Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of The Montague On The Gardens This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

15 Montague St, Bloomsbury, Camden, London, WC1B 5BJ, United Kingdom

#17 of 977 hotels in London

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1071 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2018

    9.2
    The hotel is perfectly located, the staff is incredible and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom was small and narrow, no place to put things or to hang cloths at all. There room was also not sound proof as we could hear footsteps from the floor above and from the nearby corridor.

    The hotel is perfectly located, the staff is incredible and the rooms are beautiful. Breakfast is excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    9.6
    Loved the ambience and the staff. Definitely recommend and will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    bedroom and bathroom were on the small side for me, although wife was happy. Room safe was on the floor, which meant lying down to access. Creaking from floorboards from room above was slight distraction.

    All the staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing too much trouble. Breakfast was fine. Wall clock, telescopic lit mirror, tissues, plenty of plugs, large white fluffy towels, robes, comfortable bed, turndown service with chocolates, plenty of mirrors, large tv.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    6.7
    Staff is great, location is great. Nice breakfast. But room badly needs a complete refurbishing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room was quite small. The only place to hang/store clothes was a musty old armoire that made my clothes smell. Only room for one luggage rack. The carpet was old and stained. The bathroom was very small and it was difficult to take a shower without flooding the floor.

    The Montague's staff is super. Friendly and helpful in every way. The hotel has very good AC - rare in London. Nice big flat-screen TV. A generous breakfast with many options.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Having to leave

    Really enjoy my stats at RC hotels. It’s like a big family, relaxed, friendly, enjoyable and great hotels. The gardens are calm place in the center in busy London to enjoy some lunch

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    10
    There was a lot of effort by the Hotel to make it an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I’m picking but the room above was very load when they were moving around but I think the building being of an age was the source of the issue realy

    There was a lot of effort by the Hotel to make it an “interesting “ place the food was super breakfast was very well put together not greasy and kept fresh on the buffet style

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    9.2
    We would certainly like to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The scones were a little small and hard. Have a good recipe using lemonade I could share. The setting for the scones, in their outside room and service were beyond reproach.

    The service was outstanding. The helpfulness and knowledge of the concierge was the particular highlight.We stayed to celebrate a particular birthday. I think I will have to have more of them.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    8.8
    A very good hotel near the British Museum
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A comfortable hotel with excellent staff in a very good location. We've stayed at the Montague before and have enjoyed it again this time. We will most likely come back when in London next time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    10
    Our week there was perfect and we highly recommend this Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was not one thing to dislike. They run the hotel to perfection.

    The charming hotel, the awesome staff and service, the location and the daily British breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Hotel is a lovely building well kept and great facilities. The staff are attentive polite and great at their jobs, we felt welcome and looked after the whole time we were there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable and Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Original allocated room was dark and dingy, but we were given an alternative which was bright and comfortable 😁 King room on the small side but I suppose that’s London.

    Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    9.2
    Overall a great experience at this classy establishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all!

    Beautifully appointed rooms and common areas. Sumptuous comfort. Friendly, capable staff. Excellent breakfast. Lovely additional touches - like cookies and fruit in the room. Overall a very classy and supremely comfortable place to stay in London.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    8.3
    Disappointing room on 3rd floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointing room on 3rd floor. Perhaps hotel would say "that's what you paid for" but nevertheless fell short of expectations of Red Carnation and feel of hotel at ground floor level

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    7.9
    A relaxing stay, even the negatives didn't spoil our enjoyment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was cramped. Breakfast in the restaurant was good, but having to squeeze past other guests to access food was awkward. Forgot how expensive London is.

    The bed was fabulous, top four with the Savoy, Al Husn, Trump Turnberry Food was a good standard Location was good Bathrobes and towels above average quality Staff were all very friendly, we'll trained and helpful, apart from one, and isnt it a shame that's the one you remember.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful, quirkily decorated hotel, with luxurious rooms and very friendly, welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't think of anything. We had a lovely stay here.

    My partner and I had a lovely stay here to celebrate our 20th anniversary together. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and welcoming. We had a very tasty lunch out on the terrace overlooking the gardens. The room was very well equipped and the bed was lovely and comfy. The bathroom had both a walk in shower and a bath. Our stay was made very special by an anniversary card signed by the staff, and little celebration cupcakes. It was more than we'd normally spend for a hotel, but we felt very spoilt and it was worth the money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    10
    The absolutely unbeatable location in the heart of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The King Room is more expensive than a classic double room but seems nothing advanced than the latter

    The absolutely unbeatable location in the heart of Bloomsbury surrounded by numerous galleries, museums and bookshops

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    6.7
    Staff very pleasant, courteous and helpful;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Food selection at the bar for late night meal was very limited. Breakfast food is same for the 4 days we stayed, we were sick of it! Don't feel we got Value for price. Hotel is for older people.

    Staff very pleasant, courteous and helpful; well stocked coffee/tea with cookies in the room. Enjoyed the Garden- pretty and refreshing. Close to theaters, restaurants and Covent Garden.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    10
    Second stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing - second time back for a special occasion and lived up to very high expectations!

    Nice personal friendly touches everywhere and for every aspect of our stay - staff very warm and friendly but not intrusive. Would go back again any time and actively look for this property first before others in London for a special occasion or weekend away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    9.6
    Idea for our walking visit to the Capital halfway between...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing apart from not having time to us all of the facilities!!

    Idea for our walking visit to the Capital halfway between Kings Cross and the West End.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel with exceptional suite looking on to gardens.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not knowing about this hotel previously! It would’ve been perfect for a small meeting that I have organised in the past as it’s very intimate and welcoming but on the doorstep of all that London offers.

    This is an exceptional hotel, central location but outstandingly peaceful. I booked for family member who was having an interview the following day and they loved it. I had the opportunity to view the room which was beautiful- even nicer than I had expected from the photographs ;and he was welcomed with a hamper full of goodies which was a lovely touch. I had dinner there also, which was delicious. Staff couldn’t have been more helpful and interested in making the stay perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel with extremely great and polite service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful hotel - loved it !!! My daughter’s severe food allergies were taken seriously and she got very nice meals at breakfast, lunch and dinner directly from the kitchen. Service was extremely polite. Will return :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    10
    Excellent as always!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only the lack of view , but as only staying for one night it didn't really matter.

    We just love the atmosphere in the hotel. All the staff are very friendly and helpful. The room was excellent although there was no view and we were next to the escalator.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent Stay, great service and location. A real treat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room 222 suffered from the floor boards creaking in the room above so woke us up a couple of times. However given the age of the hotel we do not think anything can be done about it. Will request a top floor room next time

    Our second stay at this excellent hotel. Staff service is really first class!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    10
    Absolutely awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Staff goes out of there way to make your stay enjoyable. Second time we have stayed there and will never stay anywhere else. The Montague is awesome!!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    9.2
    The stay was near perfect. We were sorry to leave and hope to return soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom was clean but didn't have much room to move around. It was a tight squeeze for us to fit between the door and toilet.

    From the moment we arrived, we felt welcome. Every staff person took time to greet us and asked if there was anything they could do for us. It was my first time staying there but was made to feel like we were old friends.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel in a convenient area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is a thermostat in the room but no actual control of the temperature. The air was a bit stuffy at night.

    The breakfast was amazing with a great selection of food and freshly prepared eggs as well. The location of the hotel is convenient nearby the theater district, Soho and across the street from the British museum. This is our second stay at the property. The first was many years ago, but the experience was every bit as good as last time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    9.2
    Wish I’d had more time to relax in this fine hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff always super helpful and really go out of their way to help you out. Excellent crunchy free apples are always available as you pass reception :-)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    9.6
    Be calm, stay at the Montague.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't think of a thing to complain about!

    The staff was great and able to provide useful information. We somehow managed to book during the London Marathon and were going to Greenwich Maritime Museum on marathon day where the race starts and the DLR planned strike that day to get maximum affect. Staff knew of strike and that it was resolved the day before we needed DLR so our anxiety over the museum trip was pleasantly a non issue. You could not ask for a better staff than the Montague.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2018

    9.2
    It was a huge pleasure and I will be back as soon as I can.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I love this hotel. It's all the little touches which make such a difference. Amazing food, covered heated outdoor terrace for eating, crispy bacon for breakfast....and the staff are lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    10
    Luxurious comfort in Bloomsbury
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are luxuriously comfortable and charmingly stylish. The concierges are excellent; always helpful and knowledgeable. Fantastic cocktails in the bar! Walking distance to Covent Garden, Westminster and Soho.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    9.6
    Gem of a hotel with excellent staff and great attention to detail.
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanliness in the bathroom (reported and dealt with promptly), which was minor. Would be worth having a travel cot for young families.

    One of the best, if not, the best Hotel we have stayed in London. If it were nor for a few minor issues in the bathroom, the place would have been perfect! Great attention to detail which made the place great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    10
    Perfect in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing everything was perfect

    The rooms were beautiful, individual and tasteful with thoughtful touches including handmade biscuits and cosmetic accessories

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    10
    The staff go the extra mile.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Leaving to go home.

    The staff go the extra mile. On arrival the staff asked what our plans were over the weekend. We announced that we were going to see Sam Smith at the O2. The receptionist said that she was very jealous and wished she was going. On that evening we returned back from dinner to find in our room 3 little cupcakes with icing pictures of Sam Smith and a little note saying how the whole team wished they could go and wished us a good evening. This is the reason that we keep on returning to the hotel whenever we are in London. We are made feel very welcome and it is always a shame when we have to leave to go home.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    9.2
    Very nice clean hotel large comfy bed,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service in the bar ... Sky tv did not work ..

    Bed very comfy, went for a drink in the leopard bar was told to sit at table and wait as we went straight to bar, after 10 mins of nobody coming over we left and went to hotel bar down the road, Staff very attentive except the bar lol, very nice hotel will return one day ..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    10
    The best on all accounts-Perfect Gorgeous/Warm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is nothing not to like.

    Our most favorite hotel in London. We are always treated like royalty and love it. The staff could not be finer...a lovely wonderful place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    8.3
    Lovely stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only request was a quiet room. No-one seems to get that this means not having people using the service elevator (across from the room) and walking up and down the corridor. Aside from this (that disturbed my rest) we had a fire alarm (that was luckily a false alarm but it was exceptionally loud and likely to be very alarming for most people).

    Staff service - excellent (very friendly, helpful and attentive); Food - excellent; Loved the rainfall shower (in the bathroom); Loved the amazingly comfortable bed. Overall a lovely room and a good stay. The personal notes, cookies, Easter chocolates and apology re false fire alarm were all appreciated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely place, lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Expensive given lack of amenities like pool etc, but its central London so everywhere is expensive.

    Lovely staff who were very helpful- getting us some shoe spray at last minute. Lovely location, small and personable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    10
    Fabulous
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent! Will definately stay here again -All over a great hotel and location, staff friendly and helpful - also took my small dog who was totally fussed by the staff and loved it!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    10
    Very professional and courteous staff from the moment I was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very professional and courteous staff from the moment I was greeted by the doorman. Front desk staff Mai and her manager Wayne have been most helpful sorting out my request for a rather late check out (including offering a separate courtesy room for a short period in case I needed a room much later) Location is perfect. Less than 5 mins walk from Russel square tube station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect London hotel experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were excellent - you really felt like a VIP. The room was very unique in style - nothing like we have ever stayed in before, we especially loved the fabric walls and large sofa. The decor of the whole place is stunning and the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    10
    A lovely experience - spoilt only by the freezing cold weather!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    My husband and I were upgraded after I had advised we were having a weekend trip for my birthday and from the moment we entered the Hotel everyone was extremely helpful, pleasant and it was wonderful. Thank you so much. Mustava the concierge was particularly helpful and secured tickets for a show at the last minute for us at discounted prices. We will recommend your hotel without reservation and better than most.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    10
    Absolutely gorgeous - my first choice for staying in London from now on
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Payment wasn't terribly clear. I prepaid but the usual card authorisation for use during the stay was done - however there's an unexplained charge and the unused portion hasn't been credited back yet. I'm sure it's more a bank issue than a hotel issue though.

    The hotel was beautiful, well situated and extremely thoughtfully decorated throughout. It was fairly busy when I arrived to check in but the staff were efficient and effective and friendly. I'd requested a room which didn't involve a lot of walking and was provided with one a few steps from reception. There was little outside noise and the bed was super comfortable. I'd also highly recommend the room service - lovely menu and good quality food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic boutique hotel within walking distance of the centre and St Pancras
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Size of double room was on the small size, and there was only 1 of me! If there had been two people with two big suitcases, there wouldn't have been much space.

    All the staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. The location is fantastic - Covent Garden, Oxford Street, St Pancras all within a 15/20 minute walk. The choice at breakfast was huge.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2018

    9.6
    Transforming
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This n that, but I really shouldn't complain - considering.

    They were just amazing. The whole experience was incredible. I mean, in this world nothing can ever be perfect but I had just a little bit of it to which I am greatful to Life (really) as we all should be!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    10
    Wonderful Hotel Absolute Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very welcoming friendly staff, super clean beautiful room and also food was excellent! We ate dinner and breakfast there, good quality! Would love to return to this Hotel!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2018

    10
    Perfection personified!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely NOTHING

    Everything! This is an outstanding hotel chain - The Red Carnation group really do go above and beyond in their pursuit of excellence. Customer service at a stratospheric level - why stay anywhere else? I certainly won't!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2018

    8.8
    The staff were fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were fantastic! They were friendly, knowledgeable and very nice. A real pleasure! The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The office supplies in the desk drawer and the complimentary bottled water were appreciated. The free wifi worked well. The location was extremely convenient for walking, buses or the underground.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    9.2
    Outstanding place to stay in London- would recommend highly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The hotel has unbelievable staff who absolutely made our experience as good as it was. Everything is done with a smile and they make time to talk to you and genuinely take an interest in your day and your experience - brilliant and they are all a credit to the hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2018

    10
    3 days of luxury in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    the room was perfect. It was an upgrade , so exceeded our expectations. The bed was fantastically comfortable. decor and facilities great.The staff could not have been more polite and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2018

    10
    An extremely good stay in a hotal with class and committed staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No real issues although the heating in the downstairs part of the suite did not always work.

    The hotel and our room were very clean. On arrival we were upgraded to a suite which was very spacious.The staff were all very attentive and respectful.The attention to detail was very good and all the staff were approachable and helpful,nothing was too much trouble. Our room and all public spaces were very comfortable. The breakfasts were good with all expected options and the staff again were always helpful. The location of the hotel was also very good for visiting the theatre and the ambience within the hotel was quiet and peaceful. We thought that this was an exceptional hotel were the staff are truly committed to the guests.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic service, great location, beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was a little warm overnight on our first night but managed to cool it down by opening the secondary double glazing on our second night

    Staff here are amazing and can’t do enough to help you. They have a great eye for detail and are great at remembering what your plans are, what you like to drink, fantastic service all round

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2018

    8.3
    The staff was incredible polite, helpful and nice.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are too small

    The staff was incredible polite, helpful and nice. The cleanliness is at high standards. The remote control in the room was in a small bag, being sanitized before.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2018

    10
    Always a treat to stay in our favourite hotel in central London.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Give us a nice discount for coming back lots !

    valet parking is a bonus for us as we love to drive from Bedfordshire . The staff are exceptional! Lovely rooms . Location . Everything !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    10
    Possibly the best hotel I have ever stayed in in London. Staff were magnificent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was absolutely gorgeous. The staff were some of the best staff I have ever witnessed. They made our stay so special and perfect. Definitely one of the best hotels in London!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2018

    9.6
    Quintessential English boutique hotel with excellent service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed and duvet were so relaxing and luxurious, the interior design a real joy and the staff were exceptional, providing special touches and a warm presence.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2018

    10
    The BEST hotel in London!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing at all. Loved it.

    Everything! I took my wife for her 30th birthday and everything about it was amazing. The staff were great, the breakfast was amazing, the bed was sooo comfortable and the facilities were brilliant!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    9.2
    A lovely weekend,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant was nice but the menu was a little restricted and quite expensive.

    A nice welcom at the door, friendly reception and porter. Bedf was very comfortable. The room was small but comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    9.2
    Personal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were incredibly attentive, the little things are done excellently. The front desk upgraded us on arrival and remembered our names all weekend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2018

    10
    We cannot wait to return !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. Everything was perfect.

    A fantastic hotel in a great location make this a perfect place for staying in central London. The warm welcome and friendly, attentive service provided by all of the management and staff of the hotel was exceptional and very much appreciated.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2018

    10
    Great romantic getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had our 15th wedding anniversary and we were pampered by the staff. A fabulous experience in a beautiful hotel. Clean, comfortable and great service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2018

    10
    Total piece in London Hotel brillaint stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    perfect welcome from all the staff, conducted tour of the Hotel to show us where everything is situated. Set in a quite road near British Museum .A good benfit you can buy a bath robe for £35 top quality excellent value. Alll the staff are very good nothing is a problem.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2018

    9.6
    Best 4 star Hotel in London.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing bad to say.

    Lovely hotel with very helpful and friendly staff. Very tasty food and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We went to the hotel for my girlfriends birthday and the hotel upgraded our room to the best suite in the hotel for free. We will be going back again as this is now our favorite hotel in London.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2018

    10
    I felt like a princess during my 3 day business trip to London
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would have liked a fuller explanation of the facilities, such as the bar etc - I wasn't aware of that, or any gym facilities.

    The bed was amazingly comfy, and the room was so cosy. I also liked to read in the lounge area - which was also a great place to meet friends before I left town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable and restful.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower splash-guard swung into the bathroom and I had to wedge it with a toothpaste tube.

    The welcome. The unpompous and thoughtful staff. The spacious room. The minibar was pricey but hit the spot! The leopard bar and the music -spot -great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    10
    Traveling alone and jet lagged from an overnight flight, my...
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room is Cozy. Not a problem for a single.

    Traveling alone and jet lagged from an overnight flight, my room was ready at noon. Dinner and breakfast were delicious and I didn’t have to scout another place to eat. The staff helped me figure transportation to airport next day. The British Museum is next door and I easily walked to theatre district. Great place to comeback to.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2018

    7.9
    Well-positioned hotel round corner from British Museum, with over-attentive service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room small and a bit warm. Service irritatingly attentive (though some people may like it). Each evening someone knocks on your door to ask if you want a "turn-down service" (no idea what this is!). On the first evening someone else brought round a letter from the manager and biscuits. There's always someone on the front door to open it for you and call it sir. I realise that many people will like this, and another person could have written this under what they DID like.

    Clean, big towels for bathroom. Fantastic location round corner from British Museum. Good free wifi.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing small bespoke central hotel with attentive staff and good food
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Elegant small hotel in A one location adjacent to British Museum and Russell square in quiet Georgian street. No problem getting assistance plenty of welcoming staff with right balance of attentiveness but not overbearing. Breakfast very good with individual requirements catered for by a chef over and above standard buffet style breakfast. All round very pleasant and relaxing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2018

    10
    - a perfect home from home, where no request is too small and no detail missed out...
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - absolutely nothing...

    - the staff all genuinely loved having pets in the hotel.. - the breakfast was self service and superb quality, tea or coffee and roast was served and no limit either... - the bar was very civilised and had a sheltered smoking terrace, just like in the old days...👍 - the room was spotlessly clean, with lovely 'home made' biscuits in a presentation box.. - the coffee in the was real coffee and there was a cafetière... - the chocolate drink in the room was to die for, superb... - the bed was really comfy with really lovely feeling sheets and pillow cases.. - finally the room lighting and the controllability was most excellent... - I wouldn't hesitate to recommend The Montegue on the Green to anyone, it really is a perfect home from home... - there was even a hand written welcome note to me personally, from the manager, not just some printed thing...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful hotel with friendly staff . A little gem in the heart of London xx
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed sheet had a dirty mark on it .

    I loved the biscuits that were brought to our room in the evening great little surprise . Teapot !!! Big pillows and great staff very friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2018

    10
    It fulfilled our aim which was to treat our aunt on her 80th birthday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Bar food and the breakfast were not value for money in terms of quality and choice. A little disappointing compared to other London hotels we have stayed in.

    It is an enjoyable, comfortable and relaxed experience

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2018

    9.2
    In spite of the small size of rooms, I love to stay at the Montague when ever I visit London.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms could be a bit more spacious. Toilets should have bidet showers.

    Beds are very comfortable. Linens are very clean. Bathrooms are very clean. Excellent Breakfast and service. Concierge and house keeping staff are very helpful and friendly. Receptionists are hopspitable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    9.2
    Perfect New Year's weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room (and hotel in general) was very warm and quite stuffy, so we took advantage of the aircon.

    The staff are very welcoming and friendly, the room was luxurious and the shower divine! Room service was prompt, delicious and good value for money. The hotel location was excellent, only 10 minutes by taxi from St Pancras and 10 minutes to the West End. One doorman even walked to the end of the street to get us a taxi!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2017

    9.6
    A perfect location for a weekend in London before Christmas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great

    The room (a junior suite) was fabulous, and we enjoyed the African themed bar and restaurant. The staff were all brilliant - nothing too much trouble.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2017

    9.6
    Perfect and can't wait to book a repeat stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all.

    Fantastic stay. Felt more like staying in a friends comfortable country house. The staff were attentive without being intrusive. Very personal service from the team including complimentary fruit and chocolates. This hotel was one of the most comfortable hotels we have stayed in. It is a unique place which does not feel like other hotels, which however luxurious, still feel like a hotel with standard features found in every hotel. We highlighted a minor problem with the connection to Sky on one of the TVs in the junior suite and received a personal letter a few weeks late detailing the action the hotel has taken to rectify the problem, great customer service. The hotel is so good you want to keep it secret!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2017

    10
    excellent hotel. recomended for couples - a very romantic experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    excellent rooms. all the linen and towels extra soft and very high quality. breakfast just excellent. everything we wanted and more. there is a continental breakfast and an english breakfast and more stuff in the middle...like smoothies. in the lounge therews always hot chocolate and candies - free of charge. staff extra nice. in conclusion - excellent hotel!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2017

    9.6
    Brief but lovely stay in London
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had to Google how to use the Bosch coffee machine at 4am - would have liked some simple directions :)

    Beautiful room. Convenient dining and bar facilities. Attentive and helpful staff. Nice amenities

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: