Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Moor Hall Conference Centre

Moor Hall, Maidenhead, SL6 9QH, United Kingdom

Review score

Based on 347 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    5.4
    Poor. Expensive. Not value foe money. Service poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small could hardly get around. Reception too far from the room. Got told of by reception staff for parking without checking in first (there is no signs to say check in first.) Told by reception staff "if you check out straight out after breakfast that would be good" Breakfast service was bad no one told us where drinks/toast ect was. The breakfast waz dry hash browns werw roxk hard and beans had no sauce totally dried up.

    The room was clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    3.8
    Location was good although everything in Cookham closes so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our experience at the accommodation was unfortunately unfortunately.. we was surprised that there is no air conditioned.. we had to get a fan and leave windows opened. There was a party at the hotel so that kept us awake most of the night.. music was so load and people sitting outside drinking and smoking.

    Location was good although everything in Cookham closes so early as we wanted somewhere to eat.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.5
    Lovely setting in a wonderful location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely setting in a wonderful location. Rooms quite small, however well appointed with good facilities. Whilst no air conditioning there is a fan in every room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.9
    Did the trick.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little space between end of bed and the bathroom, which made it awkward to get round.

    Good breakfast, decent range of choices. Comfortable bed and pillows.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.1
    Meh!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being checked into a room where somebody was already staying want a good start. Layout of rooms is very confusing. Carpets in the room were badly stained. Room is tiny. Choice of food in the main restaurant was a little poor albeit reasonable value.

    The location is beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Friendly staff, constant supply of team and coffee, plenty...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls of the rooms are thin and I can usually hear someone snoring when I stay there

    Friendly staff, constant supply of team and coffee, plenty of outdoor space to sit with friends. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    Really good just one issue see below.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 41 above the entrance door which is a electronic sliding door, very noisy every time it opened and closed. I would go as far as to say that room is not fit for purpose. We were woken up numerous times!

    Really good just one issue see below.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.1
    The surrounding area is very nice, the grounds in which it...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food menu in the bar finished at 9pm even for sandwiches. Having just arrived from a train journey at exactly 9pm , I was still informed that it was closed.

    The surrounding area is very nice, the grounds in which it is set, nice and open with ponds and lots of garden space. Rooms are small however well appointed and up to date. It was warm and whilst no air conditioning, each room had a fan (having stayed there twice).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shame the pizza I had for breakfast was a frozen one and dripping in oil.... Caesar salad was nice but lacked a little something... Normally the food is really very good here.

    Lovely breakfast. Friendly local staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant but made up by the surrounding
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in was slow and the receptionist appeared disinterested. The room was adequate but it was quite small

    Nice location, the local pub and restaurants were excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    Very good. will book again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms very hot. No air-conditioning so on a hot still day it is difficult to cool the room down.

    Lovely setting. Nice and relaxing place to stop when working away

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    Overall good for visiting the Let’s Rock festival across the road. Would book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are quite small making it difficult to move around the room. Functional for a night or two. The pillows were also very soft and in opinion not hotel standard. Felt very cheap. Some minor cleaning issues in my room where the alarm clock was covered in sticky substance and had clearly not been dusted for weeks as there was a build up of dirt on it.

    Location is right in the heart of Cookham with easy walking to town and facilities. We’ll keep grounds and access to free tea and coffee at any time. Generally very clean and tidy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel, beautiful location, welcoming and friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, I loved it.

    After staying in a hovel the night before, this place was a breath of fresh air. The staff were really friendly, location lovely, room size perfect and facilities in the room and around the hotel were great. At night the place was quiet and the bed was soo comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was fantastic aswell!! When I'm next staying over I will 100% book this hotel again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    Good location. Good range self service breakfast. Friendly staff Poor bedroom space/acoustics.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedrooms small. Only just enough room to walk around bed into shower room Walls paper thin as could hear people showering next door. Heard someone snoring above my room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.3
    OK and would consider staying again but would not go out of my way to do so.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room V small; Hand basin taps too close to back of bowl; After 4 attempts to get Wi-Fi I gave up trying; Bar rather characterless for a "Tudor" property;

    Good location and well kept grounds; Staff pleasant and helpful; A number of village pubs within 10 minutes walk; Bed reasonably comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    I often use this hotel for work.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You have to stand in the shower to turn it on - so unless you are quick you get a short burst of cold water. Rooms are a little on the small side.

    The rooms are a little small - but very clean and comfortable. Wifi is always very strong and reliable (iv'e stayed here many times) and the breakfast is about as good as it gets. The staff are always friendly and check in/ out is easy and quick. Good car park that allows you to get close to your room. The gym is reasonable and is usually quiet. Its a short walk to the river (Thames) so nice to stretch your legs on a summer's evening and its a short walk (less than 5 mins) into Cookham where there is a selection of restaurants and pubs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Excellent service and great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was too late at 7am for me

    Everything was good about the rooms. Although a little small you had everything you needed. Very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.4
    Mattress was awful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mattress was awful. Springs in the back constantly, could not get comfy. I stayed in room 31 so please change the Mattress. I had food in the bar and I must say it wasn't very good. I had the Thai Green curry and basically I had a plat full of rice no curry and a very small nan bread. I added chicken to the dish and I have to say it was presented very poorly. Should of been sliced and added to the curry rather than whole and on the side. The room felt very costrafobic and crammed. Further to this, when I had a shower the room, it did not extract the heat very well even with the windows open. Therefore, for the rest of my stay the room felt like a sauna and very humid.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.9
    Staff very friendly, good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedrooms were located away from the reception and the car park. Access was through the bar area which wasn't ideal when carrying cases and bags.

    Room was comfortable, free Wi-Fi and free on-site parking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    5.0
    Ok, if nothing else available.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very easy to find and car park is long walk from reception, which is then a long walk from rooms. The rooms aren't big enough to swing a cat in and you can hear everyone outside and all the plumbing from your neighbours. Also the bed is like lying on the floor...Not a great nights sleep. Breakfast in the morning also leaves a lot to be desired.

    Clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    5.8
    Over priced but helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not a good standard. I had a very uncomfortable night sleep to the point that I have considered complaining. The amount you charge to stay over night is quite substantial and I felt like I had an extremely small room, terribly uncomfortable bed and the pipes were in my room so every time someone had a shower or used the toilet it woke me up. Terrible.

    The gentleman on reception on my arrival was lovely and very helpful! He alone makes me rate the place, hopefully you'll pass it on. (I arrived late evening on Monday 5th Feb!)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    Staff were very welcoming and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Staff were very welcoming and helpful. Room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable . I went to the bar for evening meal . I ordered steak and chips which was cooked to perfection and arrived 15 minutes after my order. I cannot speak highly enough of Moor Hall . I am in fact returning to stay there again this week for 2 nights.I would not dream of staying anywhere else . It is brilliant and great value for money and breakfasts are superb.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel and friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was unable to have what I wanted from the bar menu in the evening as they had ran out of a few things such as gammon and rump, but was offered sirloin asap alternative.

    Staff were very helpful and friendly, room was modern and comfortable, breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    6.3
    Food was good quality and the rooms are clean and comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Weird layout of building means a lot of walking required between different areas. The gym is very small, in fact its just one room and barely has any equipment. The equipment it does have is very old and out-dated.

    Food was good quality and the rooms are clean and comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    7.9
    Nice but small room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find in the dark late at night when tired sat nav on post code too me past it and had to call. Bedroom was a little too compact for my liking.

    Nice grounds

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    8.3
    At the right price its the right place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could do with a few more draft beers in the bar ... just for variety

    If you can get this for the right price then it is the place to stay in the area ... rooms are small but have all you need with good bed and excellent shower. Parking is simple and breakfast is perfect if your in a rush or taking your time Bar area is well run and bar food is tasty if limited in choice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.6
    Lovely, will come again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although WiFi was free, there was no reception in the room I was in.

    Location excellent, 15 mins from office in Maidenhead, yet quiet rural location with plenty of choices for eating out.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    10
    Excellent staff, great service. Exceptionally clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit too brightly lit in the bar... feels more like a youth club!!

    Beautiful setting... if you’ve had a long drive on the main roads and motorways the last leg of your journey will be a relaxed affair. Pull down the driveway to Moor Hall and you start to feel calm. The check in is always friendly and never unnecessarily fussy; polite and with pace and urgency. The rooms are not huge but they are so well thought out in the use of space that you are neither disappointed or feel boxed in. Bathrooms are a good size. Food; a little more choice in the evening would be ideal but realising Moor Hall’s day time business it is understood.. if you want something else then there is plenty of choice in the very pleasant Cookham high street. Breakfast is first class. A great selection of cereal, porridge, yoghurts, fruit, bakery and patisserie, and of course full English. Huge choice of teas and coffees and juices. Staff are amazing here - attentive and polite and get the balance right. The GM, Claire, and Ops Mgr, Mark, were very keen to sort out a minor issue from my last visit and this, firstly, showed that her staff had communicated back to her and secondly that she cared about her venue. Especially need to mention Hannah, Orla, and the breakfast staff for particularly good service in the restaurant. Exceptionally clean throughout.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    4.2
    Terrible way to greet customers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I arrived at Reception, I was greeted by a foreign man saying..”I don’t think your in the right place!” (He looked me up and down and made me feel really uncomfortable. As I explained to him, I was stopping in the Hotel. He said “I doubt it!” Terrible way to greet someone that’s just been driving for 7 hours and wants to rest!

    Nothing really

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.3
    On offer its a good deal ... Normal price is a little to much IMO
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Evening meal a bit over priced for what it is but food tastes OK ... room on the small side but worth it for the bed

    Breakfast is excellent, rooms are clean, beds are very good and place is quiet ... good nights sleep

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    6.7
    Decent stay, well overpriced though
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and very warm. The shower was good but could not drain fast enough so started to run onto the bathroom floor. Nothing major

    Breakfast was excellent, a small ish selection but the quality was very good. The bed was very comfy and the surroundings were very quiet. Also there were plenty of mirrors which is always good as hotels never seem to provide any!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    Hidden gem in beautiful Cookham
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very dark on the road at night (I’m a city girl)- so walking to and from the restaurants felt a bit unsafe for me personally (but I’m not used to that!). Nothing to do with the Hotel! Just more street lighting please

    The location was great for those that have a car. I didn’t drive but was ok using taxis. The rooms were small but very clean and comfortable. The grounds were lovely. The breakfast was much much better than the premier inn or holiday inn (even though this venue was cheaper than those establishments!)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    6.7
    Beautiful location with an improvement in customer service required at weekends!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst it is a conference centre all week. The customer service should change for weekends. We were locked out of the premises by a high gate before midnight together with some other customers !

    The location was nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.2
    Very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms small - but very comfortable and clean.

    Best breakfast I have had in a long time. Good value for money. WiFi always seems strong. Decent gym. Good lighting in rooms. Good location - short walk to a few pubs and restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.5
    Perfect for an overnight stay but check in before parking your car!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rather tiny room but perfectly adequate for an overnight stay. Disappointing to have to use a drinks machine for breakfast coffee. Would have been good to have been given advance directions to park outside reception just to check in - we ended up walking with all our stuff from the car park only to have to take it all back to the car after checking in as guest accommodation (and parking) is quite a distance from the visitors` car park

    Comfortable bed and great shower, quiet convenient location, good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.9
    Nice setting, basic rooms, pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The towel radiator in the bathroom would not turn off so the room was boiling all night. In the morning there was a man outside the window with a chainsaw cutting the hedge so no privacy unless we shut the curtains and very noisy.

    The Hotel and the grounds at this property were lovely and the staff we very helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.8
    Evening meal was disappointing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Evening meal was disappointing. Steak had little flavour, french fries were barely cooked and salad was a soggy pile of leaves. Shame as everything else was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.2
    Just the job
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked being able to have a pot of coffee with breakfast rather than having to get up and make a second or third cup. Granary bread for toast would have been nice.

    Comfortable, quiet, convenient, decent breakfast and good price

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.3
    Cookham is lovely and attractive, plenty of places to eat and drink. Moor hall was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could do with air conditioning. Rooms a little small. We were woken at 1.15am with a fire alarm and had to go outside in pyjamas, it was a false alarm.

    Setting was lovely, a quiet spot, attractive buildings. Breakfast was good. Caught the train to Windsor because I couldn't be bothered to drive, it was good but had to change 2 times.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    9.2
    Ideal for the location where i was working and good value at that time.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is above the sliding entrance door, so late night arrivals, smokers etc. cause a mechanical noise followed by a bump - twice for every entry or exit. It wasn't so bad once I figured out what it was. It is only possible to watch the TV whilst lying on the bed - and that's true for all the rooms I have had whilst staying here.

    Helpful and friendly staff. easy to park, walking distance to station. Very convenient for my work . We had room 41 which is larger than average . This is not hotel accommodation but it was good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.2
    Cookham is a good place to meet friends and Moor Hall suited us perfectly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not really a complaint but the room size would not be suitable for a long stay. No twin bedded rooms are available.

    The room was rather small but quiet and clean and nicely furnished. The Bathroom was excellent. The gardens, the very good Restaurant and Bar were light, modern and the Breakfast excellent. The location close to the river made it a very relaxing stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    A nice stay for 1 night!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a small double, much smaller than expected and it was a tight squeeze to get round the bed ... but this did not detract from the overall stay!

    The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. The staff were exceptionally helpful. The breakfast was plentiful and cooked well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    Access was good, plenty of parking and the room was adequate...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found the room a little to warm and didn't want to open the windows as it was raining heavily. Ventilation could be improved. Bar food was edible but disappointing. I ordered chicken , mashed potato and chips and that's what I got - a large scoop of mash, a chicken breast and a huge spoonful of green beans - no gravy or sauce, although I was given a small selection of foil-packed ketchup, brown sauce and mayonnaise. A bit too cafeteria for me. The restaurant looks good but I didn't try it.

    Access was good, plenty of parking and the room was adequate in size, although not as large as the average hotel double room. Big shower with rainfall head - shower caps for those who have hair and want to keep it dry. Booking in/out was easy and the staff were welcoming and friendly. I am staying with my wife next week and when I asked for a couple of extra pillows for that stay (there were only two for my stay) that was marked as a request during checkout.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    5.4
    Tiny room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room. A few days before our stay we received an email saying that the bar and restaurant would not be open whilst we were there except for breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.2
    Modern Accomodation in peaceful village location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was a little small and I couldnt get it to the right temperature, it was too hot for me. I visited in late June.

    Moor Hall is located at the back off the High Street in Cookham village and enjoys a quiet location away from major roads. There is a quiet tranquil atmosphere, ideal for anyone who needs a good nights rest. Breakfast is in the light and airy Dining Room at the heart of the Accomodamtion complex and is self service, with an excellent choice offer.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.3
    Just what we needed for our weekend overnight stay in Cookham
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit small, really designed for conference single occupancy. The double bed took up an uncomfortably large proportion of the floor space.

    Breakfast excellent - unlimited varied choice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    5.0
    Rather disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Number of towels supplied, and quality of these. Very hot room, and the fan was of poor quality. Rooms not really suitable for two people. Very small, almost like student accommodation.

    The garden.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable & convenient
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly more vast then expected and a little more vocal communication from the staff would be good. Only had one "morning sir" from a young man

    Very comfortable and convenient simple room but clean and precisely what you want.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    6.3
    Okay stay for a night.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady at reception did not really go to a great extent to fully explain how to get to my room as it was quite complex. The rooms were not cleaned throughly. There was a cobweb over my bed, the sheet on my bed was dirty etc etc. Again, the rooms were small. Whilst dining at the restaurant, I was given a three-course set menu, and no other options. It was only until the end whereby I found out it would cost me £22.

    The lady in the restaurant was lovely, she allowed me to take my dessert back to my room. The rooms were nice, although small.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.6
    Great place for an overnight stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of air-conditioning throughout the complex. Would have liked a spa area, swimming pool isn't necessary but could have done with a steam and sauna rooms.

    Buffet breakfast, keyless entry to rooms, secure accommodation building with keyless entry, open plan bar with free pool table, fully equipped gym, picturesque grounds with water features and Japanese style gardens.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.5
    Good overnight stay at this conference centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedrooms are tiny only foot walking space between end bed and bathroom ! No lunches or dinners at weekends which is a shame Was bit suprised and not happy to be made to pay on arrival (despite having logged a bank card when booking ,which would have been charged had I failed to turn up ! Which means they could have charged my account anyway if I had left without paying ) I expected to be offered option to pay on departure .(and the piece paper I signed said pay on departure ). And would have to go to reception to give back keys anyway . Felt a little untrusted to be honest.

    Breakfast is very good. Great choice and bar area very relaxing bedroom and bathroom were clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.9
    OK for a one or two night stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As mentioned in many previous reviews, the rooms are very small however should not impact on the business traveller staying only for a night or two. Would be a bit cramped for couples if all rooms are same size.

    Lovely setting with a few decent pubs and restaurants in easy walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.8
    Lovely place - vibrate !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding reception after I had parked around the back - book in as you come in

    Interesting place - Its a conference centre - but realy nice rooms - reminded me of my room at Poly - A lttle bit up market on that - Cookham is lovely so many great pubs - its a great venue - you will not be dissapointed - the great thing is the guests - very interesting people to talk to - if you like a bit of social interacton - enjoy

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    Great location comfy beds breakfast ace
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We come to a local festival and moor hall is located on its door step bar is open late with bacon baps at the ready which is just what we need. Always room ready early for us

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    7.9
    Lovely surroundings in historic lodge.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room made maneuvering around awkward. TV fixed for watching in bed. Very angular view from a chair. Great shower. Restaurant offering no food I wanted but several pubs and restaurants a few hundred metres in the High St. Traffic jam in the morning.

    Good selection buffet, FEB or continental

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    7.5
    Adequate stay in what looked a quite upmarket venue.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was rather small for the money. I had to sidle around the end of the bed to open/close the curtains. There could be a little more signage. The room wasn't easy to find initially.

    Clean and easy. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    9.2
    An oasis of peace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike.

    The peace and quiet of extensive grounds. An ideal 'retreat' if time needed for study whilst being close to the Thames, a thousand-year old church and the Stanley Spencer gallery.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    3.8
    Overpriced student halls.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find room. Had to return to reception 3 times for assistance with directions and keys. Reception staff unapologetic and unhelpful. The place felt more like student halls than a hotel. Noisy guests from a wedding kept us awake until 3am. Tiny room, just a bed really. We paid £100 and it was not worth £50. We will not return and advise to avoid it.

    Tasty breakfast, except for cheap orange juice. Restaurant overlooks an attractive water feature and garden.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    7.5
    Firm bed.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor lighting and lack of signage to visitor car park (arrived after dark). Strong smell of gas in accommodation block. Still got a headache!

    Firm bed. Great breakfast. No messing wii-fi. Carp in the water feature, little zen garden and giant chess.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    6.7
    Could be great, sadly it isn't.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The primary function for Moor Hall is as the headquarters for the Institute of Marketing. As such it is geared to accommodating training groups with the focus on a proliferation of meeting rooms, break-out areas, quiet rooms, admin areas etc. etc. The "hotel" facility is very much an afterthought. Rooms are tiny, overheated and very basic. The car park has a single track road in and out, which blocks in the morning as that day's delegates arrive whilst guests are trying to leave - compounded by a broken car park barrier the day of my departure with no secondary access this is a major flaw. Due to its location next to a row of houses, whose residents also park on the road in, this sole access is also reduced to one car width only, causing yet more blockages even when having gotten off site !

    The koi ponds are a nice feature

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    9.6
    Excellent location and good value in Cookham.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked a blanket in my room, and a n option to dim the bedside light.

    Location, facilities, cleanliness of hotel, and warmth and helpfulness of staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    9.2
    Great Stop Off Whilst On Business In Area.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little small but still very functional.

    Very nice location. Lovely staff. Very clean and comfortable rooms (albeit small). Breakfast was very good indeed. Grounds were very pleasing too. Wi Fi was fast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    7.9
    Comfortable, friendly place set in an interesting and attractive village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The person who ate the cooked breakfast thought it wasn't really warm enough.

    I had a good night's sleep as the bed and duvet were both comfortable. We were able to leave our car there the next morning while we went for a walk & a visit to the Sir Stanley Spencer gallery before driving home.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    6.3
    Great location but need to work on the details
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was tiny and the bed was really uncomfortable.For a large designated conference centre there was little in the way of kitchen, fridge, freezer and water access and only 1 x small trolley for 4 suppliers to use for set up and break down! Breakfast was expensive for what was on offer.

    The location is brilliant and the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    7.9
    Student / study type rooms in a great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are always warm but fan supplied.

    Good breakfast & staff don't seem to mind a late check in. Clean, consistent and Easy Jet rather than Ryan Air in style.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    7.1
    The bed was comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar is not open at the weekends although we were able to get a drink as it had opened for a wedding. There was a marathon on the Sunday causing the entire road out of the hotel to be closed until midday - checking out was by 10.00. We were lucky enough that another guest managed to negotiate our exit during a break in runners (this was after sitting there for 45mins). We were at no time made aware of this by the hotel.

    The bed was comfy.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    7.5
    Good clean basic facilities for the single business traveller
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size is OK for one (just) but too warm and fans are cheap and noisy. Long walk from reception to rooms and back to restaurant. Over priced for what you get.

    Good basic facilities. Clean room. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    7.9
    Student accom on a professional basis
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost goes up and down on a daily basis + if you call direct it is ALWAYS more expensive or not available ! Breakfast is only just warm enough ! I did a drop in on the day& was told completely full only to manage to get in via this web site. Quite embarassing to the reception I would have thought !

    Always good, super location, free ample parking Self service breakfast but see negative comment.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    6.3
    Handy but limited comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot with no air conditioning Room was very small and bed not very comfortable. Glad we only stayed the one night

    Can walk in to Cookham to the local restaurants Quiet

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    8.3
    Never fails to satisfy the business traveler
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfasts are improving but just a few more degrees hotter please !

    Location superb, staff are friendly, no long queues to check in/out & ample free parking.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    6.7
    Good for a one night stay as long as you can fit into a small double bed and cope with a small room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small to qualify as a proper 'hotel standard' double room. The bed was only 4' wide.

    Location was excellent and staff attitude was very good. Breakfast was plentiful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    It was very clean, staff very kind
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very clean, staff very kind

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.0
    bar needs to be open
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bar was closed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Area to complete work on my laptop.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of dining options during the day.

    Area to complete work on my laptop. Surroundings. Quiet. Gym.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.8
    very small hot rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very small hot rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: