Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Brewers Lodge 3 stars

Gordon Road, Blackwood, NP12 1DS, United Kingdom

#3 of 4 hotels in Blackwood

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 300 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    7.1

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    5.0
    Apologies for the negative review
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the accommodation didn’t fulfill what we expected and it was also located at the end of a very steep road. The hotel was under refurbishment and the kitchen was closed for some days. If we had known this we wouldn’t of booked for 2 nights. We had told housekeeping that we were out for the day and they could do our room but when we came back we found the room wasn’t serviced and our towels and tea and coffee supplies were left at our door as well as our breakfast basket for the next day, which only was made up for one person and there was two of us. Very disappointed at this lack of service.

    Room size was good, nice views. Under other circumstances it would of been good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    When I arrived they already knew it was me.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I had to walk up the hill from Blackwood Bus Station lol 😂😂😂. It didn't do my legs any good lol 😂😂😂 but it's good to get the exercise.

    When I arrived they already knew it was me. I had booked a single room but they put me in a double room for the same price I paid.🙂🙂🙂 So once I checked in I was told to take up my bag to the room and then come down for there excellent Sunday roast carvery. It was lush 🙂🙂🙂

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    2.9
    Loud and uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen gave off a noise that hummed through the bedroom. I must have been opposite a staff room as the door kept slamming as someone entered and exited (door had keypad). I could also hear my neighbors in the next room coughing and plugging items into powerpoints. There were hairs in the bathroom before I even used it, and the bath had no plug. Would definitely not recommend for a weary traveller who needs rest, or to anyone in fact.

    Big carpark, good drinks, and nice little breakfast basket.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.5
    Easy check in & very comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite noisy, we could hear other people in their rooms & the water system was exceptionally loud when the toilet was flushed

    Very pleasant staff. We were late for check in but they were very accommodating & very polite. The bed was very comfortable & the breakfast basket was a lovely touch

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    6.7
    It was fit for purpose, the bed comfortable and clean and a pub downstairs, although noisy is handy.
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room & bathroom quite small and there was only one bedside table for a dubble bed. Shower was cold and toilet crampted in a small space. The breakfast basket, although a nice idea, would be better if there was a list of items you could choose from as there were many items we did not like/ever eat.

    The bed was comfortable with crisp, clean white bedlinen. The pub downstairs served lovely food. A breakfast basket instead of a served breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.3
    Clean tidy excellent mattress with friendly service at an excellent short notice price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Watch when using Sat Nav Takes you half way up a dead end street says you have arrived at destination. You haven't just keep going up hill past cricket club and its at the end of the road.

    Helpful staff on local facilities. No breakfast included but they supplied a basket of fruit water and cookie. Directed me to local breakfast cafe

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel, average pub
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedside lamp and bedroom (no. 5) hallway light not working. Noisy pub. No real ale in pub.

    Clean, good television, good welcome pack, excellent bathroom, excellent WiFi. Good food in bar.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    6.7
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Given a room at first that wasn’t cleaned, the bed wasn’t made, given new room that was fine but when water or shower turned on it smelt like sewers

    The location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.8
    The location was really lovely and the views were good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not a double bed. Room was very small . Although the sign said it was being renovated. Which is much needed.

    The location was really lovely and the views were good. The staff were lovely.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    5.4
    A SHORT STAY
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Its a shame that breakfast is not offered as an option as I am sure most of the Lodge occupiers would take up the option. Having said that the breakfast basket was good.

    The Lodge is attached to a pub so you can get evening meals although the choose is limited. The staff are very good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    6.7
    OK for a one night stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are small & outdated in terms of decor and furniture. Shower cubicle tiny in a cramped bathroom. Clothes cupboard in wall seemed damp despite the room being a warm 23 degrees.

    Bar area full and very friendly. Staff very pleasant. Resident cat is cute

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    5.8
    would;nt stay her again until work was finished,and if they sorted out the breakfast out,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the room was very small and the bed was very uneven not very nice,change room and the room was bigger but the bed was the same ,didnt get much sleep,the other problem was there was no breakfast service,besides a small basket in room which had a few things in it which they called breakfast,but it was only for one person and there was two of us,plus the hotel was getting a revamp and a upgrade so they should have closed while work was finished. not worth the money.

    the food was great,value for money, very close to everything and town few minutes away,

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    5.4
    Too expensive for what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room & bathroom very small. There was mould on the window frames.Breakfast consisted of fruit,cereal bar & small carton of juice.

    Plenty of parking available

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Lovely stay, would stay here again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The kitchen was shut one evening due to to refurbs but I was sent a text earlier in the day so I could eat elsewhere.

    Friendly staff. Comfy bed. Large room. Good bathroom. Quiet as at back of building. Lovely breakfast basket.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.8
    Lovely stay, would stay here again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had previously stayed in room 11. This time I was in room 9 and I felt the bathroom was a little cramped. But overall I was happy with everything.

    Lovely breakfast basket of goodies!!! Comfy bed. Great food and drink. Plenty of parking. Friendly and very helpful staff. Easy to find. Lovely shower.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    6.7
    Convenient for us as we were visiting friends nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location...cleanliness...value for money and friendliness.bathroom was only partly finished with no hooks ,rails and shelves and the plumbing was very noiseyas was the bar until eleven o’clock.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    I was attending a retirement party at the hotel so it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was attending a retirement party at the hotel so it was perfect for my overnight stay. The food at the party was excellent. The room was clean and the breakfast left outside the room was a bonus.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being in a pub restaurant, it was a little noisy at night but no more than you'd expect and it did not go on until very late.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. There was a good atmosphere in the place and I would definitely consider staying there again. The food's good too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    3.8
    poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stained duvet, missing pillow protectors, no mirror in the bedroom, nowhere to hang clothes or towels up. Mould on the walls and on either side of the window sill/walls, the pipe work in the bathroom could have been painted and the radiator could have been fitted. we are aware that it is under refurbishment but would have expected to pay a lot less than £60 for this room and also be informed of it decorative state or not offered it at all would have been preferable, mould spores are a no no for both of us with respiratory problems. The continental breakfast was a bit if a joke too. See photo of total quantity.

    only the clean linen

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    6.0
    ok facilities but not worth the £70 per room we paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly disappointed that as there is a pub on site that they could not provide a cooked breakfast the following morning.We had a basket left outside the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    The staff were excellent, particularly Sarah Graham.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small thing but the pipes make such a noise after the taps have been running or the toilet has been flushed!

    The staff were excellent, particularly Sarah Graham. Made me feel at home.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.1
    Would still go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As above not up to standard because of refurbishment, dusty bedroom.

    It was a very friendly pub, locals were lovely. It could be very noisey evening times. The hotel was undergoing refurbishment so not quite up to standard.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.7
    Room 8.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 8. 1 night. Location lovely. Bed very comfy. Room very small more suitable for a single bed, creaking floors. Had to keep finger on kettle to boil. Shower small, warm water. Bathroom clean but messy pipe work,although it did look like it was undergoing some work. Ok at a push but would not recommend for a longer stay.

    Room 8. 1 night. Location lovely. Bed very comfy. Room very small more suitable for a single bed, creaking floors. Had to keep finger on kettle to boil. Shower small, warm water. Bathroom clean but messy pipe work,although it did look like it was undergoing some work. Ok at a push but would not recommend for a longer stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Visiting the area on business.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very busy bar area, sticky floors and dirty tables. Food very basic.

    Very clean rooms, nice surprise having the breakfast delivered to the room. Would of liked the choice for a cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.5
    Cheap and cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ive stayed several times- they really need to put some blinds/ netting in the windows and put up better curtains. You feel very exposed.

    Cheap and cheerful. Its not brilliant it can be very noisey- however it is clean and comfortable (and safe).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor service Cold or boiling shower on same setting Car park full had to park away from hotel Rowdy pub Partly a building site Previous occupants waste still in bins Workmen using tools outside window at 7.45am No cooked breakfast Worst £70 ever spent in hotel. Local pub hotel charges £50 and is much better

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    For what you pay it was a good find if you want to avoid exorbitant Cardiff rates.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with a "comfort" sign that the hotel was straight ahead where it indicated a dead end, as it's not obvious. Parking was initially congested, because there was a function on, and it is a popular destination for locals, however we did get a spot in the end. It would have been appreciated if they had made contact to warn of the function and that it meant there was no food being served that evening - there was a sign on every entrance door when you arrived so you knew straight away when you arrived. They were very apologetic and did try to see if anything could be russelled up (it couldn't) and also offered to provide details of take away options - there were quite a few. In the end we elected on the 10 minute downhill walk into town and found a Weatherspoons, which as fine, there was also a nice looking Italian restaurant and more pub options if we had wanted to venture a little further. Being a nice evening for a stroll the uphill walk seemed to go quite quickly, we noticed quite a few locals took taxis though as it's quite a steep climb.

    They had signs indicating they were in the middle of upgrading works. Our room had recently been well decorated, and our room now included a USB port very useful for phone charging /alarm! Beds provided a good night's sleep. Extremely helpful staff, especially the Receptionist who sorted out a "take away breakfast" as we were leaving early in the morning. Room was well ventilated which was great for the really warm night. It is quite a simple 35 min drive to/from Cardiff. Room had a generous supply of tea/coffee (including decaf) and likewise toiletries; everything as spotless.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    the breakfast was good as a basic meal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was uncomfortable and the room rather small. difficult access up a long steep hill which would be a problem in the winter.

    the breakfast was good as a basic meal. the room was well equipped as was the bathroom. plentiful car parking. reasonable prices in the bar. superb views from the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    4.6
    Cramped & uncomfortable , breakfast situation very poor.😟
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to fill a card in for breakfast items, then hand it in before 9 pm... Then our " breakfast " was left outside our bedroom door in a basket in the corridor the night before ?? , only half the stuff in the basket that we requested, and no one around in the morning to ask for the other stuff ?? Our room wasn't big enough (room 3 ) for a table or chair so had to try & eat our breakfast on the bed !! It was a disaster! .. Also the bed needs a new mattress as there were springs sticking through !! Not comfortable at all !

    Plenty of car parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.5
    Better than anticipated!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom floor very creaky and door noisy when closing (has to be forced closed) in room 16. I was woken up by it.

    Better than anticipated! Our rooms were clean and bright. Possibly just been refurbished. Bathrooms were a bit dated, but we didn’t mind that. Bathroom floor very creaky and plumbing was noisy. You will experience noise from that, be warned. There’s a cat who appears to live in the pub downstairs. Bonus if you like cats! The pub is good with a pool table, juke box and TVs for sport. It serves food (we didn’t try any, though) Check out is £10am but you can get until 12:30 for £10 extra per room. Happy days! You order breakfast with a firm. It’s continental, so it’s pastries, cereal and juice/hot drinks. It gets delivered to your room late at night in a basket.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    It was very easy to find and staff were very helpful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Full length mirror in bedroom, and shower was just on the tiny side

    It was very easy to find and staff were very helpful, enjoyed our stay just what we needed as attending a wedding

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    3.3
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast in a box is not for everyone. The room including shower/toilet was tired. Nobody on reception.

    nothing, I nearly moved out but could not find an alternative hotel as it was late

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    4.2
    not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A wardrobe in the bedroom, a receptionist when you arrive, dedicated guest parking. I know it was Champion League final night but we had to park the car 150yards away from the reception. Carrying a golf bag and two cases plus hanging clothes not great. Breakfast in a box is not for us

    Not a great deal

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Booked this place to stay as we had a wedding near by,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked this place to stay as we had a wedding near by, impressed with the rooms plenty big enough, included all tea making facilities, shower gels etc. Nice benches outside which would be lovely in the summertime. Would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable, very good value and staff/service was excellent. Strongly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is being upgraded and renovated and clearly the owners have a vision. I applaud them, and wish them every success.

    Bedroom was really clean and fresh, quiet and the bed was great. Bar and bar/ restaurant were of pub quality. This is not an up market hotel but for friendliness and comfort it is tops.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Enjoyable and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. The location is ideal for travelling to many lovely parts of south and mid wales.

    I really enjoyed my stay as the single room was exactly what I wanted and expected. The food was good and the staff were excellent with nothing being too much trouble. I have stayed there over the years and it constantly strives to improve. The local people are friendly and helpful. I will definitely be staying there again as soon as I have some leisure time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.0
    not worth £70 a night, don’t stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kept awake until 1in the morning by people still in the bar directly under the room. Shower was freezing and weak. Bed was on wheels, rolled across the room if you weren’t careful.

    Friendly staff when we arrived

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Good valleys location, pleasant atmosphere, attentive and very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A minor point, but access via road and on foot is a little bit convoluted.

    The staff were especially helpful, particularly a young woman named Molly; the car park was overflowing and there were no available parking spaces due to football fans packing out the venue, she offered me her parking space so that I wouldn't be inconvenienced - this is customer service on steroids !!! Also excellent local taxi services.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    2.9
    Would not recomend this hotel to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room didn't have all the things listed on booking.com the bed was like concrete there was mould on the windows they didn't do breakfast other than cereal which you had to have in your room and the shower was a joke it had no pressure at at and was stone cold you could stand in the shower on full power and no get wet, when we complained at the end of our stay we were threatened by the maintenance man

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.3
    I have stay a night there before, that is why I booked again. But no breakfast room or dinning room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast - only available in a basket left outside the door - awful is all I can say, hardly any choice, I did not order the second day.

    Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.1
    adequate for our needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could have been more appealing

    The staff were excellent and very helpful. We arrived quite late on a very snow and icy night. The restaurant was closed so the receptionist made us a sandwich and tried to cover all our needs.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    6.3
    Would definitely stay here again .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a good choice for breakfast! Toast and cereal only .

    A friendly place , nice bar area , rooms in need of updating ! Although to be fair this is being done at the moment .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    2.9
    Absolutely disgusted !!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very rude, even the Land lady acted drunk & disorderly. Very aggressive when we tried to log a complaint. Many other locals are also disgusted with how we were treated and actually logged the complaint before we did. Very upset as I travel over 100miles to visit friends and family, this has always been a local of mine and even though I've relocated, I still make the effort to visit. Not any more! After booking 2 rooms, huge amount of money spent, never again will I step foot in this place. Checking in: Told nothing about breakfast or check out times etc, very abrupt attitude and made to feel very unwelcome, local, regular or not... Absolutely disgusting attitude! All they want is your "cash" Last orders: there was a group of us with several drinks left, bearing in mind we were staying at the property, got told to leave and wasn't allowed to enjoy our drinks with the company of friends and family, all had to leave after buying several drinks before the bar closed, we was also credited by this lovely comment by the same member of staff " This is not a brothel" We was absolutely disgusted by this...we are all locals, regulars and spend alot of money here! Made to feel absolutely shamed and embarrassed infront of close friends and family!! Then finally...go to my room where someone was already in it and wouldn't leave, they had to remove that individual. Check out, we just left...but we actually went back the following day as we had plans to meet up again with family & friends which we did... It was common knowledge what had happened the night before to our surprise! We didn't log the complaint...others did. We was willing to let it slide as we absolutely loved it there. How quickly things change!

    The Bar

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    6.7
    Food was amazing, but shame they don't serve cooked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was cold, left it running for a while and still wouldn't get hot this was mid-afternoon too. Mould around the windows and heater kept making a noise throughout the night

    Food was amazing, but shame they don't serve cooked breakfast until 12pm

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    3.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our heating didn’t work Our main light didn’t work The bed was on wheels and came from the wall making the metal headboard fall and the noise when the tap was turnt on was like a hot air balloon

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    6.7
    Ok for the price I suppose
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms small. Unable to check in on the card I booked in on as for some reason it was declined,luckily I had a co worker with me who could use his company card. First room I was given was full of tools with the bathroom in bits

    We had a nice meal and a game of pool,

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    3.8
    Would not choose to stay there for pleasure.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated bathroom. Bed not secure (bed skated on the floor and the bed head was not attached). Food order took 30 minutes to arrive even though the restaurant was almost empty.

    Easy check in and on-site bar

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    6.7
    Pictures on website of rooms look better than they actaully are
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom not the best we have stayed in especially at £70 - décor poor, no lock on bathroom door.

    Close to the venue we were attending. Bar area and atmosphere lovely.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.5
    Overall pleasant staff, everything you’d expect was pleasing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we stayed in room 12 and there was a loud noise coming from the bathroom every 30 minutes which distrupted sleep throughout the night. Would stay again but would request a different room.

    Overall pleasant staff, everything you’d expect was pleasing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    cups on the coffee maker wasn't clean there was still sugar on the bottom of the cups indicating that they hadn't been cleaned properly

    Room was comfortable and warm

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    4.6
    Would not stay again or recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There had been damp in the room, and it had been cleaned off the walls but stain left and not painted over.The sheets were scratchy and stiff.Breakfast very limited.Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    8.3
    Overall it was ok. I would not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was very small, the shower didn't fit the holder, so you couldn't adjust it. The noise from the bar was unbearable!( it was a rugby weekend!) There wasn't any noise when we went to bed at 12! There isn't a mirror in the room, only the bathroom, so you can't dry your hair in front of a mirror. ( no hair dryer provided)

    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The room was clean, the bed was very comfortable. There was shampoo, shower gel and body lotion. The buffet breakfast was perfect for what we wanted.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    3.3
    The heater in the room was broken.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The heater in the room was broken. The smell from the bathroom was unbearable. There was damp and mildew in the Bathroom and on the window frames. Stay aborted after 2 nights.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    I wanted a clean, comfortable and friendly place to stay and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wanted a clean, comfortable and friendly place to stay and the Brewers Lodge filled these requirements and I love staying there. People make places and it is also well placed to travel to see friends or places

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    5.0
    Unacceptable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked 2 rooms for 2 nights, one of these being a single which was adequate, however, our double room was not!! We moved rooms 4 times as there was a problem with every room for example; 1st room was very damp and cold ( not good, in particular when you already have chest problems) 2nd room - the heating was not working, the room was freezing, the main light was not working as the fitting was damaged and the bedside bulb had gone. This room was also smelling of damp. 3rd room - no bigger than the single was small and cramped especially for a two night stay. 4th room was very noisy right above bar ( although the receptionist did tell me this) but after going up and down the stairs like a yo-yo it was the best of the 4 rooms so we stayed put. All rooms had mouldy showers and the decor was dated and tired.........not worth the cost of the accommodation. The main door into the building was broken leaving the whole place unsecured ( made me very uneasy as anyone could have gone upstairs to the bedrooms). A security breach!!!!! One of the fire escapes was also out of action. I would like to point out that I would have stayed in the second room (7) if a heater could have been provided but the reception told me they didn’t have any. Considering our teething problems with this accommodation at no point during our stay did any Manager or person in charge come and ask if everything was ok. On leaving all the lady said was thank you, goodbye. Very poor service and attitude.

    Bar food

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.9
    Comfoy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had no mirror apart from in the bathroom there was nowhere to do your hair and make up etc

    The staff were friendly and helpful nice surroundings

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.5
    The environment was clean and well lit with pleasant staff...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I would appreciate a wider range of vegetables with the evening menu.

    The environment was clean and well lit with pleasant staff members. I like the fact that there is a real breakfast of cereals fruit and fruit juice with a hot drink

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    6.3
    Good location to the theatre where I was working.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very tired. Rusty shower rail & tile grout & shower area all mildew stained. The hotel is above a pub so very noisey & lots of sound travels from other rooms & downstairs bar!

    Good location to the theatre where I was working. Walkable distance to the town/bus station. Cheap!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.1
    Not going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was told the bar would be quiet after 11:30 pm. At midnight I had to get out of bed and dress to complain about 2 particularly loud women with a drunken cackle!

    Breakfast included

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    Had everything you needed for your stay plenty lovley ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to have hot breakfast but still had plenty choice in cold

    Had everything you needed for your stay plenty lovley clean room with tea and biscits

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    6.7
    Staff friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately our room was over the smoking shelter. Although windows double glazed was very noisy late on. The receipt given from booking.com stated no food with the room, so arrangements were made to get breakfast elsewhere. There was actually a continental breakfast available. Wording on receipt should be amended.

    Staff friendly. Room had everything you would require i.e. tea/coffee facilities, bathroom toiletries,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    6.3
    Did not have breakfast as prefer a hot breakfast.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need updating. Our room was too small for 2 nights. No chair. Headboard broken. Floor bad in bathroom.

    Did not have breakfast as prefer a hot breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.6
    I would definitely return to Brewers Lodge rooms were very clean and staff & food were fantastic.
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were fantastic & made us feel very welcome. The continental breakfast was fabulous lots to choose from. We had our dinner in the bar the night we got to Brewers Lodge and it was fantastic great portion sizes.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.5
    A pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nowhere to sit unless in the bar.

    Staff really friendly, although no cooked breakfast available until later in the day, there was an ample selection of various products for a more than adequate early breakfast. Evening meals cooked fresh and were excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    6.7
    Handy Location for our needs but way too noisy for a decent night's sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the bar. Couldn't get any sleep before midnight. Breakfast was OK but a cooked breakfast (even at additional cost) would have been welcome

    Very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.2
    Great welcome and stay..little bit more in the way of amenities would be good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No full length mirror and no hairdryer!

    Lovely little place with great staff..might be an idea to book a room away from the bar though if you want a quiet night..i liked the hospitality tray and the bath products..nice touch

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.2
    If you want a "hotel" this is not for you, but it is a very good pub with rooms
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The en-suite shower was clean but a little tired (refurbishment in progress!)

    The bedroom was fairly basic but had all that was needed and very clean with a lovely comfy bed. Both the staff and locals made us very welcome and the bar menu & drinks were all excellent value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.1
    Staff very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from pub below and smoking area. Mould around windows. Looks like hotel in middle of refurbishment. The price did not reflect the standard of the accommodation. Very disappointed. Travelled with daughter who has young baby their room was located over the bar with disco!

    Staff very friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    Great place, but rooms let it down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had smelt of damp and was really small. We could not put our clothes away as there was all damp up the wall. The carpet on the stairs was very threadbare.

    Nice bar and beer garden, and the staff were great and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    3.8
    Not fit for purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was very mouldy. The macerator toilet was seeping. The floor around the sink was spongy and felt as if it may give way at any time. Light fitting was hanging out of the ceiling. Mould around the window. Bedside light didn't work. Front door key didn't fit so it was a good job I checked before we went out. After mentioning the mouldy shower, the receptionist/manager didn't seem at all surprised and instantly offered a £20 discount as all the other rooms were full. The room should never have been available, it wasn't fit for purpose. My biggest regret was not sleeping in the car. My second regret is not taking any photos to post on here.

    Staff were welcoming and polite.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    6.3
    Needs a few tweeks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Duvet although clean was not big enough to cover both of us in a double bed. Was it a single cover? The duvet was doubled over inside it. I used my pillow to cover me. No mirror in the room to do your hair only in bathroom. Very noisy loo. The pub although busy and in a good spot on top of the hill was almost impossible to find even the locals did not know as some of the roads were closed when the estate was built around it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    6.7
    Upgrade Underway
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Party going on until after 12 Rooms can hear all the noises

    Staff very Friendly Property currently undergoing upgrade works Look forward to seeing the results

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.3
    Lovely location, friendle management and staff, would definatly go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room on the first night was poor but we were told it was a room that wasn't usually let only in emergencies. The room we had on the second night was recently refurbished but not finished.

    The management and staff were very friendly and helpfull

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.8
    Good place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit nosey outside as I was trying to study for my next class at 8am in the morning at Cardiff

    Very clean room very nice layout of room great wifi connection in room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    6.7
    Very helpful & friendly staff, but not ideal if you want to get a good night's sleep
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOISE...! Loud music playing in the bar below the bedrooms & loud talking until midnight is really unacceptable...

    Nice bonus of an upgraded room from single to double & a free continental style (but filling) self-service breakfast. Staff members were helpful, friendly & professional.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75