Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Millstream Hotel & Restaurant 3 stars

Bosham Lane, Bosham, Chichester, PO18 8HL, United Kingdom

#2 of 10 hotels in Chichester

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 340 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Enjoyed everything!

    Welcoming staff - glass of wine on arrival. Room very good - efficient fan which was a welcome bonus as the weather was hot. Food excellent. Good short walks from the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were able to hear each step from the guests above our room as the building is very old.

    we had a very comfortable Twin bed room on the Ground Floor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only staying one night!

    We loved the extra t’touches’ - a glass of wine when we arrived because the concierge was absent, the welcome from the guy who offered us the wine, friendliness of the staff, lovely decor all in such good order, lovely white linen on bed, great food, wonderful breakfast! Pretty gardens etc etc The bill being out under the door of the room - loads of things that are so lacking in most modern day hotels. This was old style hospitality & style - plus plus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and bathroom were very well appointed. The decor was subtle and fresh. Very comfortable spacious room . Fresh milk and water in fridge very welcome. Staff very pleasant. Dinner was excellent and there was a lovely choice for breakfast and so nicely presented. Really couldn't speak more highly of our stay and will definitely return

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the quality of the accommodation, I would have expected a slightly more comfortable bed.

    Very comfortable room and facilities, good shower and reasonable size. Nice touches like coffee machine. Friendly staff and warm welcome. A comfortable bar and lounge area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was pleasant but not special considering the price. Could have more of a luxurious feel and could have more extras e.g special drinks/food in room

    Restaurant food good quality and price- Brasserie restaurant Breakfast also very good - Good selection Free glass of wine on arrival very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We would have preferred a wider choice from - or change of - the dinner menu as we were staying four nights.

    Well-appointed bathroom, lots of lovely soft towels. Provision of mini-fridge with fresh milk and mineral water to supplement the tea and coffee making facilities. Excellent, well-cooked food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has quite an expensive room rate and for that the rooms could do with a little updating. Little disappointed even though I had mentioned when booking it was a birthday celebration there was no acknowledgement!

    Location was spot on, lovely and quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We made the mistake of having dinner in the Hotel restaurant. The Kitchen apparently closes at 9.00pm and arriving at 8.30 and having a drink at the bar while we looked at the menu seemed to irritate them. Food was ok, nothing special but, equally, nothing awful. What was appalling however was the change of mood once the kitchen was closed - we had ordered a cheese plate to share and my wife didn’t like the crackers [wafer thin, hexagonal things - dry and as hard as concrete] so she asked if she could have some bread to which the response was “...sorry, no, the kitchen’s closed”. Bit of persistence from my wife and after a few more Fawlty Towers like exchanges some bread was grudgingly produced. As we ate the staff then started to set-out all the breakfast buffet equipment, serving plates, food warmers, crockery, cutlery right next to us. The best was yet to come though ...as we sat finishing our cheese and coffee a member of staff arrived and started cleaning the table surfaces around us - literally spraying disinfectant cleaner on the tables right next to us while we were eating!!!!!!! It wasn’t as if we were horribly late - this was all happening around 10.15-10.30pm It genuinely was like being in an episode of Fawlty Towers

    The front exterior looks very picturesque

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that is worthy of comment

    Reception staff were excellent.From the time we arrived we were made to feel welcome and throughout our stay were always treated more like friends than just customers.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WE HAVE JUST SPENT A WEEKEND IN THE MILLSTREAM WHICH WAS SUPERB. THE BED WAS VERY COMFORTABLE (ALWAYS IMPORTANT!) THE FOOD WAS WONDERFUL AND THE STAFF COULDN'T DO ENOUGH AND WERE VERY HELPFUL AND FRIENDLY. WE CAME AWAY FEELING TOTALLY RELAXED AND CAN'T WAIT TO VISIT THE MILLSTREAM AGAIN.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price did not meet what I would expect. Plus it was for a special occasion and the hotel did not go out of their way to mark it unless I changed my booking directly to them. Even if I had we would have only got a glass of champagne or a box chocolates which was an insult considering how much the rate was. I wouldn’t recommend or book here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wall tiles in the ensuite. Dated.

    Booking was not recorded. Receptionist quickly resolved the matter. Room available which was an upgrade without additional payment. I (Colin) knew of the Hotel living locally in Selsey and it was on my bucket list. May return for lunch sometime.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just the towels and robes - tired compared to the new bathroom suite

    Wonderful refurbed bathroom, excellent bed, well stocked fridge and espresso machine - WHAT'S NOT TO LOVE! Excellent food; perfect breakfast, very professional staff. Calm, quiet, peaceful ; lovely garden roo with french doors

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is always a bottle of white wine in the freezer; as red wine drinkers it would be good to have a choice - perhaps an e mail when booking is confirmed.

    The location is ideal for us while visiting friends and family in Bosham and surrounding area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking spaces could be more clearly marked, as some (thoughtless) drivers occupied two parking spaces instead of ensuring that they used just one space.

    Comfortable and spacious and well-appointed room. Excellent and delicious food beautifully presented. Friendly and attentive staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better sound quality from the TV in the room - always a problem with flatscreen tvs!

    Staff are welcoming and service is superb in all aspects. Rooms are clean and well presented. Food is excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in Cottage 1. Would have preferred more spacious accommodation. It was difficult to determine difference between apartments and cottages on website - Overall size & and size of bed would be helpful. Would probably have booked the larger cottage if we had been able to see dimensions. Although very clean, it smelt quite “fusty”

    Cottage was well heated - as we were there when the U.K. weather was cold & icy, this was very welcome! It was very clean and furnishings of good quality & tastefully chosen. All the staff and all aspects of catering were really excellent (including the home made shortbread in the room!) The staff were friendly, welcoming & efficient. Good selection of hot meals on the breakfast menu were freshly cooked to order. Had one dinner in the restaurant and it too was excellent - well cooked & presented without being too pretentious. If we lived in the area would certainly be somewhere we visited a lot! WiFi extremely good throughout (don’t usually mention this in a review but it really was excellent) Parking was good too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had no cause to find fault with anything. We had a lovely room. The staff were very helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed our evening meal.It was nice to be received with complimentary refreshments.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed and bedding were so comfy. The shower head had amazing pressure. Nice fluffy towels and towel warmer. Very updated and large bathroom. A Kurig-type coffee pot and an electric kettle with tea and coffee were in the room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the management seem to have thought of everything to make your stay relaxing

    a very comfortable hotel. great location for walks around the harbour, and surrounding area. the bed was very comfortable. trouser press and iron with board very useful. service impeccable during our stay. the food excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcome basket of fruit, bread, homemade cake and cookies and in the fridge some milk and a bottle of wine was extremely welcome and a lovely surprise. Superb location too as a base to explore the area. We ate at Mawicks for two evenings and had excellent meals.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Struggled to get hot water in the wash basin and when that was improved the hot bath water pressure reduced One of the two radiators in the living area did not work - it was sludged up. They provided an electric radiator which made the second day very comfortable

    Bathroom decor

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was good but quite expensive for what you got

    The whole experience was great the hospitality team were very attentive I was greeted each time as Mr Surname, Food excellent there were 12 in my party and we will be booking next year.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed in room 18 and suffered the throbbing of the hotels air conditioning system- not the one in the room but something bigger and nearby. This is room is not for someone looking for peace or a view. Thankfully the vibration stopped after 10pm. The bathroom ventilating fan was, as usual in hotels far too noisy.

    The food was excellent and the wine on arrival was a nice touch

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only the weather!!

    As previous inhabitants of Bosham before our retirement to Spain, the Millstream is an ideal location to stay while visiting friends and family. It is also central to two village pubs and within easy driving distance of Chichester and Emsworth.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Cottage Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were allocated a garden cottage which was a short walk on well lit paths with comfortable accommodation - small bedroom and bathroom with sitting area. As we are both in our late 70's it was not a good location to walk to at night and in the morning unfortunately it was raining and we had a wet walk to the restaurant for breakfast.

    The peace and quiet location public rooms comfortable and good service With a late booking we had little choice of room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The temperature in the hotel was uncomfortably warm. This must be very wasteful for the establishment as well as uncomfortable for guests, never mind global warming. I spoke with one of the housekeeping staff who complained herself that it was almost unbearably hot cleaning the rooms etc.

    Staff helpfulness and friendliness and, having stayed at The Millstream a number of times, I like its location and overall charm.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although clean overall the blind in the kitchen of apartment one wasn't. It had a couple of spiders that looked like they'd been living there a while. On checkout the cleaners arrived at 10.30 despite us being told we could leave at 11. When handing keys back the lady just said "all paid up, thanks", no mention of how was our stay or anything like that.

    All appliances/products you could ask for with self catering, plus some complimentary food and drink. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I know it's old fashioned, but personally I prefer sheets and blankets, then you can adjust to your own personal needs.

    Comfortable bed. In room items, e.g. fresh milk, excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were disappointed that the cost of breakfast £17.50 per person was so much, bearing in mind that while one of us enjoys a full English, the other has just a slice of toast and marmalade.

    Extremely helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning system didn’t work and the room was very hot as the weather was hot for October but we where told a new system was being installed in all the rooms but had only completed the first 10.

    For a hotel it was quiet Even though we where above the kitchen . The staff where very helpful .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the staff seemed a little less experienced (and did rush service a bit, especially at breakfast). Most staff though gave an excellent service.

    The restaurant was superb. The welcome drinks were a lovely surprise. The surrounding village is really pretty.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hot water coming into the wash basin took a very long time to run hot. The radiator in the bathroom didn't sem to work.

    Comfortable room. Nice linen in the dining room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - we loved it all.

    Over the years we have spent a lot of time in hotels in France - this hotel was up there with the best of them. Really lovely - nice setting and within walking distance of the sea. Free parking too. The staff were very friendly and helpful and our room was a total delight! We were invited to have a free cup of tea, coffee, fruit juice or wine on arrival. There were tea/coffee making facilities in our room - a huge double bed and a nice sized TV which wasn't on a wall (much better). Both the dinner that evening and the breakfast in the morning were superb.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were very hot. Key card did not work at entrance door, had to wait a while for staff member to open up

    Great rooms Great breakfast Great staff Great location Great garden

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only slight difficulty was that bedroom was very warm and air conditioning very noisy.

    Excellent welcome with offer of free beverage. The croissants were really fresh. Poached eggs, bacon and tomatoes cooked freshly and delicious. Bed very comfortable, staff friendly. Close to many wonderful places to visit. We visited Arundel Castle, Goodwood House and Chichester Cathedral and then were lucky enough to see excellent cast in King Lear at Chichester Festival Theatre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service in the lounge bar was extremely slow , had to go a find a member of staff to be served. The waitress that served dinner to us in Marwick's did not appear to have fluency in English and did not know the make up of the menu items.

    As usual the hotel communal areas, the room, and front of house staff were all excellent. Tastefully decorated since our last visit. The location is ideal and very relaxed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms not very well serviced and the bedrooms are extremely hot and stuff... a general complain while we were ther!

    Lovely old building, staff pleasant, food good. Location was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite dated Bathroom dated Tea & coffee not refreshed Couldn't get late night snack despite other guests being offered this - they pre ordered which we were not aware of

    Nice location Comfortable bed - room clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were polite, but they could be sharper. For example, we had a complimentary drink on arrival in the lounge - two or three members of bar/dining staff passed us on several occasions but did not acknowledge us, which made us feel a little uncomfortable. Breakfast was mostly very good - but the sausage and black pudding were over cooked and high in rusk and the tomato was under cooked.

    The bedrooms were very comfortable and refurbished to a high standard. There was everything you needed - nice touch to have fresh milk in the fridge. Complimentary drink on arrival - thank you! The lounge and dining room were very clean and comfortable, and clearly had been refurbished recently to a high standard. Nice atmosphere. Breakfast - fresh fruit salad and lovely fresh coffee.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two eggs with cooked breakfast would be better than one.

    Breakfast buffet with croissants, cereal and fruit. Porridge also available. Very nice Americano coffees!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Previously we stayed in one of the old rooms overlooking the garden which was well worth the price. This time we were overlooking the car park and the room was standard with no character. Extremely disappointed as we had gone for my Birthday. Price far too high this time for the type of room we stayed in.

    Hotel is in a great location with fantastic gardens.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV/DVD remote controller needed repair to casing or to be replaced.

    Well equipped, sufficiently spacious self-catering accommodation with a child-safe, enclosed back garden.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was brilliant and all the staff were lovely

    The staff were lovely the resturant food in the evening was one of the best meals i have had in a long time

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating needs to be regulated as downstairs was cold and upstairs was hot.

    We have stayed at the Millstream Hotel quite a few times previously . However to stay in a self catering house was absolutely fantastic and we will certainly come back and stay again. They had thought of everything to make our stay comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need updating and the restaurant staff can be very haphazard particularly at breakfast, often forgetting things altogether. They are lovely about it though !!

    Great comfortable hotel great for Goodwood and a family get together.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What's not to like?

    I've done 50 plus reviews for Booking.com and this one breaks new ground for me - my first perfect 10! There just isn't anything to dislike about this place. A quiet situation just a brief stroll from beautiful Bosham Hoe, a pleasant low rise building of character approached by a footbridge across the eponymous mill stream, adequate car park at the rear, comfortable and well equipped room (with Clooney-style coffee machine), help with baggage without asking, excellent dinner and breakfast, immediate response to telephoned request from bedroom. Excellent!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt that booking through booking . Com we were treated a little differently. We had to change our room after the first night. No welcoming glass of wine.

    Peace and comfort

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of nice touches including a welcome drink and some complimentary chocolates for our anniversary. It was a newly refurbished room beautifully decorated with a lovely wet room. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little over priced however you are paying for the location and the time of year and the fab apartment .

    Fantastic location- easy walk to Bosham harbour, very pretty village , lovely pub - we never made it back to the Millstream as everywhere is so welcoming . A comfortable stay - everything you need in this small apartment that is very well designed . Parking space Super clean- lots of towels and complimentary toiletries . Well equipped Use of the pretty garden Plenty of space A kind arrival surprise - wine , milk , bread and cake

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The upstairs was very warm, luckily the weather was quite cool for August

    The thoughtful little things - e.g. mineral water, bread, butter, milk, wine, washing powder, dishwasher tablets

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TEMPERATURE IN BEDROOM - TOO WARM FIRST DAY; STAFF PUT AIRCON ON THE NEXT DAY; THEN TOO COLD? OUR FAULT UNABLE TO DEAL WITH TECHNOLOGY?

    FRIENDLY HELPFUL STAFF; GOOD FOOD ALL ROUND

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Kitchen diner was small. However it was extremely well equipped.

    Clean, comfortable accommodation which was spacious enough for a family of 4 inc 2 teenagers. Lovely welcome pack of goodies which was unexpected but very well received. Good base for exploring the area. Went to Portsmouth and Chichester from here.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our breakfast was not included in our room price. It was available, but seemed a little expensive in price. As a consequence we took a splendid early morning walk into the village centre and ordered our choice of breakfast at a fraction of the hotel breakfast price from the cafe overlooking the harbour.

    Very pleasant small hotel. The staff were pleasant and engaging and our restaurant meal was of a very high standard. Our room overlooked the front of the hotel, had all the standard facilities one would expect. We thought the bathroom was now a little dated in style, but this may reflect more the taste and expectation of the client base rather than a desire to be chic and modern. regardless it worked very well !!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apartment was very comfortable and well equipped. Food in both main restaurant and brasserie was excellent with plenty of choice. Would stay again and happy to recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't find our reservation from booking.com for a stay in their self catering two roomed cottage but thankfully they had two spare rooms in the hotel which they gave us for the same price. Very helpful in sorting this out.

    Staff all very friendly, felt very relaxed and as though we'd been away longer than 3 nights.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Quiet, good location, pretty gardens. comfortable bedroom, lounge, bar and restaurant, good service excellent food at reasonable price in brasserie. Very enjoyable short break.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was fine apart from the noise. You could hear the occupiers of the room upstairs walking about late at night due to creaky floorboards

    Excellent location, staff very helpful & the food of a high standard

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we had trouble with the curtains and blinds not working properly. The blinds got stuck down making room very dark, and the curtains were too heavy for the fittings. However the staff were very good and sorted problem. The traffic in the area surrounding Chichester was very heavy and I found the roundabouts a nightmare!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On day 1 workmen were working in the adjacent room. On day 2 they were back again banging and sawing what appeared to be directly over our room. When I complained to the supervisor at the time I thought that would be it however fir a short time the work stopped and after I returned to the hotel the workmen came back and continued so my wife and I simply checked out with a reduction in cost, obviously. Not good in my opinion.

    The location was beautiful and the hotel is nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was unfortunate we had a noisy room where we could hear banging on and off through the night plus we thought it a little overpriced in comparison to other hotels we have stayed in.

    Nice relaxed feel in the hotel but staff very attentive.Lovely setting.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel looked 1950s re wall paper and carpets but that didn't detract from our enjoyment

    Very friendly, comfy bed, excellent food for dinner, very helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning could have been better. Possible understaffing of restaurant.

    Pretty setting with lovely garden. Convenient to have restaurant on site.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overpriced, room not very attractive, had much better bathrooms in a travel lodge. Breakfast very overpriced and poor quality. Wouldn't recommend this hotel based on our experiences. more 1 star than 3.

    Not much, disappointed to be honest

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    The breakfast was superb, the smoked haddock and poached eggs done to perfection. The staff a delight. Restaurant manager helpful, friendly and accommodating to extra requests.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not being allowed in the bar area on Saturday evening while waiting for our lift(due to private party booking). Was going to buy a drink but that decision was quickly cancelled. Room was so hot (no aircon except a fan) we had to leave the window open AND the bedroom door to get a through breeze. Breakfast on the first morning a shambles, staff ignoring us and we had to ask for an order of hot drinks. We were then moved from the allocated table to one for 7 (as we were part of a group) Second morning much better and the waiter knew what he was doing. (is this an age thing?)

    convenient for function we were attending and room exceptionally clean (superb work by much forgotten housekeeping staff)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very welcoming by all the team and very personal service in the hotel at all times. We ended up dining inn both evenings at the restaurants due to such great food and service the first night of our stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed in the self catering apartment which had everything you could possibly think of. We had one meal at the restaurant which was wonderful. The reception staff at the hotel were wonderful. Very polite, patient and helpful. I would certainly recommend it to friends,and of course the area itself is an absolute delight. So peaceful and quaint.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely position and garden, spacious and comfortable bedroom and relaxing lounge and bar areas. All staff were utterly charming, well presented and helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked a twin bedded room for three nights. (Given Number 16) And during those 3 nights had some of the worst nights' sleep ever. The room was extremely well, and newly, furnished but would appear to have been over the kitchen. It was hot and we had to have the window open. Outside either the extractor was left on all night, or there was an intermittent time switch on the extractor, or there was a noisy fridge/freezer that went on and off whenever it felt like it - eg. First night quiet just after midnight and woken at about 6am; second night quiet by 10pm yet woken at 4am, then quiet again until about 7am - third night we went to bed early, in spite of the noise, had to be up for the Portsmouth -Cherbourg Ferry, but noticed that the noise had already started before we left. Also, in spite of advice from reception, the night porter could only provide coffee and toast, rather than the continental breakfast promised - kitchen not open! There did appear to be an (air conditioning) unit available on the wall in the room but this did not seem to be connected, nor were there any instructions in the back of the hotel service book. The receptionist looked at us as though we were mad when we asked about this - it was only May and there was a cold north wind blowing! Advise that until something is done about the noise guests give rooms 16 and 17, and possibly 2 others over the buildings on the back, a miss.

    The fitting out of the twin bedded room was excellent. Restaurant was good, especially as have a choice of formal dining room and something slightly less forma. Service was good and staff well drilled.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an oversight when we dined at the Brasserie. They neglected to provide an itemised bill for us to sign.

    The welcome food basket and bottle of wine a lovely touch and excellent quality

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed in one of the well-equipped and very comfortable self-catering apartments at the Millstream. This was a short walk from the main hotel/restaurant. As we had a kitchen and dining space, we bought our own breakfast supplies but enjoyed the restaurant and bistro at the Millstream. Service was very good as was the food.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing! Everything was as good, or better, than I had expected!

    The two-bed apartment (No. 1) was really comfortable and the extra touches, bread wine & biscuits made us feel special. The location is superb - Bosham such a lovely place to visit with Chichester and Arundel just down the road. The Parish Church is well worth a visit and the Anchor Blue is a lovely 'watering hole' especially at sunset. We hope to come back next year and we would highly recommend this place and this accommodation! This accommodation also has a really nice garden, which must be lovely in the summer!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Remote control on the t.v. Was temperamental.

    We stayed in the Hotel's self-catering apartments. Beautifully equipped and clean. Lovely position near the harbour. Lots of extras left for us!

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: