Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of The Montana Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

67-69 Gloucester Rd, Kensington, Kensington and Chelsea, London, SW7 4PG, United Kingdom

#494 of 977 hotels in London

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2424 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    7.5
    Location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing except the room size like most London hotel rooms.

    Location. The Picadilly line, and lots of shops, restaurants and a supermarket in only five minutes walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    9.2
    Very nice stay, Convenient location. Family owned hotel and proud of it. They were delightful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower/bathroom was tiny, with not enough shelving or hooks for toiletries and nowhere to hang towels if we wanted to keep them a second day (which we did). Towels pretty tiny too, but quite adequate.

    We were a family party of 13, of which 8 had full English breakfasts which arrived together, well cooked and plates were cleaned. Also the Eggs Benedict had a definite thumbs up. The rooms for 4 people were pretty cramped (but they were only teenagers!) I had trouble with my mobile and staff were very helpful. Ordered our Uber taxi on their own phone and paid for it in spite of me trying to have the cost put on the bill. Right next door to tube station. Plenty of coat hangers, drawers. Frig. Safe. Enough milk and nice coffee/tea set-up. I think an excellent 3 star rather than a 4 star hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    10
    I had a lovely stay and enjoyable great introduction to london
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Indian restaurant which is next to hotel has the best Indian food I have eaten with excellent beautiful dining atmosphere and very refined pleasant staff.All of the hotel staff were very helpful.The hotel is located in an excellent beautiful district of London with very good restaurants and transport connections close by.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    9.2
    Great family visit to London.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quad Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    The location was perfect for our family trip to London. So close to the tube, walking distance to museums, parks etc plenty of good restaurants and shops. Staff were very accommodating and allowed us to extend our stay in the same room with no trouble. They were friendly and pleasant at all times.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    8.8
    Small, clean, comfortable and personal
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My room was smaller than expected but very quiet and comfortable.

    This property is located in an excellent part of the city with direct access to the Gloucester Road train station. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    8.3
    Very convenient and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit expensive, but that’s South Kensington I suppose.

    Great location, just half a block from Gloucester Road tube station, banks, restaurants, Waitrose and Tesco express. Lift right to the door and room quite comfy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    7.1
    The staff was very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cramped bathroom my 6ft 2 husband found very uncomfortable And our friends room was very small

    The staff was very helpful Pleasant stay just for one night

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    9.2
    Great location great staff would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed a little small but not a complaint.

    staff were so friendly helpful went above to be helpful, excellent value for money and location great would go back and would recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    7.1
    Good location but fairly pricey!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room fridge did not work. Chair broke - ask for replacement, which they delivered, but didn't take the dangerous broken one away. They tried to put us in a downstairs room with a tiny bathroom. However they did allow us to have a room on the ground floor which was better. Bathroom still small, but a bit bigger.

    The location is good. Handy to the very useful Piccadilly tube line. Nice Indian restaurant adjacent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    7.5
    Reasonable solution in expensive London. A place for an OK stay.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small rooms. AVOID rooms 540, 112, 114. Avoid rooms at basement level. I was very unhappy with our room below street level and got another better room. Insist on a higher floor. It is noisy, but this is reasonable as it is located on a main street.

    Location is very good. 2 minutes from the Glucster tube station. Hotel is nice, though a bit outdated. London us expensive, so this is a reasonable hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    9.2
    The location was very accessible to the underground
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The elevator was too small only 2 people with luggages can fit.. not really friendly for people with claustrophobia...

    The location was very accessible to the underground

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    7.5
    the location is just great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the one i dont understand i received an email a week before my stay stating my room is non refundable though during my booking it stated as free cancellation till 3 days before. i replied to check but never received any reply. Pls clarify here as i dont want this to happen again. unacceptable re this matter. pls clarify thank u!

    the location is just great!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    9.6
    This hotel is steps away from Undergrund metro that will take you or connect you to destinations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    n/a

    Staff gave us a welcome arrival and had information we needed to go places. Thank you for this pleasant stay. We fall in love with London, Super clean and Hotel Staff and all People is very kind and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    8.8
    I'm in love...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that I'm not 30 years younger and single with the courage to ask her for a drink.

    Location. Price. The most beautiful receptionist I have ever seen!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    4.2
    Room was very small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was very small. Door didn’t open fully as bed was in the way. Too hot and air con not work. Shower was leaking everywhere and due to this had no pressure. Poor experience for a supposed 4 star hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    10
    Eliana made my holiday for me. I really enjoyed my stay at the Montana Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing I didn’t like.

    The location was ideal. I had a great welcome from Eliana. She made me feel really welcome. I really enjoyed my stay there. I will always use the Montana Hotel as a base while I’m in London

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location, clean and tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bedrooms cramped.. bed up to wall and noisy due to traffic.

    Excellent location! So central. Had a curry at the adjoining restaurant.. really nice. Super staff. Stayed as had tickets to Albert Hall. Could walk there in 10-15 mins. Have amazing cocktails on the way at the Gore Hotel, walk around Kensington Gardens or Harvey Nics not more than 20 mins.. loved it!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    8.3
    Great London base with good facility - a stone's throw from Glousester Road Station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The first room with bath tub I got with a double bed which had some moldy smell.

    Location! And a single room without bathroom was much more comfortable and value for money than a double room with on site bathroom (with a bath tub). Highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    7.1
    Nice staff, great location, but did not sleep that well.
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The walls are so incredibly thin that i heared everything, every night what the neighboors were talking about. And the air conditioning unit sometimes made a loud buzzing noise out of nowhere. Both of these things resulting in a bit less time spent sleeping than i had planned. Unfortunately, there was also no availability for a other check out time

    The staff was really nice and the hotel is directly next to a bakery and tube station! The shared bathroom was quite clean everytime i used it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    5.4
    The view out of the window featured a roll of barbed wire.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The view out of the window featured a roll of barbed wire. The bed skirt had yellow brown stains. Some of the tile in the bathroom was broken. The bedspread was of poor quality. Everything was gold, carpet, wallpaper. For the price, I expected a much nicer facility.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    9.2
    Reasonably priced hotel for location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Decor in room a bit tired

    Clean comfortable room. Good amount of tea/coffee supplies in room. Decor a little tired but bathroom very clean. Good location for the purpose of my trip. Very close to tube and bus services. Good continental breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    8.8
    Perfect for travellers who value location, style and value over room size and modern conveniences.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Rooms, bed and elevator could be bigger. Not very modern in terms of TVs, room locks, etc.

    Clean, cozy room. Couldn't ask for a better location, especially if you're planning to use the Tube a lot. Breakfast included plan easily worth it. The Indian restaurant in the hotel was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    10
    Very nice stay, would book here again for our next visit to London
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We liked the location, the staff were excellent and answered all questions, we had breakfast the following day which was excellent. The only thing that could have been improved was at the breakfast my sister is dairy, gluten intolerant and the lovely staff did not know the answers to my sisters dietary requirements, however she opted for the continental breakfast and was able to have cornflakes with almond milk and gluten free toast, but if she could have got more info would have gone for the full English breakfast .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    10
    A very convenient reasonably priced hotel in a central situation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was fine for a one night stay but it was in the basement so for anyone staying for any length of time it might be as well to check where their room is. It was very clean.

    Breakfast very reasonably priced. Vouchers for money off were very useful too. Very near Kensington Palace, Kensington High St. and convenient for Albert Hall. Also Gloucester Road Tube Station just across the road.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    10
    Highly recommended a100%+ satisfaction try it you will not be disappointated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can't think of anything we did'nt dislike.

    The staff were courteous and friendly and well mannered, the waitresses in the dining room were fantastic nothing was no trouble to them.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent staff - clean - great vlaue.
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room and bathroom are smaller than most, but I had enough room. Not really an issue for me.

    Breakfast is great! Attached restaurant is excellent too. Room is clean. Staff is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location, comfy room and helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quad Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lift and corridors were a bit narrow but not a serious concern, as the room was pretty comfy.

    Excellent location- 100 meters from Gloucester road tube station and walking distance from Natural history museum, Harrods, ...Comfy room and good breakfast too! Helpful staff, gave necessary guidance when asked.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    6.7
    Location was great, staff was helpful but room was dated and run down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel was very dated and run down. Could use some modernization. Bar was never 'opened', had to go to the front desk to get someone to come to the bar. Fridge didn't work so they told us to use a fridge in another room. That was weird. The fridge did get fixed the last day we were there but had to remind them twice.

    The location was great. Close to train station, pubs and shops.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    9.6
    Very nice and charming hotel - perfect for a City trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - Double room was way smaller than described in the booking confirmation (you could barely open the door, because the bed was right behind), but was changed immediately after we complained.

    + Good breakfast + Nice and charming room + Very friendly staff + Next to Piccadily, District & Circle Line + Next to Natural History Museum + Lovely neighborhood

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    8.3
    The bathroom/ shower is spacious and the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is a bit small but does the job

    The bathroom/ shower is spacious and the staff were really friendly, they have upgraded my room from Single room with Shared bathroom to a Double Ensuite room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel with welcoming staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The Location The Reception staff was friendly and welcoming Arranged the best room for me for the price I paid Good water pressure shower / bath Great for an overnight stay before a flight / conference

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    8.8
    This hotel definitely deserved its 8+ rating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was fairly hot and with the window open, the traffic was loud. (Didn't try the thermostat, so don't know if there was air conditioning.)

    The breakfast was great. They even had a person to make your toast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    7.5
    So close to Gloucester Rd tube station and perfect for a visit to the Royal Albert Hall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cooked breakfast was dire, raw mushrooms, tomatoes, undercooked eggs and sausage. Dreadful tea so weak you could see the bottom of the cup. Not worth the extra money for Full English, stick to Continental choice.

    The Indian Restaurant was superb. Beds were comfy and the bathroom facilities were excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent and comfortable stay. Helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small but comfortable for solo traveler. My room was with shared bathroom which was little challenging but the Hotel maintained cleanliness in shared bathrooms, which was good. Complimentary breakfast offered at their Indian restaurant was sort of american continental. It would have been nicer if they can add an Indian cuisine or eggs to the breakfast.

    The property is very close to the Gloucester tube station which has a direct tube from Heathrow Airport and well connected with all zones. 3 big museums (Natural History Museum, Science Museum and Albert & Victoria Museum) are at 7-10 mins walking distance. A personal handy mobile was provided in the room as complimentary till the time of stay. The mobile has good data connection and 3G network. One can carry the handy mobile when going out for sight visits. Google Map on the mobile was of great help when i did walking tour.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    7.9
    Overall a good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing I can really complain about is that the room was a little small and a little cramped

    Staff very friendly, good breakfast and a very good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay, would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is absolutely perfect! Its 2 mins walk from the tube making it just so easy to get around London. Also so handy if you're flying to LHR. From landing to jumping on the tube and arriving at our hotel it took 50 mins total and was just so easy! The hotel isnt luxurious but, the staff are lovely. The rooms, although not modern are clean and well kept. The beds are comfy too. I would without hesitation stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    8.8
    A lovely hotel with lots of charm located in an area that was easy to get around from and close to m
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We went for breakfast one day. The buffet was okay, the breakfast we ordered ,pancakes, much smaller than anticipated. The service was marvellous, just felt it was overpriced.

    A small but Very comfy room, enough space for two people to store luggage and hang up clothing. Nice size bathroom for two women to share. Appreciated the phone to take out and use all day. Lovely spot!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    9.2
    Would definitely stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lift was tiny, but this is to be expected. The bathroom was modern, but the tub was enormous, with high sides which made it tricky to get in and out of. I would have recommended stand up showers, which would have enabled a counter area around the sink (it was pedestal).

    The location was perfect, and the staff were super friendly and helpful. The room was an adequate size, and the bathroom was modern. The beds were very comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was great, and the serving staff lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    10
    A wonderful break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was in walking distance of the Royal Albert Hall. The staff were always helpful. The restaurant adjoining was good and you got 15% off. The same restaurant was where you had breakfast. Anything that was cooked was freshly cooked for you, and the continental breakfast had a lot of variety and was fresh and tasty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    8.8
    The first room we were allocated was in the basement and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The first room we were allocated was in the basement and very small and dark., but the gentleman on reception was very understanding and moved us to a lovely room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    8.8
    Great venue - don't book it through booking.com though
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Don't book through booking.com, as they won't help you if something goes wrong and are very unresponsive to your concerns.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Location is great, with good access to the tube and lots of shops nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    8.8
    Clean and comfortable hotel with great location for museums and general access to Central London.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not too happy with shared bathroom which was not that near room.... but that was my fault when booking!! Would definitely stay here again but ensure en-suite room was booked.

    Great location. 50yards from Gloucester Rd Tube Station. 5 min walk from museums. 15 min walk from Royal Albert Hall. Very comfortable bed. Excellent Indian Cuisine in Restaurant. Friendly Staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    8.3
    I always stay in Montana since 2008.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I just hate the lift .. its small and sometimes doesn’t work.

    I always stay in Montana since 2008. Its in an amazing location. Staff are so nice. It’s a small place and not fancy but comfortable!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    7.9
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a radiator as the heating could not be adjusted. No toilet brush in the bathroom. Beds in need of new mattress.

    Very friendly staff. Fantastic location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed my stay although brief.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Didn’t manage to connect my iPad but in a way it was good to be without it.

    Convenient location and quieter than expected. Bed was comfy and nice to have a bath.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant and comfortable with polite and friendly staff and excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was a little chilly at breakfast time and I'm not sure that the coffee was fresh ground, but breakfast was good value and the choices on offer plentiful.

    Very pleasant, friendly staff, who seemed happy too. The bed was really comfy and, although we didn't use it, it was a great idea to include a smartphone with free usage for the duration of the stay. It was a real bonus being such a short walk from the underground station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    4.6
    Disappointed with breakfast options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very disappointed as decided to include breakfast when booking room, however if we had gone for room only, we could have had a full English for £8.95 each. The room included breakfast was continental, and was priced at £7.95, however if we wanted full English we would have needed to pay a further £8.95 not an additional £1.00! Felt ripped off so would not bother to stay here again, there are loads of other hotels in the area. Bed was also very small

    Location is great right near the tube station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    7.1
    There was a very good choice for breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fact that there had not taken notice of my amended booking a member of staff spoke to me so that ever one in at breakfast could here that I was eating breakfast that I had not booked that was my amendment it was so embarrassing

    There was a very good choice for breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    8.3
    Great mix of price and quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is ok, if buffet then no hot meal option. Hot water can be a problem, but ask for room change, staff is really eager to help. In March its cold in the room, even with an aircon heater.

    Rooms can be different, but if you are lucky you will get a really good and spacious option. Staff is amazing and really helpful. Location is superb, 2 min walk to Big Bus hop on/off tour. 25 minutes walk to Buckingham Palace, 7 min walk to Kensington Gardens.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    7.9
    it was a beautiful hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was a bit small and the mattress on the bed was terrible.

    it was a beautiful hotel in a great location. And the staff was very pleasant. Also, the dinning area was fabulous.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    7.1
    Spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little cold in the basement (room on the -1 floor). No view. Some noise from the street. Double bed was too narrow.

    Spacious room. Clean. Excellent location. Good service. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    10
    Ideal location for stop over in london
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can get really expensive base on the room you are looking at.

    Lovely place great location, really convenient need to live close to the city and district line. Excellent facilities around - post office, supermarket, train station and even the national history museum is a 5 minute walk away.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2018

    5.8
    London was great but we did not look forward to returning to our room after a day of touring.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quad Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We felt the pictures from the exterior were misleading. We thought from the exterior pictures the rooms would have been a bit more contemporary and updated.

    The rooms were clean and it had a very strange but private bath. The hotels continental breakfast in the morning was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    5.8
    Nice hotel and ideal for local museums
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was uncomfortable bed covers had a big stain on it and toilet wouldn flush properly has to call out someone to fix it. Got a little cold as well at night.

    Staff were welcoming and friendly. View was good from top floor out of window. Just around the corner from Gloucester road tube station and supermarkets and restaurants. Ideal location for local museums and places to eat.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    10
    Really relaxing and professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    I have been staying here for 5 yrs each time I come to London. Fantastic and professional staff. Great location to get to Piccadilly Circus and Heathrow airport.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very small. Front desk was supposedly manned 24/7. However, no one answered on three separate occasions when we rang

    Breakfast. Location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    5.8
    Nice place for short stays.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We selected the Hotel as it was advertised with Parking. The parking is actually "on a meter" and although this is free after 13.30 Saturday through Sunday, the spaces can be difficult to find.

    Friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is very well located for the Royal Albert Hall, so we were able to walk to and from the venue.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is very good value for money especially with its location. I will come back.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed and the pillows can be improved. I find the bed a bit lumpy and the pillow is not firm. Sleep could be better with a better quality bed and pillows.

    I like the fact that the hotel is so centrally located and very near the tube station. Though small, the room and bathroom are very clean and I appreciate that greatly. The hotel staff are friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    8.8
    The best thing about this hotel is the staff, they are just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The best thing about this hotel is the staff, they are just very kind and accommodating. It is well located near an underground station and a couple of cafes, the area is safe, even if not in the typical tourist areas of London. The room was comfortable, quiet, and clean, they even have a little smart phone you can use for free, which was a nice touch. I didn't use it because, well, I guess most of us have our own by now. The breakfast is plentiful, fresh fruit, cheese, bread, cereal, and you can order omelettes and such for an extra fee.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    4.6
    The Staff was helpful and wanted to please.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The facilities were older and in need of both an repairs and updates. Room was small with an even smaller bathroom. The mattresses were old and needed replaced and the repairs made to the rooms were not done to a professional standard. Tiny Tiny elevator.

    The Staff was helpful and wanted to please. The location was great with the Underground only steps away the excellent Natural History, Science and V and A Museums only a short walk from the front door. Also on the sightseeing bus tour routes.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    10
    We would recommend this hotel to friends, and we would definitely re-book.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lady who checked us, although helpful and informative, reeked of cigarettes.

    Everyone was so helpful, the room was clean, booking the restaurant was easy and the discount voucher came in very handy. Wonderful food, too. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful and the hotel was ideally located for access to the Royal Albert Hall, visiting which was the purpose of out visit.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2018

    9.2
    Will return for simular rates but only in a different room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room location. We were located in basement level, right off street and next to laundry facilities. We were disturbed by loud noise at 11pm aand 7am we were unable to keep curtains open because of proximity to street. I certainly hope this somewhat undesirable room was not a result of the favorable/nonrefundable rate that we paid? Pillows too soft. Would be nice to have some tissues in room. Room was stuffy

    Location! Nice size bathroom, especially for Europe. Great tea kettle with coffee/tea supplies. Discount at lobby bar nice touch. Overall a pleasant stay. Housekeeping provides a thorough clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2018

    9.6
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very close to the tube station. Breakfast, it was inc continental which was ok but if we pay extra £1 made it English full breakfast which was good. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    8.8
    I had booked for a room with a shared bath/toilet, but...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The curtains look as though they have had a problem with moths, and very big ones.

    I had booked for a room with a shared bath/toilet, but got a room with these to myself.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2018

    10
    Our stay at the Montana Hotel was absolutely fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our stay at the Montana Hotel was absolutely fantastic. We travelled to London by bus from Glasgow, which was fully booked and took 8 hours. We arrived into London at 6am and went to see if we could drop our bags off. The manager Elvis was so understanding that he found a quiet room away from the noise of people checking out and let us check in early so that we could sleep. It was the kind of gesture that made our trip to London, as it meant that we were well rested and could recuperate, so that we could actually enjoy our time in the city. The location is also fantastic as right next to Gloucester Road Underground!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    2.5
    I booked/reserved a double a room to stay for 2 nights...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked/reserved a double a room to stay for 2 nights weeks in advance but when i arrived there, they told me that all rooms are full so they gave me a room with a single bed which was below ground floor (in the basement basically) right next to the staff room and right underneath reception so sleeping that night was basically impossible. Also the room was really small, cold and the bed was uncomfortable. I complained but the staff weren't helpful that night. I was promised some sort of refund which didn't happen. Would not recommend to anyone. Never staying here again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    8.8
    all necessary basics close to the tube for affordable price
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - breakfast was very simple and seating area too small, need to wait for turn - the smallest bathroom I have ever seen, perhaps 2.5m square and that even includes shower !

    - location is perfect, just few steps from the tube and near to museums - all necessary basics for good price

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    8.3
    Clean and comfortable. Lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Brilliant staff. Full breakfast on first morning was a bit greasy. Evening meal was good but small......pre theatre menu. We asked for twin beds and got a double and single....great. Toilet was a bit dirty under rim but in the mail hotel very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2018

    6.7
    Okay for single person on an overnight stay but not a couple or longer term stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was so small it was difficult to use and the quality of the television picture through the hotel system was very poor.

    Very clean, tidy hotel with a very comfortable bed in a good location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2018

    8.8
    quiet, convinience, nice staff (your front desk employees...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    elevator is like a old and small size grandpa

    quiet, convinience, nice staff (your front desk employees are very kind and supportive. sorry forgot their name but thanks so much)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2018

    8.3
    Good value , comfortable and excellent location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms need updating but overall stay was good value

    Location so close to Gloucester Road tube station was excellent. Breakfast was good value and dining in the adjoining Indian restaurant was a joy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2018

    9.2
    Very suitable for a business, pleasant for a short stay at London.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I like central heating and not the heating with the air condition, but that's only a personal preference.

    Not far from Gloucester Road underground station. New, clean bathroom In a very nice area of London Pretty house Friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    7.9
    Convenient, comfortable and affordable base for visiting London
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was comfortable and the staff very pleasant. We stayed during the coldest week of the year and the room wasn't warm enough on arrival, but the staff immediately provided extra heating.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    8.3
    Great location near underground station Gloucester Road,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quad Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was a bit cramped. The elevator tiny, but it did fit one person and a stroller (travel size). The weather was extremely cold for the period and the isolation was so and so near the windows.

    Great location near underground station Gloucester Road, which is on the Piccadilly line to London Heathrow airport. Easy access to the rest of London. The Family room was spacious compared to London measurements.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2018

    7.1
    Good price and very good location, would definitely come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Since I arrived a little bit earlier than check-in time I had to leave my luggage there, by the time I got back to the hotel in the evening and entered my room I noticed they had exchanged my bag for one I had never seen before. It was a quite unpleasant surprise and desperate situation, that's like the worse bad dream for a tourist come back to the hotel at night and realize your luggage is not there. When I came down stairs with the wrong bag to complain the front desk girl didn't seemed to care that much, I had to really insist on her so she stopped what she was doing to give me proper attention. Fortunately she managed to find my bag 15 minutes later, I know mistakes can be made sometimes, but it was a hell of a fright and the hotel should pay extra care to luggage storing.

    Location definitely is the best thing about this site, Piccadilly line - Gloucester Road station right in the corner. Room was super small, but ok, clean and very well lit - since I stayed there for just one night it was ok, but for a longer stay would probably be not so comfortable. Could have better amenities inside the room such as a coffee machine (there was only soluble coffee). Breakfast was fine, good variety of breads and fruits, but was the colonial type, not English - they could have informed that by the check-in time, this got me by surprise, I had included breakfast in my reservation expecting for an English breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Montana Hotel Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: