Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Oxfordshire B&B and inn reviews
  4. Oxford B&B and inn reviews
  5. Reviews of OXFORD MODERN GUEST HOUSE

Reviews of OXFORD MODERN GUEST HOUSE

489 Marston Road, Oxford, OX3 0JQ, United Kingdom

#66 of 84 B&Bs and inns in Oxford

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 23 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 14

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    10
    The stay overall was great and i would not hesitate to book there again in the future.
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only minor point is the need for a sign on the wall coming down the stairs, as being tall, i caught my head on the ledge a few times.

    Whilst this was a self service B&B, i found the facilities to be excellent, the room to be spotlessly clean and w/c and shower facilities great. I have no problem in recommending the B&B to others who might want to stay in Oxford.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2019

    10
    Home away from home
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In an ideal world it would have been cheaper however as far as Oxford goes the prices are quite reasonable

    Great Decorating and perfect location to hospitals in the area. The host was a message away offering support and help throughout the evening and in the early morning. Great communication and willingness to listen.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2019

    9.6
    Everything was really nice.
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was really nice. The instructions to enter, the room, the kitchen was filled with everything you need. It was my first time in Oxford and everything was perfect. Thank you.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2019

    10
    Great find, good value, recommended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Temperature of shower could of been hotter even though I had to it on full

    Selection of options for breakfast, modern rooms and communal area. Ease of access. That there was parking. Very satisfied customer

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2019

    9.6
    Excellent place - lovely and clean, great decor, breakfast...
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Excellent place - lovely and clean, great decor, breakfast was fantastic - my daughter is gluten free and when I asked if we could have some gluten free options the host couldn’t have been more helpful - she supplied lots of choices for her. Would definitely recommend

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely house, nice landlord, terrible parking
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This shouldnt be advertised as with parking. Theres two tiny little spaces, 1 out front on mud patch/walk way and one round the back where the bins live. I only have a Focus and wasn't able to get my car in either without blocking someone so I had to park in the street which is permit only between 8am and 6.30pm. This meant I had to be up at 8am to move my car i.e. leave.

    The house is very clean and modern. Rooms are lovely. Good choice of breakfast. Nice and warm. Bed is very comfy

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2018

    5.4
    Would stay again only for convenience to John Radcliffe hospital.
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Difficult to identify property due to being on busy road junction. Breakfast menu choice was very basic Badly lit master key box area. Parking not identified other than limited time street parking until 8am, so had to be up early & out. No staff at property. Heating very low.

    Newly decorated property, spotless , clean & comfortable bed. Use of a fully equipped new kitchen to self cater. Suits group of people who want to self cater. As lonely for single person. Very convenient for John Radcliffe Oxford university Hospital. Which was my reason for staying. Short Walking distance from hospital slight short hill.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    5.8
    The bedding was very comfortable and the interior was a nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    From the road there is no signage up to show where the property is so you can only find it by looking at street numbers. I was given the mobile number for (I can only assume) the owner, in case there were any problems. I tried calling this number perhaps up to 10 times and there was no answer. I was informed there was off street parking, two parking spaces are supposedly in front of the property but that’s just dumping your car on the pavement, and then the parking space at the back is non existent so they should not advertise that they have off street parking. Upon entering the property it smells quite damp on the ground floor and the entrance is not in a good state. The room was extremely cold (no heating) and it sounded like the windows were open because the glazing on the windows was so bad so the room at the front of the property is particularly noisy with traffic. There was no hot water so unable to have a warm shower or wash my hands in warm water and the bath/shower mat could have done with a really good hoover/clean. The kitchen was basic but did have continental breakfast as described.

    The bedding was very comfortable and the interior was a nice clean design.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    10
    The owner has been fantastic as I mentioned earlier
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really new business in the throes if getting things right and it’s all falling in to place lovely

    Very nice pristine plenty of food for breakfast in help yourself basis owner very obliging has helped us out due to my son having very bad accident she’s been amazing

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    3.3
    Very disappointing. Overpriced even with facilities as described.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No clarity about where to park in numbered bays no response to query; TV not connected,, Wi-Fi intermittent, no bedside light or table, no response to query, no light over the key-safe so mobile phone torch was essential.. Refund requested but no response from host or from booking.com a week later!

    Cleanliness, quiet

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    10
    Highly recommending.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little bit cold in the kitchen, but in the end I didn't come there to stay in the kitchen all day. Over all fantastic, cheap and tidy place, so highly recommending!

    Very nice new house, very tidy, very polite landlady- great communication. A few shops near the house. And the location is quiet too! Really enjoyed the stay. Thank you.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2019

    9.6
    Overall modern, clean, comfortable and very well stocked and modern kitchen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slight delay in getting my key

    Very clean and comfortable bedroom

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2019

    7.1
    Pleasent
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    N/A

    A place comfortable to stay

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2019

    10
    Excellent and we loved it,
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking was a bit tricky

    The place was clean and spacious more modern than the old fashioned Travelodge.

    Stayed in January 2019

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 14

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!