Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Miller Howe Hotel And Restaurant 3 stars

Rayrigg Road, Windermere, LA23 1EY, United Kingdom

#6 of 15 hotels in Windermere

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 163 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all. My only regret is with my elderly mother's deteriorating mobility we will need a bedroom/wet room bathing in future so please develop an "easy access" option.....however not at the expense of ruining the charm of your delightful Hotel.

    Exceptional view from balcony room (Troutbeck); Afternoon Tea special treat, outstanding breakfast. All meals, wine choice, cocktails first class. Staff friendly and helpful; felt welcomed and well looked after. Such a special place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room above Kitchen, they didn’t turn off their ventilation for a night. Not the nicest night however I think someone just forgot about it and we weren’t lucky.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were uncomfortable and mattress really needed replacing.

    Fantastic views across Windermere and the food was amazing. Staff were really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The first time I have seen a hotel bedroom carpet COMPLETELY worn through to the underlying plastic! The metal spiral staircases to the terrace (presumably were more recent additions since the Arts & Crafts period) were showing rust - just a coat of paint is all that's needed. Still a nice hotel but not great value for money (I stayed in a Hotel du Vin on the south coast a few days later for 40% of the price).

    The location is absolutely superb. It is an historic arts and crafts building with some of the original wallpapers etc. Restoration must be a difficult balance, but even so the hotel is in need of additional capital investment. Staff were very helpful throughout our stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I loved everything about this hotel - the beautiful setting, the decor in the room, the excellent service. The breakfast was very nice and set us up nicely for a day of walking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blind in bathroom window, next room could see in when showering

    Nice big bed, lovely breakfast, gorgeous grounds and helpful staff. The large balcony was an added bonus

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pastries at breakfast, self selection at breakfast was quite limited. Would of been nice to have more fruit options, some meat/cheese and a selection of bread and pastries. Our room was a little tired and in need of decoration, particularly the carpet which was badly stained in parts. We were charged £10 extra for our dog. This was not mentioned when booking, not a fortune I know, but should of been informed prior to stay.

    Excellent staff. Grounds and main building were of high standards and well maintained. Service at breakfast was good. Easy to find and excellent location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the garden suite there was a door leading into a kitchen which I wasn’t shown. I was confused as to weather or not I was allowed to use this kitchen. I also realised that the door had a lock which could be opened from both sides and that there was a notice on the kitchen back door telling us not to bolt it. It made me feel quite uneasy that anyone could be in this kitchen and could walk straight into my suite. There were also no information leaflets to let you know what was around the area worth giving a visit, I know Windermere very well, but for those who don’t I think it would of been an extra touch. Also breakfast on one of the mornings could not be made because of problems with chef.

    The views from this place are spectacular. The staff were nothing but professional but also very friendly. The garden suite was immaculate.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initial issues with bedroom were dealt with immediately and the stay was superb. The young man working in the hotel and waiting on in the restaurant on Saturday evening and Sunday morning is a credit to the hotel. A most enjoyable stay and we will hopefully return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location overlooking the lake - unfortunately a grey and rainy visit for us so expect it would be extra beautiful in the summer but it was still lovely to enjoy the views from the comfort of our room and the beautiful lounge and conservatory downstairs. Very comfortable rooms and tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a great stay here but felt it was a little over-priced when compared to similar hotels offering a fine dining experience. It just felt we were being charged as much as could be gotten away with. For example, breakfast was charged separately at £15 per head so instantly adding £30 to an already considerable bill. I would have prefered a B&B price as most hotels offer so this felt a bit stealthy. In addition, being charged over £8 for a G&T seemed a bit greedy. For one night, DB&B our bill came to well over £300 so not for the faint-hearted!

    The location of the hotel affords some of the best views across Windermere I've ever seen - truly spectacular. the bed was extremely comfortable and the shower was excellent. Spotlessly clean, comfortable and well appointed throughout.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were disappointed in the fact that we were not told that we would be situated in the cottage. The hotel is shabby and we are sure when the new Mexican owner arrives it will improve. The staff were delightful.

    The staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to dislike with the hotel itself, the only thing is the parking that's not the hotels fault it's some customers don't know how to park properly and take 2 to 3 spaces with one car.

    The view from a hotel room was superb yes darling, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the breakfast was gorgeous.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I doubt I could have asked for more

    Everything was at superlative... The staff very professional and in the same time VERY helpful and friendly, room spotless clean, food excellent, could not ask for more

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small for the £250 price tag however views made up for that somewhat.. Cooked Breakfast was delicious but not enough..

    Amazing views.. Beautiful location..Great for surrounding activities and walks.. 👍

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All of the descriptions for the rooms state lake view and balcony. Our room had neither. Disappointing overall as we had swapped from another hotel with a higher rating but with no lake view to this one based on the lake view advertised. The staff were not willing to discount the cost or make a gesture to alleviate our disappointment on my partners birthday weekend which seemed unreasonable as the room was clearly falsely advertised on booking.com. We were offered an upgrade on our next stay but based on our first stay, that will also be our last! Overall pretty disappointed. Ps- Fellas, make sure your shirt is crease free as there is only one ironing board for the full hotel.

    Comfy bed and great location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For some one who has very poor hearing the dining area has wooden floors which makes hearing even more difficult. The television in the room did not appear to have subtitles.

    A very comfortable room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a small thing, but I felt the towels could have been a tad more generous.

    The vintage country hotel atmosphere was most pleasant, the staff helpful, warm and welcoming and the food, naturally, memorable. As for the weather, well it was The Lakes.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to the hotel being short staffed the room was not serviced when it was supposed to be. Also, there was absolutely no acknowledgement of the fact that it was one of our birthday treats, even though they were aware of this. A kindly "happy birthday" would have been all that was needed but nothing being said was a disappointment.

    The room was extremely comfortable and the grounds and views were spectacular

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have had more storage space in the room

    The room was very comfortable with a wonderful view over the lake. Breakfast was excellent with good choice and all was served. Lovely grounds to walk in. Windermere and Bowness were an easy 5 or so minute drive away.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv in our room did not work, we were relocated to the cottage. Breakfast ...the porridge was lovely but my main breakfast was very small. I had scrambled egg and salmon. It was tiny. We were also left waiting far too long for our main course, we were forgotten about. The hotel itself has amazing views but I think it is in dire need of a revamp.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bar was not very well stocked as draught beers 1 bitter 1 lager

    the staff did not listen to the breakfast order correctly so the meal had items not ordered on the plate & items omitted The full English should be renamed the third English very sparse indeed !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menu options were limited and potions whilst presented well were small and not so well cooked. Kitchen service on the evening meal and the morning breakfast service were extremely slow and some guests waited 2 hours for the main course! We were told that one of the chefs had to attend a family emergency but they didn't seem to have any back up plan. They also ran out of fresh juice and fresh fruit for the breakfast so non sufficient provisions allowed for - poor planning. Would recommend they make the breakfast starter as a self service and chef could focus on the main course cooking and delivery

    Staff were friendly and attentive. They responded quickly to a complain we had about the room ( it was right next to the kitchen extractor fan and noisy) and moved us to one of their cottages in the grounds which was quiet and private.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly tired in some areas. Initial reception not really welcoming. Wide angle lens did not provide a realistic photo of the room, the room was good but disappointing. Expensive. Noisy guests well after 11pm.

    Restaurant staff superb, dining room view must be the best in the lakes. Excellent 5 acre grounds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner menu. Very extravagant. Nothing wrong with it but limited options and not to our taste. There is a large variety of restaurants in town along with the busy atmosphere

    Room was very comfortable. The views and gardens were very pretty. The Staff happily arranged taxis for us as they are cheap and easier and cheaper than finding a parking space in town. The walk into town is dark and maybe 25-30 mins. 5mins in a taxi

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little cramped and although it was advertised as a side view of the lake we only got glimpses of it due to the VERY LARGE oak tree in front of the room. So this was somewhat disappointing. (Coniston)

    The homely feel and attention to detail. Beautiful gardens and excellent tasty breakfast. The afternoon tea was enjoyable and the coffee very good but maybe there should have been one or two more elements to the tea itself.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't operate the TV remote correctly, not a big issue though and wi-fi unavailable in our room due to location, again, a small detail.

    Evening meal is of exceptional quality, Knowledgeable waiter/ress. Grounds lovely. Presentation superb. View breathtaking in our room and the Restaurant conservatory, beautiful Windermere.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    With the extra payment, I wanted to upgrade my room to lake view that included dinner. But, the manager for some reason told me there was not any lake view room available, even though it was available. I assumed it would be more profitable for them, if I had to pay £95 separately for dinner for two. I believe dinner is very expensive considering the portions. Breakfast and dinner portions are very very small. Breakfast is not satisfactory at all.

    Tea and coffee taste fantastic. View and atmosphere relaxing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a pet friendly hotel but there were no bins outside for accidents and it would have been nice to have had bedding or bowls for the dog.

    Our room had a great view overlooking Lake Windermere. Breakfast was lovely and there was a good selection.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our bedroom was very close to a very noisy kitchen extractor fan that was in continuous use until very late in the evening. Avoid "Buttermere" if you want a quiet sleep.

    The staff were very obliging. One of us was not well during the visit and although we started in a noisy bedroom, as soon as they could (the next day) we were moved to a much quieter one. Breakfast with an amazing view over Windermere has to be a fabulous bonus.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were given was up two flights of stairs and there was only a rather low powered shower attachment over a huge inaccessible bath. I managed but my partner who is 70 and not very flexible had to manage with a strip wash !!! As is was just a stopover we managed

    Very tasty not fatty and not too much to be overwhelming.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parts of the hotel are a little tired but the character of the interior and building far and away make up for that.

    Fantastic view, hotel has real character and staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The double bed was made up of two single mattresses pushed together. This caused a dip in the middle. The only criticism I have.

    The food is incredible and the staff are all warm and friendly as well as being very efficient.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager was amazing, warm and welcoming and exactly what you would want. His deputy in contrast was very cold and unfriendly. She did spoil it for us a little. The food in the restaurant lived up to our high expectations but it was very quiet and so lacked atmosphere, the music choice was not good but that could be personal taste.

    Old fashioned comfort and luxury.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely views, friendly helpful staff The room and bathroom looked like it had been recently refurbished, however the carpet was actually threadbare in places The food in the restaurant was divine however service took longer than we anticipated

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room we were given was very nice but there was a lot of noise from the kitchen below which we mentioned to the receptionist when she showed us the room. She assured us the fans would go off at 10 and would not come back on until 8. The fans did not go off until 11.30 and were back on at 7.20. We could still hear fridges or maybe washing machines still running all night. We took this very short break for a relaxing break from our very busy working life. It was completely ruined by this very noisy room. We did complain and we were given another room which was very nice, I cannot understand why we were given this very noisy room when other rooms were available. We were offered no compensation or apology. Not what we expected from a highly rated hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    front of hotel over looking hotel tired and some what dangerous in wet.needs complete overhaul incl window frames etc of conservatory.some of furniture whilst in keeping was dated and shabby

    staff excellent

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was all brilliant.

    The bed was bliss. Extra large and comfy. The food was excellent quality. The fruit salad starter and yoghurt as a breakfast starter was divine. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noise of the road

    The large bedroom with balcony and views across the lake. Just the little extras like the bed sheets being turned down at night and a glass of water and glasses brought to the bedside every night. Also liked the orchid in the bedroom and throughout the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel, starting to look very tired, in places, balcony tiles loose, marks on carpet wallpaper coming away,rust on inside window catches, numerous other things, that let hotel, down, especially for hefty charges.

    The views from superior rooms good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is an air of faded grandeur. The internal facilities were modern and the accommodation was very clean and comfortable. But, particularly externally the building is showing signs of wear and tear. Nothing to put us off returning, but some investment would do much to restore the property and create a stronger sense of what the hotel has to offer. Although not directed at us one of the staff in the restaurant one morning was noticeably and unnecessarily sharp towards some patrons. This was out of keeping with everyone else we met who worked there and we wondered whether waiting on tables was not part of her usual duties.

    The hotel has the most amazing views and is an ideal location for visiting this part of Cumbria. Plenty of parking (in an area where parking charges amount to a tax on tourists). We enjoyed the country house feel of the hotel and and appreciated the helpfulfulness of the staff. The garden also deserves mention, as it offers a pleasant stroll with a great outlook.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a lot. Maybe it's time the single glazed windows were replaced, but really that didn't take away from an excellent experience.

    The Arts and Crafts furniture looked superb and our bed was really comfy. We had a super view from our bedroom over Windermere (helped by good weather the day we arrived). Food was really good too.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heated towel rail was cold, advised faulty and awaiting repair. Noise from kitchen ventilation morning and evening (Buttermere Room).

    Porridge good. Bathroom good size and hot water was hot!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a very pleasant stay, the staff were so welcoming and always at hand to help you, the rooms are very comfortable , clean and spacious. We will definitely be returning again .

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place itself requires a little updating & renovation as the conservatory leaking wasn't a pretty sight. Some of the staff could be more welcoming but some were lovely.

    The view From our room & the restaurant is second to none. From first look at the restaurants menu I wasn't thrilled but honestly the food was exceptional & I would 100% return.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A couple of the staff had a little attitude, but got better as the two days went on .

    The view was stunning. Bedrooms and bathrooms very clean, but a bit old fashioned and tired looking for the price charged. Comfortable bed. Food very good, although limited dinner menu if there for more than one night. Nice touches of a carafe of water at night time and the bed turned down.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about our stay was 5* you will love the experience and the views are stunning

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel, perfect location. Staff really lovely and breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful food Comfortable bed Brilliant view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner is not value for money. A three course dinner costs GBP47.5 per head, but the taste is much below expectation.

    Stunning Lake view!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Veiw was lovely and staff where friendly and very helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little

    Old fashioned but v v quaint lovely staff ....rooms nice ..view to die for brill

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    all good in every way.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was poor in the room.

    Superb room, superb food, very polite and helpful staff, and a view from the room to die for.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Clean and stylish

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No handrails on bath

    Staff were very friendly brilliant Rooms fabulous views astounding Food lovely

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast very tasty. Eggs very fresh

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    This is a hotel which is a a cut above the rest: rooms, location, staff, lounges, food are just fantastic.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some furniture a bit dated and tired.

    Awesome location with amazing views. Staff and service very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Menu old fashioned. hotel shabby except dining room. noisy kitchen fan outside bedroom window.

    location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great quality food and drink but at a price

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little far from the Windermere station.

    Great View of the lake

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gloomy and run down won't go back

    Food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food poor. Service very slow

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from our balcony room was incredible! Couldn't of been happier.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything is fantastic

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay wasn't long enough!!

    Beautiful surroundings, friendly staff and excellent food!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast menu choice on evening meal

    Position and cleanliness of rooms

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a beautiful room overlooking Sparrow Bay. A rainbow first thing in the morning completed my stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lake view from room superb. Dinner divine. Breakfast inc porridge with whisky excellent. 15 years since we first stayed an overdue return.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    expensive

    best restaurant

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely location with large garden and view of lake. Bedroom also had excellent view and was very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner and breakfast were absolutely fabulous fine dining.The view over lake Windermere was stunning and the lake was only a 5 minute walk away.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: