and hotel easy walking lovely weather good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My bed was a bit on the soft side for me that’s it.

    Last time we stayed at the Mill was about 6 years ago parking wasn’t that great very little room but they have new parking now fantastic a new build has been added to the back of the hotel really nice sitting out having a drink or food superb and the weather was the icing on the cake loved our stay didn’t want to go home but did will be returning to Chester in the future and it will be the Mill hotel where We will be staying.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Bad start but resolved and had a very pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival we were given a family room even though it was only the two of us, room was cramped, went to reception to ask for another room which we were given the keys to so we could have a look st it. This room was very small and noise from outside traffic very loud. As I had booked this hotel in February and had asked for a nice room as it was our anniversary, I was very unhappy with the rooms we were given. Eventually we were shown a third room and this was a standard double which we were supposed to get in the first place. So after a bad start we did really enjoy our time at the hotel.

    Great location, food very good and excellent value for money. Mocktails especially the Pina colada very enjoyable. Staff helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant hotel in good location near city centre. A little old-fashioned in style though
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room faced onto main road, and quite noisy due to traffic if window open. No aircon so had to open window and use supplied fan to cool down a bit.

    Average breakfast. Comfy bed and good size room. Hotel was happy to store luggage for us after check-out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's nothing you can't love.

    The room was amazing the staff were so polite and helpful , they were always smiling and making us feel really comfortable , the pool and jacuzzi was so amazing and relaxing , the food was delicious we ate here every night , and our rooms were spotless when we came back after our day out and spelt lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    Was a lovely one night city break
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I ordered a coke down stairs in the bar which was flat and nearly transparent it was that watery but thankfully the barman gave me a fresh glass

    Me and my girlfriend both really enjoyed the spa

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.3
    ideal for a few days break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    our room was tucked out the way by the fire escape the road is busy and noisey but we didnt spend much time in it

    5 mins walk into town friendly staff good breakfast spa was lovely

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.8
    Great stay, within easy reach of Liverpool attractions, North Wales and Cheshire Oaks shopping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not really a gripe but more of a preference. Having booked through B.com is always good for cancelling at the last minute but on this occasion I wish I’d gone through the hotel direct they had a two night stay offer with dinner included on the first night in the Canelletto restaurant. Having said that it does depend on one’s appetite!

    I have been to this venue four times, the location is excellent for canal walks, variety of pubs, also, walking the complete (where still in tact) walled City of Chester. Once a month The Mill do a jazz night in the Rialto Bar, best check when it is. The canal boat cruise is good too! Our room was in the main hotel block our room was overlooking the car park and we could hear the extraction/air conditioning fan going - so, maybe ask for a canal side view it might cost extra but it does depend on how much time you like to spend in your room. That said I love the place 💖

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay for a short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No major complaints, good for a short break.

    the room was a bit smaller than expected, thought it might be noisy from the road, but we slept well. Clean and comfy, not too keen on shower curtains.Good food in the restaurant, friendly , helpful staff. A short walk by the canal took you into the city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    5.8
    Never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air conditioning which in this weather was dreadful. The room was small and the bathroom was tiny. The only lighting in the room was from overhead ceiling lights which were not low energy ones and therefore gave off even more heat! There was no way to put on only one or two lights, it was all or nothing.

    The situation was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    5.8
    Overall it was not worth the money but it was nice to get away,”.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Out to was right next to a main road so it was very load with traffic. The weather was really hot and the hotel did not have air condition which resulted in two bad nights sleep. I am very tall and was unable to lie in the bath as it was too small.

    It was in a great location right next to the canal and close to both the city centre and the train station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    5.8
    I think it is a good hotel but lacks attention to detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Class Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Directions to the hotel are poor resulting in unnecessary difficulties in driving there. Meals were average at best. There was a constant hum outside the bedroom from (probably) either a generator or air conditioning unit. The outside space from the bar alongside the bar was decent in previous years, but now is tatty and dirty.

    Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Car parking a nightmare, but staff did help and find us an alternative space. Road works round hotel so diversion in place, not hotels fault but watch out not all drivers follow rules, works to last 18 months

    In easy walk of Chester centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.5
    Friendly staff always willing to help you with any problems ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The choice of extras on the menu were very limited , the steak came with homemade chips lettuce leaf and a few dressed onions with a sauce choice that was your lot , think they could of included the usual extras but overall the food tasted excellent , more choice on all dishes would be an improvement

    Friendly staff always willing to help you with any problems , ease of access to town and great location to sit and watch the world go by

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.8
    Could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Class Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower not very powerful. Room was very warm had a fan but could have done with air conditioning. Business room but no better than travel lodge. Very limited breakfast choice

    Great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Class Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could have been more vegetarian options for the cooked breakfast (scrambled egg, mushrooms, hash browns....)

    The room itself, the staff, the bar and the location were all perfect

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    The food was excellent . Staff were really helpful. Canal boat ride was lovely. Will definitely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything to dislike.

    We went overnight on Friday till Saturday . Breakfast ' was really good staff really helpful and acomadating. Went on the boat cruise with my grandaugter who is 6 and the staff really went out of their way to make it a really good and relaxing experience. Thishotel ismy favourite in Chester .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.5
    A friendly welcome in a well located character building on the canal made for a convenient stop.
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I was allocated needed some upgrading and was rather noisy. I gather others are better so choose carefully.

    Pleasant and welcoming staff Good location Historic building Easy parking Good breakfast Comfortable bar

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    Lots to do in Chester , but not sure I’d go for another city break there
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Class Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel next to canal - nice to see ducks swimming past etc . The walk under bypass into town was grim, litter and broken bottles etc - not hotel property but not nice right next to it.

    Really nice breakfast and great swimming pool and jacuzzi. Bed comfortable and room clean and well kept.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Well worth the money.fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Class Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot fault it.more of a 4 star hotel than 3

    Staff were excellent. Food was to a high standard without it being expensive.Good breakfast plenty of choice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Exceeded expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking was to celebrate 70 birthday including meal for 13 family in restaurant. Staff very attentive to deal even down to taking group photos!! Bonus of music entertainment in evening. A very enjoyable time had by all from 13 to 70!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Relaxing, hassle free short break with plenty to do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Canal Side Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    £7.50 charge per day for parking. Its free i believe if you have stayed there before.

    Big bedroom, excellent view over the canal, river cruise a must. Pool very inviting with all the other facilities. Meals were excellent. Disco on sat night. Short pleasant walk to the shops and centre of Chester.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Mother/daughter weekend at the Mill Hotel and Spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need air conditioning - weather exceptionally warm which left rooms very stuffy and uncomfortable

    Hotel very friendly - rooms really good size and beautifully decorated - location very central - in all a super weekend

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable and relaxing short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of anything I didn't like.

    Excellent restaurant and ambience. Very good location with friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable room and good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.4
    Beware you will have to pay an extra £7.50 if you use the carpark!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I always find that first impressions count and set the tone, and to be told unexpectedly that I would be charged £7.50 to park my car overnight in the hotel carpark set things off badly. The receptionist told me brusquely that "It was in the booking terms" And when I went to my room and checked, there it was, it took me 5 minutes to find it though on Booking.com and I was actively searching. At £95 for the night the hotel is slightly overpriced for the standard, but at £102.50 I would never have booked it, it isn't the money, I just hate being misled! Apart from that there was a dirty brown stain on the carpet, and a dirty brown stain down the toilet. The breakfast was well cooked but limited, no mushrooms, scrambled eggs by special order and the breakfast table was dirty. Everything else was acceptable but I left feeling ripped off, I won't be returning.

    Pool and Spa area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.3
    Overall our stay for 3 nights was great and we would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The ladies pool changing rooms; the bubbles in the pool - the switch is on the other side of the bubble area and it was cold; our room was a little small (twin); clothes space in the room wasnt enough for both of us. Shame outside seating is facing a car park rather than the water. Being charged for the parking at £7.50/night - of which we were told we had to pay as we didnt book directly with the hotel.

    The hotel as a whole.. there is everything there, rooms, restaurant, bar, bar food, spa, pool and outside seating, the boat cruise with dinner; fan in room (it was hot when we were there); parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Recommended we would like to come again. There is much to see in Chester and its surrounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We really cannot think of anything worth mentioning that could be improved

    Restaurant and Dinner boat staff brilliant especially Kieth. Menu and food quality above average in the two restaurants Reception very helpful. Car parking in secure compound. Very convenient for easy walk along canal path into Chester The standard double bedroom did have two easy chairs

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    It was within walking distance of the town centre
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was at the hotel because I had business meetings locally. I tried to connect my laptop to the Wi-Fi but it wouldn't connect

    It was within walking distance of the town centre

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location reasonable value with some attention to cleanliness required
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shelving units in wardrobe were layered with dust and affected clothing left there. Extractor fan in bathroom was at head height clearly showing it was clogged with dust circa 2 yrs. Shame these issues put a slant on otherwise nice hotel

    Very pleasant staff at all times. Great location with nice addition of leisure facilities incl swimming pool at nice temperature. Good breakfast and bar food incl specials

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Chester mill hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a little smaller than our daughter's room

    Location was within sight of Chester cathedral. Evening meal and breakfast were very good .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Excellent location, 5 minutes from Station, staff very friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - All good!!!

    Excellent Staff, excellent food, arrived late evening, ordering food 5 minutes before kitchen closed, didn't meet any negativity whatsoever with this (as I have in other hotels)...staff remained friendly and attentive. Didn't realise how close to station which was a bonus. Have stayed before and there is more than ample parking. Large room with extremely comfy bed. Tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    We have stayed here 3 times and it has always been very good...
    • Family with young children
    • Club Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No faults.

    We have stayed here 3 times and it has always been very good value. The breakfast is excellent as is the location to the centre of Chester.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Great location and good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Access to the car park rather a steep incline and then you have to press the call button to get in. The post code didn't work good job I knew I was going it was better to put the street name in Access should be easier when the new buildings are finished as you seem to go down a lot of narrow streets

    Location as it's only a short walk to town centre

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Overall a great weekend and the staff in the restaurant and breakfast are very welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff need to be a little more helpful with the special offers that the hotel run such as the Gin club. If you are interested in this offer Purchase 5 double Gin & Fever Tree mixer and receive 1 free, make sure you ask them which Gin's are included in the offer before you order.

    Great location and plenty of pubs/restaurants nearby, however the bar and the food at the hotel were excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.5
    Really lovely stay 8/10 a couple of tweaks would have made the stay perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were quite warm and shower not very powerful. Could have done with a little more choice at breakfast and car parking especially at weekends was quite busy!

    Really good location. Excellent restaurant and bar and the boat cruiser restaurant was the highlight of the stay! Really nice indoor pool and spa facilities. Would definitely come back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Smashing weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing.all perfect

    Lovely polite staff.warm clean room.excellent location near to other pubs,restaurants and shops.our second stay here and will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    6.7
    Staff were nice, special mention to James in the restaurant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small even though we had been given an upgrade, was very stuffy as did not have full size mirror Bathroom was tiny, toilet literally next to bath not big enough if more than one person was in there

    Staff were nice, special mention to James in the restaurant!! Canal cruise was pleasant and great price Restaurant was good value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.0
    Look elsewhere unless really desperate.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Business Class Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked through booking.com and so had to pay £7.50 for the car park. this was not obvious on the booking.com site until i had booked and paid. The hotel is obviously used to complaints/queries as when i questioned this a handful of booking confirmations was produced which included mine and the receptionist pointed out the "proof" that this was stated on the website. I had to crouch down to get under the shower and i am only 5'8". Will not use again unless i have to.

    comfy bed. good location close to centre, good pub and Indian restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Will be going back, despite the coffee
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better organised. Day 1 waiting for bacon. Day 2 waiting for eggs. Dining room layout designed to make it hard to go from one side to the other made even worse by people in the breakfast queue. And, maybe the worst coffee I've ever been offered - won't say tried because even the smell put me off.

    Nice, big room. Hotel right by the canal, easy walk into city centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    Great hotel with a good location, easy parking and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was a bit small, and the rooms on the higher floors were very warm. Fans were provided but were quite noisy.

    Great hotel with a great location. It is in a city centre so quite noisy but that only to be expected. Breakfast was excellent with good choice for gluten free and fast service. Parking was free and great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location for sightseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower in the standard room was weak and the room was very hot. To cool it down one had to open the window letting in the traffic noise. Wifi was unreliable.

    Great range of craft ales, food in the Realto bar was good with decent sized portions, breakfast was plentiful, bed was comfy, great location for town centre, parking on site.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.9
    Lovely hotel on the Canal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Canal Side Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I requested a bottle of Prosseco and a box of Chocolates on arrival for my partners 70th. The Chocolate's only had a few days left before the best before date expired ( lovely box of hand made one's though). I told one of the staff and later they were replaced but with a box of milk tray, I felt that someone had just popped down to the shop to get them. I was a bit disappointed but on the day we checked out I had been refunded the price for the Chocolate's.

    Clost to the center of Chester and all the amenities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.8
    Ideal location Spa hotel with the added bonus of being right on the canal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot weather when we stayed and room was too hot. Fair to say a fan was available but would have preferred to have an open window.

    Brilliant location. Can walk to city centre. Restaurant was good value and well presented. Great view of canal. Canal cruise with evening meal was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.3
    chilled weekend (apart from the bar manager gong off on one)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Bar manager could do with some MANNERS/RESPECT for the other bar staff & also customer service skills re-teaching, his attitude shocked me, the rest of the bar staff and restaurant staff were very good. The steam room was disappointing due to it smelling of sweat both days and needed a good hose down. (it hadn't been cleaned in the 2 days I used it.) Even tho a fan was in our room it was still an unbearable 25 degrees, but was very grateful there was a fan as previous reviewers had said the rooms get hot .

    Stayed here a coupe of times, upgraded rooms are worth it & near the pool & gym. Bar prices are very cheap compared to other hotels, sports were on TV in the bar, Food on a evening was very good from what we had, steak was how it should have been, but breakfast was only mediocre buffet breakfast. Shampoo, conditioner and soap didn't get replenished second day so if you take it to the pool/ spa area remember to take it back to the room or take your own.( only shower gel at pool) ( the hotel specified toiletries supplied but wasn't on second night stay :/ disappointing as I hadn't taken extra due to reading it was supplied (bad hair day followed ). All in all apart from lack of hair conditioner and having to request mushrooms and poached eggs at breakfast it's fine. I must say the bed was extremely comfy and the pillows not too high perfect for us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.6
    Great break away loved our dinner cruise 🚢
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Class Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows uncomfortable bed not the best

    Rooms were comfortable and really enjoyed our stay but pillows were really uncomfortable needed to be firmer!! Bathroom was small but clean would return😆

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable time and you will enjoy to,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Said in other comments but should be allowed in before 4pm

    Everything was great you must take the canal boat the drinks a little up on price as you take it on but worth it , staff on boat excellent think a pay rise would help them, Bad side no air on in room but fan helped a lot, right in town short enjoyable walk , If ur on south side lift straight to pool and spa, just remember if going to reception or brekkie floor 2 takes a little getting used too but great place , Car parking is£7 day but same everywhere, Couple negatives but won't kill you , enjoy,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    The staff throughout the hotel were exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Do be aware the standard rooms are really quite small, this is due to the nature of the old mill building as it has been converted. Space is used well. We were in a twin room and would have liked some form of bedside table (there were none)

    The staff throughout the hotel were exceptional. The room service/Rialto food was excellent. Breakfast was good, if a little basic (no pastries etc) Rooms and hotel cleanliness were very high standard Lovely tea and coffee facilities in the room with biscuits each day. Excellent strength, free wifi available (on parts of Booking.com it is listed as no internet service incorrectly) Lovely swimming pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    Situated in a good area so very handy for the cathedral and town, plus good walks on the waterside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed could have been bigger.

    The staff at breakfast were very helpful, polite and cheerful. The bar was lovely and the outside sitting area was nicely furnished.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Canal Side Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning

    We had a complimentary up grade to a club class premium room which was fantastic. Good food plus selection for breakfast was good, air conditioned would be a bounes if fitted as our room on the top floor was hot at times but we did have patio doors which we could open😀😀

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Mill Hotel & Spa Destination traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: