Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Missenden Abbey 3 stars

London Road, Great Missenden, HP16 0BD, United Kingdom

#2 of 2 hotels in Great Missenden

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 341 B&B reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    5.4
    Eventful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Blunt and unfriendly Receptionist with limited information on check-in. Swearing contractors in bar, would have offended families/children. Room very tired, needs refurbishing. Screaming lady woke me up at 1.30am in hallway.

    Breakfast Free Wi-Fi Nice location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    6.7
    Lovely building. Would never risk eating here
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the best welcome. Breakfast was not edible. All the hot food had been left out for a long time. It was dried up and turning hard.

    Beautiful building. Very clean throughout. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    5.8
    Inexpensive, quiet, secluded and all just a bit weird.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location of my room was hard to identify; Once I'd left it, it was difficult to find it again. The lock on the room door operates in the opposite direction, i.e.,, clockwise rather than anti-clockwise. There was a step up into the bathroom upon which I stubbed by toes, the shower took many minutes to warm up - I didn't know if it was ever going to warm up. Finding my way around was like being in a maze, the signage was particularly unhelpful.

    Quiet location - not much else

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    7.5
    I loved my stay. I will however ask for a bath next time and a more colourful room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bath. Bad dribble of a shower. Dirty bathroom lots of green limescale. Not a very big or colourful room. Cold (but nice) breakfast.

    The manor house. The surroundings. The staff. The comfy bed. The atmosphere. The breakfast room. I felt very happy there.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    7.1
    Nice place and quirky, tailored for conferences and events.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was tired and the shower looked stained and possibly mouldy. The bar shut promptly at 11 and I had only arrived at 10.45pm and had just enough time to put my things in the room and then get a drink. However, I was then left to sit and drink it without disturbance and wander around the old building and grounds which are lovely. Breakfast was noisy as they were setting up for a conference and not very appealing. The bacon was tasty, heavily smoked but all of the hot food had been sitting too long under hot lamps and was dried out. The selection of cold foods, pastries and fruits etc was unappetising.

    Interesting place with a lovely garden and parkland beyond. Photos were misleading as the rooms are in the conference centre not the old Abbey building. It was quiet and comfortable overlooking the pond. The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    Must try
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Set in a quiet location, room was clean and comfortable and a good size, breakfast was excellent self service, the hotel has a bar and restaurant. If you don't want to eat there only a short walk are other pubs and restaurants

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.1
    Great location, could be a lovely place to stay, but it needs refurbishment urgently.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Directions to the room from the reception staff were not correct. Difficult to get from the carpark to the room with a suitcase. Only place to eat dinner was in the bar, which was full of loud men (no women at all!!) The room needed refurbishment - carpet thin, paintwork worn and scratched, tiles cracked, grout fallen out, ... it looked tired and old. When I arrived (on time) for breakfast, I was told that they were just about to pack up. I was able to have breakfast however - cold eggs, rubbery, tasteless bacon, mushy toast, terrible coffee - very poor start to the day!

    Good location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    6.7
    Great price just for one night.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was quite small and tired looking in terms of décor and fittings. Breakfast was bland. Bags of shop bought sliced bread just put out for the toast I though was a bit odd. It could do with an upgrade but for the price I paid it was fine.

    Great price just for one night. Lovely grounds and main house. Comfortable bar.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.2
    Put it on your list
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice hotel set in lovely grounds and village, room was fine free parking free entry in to the Abbey and attractions, bar and bar meals. In the village there are a few pubs and restaurants and shops

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money and in a great location.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the coach house. The room is in need of updating and wasn’t very clean. Down the sides of the bed were old chocolates and the carpet was dirty.

    A beautiful location to stay. We had a lovely dinner and the breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.9
    Clean room, good breakfast, nice grounds
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nobody on reception and no bell at front desk at 11pm, waited 15 minutes for someone to appear. Other guests suggested it was easier to find a ghost of a monk than a member of staff! Rooms are in an annex not the main building.

    Clean room, good breakfast, nice grounds

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I arrived they told me that I couldn’t use facilities ie bar and restaurant as there was a wedding on. They wouldn’t even let me buy some water before bedtime so I had to walk to the local coop

    Breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    My wonderful stay at the Abbey!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was in urgent need of a few days awat to de-stress after my house move!..seems I picked the perfect break! I couldn't fault anything..I even wanted to stay longer! My single room was clean and comfortable with tea & coffee making facilities..an iron..ironing board..fans.. hairdryer..the bathroom was clean and a great shower..nice fresh towels too! Staff were polite, friendly and helpful and breakfast had everything you needed...a nice chilled atmosphere in the dining room..I wandered round the grounds which were absolutely lovely and well maintained..a short walk to the village shops and pubs...also wonderful..SO A BIG YES from me..I will definitely go back and would also highly recommend..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.9
    Glad I chose to stay here
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower wasn't the best but did the job. Room was small but sufficient for my needs, an overnight stay to save me travelling early in the morning for an appointment nearby.

    Value for money and the setting in well tended grounds with a lovely terrace on which to enjoy a night cap! Good breakfast buffet the following morning too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    6.3
    Very pretty setting but lacking in customer service; tired decor
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I ordered a bar meal of chicken breast and vegetables and a bowl of soup and it took an hour to arrive. During my wait, another customer complained that her meal had been ordered an hour prior and had still not arrived. A third gentleman later asked the bar staff why his meal hadn’t appeared. Not sure what was going on in the kitchen but none of the things ordered were complicated (soup surely is already made and just needs to be put in a bowl?!) and while the bar staff seemed perplexed and apologetic, they weren’t being very proactive. My room, whilst at a low rate for the area, was in the nearby building, and was very tired. It had an old dorm room feel to it. It was perfectly clean, but just dated and worn. In the morning, I arrived at the breakfast room and helped myself to the buffet but never saw a member of staff. Breakfast was ok.

    The reception staff were very friendly and the outside of the hotel is picturesque. The back garden seating area was very pleasant. Parking is convenient.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.5
    Value stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fountain outside my room unpleasantly noisy! But did stop overnight. Single room toilet crampt - had to sit sideways on!

    Comfy bed, colourful garden in courtyard.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful location. Very helpful and friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The modern block accommodation area was fine but not pristine... just a little tired.

    It's all in the setting. Gorgeous old (restored) Abbey building adjoining more modern conference block for accommodation and meeting rooms. Breakfast was perfectly adequate. Ate bar meals twice. Burger for fantastic - especially with their special offer at the time. Chicken, the following evening, was just about ok. The unending supplies of coffee/tea/water in the common areas was most welcome.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    setting and staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Abbey used as filming location, no prior warning given which is poor. given a set of ear plugs would have preferred prior notice when booking

    setting and staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    3.3
    Missenden Abbey certainly didn't live upto its reputation. I'm glad i didn;t pay for this myself!!!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was very small and very hot!! The toilet seat was broken and wasn't at all fixed to the toilet. When you sat on the toilet, your nose was almost touching the wall!! We told reception about the toilet seat and they said it was housekeeping. It didn't get fixed the whole time we were there!! My colleague's room was dirty, there were hairs in the bed and the was dirty marks on the walls. This was reported and the room was cleaned. Breakfast was not on a hotplate or under warm lights, it was just left out on a side for you to help yourself too and every morning our breakfast was cold. If i'd booked this as a short holiday, I would have been really disappointed, as it was it was a business trip and someone else was paying for our rooms, I certainly wouldn't have been happy to pay my bill at the end of the week!!

    Not very much really!! Well tell a lie, the grounds are lovely...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice but rooms bit tired looking. Location and setting fab.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower no power- very weak not enough to wash hair, not very hot . Hidden electric sockets spent ages looking for a point to charge phone. No blind or curtain in shower room, shower next to window! Bed would have benefited from a mattress topper as mattress very firm. Paintwork looked tired in room.

    Breakfast, gardens,and main building lovely. Price very reasonable. Location great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.9
    Great food and the staff where fantastic
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely hot and I was unable to open the window as the pond below mention thousands of bugs fortunately a very helpful member of staff got me some ice

    Food and main building was great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.7
    Showers were not up to standard
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showers were not up to standard 1st night no shower us to lack of pressure moved room plenty of pressure although no hot water 3 nights without a decent shower

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    Great place, would recommend
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms could do with sprucing up a little bit and the shower was shooting water over the shower door into the light above the mirror - shower head was not fixed on properly and I couldn't get it to work (G03)

    Lovely staff, lovely breakfast, lovely location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    6.3
    Hotel did not reach its full potential as it could offer so much more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needs updating. Not soundproof ( heard snoring from next door) Only lotions in bathroom were for handwashing/ shower ( no shampoo, body lotion) Shower poor and bathroom disappointing Breakfast inconsistent ( one morning poor, next good)

    Location, Setting. Lovely grounds, trees, ponds, flower beds Tea/ coffee / biscuits in room of good quality

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.9
    Set back from the road in nice country surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are not actually in the Abbey itself and the walls are very thin, can hear your neighbours.

    Set back from the road in nice country surroundings

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.9
    Grounds setting lovely,beautiful lit at night,reception...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    But think rooms could do with a refresh(bit outdated) also i reported to reception that my room shower was very poor pressure making taking a shower slow because water coming out was very fine with no pressure.Car Park at night needs bit better lighting.

    Grounds setting lovely,beautiful lit at night,reception entrance lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location, beautiful building, great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and dinner were not great, I expected higher quality food. The room could have been cleaner.

    Great location, beautiful building, great staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    I enjoyed my stay, & planning to return to the abbey in July,-August great value for money;;👌
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For me I love to have a bottle of water in my room, & although they have little water machines, I found if I was returning to my room with parcels or shopping in my hand, I had to make a journey back to the water fountain,

    The tranquility of this hotel was amazing,,🌹 the food was very good, hot food cooked well, I loved the fresh fruit salad in the morning & the little coffee machines that they had throughout the building-available night or day, was perfect. But I really liked the way my bedroom door opened out onto the little pond area,& it was so private & although I was traveling alone - I felt both safe & secure,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    A beautiful majestic property set in stunning grounds , very tranquil , great hotel will definitely
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found it difficult to lock the door of my bedroom from the inside

    It was in a very tranquil setting , the grounds were stunning, loved the feel of it , looked like an old monastery, breakfast was excellent, very helpful and efficient staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice cooked breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was smaller than a normal hotel room but modern and perfectly adequate. Perfect for a one night stay.

    Nice cooked breakfast. Lovely grounds. Free parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.1
    Good value in beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff need to remember that not all guests are there for corporate events! A welcoming smile & a cheery 'good morning / hello' etc would not go amiss....

    Beautiful house & grounds. Basic study bedrooms clean & functional. Bed & breakfast rate good value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel, gorgeous setting, great staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows...sorry.

    This is just the loveliest hotel. Beautiful surroundings, great, friendly and very helpful staff. The food is excellent! Always a great pleasure to stay here!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.1
    The location was beautiful, and the bar had a quaint little...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The doors in the coach house rooms were being banged closed all evening and so it was very noisey. I had to wear ear plugs. Walls are very thin and neighbours could be heard very well. The bar food was not as expected. For a £10 asparagus and chickpea salad (described with more ingredients and sounded hearty) it came in a small soup bowl and was mainly mixed lettuce. Also side order of onion rings were burnt. Food was not great.

    The location was beautiful, and the bar had a quaint little corner to sit in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    6.7
    Location Great Food menu limited , Breakfast was adequate, Staff were lovely just to noisey at night
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noise at night when other guests returned to their rooms between 23.00 & 00.00 .. The rooms where small .....bed was comfortable pillows had seen better days very lumpy and the walls so thin... The wash basin in the bathroom was too small for me to wask my face... adequate fro hand washing. Limited dinner menu ... though what I had was freah and delicious ...

    The location is excellent so peaceful during the day .... nice walks .. staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    6.3
    It could have been so much better.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My accomodation was in the Coach House which is a seperate building being a very short walk from the main building. Whilst the bed was clean the room resembled a shoebox. There was hardly any space between the end of the bed and the wall! The bathroom was also very small with just a shower. Part of the reason for booking was the fact it is advertised with a restaurant and local food. This was stretching the point , in reality there was just a limited choice of bar food - Overall I supose the addage of you get what you pay for is true in this case, in short I was disappointed and will not be returning.

    The main building was impressive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.5
    I would stay again but ask not to be in same room opposite cleaners cupboard.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My single room was opposite cleaners cupboard so was very noisy each morning with the staff talking very loudly to each other and on mobile phones. Also playing load music (Mexican Mariachi Band) from the cupboard one afternoon.

    Rooms where spacious, a little out dated and probably need a little TLC but very clean. Staff friendly and the breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    3.3
    Only stayed one night but will not be back nor recommend it to anybody.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very lumpy and uncomfortable The water pressure was really bad in the shower. The shower was not very clean. Not very accommodating with a breakfast request. The staff was not very welcoming.

    The building and nothing else.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.3
    The Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Breakfast. I arrived in the room on both mornings around 8.40 and found very little food still left on display and therefore no choice and I ended up with what was left with still 35 minutes of Breakfast time left. There were no staff around to ask if a fresh breakfast was available as it was not very appetising

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.3
    Definitely a conference venue not a hotel. Basics & wifi good; paper-thin walls & breakfast not.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived to find staff painting walls behind reception area (not a good first impression). Staff generally seemed to treat you as if you were a regular and knew where everything was. I was left floundering trying to find my room (no one around to ask) – and not informed where breakfast would be. Paper-thin walls in bedrooms. Phone conversation from the next door room very easily heard and sounds of plugging in of electrical goods from adjoining wall very noisy and unsettling. Not good if you have to dress up. No full length mirror (unless hidden away somewhere). Breakfast very unimaginative and unappealing (no excuse nowadays!). Bad motorway caff style self-serve food.

    Good facilities in the rooms – wifi (very good), tv, kettle, tea, coffee etc, iron/ironing board. Absolutely fine if you are happy with a simple, non-ostentatious stay. Quiet surroundings, lovely outlook onto trees. Friendly, helpful breakfast staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    8.8
    It's a beautiful peaceful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could have been just a little bit cleaner in the corridors etc that what makes the customer feel welcomed and reassuredIt was

    The Location the surroundings a nice quiet place to relax

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.1
    Fit for purpose but uninspiring given the location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bland dated decor did not inspire considering its part of an Abbey and Roald Dahl’s area... not so much as a tiny peach painted on a boring wall...

    I could open my bedroom window to get fresh air in

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.9
    Spacious and good value for money.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The main accommodation building is tired looking. All the woodwork needs replacing, very 90's. There is only one main entrance to the accommodation building, which is quite long. All the other exits are for emergency only. This means that, depending on where your room is located, it can be a long walk to the car park. Breakfast finishes at 9.15 am and checkout is at 10.00 am which felt a bit too early.

    Bed comfy. Bedrooms large. Lots of space to sit around and relax around the library and bar areas. Lovely grounds to relax in (weather permitting). Coffee, tea and biscuits on tap at various locations throughout the property. The Abbey itself has lots of character.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    3.3
    Wouldn’t go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So sorry but the rooms are so scruffy and absolutely tiny!!!! We could have had a premier inn with a big bed, better location for the price etc but were swayed by the photos from this hotel thinking it looked nicer. Nothing worked in the room other than the tv, I actually called the reception off my own phone (the room phone was also broken) to check that we hadn’t been put in a single persons room by accident but were told it was a double room. It’s more like a students university hall. Not worth what we paid at all! When I told the receptionist that we weren’t happy with the cost for the room as it didn’t reflect the price she said ‘okay’ and went on to charge me anyway, no further discussion! Perhaps she was too busy trying to get back to the videos she was watching on her phone prior to me seeing her. I know people always say this but I always hate to put a bad review and complain and usually just forget about it but if I can save people from wasting their money and getting a better nights sleep then I will.

    This hotel looks lovely externally, nice grounds. Pictures make it look like a nice hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    10
    excellant - happily go back
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rooms getting a bit dated

    exactly as advertised. accommodation good, building excellent, staff helpful and friendly. wifi worked well - everywhere. ideal for purpose of visit

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    7.1
    Missenden Abbey. Nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little small. Bed was wrong way round so couldn't to light switches. Kept hitting my head on stupid picture light!

    Nice buildings and grounds. Nice and clean throughout. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    10
    Overnight due to working local area.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing all good. For the price you cant fault anything.

    Overnight due to working local area. Have stayed at this lovely location before and cant fault the place. It does my needs perfectly, nice location, price, nice food and a pint.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    7.1
    Satisfactory
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff were not very welcoming and I had to ask for basic information, for example where the dining room was for breakfast.

    Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    10
    Peace and Transquility...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A nice place in a splendid location - If you are interested in History and an Architecture fan, you should come and take aq look at the main building - It has some interesting features.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    6.7
    Pleasant enough, for what was paid.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom walls were very thin, I had very little sleep due to the neighbor snoring, then the other neighbor was up and clunking around at 5.45am. The room looked a little tatty, an obvious position where a picture once went but no longer graced the wall. Bathroom had a wobbly toilet seat.

    The lady on reception on my arrival was particularly pleasant after a horrid journey to get there. friendly face goes a long way. I am sure that the location is beautiful when not icy and cold, but not your fault.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    9.6
    Great value and location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was a dribble!

    Lovely setting. Rooms in a modern block next to abbey. Rooms small but very nice. comfy bed. Had a great nights sleep and a good buffet breakfast. Short walk into the town. Perfect for a work stop over! Excellent value and would stay again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    3.3
    Terrible stay! Room was small, not clean, with silver fish in the bathroom and black hairs!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was small, not clean, with silver fish in the bathroom and black hairs in the shower! Dirty cups with lip marks on them! Had definitely not been washed. Unhelpful staff that didn't care even after receiving complaints. Car park was like an ice rink and had not been cleared for resident access. Main menu was off to residents to cater for Christmas parties and only one veggie option on bar menu.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.3
    A convenient and reasonably priced location with very clean and comfortable rooms.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast seemed to have boon left on the hot plate for a long time and wasn't actually as fresh and hot as it might have been.

    The convenience of the location. The welcome. The state of the room, apart from the fact that there is no illuminated clock.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.3
    Reasonably priced and a gorgeous building but lacked a cozy feel.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pot holed car park. Had to ask three times for a pot of tea at breakfast as hot water urn not working. Not a great variety of fruit at breakfast and fried eggs dried up and poached eggs were hard. Remote control in bedroom not working. Staff distant and bordering on unfriendly. Couldn’t work out how to control the room temperature. Hot in the evening then chilly early in the morning.

    The building and grounds look beautiful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.8
    Stunning location, comfortable stay, excellent breakfast-bar meal in the evening very disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bar meal in the evening was awful - not at all what was alluded to on the menu - I fed this back to the receptionist in the morning as I was checking out & she was excellent about it - very professional.

    The room was small but had everything needed and was very quiet & peaceful - just what I needed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    7.5
    Stayed here on numerous occassions, it is very comfortable...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast on this occasion not up to usual standard, cold coffee, rubber eggs, undercooked bacon, and weak/poor quality orange juice.

    Stayed here on numerous occassions, it is very comfortable and value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    5.4
    Suitable for business and a reasonable price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unclean room- hairs on sheets, dirty shower hose, mouldy kettle Food- overcooked tough duck for main

    Comfy bed, good conference room facilites, nice temperature of room including good windows to open if it got too hot, WiFi was good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    Excellent gem of a good value hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Coach house bathrooms a little dated but ok

    Excellent value for money - includes a great breakfast - stayed in coachhouse across the path from the main htoel (rooms more expenisve!). As a female lone traveller feels very safe - 24 hr manned reception and lock on bedrrom door

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    5.8
    Nice bar.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very small. Room was very hot during the night. Could do with a refurb. Felt like student accommodation rather than a hotel.

    Nice bar. One friendly receptionist (lady with blonde curly hair) who was helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful hotel. But train your staff,and tell visiting academics not to take over public spaces.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Half the menu was unavailable Twice food being served to me fell to the floor en route (no plate, no tray, just served on a little black slab) Visiting academics took over public areas (e.g. bar) for conferencing calling; generally very loud and treated public space like their personal sitting room Receptionists young and lacked a professional tone; played awful pop music in the evenings Manager and staff aired internal conflict in Grazing Area where I’d retreated to for after quiet work bar snack

    Beautiful hotel ‘Grazing Area’ stocked with great coffee and fruit Fresh towels every day

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.9
    Satisfactory for one night stay.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedrooms basic and small, but clean and ok for short stay. Very weak and inadequate shower.

    Lovely central abbey with restaurant, bar, etc. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    4.6
    Nice place, but need to pay attention to detail and upkeep of rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV didn’t work in the room. Cold tap didn’t work in the bathroom. No offer of a small refund for inconvenience.

    Nice situation and building. Pleasant surroundings.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    3.3
    Not a good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom allocated was in need of refurbishment as it was very tired and scruffy and quite smelly! It seemed that this used to be a reasonably sized double room which had been divided into two rooms making it very cramped indeed

    Location was good for requirements at the time

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.1
    Good hotel for short stay in the heart of the Chilterns
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was disappointed that I was not informed by the hotel in advance via email that there was a wedding reception being held on the day of my arrival and therefore both the bar and restaurant were closed to other guests. This meant going out to the village for an evening meal which for a lady travelling alone was not optimal. The shower in my bathroom had not been cleaned properly and some of the grouting was dirty. The shower plug hole needed to be thoroughly cleaned out as the water ran slowly out of the drain hole. In the single room there is no bedside shelf or table which is irritating.

    Pleasant hotel in beautiful grounds on the edge of a lovely village. Good breakfast, quiet accommodation and good sized single room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.8
    OK for the price I paid at the time.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Accommodation in general could do with revising especially the bathroom e.g. new shower unit - leaking shower head, dirty sealant around shower.

    Nice surroundings.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel, shame about the breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very poor. Arrived 45mins before end of breakfast and all the food had obviously been out sitting under the warmers since the start of breakfast. Eggs were solid, bacon completely dried out and inedible, beans had a hard crust on them, even the tinned toms had dried out. Not that fussy and accept buffet breakfasts are seldom top quality but this was poor.

    Lovely grounds and staff friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    4.0
    The bedrooms were awful basic unless you book the abbey they looked better .Abi was excellent help
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were filthy empty bottles used tissues under the beds shower had no power water tasted awful shower doors kettle broken long dark hairs in shower stained towels didn't dare look at mattress. The bed was awful like sleeping on a door

    The abbey and grounds

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Good stay, would recommend
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only downside would be distance to rooms from reception as it's a long walk and I was upstairs, so when having to carry laptop, case, handbag etc it was awkward. (Wasn't offered any help.)

    Excellent breakfast and tea/coffee facilities. Gardens are beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    5.8
    The main house/Abbey is beautiful with a nice bar,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The establishment is marketed as a hotel, but in actual fact it is a conference/adult learning centre with the student accommodation block rooms being used as guest bedrooms. Whilst the towels, bedding and toiletries in the room we were allocated were very good, the room was pokey, in need of repair and the linen on the bed torn and ripped in places. It felt dirty. We complained to the receptionist, who, when we arrived had been curt and not very welcoming found us a room in the main house. So much better. Problem! the main house only has 5 bedrooms. Breakfast and dinner, very good. Bar staff and kitchen staff helpful and attentive. Female receptionist on duty when we arrived needs to attend a course to remind her that she is in a service industry.

    The main house/Abbey is beautiful with a nice bar, library etc.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.9
    Great location, not great service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist on duty on arrival and departure was rude and totally unwelcoming. At breakfast the dining room was understaffed and the results substandard.

    Very convenient for accessing Great Missenden and the surrounding area. Comfy bed in a lovely setting.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Perfect place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More choice of eggs at breakfast not just fried eggs.

    Very friendly staff, there to help if needed. Also very polite. Room was very clean but a bit small for a double bed but otherwise fine.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    Convenient overnight stay in a lovely area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are showing signs of wear. Mine had a double bed put into what had obviously been designed as a single room. The shower was very poor.

    Excellent breakfast in lovely surroundings. Historic main building and well-designed modern annexe. Comfortable bed. The flower displays and grounds are beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    3.3
    Accommodation very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small old fashioned bedroom.

    Very disappointed in the bedroom. Boarding school springs to mind. Not expecting this as the main "abbey" and gardens are charming.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    6.7
    Gorgeous location but limited facilities.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free Wi-Fi was more or less non-existant - very very poor signal on this and 4G/3G. Made working impossible - couldn't get online, something to keep in mind if staying here on business.

    Lovely location. Room was small but very functional. Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.9
    Walled Garden complex that could be so much better
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was adequate but tired. Fitted bedroom furniture ready for re varnishing. Room in need of painting. Marks could be seen where someone had spilled something down the wall. Light switches not near bed meaning that you had to get out of bed to turn main light on or off.. Poor shower pressure. Internet connection intermittent, Staff in breakfast hall not very engaging & slow to clear dirty pots away.

    Lovely complex in nice grounds. Good on site parking. Helpful reception staff. Good sleep quality. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    This is a great place to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is a great place to stay. The staff are friendly and helpful. As a conference centre, it is not slanted towards luxury - but towards practicality. Yet it is located in some lovely grounds. With free Parking, free WiFi and an excellent cooked breakfast, I would definitely recommend it to Business travellers.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: